Tyrone County Football and Hurling

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, April 01, 2007, 05:58:31 PM

God14

Quote from: TyroneTam on May 30, 2026, 11:06:02 PMI am no gaa manager but how could the lads not see the absolute massacre on the long kick outs and not try to at least mix it up a bit? The abundantly clear reason that game was lost was kick outs and not maintaining possession off our own restarts.

Fantastic year getting to an unexpected final but still a shame to have left that behind.

Staggering stat on teamtalkmag, we won of our own kickouts
We had 26 kickouts

But... What's your plan B then? Kirby & Co are cleaning up at midfield... Do tell. Kerry went man to man they were bigger and better. And they won. How do you stop that?

White Goodman

Although the u-20 defeat is disappointing, I feel it may be of Tyrones benefit in the long run. Hopefully this will put an end to the notion of Paul Devlin ever getting the senior job. He record has been propped up by good coaches and exceptional players. This year's campaign, with a weaker squad, where tyrone stumbled and fluked their way through ulster which ended in an embarrasing final defeat showed his true colours.

Anyone who advocates for him to be considered for the senior post must remember he is the antithesis of what the gaa stands for. It mustnt be forgotten that he spat in a players face in the derry sfc final a number of years ago. His own club want nothing to do with him due to his ignorance.

This is the same ignorance and pig headedness which meant that certain players frome bigger clubs would not be considered for his panels. I am glad to see his luck finally run out and this loss will hopefully help people see the limited manager that he is. 

White Goodman

Quote from: WesternT on May 30, 2026, 10:17:08 PM
Quote from: square_ball on May 30, 2026, 09:27:54 PMA poor end to a good season for the u20s. Our big players never stood up to the plate today. That was a poor act from Devlin near the end not what you'd want your captain to be at. O'Neill showed too why I'd have reservations about him at senior level. A few good moments throughout the season but never dominated midfield in any game.

Good minor teams coming through so u20 will probably be competing at the business end for a few years to come.

Devlin showing his true colours today, if I am not mistaken was he not the lad that broke the Eglish players jaw couple of years ago in a minor game? Shouldn't be anywhere near captaining that team.
I believe that was the brother that comes off the bench that was involved in that incident. It must be excused though as he has anger issues due to his autism. Back in my day that was called just being from ardboe

DaleCooper

Quote from: God14 on May 30, 2026, 11:16:37 PM
Quote from: TyroneTam on May 30, 2026, 11:06:02 PMI am no gaa manager but how could the lads not see the absolute massacre on the long kick outs and not try to at least mix it up a bit? The abundantly clear reason that game was lost was kick outs and not maintaining possession off our own restarts.

Fantastic year getting to an unexpected final but still a shame to have left that behind.

We had 26 kickouts

But... What's your plan B then? Kirby & Co are cleaning up at midfield... Do tell. Kerry went man to man they were bigger and better. And they won. How do you stop that?

"Staggering stat on teamtalkmag, we won of our own kickouts
We had 26 kickouts"

Something missing

TyroneTam

Quote from: God14 on May 30, 2026, 11:16:37 PM

We had 26 kickouts

We lost 19 out of our own 26 kick outs, that's a crazy stat...I'm not saying there is an easy fix but by god it wouldn't have taken a rocket scientist to have had a few routines worked out to get away shorter kick outs. I caught a few highlights of their Munster final and Roscommon game and it was clear their mf was their strongest sector and ours hasn't been cleaning out other teams.

Now the short ones may not have always worked but at least it would have kept them guessing. Long kick after long kick handed the game on a plate. Was like an u14 match at some stages with not being able to retain any possession from the 20th min onwards.

TyroneTam

White Goodman wanna take a look at yourself with the personal attacks, uncalled for. We can all have our opinions that may be right or wrong but getting personal is a low blow. Clear off with that shite.

Scoring Zone

Never a fan of Dook, BUT this was not fancied side and they got to the big show and won a really tough ulster

however

regardless, it was the 2nd AI in a row o'neill and partner was wiped out in MF, (not hammering a talented lad but Tyrone needs to start finding bigger lads)

Kerry in about 5/6 places noticeably bigger men

minors from last year struggled big time

Shallow bench, why take mcgurren off when no ball is being kicked in and leave quinn on who struggled?

