Roscommon vs. Tyrone AIQ R2: Yes, again.

Started by Syferus, July 01, 2013, 08:46:00 AM

Best hairstyle?

Sean Cavanagh
7 (35%)
Senan Kilbride
6 (30%)
Joe McMahon
7 (35%)
Paddy Joe Burke
7 (35%)

Total Members Voted: 20

Quote from: Rossfan on July 06, 2013, 10:38:01 PM
Just home after a few sorrow drowning pints.
Great gutsy display by our lads as we followed a game plan -even if it was hard to watch with 10 or 12 defenders - and as Fear says above a biteen of composure at the end we'd have won it.
Proud of the lads the way they fought and respected the jersey but tempered by realism that when the game was there for the taking we weren't good enough to take it.
Tyrone weren't hectic and unless they get a soft draw ( herrins?? them jammy bsatards  >:() won't be troubling Croke Park in August.
Evans and the panel need to sit down in a few weeks and plot their winter training/conditioning schedule. He also needs to go to Club Championship games and see who else might catch the eye and also see how the panel members show up in testing situations.
Looking forward to 2014 already.
Now for the Minors and U16s.

P S ye lads that heard Hegarty and Shine for the first time - now ye know why some of us go to games - it's to avoid listening to their absolute bolxology.
PPS -poor ros turn out

As taught by Willie.

Legend.

Quote from: Syferus on July 06, 2013, 10:27:30 PM
Still see Tyrone making the AIQFs but I think they'd need to draw the Munster champions to make it further than that.
In round four if Tyrone draw Monaghan,Meath or London they should reach the quarter finals however if they draw Kerry or Cork they will be knocked out.

Cork/Kerry would easily beat that Tyrone team.
The gasúinín seems to think that Cork and Kerry are around the same standard as the rest of them in Munster as he's too young to remember them winning Sam in 2009/2010. ;D
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Hard luck to the Rossies - would have been mighty to beat Tyrone but at least ye put up a decent show

As stated elsewhere on here, it's not often that a losing team feels like they've done better than a winning team (Galway)

Quote from: Rossfan on July 06, 2013, 11:10:33 PM
Cork/Kerry would easily beat that Tyrone team.
The gasúinín seems to think that Cork and Kerry are around the same standard as the rest of them in Munster as he's too young to remember them winning Sam in 2009/2010. ;D

Cork might spark into life but Kerry will need the respirators long before the final whistle. A great team on its way out, no more and no less.

Tyrone-Kerry this year would mimic Donegal-Kerry last year, and probably with a similar result.

bootboy

From a Tyrone standpoint,very fortunate to get away with a result and on the evidence of today's performance will need a good draw in the next round to progress any further.As has been said,Roscommon had enough chances in the last ten minutes of the game to get a draw at least and had they pushed a few more bodies forward earlier than when they did they could have won the game. First half was poor stuff with both sides packing the defence and despite Tyrone playing with the breeze,they played with a non-existent half forward line and seemed more intent on sniffing out Roscommon rather than taking the game to them and forcing the issue. Apart from a 15 minute period at the start of the second half Tyrone were toothless up front and Tyrones best forward was probably Ciaran McGinley playing as an extra defender. Defence fairly solid in general,best we're probably McMahon,Gormley and Harte seeming much more comfortable at 6.

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 06, 2013, 10:18:07 PM
Out of jail. Had Ros shown a little more composure in the dying minutes they could easily have sneaked it, and deservedly so.

Re the refereeing: don't want to say too much, save to say that someone who's patently learning the craft at this level shouldn't be let out on his own!
+1 Not often if ever I agree with you but have to make an exception this time. Rossies definitely could have won it but ref definitely favoured us in the 1st half. Donie Shine and Conor Daly should have walked for 2nd/3rd/4th yellow offences. Best of luck to Tyrone going forward.

Quote from: ross4life on July 06, 2013, 10:22:32 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on July 01, 2013, 02:07:56 PM
I doubt if Roscommon will pose any more opposition than We got on Saturday past. Tyrone by at least 10 points. Yawn...

Well sleepy head any after match views?

Tyrone reserves did the first team proud! Hopefully we will have more of our best starting 15 available for the next day.

Quote from: ross4life on July 06, 2013, 10:18:48 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 06, 2013, 09:18:49 PM
Fergie left us after losing to Mayo-Tyrone too, and an 11 point loss to an inferior Tyrone team than the one we played today. We're at the same level again but the worst thing we could do is sit back and be glad with a moral victory, we need the lads to be hungry to make the next step after today.

Evans looks he has ideas so hopefully the county board support him properly in terms of his training programs for the off-season.

That game was never 11 point match in million years and inferior Tyrone? not sure about that as they were able to call upon the likes McMenamin,Hughes,McGuigan,Mulligan,O'Neill,Dooher etc back then. We got within two points of Mayo who knocked out the defending All Ireland championship in the following game.

6 month break now & huge work to be done. The longer we stay in div 3 the more bad habits we will develop. Evans said himself he won't be hanging around if he doesn't see improvement so 2014 is a huge year for him and the players to make the step up.

+1 Syferus stop trying to defend/gloss over Newton disasterous set back 2012 season. As Ross4life rightly points out Fergie had us within 2 points of a fine Mayo side and playing excellent football in Croker against a much better resourced Tyrone side than today's. Agree with you re Evans having a plan and on the right track  but if Fergie had stayed on we would never have fallen this far back.

Quote from: EC Unique on July 06, 2013, 11:50:53 PM
I doubt if Roscommon will pose any more opposition than We got on Saturday past. Tyrone by at least 10 points. Yawn...

Tyrone reserves did the first team proud! Hopefully we will have more of our best starting 15 available for the next day.

Pathetic response from a pathetic poster.

Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 06, 2013, 09:01:32 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 06, 2013, 07:49:45 PM
D2 here we come.

Are ye off to Leeson Street for the night or something? ;D

Hardly a day for Herron chokers to be slagging off Rossies or any other team for that matter is it GBB? Fair play to ye. Ye caught the Waterford footballers with a late goal. Always knew this fixture was a potential banana skin for waterford....Anyway enjoy the celebrations..... big scalp!

I'd say Roscommon were missing more, they did rest Kilbride and Finneran after all. Tyrone v Armagh in round three? Armagh are due a win in that fixture.

Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 07, 2013, 12:06:47 AM

I'd say Roscommon were missing more, they did rest Kilbride and Finneran after all. Tyrone v Armagh in round three? Armagh are due a win in that fixture.

I saw Emlyn Mulligan at the match today, cheering on his second favourite county.

Real pity his calf means he's such a big doubt for the game because if he was fit (and the other lads stayed away from the drink for a few weeks) Leitrim would have had a real cut at the Apples in Carrick.

Tyrone went looking a win and got a win. Mission accomplished. This is championship football where a one point win is as good as 10.

So in that respect it's a job done.

But that's all it was.

Roscommon could well have won the game. I was going to say that Rocommon could have stolen the game but that wouldn't be fair to Roscommon.

A wee bit of composure would have seen them win the game.

Tyrone reserves my arse.

One change from the 20 point win over Offaly with Joe McMahon back, 10 of the side today started against Donegal & if the likes of McConnell,McCurry had started that game you might have got closer to Donegal.