All-Ireland Series Sam Maguire 2026

Started by Blowitupref, May 03, 2026, 06:11:05 PM

Quote from: illdecide on May 29, 2026, 10:37:33 AMKMcG is very much a man for if you hold the yellow jersey or in pole position or any other terminology that rocks your boat you keep the starting jersey no matter what you've done previously and the players all know that. I suppose it keeps the thing right and everyone is fighting hard to get in and perform to keep a starting slot, if you're unlucky enough to get injured and the lad that replaces you performs well then you have a major fight to try and get your place back and KMcG seems to always keep the man on form in a starting role.
On the game here tomorrow, I expect some heavy showers throughout the day and during the game so could be another leveler like Clones a few weeks back, I certainly would not rule out another draw here. A few Derry wans I work with are content with the game and quietly confident of a Derry win, surely Armagh can't give us another extra time game?.

How any Derry man who regularly goes to games is quietly confident of a Derry win makes zero sense to me. If these folk have been to all or most games since the start of '24 to now and think this, could you get me their magic mushroom dealers number?
What we can hope for is the team to click and produce a top drawer display, and prey we don't have one of the limp performances that rear it's head at any stage against any opposition. This lack of consistency can't lead to confidence imo, it's 100% heart over head thinking

Derry by 7

On paper Armagh should win by a good bit. Be interesting to see what is in Derry. I don't think they have enough scoring power to really challenge Armagh as McGuigan likely to be well marshalled. Love to see Derry win but they have shown nothing in a few years to suggest that they can challenge the top teams.

Quote from: Armagh18 on May 28, 2026, 05:14:17 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 28, 2026, 04:41:50 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on May 28, 2026, 12:52:08 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 28, 2026, 12:34:31 PMAs opposed to 2 weeks.
But there is no perk for winning the Provincial Final in the current system.
Galway bet Leitrim, lost CF but are in the same pot as Ros who bet Galway (and Mayowestros)or Armagh who had to win 3 games to get to UF.
Then Galway get a home game v the weakest team of the 16!!

This system was voted in while Dublin were on a run of 23 out of 24 Leinsters and Kerry on a run of 14 out of 15 Munsters so maybe that worked against any special perks for Provincial winners?

This format is effectively the final nail in  the provincials coffin
Hmmmmm....
C120k attended the 4 Finals.
Lid not closed yet....
3 of the 4 games were tight hard fought games with winners where it meant the world to the team and supporters, if Cork weren't so flaky it would have been 4 brilliant games. Not to mention dramatic games/upsets e.g Down vs Donegal, Derry vs Monaghan, Meath vs Westmeath, Armagh vs Tyrone.

Life in the provincials yet.
The life would be drained out of the Ulster finalists had it gone to a replay and then to face Derry and Mayo after a few nights sleep.

Iarmhí Abú

This evening in Mullingar will be very interesting.  The bandwagon is fully stocked and 'mad for road'.

Westmeath enter very unfamiliar territory - Leinster champions attempting to progress towards the latter part of the All Ireland championship.  Our sole attempt previously ended in a disappointing affair against Derry.  Once again it's an Ulster team blocking our path.  We're slight favourites with the bookies and the fans are anticipating a big performance.

I'm intrigued to see the players' mindset and how McHugh manages to get them back on track.  The team played with unrelenting hunger in the Leinster campaign.  The holy grail for Westmeath football over the last 20 years has been to repeat the feat of 2004.  These lads achieved this, and probably ahead of any schedule that may have been outlined.  They have reached the summit.  The euphoria that enveloped the county for the last two weeks confirms this. 

Now McHugh effectively starts again.  Everything has changed.  The energy is different.  The psychology has shifted, whether they realise or accept it.  The question is whether that can summon the same levels of endeavour so quickly again.  Subconsciously, are they fatigued, or is the hunger blunted?

The experience of Kerry and Roscommon doesn't inspire us. Roscommon are probably the better comparison as they too had an outpouring of emotion.  They didn't reach their previous level with any consistency last week.  Donegal and Tyrone spent weeks waiting and preparing.  Cavan will have done the same.  We're seeking to buck the trend.

The team is similar to the Dublin game.  McHugh trying to replicate the occasion.  Senan Baker can count himself unlucky not to start.  Heslin's role will be interesting.  Will he arrive earlier this time, or at all?
Danny Scahill appears to have recovered which is a boost.  The condition of Matthew Whitaker's ankle is anybody's guess.  If he can keep going for most of the game, he'll be really important.  The comforting fact is that the bench looks strong.

I expect the crowd will be predominantly local and the atmosphere should be electric.  That could be important as Cavan will ask real questions.  They will have their moments and deep down they will not fear Westmeath.  McCabe will have his homework done.  I'd have preferred another week to get them into the right frame of mind.

I'm hoping that they will burst out and put in a big performance in front of the home crowd.  They are in bonus territory now and hopefully that will help.  Their legacy is secure, despite how fanciful that sounds.  They now need to push on and extend the adventure into another chapter.

That's the task facing Mark McHugh.  Wonderful times for Westmeath supporters.  The anticipation is palpable.

Quote from: Iarmhí Abú on May 30, 2026, 08:35:32 AMThis evening in Mullingar will be very interesting.  The bandwagon is fully stocked and 'mad for road'.

Westmeath enter very unfamiliar territory - Leinster champions attempting to progress towards the latter part of the All Ireland championship.  Our sole attempt previously ended in a disappointing affair against Derry.  Once again it's an Ulster team blocking our path.  We're slight favourites with the bookies and the fans are anticipating a big performance.

