AI Football Final 2010: An Corcaigh vs An Dún

Started by under the bar, August 23, 2010, 02:25:01 PM

down6061689194

Cork 4/7 Draw 8 Down 15/8

About right as inverse odds are the nom in gaa betting

Paddy plumps for -2 cork in the handicap which makes me think they expect a down performance & win or close defeat, as a Punter I'd say a lot of people may take 6/5 cork-2 and give it a right scalp, as Cork in reality are regularly going to be 3 points better than Down. Rarely will a 4/7 shot have this handicap.

Down/Cork is 9/2 which is interesting as Down start well and hold on regularly, so wouldn't be surprised if this came up.
Down first score & HT lead a 7/1 double which is very tasty especially if the first score is a sign of another good start.

Will be surprised if Cork dont win this by 3 points or more .Down are an up and coming team  but the final might be a step too far for them .

Will have to leave Country for a month or so afterwards

Quote from: johnpower on September 09, 2010, 10:13:43 PM
Will be surprised if Cork dont win this by 3 points or more .Down are an up and coming team  but the final might be a step too far for them .

Would agree John, ,except that the Cork lads are still having nightmares about the trimmings they've suffered in recent finals at the hands (and feet) of your boys (whom Down dismissed imperiously  ;) ).

If Cork don't get a blazing start I'd fear for them, because Down won't be fazed in the slightest by either of the occasion or the location.

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on September 09, 2010, 10:28:58 PM
Quote from: johnpower on September 09, 2010, 10:13:43 PM

Would agree John, ,except that the Cork lads are still having nightmares about the trimmings they've suffered in recent finals at the hands (and feet) of your boys (whom Down dismissed imperiously  ;) ).

If Cork don't get a blazing start I'd fear for them, because Down won't be fazed in the slightest by either of the occasion or the location.

I agree Fear ,Cork need a good start . I wondor what role Conor Counihan has in mind for Canty (if fit ) Shields (v Coulter?) and Cadogan .Is he the man to track Marty Clark ?

Banana Man

see in the IN down got 7 all stars, first one for coulter in 7 years, just shows how long the lad has been plugging away with nothing to show for it - fair play

i heard on rte radio earlier canty will be fit

marym

Canty will line out on Saturday in  a full game A v B. If he comes through that well then he will be selected. If not Cadogan will be in.

Quote from: Onlooker on September 09, 2010, 03:18:12 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on September 06, 2010, 11:45:15 PM
1890, 1911, 1945, 1973, 1989 & 1990, this is the total haul of Munster's second placed county in All Ireland wins, (stop laughing I know its all true if somewhat sad), They are under huge pressure to add a 7th Title.
You should have put asterisks after both 1989 and 1990.  We all know about the Kildare connection in those 2 wins.  They even had a Kildare captain for one of those years.    The last football All Ireland Cork won on their own was in 1973. :D :D :D

We're sore enough about our semi-final defeat Onlooker - why did you have to go dragging that up?!

Feckin mercenaries!  ;D

Quote from: Banana Man on September 10, 2010, 11:11:06 AM
see in the IN down got 7 all stars, first one for coulter in 7 years, just shows how long the lad has been plugging away with nothing to show for it - fair play

How do they decide these things? If it covers performances in the championship it's a bit odd to be announcing the winner at a gala dinner before the All Ireland final is played. What if Kalum King for example get MOTM in the final?

If it just covers the Ulster championship; then, as a Down man, I'm very surprised we got 7.

Banana Man

QuoteQuote from: Banana Man on Today at 11:11:06 AM

How do they decide these things? If it covers performances in the championship it's a bit odd to be announcing the winner at a gala dinner before the All Ireland final is played. What if Kalum King for example get MOTM in the final?

If it just covers the Ulster championship; then, as a Down man, I'm very surprised we got 7.

Good point Lecale, if it's just based on the ulster championship, 7 is too much if it's based on the entire all-ireland series then it's premature but still if it's all-ireland, all 7 would probably still make it even if they had stinkers!

