All-Ireland Series Sam Maguire 2026

Started by Blowitupref, May 03, 2026, 06:11:05 PM

Quote from: tbrick18 on June 16, 2026, 03:48:03 PMI can't see Westmeath/Tyrone/Dublin/Mayo/Monaghan getting further than a QF.
Any of those teams can reach the All-Ireland semi-final.

The team I'd give the least chance is the former stand out team Dublin and mainly because of how far they have fallen back.

Westmeath v Louth,Cork could go either way.

Monaghan reached the semi-finals a few years ago with about 12 of those players that  featured then still around and Tyrone reached the last 4 last year.

Should Mayo overcome Meath and I believe haven't lost to them in MacHale Park since the 60s are then more than capable of beating Louth,Cork and even Galway.

Is there anyone on the Tyrone panel who hasn't got at least 1 All Ireland medal from the 3 grades?
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

square_ball

Quote from: tbrick18 on June 16, 2026, 03:48:03 PMI can't see Westmeath/Tyrone/Dublin/Mayo/Monaghan getting further than a QF. Certainly not AI contenders anyway in my view.

If Tyrone drew Monaghan/Westmeath/Dublin/ Meath I'd be very disappointed if we didn't get through to the semi final and it wouldn't be a massive surprise either to see them beat Donegal or Armagh given we'll have the weeks rest. I don't think we have a chance v Kerry at any stage we may play them.

square_ball

Quote from: Rossfan on June 16, 2026, 06:12:23 PMIs there anyone on the Tyrone panel who hasn't got at least 1 All Ireland medal from the 3 grades?

From the starters I think Peter Teague and Cormac Quinn. A few lads on the panel wouldn't have either. Ben Cullen would have had an u20 AI medal but was used in the senior squad throughout the year and never dropped down to the u20s.

The Kerry v Armagh game is perfect for both teams...Kerry have Armagh at home with a lot of their players coming back to fitness and getting some game time and sharpness into their legs, If they win it'll galvanise them and bring them onto the next level that they'll need to win SAM again!!!.
As for Armagh...I would rather play Kerry now than in 5-6 weeks time when they will totally be flying, if we can get them off the pace a bit and hope the 2 Cliffords are having an off day then we have a chance. My concern is McCambridge not playing, now I don't know how training is going and I'm not in the loop at all but if he can't get on ahead of Aidan Forker who in my book is on the wane then something is wrong, B McCambridge is clearly not fit or not performing at training but a lad that was an All Star 2 years ago and up for player of the year not getting a run out then I can't answer that. If he was to get a game on Sat it would be unfair on him having no minutes in the legs...Training only gets you so far but you need game time.
A Murnin and Blaine will be back for Saturday but a bold move would be to throw Ethan Rafferty into the middle, he's a big lad and can field a ball (well majority of the time). I suppose he'd be a bit like McCambridge wouldn't have the game time in the legs but he has been involved and could even be a last 20 mins man. Armagh miss Ben Crealey more than we know around the middle, we just don't have that big 6'5" big hoor of a man to be a nuisance and throw himself  about.
My head says Kerry but the heart says Armagh...Hope the heart is right.

thebigfullforward

Quote from: Rossfan on June 16, 2026, 06:12:23 PMIs there anyone on the Tyrone panel who hasn't got at least 1 All Ireland medal from the 3 grades?
O'Kane maybe? Has Cormac Quinn, Teague, Oguz? Imagine there is a few others but not many

Quote from: illdecide on June 16, 2026, 06:25:13 PMThe Kerry v Armagh game is perfect for both teams...Kerry have Armagh at home with a lot of their players coming back to fitness and getting some game time and sharpness into their legs, If they win it'll galvanise them and bring them onto the next level that they'll need to win SAM again!!!.
As for Armagh...I would rather play Kerry now than in 5-6 weeks time when they will totally be flying, if we can get them off the pace a bit and hope the 2 Cliffords are having an off day then we have a chance. My concern is McCambridge not playing, now I don't know how training is going and I'm not in the loop at all but if he can't get on ahead of Aidan Forker who in my book is on the wane then something is wrong, B McCambridge is clearly not fit or not performing at training but a lad that was an All Star 2 years ago and up for player of the year not getting a run out then I can't answer that. If he was to get a game on Sat it would be unfair on him having no minutes in the legs...Training only gets you so far but you need game time.
A Murnin and Blaine will be back for Saturday but a bold move would be to throw Ethan Rafferty into the middle, he's a big lad and can field a ball (well majority of the time). I suppose he'd be a bit like McCambridge wouldn't have the game time in the legs but he has been involved and could even be a last 20 mins man. Armagh miss Ben Crealey more than we know around the middle, we just don't have that big 6'5" big hoor of a man to be a nuisance and throw himself  about.
My head says Kerry but the heart says Armagh...Hope the heart is right.
Funny enough I fancy us to win
Chatting to mates and can't believe the numbers who are heading down
Thought Sunday would have knocked the stuffing out of us but hope springs eternal , long journey but so be it .

