Long Kesh Park takes another step forward

Started by Donagh, April 16, 2007, 12:37:11 PM

Quote from: Solomon Kane on April 19, 2008, 10:27:08 PM
I'm sure they are over the moon with some of the hateful bile you spew here, or have you the balls to tell it to their faces?
On the other hand, it all reeks of "some of my best friends are black".

Fortunately they are people who live in the real world, don't bury their heads in the ground and are happy to acknowledge and respect people with different opinions to themselves - unlike the little mutual masturbation cabal you have going on over on OWC.

Jezuz, OWC boys, can none of you not admit that you have a problem with some idiots, who would be loyalist and/or racist/sectarian?
Not all but some?

Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 19, 2008, 11:34:55 PM
Jezuz, OWC boys, can none of you not admit that you have a problem with some idiots, who would be loyalist and/or racist/sectarian?
Not all but some?

They live in la la land where everything is wonderful, ach shure arent they the self professed 'best fans in the world'!  :-[

The OWC contingent havent got it in them to admit they have issues, shure wasnt the Lennon incident just one idiot with a 20p piece.

Sammyg etc will do whatever it takes and say whatever it takes to deflect damaging PR away from the norths team, just look at the effort they put into following Fearon waround the newspapers/radio/tv etc. They are obsessed with ridding themselves of bad PR and shure I had them searching the Jim Rome show that airs in the states because I told them i went on the air and slammed them after they went after holly aged 8 from Kent.

Quote from: stew on April 19, 2008, 11:49:26 PM
shure I had them searching the Jim Rome show that airs in the states because I told them i went on the air and slammed them after they went after holly aged 8 from Kent.

:D I'd forgotten about that.

Solomon Kane

Quote from: Donagh on April 19, 2008, 11:18:08 PM
Quote from: Solomon Kane on April 19, 2008, 10:27:08 PM
I'm sure they are over the moon with some of the hateful bile you spew here, or have you the balls to tell it to their faces?
On the other hand, it all reeks of "some of my best friends are black".

Fortunately they are people who live in the real world, don't bury their heads in the ground and are happy to acknowledge and respect people with different opinions to themselves - unlike the little mutual masturbation cabal you have going on over on OWC.

That is possibly the most ironic statement from anyone ever.

Solomon Kane

Not all but some?

I have no problem admitting a small minority of our fans are dickheads. You can put a label on them, but dickheads are dickheads whatever and wherever they are. There is enough discussion about this on the OWC website. Where I do have a problem is with other dickheads that will attempt to smear us all because of the past or sometimes imagined antics of that minority. 

Quote from: Solomon Kane on April 20, 2008, 12:08:56 AM
Not all but some?

I have no problem admitting a small minority of our fans are dickheads. You can put a label on them, but dickheads are dickheads whatever and wherever they are. There is enough discussion about this on the OWC website. Where I do have a problem is with other dickheads that will attempt to smear us all because of the past or sometimes imagined antics of that minority. 

Solomon, I'm not labelling you all as dickheads, but I would appreciate it if you (the OWC posters on this board) would admit that you have a band of LOYALIST/NEO-NAZI/SECTARIAN cnuts who go to matches and support your team.
Not wanting "photographs" or "sackcloth and ashes", just an admittance of a problem.

SammyG

Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 20, 2008, 12:47:56 AMSolomon, I'm not labelling you all as dickheads, but I would appreciate it if you (the OWC posters on this board) would admit that you have a band of LOYALIST/NEO-NAZI/SECTARIAN cnuts who go to matches and support your team.
Not wanting "photographs" or "sackcloth and ashes", just an admittance of a problem.
Why would we admit something that is complete bollix?

I have never in 30 odd years of going to NI matches, seen anything to do with Neo-Nazism. Just because Donagh makes something up, doesn't mean that it suddenly becomes  fact.

As far as sectarianism, there was a problem in the past, which has now been dealt with and I have not heard or seen any sectarianism for many years.

Solomon Kane

Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 20, 2008, 12:47:56 AM
Quote from: Solomon Kane on April 20, 2008, 12:08:56 AM
Not all but some?

Solomon, I'm not labelling you all as dickheads, but I would appreciate it if you (the OWC posters on this board) would admit that you have a band of LOYALIST/NEO-NAZI/SECTARIAN cnuts who go to matches and support your team.

A serious question for you GDA - where do you get your perceptions of NI fans? Is it on this board, the media, OWC or somewhere else? The nearest I have saw to racism among NI fans over the past decade or so has been some eejit full of drink asking a Chinese tourist in Copenhagen for a chicken fried rice. Stupid - yes, racist - probably, regardless of the motivation but neo-nazi? I don't think so.

Chrisowc

Quote from: Donagh on April 19, 2008, 08:22:45 PM

Actually I've a few mates who are block-bookers as I think some of your OWC buddies should be able to confirm. One of them is even a former peeler.  :o

Aren't you the right fella :D :D

Sure I met a cafflick once and he was a decent bloke. ::)
it's 'circle the wagons time again' here comes the cavalry!

