Russia invades Ukraine Feb 2022

Started by Main Street, February 12, 2022, 09:38:45 PM

Truthsayer

Quote from: Banks of the Bann on February 20, 2025, 05:55:43 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on February 20, 2025, 05:18:16 PM
Quote from: Banks of the Bann on February 20, 2025, 04:18:00 PMThe absolute state of the comments in here salivating at Trump throwing Ukraine to the wolves so that the Brits get a poke in the eye.

It seems lost on you all that Ukraine has suffered and is still suffering from colonialism in a similar way to that which Ireland suffered under the British.

But hey...

Trump will soon try to ethnically cleanse Gaza and that'll also upend the Brits.. Ha Ha Ha! So funny!
Russia is bad shower no doubt but if you keep poking a bear...

Oh I really disturbed the closet pro-Russian GAA Board nest with my post. Another one.

The same invitation to you.

Tell me all about how the 'bear was poked'.
Def not a Red! It was known that Ukraine pressing for NATO membership would mean war. 2019: Zelensky adviser Oleksiy Arestovych said "our price for joining NATO is a big war with Russia". US thought it would lead to fall of Russian regime. Hasn't quite worked out with Trump now sidling up to Putin. US-UK-Russia all cut from the same cloth. Imperialists. So is no comment above supporting Russia... just good to see US doing the dirt on their UK lapdogs. The world is cowped!

JPGJOHNNYG

Quote from: J70 on February 20, 2025, 05:21:54 PMSo Ukraine has no right to determine it's own future and integration, if desired, into western Europe? It can only operate within limits set by the Russians?

Maybe the Brits were right all along with their conduct in Ireland.

This

Some of the lads on here seem to have no memory of local matters. The Brits look very restrained on how they dealt with being "poked"

jb77

Russia trying to push sumy again, trying to encircle ukraines kursk offensive bridgades or just cut off the supply roads to kursk. No big gains, in other areas,

Russian Advance = 82.80km2
Ukrainian Advance = 1.89km2
16/02-17/02

Quote from: Banks of the Bann on February 20, 2025, 05:53:09 PM
Quote from: red hander on February 20, 2025, 04:51:08 PM
Quote from: Banks of the Bann on February 20, 2025, 04:18:00 PMThe absolute state of the comments in here salivating at Trump throwing Ukraine to the wolves so that the Brits get a poke in the eye.

It seems lost on you all that Ukraine has suffered and is still suffering from colonialism in a similar way to that which Ireland suffered under the British.

But hey...

Trump will soon try to ethnically cleanse Gaza and that'll also upend the Brits.. Ha Ha Ha! So funny!

I have no time for Trump, I have every sympathy for Ukraine, but your simple black and white reading of situation and inability to recognise provocative role your beloved west played in stoking war is sad. No criticism of that, no criticism of Azov Nazis in Donbas, yet you throw the old ethnic cleansing trope around like confetti.

No black and white here, I just spend my time demolishing Russian lies and disinformation peddled by the gullible, who watch 5 min YouTube or TikTok vids, suck it all up and regurgitate it on here. It's easy work though time consuming but hey ho.

Let's go through your BS step by step.

Tell me all about the role the west played in stoking war.

You have the floor.

p.s. what ethnic cleansing 'trope' am I throwing about like confetti?

Take a chill pill oh hero of truth and justice. What about demolishing some western lies and disinformation? Stop being so f**king patronising about people who have a different opinion than you and can see both sides of story. Your bluster is just a smokescreen for your completely simplistic take on what's happening.

Banks of the Bann

Quote from: Truthsayer on February 20, 2025, 06:11:56 PM
Quote from: Banks of the Bann on February 20, 2025, 05:55:43 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on February 20, 2025, 05:18:16 PM

But hey...

Russia is bad shower no doubt but if you keep poking a bear...

Oh I really disturbed the closet pro-Russian GAA Board nest with my post. Another one.

The same invitation to you.

