NFL Division 3 2014

Started by ross4life, January 20, 2014, 07:53:55 PM

Quote from: rodney trotter on March 07, 2014, 07:03:14 PM
Fermanagh have arguably their best forward back on the panel since Canavan left, seamus quigley.
Dropped before the Chsmpionship in 2012  for discipline and didnt feature for the remainder of canavans reign. The ff line of Seamus and Sean Quigley is a handful and Thomas Corrigan. Eoin Donnelly is a quality player at midfield,  Ryan McCluskey at centre back.

I think we'll be ok with Soccer Seamus. Says a lot about where Fermanagh's management feel they are when they have to accommodate a player with no respect for their county.

Fermanagh named the other Quigley at 11, he's the one I'd worry about. Think experimenting with him out there could cost Fermanagh, all our HBs are good footballers and the only advantage he'll have is an inch or two in the air. Can do more damage closer to goal.

Lucifer

Quote from: Syferus on March 08, 2014, 03:28:41 PM
Fermanagh have arguably their best forward back on the panel since Canavan left, seamus quigley.
Dropped before the Chsmpionship in 2012  for discipline and didnt feature for the remainder of canavans reign. The ff line of Seamus and Sean Quigley is a handful and Thomas Corrigan. Eoin Donnelly is a quality player at midfield,  Ryan McCluskey at centre back.

I think we'll be ok with Soccer Seamus. Says a lot about where Fermanagh's management feel they are when they have to accommodate a player with no respect for their county.

Fermanagh named the other Quigley at 11, he's the one I'd worry about. Think experimenting with him out there could cost Fermanagh, all our HBs are good footballers and the only advantage he'll have is an inch or two in the air. Can do more damage closer to goal.

It is highly unlikely that Sean will line out in the half forwards; Ryan Jones will probably move out.  Both of the Quigleys take equal watching, similar style and similar ability.

Whilst that is a nice soundbite re Soccer Seamus, the truth is that even the best managers and best teams often accommodate players.  McGrath has played his cards correctly in this instance, however we'll be lucky if it is his last misdemeanor.

We'll have about 7/8 changes from the team played last year against ye, and significantly it is experienced players being replaced by youth.  Apparently ye were open at times v Limerick, so I'm clinging to the hope we can stay in the game with goals.  I'd worry about Cregg and Kilbride inside, whilst we play with a sweeper we haven't been particularly defensive this year.  Daly will need cover to cope with Cregg, and we don't really have anyone in the FB line with the physicality to match Kilbride.  I'm expecting a high scoring loss, but hoping for a more defensive game plan and stealing 2 points with goals!

Quote from: Lucifer on March 08, 2014, 11:52:38 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 08, 2014, 03:28:41 PM

It is highly unlikely that Sean will line out in the half forwards; Ryan Jones will probably move out.  Both of the Quigleys take equal watching, similar style and similar ability.

Whilst that is a nice soundbite re Soccer Seamus, the truth is that even the best managers and best teams often accommodate players.  McGrath has played his cards correctly in this instance, however we'll be lucky if it is his last misdemeanor.

We'll have about 7/8 changes from the team played last year against ye, and significantly it is experienced players being replaced by youth.  Apparently ye were open at times v Limerick, so I'm clinging to the hope we can stay in the game with goals.  I'd worry about Cregg and Kilbride inside, whilst we play with a sweeper we haven't been particularly defensive this year.  Daly will need cover to cope with Cregg, and we don't really have anyone in the FB line with the physicality to match Kilbride.  I'm expecting a high scoring loss, but hoping for a more defensive game plan and stealing 2 points with goals!

I really don't think many counties would accommodate a player if they did what Quigley did even if they had a spotless record, which Quigley clearly does not. We had a championship starter dropped from the panel this year because he threw his jersey at the dressing room wall when he was told he was being subbed out, for example. Low standards seep into panels just as high standards hold players to account.