Frank Casey

From today's edition of Pana Pravda:

Lots of talk that Counihan is going to chance Canty like Cody did for Shefflin. Will it work?

CORK football manager Conor Counihan is "fairly optimistic" that captain Graham Canty will be available for selection for the All-Ireland senior football final against Down.

Canty has struggled with a hamstring injury for much of the summer, while fellow veteran Anthony Lynch has also been injured for much of the 2010 campaign, and Fintan Goold is trying to overcome a more recent knock.

At last night's media briefing in the Rochestown Park Hotel, Counihan said: "Yeah we'd be fairly optimistic on that one (Canty).

"Fintan (Goold) seems to be going in the right direction as well and we'll know more about Anthony (Lynch) at the weekend."

Counihan said there was no hard and fast cut-off date by which players would have to prove their fitness.

"I suppose we analyse that on a day-to-day basis. Obviously we'll be making serious decisions on Saturday but if we felt that it needed another couple of days then we'll do that."

Canty himself will try to prove his fitness this weekend: "Yeah, the injury has come on very well in the last couple of weeks, hopefully I'll take part in full training this weekend with a view to being available for selection."

Meanwhile, the manager added that Cork had not gone on any training camps in the run-up to the final.

"Training is pretty standard," said Counihan, "Hopefully the intensity is picking up, but no, we wouldn't be doing anything different.

"We've gone the scenic route in the backdoor so we had a few more weekends than we wanted. Fellas have probably seen enough of one another maybe."

Wing-back Noel O'Leary, meanwhile, said winning the All-Ireland "would be one of the great achievements of my life," adding that Down are playing the better football at this stage and deserve to be favourites.

"The way we're looking at it, it's a different year and a different way of looking at things," said O'Leary. "We're playing for once a different team, and that's a bit of a difference. Down are playing serious football.

"People are rating us on last year, but they are certainly favourites in my eyes going into this game. They are playing the better football, we're not. That's not trying to blow them up or anything, because we feel we're ready to put on a performance the next day. It's going to be a huge battle but we're ready for it.

"We feel the same as we did last year: an All-Ireland final is an All-Ireland final no matter who you are playing. You always look forward to it. "

Asked if Cork are better equipped to win this year, the Cill na Martra man said the new players have "added to the show".

"I suppose you could be equipped as much as you want, but it's all about doing it on the day. Look, things are tipping away. We have a few lads brought in and they are doing the business.

"They are young and mad for it, and they have added to the show. But that's fine and well; on the day, it has to be done and that's what it's all about."

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/counihan-confident-canty-will-face-down-130427.html
KERRY 3:7

jas376

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on September 08, 2010, 02:37:49 PM
Was driving around the South West all last week and you wouldn't have a clue Cork were in an AI final in two weeks such was the lack of colour around the place. There were more Cork flags displayed in the Kingdom than there was in Cork ffs, so may I be the first to say Up Down.

As a native of the South-West, let me explain! Cork is now in its third football final in four years - if we combine senior football and hurling I think Cork has  featured in six or seven finals over the last eight years. Therefore, being in an All -Ireland final is no longer a novelty for Cork GAA supporters  - hence the lack of hype this year.
   Also, Cork people have become very wary of merely reaching a final as we have lost a lot of finals in recent years. In fact, our only two senior victories in the past decade were achieved by the hurlers as far back as '04 and '05. As a result, there has been a  reasonably low-key build up  to this year's final which I, for one, am glad of.
      Furthermore, there's a lot of anxiety around Cork regarding injuries to key footballers. Four or five of the senior players are presently struggling with injury/fitness issues, namely, G. Canty, J. Miskella, N. Murphy,  F. Goold and A. Lynch. Hence, we don't know what kind of a Cork team is going to play on Sunday week
      Finally, there's considerable psychological pressure on Cork  this year as the thought of losing a third final in four years is unbearable. Also, Down are something of an 'unknown quantity' to us as we rarely play them. However, we are well aware of Down's potential - we saw two great displays from Down this year in beating Kerry and Kildare and we know that absolutely anything can happen on the day.
     All of this is making for a very anxious build-up to the final for Cork and so we have little appetite for revelry and fanfare at the moment. Then again, this may all change in the next week as supporters begin to show their support for this great Cork team that, despite many setbacks, refuses to give up in their search for that elusive All -Ireland win.