Tell me all about how the 'bear was poked'.
Def not a Red! It was known that Ukraine pressing for NATO membership would mean war. 2019: Zelensky adviser Oleksiy Arestovych said "our price for joining NATO is a big war with Russia". US thought it would lead to fall of Russian regime. Hasn't quite worked out with Trump now sidling up to Putin. US-UK-Russia all cut from the same cloth. Imperialists. So is no comment above supporting Russia... just good to see US doing the dirt on their UK lapdogs. The world is cowped!

Interesting that you've chosen that quote from Oleksiy Arestovych. It looks to me like you've been reading Russian propaganda from Jeffrey Sachs. It's one of his favourites - always taken out of context of course.

The context: Russia invaded Ukraine in 2014 and was already at war in 2019 so let's not pretend that the war started in 2022. Arestovych argued that the Russian takeover of Ukraine was going to be slow and inevitable (within 10 years) unless Ukraine joined NATO but that joining NATO may lead to a bigger war.

The reason that your thinking (and Jeffrey's) is twisted and perverse is:

1. Ukraine is a sovereign independent nation.
2. Russia does not have a veto over Ukraine or any other country's alliances. If you think differently you're an imperialist.
3. If pursuing NATO membership is 'provoking war' it's only because a large imperial bully is illegally threatening war if they do so.
4. If you blame Ukraine for the war for pursuing protection within NATO you're engaged in victim blaming, pure and simple. No other way to dress it up.
5. Russia fears NATO the way a burglar fears alarms, locks and security guards. No other reason.
6. Russia does not fear a military invasion by NATO and never has done. It has reduced its military on the border with Finland and removed anti-aircraft systems from Kaliningrad (surrounded by NATO since 2004) Russia's concerns about NATO are a lie.
7. Russia has nuclear weapons. Biden et al shit themselves every time they rattled this sabre and we're expected to believe NATO is a threat to Russia.
8. Russia's actions and rhetoric since Feb 2022 have revealed what the war is really about: destruction of the Ukrainian state and nationhood.
9. That goal will not change with the outcome of whatever fake peace Trump tries to force Ukraine to accept.

Banks of the Bann

Quote from: red hander on February 20, 2025, 09:27:07 PM
Quote from: Banks of the Bann on February 20, 2025, 05:53:09 PM
Quote from: red hander on February 20, 2025, 04:51:08 PM

But hey...

I have no time for Trump, I have every sympathy for Ukraine, but your simple black and white reading of situation and inability to recognise provocative role your beloved west played in stoking war is sad. No criticism of that, no criticism of Azov Nazis in Donbas, yet you throw the old ethnic cleansing trope around like confetti.

No black and white here, I just spend my time demolishing Russian lies and disinformation peddled by the gullible, who watch 5 min YouTube or TikTok vids, suck it all up and regurgitate it on here. It's easy work though time consuming but hey ho.

Let's go through your BS step by step.

Tell me all about the role the west played in stoking war.

You have the floor.

p.s. what ethnic cleansing 'trope' am I throwing about like confetti?

Take a chill pill oh hero of truth and justice. What about demolishing some western lies and disinformation? Stop being so f**king patronising about people who have a different opinion than you and can see both sides of story. Your bluster is just a smokescreen for your completely simplistic take on what's happening.

Aww touched a nerve have I? Not nice being called out for your BS is it.

I've given you the floor to present the Russian side of the story but you appear to be declining. Go for it, I'm listening.

The thing is, I've heard it all before. None of it stands up to any scrutiny.

It's actually the 'both sides' argument that is simplistic, coming as it is from people too lazy to apply any critical thinking to what is being presented to them on the 5 min video from the GrayZone or whomever.

Everyone laughs at the gullible MAGA crowd lapping up whatever shite Trump tells them. Well, Irish fake anti-imperialists such as yourself are little better - believe everything, question nothing.

So off you go. Tell me all about the Russian side of the story.

p.s. I loved your 'ho ho at least it got it up the Brits' nuanced analysis. I'd say that's probably your lane.

