Antrim Hurling

Started by milltown row, January 26, 2007, 11:21:26 AM

Still waiting for any point your or your mate might have to make? Have you got anything rational to debate or will you just resort to insults?

Teachers and civil servants already have got the touch I see.

I would be interested to know your definition of "edge" too.

What;s your opinion on Sunday's game, the league structure or Antrim playing in Leinster - enlighten us.

PlayWithTheWind

this is getting more and more like hoganstand.

give over
Its not over til the fat lady sings!

the green man

Quote from: Stayousidethesquare on October 15, 2008, 10:04:59 PM
as a lot of the opinions on the site are the same. Some right some wrong.

For crying out loud.

My experience with the Assessor has taught me great lesson (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10 and........)

Be specific in your arguments man (as I have been doing all along) rather than responding with abuse and that derogatory tone and you just might be able to win the argument. Why not give it a try? At the minute you only come across looking like a fool. You must really like Assessor to be doing this for him

My offer still stands. I would love to meet BOTH of you some time for a chat if you think you have something constructive to say to me about any of my contributions on this board and are prepared to do it in a respectful way. What about it?

Glensman

Assesor in amongst all the guff said a few interesting things about hurling, but he couldn't let a random, cyber grudge go. You appear to have jumped on the band wagon. What in your posts has referred to, as what Two Hands FFS has said, Antrim hurling.
If you have something to say that is worth listening to then say it, otherwise clear off.
If a moderator's attention is drawn to such things then I am all for that.

This is not hoganstand (which has actually improved of late!), this is not a kids playground its where as Antrim hurling people and some welcome guests discuss some important issues for them, provide reports where necessary, update on scores, injuries, rumours! and the like and try to see where they personally think there are issues with Antrim hurling...because lets face it there are a few.

If you read the posts and knew the background you would realise that the people on here are generally hurling men (whether players or supporters) and to come on here and shows a lack of respect for not just people who give and enjoy giving a bit of their time to debate all things Antrim hurling but also it shows a lack of respect for Antrim hurling itself. That might be a bit dramatic but its the way I feel.

I am not a civil servant, I am not a school teacher - its doesn't matter what I am...but on here I like to read what people have to say. It gives me a good break from the job I do and it gives me a chance to read about and sometimes comment on it.

And breathe...

1. Cushendall to win pulling up on Sunday.
2. Some result for Cloughmills but has to be put into perspective given the time of year etc but nonetheless good to see.
3. I STILL don't like the way teams field shells of teams at this time of the year.

Anyone know if there was a good turn out for the Ulster training this evening?

milltown row

good post Glensman

will we make an impression this year? so difficult for Ulster. it always amazes me when i watch the inter prov. matches, the size, skill and pace of the real hurling men. we are midgets compared to them

Two Hands FFS

Well said Glensman.

Serious question... If a player from a club(any club) attempted to squirt water at our Co. Chairman(who I have no problem with) would we be calling for that player to be banned or would he be applauded(by minder)??

Who do Ulster play this year??

Glensman

Impression...not sure what Ulster making an impression is.

Putting it up to them can't be enough for us...100% effort, learning all the time, if that player from another province does something not letting him do it again and then trying what he did. Striving to be better.
If ever the phrase 'performance is more important than result' then this sums up Ulster in the Railway Cup. Selfishly, if the Antrim players learn anything from it I am happy.
Quite like the idea of the final being played in a European city (it would given the Ulster boys incentive!).

The sad thing is we are midgets in our complex as well.
Neilly McGarry is as big as any full forward in Ireland. McManus as strong and smart. Richmond as cute. McKeegan as good as picking up the lose ball. Brannif as good a finisher. Lets have a bit of fecking confidence and get tore into them.

Club sides from Antrim do better in the All Ireland series because those complexes seem to disappear as it is each man fighting for each other.

Two Hands - player should be punished I reckon. Nothing too severe but it is cleary pretty petty stuff.
The Doctor doesn't deserve that...on a subjective level the man is trying his best for the county and some impressive initiatives have been introduced in his tenure (and sure he's a hurling man so what does he care about the football...)...on an objective level when a county chairman is treated with such distain its pretty bad sign.
Have been in Casement when he's been chanted at/abused by club fans.
Sometimes this can be a bit of craic...sometimes it can go too far but its a fine line.
Not sure what or who you're referrring to Two Hands.

Quote from: Two Hands FFS on October 15, 2008, 11:20:11 PM
Well said Glensman.

Serious question... If a player from a club(any club) attempted to squirt water at our Co. Chairman(who I have no problem with) would we be calling for that player to be banned or would he be applauded(by minder)??
Who do Ulster play this year??

What are you talking about Two Hands?  ???

Did you not hear about the Derry Football final minder?

Quote from: theskull1 on October 16, 2008, 08:40:39 AM
Did you not hear about the Derry Football final minder?

No i just saw a headline about the inbreds fighting,and a photo of some mentor lying on his hole. I thought it was normal practice in Derry.

NAG

Oh boys you leave for a day and all hell breaks loose.

IMO this is a hurling forum first and fore most and for my part and most of the other posters they  are only here to debate the issues around antrim hurling and what holds us back and our ideas on the way forward.

Now there is always banter between the clubs in this county and we all have to take it on the chin from time to time but if you dont have an opinion or arent able to put it across then what the hell are you doing here. Rant over.

Cant see Ulster making any impression at all, IMO the railway cup has had its day and has no home in the current structure and time table of the modern game, like it or lump it thats the way it is.

Glensman

Only realised after my post last night that your situation was hypothetical referring to the Derry incidents.

The Derry football final has certainly caused a few issues!

davincicode

Jesus lads, what have i missed, cant take a holiday without the board going to pot. Whats the story MR/Skull/Minder you can,t look after things in my absence! Is the Assessor banned, i see the other lad outsidethesquare is on pleading the case, seems he has found someone to champion. Skull what did you say to the man? MR as the daddy of the site could you not have kept these lads in line, it seems to have taken the enjoyment of the site this last while.

Time to get back to reality, what about Sunday. My own opinion on it is whoever wins i don,t feel have the strength in depth to progress much further, see the galway lads are in for the long hall again.

MR are you really playing down your chances against the bridge? I think you lads can do it this year, hope to see you in my home town come march09!!!! The game on Sunday against the KL lads, hear Geoffry got a soft one from the Ref, who by all accounts lost the plot slightly.