NFL Division 2 - 2026

Started by SouthOfThe Bann, January 14, 2026, 11:33:10 AM

If Derry can squeeze past Cork, then they will be in a strong position, both owing to score difference but also a useful head to head against another promotion contender, Cork might easily slip up against Tyrone on the last day but Derry will beat Cavan. But if Cork win then they will likely be promoted.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Funny feeling cork will beat Derry. I hope not but cork look decent from what I have seen.

Kildare easily beat. Good bounce back after the Cork game. Good rest now to get some bodies back for the Tyrone game. I can see us having a really good chance of winning that but it'll be a right battle.

Caulfield was my MOTM today. If he could take on a few scores he'd be one of the top half backs in the country. Passed up a at least 3 very scorable opportunities today to teammates which I'd prefer if he took them on as he'd got himself into good positions.

Quote from: thejuice on February 28, 2026, 09:33:27 PMKildare easily beat. Good bounce back after the Cork game. Good rest now to get some bodies back for the Tyrone game. I can see us having a really good chance of winning that but it'll be a right battle.

Caulfield was my MOTM today. If he could take on a few scores he'd be one of the top half backs in the country. Passed up a at least 3 very scorable opportunities today to teammates which I'd prefer if he took them on as he'd got himself into good positions.

Yeah, Caufield is nearly too selfish. Should have had a few scores of his own.

Kildare were very disappointing. I thought, after they run Derry close, that they were on the upward curve but were very poor today, especially in first half.

Cavan are up and down. Could have won first 2 games - just edged out but were V poor V Tyrone and again today, V Louth. 

Dunneroyal

Watched back the game there. When Meath brake the pace is unreal. I can't see many been able to stop them in remaining matches. A good Score difference last evening will set us up well hopefully in the end. As I expect Derry (who we go ahead of on head to head ) and cork could be level on points with us.
Just get the win v Tyrone and then we really have to put up a big score in tullamore
Hon the royal

Kidlare should have lost by more and Meath kinda shot on sight a bit more in the second half and missed a fair bit. There were also a few overloads they didn't use that could have ended in a goal.
A trend in Kildare is that our defenders are on the front foot and are being caught the wrong side on breaks and teams are streaming through.

Our half forwards are the same and Meath made hay, as did Derry. Meath are a different level to us and Kildare are going to go through a lot more pain before the end of the season.

To be honest we have some of the most low football IQ players in the country and fans will blame manager after manager for lads who can't or simply won't do the grunt work.

It was summed up when Rafferty blasted through Kirwan in the second half when the Kildare man was clearly in front. Kildare got a free but even with my biased eyes I could see it was just a hardy hoor wanting it more. His club is right on the border near the home place and I hear nothing only good things him as a sound lad. It was just one moment but I was annoyed to see the free as it feckin gave a pass on our lad.

Kildare are fecked and the worst thing is that the 'experienced' lads are the ones who drag down the standard.

Quote from: imtommygunn on February 28, 2026, 09:26:14 PMFunny feeling cork will beat Derry. I hope not but cork look decent from what I have seen.

Currently looking quite far off the mark with that prediction but glad to be wrong  ;D

Kerry are in no trouble in Munster!!

That's probably the best Derry have played in 2 years but couldn't believe how poor Cork are. Hard to believe they travelled all this way to play like that.

That lad Sherlock a great player, has everthing but speed, some difference to have on a team come the dry weather! Derry starting to show bit strength in depth.

Quote from: screenexile on March 01, 2026, 02:50:59 PMThat's probably the best Derry have played in 2 years but couldn't believe how poor Cork are. Hard to believe they travelled all this way to play like that.

Cork are always like that. They invariably give us a very tough game in Cork, but look like they crawled out of the hotel bar when they take the field in Ballybofey or Ballyshannon.

Quote from: J70 on March 01, 2026, 03:12:16 PM
Quote from: screenexile on March 01, 2026, 02:50:59 PMThat's probably the best Derry have played in 2 years but couldn't believe how poor Cork are. Hard to believe they travelled all this way to play like that.

Cork are always like that. They invariably give us a very tough game in Cork, but look like they crawled out of the hotel bar when they take the field in Ballybofey or Ballyshannon.

If you bet against Cork in away games, you'd come out ahead.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Quote from: J70 on March 01, 2026, 03:12:16 PM

Jackson's is a good spot to be fair. Can you blame them.

Some performance from Derry after a shaky enough first 15 mins when kickouts were not going our way. when we got on top Derry were in complete control.
Some serious scoring. Murray and Loughlin in particular were unplayable, cassidy, mcguigan and ethan doherty had some shift too.

Big number 8 for cork was lucky to finish the game in my opinion. The tackle on Mcguigan was a borderline red, and the the tackle on conor doherty was definitely a yellow.

Derry strong contenders for promotion now, head to head with cork and score difference. Louth could be tough enough but if we play like today I'd expect Derry to beat both Louth and Cavan.

Starting to shape up rightly and the bench seems to be getting stronger too.