Tyrone County Football and Hurling

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, April 01, 2007, 05:58:31 PM

tyrone08

Galway can rightly feel shafted as well. That was down to the ref, again when have you ever seen 3 officials make mistakes. Not sure why in 2026 teams accept that their seasons can be over due to simple mistakes. Gaa love changing rules but avoid consistency like the plague.

Teams should not have their season over due to mistakes simple as that. Only teams that seem to come out of on the right side of mistakes are Dublin and Kerry with maybe exception of Donegal this year.

It doesn't even require a Var type system, keep it simple in Croke Park replays of incidents are shown on the big screen and allow ref 15 seconds to have a look at it. A bit like hawkeye it doesn't have to be in every pitch.

Also Tyrone were well beaten in 2018 by Dublin even before half time. No need for any "bad" calls to be made. Although it would have been funny if they won and no RTE coverage of winning team or interviews at banquet.

thebigfullforward

Still going on about the refs here? Yeah some decisions didn't go our way but we didn't exactly help ourselves either lol

cjx

Quote from: thebigfullforward on June 30, 2026, 10:46:59 PMStill going on about the refs here? Yeah some decisions didn't go our way but we didn't exactly help ourselves either lol

Tyrone were as gopd as Kerry Clifford or no. Both made mistakes as all teams do but the effectof bad ref decisions is not just on hescoreline it drags a team down and the extra effort to win required  is thus much greater and spirit is all that carries you on. Tyrone had that while missed 3 key players. The futre is bright but fairness is a big isdue. It like Allianz and dead children. Fairness matters

sam03/05

Still not seeing much difference from the Logan & Dooher era. Who actually managed to beat Kerry a few times in League & championship.  The team still can't win 3 games in a row - something we failed to do this year. I would question if the best players in the county are actually playing for us, there is a good number not, especially ones from successful u20 teams, seems to be no great development of this talent - with many not even in the squad . Same problems still remain. Kickout press especially , but also poor attacking play a feature for many years and very poor on long kickouts for a long time. We ran a Kerry team close but it was a team that played 3 weeks on the bounce and who looked fitter than us at end of game. We are Tyrone, we expect to be beating Kerry - which we do routinely at underage. So for me the jury is very much out on the current set up.

tiempo

Clifford going off injured opened the door to the 2021 win, we rode our luck that day, we had no luck at all last Saturday, thems the breaks

NotedObserver

Quote from: sam03/05 on July 01, 2026, 08:17:30 AMStill not seeing much difference from the Logan & Dooher era. Who actually managed to beat Kerry a few times in League & championship.  The team still can't win 3 games in a row - something we failed to do this year. I would question if the best players in the county are actually playing for us, there is a good number not, especially ones from successful u20 teams, seems to be no great development of this talent - with many not even in the squad . Same problems still remain. Kickout press especially , but also poor attacking play a feature for many years and very poor on long kickouts for a long time. We ran a Kerry team close but it was a team that played 3 weeks on the bounce and who looked fitter than us at end of game. We are Tyrone, we expect to be beating Kerry - which we do routinely at underage. So for me the jury is very much out on the current set up.

Who are the better players in the county? Dooher and Logan inherited a fully developed team, this is a completely different side in terms of age and experience.

Sean Coyle

Quote from: sam03/05 on July 01, 2026, 08:17:30 AMStill not seeing much difference from the Logan & Dooher era. Who actually managed to beat Kerry a few times in League & championship.  The team still can't win 3 games in a row - something we failed to do this year. I would question if the best players in the county are actually playing for us, there is a good number not, especially ones from successful u20 teams, seems to be no great development of this talent - with many not even in the squad . Same problems still remain. Kickout press especially , but also poor attacking play a feature for many years and very poor on long kickouts for a long time. We ran a Kerry team close but it was a team that played 3 weeks on the bounce and who looked fitter than us at end of game. We are Tyrone, we expect to be beating Kerry - which we do routinely at underage. So for me the jury is very much out on the current set up.
"we are tyrone we expect to be beating kerry". you sound absolutley ridiculous. you would have more clue about a soup sarnie. also to say there is know difference in the team now from when logan was in charge is astonishing. maybe stick to watching soccer or something. saying they managed to beat kerry is great and all to you remember that that kerry team is absolute tripe. this kerry team are capable of 4/5 iar the way they are getting on.

