The OFFICIAL Liverpool FC thread - we go again

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, February 05, 2009, 03:47:16 PM

Funny you mention QPR. I went to Charlton v QPR at charlton a couple of years ago in the Championship, and the QPR fans were brilliant. They were noisy, and never stopped singing all day. I know away fans are typically more hardcore anyway, but this was the best I have seen personally.

Quote from: AZOffaly on May 10, 2011, 09:17:46 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 10, 2011, 09:12:15 AM
Quote from: nifan on May 10, 2011, 08:30:02 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 10, 2011, 07:20:43 AM
We are the most knowledgeable fans on the game;)

Does my head in when commentators on telly trot out that crap about teams "most knowledgeable fans" and "they know their football at goodison park" sort of stuff.

Id like to hear them once at a game say "its very well known that the man city fans havent the first notion about football, they are clueless"

It's a generalisation in a lot of cases but to be honest with you it is very very rare I have met a Man United fan who knows anything about football. I reckon I've met ~5 in my life.

I don't support Liverpool but their fans are definitely a lot more knowledgable. I think it's a human nature / jump on bandwagon thing...

You only have to read a few punters on the man united thread here to see how little some know about football...

(No I don't support Liverpool!)

In fairness, that's harsh. There's a lot of United fans who know a lot about soccer, but maybe they are more loyal to their manager than most other fans, and that's understandable. Sometimes that leads to fans having to defend some of Fergies more outrageous comments, but sure that's part of sticking by the man that has brought them so much success.

There's quite a lot of fans of every team that haven't a clue, in my opinion, but I don't think United have any less that know their stuff. They have more of every sort of fan than most clubs, so maybe there's more eejits as well.

Maybe it's just the people I know but to be honest it isn't really that harsh based on them.

I do take your point about a lot of fans of every team don't have a clue but I think it comes from going to school in the 90s where a lot of people started supporting united due to them winning.

Quote from: From the Bunker on May 10, 2011, 09:34:14 AM
Quote from: Capt Pat on May 10, 2011, 08:41:33 AM
There is a lot of bandwagon fans and Japnese tourists at the Chelsea and ManU games. You get more of tye real die hard and knowledgeable football fans at the lesser teams.

Yeah, have to agree with the above statement. Fans of Arsenal, Utd, Pool, (more recently) Man City and Chelski, look at the Big picture all the time. Smaller clubs have a more localised fanbase. They appreciate an away draw, a good performance despite a loss, they know more about the lesser players in the league.

I have a friend who grew up a Liverpool fan. He moved to London in the early 90's and started (Ironically) supporting QPR. He found; the family athmosphere, prices, knowledge of game and passion unbelievably brilliant.

I follow United and Tranmere Rovers...so where does that leave me? birkenhead manc mongrel? :D

Thought Liverpool played some good stuff last night. Rodriguez couldn't kick snow off a rope earlier in the season! Liverpool have a 1st 11 that would match any team in the top 4 and thats been shown since Christmas. Squad is still a bit thin to compete for the league yet and its not as easy and splashing out millions on 4-5 players to remedy that either, look at City sure...millions on the bench and a fair bit off the pace.

isourboydownyet

Quote from: ballinaman on May 10, 2011, 10:46:49 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 10, 2011, 09:34:14 AM
Quote from: Capt Pat on May 10, 2011, 08:41:33 AM
There is a lot of bandwagon fans and Japnese tourists at the Chelsea and ManU games. You get more of tye real die hard and knowledgeable football fans at the lesser teams.

Yeah, have to agree with the above statement. Fans of Arsenal, Utd, Pool, (more recently) Man City and Chelski, look at the Big picture all the time. Smaller clubs have a more localised fanbase. They appreciate an away draw, a good performance despite a loss, they know more about the lesser players in the league.

I have a friend who grew up a Liverpool fan. He moved to London in the early 90's and started (Ironically) supporting QPR. He found; the family athmosphere, prices, knowledge of game and passion unbelievably brilliant.

I follow United and Tranmere Rovers...so where does that leave me? birkenhead manc mongrel? :D

Thought Liverpool played some good stuff last night. Rodriguez couldn't kick snow off a rope earlier in the season! Liverpool have a 1st 11 that would match any team in the top 4 and thats been shown since Christmas. Squad is still a bit thin to compete for the league yet and its not as easy and splashing out millions on 4-5 players to remedy that either, look at City sure...millions on the bench and a fair bit off the pace.

i agree but in citys case there were buying big names and fitting the team around them whereas i expect liverpool to buy a player that will fit into liverpool if you get my drift

At one point in the season, the goal was to not go bankrupt. So yeah, I think Liverpool fans have reason to be pleased with the way things have panend out on 2010/1

Quote from: deiseach on May 10, 2011, 11:05:52 AM
At one point in the season, the goal was to not go bankrupt. So yeah, I think Liverpool fans have reason to be pleased with the way things have panend out on 2010/1

Actually important not to lose sight of that. How good is it to be concentrating on the good or bad play on the field, players etc, rather than worrying about money being drained fromt he club.

