All-Ireland Series Sam Maguire 2026

Started by Blowitupref, May 03, 2026, 06:11:05 PM

TyroneTam

Quote from: Dunneroyal on June 16, 2026, 09:25:30 PM
Quote from: square_ball on June 16, 2026, 06:17:49 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on June 16, 2026, 03:48:03 PMI can't see Westmeath/Tyrone/Dublin/Mayo/Monaghan getting further than a QF. Certainly not AI contenders anyway in my view.

If Tyrone drew Monaghan/Westmeath/Dublin/ Meath I'd be very disappointed if we didn't get through to the semi final and it wouldn't be a massive surprise either to see them beat Donegal or Armagh given we'll have the weeks rest. I don't think we have a chance v Kerry at any stage we may play them.

Really? 
Actually of all the quarter final possibilities from a Meath point of view I'd take Tyrone above all the other possibilities. Apart from Kildare worst team we played in league. I mean woeful. And at one stage during early rounds was looking like ye were heading to TC . So on that basis I can't see how you could be happy to meet Meath should we get over mayo. Now on other hand Meath would be very happy to play Tyrone. As I think it would be a guaranteed semi final spot

I'm just heartbroken broken that DunneRoyal will not get the chance to watch his mighty Meath men put manners on ourselves to stroll into an AI semi final. Suppose beating Mayo isn't for everyone, even with a ten point lead in a second half.

SouthOfThe Bann

Quote from: Crete Boom on June 20, 2026, 08:40:19 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on June 20, 2026, 08:31:47 PM
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on June 20, 2026, 08:25:35 PMIs Andy Moran the best coach in the country that was some turnaround?

Mental. I presume a wind up, but I'll bite anyhow.

Mayo have been at the exact same level throughout this decade. A good team that will beat any team that's not good, but will never beat a team that's great.

The black mark against Andy being that the last two management teams have undertaken the rebuild job of moving out a team of ageing warriors, and replacing them with new blood.

Which they did, and handed over the reins.

Mayo's age and experience profile is perfect for winning an AI.

In my lifetime they've never had a full forward line as dangerous, not even remotely close. Not even a third cousin remotely as close.

Yet you still couldn't trust them to win a game against Carlow.

That's harsh 2016/2017 we bet a lot of good teams but just didn't  have the mental toughness to grab the slight chances the Dubs gave us in those finals!!

You're dead right.

Theres a valid argument to be made that that Mayo team of that era was the 2nd best team of all time.

No one came close to that Dublin side but them, which was to Mayos credit.

Opportunity wasted by Meath to prove last year's semi-final appearances wasn't a one off for that group of players. 

Can look towards a debatable red card when they were four points in front. Conor Lane made the call for the red it seems than Faloon. Same Conor Lane that didn't think what Michael Murphy did in the league final was a red card offence.

It was average quality game Mayo are nothing special however could beat Cork,Louth and even Galway next who I don't rate as highly as others and then find themselves like Meath last year into the last four.

Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

RadioGAAGAA

Quote from: From the Bunker on June 20, 2026, 08:41:14 PMMayo beat an average Meath team reduced to 10 men and suddenly Andy is the best since sliced bread and Mayo have the best forwards in the country.

The fickleness of GAA is insane.

I think if Meath had 5 boys standing along the line and Mayo just got over them, no one would be praising any aspect of it!
i usse an speelchekor

square_ball

Quote from: TyroneTam on June 20, 2026, 08:47:00 PM
Quote from: Dunneroyal on June 16, 2026, 09:25:30 PM
Quote from: square_ball on June 16, 2026, 06:17:49 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on June 16, 2026, 03:48:03 PMI can't see Westmeath/Tyrone/Dublin/Mayo/Monaghan getting further than a QF. Certainly not AI contenders anyway in my view.

If Tyrone drew Monaghan/Westmeath/Dublin/ Meath I'd be very disappointed if we didn't get through to the semi final and it wouldn't be a massive surprise either to see them beat Donegal or Armagh given we'll have the weeks rest. I don't think we have a chance v Kerry at any stage we may play them.

