Tyrone County Football and Hurling

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, April 01, 2007, 05:58:31 PM

thebigfullforward

Quote from: Quarterbackk on April 30, 2026, 10:37:40 AMYoung Devlin is a fantastic player.  He is good enough to be playing 2 on our senior team. He isnt even on the senior panel!!
Jaysus we're back to this again are we? What's the rush to get these players on the senior panel then give up hope on them when they don't immediately live up to the hype. Let these players play club football for a year or 2 first

TyroneTam

Any word on Concannon's fitness? What is his current injury?

In hiding

Quote from: cjx on April 30, 2026, 11:36:45 AM
Quote from: Goals_Will_Come on April 30, 2026, 11:12:38 AM
Quote from: God14 on April 30, 2026, 07:58:07 AM
Quote from: marty34 on April 30, 2026, 07:18:55 AM
Quote from: barelegs on April 29, 2026, 10:48:25 PM
Quote from: sam03/05 on April 29, 2026, 10:17:11 PMSurely Paul Devlin has to come in as manager at end of the year - a man with a proven track record of developing young talent. A man that wins big games.
Our senior management has won two big games in two years, Dublin (who are not the Dubs of old) and Donegal who had just won Ulster. They failed in every other big game and I see young talent such as O'Hare not even playing.  The man deserves the job.

Paul Dook has done an amazing job at underage level with the U20s and Minors before that. The one criticism that'll be thrown at him is that he's not managed a senior team, at either club or county level. I stand to be corrected on that but I think that's a fairly big question mark that he has against him. It's not one that cant be overcome but it's certainly not irrelevant

I'd say managing  AI winning minor and U20 teams is more important than managing a club team.

You rather have him, in my opinion, with that experience etc., than a lad who's managed a Top 5 club team in Tyrone. No debate about that.

Plus he knows a good cohort of these younger lads coming through the underage system in Tyrone. When U20s is over, I'm sure he watches a lot of senior club games in Tyrone.

He's omnipresent at Tyrone club games.

Im not sure he wants that Senior gig. If he did he would likely have taken a cherry picked senior club side by now. He looks very content where he is.
Devlin himself has had loads of questions around him prior to 2024 and some of his previous teams massively underachieving - The first round exits in 2021 & 2023 and the manner of the All Ireland Semi Final losses in 2019 & 2020. Lots of posters on here and myself included would have doubted his capabilities but the past three years have been outstanding at this level - excellent brand of football, tactically sound and great results.
One thing that is apparent about him is the amount of good coaches he surrounds himself with. He has an excellent track of record of having an excellent coaching team around him. Tyrone seniors over the past few years can be accused of lacking in this department.
But this title is a tremendous achievement - not the most fancied of teams, missing his marquee forward throughout and picked up another injury or two to key players but still delivered another Ulster title. Hopefully can go and deliver a third All Ireland Title in a row.
Conor Devlin surely an automatic call up to the seniors as soon as the U20s finish, a fantastic player serious leader.
All good for future but would Paul Devlin reallt want to manage senior team. If so great change b4 end of year and get strength and conditioning right mentally and physically as current managment are not good enough here or with wierd team selections not mixing age and experience to best effect. Must sadly recognise dazzler is not a starter for one example. Who is cuuently in charge of S&C. Is it still email in Kiwi-land? Blather won't cut it but Con Kilpatrick a great iterview after the Armagh match so as we know the spirit is there under the current bull dung Devlin's inspiration required badly.

Did you not say Gavin Devlin was your choice as next senior manager?

cjx

Quote from: In hiding on April 30, 2026, 01:24:22 PM
Quote from: cjx on April 30, 2026, 11:36:45 AM
Quote from: Goals_Will_Come on April 30, 2026, 11:12:38 AM
Quote from: God14 on April 30, 2026, 07:58:07 AM
Quote from: marty34 on April 30, 2026, 07:18:55 AM
Quote from: barelegs on April 29, 2026, 10:48:25 PM
Quote from: sam03/05 on April 29, 2026, 10:17:11 PMSurely Paul Devlin has to come in as manager at end of the year - a man with a proven track record of developing young talent. A man that wins big games.
Our senior management has won two big games in two years, Dublin (who are not the Dubs of old) and Donegal who had just won Ulster. They failed in every other big game and I see young talent such as O'Hare not even playing.  The man deserves the job.

Paul Dook has done an amazing job at underage level with the U20s and Minors before that. The one criticism that'll be thrown at him is that he's not managed a senior team, at either club or county level. I stand to be corrected on that but I think that's a fairly big question mark that he has against him. It's not one that cant be overcome but it's certainly not irrelevant

I'd say managing  AI winning minor and U20 teams is more important than managing a club team.

You rather have him, in my opinion, with that experience etc., than a lad who's managed a Top 5 club team in Tyrone. No debate about that.