In hiding

Its a good job that you have no say in who manages the senior team

sam03/05

U20 Footballer of the year Shea O Hare for one
McShane
R Brennan
Donnelly from the u20s last year
Potter
2 Quinns in Dungannon
Noah Grimes
To start with

MOR inherited an All Ireland winning senior team and 3 u20 winning teams
Not bad

Who are the better players in the county? Dooher and Logan inherited a fully developed team, this is a completely different side in terms of age and experience.

square_ball

We looked at McShane stink the place out for 4 years after we won an all Ireland. None of those players you named are any better than what is currently there.

Scoring Zone

Massive opportunity missed, that was the final, Kerry will beat dublin by 3+ and Louth/Mayo by the usual 9/10pts

Tyrone were brave, and probably done 99% of the game plan but score a goal, you have to match or beat their goals as they are very good front runners

Clarke going off was a blow as Geaney made hay on the fresh rafferty

Ref calls are inexcusable, 3 massive calls against a team with Clifford in the last 15 mins simply can't happen

Of the old guard i hope
Mcgeary, donnelly & McCurry (and their families) give it one for the road

but there's big calls to be made by management on players round the periphery that are really important but tyrone are v light in size mobility and ability

same 3 subs for the same 3 lads most of the time - ideally you would want 5-6 new faces and 5-6 out to freshen and make sure no one is comfortable

Personally due to the injuries and disjointed League, bar someone with a club run, f**k the universities and Sigerson, Tyrone or nothing

On the management they have been v unlucky(against Armagh in the two years) but are still without a so-called signature win, beat a Donegal team a week or two after Ulster final win and beat a poor Dublin team, they need a promotion and a big championship win next year imo as winning 4/5 games out of 12 (outside McKenna cup) is not what this group of players are capable of but is producing for 4 years and this management party where brought in for better

DaleCooper

Is there an issue of tactical nous on kickouts?

Agreed on lack of goals...inexperience showed I think, Cassidy might have passed it cross goal to McElholm who himself should have kept his shot down. Even if both those had been fisted you're level or one ahead. Agonising. Mattie failed to play in McElholm for a goal chance after the Teague foul, and hit a wide off his left.

Said before game we need two goals not only to get ahead but to challenge Kerry mentally. They are resilient and it did show. Last ten were disappointing.

Few rash efforts at 2 pts but we had to go for broke and thats how it worked out. Still no confirmation why EJ was hitting the free?

WT4E

Quote from: Scoring Zone on July 01, 2026, 09:26:08 PMMassive opportunity missed, that was the final, Kerry will beat dublin by 3+ and Louth/Mayo by the usual 9/10pts

Tyrone were brave, and probably done 99% of the game plan but score a goal, you have to match or beat their goals as they are very good front runners

Clarke going off was a blow as Geaney made hay on the fresh rafferty

Ref calls are inexcusable, 3 massive calls against a team with Clifford in the last 15 mins simply can't happen

Of the old guard i hope
Mcgeary, donnelly & McCurry (and their families) give it one for the road

but there's big calls to be made by management on players round the periphery that are really important but tyrone are v light in size mobility and ability

same 3 subs for the same 3 lads most of the time - ideally you would want 5-6 new faces and 5-6 out to freshen and make sure no one is comfortable

Personally due to the injuries and disjointed League, bar someone with a club run, f**k the universities and Sigerson, Tyrone or nothing

On the management they have been v unlucky(against Armagh in the two years) but are still without a so-called signature win, beat a Donegal team a week or two after Ulster final win and beat a poor Dublin team, they need a promotion and a big championship win next year imo as winning 4/5 games out of 12 (outside McKenna cup) is not what this group of players are capable of but is producing for 4 years and this management party where brought in for better

Raferrty not county material IMO

sam03/05

All
Of them are better than what we had on the bench the other night

Quote from: sam03/05 on July 01, 2026, 07:30:14 PMU20 Footballer of the year Shea O Hare for one
McShane
R Brennan
Donnelly from the u20s last year
Potter
2 Quinns in Dungannon
Noah Grimes
To start with

MOR inherited an All Ireland winning senior team and 3 u20 winning teams
Not bad

DaleCooper

McShane? Lol

Will see now with club getting underway hopefully a few more lads put their hand up.

Rewatched Mayo and yeah Jordan did struggle...he did yella out and dropped short one kick.