All-Ireland Series Sam Maguire 2026

Started by Blowitupref, May 03, 2026, 06:11:05 PM

Quote from: DaleCooper on June 29, 2026, 11:20:54 AM
Quote from: GAA Club Fan on June 29, 2026, 11:13:11 AMDo GAA plus show the games in full at any stage this week or where can they be watched back?

No. The tapes go via Shannon to Hangar 51.

Jokes aside If you have GAA+ then you have access to replays for a while. Or pay €15 should work

https://www.gaaplus.ie/payment/PC15-26-F-AIQF2

Did GAA+ ever show full games for free at a later date? Like if you went onto the site on a Wednesday or something?

I think someone said something to me about it once a few years back (maybe was it during COVID?) but I can't remember for sure.

Quote from: AustinPowers on June 29, 2026, 12:25:33 PM
QuoteDo GAA plus show the games in full at any stage this week or where can they be watched back?

Jokes aside If you have GAA+ then you have access to replays for a while. Or pay €15 should work

Can you watch  one of those QFs  For Free , even though you  didn't originally pay for it?

I was typing and didn't see your post.

I think someone who had an account with gaa+ when it was GAAgo said something to me a few years ago about logging into their GAAgp account and being able to watch a game they hadn't paid for back.

You'd think that it would be some good/cheap/easy PR for GAA+ to do this.

The numbers taking advantage of it probably wouldn't be huge but it would cost either very little or nothing.

Quote from: twohands!!! on June 29, 2026, 12:31:59 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on June 29, 2026, 12:25:33 PM
QuoteDo GAA plus show the games in full at any stage this week or where can they be watched back?

Can you watch  one of those QFs  For Free , even though you  didn't originally pay for it?

I was typing and didn't see your post.

I think someone who had an account with gaa+ when it was GAAgo said something to me a few years ago about logging into their GAAgp account and being able to watch a game they hadn't paid for back.

You'd think that it would be some good/cheap/easy PR for GAA+ to do this.

The numbers taking advantage of it probably wouldn't be huge but it would cost either very little or nothing.

What exactly is the issue here, the games are generally free midweek onwards.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

SouthOfThe Bann

Quote from: naka on June 29, 2026, 10:53:47 AMWas at the games
Jeez Monaghan missed Beggan , he plays they win 99 times out of 100.
Fair play to Louth though they stuck in
Got lucky with keepers in last two games and I fancy them to do a job on Mayo
Second game though Galway were cruising after their goal and then simply crashed .
Would see a few of their veterans stepping back .

Louth are a better balanced team to Mayo.

But i think Mayo's forwards will get them over he line and it covers up any weaknesses they may have out the field. They have serious quality in that FF Line and are only 2nd to Kerry in that regard in my opinion.

Keane

The 45 people are complaining that Kerry got was an absolutely blatant foot block, wasn't it? Are people ignoring this or is there an argument in the other direction? Maybe the rule has been changed from this?

QuoteRULE 5 - AGGRESSIVE FOULS
Category 1 – Related Infractions
5.1   To block or attempt to block with the boot when an opponent is kicking the ball from the hand(s).

Quote from: twohands!!! on June 29, 2026, 11:08:49 AM
Second game though Galway were cruising after their goal and then simply crashed .

Louth really got lucky going from Beggan in goals to a 19 year old making his intercounty debut. There was a fairly stark difference in the overall quality of the kickouts which was made worse by Louth's big men around the middle. They also missed him as a scoring threat. Saw he scored 0-21 in the championship this year before yesterday.

Can see a lot of the older lads in Galway packing it in - they've a fair few over 30 at this stage ; especially as Joyce seemed stubborn about staying on in his post-match comments. Conroy, Comer, Walsh, Gleeson, Silke, and Molloy are all over the 30 mark and I'm could be missing more. Whatever about the penalty, Galway were 6 points up and let Dublin score 3 points in a row before the penalty to narrow the gap.

