Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

Caesar

The main problem is that we don't have the right development systems in place to build a top-level county team. As someone mentioned earlier, our underage teams lose heavily year after year. At senior level, managers change regularly and the squad is often reshuffled. New players are brought in to suit a certain style, but they haven't had the years of physical and tactical training their opponents have, even if they're the same age.

Reaching this level takes long-term commitment and a lifestyle to match. But we're asking lads to jump from club to county and hit that standard in a season or two, while others have been on that path since they were kids.

This isn't about blaming any manager or player, they're all working hard. The issue is that we don't have the right structures or long-term planning to properly prepare our athletes to compete at the highest level. Until that changes, nothing else will.

Would ye whist

Is that not what GaelFast was supposed to be doing

Quote from: Caesar on May 19, 2025, 09:08:33 AMThe main problem is that we don't have the right development systems in place to build a top-level county team. As someone mentioned earlier, our underage teams lose heavily year after year. At senior level, managers change regularly and the squad is often reshuffled. New players are brought in to suit a certain style, but they haven't had the years of physical and tactical training their opponents have, even if they're the same age.

Reaching this level takes long-term commitment and a lifestyle to match. But we're asking lads to jump from club to county and hit that standard in a season or two, while others have been on that path since they were kids.

This isn't about blaming any manager or player, they're all working hard. The issue is that we don't have the right structures or long-term planning to properly prepare our athletes to compete at the highest level. Until that changes, nothing else will.

bannside

Hard to see how this recent pattern of poor performances can be reversed, and no matter whether you're a supporter or a member of the playing or management panel, it's hard to see anything except being an early casualty in the Tailteean Cup, on the back of a disappointing league campaign.

London will treat the final group game as if it's their all Ireland final, so we need to be on our toes just to avoid the unthinkable!

I have a bad feeling about the London game... (and the offaly game in hurling). I hope I am just being glass half empty!

Regardless of whether or not gaelfast is a success it's far too soon.

Take the Mark

Too soon for what? Too soon to say that Gaelfast has been a total failure?

Quote from: Take the Mark on May 19, 2025, 10:39:55 AMToo soon for what? Too soon to say that Gaelfast has been a total failure?

To impact the senior team. The underage teams is another matter.

Gael-in-exile

Quote from: Take the Mark on May 19, 2025, 10:39:55 AMToo soon for what? Too soon to say that Gaelfast has been a total failure?

What did it fail in doing??

Before you blame Gaelfast consider the ability it had to impact the whole county.
Less that 10 staff for how many schools would be the first thing to look at.
A quick look at Wikipedia would suggest there are 35 secondary schools of which Gaelfast could be involved in. Another check online would suggest 38 in Primary in Belfast alone.

Gaelfast is a starting point but needs further resourced or to be allowed to continue on in attempting to increase numbers. Stop thinking it's a case of Ulster championships and All Ireland semis or Gaelfast failed.

There's two ways to consider going forward in my view. Maintain and try to support Gaelfast and maybe over time it will prove beneficial with numbers.
Or take the funding from elsewhere and plunge it completely into Gaelfast in maybe a 4/5 year block and double or treble the footprint they have and see where that takes it by the start of the new decade.

Take the Mark

Quote from: imtommygunn on May 19, 2025, 10:58:25 AM

To impact the senior team. The underage teams is another matter.

There is absolutely nothing to suggest that there will be any sort of change for the better in the next 5/6 years. Thats just by looking at the development squads and minor/u20 setups alone.

EOC1923

I wouldnt know enough about Gaelfast to start running them down but surely some merit in looking at what Louth have done, I read an article where it said Louth had 9 full time coaches who spent their time going around clubs ensuring the coaching was up to standard. This is definitely the starting point to improve, its not paying big money to get a big name manager in.

Gael-in-exile

Quote from: EOC1923 on May 19, 2025, 02:35:16 PMI wouldnt know enough about Gaelfast to start running them down but surely some merit in looking at what Louth have done, I read an article where it said Louth had 9 full time coaches who spent their time going around clubs ensuring the coaching was up to standard. This is definitely the starting point to improve, its not paying big money to get a big name manager in.

You're correct that would be an excellent use of the Gaelfast resource and as far as I know has been done.
However what you will notice is the lack of coaches who take part and in some cases the clubs who continually seem to be absent in the coach education courses.
Previously I remember coaches use the term "once you've been to one you've seen it all".
A completely incorrect attitude to coach education but nothing much you can do with those of that mindset while volunteers are low in numbers.

Lár na páirce 1

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 18, 2025, 10:48:32 PMSo basically, the standard of those players in lesser leagues or league positions of div 1 are shite?

Yes that's correct

Quote from: Lár na páirce 1 on May 19, 2025, 03:00:51 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 18, 2025, 10:48:32 PMSo basically, the standard of those players in lesser leagues or league positions of div 1 are shite?

Yes that's correct

Christ, there's some snobbery about lol
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

SaffronSports

I'd no idea football was an individual sport. Like one player should only get on the county if he is good enough to drag his team mates up to division 1.

Spike

What we have seen these past few years is that Div 1 will be brought to you rather than you having to be promoted.

In a good Div 2 players of quality can rise.  What we have now is the worst Div 2 in my lifetime which isnt a good breeding ground for development.  The only thing giving it a veneer of credibility is that reserve teams cannot enter it.

Overhaul of our entire system and direction is needed badly. 

Lár na páirce 1

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 19, 2025, 04:06:32 PM
Quote from: Lár na páirce 1 on May 19, 2025, 03:00:51 PM

Yes that's correct

Christ, there's some snobbery about lol

You done a game in Toome few weeks back McGarry was St James best player scored first two points of game then cargin put O'Boyle on to him and he didn't sniff it for 55 minutes ,Kobo is a great player but if an ex county man(by 4 years)is doing that to a player in some quarters claim to be county standard then there's something Not right
Btw I think mcgarry would be good with good players round .
Reality is a 16 team senior league is farcical as there aren't 16 Div one standard teams in Antrim