Fleadh 2026 Belfast

Started by gallsman, August 03, 2026, 08:57:02 PM

Quote from: gallsman on August 10, 2026, 01:20:00 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on August 10, 2026, 12:59:43 PMI feel the likes of Jamie and Lockhart look at this and it scares the sh*te out of them to see an AI event like this show them and their like up.

I think this is it in a nutshell, especially as it's in no way a political or republican event. It's about music and dancing and culture and craic. Irish culture. Unionist culture. Even loyalist culture. Both separate and shared without any judgment attached. Arguing that it's anything but will be laughed at by a few more people than it was beforehand, and that's an inherently a good thing.

They'll try in due to course to paint it as republicanism by stealth. They'll say it's about pulling the wool over people's eyes about a great a UI will be. I'm sure a few Free Ps will be along to demonise it over how the devil's buttermilk was free flowing. And again, a few more people than before will listen to them and think they're complete eejits.

I think the key here is to not give them the oxygen they crave. Bryson is a blow hard,  Lockhart is playing to the lowest of her voting gene pool as she may be under pressure next May. Let the mechanics of this play out and they will be seen for the fools they actually are.

tbrick18,  get the kids on the whistles. My wee one is only 6. Has 3-4 tunes but she went out busking for an hour on her own,  her own idea too! No fear!  Armagh jersey on,  Antrim cap on the ground,  placed her down from
Madden's as I knew the footfall would be good and away she went!  Earned more in an hour than big brother gets paid in a day at his summer job!!!!

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on August 10, 2026, 02:05:39 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on August 10, 2026, 12:59:43 PMI feel the likes of Jamie and Lockhart look at this and it scares the sh*te out of them to see an AI event like this show them and their like up.

I think this is it in a nutshell, especially as it's in no way a political or republican event. It's about music and dancing and culture and craic. Irish culture. Unionist culture. Even loyalist culture. Both separate and shared without any judgment attached. Arguing that it's anything but will be laughed at by a few more people than it was beforehand, and that's an inherently a good thing.

They'll try in due to course to paint it as republicanism by stealth. They'll say it's about pulling the wool over people's eyes about a great a UI will be. I'm sure a few Free Ps will be along to demonise it over how the devil's buttermilk was free flowing. And again, a few more people than before will listen to them and think they're complete eejits.

I think the key here is to not give them the oxygen they crave. Bryson is a blow hard,  Lockhart is playing to the lowest of her voting gene pool as she may be under pressure next May. Let the mechanics of this play out and they will be seen for the fools they actually are.

tbrick18,  get the kids on the whistles. My wee one is only 6. Has 3-4 tunes but she went out busking for an hour on her own,  her own idea too! No fear!  Armagh jersey on,  Antrim cap on the ground,  placed her down from
Madden's as I knew the footfall would be good and away she went!  Earned more in an hour than big brother gets paid in a day at his summer job!!!!

I might learn a tune myself!

The main obstacle nowadays is that you'd have to carry change specifically to be able to put something in, or did she take Revolut?
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Maybe just me but I think this 'outgushing of love' is just a tad overboard. Granted, it was fantastic but some people are going on a bit too much. Nearly trying to outdo each other with agjectives. Maybe I'm a cynic.

Re: unionism. Let's hope they don't try to take over and say it should be 50/50 etc. Give them 10%, if not happy then clear off. It's a 32 county organisation.  No unionist politician speaking about the UVF bank in the Titanic - no nationalist giving out either, which to me, is disappointing.

Quote from: armaghniac on August 10, 2026, 02:44:03 PM

The main obstacle nowadays is that you'd have to carry change specifically to be able to put something in, or did she take Revolut?

She has East Tyrone and South Armagh genes....cash is king!!!!

Excellent.

Quote from: marty34 on August 10, 2026, 03:15:36 PMMaybe just me but I think this 'outgushing of love' is just a tad overboard. Granted, it was fantastic but some people are going on a bit too much. Nearly trying to outdo each other with agjectives. Maybe I'm a cynic.

Re: unionism. Let's hope they don't try to take over and say it should be 50/50 etc. Give them 10%, if not happy then clear off. It's a 32 county organisation.  No unionist politician speaking about the UVF bank in the Titanic - no nationalist giving out either, which to me, is disappointing.

I would normally agree with this sentiment but was around a lot of people all week who are generational fleadh goers and they were saying they had never seen the like of it,  that's musicians and just real fleadh aficionados. This was a seminal,  ground breaking fleadh on so many levels

And another thing, who listens to Nolan. No 'nationalist' should be listening to that clown. Stirs things up for ratings.

RadioGAAGAA

I think the key here is to not give them the oxygen they crave.

Totally agree.

Unfortunately that useless fúcker Nolan gets his ratings from getting clowns like that on the air.

Nolan has repeatedly over the years put his own financial self-interest above this place moving on to a more peaceful and prosperous future and will no doubt continue to do so. Its utterly disgusting.
i usse an speelchekor

Quote from: marty34 on August 10, 2026, 03:20:32 PMAnd another thing, who listens to Nolan. No 'nationalist' should be listening to that clown. Stirs things up for ratings.

Whoever the f**k wants to. Getting out of the echo chamber once on a blue moon hurts nobody.

I took in the Fleadh on Saturday and it was an absolute joy.  The crowds were massive.  Music and fun everywhere. Our fella is in the local Comhaltas and they has a wee set on stage and then off the went to do a bit of busking.  They all seemed to thoroughly enjoy themselves and do alright out of it  ;)

As stated, sometimes it was best to relocate due to some of the bar's amplifying some music.  That suits some though and creates another atmosphere in it's own right.  ;)

I saw James Nesbitt outside the Harp bar.  Plenty looking photos.  Hope the lad actually got to sit and enjoy some of it  :)

That was my first ever Fleadh experience.  I am not a lover of the traditional music, but I will be back again next year 100%.   

Quote from: gallsman on August 10, 2026, 03:28:01 PM
Quote from: marty34 on August 10, 2026, 03:20:32 PMAnd another thing, who listens to Nolan. No 'nationalist' should be listening to that clown. Stirs things up for ratings.

Whoever the f**k wants to. Getting out of the echo chamber once on a blue moon hurts nobody.
Jumping from one echo chamber into another won't hurt you but won't do you much good either.

I'm not a big fleadh follower, my love of Irish music extents to Thin Lizzy, Rory Gallagher, Mamas boys, horselips at a stretch but by all accounts anyone I've met the last week and has been to the fleadh has been ranting and raving about it and how well organised it was and how great the atmosphere in and around Belfast was.

I'll maybe make it my business to go up and see how it goes for the craic.

BUT,
  how has this turned into an usuns and themuns thing? I'm struggling with that TBH.

Is there nothing we do that can't be turned into a sectarian shíte show.

It hasn't been, that's the point.

A select few are desperately trying to do so.

Quote from: gallsman on August 10, 2026, 04:19:42 PMIt hasn't been, that's the point.

A select few are desperately trying to do so.

Then they shouldn't succeed and the likes of Nolan who normally thrives on this shouldn't be given any oxygen and that includes Nationalist participating in his "debates"!

ClubScene13

Quote from: ClubScene13 on August 04, 2026, 12:00:55 PMTempted to go up Saturday morning but could be carnage, sure to be the busiest day. I suppose if you are up there and it's a long wait for a pint you knew what you were signing up for. Looks good in fairness hopefully the weather stays decent

Went up on Saturday. About 2:00pm to midnight roughly. Really really good - would definitely consider booking the days midweek next year. Organisers have played a stormer there, deadly day out