Of course Monaghan missed Beggan but them's the challenges in the game which Monaghan failed to meet on the day. Westmeath had their nr.3 keeper, a young lad in  against us and he did grand. I think Mayo had a debutante against us. Monaghan needed to have a sub keeper ready to perform the kick outs especially in the last 1/4, the rest of the team there to support him and they failed against 14. For example the defensive tackling intensity in the 2nd half  was píss poor, very standoffish. They needed to up the intensity as Mayo did v Meath.

Quote from: JoG2 on June 29, 2026, 01:18:14 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on June 28, 2026, 05:58:25 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on June 28, 2026, 05:10:38 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on June 28, 2026, 04:50:53 PM
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on June 28, 2026, 04:41:41 PMLooks like Galway have absolutely no kickout strategy

So many that was tipping Galway to win Sam was strangely ignoring their goalkeeper and defensively issues.  Joyce a lucky general so won't rule them out winning today however Kerry would ease past them should they meet.

Joyce has lucked out with having a healthy squad the last number of years that's for sure 😬
No excuse every team has injuries. The lucky general ran out of it today in what could be his final match managing Galway.

Eye opener for all those who thought All-Ireland was in that Galway team.

Missed the last 15 mins as I had to go out for the night,so just catching up.
Dublin penalty wasn't the correct call imo, Galway defender right in front and Galway should have had a penalty...if Joyce is lucky, you can take that luck to the street, no thanks

The rule states "preventing a goalscoring opportunity" Where the foul happened and Galway defender Hernon wouldn't have got round to stop that goalscoring chance.

Was Maher fouled or slipped in that other incident? Gough it appears thought the latter then brought it back for the previous foul a two-pointer free which Shane Walsh missed.

Can debate about such incidents however after both Galway was still 1 point in front with six  minutes remaining.
Galway will have to look at themselves for how they lost, scoring 0-1 in the last 15 minutes against a Dublin team playing their 3rd match in 14 days including extra time last week was simply not good enough especially for one rated as highly as Galway have been in the media and indeed by a number of posters on here. 

DaleCooper

Quote from: square_ball on June 29, 2026, 11:55:02 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on June 29, 2026, 11:48:34 AMYou need luck to win anything, Louth have certainly been getting their fair share, but good luck to them, they've overcome any adversity they've faced to date. They'll be very confident of taking Mayo.

Kerry are also lucky that David Clifford is a phenomenon that stays largely injury free, having a player like that means you can afford to be brave with everything you do or want to try - a point the Pods/media rarely seem to mention.

When Kerry badly needed a few scores on Saturday, they got the ball to Clifford and he done the exact same thing 2 times in a row and got a fisted point each time. He can be relatively quiet but then sparks into life when Kerry need him most.

Yep definitely felt a bit like them drowning and he throws them the aul life preserver.

Quote from: DaleCooper on June 29, 2026, 01:04:50 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on June 29, 2026, 11:48:34 AMYou need luck to win anything, Louth have certainly been getting their fair share, but good luck to them, they've overcome any adversity they've faced to date. They'll be very confident of taking Mayo.

Kerry are also lucky that David Clifford is a phenomenon that stays largely injury free, having a player like that means you can afford to be brave with everything you do or want to try - a point the Pods/media rarely seem to mention.

When Kerry badly needed a few scores on Saturday, they got the ball to Clifford and he done the exact same thing 2 times in a row and got a fisted point each time. He can be relatively quiet but then sparks into life when Kerry need him most.

Yep definitely felt a bit like them drowning and he throws them the aul life preserver.
Unreal. One (slight) criticism would be surely he could be an option for a kickout the very odd time if they're really under pressure with the size of him and leap he has. That last kickout (although he did end up getting on the ball) surely you try to open up the middle and launch one down his throat? He'd be very well rested compared to others given he never tracks back beyond the half way line

Didn't realise it live but that Keith Evans block on McKernan is one of the best I've ever seen. How he changes direction like that I don't know. Very likely that one goes over to level the game

Quote from: Armagh18 on June 29, 2026, 01:17:31 PMDidn't realise it live but that Keith Evans block on McKernan is one of the best I've ever seen. How he changes direction like that I don't know. Very likely that one goes over to level the game

That was unreal. Bought the dummy but showed great desire to get down on the ball. Fantastic effort.

