AI Football Final 2010: An Corcaigh vs An Dún

Started by under the bar, August 23, 2010, 02:25:01 PM

snoopdog

Quote from: Wee Shea on September 06, 2010, 10:47:04 PM
The Down county board has launched a campaign to encourage sporting behaviour among their supporters ahead of the All-Ireland football final against Cork on September 19.

A series of posters have been commissioned ahead of the final which are being distributed to clubs throughout the county over the next fortnight.

Down PRO Ronan McMahon explained: "Down GAA believes booing and heckling free-takers, in particular, is creeping into Gaelic games too much and we would like to be proactive in discouraging this behaviour as much as possible.

"These posters will be circulated throughout the county before the All-Ireland final and will hopefully help to encourage all fans to be sporting at all times."
good to see this. The booing from both sets of fans in the SF was sad to see, it isnt the GAA way, but it only creeps in when the bandwagon roles. doesnt happen at majority of games

What a great gesture. Fair play to the Down County Board. Class is permanent.

Quote from: AZOffaly on September 06, 2010, 10:59:04 PM
What a great gesture. Fair play to the Down County Board. Class is permanent.

Why's that AZ? Derry were in the 1958 final for example and ok didn't win, Armagh 1953?

1890, 1911, 1945, 1973, 1989 & 1990, this is the total haul of Munster's second placed county in All Ireland wins, (stop laughing I know its all true if somewhat sad), They are under huge pressure to add a 7th Title.

I've always found Down to be a classy county in the way they conduct themselves, and I think this initiative to discourage their fans from discrediting that tradition is a great thing.

Quote from: Kerry Mike on September 06, 2010, 11:45:15 PM
1890, 1911, 1945, 1973, 1989 & 1990, this is the total haul of Munster's second placed county in All Ireland wins, (stop laughing I know its all true if somewhat sad), They are under huge pressure to add a 7th Title.

If they happen to win the 7th title on the 19th, Cork will be 4th in the all time list for wins/runners ups... behind Kerry,Dublin & Galway! so not something to be laughed at

Quote from: marym on September 06, 2010, 08:57:13 PM
People say we have never lost with the white jersey in a final.

There were a couple of recent finals you could have been doing with them Mary  ;)

RadioGAAGAA

Quote from: snoopdog on September 06, 2010, 10:39:30 PM
cant see them making a fortune from the Down change kit. it is minging. yellow is a crap colour. why we dont have a black one is beyond me.

We had... or at least it was a goalie top fit for use outfield.

The old gaelic gear one - been about 2003 or so.
i usse an speelchekor

snoopdog

Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on September 07, 2010, 07:52:55 AM
cant see them making a fortune from the Down change kit. it is minging. yellow is a crap colour. why we dont have a black one is beyond me.

Yeah but they always use that yellow yoke if required. Did anyone see conor Deegan in the Irish news today, wouldnt recognise him.

rossglass

Quote from: snoopdog on September 07, 2010, 09:32:41 AM
Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on September 07, 2010, 07:52:55 AM

Yeah but they always use that yellow yoke if required. Did anyone see conor Deegan in the Irish news today, wouldnt recognise him.

did indeed, he's piled the pounds on.

@marym: people say Down have never lost a final, regardless of jersey worn. History, or jerseys mean nothing.

passedit

Quote from: Kerry Mike on September 06, 2010, 11:45:15 PM

1890 Final: Midleton 2-4; Blues & Whites 0-1

I take exception to people counting club titles. Cork have five same as Down. Why not count nemo's while ye are at it?
Don't Panic

Quote from: Wee Shea on September 06, 2010, 10:47:04 PM
The Down county board has launched a campaign to encourage sporting behaviour among their supporters ahead of the All-Ireland football final against Cork on September 19.

A series of posters have been commissioned ahead of the final which are being distributed to clubs throughout the county over the next fortnight.

Down PRO Ronan McMahon explained: "Down GAA believes booing and heckling free-takers, in particular, is creeping into Gaelic games too much and we would like to be proactive in discouraging this behaviour as much as possible.

"These posters will be circulated throughout the county before the All-Ireland final and will hopefully help to encourage all fans to be sporting at all times."

Well done Down County Board, the first unit of the GAA, that I'm aware of, to do anything constructive about this stuff. Fair play to them for understanding that if you don't do something about it, it gets worse because more and more see it as acceptable. The slide to the lowest common denominator has to be actively resisted or it happens inevitably.

However I suspect that many of those booing and jeering are not regulars and won't even hear about the county boards efforts.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Quote from: armaghniac on September 07, 2010, 01:28:58 PM
However I suspect that many of those booing and jeering are not regulars and won't even hear about the county boards efforts.

Possibly, but at least they are trying and saying it's not the right way to support your team.

lolafrola

Our trophy hu art in Dublin, Sam Maguire be thy name. the kingdom crumbled, thy rebels will be done in Croke Park as it is in heaven. Give us this day our black and red and forgive us our open hand passes as we forgive those who hand pass against us and lead us not into Quinns but deliver us back up the M1. Amen
Be nice to the people you meet on the way up, because you may meet them on the way back down.