Really? 
Actually of all the quarter final possibilities from a Meath point of view I'd take Tyrone above all the other possibilities. Apart from Kildare worst team we played in league. I mean woeful. And at one stage during early rounds was looking like ye were heading to TC . So on that basis I can't see how you could be happy to meet Meath should we get over mayo. Now on other hand Meath would be very happy to play Tyrone. As I think it would be a guaranteed semi final spot

I'm just heartbroken broken that DunneRoyal will not get the chance to watch his mighty Meath men put manners on ourselves to stroll into an AI semi final. Suppose beating Mayo isn't for everyone, even with a ten point lead in a second half.

Leagues are for playing in and all that. Meath were shocking in that 2nd half. Maybe they emptied the bench as they were that far ahead.

Meath Just collapsed in the 2nd half. I thought taking flynn off was a mistake. And the red didn't look like a red to me, maybe theres a view I haven't seen but looked like nothing, with a linesman telling the ref it was a strike there wasnt much a the ref could do but show a red. it finished the game.
Mayo will take confidence from that game, but I dont think theres enough about them to really challenge.

As for Armagh and Kerry, outside of the first 10 minutes, armagh never looked like they were going to win.
They were made look ordinary and the goal into an empty net would have felt embarrassing on the stroke of half time. They never really recovered from that.
Kerry are building nicely, getting big stars back. They'll be the team everyone wants to avoid.
A few more older armagh lads could walk now, the likes of murnin and grugan you'd think will likely retire. Id say armagh reasonably happy with the season though, won ulster at long last.

I'll stick my nexk out now and say mayo wont win sam

seanaglis

Thoughts on armagh v kerry.

1. Killarney a class spot for a game. Backdrop of mountains from terrace side and walk up from town something all gaa fans should experience once in their lives. Down with my daughter for match, unreal day.
2. Armagh in it until 2nd kerry goal went in. Chasing a 6 point defecit in 2nd half was too much an ask.
3. David clifford is some footballer.
4. Ethan Rafferty is not a goalkeeper.
5. Fear this is the end of an era for this armagh team. Since 2019 they have give us some great days, will take the memories to the grave. Fear a lot of retirements now.

Armagh4sam2024

Armagh serve up yet another bokefest under Geezer and dumbfuk add-zero value mckeever. Both of you please step down and allow Armagh football to move forward...

Stickittotheman

Quote from: Armagh4sam2024 on June 20, 2026, 10:02:20 PMArmagh serve up yet another bokefest under Geezer and dumbfuk add-zero value mckeever. Both of you please step down and allow Armagh football to move forward...

The post above yours is a lot classier than this drivel.

DaleCooper

Quote from: seanaglis on June 20, 2026, 10:02:03 PMThoughts on armagh v kerry.

1. Killarney a class spot for a game. Backdrop of mountains from terrace side and walk up from town something all gaa fans should experience once in their lives. Down with my daughter for match, unreal day.
2. Armagh in it until 2nd kerry goal went in. Chasing a 6 point defecit in 2nd half was too much an ask.
3. David clifford is some footballer.
4. Ethan Rafferty is not a goalkeeper.
5. Fear this is the end of an era for this armagh team. Since 2019 they have give us some great days, will take the memories to the grave. Fear a lot of retirements now.

Well worth going and fair play for doing so. Even "bad" memories are often looked back on fondly.

SouthOfThe Bann

Quote from: Armagh4sam2024 on June 20, 2026, 10:02:20 PMArmagh serve up yet another bokefest under Geezer and dumbfuk add-zero value mckeever. Both of you please step down and allow Armagh football to move forward...

Be careful what you wish for my prediction is if McGeeney leaves Armagh they will be borderline Tailteann cup within 3-5 years and might even win one.

On what metric should McGeeney be doing better than what he is?... it definitely isn't underage success like Tyrone or Derry and it most definitely isn't club football standards.

Armagh4sam2024

Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on June 20, 2026, 10:10:55 PM

Be careful what you wish for my prediction is if McGeeney leaves Armagh they will be borderline Tailteann cup within 3-5 years and might even win one.

On what metric should McGeeney be doing better than what he is?... it definitely isn't underage success like Tyrone or Derry and it most definitely isn't club football standards.

On what metric?? 12 years of putrid football ffs! Armagh had 70% possession in 1st half but were yet the worst team!