Antrim Hurling

Started by milltown row, January 26, 2007, 11:21:26 AM

girt_giggler

No came off in injury time...

I was sitting beside his mate in the stand! When I first asked who it was that's who he said!  As did other folk i heard who constantly shouted out his name when in possession.

If it wasn't him was it Shea Casey?

I wonder do some fellas ever engage their brain (assuming they have one) before opening their mouth at matches, there was a player down receiving treatment and some retard shouted "i hope his necks broke", it was probably the first or second match he was at all year and would be better suited sitting in a pub somewhere watching the Celtic match. Its an element that is creeping into Gaa matches that we could do without. The same fella probably wouldnt know what end of a hurl to use.

Glensman

Niggling all well and good, swinging round people's heads?!

Best team won, no doubt.
Owen Elliott loves a good one liner during a match. Have often seen him saying something which he thinks his funny and runs on chuckling to himself!
All in all his tactic of letting the game go seemed to generally work, the pace of the first 5/10 minutes couldn't be kept out so the game settled a bit...a few dangerous pulls aside.

Not one clear cut goal chance as far as I can remember.
Think Shea Casey started and Liam McKillop came on for him.
Rather strange throwing a minor in there with boys knocking lumps out of each other and their final tonight!

Still ringing in my ear..."Shemrocks"...
Get to the stand early Gort Na Mona tonight!

Glensman

Agree Minder

It was easy to get caught up in the game last night (my head still hurts trying to concentrate on everything and think I have a crick in my neck from moving to see where the next schmoozle was).

However, its only when you sit back or even where you have an impartial viewer with you that you fully realise the extent of some of the things that are said/shouted.

Now the game itself is the best game in the world and I was commenting last night if you through a purley soccer follower in there they couldn't help but love it but when people overstep the mark it is disgusting.

It may have equally happened if Loughgeil men had been sent off (I would guess) but some of the things that were shouted at the two Dunloy players as they walked off wouldn't even be allowed to be heard in most pubs.

I truely hope Liam Watson does not have a broken jaw. Just as I hope Mickey McClements skull isn't fractured from the "abuse" he took last night.

The reality is Cass that Loughgiels "style" of play brings out an over aggressiveness to the game. While it worked for youse to a large degree, it can also be to your detriment. Live by the sword and all that......

maxpower

Gutted

a lazy analysis would be that Dunloy didn't have the fitness of their near rivals, a brief look at the flow of the two games would give this credence, we seemed to run out of steam in ballycastle and the short recovery time meant our 'older' legs just ran out of steam earilier in the vast expanse of Casement.  This is however to mask the shortcomings of Dunloy this week.

In reality the fitter team yes, but also the hungrier, the more aggressive, the better systems and methods and the more accurate team will go on to contest a county final.  Dunloy can have no complaints and the referee unlike Sunday, had a fine game with so much happening.

If Cushendall are to ensure Loughgiel complete a 6 in row they will seriously need to look at the roles played by both Winker and JC who certainly make them tick, the system loughgiel play has changed somewhat will less ball directed at watson and with the other forwards charged with winning ball and looking to him for the off load.

I have also heard this morning that watson has a broken jaw, in the two matches it was he who pulled the dirtiest strokes, in the drawn game he got booked for doing exactly what kevin martin did, struck with the hurl to the midrift. had a couple of wild pull in the air and that mad swing last night.
What happens next????

clootfromthe21

Not having been at the match, I can't give my own opinion, but I have heard second hand that the pulling was "hot and heavy" to say the least.

What is the story with winker? if he is out for the final, it will be some loss for Loughgiel.

clootfromthe21

Sorry, meant to have this in my post as well . . . .

Have been reading with interest the debate on this board and elsewhere about Antrim refs being too whistle happy compared to their counterparts further south.

Have to say I agree that the stop/start "ah ref that's a f***ing free" stuff doesn't do the game as played in antrim any favours.

Would be interested in people's views as to the balance struck by the ref last night - did he let too much go or did he simply "let the players play"?

He let a wee bit too much go cloot (emphasis on the wee bit), but you (I) could see that be was trying to let the match flow and not be overly fussy. I would blame the players for over stepping the mark rather than the referee for any of the over heated stuff.

I thought he had a great game myself. Up to other referees and more importantly players to get used to this let the game flow philosohy, which can only benefit us in the long run

Shamrock

Im not going to start gloating ;) ;)

The best team won. Like a few of you have said, we were certainly fitter, hungrier and that old cliche we wanted it more. To be fair thats a monkey off our back. We havent put dunloy out of the championship in 20 years so mentally it was a massive win.

But we are only in the final - and have nothing won. Having spoke to a couple of players today - theres a big change from previous years. You can see we are playing to a system, which never happened before so the management derserve praise there. But Cushendall will be a diff proposition in the final.

They will be favourites as they "know how to win finals" and we don't.

Thought ref was good, fair and let things go. As for the last 10 mins, i wont make much comment. Dunloy let themseloves down and deserve the crap that comes with it. Some of the slaps, tackles were a disgrace and if the shoe was on the other foot we would be getting slated!

By i wont complain - we are where we want to be.

Another big night tonight - minors play Gort Na Mona - the club is buzzin at min - sop hopefully that can drive the lads on tonight

Not quite sure how you know that to be true, but it still has nothing to do with the points I made. I think everybody else understand's it so I'm not going to waste my time spelling it out to you.

Gloat away Shamrock.... you've every right to...the better team won

But don't come on here taking the high moral ground. Yes in was poor form and very uncharacteristic (you failed to mention that) but we're not the club that has shown that type of indicipline year in year out. Problem was that Dunloy lowered themselves last night to a level others are well used to.

Enjoy your victory 

girt_giggler

Shamrock, I've sent you a PM if you could get back to me next time you are online if possible it would be great!

Ta in advance

maxpower

its not three months since the shamrocks had 3 men sent off against us so to come on hear slating our discipline is a wee bit hypocritical. This is my last comment on this as i will only come across bitter and ungracious (maybe i am) but i hate, absolutely detest, the way some of your players think its hard to flick people in the manly regions then fall to when the inevitable belt back comes.
What happens next????

Again Dunloy lowered themselves to the oppositions level. You might want to remember who the aggressors were that day and other days where we did not bite

Are you disputing the widely held view over this past 20 years that Dunloy were one of the cleanest teams to play the game?