Morgan is safe for another 10 years

Now Dook, how you can have a keeper regardless of talent, that can't hit a 30 yard wide space is a huge issue, and continually hitting to static smaller men repeatedly was crazy shit, in croke park!

good year regardless at u20 level, but going forward to senior not a massive amount to consider

sam03/05

Some of the comments about Paul are out of order and should be removed. 3 years the haters have had to wait as that's the last time the man lost a knockout game. This year he had a team that mostly played in the minor B competition(and lost) and managed to bring them to the final and win Ulster , beating a very fancied Donegal team and the minor AI champions Derry and runners up Armagh along the way. All this was done with probably his best players Concannon & McCullagh missing most of the season. They played brilliantly in the first 25 mins too, with some superb football, but ultimately lost the midfield battle and the loss of Colton was a big blow as well.

White Goodman

Quote from: TyroneTam on May 31, 2026, 12:06:27 AMWhite Goodman wanna take a look at yourself with the personal attacks, uncalled for. We can all have our opinions that may be right or wrong but getting personal is a low blow. Clear off with that shite.
Not a personal attack, this was the excuse used at the time from those in ardboe.

The personal attack was the unprovoked assault on the young fella from Eglish which ended up with with major dental surgery

O’neill Army

Quote from: White Goodman on May 30, 2026, 11:18:35 PMAlthough the u-20 defeat is disappointing, I feel it may be of Tyrones benefit in the long run. Hopefully this will put an end to the notion of Paul Devlin ever getting the senior job. He record has been propped up by good coaches and exceptional players. This year's campaign, with a weaker squad, where tyrone stumbled and fluked their way through ulster which ended in an embarrasing final defeat showed his true colours.

Anyone who advocates for him to be considered for the senior post must remember he is the antithesis of what the gaa stands for. It mustnt be forgotten that he spat in a players face in the derry sfc final a number of years ago. His own club want nothing to do with him due to his ignorance.

This is the same ignorance and pig headedness which meant that certain players frome bigger clubs would not be considered for his panels. I am glad to see his luck finally run out and this loss will hopefully help people see the limited manager that he is.

Devlin is praised all over Tyrone for the fact he won 3 all Irelands in 4 years with players that hadn't any success at minor level and with coaches who had no previous experience coaching before as they had just retired playing football.

I'm assuming you have some personal grievance with devlin but if you had even a basic knowledge on Tyrone GAA you'd understand how embarrassing it is saying he's been propped by good coaches and players considering devlin give those coaches their first job and those players their first success.

cjx

These personal attacks on Devlin are despicible and those who made them should be barred from this site. Tyrone made something out of little with this team and came close missing 2 of their best players. With the attitude they showed most of the way they deserve great praise while acknowledging the bad angry stuff towards the end of the final.

In hiding

Quote from: cjx on April 11, 2026, 05:17:51 PM
Quote from: referee on April 11, 2026, 12:25:24 PMHow the f**k can Burns be starting or how is he still on the f**king panel,an absolute shithouse off a footballer
Its called displacement activity
That is something O'Rourke did cause he hasn't a clue what to do.

I agree totally with the personal attack stuff being wrong.
Some lads can't help themselves though with the personal attacks.
There are loads more but I couldn't be bothered looking

tyroneStatto

Considering the referee gave Kerry a lot of the decisions yesterday was surprised he only gave a black card at the end as it looked to be more of a deliberate kick than a trip. Overall a good season for the U-20's considering not many expected them to get through the Derry game.

O’neill Army

Quote from: In hiding on May 31, 2026, 10:17:24 AM
Quote from: cjx on April 11, 2026, 05:17:51 PM
Quote from: referee on April 11, 2026, 12:25:24 PMHow the f**k can Burns be starting or how is he still on the f**king panel,an absolute shithouse off a footballer
Its called displacement activity
That is something O'Rourke did cause he hasn't a clue what to do.

I agree totally with the personal attack stuff being wrong.
Some lads can't help themselves though with the personal attacks.
There are loads more but I couldn't be bothered looking

In fairness those people who need to use an anonymous forum in order to personally attack someone wouldn't be much of a threat in the real world.

thebigfullforward

Quote from: square_ball on May 30, 2026, 09:27:54 PMA poor end to a good season for the u20s. Our big players never stood up to the plate today. That was a poor act from Devlin near the end not what you'd want your captain to be at. O'Neill showed too why I'd have reservations about him at senior level. A few good moments throughout the season but never dominated midfield in any game.

Good minor teams coming through so u20 will probably be competing at the business end for a few years to come.

Agreed regarding O'Neill don't really see it with him. But could have too high expectations for him