I'm intrigued to see the players' mindset and how McHugh manages to get them back on track.  The team played with unrelenting hunger in the Leinster campaign.  The holy grail for Westmeath football over the last 20 years has been to repeat the feat of 2004.  These lads achieved this, and probably ahead of any schedule that may have been outlined.  They have reached the summit.  The euphoria that enveloped the county for the last two weeks confirms this. 

Now McHugh effectively starts again.  Everything has changed.  The energy is different.  The psychology has shifted, whether they realise or accept it.  The question is whether that can summon the same levels of endeavour so quickly again.  Subconsciously, are they fatigued, or is the hunger blunted?

The experience of Kerry and Roscommon doesn't inspire us. Roscommon are probably the better comparison as they too had an outpouring of emotion.  They didn't reach their previous level with any consistency last week.  Donegal and Tyrone spent weeks waiting and preparing.  Cavan will have done the same.  We're seeking to buck the trend.

The team is similar to the Dublin game.  McHugh trying to replicate the occasion.  Senan Baker can count himself unlucky not to start.  Heslin's role will be interesting.  Will he arrive earlier this time, or at all?
Danny Scahill appears to have recovered which is a boost.  The condition of Matthew Whitaker's ankle is anybody's guess.  If he can keep going for most of the game, he'll be really important.  The comforting fact is that the bench looks strong.

I expect the crowd will be predominantly local and the atmosphere should be electric.  That could be important as Cavan will ask real questions.  They will have their moments and deep down they will not fear Westmeath.  McCabe will have his homework done.  I'd have preferred another week to get them into the right frame of mind.

I'm hoping that they will burst out and put in a big performance in front of the home crowd.  They are in bonus territory now and hopefully that will help.  Their legacy is secure, despite how fanciful that sounds.  They now need to push on and extend the adventure into another chapter.

That's the task facing Mark McHugh.  Wonderful times for Westmeath supporters.  The anticipation is palpable.

Best of luck and enjoy it (unless ye meet Armagh down the line) :)

In a lot of cases, it's very hard to replicate that two games in a row. Teams coming off a high find it hard to get up to tht pitch again. E.g. Down after beating Donegal.

It's very common. The whole emotion and energy of the game, mentally and physically is sapping. We'll see this in Westmeath's case I think.

statto

Quote from: marty34 on May 30, 2026, 08:49:30 AMIn a lot of cases, it's very hard to replicate that two games in a row. Teams coming off a high find it hard to get up to tht pitch again. E.g. Down after beating Donegal.

It's very common. The whole emotion and energy of the game, mentally and physically is sapping. We'll see this in Westmeath's case I think.
In Westmeath situation they couldn't have picked a better draw to get them up to the pitch of things. Down after Donegal then went to play another high end Division 1 team.

Agree with you in relation to the difficulty getting to those levels again as we saw with Louth after won Leinster last year.

Will Dublin v Louth set a new low attendance record for a SFC game involving Dublin?
Tickets still available in the central Sections!
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Quote from: Rossfan on May 30, 2026, 11:44:14 AMWill Dublin v Louth set a new low attendance record for a SFC game involving Dublin?
Tickets still available in the central Sections!
Crokepark.ie have 30,000 expected attendance so they must be thinking a lot of Leitrim,Longford supporters will turn up for the Meagher final before it?

Look-Up!

Westmeath couldn't have handpicked a better opponent under the circumstances. Cavan, although we survived Division 2, have had a few more injuries since and have plenty of question marks over us.

Likewise though, the best draw for us would have been one of the lower ranked Leinster teams and Westmeath are a Division 3 team after all.

They are rightfully favourites though but that is a tag that can carry extra weight for the uninitiated. We'll be quite happy going in as underdogs, it's a tag that suits us. Westmeath much better team at the moment but a tricky obstacle for McHugh none the less. They've had two great wins on the trot but that brings it's own pressure and expectation and the home crowd are clearly very buoyant for this one. Our games with our neighbour are usually tight affairs and neither county can claim the clear upper hand over our meetings down the years. So it should be close enough but think McHugh will have them right and they'll be too strong for us.

Half-time Westmeath 0-12 Cavan 0-6.  Cavan have the wind 2nd half and last year in the league in Cusack Park Westmeath was 12 points in front at half time and Cavan ended up winning.

Extra time coming up. Westmeath 0-22 Cavan 2-16. Heslin had a two pointer free to win it but kicked it wide.

Extra time, half time Cavan: 3-21 Westmeath  0-24

Result Westmeath 1-31 Cavan 3-21

Good second half by Cavan.
I'd have thought Heslin might have worked a one/two short one and try for the single point from closer in.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

TyroneTam

Huge effort here from Cavan, 6 points up with 10 mins to go...Westmeath hangover from Leinster final coming to the fore. Big 2nd half coming up for Cavan.

cavanmaniac

Well done to Westmeath, the better team won eventually.

I expected some sort of response from Cavan today and we got it but at half time in extra time I had no confidence we'd have the cajones to actually go on and win it. A pattern of criminal turnovers handed Westmeath possession numerous times and undermined any chance we had, and they took full advantage. That's the sort of raggedness you get from Cavan sides when the heat is on, we simply just don't have the stuff when it matters most.

We did well enough up to a point, some eye catching contributions, all without a few of our very experienced old hands too, but at the end of the day it's just another moral victory to throw on the pile and keep us hovering on the edge of relevance.  We might build on this but in all honesty it's probably two of the weaker teams in the championship and we were second best.

Cavan will rue those 2 or 3 missed point chances near the end to win the game in normal time after such a good comeback.