boosabum

While the results have been impressive since the return of the King there were the defeats to WBA and Blackpool (i think) after being a goal up, a home draw with Wigan and a piss poor loss against the hammers. A half dozen extra points from these games would have liverpool sitting comfortably above city in the table. Someone asked the question earlier about Dalglish leaving blackburn, i think his assistant Ray Hartford, who was a proven manager in his own right with Luton i think, looked to be leaving at the time so he was promoted to manager and Kenny moved upstairs. The champions league campaign after the championship win was disastorous, Batty fighting with Lesaux on the pitch, and Kenny subsequently left his post has he had no real say in team matter by that point.
Anyway, roll on next season, can't see all the top teams including UTD and Arsenal been so poor again. the title will not be won with 77 points again soon. At least the pool will be bearable to watch, ditto with kenny's interviews

Quote from: boosabum on May 10, 2011, 12:44:08 PM
At least the pool will be bearable to watch, ditto with kenny's interviews

Some great posts on here today chaps, and yes i am a liverpool supporter  ;D

nice to read neutrals comin on giving a few of yous credit for some good analysis here and there (i dont post enough to be included, unless one of yous wants to say different  :P. i jest);

and whoever said that we, as fans, were being optimistic, as opposed to delusional, summed it up perfectly; we're on an upward curve, and thats all any team can ask for,hope for; and after some of the sh1t thats being going on off the pitch these past few years, that'll do in the meantime;

i do think for once we have a few pound to spend come the summer, and expect a fair few comings and goings; and its how any new faces fit in which will determine if we can push on for top 4....

Quote from: AZOffaly on May 10, 2011, 11:07:10 AM
Quote from: deiseach on May 10, 2011, 11:05:52 AM

Actually important not to lose sight of that. How good is it to be concentrating on the good or bad play on the field, players etc, rather than worrying about money being drained fromt he club.

The one thing I, as a Utd Supporter, envy Liverpool for. Fair play to you for getting rid of those c***ts. I just wish Utd could get rid of our c***ts. At least we have sucess to take our minds off it but it is a major issue.

EC do you really think that the new owners are any different from the last ones? Maybe in terms of approach yes, but they are just the same as every other sports investor, they are in it to make money full stop.

These ones had the money sitting ready and have more experience of running sports franchises but at the end of the day they are in it for the good of the club or the fans they are in it to make money.

The fans as a whole this year have been pessimistic to say the least and has been pointed out we are in some shape now than we were at the start of October last year staring down the barrell of a very final gun!

The club is at at stage now for the first time in 20 years nearly that it can look forward to a season with optimism that there will be something to cheer for.  I will be happier if by close of business Saturday that EL qualification is confirmed but I am still riding the happy wave :D  The fixtures have fallen pretty well for them as has form of teams.  Also the lack of "pressure" I believe has allowed the likes of Maxi to express himself.  He really was playing for his future at the club and has repaid the trust in spades.  There will be a lot of thought over the next few week/months about the comings and potential goings but the one thing that interests me now is where does a fit Stevie G fit into things?  He has carried the team for so long but his body is starting to break, will he be nursed through the next few years in the hope that he gets the eluisve one, Carra the same?  I personally hope so.  They are not glue yet but it is interesting that the team is playing very well at the minute, as a team!  Will they play the same way with Gerard?  Big question....

6 months ago, you'd have said maxi was a cert to go...fair play to him for producing the goods when he got a chance under kenny;
gerrard is indeed a conundrum, expect him to take spearings place, in the knowlege the wee man wont be out of his depth if/when called upon;
but thank god the whole thing is no longer revolving round two men; we've hardly noticed stevie g not being there;

expect jovanovic, poulsen, cole, and no doubt konchesky to move on..and a few more no doubt;

wonder is it worth giving insua another shot....see if kenny can weave his magic on him?

Geoff Tipps

Quote from: NAG1 on May 10, 2011, 01:20:00 PM
EC do you really think that the new owners are any different from the last ones? Maybe in terms of approach yes, but they are just the same as every other sports investor, they are in it to make money full stop.

These ones had the money sitting ready and have more experience of running sports franchises but at the end of the day they are in it for the good of the club or the fans they are in it to make money.

Don't think FSG have that much more experience of running sports franchises than Hicks and Gillett. Hicks and Gillett both had ice hockey teams. Hicks had a baseball team and had an involvement in Corinthians in Brazil too. The key point is that these fanchises were badly run and Hicks was hated by the fans of all those teams. A google search would have told Moores and Coco Parry all they needed to know about these cowboys if they had bothered their holes to do a bit of research on them.
FSG on the other hand have a much better record with their investments. Ask any Red Sox fan and they will rave about how John Henry has turned their franchise around. Ok they're not going to throw money at LFC and not expect to make a profit on their investment but so far they've said all the right things and I fully expect them to back Dalglish to the hilt in the transfer market this summer.

Quote from: NAG1 on May 10, 2011, 01:20:00 PM

The new owners are different. They want to run the business on a profit-and-loss basis as opposed to being a shower of carpetbaggers, and that's fine by me