NFL Division 3 2014

Started by ross4life, January 20, 2014, 07:53:55 PM

Qwerty28

Looks like two promotion spots almost sown up between Cavan and Ros.....rte had wrong score on their website for Ferm Ros game, not for the first time they made a mistake in the scorelines and always bugs me they way the news always lists the winner first rather than who was home and away!

Good win for Longford, should hopefully stay up now with 4 points and nice booster ahead of championship to get one over Offaly, especially in O'Connor Park!

tintin25

Thought Quigley was poor enough today, despite scoring two goals. Would need to sharpen the fitness come championship time.

sligoman2

Disappointed with the final score considering we were up 4 in the 2nd half.  Black cards were dodgy at best and the ref was very poor and made some crazy decisions for both teams.

We need a few more points, promotion chance is probably gone but we need a couple of more points to ensure we stay up.

Same story again today, patches of brilliant football followed by stupidity and laziness - losing the ball in the tackle, bad passes and losing focus.  Pat should know by now who is not performing and make the changes that are needed.
Fair play to Cavan, we had them scared and they responded and we fell asleep.

Very frustrating but some positives - Kelly motm and seems back and better than ever.
I used to be indecisive but now I'm not too sure.

Blue in hope

Blackcards for both Sligo men were correct. Donovan pulled down Fergal Flanagan  down off the ball as he was running up to support the forwards. Number 26 was black carded for a trip on Tinnelly when he intercepted the ball. I would agree with your thought that the ref was poor and very inconsistent. Players from both teams were frustrated with him.
Overall happy to see Cavan showing good character to turn a four point deficit to a five point win. They will have learnt  alot yesterday. 

Didn't make Tullamore but by all accounts Longford should have won by a country mile.

We missed at least three goal chances that were begging and our erstwhile goalkeeper was at fault for at least the goal ( decided to solo out the pitch and then got caught as happens quite often with him) and perhaps a few points. That said he is still in the black in his Longford account by my reckoning.

Good to see Paul Barden come on as a late sub so we may see more of him in possibly his final year as an inter county player.

The Da was happy with the win coming out but he was saddened at looking at a once proud Offaly side (he played for Offaly in Noo Yoik in the late 50s) playing such poor football in the second half. I cannot see anything but relegation for them. Who will join them?

Could we see Wexford in the basement? WTF has happened there?

Another win (home v Cavan and then away to Sligo and Wexford) will secure our status but it won't be easy as nobody is going to cough up easy points at this stage.

Cavan and Ros to go up
Offaly and Wexford to go down.

Louth and Meath to join the Div 3 party for 2015.

LaurelEye

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 10, 2014, 10:51:08 AM
Didn't make Tullamore but by all accounts Longford should have won by a country mile.

We missed at least three goal chances that were begging and our erstwhile goalkeeper was at fault for at least the goal ( decided to solo out the pitch and then got caught as happens quite often with him) and perhaps a few points.

He's not erstwhile yet, Shamrock.

Perhaps we could put one of these electronic collars on him that would emit a small electric shock once he goes more than a certain safe distance from the goal.

Quote from: Blue in hope on March 10, 2014, 09:30:14 AM
Blackcards for both Sligo men were correct. Donovan pulled down Fergal Flanagan  down off the ball as he was running up to support the forwards. Number 26 was black carded for a trip on Tinnelly when he intercepted the ball. I would agree with your thought that the ref was poor and very inconsistent. Players from both teams were frustrated with him.
Overall happy to see Cavan showing good character to turn a four point deficit to a five point win. They will have learnt  alot yesterday.

Sligo must have been down to the bare bones in defence yesterday, Charlie Harrison and Keelan Cawley both out injured and that black card for Donovan arguably their best defender.

sligoman2

Yeah we are short a lot of backs - you can add mcintyre and Egan to the missing as well.

Very big game for us v Wexford next week.  We could still get relegated or promoted at this point but the promotion chances are very slim
I used to be indecisive but now I'm not too sure.

Quote from: sligoman2 on March 10, 2014, 11:56:54 PM
Yeah we are short a lot of backs - you can add mcintyre and Egan to the missing as well.

Very big game for us v Wexford next week.  We could still get relegated or promoted at this point but the promotion chances are very slim

And Luke Bree. Should have Egan, Bree and McIntyre back for the last 2 games. Not sure on Keelan or Charlie with their injuries.

We haven't a prayer of getting promoted but I think we're impoving gradually and should manage to nab another win somewhere to keep us in Div 3 for another year. I hope we're not heading to Roscommon looking for it on the last day though.