Quote from: Chrisowc on April 18, 2008, 07:33:08 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on April 18, 2008, 05:38:28 PM
The personal stuff on this thread is unbelievably childish.
"play the ball, not the man" obviously only counts when certain men are being played.

The hypocracy is unreal.

Indeed, His Holiness. None more spectacular than this tirade....

a foreign team such as Northern Ireland which happily attracts all manner of neo-Nazi and loyalist scumbags to its games. I made a point about that bunch of ill-informed morons on OWC

but I somehow doubt that was what you were getting at ;)

Whatever about agreeing with the arguments, I was having a go at the personal abuse coming from both sides.
Re the hypocracy, well yes, that was referring to a particular poster who harps on about playing the ball not the man, but is happy to dish it out as well.

But while I was commenting on personal abuse from both "sides" its interesting that you higlighted an example of this from one particular side.  :)

Yes I Would

Solomon, it is less than a deacde since Neil Lennon received disgusting sectarian/rascist (butter it up how you like)abuse from a section of N.I supporters, while representing the team.
It was clear that this was not being perpetrated by a a handful of people. of people. At the time there were hundreds invovled, some probably having a go for the craic of it! Have these idiots suddenly withdrawn support for the team and no longer attend games??, or have their mindsights significantly changed. Some possibly yes, the majority i would think not!!

Solomon Kane

Quote from: Yes I Would on April 20, 2008, 12:20:25 PM
Solomon, it is less than a deacde since Neil Lennon received disgusting sectarian/rascist (butter it up how you like)abuse from a section of N.I supporters, while representing the team.
It was clear that this was not being perpetrated by a a handful of people. of people. At the time there were hundreds invovled, some probably having a go for the craic of it! Have these idiots suddenly withdrawn support for the team and no longer attend games??, or have their mindsights significantly changed. Some possibly yes, the majority i would think not!!

I know all about it - I was there. It was wrong, disgusting, terrible etc. It was also a catalyst for change. I would put the figures doing it at about 200, but it may have been more or indeed less. There is no way of telling and I sure as hell haven't met anyone who has owned up to doing it. Some mindsets may have changed due to the press onslaught that followed, others may have just decided to keep their nasty thoughts to themselves.  More importantly it gave the rest of us the kick up the asses we needed to tell these nitwits to shut the f**k up if they started their nonsense again. I have done this and I have seen others do it. It is important to remember that he played on for Northern Ireland after this at home and away, and recieeved a rapturous welcome at the next home game. These days it isn't really an issue, from where I am sitting at games at any rate. As for the death threat on Lennon, I have no idea who made it or how serious it was. While no code word was given, the police made enough of the issue to approach Neil himself. He made the right decision walking away as he was becoming a much bigger story than the team. It was sad to see him go as although I didn't really rate him that much at times, at other times he was a very useful player for us and the manner of his retirement was tragic. It did hurt to see an Ulsterman at a UEFA Cup final who felt he could no longer play for his country. As for the often quoted on this site "20p" gambit I have no idea who made the telephone threat. There may have been one person involved or there may have been more but one thing is for sure, there wasn't 14,000 people in that phone-box on that day. I don't therefore see why the rest of us should be blamed for that one.
As for these events taking place less than a decade ago that is true, but there hjas been a lot of change in less than a decade none of us saw coming.   

SammyG

Quote from: Yes I Would on April 20, 2008, 12:20:25 PM
Could you tell us about this sectarian/racist abuse, as I'd be very intrerested to hear about it?

A tiny number of people booed Lennon because he played for Celtic, nothing to do with his relegion (totally wrong and the c***ts were drowned out by the vast majority singing One Neil Lennon). But I'm sure you know different.

Not on the TV,  on TV the boos were the overwhelming winner.
I remember watching that first half in total shock at what was going down.

http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,,1859991,00.html
"From the moment I went on to that pitch to play against Norway I was the target of an unremitting chorus of boos, jeers, catcalls and insults. In a half-empty stadium, the noise seemed to amplify and at times it seemed as though it was the only sound to be heard. Deep down, it was the sheer scale of things which upset me. Later, people would try to play down what happened, saying it was only a minority in the crowd who had hurled abuse. There wasn't a massive crowd at the game, maybe 7,000 or so, and the minority might only have been 500 or 600, but to me the proportion booing me didn't matter - one per cent would have been too much.

Not only could I hear the jeering, but I could also see people in the stands arguing and gesticulating at each other. Sections of the home crowd were having a go at their fellow supporters who were abusing me and nobody was paying much attention to proceedings on the pitch".

"Now I have been booed and jeered many times - just about every time I play for Celtic away from home. I had heard anti-Catholic songs being sung at Windsor Park internationals before but, like most Catholic players, played on and ignored them. The fact is you do not mind being booed by the opposition fans or even your own supporters if you are having a stinker. But this was something else again and was, I believe, completely premeditated. I had played 35 times for my country before that night and had a good relationship with most fans, who knew I gave my all for Northern Ireland. So what had happened to make things so different? Answer: I now played for Celtic".