Roscommon vs. Tyrone AIQ R2: Yes, again.

Started by Syferus, July 01, 2013, 08:46:00 AM

Best hairstyle?

Sean Cavanagh
7 (35%)
Senan Kilbride
6 (30%)
Joe McMahon
7 (35%)
Paddy Joe Burke
7 (35%)

Total Members Voted: 20

Quote from: ross matt on July 06, 2013, 11:47:41 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 06, 2013, 10:18:07 PM
Out of jail. Had Ros shown a little more composure in the dying minutes they could easily have sneaked it, and deservedly so.

Re the refereeing: don't want to say too much, save to say that someone who's patently learning the craft at this level shouldn't be let out on his own!
+1 Not often if ever I agree with you but have to make an exception this time. Rossies definitely could have won it but ref definitely favoured us in the 1st half. Donie Shine and Conor Daly should have walked for 2nd/3rd/4th yellow offences. Best of luck to Tyrone going forward.

Good man, all concurrences accepted gratefully!  ;)

In our defence, it was the 2nd successive week away on a long road and it showed, we'll be glad of the rest next weekend.

Paddy B was really driving the tractor hard today.

..:-[

Thought a lot of the young lads showed well, Niall Daly, Cathal Shine, Enda Smith in what little he got forward, Neil Collins, Comp when he came on.

Today reminded me of the way Donegal played in 2011 (lower level but as good a basis to work from as any), we were doing well frustrating with good defence but we haven't really figured out how to break into attack properly. To do those tactics justice you need to be in top shape because the demands are so great on players' bodies if they all have to drop back into defence and then break forward 30 or 40 times a game. Likewise you need two good target men and in Donie and Senan we have the players to do a good impression of Donegal if we get them into the best shape of their lifes.

Now's Evan's chance to earn his stripes by getting the lads' diets and training regimes set for the next six months.

Quote from: Syferus on July 07, 2013, 12:53:19 AM

Thought a lot of the young lads showed well, Niall Daly, Cathal Shine, Enda Smith in what little he got forward, Neil Collins, Comp when he came on.

Today reminded me of the way Donegal played in 2011 (lower level but as good a basis to work from as any), we were doing well frustrating with good defence but we haven't really figured out how to break into attack properly. To do those tactics justice you need to be in top shape because the demands are so great on players' bodies if they all have to drop back into defence and then break forward 30 or 40 times a game. Likewise you need two good target men and in Donie and Senan we have the players to do a good impression of Donegal if we get them into the best shape of their lifes.

Now's Evan's chance to earn his stripes by getting the lads' diets and training regimes set for the next six months.

Quote from: From the Bunker on July 07, 2013, 01:43:26 AM

When Donie's climbing the heavens and slotting goals past a hapless David Clarke ala Mike Murphy (not the Winning Streak lad) you won't be so smart 8)

Quote from: Syferus on July 07, 2013, 02:07:51 AM

When Donie's climbing the heavens and slotting goals past a hapless David Clarke ala Mike Murphy (not the Winning Streak lad) you won't be so smart 8)

In truth i would not begrudge you that day (if we sort out our day beforehand)! ;)

Quote from: ross matt on July 07, 2013, 12:03:36 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 06, 2013, 09:01:32 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 06, 2013, 07:49:45 PM
D2 here we come.

Are ye off to Leeson Street for the night or something? ;D

Hardly a day for Herron chokers to be slagging off Rossies or any other team for that matter is it GBB? Fair play to ye. Ye caught the Waterford footballers with a late goal. Always knew this fixture was a potential banana skin for waterford....Anyway enjoy the celebrations..... big scalp!

Jesus H Christ lads I was only messing and I have 2 Rossies getting thick with me over f**k all. I will say nothing in future. I said far worse about Galway earlier today on here. Grow up a bit lads and wind the neck in.

Quote from: ross matt on July 06, 2013, 11:57:14 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on July 06, 2013, 11:50:53 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 06, 2013, 10:22:32 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on July 01, 2013, 02:07:56 PM
I doubt if Roscommon will pose any more opposition than We got on Saturday past. Tyrone by at least 10 points. Yawn...