Quote from: ross4life on March 09, 2014, 04:27:47 PM
Ah jaysus was one of those silly non defending matches ..... a huge 2 points gained, promotion in our own hands surely the lads won't fcuk up now?
We managed to win despite doing our level best to fcuk up as you so eloquently put it. :D
We have some excellent forwards but Godhelpus Goalie, Backs and Midfield.... :-[
A lad built like a 10 pints a night darts player disintegrated our "nailed on 3 positions sorted out" full back line, our HB line was so open it was embarrassin while our midfielders seem to think their only role is to jump for the ball and if the others get it then you just hang about and wait for the next kick out. Higgins at least tried to get involved in going forward a few times.
Forwards esp Cregg,Donie and young Murtagh were absolutely wonderful when we hit the ball into them. We had 2 of these passages - in the first half we got 1-3 or so in a few minutes but then went back to sleep till the middle of the second half when we woke up at 1-9 to 3-8 and ran in 2-8 to 2 points in a purple patch.
Then dozed off again and it took a "Kavanagh" from Carty to stop it becoming a 1 point game. He should have got a black but instead the Ref gave him a second yellow. He gave the Fermanagh lad a yellow for his reaction and took the free off them as well. Seems players are of the opinion fouling is a total no no now??
Evans afterwards praised the lads' attitude and the way they came back but if they ALL defended whenever Fermanagh got the ball there would have been no need for comebacks.
Still promotion nearly secured but bejaysus have we some problems to iron out.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Quote from: Rossfan on March 11, 2014, 11:51:00 AM
Ah jaysus was one of those silly non defending matches ..... a huge 2 points gained, promotion in our own hands surely the lads won't fcuk up now?
We managed to win despite doing our level best to fcuk up as you so eloquently put it. :D
We have some excellent forwards but Godhelpus Goalie, Backs and Midfield.... :-[
A lad built like a 10 pints a night darts player disintegrated our "nailed on 3 positions sorted out" full back line, our HB line was so open it was embarrassin while our midfielders seem to think their only role is to jump for the ball and if the others get it then you just hang about and wait for the next kick out. Higgins at least tried to get involved in going forward a few times.
Forwards esp Cregg,Donie and young Murtagh were absolutely wonderful when we hit the ball into them. We had 2 of these passages - in the first half we got 1-3 or so in a few minutes but then went back to sleep till the middle of the second half when we woke up at 1-9 to 3-8 and ran in 2-8 to 2 points in a purple patch.
Then dozed off again and it took a "Kavanagh" from Carty to stop it becoming a 1 point game. He should have got a black but instead the Ref gave him a second yellow. He gave the Fermanagh lad a yellow for his reaction and took the free off them as well. Seems players are of the opinion fouling is a total no no now??
Evans afterwards praised the lads' attitude and the way they came back but if they ALL defended whenever Fermanagh got the ball there would have been no need for comebacks.

Good summary rosfan. IMO we have plenty of decent defenders but at the moment they are just a group of individuals instead of one solid unit. Midfield i don't know, our best midfielder retired another one injured while Cathal Shine is still trying to find his feet at senior level, we need more pace,mobility in midfield & might have to wait another year or so for that. Forwards playing very well a fit Donie Shine has brought our average score up however we must remember its div 3 defences we are playing against.

I remember in 2007 we were one home win away from promotion and fcuked up against Leitrim they celebrated on the field like they won Connacht or something...

This Years Model

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 10, 2014, 10:51:08 AM
Could we see Wexford in the basement? WTF has happened there?
We could indeed Shamrock. The loss of Forde a couple of years ago was a blow, but losing Colm Morris and Eric Bradley last year, David Murphy and especially Red Barry this year, is all proving a little too much to bear. Very much in a rebuilding phase, but I suspect the management expected to be rebuilding while in Div 3 not 4 ... still, every game is a Championship game from here on, so it'll be interesting to see what they're made of. Need 2 wins out of 3.
Another win (home v Cavan and then away to Sligo and Wexford) will secure our status but it won't be easy as nobody is going to cough up easy points at this stage.

Cavan and Ros to go up
Offaly and Wexford to go down.

Louth and Meath to join the Div 3 party for 2015.
... And wouldn't it be kind of poetic if Longford got the chance to put us down, considering the suffering they've endured at the hands of the yellabellies over the last few years ...?

Quote from: ross4life on March 11, 2014, 05:33:58 PM

Good summary rosfan. IMO we have plenty of decent defenders but at the moment they are just a group of individuals instead of one solid unit. Midfield i don't know, our best midfielder retired another one injured while Cathal Shine is still trying to find his feet at senior level, we need more pace,mobility in midfield & might have to wait another year or so for that. Forwards playing very well a fit Donie Shine has brought our average score up however we must remember its div 3 defences we are playing against.

I remember in 2007 we were one home win away from promotion and fcuked up against Leitrim they celebrated on the field like they won Connacht or something...

Wouldn't it just be lovely if Johneen could convince Mango to lace up for one last summer when he joins the management team later in the year?

Quote from: ross4life on March 11, 2014, 05:33:58 PM
I remember it well  :-[
At 3.30 that day we were in D2 but by 4 o'clock it looked like D4 would be our lot. We went mad v the Biffs in Tullamore and got into D2 where we were a major embarrassment under the Tanned one.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

You're just lucky he'd a brutal game