100 Best Irish Songs

Started by Baile Brigín 2, March 13, 2026, 03:59:47 PM

I literally only heard of these dudes a few weeks back (kingfishr)

Were they the boyos up on the bar it packed and everyone going mad. Everyone's out for "a moment" these days

Near scared to listen to this song in case I like it 😆

Quote from: JoG2 on March 13, 2026, 11:42:41 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on March 13, 2026, 11:32:00 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 13, 2026, 10:53:39 PMTBH I didn't know there was local talent behind Maniac2000.

Quote from: Truthsayer on March 13, 2026, 10:51:29 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 13, 2026, 10:38:16 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on March 13, 2026, 10:36:49 PM
Quote from: gallsman on March 13, 2026, 10:28:46 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 13, 2026, 10:21:46 PM
Quote from: gallsman on March 13, 2026, 09:07:10 PMAlso lads, come on, everyone knows Killeagh is a pile of w**k.
Just when I thought you couldn't get any worse.

It's a song for simpletons. You're the ultimate simpleton. Makes sense.

I like the music threads and whatnot where everyone can get along and tension from other threads just disappears
There's some tension when OCS are mentioned.
Incredible how Gallsman can turn a difference of opinion into a personal insult. Kind of a gift. While I agree with him it's a ket song.. to personally insult someone because they like it, takes some doing..
Fairly standard approach from thon boy.

I only learnt today that the Waterboys aren't Irish. Wasn't gonna say, but now that we're sharing 🤭

Steve Wickham. There's a few Irish men in the current lineup

Knew there had to be some links
Whole of the moon a huge omission then
I'm angry again

As a rule of thumb, if you like Ocean Colour Scene, you'll love Brewing up a Storm

AustinPowers

Quote from: JoG2 on March 13, 2026, 11:42:41 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on March 13, 2026, 11:32:00 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 13, 2026, 10:53:39 PMTBH I didn't know there was local talent behind Maniac2000.

Quote from: Truthsayer on March 13, 2026, 10:51:29 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 13, 2026, 10:38:16 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on March 13, 2026, 10:36:49 PM
Quote from: gallsman on March 13, 2026, 10:28:46 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 13, 2026, 10:21:46 PM
Quote from: gallsman on March 13, 2026, 09:07:10 PMAlso lads, come on, everyone knows Killeagh is a pile of w**k.
Just when I thought you couldn't get any worse.

It's a song for simpletons. You're the ultimate simpleton. Makes sense.

I like the music threads and whatnot where everyone can get along and tension from other threads just disappears
There's some tension when OCS are mentioned.
Incredible how Gallsman can turn a difference of opinion into a personal insult. Kind of a gift. While I agree with him it's a ket song.. to personally insult someone because they like it, takes some doing..
Fairly standard approach from thon boy.

I only learnt today that the Waterboys aren't Irish. Wasn't gonna say, but now that we're sharing 🤭

Steve Wickham. There's a few Irish men in the current lineup

Surely Mike Scott could  be  considered an honorary Irishman now?  I think he lives here  as well.

They had some  great tunes.

Also, I see they sneaked  in Steve Earle's Galway Girl onto that list , but  sung by Mundy. Earle's  is by far the superior  though

Steve Earle's wouldn't be Irish though, given he's American.

There's quite a few covers of non-Irish songs in the list, including obviously Nothing Compares 2 U at #2.

Ronnie

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on March 13, 2026, 09:41:06 PM
Quote from: BigGreenField on March 13, 2026, 09:13:54 PMWas that list pulled together with tokens from a cereal box? makes Austin 3 best songs thread look like a carefully curated collection.

Public vote, so yeah.

There's a few dodgy numbers in there alright.  Raises the question of what constitutes an Irish song is?   There's a few Irish songs done by non-Irish artists, albeit of Irish descent.  Also no sure if cover versions should have been allowed..

Ronnie

Also U2 suffered dilution of their vote as a result of multiple songs being included..

Quote from: gallsman on March 14, 2026, 07:03:41 AMSteve Earle's wouldn't be Irish though, given he's American.

There's quite a few covers of non-Irish songs in the list, including obviously Nothing Compares 2 U at #2.

Would it be unfair to suggest that once the Pogues are included, then the definition of "Irish" is watered down enough that any song about Ireland or includes a bodhran or pipes, should also be eligible?

I have views.........................but...............feck the lot of ye.

Ronnie

Quote from: thewobbler on March 14, 2026, 10:45:48 AM
Quote from: gallsman on March 14, 2026, 07:03:41 AMSteve Earle's wouldn't be Irish though, given he's American.

Would it be unfair to suggest that once the Pogues are included, then the definition of "Irish" is watered down enough that any song about Ireland or includes a bodhran or pipes, should also be eligible?

No, that's a very fair point.  I tried to copy & paste the top 100 as I wanted to highlight the howlers but it didn't work for me.  Radio X usually does a top 100 Best of British at Eastertime that has now been widened to a top 500.  Live Forever has won the last 3 years & there's not as many dodgy tracks as is included in the Best of Irish..  Radio X's is worth a listen although possibly a bit Indie-heavy for some.

Mundy's version is better craic

Songs I would have expected on the list

Town I loved so well
Fields of athenry
Woman's heart
4 roads to glenamaddy
To win just once
Joyce country céili band
Green fields of France
Mo ghile mear

There are Irish country songs on youtube with 8 and 10 million views.

Ronnie

and Fontaines D.C.'s Starbuster with 142 million

Quote from: seafoid on March 14, 2026, 01:07:44 PMThere are Irish country songs on youtube with 8 and 10 million views.

Yes but nobody cares what people in Monaghan think.

Ronnie

Quote from: Ronnie on March 14, 2026, 01:10:45 PMand Fontaines D.C.'s Starbuster with 142 million

They also do a great version of Sinead O'Connor's Black Boys on Mopeds