Well sleepy head any after match views?

Tyrone reserves did the first team proud! Hopefully we will have more of our best starting 15 available for the next day.

Pathetic response from a pathetic poster.

Lighten up lad I was joking.

Ross did well to be so close but the end result is the same. Complacency probably had a part to play from Tyrones point of view. We seen it a few weeks ago with Down getting so close to donegal. What happened Down then? They were dumped out by an average Derry side. All about being in the hat.

Decent performance from a team that finally played with a bit of pride. Not sure about the massed defence, it aint nice to watch. Plenty of work needs to start now to prepare the team for next year. We need to get out of Division 3.

Quote from: From the Bunker on July 07, 2013, 03:35:07 AM

In truth i would not begrudge you that day (if we sort out our day beforehand)! ;)

Why would you not begrudge him that day, you as a Mayo supporter would not mind if Roscommmon started beating Mayo so long as we land an all Ireland before hand? Holy shit, thank f**k you do not represent Mayo. When (not if) we win Sam, we will want more and we will establish a culture where Mayo are challenging for Sam on a regular basis , Mayo belong at the top table and when we get there, we will like f**k be reverting to type and meekly surrendering provincial dominance because we have achieved one all Ireland.

Thank god upcoming generations will rid of this culture where Mayo people think they are undeserving , that mindset need gone.

. Likewise you need two good target men and in Donie and Senan we have the players to do a good impression of Donegal

Donie and Senan wouldn't be let near the Donegal team bus never mind the panel.
If we are to be challenging  in the higher reaches neither of them will be any more than bit part panel members as they aren't hard working enough.
Donie was our worst player by far today and  Evans left Senan on the bench for 65 minutes for a reason.
Our future will be lads like Donie Smith, Compton,  the Dalys, Collins, Cathal Shine plus a few younger additions and whatever of the older lads survive the cull.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

What sort of a tractor was it ?

There is only one man to blame for our collapse at the end and that's Paddy Hunter on q101. The eejit was chattig about the game being wrapped up with 15 minutes to go, who we might get in the next round and how Mickey Harte was wise bringing on the younger lads now the game was over!

Quote from: Rossfan on July 07, 2013, 10:30:39 AM
. Likewise you need two good target men and in Donie and Senan we have the players to do a good impression of Donegal

Donie and Senan wouldn't be let near the Donegal team bus never mind the panel.
If we are to be challenging  in the higher reaches neither of them will be any more than bit part panel members as they aren't hard working enough.
Donie was our worst player by far today and  Evans left Senan on the bench for 65 minutes for a reason.
Our future will be lads like Donie Smith, Compton,  the Dalys, Collins, Cathal Shine plus a few younger additions and whatever of the older lads survive the cull.

To do what Evans was trying yesterday (and to lesser extents throughout the league) you need a big lad able to win his own ball, get the defence's attention and still be a threat to slot the ball over. Otherwise you have a headless team that can defend but can't attack.

Donie was beat to pretty much every ball sent in to him when he was playing 14 yesterday, but it was clear the hamstring has slowed him down and even before that he wasn't the fastest buck we had by any means. Senan came on and caught a wonderful ball with two Tyrone defenders around him, the lad is very obviously talented.

Evans likes his big target men by all accounts so it's his job to properly motivate both of them for the off-season because we've never really seen either at their physical peaks. If we see them fit as a fiddle and still under-performing you have a point but until we do it'd be folly for a county of our size to be thinking about casting them aside.

Donie is more suited to playing midfield if he can pick up the fitness enough to play the position, as for not making the donegal panel, thats a bit of a joke, after no.18 donegal bench is very weak

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 07, 2013, 02:14:37 PM
Donie is more suited to playing midfield if he can pick up the fitness enough to play the position, as for not making the donegal panel, thats a bit of a joke, after no.18 donegal bench is very weak
Neither of the 2 boys have the intensity or competitiveness levels or work rate needed for serious top level Senior inter County Championship football or for Jimmy McGuinness' panel.
2 grand lads but such is life.
They can still do a job for us in D3 though.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.