Quote from: Main Street on June 29, 2026, 12:50:22 PM

Louth really got lucky going from Beggan in goals to a 19 year old making his intercounty debut. There was a fairly stark difference in the overall quality of the kickouts which was made worse by Louth's big men around the middle. They also missed him as a scoring threat. Saw he scored 0-21 in the championship this year before yesterday.

Can see a lot of the older lads in Galway packing it in - they've a fair few over 30 at this stage ; especially as Joyce seemed stubborn about staying on in his post-match comments. Conroy, Comer, Walsh, Gleeson, Silke, and Molloy are all over the 30 mark and I'm could be missing more. Whatever about the penalty, Galway were 6 points up and let Dublin score 3 points in a row before the penalty to narrow the gap.

Of course Monaghan missed Beggan but them's the challenges in the game which Monaghan failed to meet on the day. Westmeath had their nr.3 keeper, a young lad in  against us and he did grand. I think Mayo had a debutante against us. Monaghan needed to have a sub keeper ready to perform the kick outs especially in the last 1/4, the rest of the team there to support him and they failed against 14. For example the defensive tackling intensity in the 2nd half  was píss poor, very standoffish. They needed to up the intensity as Mayo did v Meath.

I thought the young keeper did well stepping in for Beggan 60% on his kick outs and some good saves. 

The very standoffish play mirrored what Roscommon did in Clones recently it was very surprising to see Monaghan do that in All-Ireland Quarter-final. Did Louth going down to 14 men bring some complacency or did the 3 games in 14 days use up a lot of the energy and Monaghan struggled to produce the
intensity they normally give in these knock out games?

Quote from: Armagh18 on June 29, 2026, 01:14:40 PM

Unreal. One (slight) criticism would be surely he could be an option for a kickout the very odd time if they're really under pressure with the size of him and leap he has. That last kickout (although he did end up getting on the ball) surely you try to open up the middle and launch one down his throat? He'd be very well rested compared to others given he never tracks back beyond the half way line

Funny you mention the kickout -  just saw a stat there that 16 different Kerry players won possession from a kickout in their game. That was probably on both Kerry and Tyrone kickouts but I don't think Kerry are short of kickout options.

Quote from: twohands!!! on June 29, 2026, 01:53:17 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on June 29, 2026, 01:14:40 PM

Funny you mention the kickout -  just saw a stat there that 16 different Kerry players won possession from a kickout in their game. That was probably on both Kerry and Tyrone kickouts but I don't think Kerry are short of kickout options.
Yeah they're not short is right, just a thought that occurred to me at the time why not have him as an option when under pressure which they were for that last one, worked out alright in the end though.

Quote from: Blowitupref on June 29, 2026, 01:36:00 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 29, 2026, 12:50:22 PM

I thought the young keeper did well stepping in for Beggan 60% on his kick outs and some good saves. 

The very standoffish play mirrored what Roscommon did in Clones recently it was very surprising to see Monaghan do that in All-Ireland Quarter-final. Did Louth going down to 14 men bring some complacency or did the 3 games in 14 days use up a lot of the energy and Monaghan struggled to produce the
intensity they normally give in these knock out games?

I'm not saying he had a bad game - it was a tough spot for the lad to come into and while they might have won 60% of their own kickouts, if you looked at all the kickouts over the 4 games at the weekend, there's clearly degrees of quality in terms of a won kickout. One thing for a team to win a kickout under serious pressure from the oppostion facing your own goal with no good options to get it forward by foot or by hand compared to being pinged the ball running forward into space with options around you.

A lot of those 60% of won kickouts were at the poorer end of the scale in terms of setting up easy go-forward ball.

I think the problem for Monaghan was that it was a drop-off from the likely extremely high level of overall kickouts they would have got from Beggan.