Biggest Let downs

Started by STREET FIGHTER, October 21, 2025, 08:57:06 AM

AustinPowers

Quote from: Armagh18 on October 21, 2025, 11:20:28 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 21, 2025, 11:03:12 AMUK Labour Government, such a let down on so many fronts.
Good shout. Promised so much and anything would have been an upgrade on 14 years of Tories you'd have thought.

Rivalling the Tories for uselessnesses and are likely going to let Farage become PM. Starmers record on Israel is disgusting as well.

Did they though?

They only got in  because people were fed up with  the Tories, who  were the  worst shower of gangsters that ever were. Starmer  was hardly a charismatic leader  who  charmed the pants  off the voters . He has the  charm and personality of a  scarecrow.

Anyway, it turns out  they're  as big a shower of gangsters as  the Tories, which is  why Farage will be next. Until  everyone realises  he's a cnut too , and theres no difference in any of them. And the  cycle of shit will continue  endlessly.....

STREET FIGHTER

Quote from: gallsman on October 21, 2025, 11:46:31 AMNo, from the very moment he got to the UFC and approached the mainstream he promoted himself exactly as he was/is i.e. the arrogant, obnoxious loudmouth who could do or say as he pleased without consequence. Long before he was making mega bucks he was calling Dennis Siver a Nazi. He told Aldo he'd ride into his favela on horseback and kill anyone not fit to work.

And it was all laughed off and swept under the rug by sycophantic imbeciles because he had a dynamite left hand for a couple of years.

Yeah I remember that!

Back then I suppose I thought that the majority of that shit was an act and part of the show like WWF....to sell the fights....to make the BIG £££££...as a lot have done it either in MMA or boxing...

Some athletes do go in and out of character...

Over time he just got worse & worse and acts the same in and outside the octagon!

Horrible person....

He was a kn**ker from day one guys sorry..apologies to anyone offended by the term

For sure that's what some people do, and they can be excellent at it. Ali is probably the most revered athlete of all time and he was, frequently, a horrible bastard altogether.

The difference with McGregor is that, for whatever reason, be it his Irishness or blue collar roots or whatever, young men over here lionised him as far more than just an athlete.

STREET FIGHTER

The Millennium in general (and its celebrations) was a MAJOR let down!

AustinPowers

Never understood  the attraction with McGregor. MMA is  like two drunk scumbags fighting in a pub  carpark

Remember a number of local lads heading to see one of his  fights in the US a few  years ago.  Might have been Las Vegas. My immediate  thoughts were... why?

Quote from: gallsman on October 21, 2025, 11:46:31 AMNo, from the very moment he got to the UFC and approached the mainstream he promoted himself exactly as he was/is i.e. the arrogant, obnoxious loudmouth who could do or say as he pleased without consequence. Long before he was making mega bucks he was calling Dennis Siver a Nazi. He told Aldo he'd ride into his favela on horseback and kill anyone not fit to work.

And it was all laughed off and swept under the rug by sycophantic imbeciles because he had a dynamite left hand for a couple of years.

I only ever watched the fights, never the build ups so I missed  lot of this - until the Mayweather stuff. I just seen an Irishman doing well on the world stage and was supportive of him.
Now I have him blocked on all forms of SM and avoid anything to do with him when he is TV or whatever

Adulthood is not all its cracked up to be at all. Take me back to 1995. 13 men in the famous (and preferred) all white strip against themmuns in Clones. Hosepipe bans. Bubbling tarmac and eatin as many soleros as you could afford in a day before shrinkflation and not a f**Kin dickie bird about gluten or seed oils or Ozempic.

Joe McDonagh 2026 🏆

None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Puckoon on October 21, 2025, 03:29:49 PMAdulthood is not all its cracked up to be at all. Take me back to 1995. 13 men in the famous (and preferred) all white strip against themmuns in Clones. Hosepipe bans. Bubbling tarmac and eatin as many soleros as you could afford in a day before shrinkflation and not a f**Kin dickie bird about gluten or seed oils or Ozempic.

A solero in 1995? Posh f**k.

The Republic of Ireland and partitionist institutions.

Quote from: Puckoon on October 21, 2025, 03:29:49 PMAdulthood is not all its cracked up to be at all. Take me back to 1995. 13 men in the famous (and preferred) all white strip against themmuns in Clones. Hosepipe bans. Bubbling tarmac and eatin as many soleros as you could afford in a day before shrinkflation and not a f**Kin dickie bird about gluten or seed oils or Ozempic.

It's really impressive how you managed to get that Tyrone Derry game from 30 years ago into a thread like this  ;D

Honestly think as a northern nationalist Michael Martin is a massive letdown. He seems to think the troubles involved the IRA only, then there are things like the photo opportunity in Israel and various other things. That's not to get into the specifics of any of that but he just is a particularly useless individual and when you would really aspire to be reunited and then see that it is really quite infuriating.

The Arctic Monkeys' new stuff

Look-Up!

There was that girl from Achill on a very drunken night years ago in Castlebar. I'd give meself about 3/10. And I'm probably being generous.