100 Best Irish Songs

Started by Baile Brigín 2, March 13, 2026, 03:59:47 PM

Quote from: JoG2 on March 13, 2026, 07:24:48 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on March 13, 2026, 06:09:37 PMShine like an Arclight unless I missed it

Heard Nick Kelly sing this in the 3 Arena a few years ago, outstanding! What a tune

Great tune. Jumped out at me

I'm sure there's more and I'd have plenty further up/lower down at the risk of frying my own head

More than I thought that I've never heard of also

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: AustinPowers on March 13, 2026, 06:43:36 PMWho are The Stunning??

As I said, discover new music. But you clearly weren't at any Dublin house parties in the early 90's. Brewing up a Storm was everywhere.

Singer Steve Wall has had a solid acting career.

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on March 13, 2026, 08:08:37 PM

As I said, discover new music. But you clearly weren't at any Dublin house parties in the early 90's. Brewing up a Storm was everywhere.

Brewing up a Storm is a great song but I think it was kind of consigned to the musical dustbin of history until House of Guinness picked it up last year. Lead singer more or less said the same himself.

AustinPowers

Ah right yes, I recognise that guitar riff anyway

Hardly a top 10 though

Quote from: AustinPowers on March 13, 2026, 06:43:36 PMOh, I can see  the top 10 now.

Who are The Stunning??

I wouldn't  have Zombie in the Cranberries top 10 , never mind  in a top 10 Irish
You'll be brewing up a storm with that remark.

I'm pretty certain I saw the stunning play it live either before or at half time of an AI hurling final in the last 10 or 15 years.

Also lads, come on, everyone knows Killeagh is a pile of w**k.

Quote from: thewobbler on March 13, 2026, 08:16:49 PM

Brewing up a Storm is a great song but I think it was kind of consigned to the musical dustbin of history until House of Guinness picked it up last year. Lead singer more or less said the same himself.

Will always be a huge song on this island, the House of Guinness got it to an audience further afield

Quote from: AustinPowers on March 13, 2026, 08:18:34 PMAh right yes, I recognise that guitar riff anyway

Hardly a top 10 though

You're in charge of the feckin music thread Austy, I feel let down 😬

Quote from: Blowitupref on March 13, 2026, 08:26:03 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on March 13, 2026, 06:43:36 PMOh, I can see  the top 10 now.

Who are The Stunning??

I wouldn't  have Zombie in the Cranberries top 10 , never mind  in a top 10 Irish
You'll be brewing up a storm with that remark.

Heads are gonna roll 'ref

BigGreenField

Was that list pulled together with tokens from a cereal box? makes Austin 3 best songs thread look like a carefully curated collection.

Quote from: BigGreenField on March 13, 2026, 09:13:54 PMWas that list pulled together with tokens from a cereal box? makes Austin 3 best songs thread look like a carefully curated collection.

Music shots fired

Quote from: AustinPowers on March 13, 2026, 08:18:34 PMAh right yes, I recognise that guitar riff anyway

Hardly a top 10 though
Is that opening riff not a rip off of Don't Fear The Reaper.

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: BigGreenField on March 13, 2026, 09:13:54 PMWas that list pulled together with tokens from a cereal box? makes Austin 3 best songs thread look like a carefully curated collection.

Public vote, so yeah.

AustinPowers

Quote from: JoG2 on March 13, 2026, 09:09:16 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on March 13, 2026, 08:16:49 PM

Will always be a huge song on this island, the House of Guinness got it to an audience further afield

Hardly a top 10 though

You're in charge of the feckin music thread Austy, I feel let down 😬

Yeah but it's like  what they said about the 90's. If you remember it , you  weren't there,  man  ;D

Anyway, at least Enya  got a mention

AustinPowers

The 4 of Us at  83.

I useta love her, 42

Old Town, Phil Lynott at  51

Who drew up this   list, for God's sake?  :o