I really have zero respect for Quigley, what he did showed total disregard for the game and the honour of representing his county. I don't think much good can come from having a powder keg on your panel.

I'd clarify and say I expect the hardest fought game of the league so far - the Longford game was tight but we played half asleep for 40 minutes and after that it was one-way traffic - and that our recent record in Brewster means we shouldn't be taking Fermanagh lightly even if the form book of both teams only points to one result.

There will be less space and our forwards will have to deal with more frustration than they did in the last few games. Diarmuid Murtagh is a name outsiders mightn't know but that'll change soon enough, it could be up to him to get the big scores with so much attention focused on Kilbride and Cregg.

Quote from: Syferus on March 09, 2014, 12:39:19 AM

I really have zero respect for Quigley
I'd say the feeling would be mutual if he knew or cared about your existence.
C'mon Ros -this is where we either arrive or go back to the dross.
Triple Connacht Champions

Wild game in Brewster with neither team showing much interest in defence - Ros 2-13 Fermanagh 3-9 atm.

Ros 3-17 Ferm 3-09 with six minutes left.

Ended 3-17 to 4-10 to us. Fermanagh with a late goal. Luicifer's perdiction was totally on the money.

Defence took a holiday in Brewster today.

Almost home. We have to focus everything on picking up both points against Offaly now. Will take a lot of pressure off the Cabin trip.

rte have wrong ft score on their website

Cavan beat Sligo 1-12 to 0-10. Wasn't able to make it but listened on the radio. Sligo were extremely defensive and made life very hard for Cavan and their 2 man full forward line seems to have hit a purple patch both sides of half time. Indeed Sligo were 4 up at 9-5 15 mins into the 2nd half but Cavan upped the performance in the last quarter to score 1-7 to sligos 1 point. Great result considering our full back was on the bench (came on early for McLoughlin who was inured), Ctr back & captain still injured and no Keating or Givney and all U21's gone. 100% record intact and another tough game away to Longford next weekend which I think would seal promotion.

Uncanny from Lucifer. Any chance of  the lotto numbers for the Euro Millions?

tintin25

You'd think 4-10 would be enough to win most games! Roscommon were sharper in attack and upped it when they went 5 behind in the 2nd half.  Still think Fermanagh can take some positives out if the game and think we'll do enough in the remaining games to avoid relegation.

Hows division 3 looking?

Roscommon and Cavan must be near promoted.

Ah jaysus was one of those silly non defending matches it reminded me our game against Wicklow in 2011 but hey we finally..... get a win in Enniskillen! hard earned as expected a huge 2 points gained, promotion in our own hands surely the lads won't fcuk up now?

FermGael

That was like watching two boxers going punch for punch with absolutely no defence.
We were 5 up after 15 minutes of the second half
By the 20th minute we were 1 down. 
We could not handle Shine and Cregg at all but your full back line was very poor under the high ball.
Seamie had them running scared.

The wee rugby tackle at the end shows exactly how the black card rule is flawed.
The standing ovation from the Roscommon supporters said it all.
Very enjoyable game though.

Massive game away to limerick up next.
A must win.
Wanted.  Forwards to take frees.
Not fussy.  Any sort of ability will be considered

Pretty poor Cavan display today, especially in the first half. Sligo were 4 ahead 10 minutes into the 2nd half and missed a lot of good chances which allowed us to tag on a few frees and get momentum again. Management made some good changes and we got a hold again around the middle. We played some great football for 10 minutes and got some lovely scores and a great goal, that buried the sligo challenge. Gearoid was massive, incredible considering him long he was out for. Mackey too was good. Very disappointed with Tierney, looks out of his depth. Dunne too was dire but got some nice scores at the end. Seems givney and Alan Clarke are out for a few more weeks and Keating doubtful for next week so the trip to Longford will be very difficult. A win there will mean certain promotion as we'd have the head to head against all rivals.