All of a Sludden

Even with those injuries, Cork have way too much for Down. Ive seen both teams in action this year and I think Cork are a much better side than Down. Down have a tendency to go out of games for long periods, especially their midfield. If Cork can find a way of keeping Clark out of the game they will win this with a bit to spare. There is a huge size difference in both teams also with the Down half forward ling being a lot smaller than the Cork half backs. Corks big game experience will finally see them across the finish line. 
I'm gonna show you as gently as I can how much you don't know.

Dubh driocht

Jas376 I think you're right about the low profile in Cork and they are a good team.But to win Sam they will need to be great and clearly there is a doubt.Down aren't the finished article either and a draw can't be ruled out.
I cannot recall a game at senior level since the 94 semi-final,but I can certainly recall the under 21 final last year ( how many with tickets secured were in Portlaoise that day ? ).A bit like now, Cork were a bigger and stronger side who were marginal favourites.However, again like now, Down had excellent natural footballers and a strong management team ( Pete Mc Grath, Mickey Linden, Liam Murphy and Paddy Hardy).Cork dominated the first half but through a mixture of skill and tenacity ( especially from Captain Timmy Hanna), Down were ahead by 2 in the third minute of injury time. A super run and shot by Aidan Walsh saw a block fall into the hands of Colm O'Driscoll -goal and game over. Colm O'Neill and Ciaran Sheehan were the Rebel stars while Paul Mc Comiskey, Pete Fitzpatrick and Conor Maginn played well for Down.
What bearing will this have next week ? I think the three Down lads will bust a gut to win as that defeat was as about as cruel as you could get. Throw in the added value of Marty and Benny and I think we'll shade it- after a replay.

QuoteEven with those injuries, Cork have way too much for Down. Ive seen both teams in action this year and I think Cork are a much better side than Down. Down have a tendency to go out of games for long periods, especially their midfield. If Cork can find a way of keeping Clark out of the game they will win this with a bit to spare. There is a huge size difference in both teams also with the Down half forward ling being a lot smaller than the Cork half backs. Corks big game experience will finally see them across the finish line.

This is a fine example of putting on the blinkers in order to suit an agenda i.e. that you believe Cork will win.

Take  Down have a tendency to go out of games for long periods, especially their midfield as the first instance. Cork haven't dominated a game this year, and since the Munster semi-final, the anonymity of their midfield for long periods has been one of the major reasons why. Meanwhile, Down owned midfield for the middle 50 minutes of both their Croke Park games.

As for If Cork can find a way of keeping Clark out of the game they will win this with a bit to spare. Perhaps the most notable thing about Down over the past 4-5 game is that although Clarke has been important, Down have excelled as a team - and indeed as a panel. Players like Poland, Hughes, King, Garvey, Rafferty and McKernan have pushed themselves into the frame for All-Stars. Then there's Coulter, who is guaranteed one. That's just not possible if you've got a one man team.

When you say There is a huge size difference in both teams also with the Down half forward ling being a lot smaller than the Cork half backs, I really don't see how it matters. Height is a useful, but give me skill, determination, speed and energy ahead of it any day. It's not like this is a small Down team. All told, if it's an aerial battle we're going into, I'll take King and Fitzpatrick ahead of anyone Cork is offering.

But perhaps the most baffling is Corks big game experience will finally see them across the finish line. Not one player in this Cork team has an All-Ireland senior medal, but more than a few have bad memories of collapses and underperforming. So if it's big game experience you want, I'd rather not have Cork's variety of it. If it's a choice between an arrogant Down man or Nicholas "I go missing in Croke Park" Murphy, for a big game, I know who I'll be backing.

Beyond all that, this is a game that will go down to the wire. Right down. I'd be surprised if the last kick of the game isn't a factor. Down are a skilful, energetic team that are on a roll. Cork are an athletic, determined team that have sort of jittered their way here. It's intriguing.