You're just not allowed to put forward different long widely put forward arguments that these sorts of geopolitical turbulence is always bit more complex that the black and white take from the likes of Gerry. He's literally the troll from Billy Goats Gruff ... no one is allowed to cross his bridge  :)

Banks of the Bann

Quote from: theskull1 on February 21, 2025, 12:12:07 PMYou're just not allowed to put forward different long widely put forward arguments that these sorts of geopolitical turbulence is always bit more complex that the black and white take from the likes of Gerry. He's literally the troll from Billy Goats Gruff ... no one is allowed to cross his bridge  :)

Not a single pro-Russian argument put forward by yourself or others has stood up to even basic scrutiny.

When the arguments presented by you are countered, you disappear. The reappear in a few weeks, making the same argument. Again. And again. And again.

p.s. you made some rather vague statements about the 'truth' of the holocaust recently and when challenged ran away from that too. It's all you do.

Quote from: theskull1 on February 21, 2025, 12:12:07 PMYou're just not allowed to put forward different long widely put forward arguments that these sorts of geopolitical turbulence is always bit more complex that the black and white take from the likes of Gerry. He's literally the troll from Billy Goats Gruff ... no one is allowed to cross his bridge  :)
He's asking you to put forward your arguments. It is you that is declining to do so. Set out your stall and see if it will stand up to a bit of scrutiny.

Russia has been accused of mass execution of Ukrainian prisoners of war
Putin's goal is to wipe out Ukrainian identity.

Banks of the Bann

Quote from: seafoid on February 21, 2025, 01:26:45 PMRussia has been accused of mass execution of Ukrainian prisoners of war
Putin's goal is to wipe out Ukrainian identity.

Correct - everything else is a smokescreen.

Meanwhile in Kherson - the random drone terrorism against the civilian population continues. People can't go about their daily business without fear of being murdered in the street. Drones hunt anything that moves.

Hey, pop quiz for the closet pro-Russians on here...what language do most Ukrainians in Kherson speak?

Hint: it's the people the Russians say they are coming to save from persecution. Remember that old chestnut!

You already know I'm convinced by the analysis of John Mearsheimer and Jeffrey Sachs.... no need for a nobody like me to rehash their take.

It's interesting you don't apply your logic for the Israel-Palestine conflict here.

• Hamas knew October 7th would result in devastating reprisals
  • Israel duly obliged
  • Palestinians know Israel will never accept any perceived threat to its people or territory
  • Refusing to comply, treat or surrender will only result in more bloodshed, therefore they should just accept the new status quo
  • Refusal to do so means the bloodshed is on Palestinian hands, not Israel's.

That's how it works in your book, yes? I wonder whatever could be the difference here.

Russia always trampled over the Ukraine, no bigger example that the famine of the 1930's. Nato only need the big boys to work, it's the smaller states depend on protection from them. If we were located nxt to Russia, we be running looking into NATO too. Russia acts the way GB used to run roughshod over Ireland centuries ago, and just over 100yrs since they partially pissed off.

Banks of the Bann

Quote from: theskull1 on February 21, 2025, 05:28:59 PMYou already know I'm convinced by the analysis of John Mearsheimer and Jeffrey Sachs.... no need for a nobody like me to rehash their take.

You're lazy, prejudiced, have zero critical thinking skills and  outsource your thinking to others. Well done.

I've watched many Jeffrey Sachs interviews. Every one of them is full of the same falsehoods and misrepresentations.

If you're convinced by Mearsheimer then you're an apologist for imperialism. Yet you present yourself on here as an anti-imperialist. We all know the name for that. But more recently, in order to square that circle you find yourself able to try on America's imperial shoes and find them 'understandable'.

Here's a challenge for you. Reply to Gallsman above and let's see you apply some of that Mearsheimer 'realism' that you subscribe to so much and try on a nice pair of Israeli shoes. Let us all know how those shoes feel. When you use Mearsheimer logic you can justify any crime or atrocity and blame the victim.
Go for it.