Plus he knows a good cohort of these younger lads coming through the underage system in Tyrone. When U20s is over, I'm sure he watches a lot of senior club games in Tyrone.

He's omnipresent at Tyrone club games.

Im not sure he wants that Senior gig. If he did he would likely have taken a cherry picked senior club side by now. He looks very content where he is.
Devlin himself has had loads of questions around him prior to 2024 and some of his previous teams massively underachieving - The first round exits in 2021 & 2023 and the manner of the All Ireland Semi Final losses in 2019 & 2020. Lots of posters on here and myself included would have doubted his capabilities but the past three years have been outstanding at this level - excellent brand of football, tactically sound and great results.
One thing that is apparent about him is the amount of good coaches he surrounds himself with. He has an excellent track of record of having an excellent coaching team around him. Tyrone seniors over the past few years can be accused of lacking in this department.
But this title is a tremendous achievement - not the most fancied of teams, missing his marquee forward throughout and picked up another injury or two to key players but still delivered another Ulster title. Hopefully can go and deliver a third All Ireland Title in a row.
Conor Devlin surely an automatic call up to the seniors as soon as the U20s finish, a fantastic player serious leader.
All good for future but would Paul Devlin reallt want to manage senior team. If so great change b4 end of year and get strength and conditioning right mentally and physically as current managment are not good enough here or with wierd team selections not mixing age and experience to best effect. Must sadly recognise dazzler is not a starter for one example. Who is cuuently in charge of S&C. Is it still email in Kiwi-land? Blather won't cut it but Con Kilpatrick a great iterview after the Armagh match so as we know the spirit is there under the current bull dung Devlin's inspiration required badly.

Did you not say Gavin Devlin was your choice as next senior manager?
[/quote
Yes but non horse Devlin looks better with every title. The absolute dream team is Devlin and Devlin but could they get on gel? (l know there is any number of Devlins round there but are they related?? --- deliverance for Tyrone?)
Tough competition (and tough competitors is what we need) round the Loughshore!
 Devlin and Devlin Rule KO.
 Maybe the Lawns could arbitrate?

DaleCooper

Age old question of "golden crop" vs "genius manager".

I just hope enough lads get to the level to get Tyrone back to a consistent top team anyone is afraid to play.

Sam etc is a bonus

GlenMan

Quote from: DaleCooper on April 30, 2026, 07:55:35 PMAge old question of "golden crop" vs "genius manager".

I just hope enough lads get to the level to get Tyrone back to a consistent top team anyone is afraid to play.

Sam etc is a bonus

I would lean genius manager for this year's team.

Nobody would have fancied them to win Ulster. They're much more limited than previous teams, especially with the injuries.

Good lessons were clearly learnt after the group games and a system was put in place that played to the available players' strengths.

cjx

Quote from: GlenMan on April 30, 2026, 08:23:08 PM
Quote from: DaleCooper on April 30, 2026, 07:55:35 PMAge old question of "golden crop" vs "genius manager".

Sam etc is a bonus

I would lean genius manager for this year's team.

Nobody would have fancied them to win Ulster. They're much more limited than previous teams, especially with the injuries.

Good lessons were clearly learnt after the group games and a system was put in place that played to the available players' strengths.

Response to reality and most important rwquired system/systems to match and exploit your resources to the maximum are the answer to all such siuations and isprecisely what current senior management do not seem to have floundering around with wierd selections and substitutions hoping the players commitment will compensate for managment ineptitude. The spirit is there and the skills if not all the strength. Tyrone need x a manager manage.ent team who can put in all together inspire with strength matching the needs of the new rules game. Floundering around with lame excuses won't cut it.

DaleCooper

Yeah its great to see tbh. Devlin a manager anyone would love to play for. Stevie also very sound.

Should be interesting decade ahead for Tyrone football.

cjx

OK Rossies 1st?
Could be worse.
They are playing well but definitely can be beaten.

Any views?

tiempo

Rossies to win, Tyrone will be underaroused, its their thing

Quote from: tiempo on May 05, 2026, 08:58:26 AMRossies to win, Tyrone will be underaroused, its their thing

Man's never been round Cookstown or Omagh on a Saturday night.

NotedObserver

Strong side and great shooters. Tyrone need to be right up for it and all personnel available. Final at the weekend will be interesting viewing

tyrone08

Hoping to see a bit of fight in this tyrone team. The Armagh game was a good while ago now but hopefully they still have the determination they showed. The players should be out for revenge for Roscommon knocking them out a few years ago.

Anyone based in Dublin fancy going to see the U20 Leinster final on Wed night in Parnell Park?
Louth will be all out looking for revenge for last years all Ireland final should they win.

cjx

Any word on Tyrone injuries?
Canavans,Kennedy,McCullagh any others?