Tyrone County Football and Hurling

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, April 01, 2007, 05:58:31 PM

ClubScene13

The same format as the Down SFC and Sigerson yes. Worryingly I would imagine the draw for All Ireland Round 1 is seeded - so if you take a Kerry as Munster Champions and top seeds and Armagh turf us out of Ulster we're bound to be a bottom seed when you've only just scraped into the thing. If you were looking at Kerry in Killarney well then you're immediately in win or go home mode before you know what's hit you. Hypothetical obviously but also extremely realistic scenarios. Jesus I wouldn't fancy us against many of the 16 teams that'll be in the thing which is a bigger problem than Armagh or Kerry

square_ball

Quote from: ClubScene13 on March 22, 2026, 08:21:37 PMThe same format as the Down SFC and Sigerson yes. Worryingly I would imagine the draw for All Ireland Round 1 is seeded - so if you take a Kerry as Munster Champions and top seeds and Armagh turf us out of Ulster we're bound to be a bottom seed when you've only just scraped into the thing. If you were looking at Kerry in Killarney well then you're immediately in win or go home mode before you know what's hit you. Hypothetical obviously but also extremely realistic scenarios. Jesus I wouldn't fancy us against many of the 16 teams that'll be in the thing which is a bigger problem than Armagh or Kerry

Yeah you wouldn't fancy us against against potential provincial finalist or runner up at the minute. Might get lucky and draw a Kildare in the losers round and see what happens after that.

The season is now a write off. Thankfully with the new structure we are saved the pain of 3 hammering's in a group stage. Just see out the year and get a proper management team in next year. Writing was on the wall early last year with MOR. I had hoped when he came in that he had some idea but we've been in a steady decline over the past 2 seasons. In truth it looks like he has lost the dressing room and the way he's isolated players like R. Brennan and McKernan I don't see any way back.

Quarterbackk

The only candidate to bring the excitement and intrest back into tyrone football is Peter. The most qualified coach is Paddy Tally...a multiple all ireland winning coach yet he is dismissed on here. Meenagh couldnt get a Derry sqaud with no injuries out of div 2 ffs. Dont mention Mc Ginley. List what he has achieved as a manager at COUNTY level. Horse devlin is an exceptional coach. If pete was about there would be no weddings.

NotedObserver

Quote from: Quarterbackk on March 22, 2026, 10:09:51 PMThe only candidate to bring the excitement and intrest back into tyrone football is Peter. The most qualified coach is Paddy Tally...a multiple all ireland winning coach yet he is dismissed on here. Meenagh couldnt get a Derry sqaud with no injuries out of div 2 ffs. Dont mention Mc Ginley. List what he has achieved as a manager at COUNTY level. Horse devlin is an exceptional coach. If pete was about there would be no weddings.

Horse doing a top job at the moment

tiempo

If Cork and Meath can fall to shite for as long as they have then Tyrone have no devine right to be at the top table any time soon, into Man Utd territory, the players aren't for changing, full factory reset needed, Peter the only man for it and thats blue sky thinking

Dunno if it's the white jerseys but we look so physically less developed as other sides.

Black jersey is the future. And creatine.

thebigfullforward

Quote from: tyrone08 on March 22, 2026, 06:42:14 PMLads the fact we are even talking about how many games we might have left before the championship even begins shows how bad we are.
The less the better unfortunately

NotedObserver

Louth under 20s are coming in and making some impact the difference is they are arriving into a well coached experienced established team

Ballygawleyftw

Get rid of the deadwood . Burns , Morgan , Daly etc
Shocking again. Ben McD had a decent game.
Surely McCaughey / Clarke are better than Quinn?

DaleCooper

Always puzzled why Ben didnt kick on after 2021...he is in an awkard position but have always felt him good enough. Certainly better than Burns

I think a lot of people get carried away with the underage success and don't realise that senior intercounty football is a very different type of game.
Watching minor or U20 games tend to be a lot more open and enjoyable to watch. Lot more scope for playing open attacking football and less focus on stopping the other team.
Look at Darragh and McCurry now and how they can be contained in big games and he's quite established at senior level now.
Lots of people think these good U20 players will just walk straight onto the senior team and continue to perform well like they did with their U20 team.

Another major point for me is compare what Jimmy McGuinness has done in Donegal. When he came back in he had a plan and gave everyone in the whole county that strong belief again. He is a great motivator and has that natural personality to lead and create a drive and hunger.
Since 2021 we seem to be in slumber mode and not that bothered if we win or lose.
They have lost the fans interest and now it seems the players arent even that bothered to fight for the jersey. As someone above said Joey Clarke seems to be one of the few with a bit of fire in his belly.

Donegal and Armagh fans turn out in their numbers cos they believe they can win Ulster and maybe the All Ireland. We dont believe we can win two games in a row.

NotedObserver

Quote from: Fuzzman on March 23, 2026, 12:12:42 PMI think a lot of people get carried away with the underage success and don't realise that senior intercounty football is a very different type of game.
Watching minor or U20 games tend to be a lot more open and enjoyable to watch. Lot more scope for playing open attacking football and less focus on stopping the other team.
Look at Darragh and McCurry now and how they can be contained in big games and he's quite established at senior level now.
Lots of people think these good U20 players will just walk straight onto the senior team and continue to perform well like they did with their U20 team.

Another major point for me is compare what Jimmy McGuinness has done in Donegal. When he came back in he had a plan and gave everyone in the whole county that strong belief again. He is a great motivator and has that natural personality to lead and create a drive and hunger.
Since 2021 we seem to be in slumber mode and not that bothered if we win or lose.
They have lost the fans interest and now it seems the players arent even that bothered to fight for the jersey. As someone above said Joey Clarke seems to be one of the few with a bit of fire in his belly.

Donegal and Armagh fans turn out in their numbers cos they believe they can win Ulster and maybe the All Ireland. We dont believe we can win two games in a row.

I would agree, a lot of the 2022 contingent are involved and are still looking years away yet although newer lads Conor ONeill and Joey Clarke have been impressive when playing

giveherlong

The worrying thing yesterday was how easily Cork opened up our defence. Men breaking tackles at ease and players getting in behind for a pop pass not being tracked.
Cork also had long periods of dominance at midfield and breaking ball.
Fair play to Mattie Donnelly- kept bringing the fight. What a servant for county and club.

W.A.G. Lover

Does any of our statistician have a list of the years each club had their last county representative?
I am looking at clubs like Beragh, Gortin, Kildress who have been mainly Intermediate with stints in senior and cant think of their last representative. Alot of Junior clubs also like Brocagh, Derrytresk, etc.

Could this be a factor in the lack of support? Some clubs feel cut off and not represented.