RoundBall

Quote from: thebigfullforward on June 16, 2026, 07:06:31 PM
O'Kane maybe? Has Cormac Quinn, Teague, Oguz? Imagine there is a few others but not many

Teague has a Senior medal from 2021, he was a panellist. O'Kane (as one of the substitute goalies) and Oguz have All Ireland u17 medals from 2017. Unsure about Cormac Quinn, he joined the Senior panel in 2022.
An Ríocht Uí Néill

DaleCooper

Wondered why Rafferty was never tried outfield in the 2 pt era. Time yet

thebigfullforward

Quote from: RoundBall on June 16, 2026, 07:50:30 PM

Teague has a Senior medal from 2021, he was a panellist. O'Kane (as one of the substitute goalies) and Oguz have All Ireland u17 medals from 2017. Unsure about Cormac Quinn, he joined the Senior panel in 2022.
From 2017 in minors? Tyrone won minor All Ireland in 2010 and not again until last year I think. Open to correction

square_ball

Quote from: thebigfullforward on June 16, 2026, 08:12:53 PM

From 2017 in minors? Tyrone won minor All Ireland in 2010 and not again until last year I think. Open to correction

That was the first ever u17 as minors in 2017. U18 was the main minor competition that year so the one Tyrone won wasn't that illustrious. Darragh Canavan scored a clinker of a goal in that final.

I think Mayo will beat Meath. Those 2 corner forwards.

Dunneroyal

Quote from: Cunny Funt on June 16, 2026, 06:02:59 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on June 16, 2026, 03:48:03 PMI can't see Westmeath/Tyrone/Dublin/Mayo/Monaghan getting further than a QF.
Any of those teams can reach the All-Ireland semi-final.

The team I'd give the least chance is the former stand out team Dublin and mainly because of how far they have fallen back.

Westmeath v Louth,Cork could go either way.

Monaghan reached the semi-finals a few years ago with about 12 of those players that  featured then still around and Tyrone reached the last 4 last year.

Should Mayo overcome Meath and I believe haven't lost to them in MacHale Park since the 60s are then more than capable of beating Louth,Cork and even Galway.
Don't think we played mayo in mchale park that much since 60s and don't think we played championship against them ever in it. Sure same was said of brefni v Cavan. Went and won there. Meath while not been over confident are very very happy with the draw. Thats all I'll say
Hon the royal

Dunneroyal

Quote from: square_ball on June 16, 2026, 06:17:49 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on June 16, 2026, 03:48:03 PMI can't see Westmeath/Tyrone/Dublin/Mayo/Monaghan getting further than a QF. Certainly not AI contenders anyway in my view.

If Tyrone drew Monaghan/Westmeath/Dublin/ Meath I'd be very disappointed if we didn't get through to the semi final and it wouldn't be a massive surprise either to see them beat Donegal or Armagh given we'll have the weeks rest. I don't think we have a chance v Kerry at any stage we may play them.
Really? 
Actually of all the quarter final possibilities from a Meath point of view I'd take Tyrone above all the other possibilities. Apart from Kildare worst team we played in league. I mean woeful. And at one stage during early rounds was looking like ye were heading to TC . So on that basis I can't see how you could be happy to meet Meath should we get over mayo. Now on other hand Meath would be very happy to play Tyrone. As I think it would be a guaranteed semi final spot
Hon the royal

Quote from: square_ball on June 16, 2026, 08:27:10 PM
Quote from: thebigfullforward on June 16, 2026, 08:12:53 PM

That was the first ever u17 as minors in 2017. U18 was the main minor competition that year so the one Tyrone won wasn't that illustrious. Darragh Canavan scored a clinker of a goal in that final.

The Tyrone team from the 2017 U17 All-Ireland final

Lorcan Quinn; Conor Ward, Cormac Monroe, Antoin Fox; Ruairi Slane, Matthew McCusker, Tarlach Quinn; Matthew Murnaghan, Joe Oguz; Cormac Donaghy, Darragh Canavan, Daniel Millar; Ethan Jordan, Cormac Donnelly, Tomas Hoy.

Subs: Mark Hayes for Hoy (40), Oisin McHugh for Slane (40), Michael Conroy for Donnelly (46), Ryan McCabe for Jordan (51), Liam Gray for Donaghy (58).

Darragh Canavan with 1-3 and Ethan Jordan with 0-5.