Antrim Hurling

Started by milltown row, January 26, 2007, 11:21:26 AM

Dunloy

Yes i agree, a balance is hard to reach and also agree that i hate referees who display arrogance, i just feel sometimes county players during club games are treated different in antrim to those 'regular' club players, saw a serious case of this in our first round of the football championship were Geard Dougan done pretty much everything for Paul Doherty and Benny Hasson bar give them a hug and kiss :D :D, preferably a referee would be almost robot like, he has a job to do and like the players themselves, any friendships etc shouldnt be carried on to the field of play.

as for tonight, Happy enough with the ref, just hope we turn up now

milltown row

it seems there is a lot of money being pumped into tomights game, paddy power had Loughgiel at 3/1 to win tonights game. its been dropped to 15/8 now. bookies running scared or over confident Loughgiel supporters?

any final thoughts? suppose by now the villages up north will be heading south towards the big smoke

Dunloy 0-5 Loughguile 0-7 ht

THE DADGA

any full time score anyone

Loughguile 0-16 Dunloy 0-9 ft

slow corner back

Dunloy finished with 13 men during " a great game of hurling but very hard " according to a loughgiel fan. Were loughgiel seriously at 3/1 for this match? That is a serious c**k up by paddy power if they were, this was always going to be a tight affair.

The dismissals had no bearing on the outcome,they were near the end. I havent seen a Dunloy team stoop to oul dirty pulls like that before. Loughguile were the best team by a mile.

glenullinabu

Quote from: Minder on September 17, 2008, 09:30:45 PM
I havent seen a Dunloy team stoop to oul dirty pulls like that before.

tell that to the kevin lynches players ::)

milltown row

this was serious match. ye would have needed 5 sets of eyes to keep up, thought the intesity by both teams early on was top class. but by the 20th minute there was only going to be one winner, sharper to the ball and won all the breaks Loughgiel fully deserved this match, the roar from the stand was mighty. great craic. sad to see the strokes from the lads who were sent off. passions were running high and though tough at times it certainly made for a great match.

impossible to referee a game like that and Owen got most things in the match. though winkers pull on the dunloy boys head was seen coming from the Glen road!!!!

now Loughgiel have a big game ahead to stop the rot, 6 in a row is not what they are looking for. but it could happen a lot of the players took big hits during the match. hope the hurling is on before our game v Lamhs. Cant watch a hurling match before a football zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Glensman

Loughgeil deserved to win full stop, hungrier and better this evening.
Things never fell for Dunloy but in all honesty "the harder you work, the luckier you get" and Loughgeil deserved those breaks.

Agree that the dismissals had no bearing whatsoever, but in my opinion aside from the wild pull from Kevin Martin, which was coming (did Loughgeil not know) and he derserved to walk and a long ban, Dunloy were not as guilty as Loughgeil.

In my opinion (again) James McKeague's tackle on Watson was a booking. Watson moved inside him and McKeague reached out and caught his midriff. Booking.
McKeague is not a dirty player in the slightest.

After 5 minutes Johnny Campbell swung round Connor Cunning's head, plain and simple.
After about 15 Winker swung round Mickey McClements face plain and simple. If he wasn't wearing a facemask this evening his would be getting his face rearranged.
I would love to watch the game again and for the referee to watch it again. I would not have lied to referee that one whatsoever...there was so much going on I didn't know where to look.

Dunloy had no answer for the intensity and that spark like a Richmond goal never came for their supporters.

Loughgeil arguably favourites for the final now then?
Their supporters will be hard to take - "Shemrocks" still ringing in my ears!!
Advice to Cushendall - get to the stand in Casement and get there earlier and keep them eejits from banging the back of the stand.

Where do I start...absolutely gutted

First off I'm in total agreement with Minder. I hope Glenuliinabu actually elaborates on the quip he's made cause I have no idea what he's talking about......help me out. Was the most sickening part of the night getting two sent to the line. The first for to me was a second yellow (but with intent) and the second well.....I think it spoke volumes about where we got it wrong tonight. We got drawn in to a dog fight and forgot totally about hurling. No one can tell me that dunloy aren't better than that, but over the last two games we were pretty poor, so really we should have no complaints. beaten by the hungrier team.

Actually enjoyed the way owen elliott tried to let the game flow. Yes it was hot and heavy and he did miss some pretty rash exchanges (no more than barry kelly in the AI final to be fair), but he treated them like adults throughout and wasn't fussy at all, so I say well done.

Good luck in the final. After the match tonight I'm afarid I'm going to have to give you the favourites tag

MrT

Quote from: Glensman on September 17, 2008, 11:20:57 PM
Loughgeil deserved to win full stop, hungrier and better this evening.
Things never fell for Dunloy but in all honesty "the harder you work, the luckier you get" and Loughgeil deserved those breaks.

Agree that the dismissals had no bearing whatsoever, but in my opinion aside from the wild pull from Kevin Martin, which was coming (did Loughgeil not know) and he derserved to walk and a long ban, Dunloy were not as guilty as Loughgeil.

In my opinion (again) James McKeague's tackle on Watson was a booking. Watson moved inside him and McKeague reached out and caught his midriff. Booking.
McKeague is not a dirty player in the slightest.

After 5 minutes Johnny Campbell swung round Connor Cunning's head, plain and simple.
After about 15 Winker swung round Mickey McClements face plain and simple. If he wasn't wearing a facemask this evening his would be getting his face rearranged.
I would love to watch the game again and for the referee to watch it again. I would not have lied to referee that one whatsoever...there was so much going on I didn't know where to look.

Dunloy had no answer for the intensity and that spark like a Richmond goal never came for their supporters.

Loughgeil arguably favourites for the final now then?
Their supporters will be hard to take - "Shemrocks" still ringing in my ears!!
Advice to Cushendall - get to the stand in Casement and get there earlier and keep them eejits from banging the back of the stand.

:D :D :D Do you not think it gives the game much more of an atmosphere!!

Lads there was niggling all over the show, so i dont really think we can single certain people out.   Neilly mcgarry and dick o kane (i think ???) were knocking lumps out of each other just as the ball was being thrown in.

Owen elliott wasnt the worst last night at all, was pretty impressed with him as i would say it was a tough game to keep control of

girt_giggler

Towards the end of the first half the ref summed it up when he shouted across the field - 'We're here to hurl not cry!'

Cracking atmosphere last night & was thrilling to watch, first half in particular.  Thought Johnny Campbell was excellent in the first half, & Liam McKillop & James Campbell in the 2nd.  Better team won.  Will this be the end for some of the Dunloy 'oul boys' or will they want another whip at it next year?

Also couldn't believe Loughgiel were 3/1 when I checked yesterday.  Was told at the weekend they were the same price for the first game but didn't bother having a fluter.  I sure did yesterday!  ;D

Two Hands FFS

Eh Girt liam mckillop came on in injury time?

Colonel Cool

Surprising result but it sounds like they were well worth it.
I'm not Homer Simpson. That ship has sailed. I'm "Colonel Cool"!