The OFFICIAL Liverpool FC thread - RIP Diogo

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, February 05, 2009, 03:47:16 PM

Was seething with him.  Very arrogant, in trying to take the micky out of a lower league team.  I was happy  Barnsley scored from it to show him up for it. 

Quote from: laoislad on January 12, 2026, 09:51:52 PMDon't agree with this unfair on Barnsley or the scoreline flattered Liverpool.
Liverpool were good enough to score 4 and Barnsley were only good enough to score 1 but they conceded 4.
Yeah they put in a big effort and fair play to them,but Liverpool never needed to get out of 2nd gear.
If you believed the commentators you'd think Barnsley were missing chance after chance, did Mamardashvili even have a save to make in the second half?
Into the 4th round that's all that matters. Tough enough 4th round draw v Brighton.

Thought mccoist giving MOTM to the Barnsley winger was a bit silly. Yes he was dangerous going forward but he maybe should have been worried about his opposite number banging in a screamer at the opposite end.

Quote from: laoislad on January 12, 2026, 09:51:52 PMDon't agree with this unfair on Barnsley or the scoreline flattered Liverpool.
Liverpool were good enough to score 4 and Barnsley were only good enough to score 1 but they conceded 4.
Yeah they put in a big effort and fair play to them,but Liverpool never needed to get out of 2nd gear.
If you believed the commentators you'd think Barnsley were missing chance after chance, did Mamardashvili even have a save to make in the second half?
Into the 4th round that's all that matters. Tough enough 4th round draw v Brighton.

Commentators on FA cup games tend to talk up the lower league team a good bit. Always been the same.

Liverpool weren't great but did enough to win comfortably. Probably would have been settled earlier only for the showboating shite that gifted them a goal.

Everyone enjoying the non VAR games in the early stages of the FA cup?
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Minus15

McCoist and Fletcher were particularly grating last night.

Szoboszlai made a mistake. I don't think it was disrespectful what he did. Complacent, yes. If there's one player that you can forgive such a moment based on performances this season it's him. He's one of the hardest working players they have and has played almost every minute all season.

If he's a bit further away from goal and he does that and throws the opposition player the wrong way and keeper plays it out the other side, nobody calls it showboating or disrespectful. They say it's class and shows he's a cut above.

Made a mistake and gave away a goal. Probably not something he does again in a hurry.

He'll get a boot up the arse from it and learn from it. I thought he looked far more arrogant after the goal. Hardly even celebrated.

Quote from: imtommygunn on January 13, 2026, 02:11:47 PMHe'll get a boot up the arse from it and learn from it. I thought he looked far more arrogant after the goal. Hardly even celebrated.

Wife was asking why they weren't celebrating goals. I had to  explain it's Barnsley in the FA Cup 3rd and overcelebrating would be embarrassing more than anything.

Look-Up!

Quote from: RedHand88 on January 13, 2026, 02:43:37 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on January 13, 2026, 02:11:47 PMHe'll get a boot up the arse from it and learn from it. I thought he looked far more arrogant after the goal. Hardly even celebrated.

Wife was asking why they weren't celebrating goals. I had to  explain it's Barnsley in the FA Cup 3rd and overcelebrating would be embarrassing more than anything.
Frimpong was pretty happy with his and understandably so. As you said only the 3rd round but first goal was very early so more a put the team at ease goal. It think if it had been a 89th minute goal at 0-0 the celebration would have been very different.

Guehi to City confirmed.
Criminal negligence by the board not to sign him in the summer.

tiempo

Quote from: RedHand88 on January 16, 2026, 02:17:58 PMGuehi to City confirmed.

"Criminal negligence".

f**k me.

Quote from: thewobbler on January 16, 2026, 02:24:38 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on January 16, 2026, 02:17:58 PMGuehi to City confirmed.

"Criminal negligence".

f**k me.

Ah you'll get over it.

Jeebus redhand bit Ott lol

Disappointing. V disappointing. If he's getting the reported 300k a week I'd be doubtful our boys would pay that

Life goes on lads

gawa316

Desperately short at center back. I wonder what's Plan B is?

Quote from: gawa316 on January 16, 2026, 05:05:15 PMDesperately short at center back. I wonder what's Plan B is?

Wing it as always lol

End the season with gravenberch and Endo in there 🤭

Ah there's a plan there. Somewhere...