Roscommon vs. Tyrone AIQ R2: Yes, again.

Started by Syferus, July 01, 2013, 08:46:00 AM

Best hairstyle?

Sean Cavanagh
7 (35%)
Senan Kilbride
6 (30%)
Joe McMahon
7 (35%)
Paddy Joe Burke
7 (35%)

Total Members Voted: 20

Feckitt

"There was no bad tackles in it.  Now I know Karol Mannion caught a fella around the neck, but even if you're caught bad around the neck there is no call for lying down"  ;D ;D

Great effort. Could have won it. Once we pushed up we had our chances but lack of composure meant we were unable to take them.

Proud of the lads. Showed the spirit and courage we've seen them show at underage and club level for years. Could have won it late but so what. Evans has us in a better place than Fergie left us in two years ago and we can build a team from the pieces we have.

D2 here we come.

Seamus

Absolutely hilarious, Hailly Mary shame I only got 20 minutes.
"I wish I could inspire the same confidence in the truth which is so readily accorded to lies".

Quote from: Syferus on July 06, 2013, 07:49:45 PM
D2 here we come.

Are ye off to Leeson Street for the night or something? ;D

Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 06, 2013, 09:01:32 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 06, 2013, 07:49:45 PM
D2 here we come.

Are ye off to Leeson Street for the night or something? ;D

Drink on yer heads, huh? Explains today's performance anyways 8)

Poor game with close exciting finish. Tyrone were there for the taking today but they were let off the hook,  if Tyrone go scoreless in the next game for the first 15 mins and last 15 they will be beaten.

Proud of the lads a decent effort put in but just came up short. Our priority is to get out of div 3 now and to correct you Syferus, Evans has us in a better place now than Newton left us in last year.

Fergie left us after losing to Mayo-Tyrone too, and an 11 point loss to an inferior Tyrone team than the one we played today. We're at the same level again but the worst thing we could do is sit back and be glad with a moral victory, we need the lads to be hungry to make the next step after today.

Evans looks he has ideas so hopefully the county board support him properly in terms of his training programs for the off-season.

Quote from: AFS on July 06, 2013, 09:52:08 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 06, 2013, 09:18:49 PM
Fergie left us after losing to Mayo-Tyrone too, and an 11 point loss to an inferior Tyrone team than the one we played today. We're at the same level again but the worst thing we could do is sit back and be glad with a moral victory, we need the lads to be hungry to make the next step after today.

Evans looks he has ideas so hopefully the county board support him properly in terms of his training programs for the off-season.

Lolz.

You're high if you think Tyrone were a better team in 2011 than 2013. Not even at the races that year and the level of competition at the top end was lower than it is this year. Tyrone were in (and stayed in) Division 2 in 2011 to boot so you really haven't a leg to stand on.

Phew...that was dodgy. We learned f**k all last week, this week we learned we can't just show up and walk into the next round. Very lucky today and need to have the heads right from the first whistle or we'll be dumped out on our holes in a fortnight.

Anyway onwards and upwards. Another good outing for McCurry, fair play to the lad.

Out of jail. Had Ros shown a little more composure in the dying minutes they could easily have sneaked it, and deservedly so.

Re the refereeing: don't want to say too much, save to say that someone who's patently learning the craft at this level shouldn't be let out on his own!

That game was never 11 point match in million years and inferior Tyrone? not sure about that as they were able to call upon the likes McMenamin,Hughes,McGuigan,Mulligan,O'Neill,Dooher etc back then. We got within two points of Mayo who knocked out the defending All Ireland championship in the following game.

6 month break now & huge work to be done. The longer we stay in div 3 the more bad habits we will develop. Evans said himself he won't be hanging around if he doesn't see improvement so 2014 is a huge year for him and the players to make the step up.

Quote from: EC Unique on July 01, 2013, 02:07:56 PM
I doubt if Roscommon will pose any more opposition than We got on Saturday past. Tyrone by at least 10 points. Yawn...

Well sleepy head any after match views?

Quote from: ross4life on July 06, 2013, 10:18:48 PM

That game was never 11 point match in million years and inferior Tyrone? not sure about that as they were able to call upon the likes McMenamin,Hughes,McGuigan,Mulligan,O'Neill,Dooher etc back then. We got within two points of Mayo who knocked out the defending All Ireland championship in the following game.

6 month break now & huge work to be done. The longer we stay in div 3 the more bad habits we will develop. Evans said himself he won't be hanging around if he doesn't see improvement so 2014 is a huge year for him and the players to make the step up.

I think for lack of a better word most of those players were shot by 2011, certainly in terms of the top level of opposition. The current team, even if we put the squeeze on them today, look like they're going places over the next few years. They're building and going in the right direction whereas in 2011 they were continuing their post-2008 slide.

Anyways, well done to Tyrone. Always enjoy Ulster opposition, good atmosphere, good fans and good tough games. Still see Tyrone making the AIQFs but I think they'd need to draw the Munster champions to make it further than that.

Just home after a few sorrow drowning pints.
Great gutsy display by our lads as we followed a game plan -even if it was hard to watch with 10 or 12 defenders - and as Fear says above a biteen of composure at the end we'd have won it.
Proud of the lads the way they fought and respected the jersey but tempered by realism that when the game was there for the taking we weren't good enough to take it.
Tyrone weren't hectic and unless they get a soft draw ( herrins?? them jammy bsatards  >:() won't be troubling Croke Park in August.
Evans and the panel need to sit down in a few weeks and plot their winter training/conditioning schedule. He also needs to go to Club Championship games and see who else might catch the eye and also see how the panel members show up in testing situations.
Looking forward to 2014 already.
Now for the Minors and U16s.

P S ye lads that heard Hegarty and Shine for the first time - now ye know why some of us go to games - it's to avoid listening to their absolute bolxology.
PPS - very poor Ros turn out in the  3,542 official attendance plus the U16s who get in free.
Where were the rest of the mythical 20,000 that were in Ennis????
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.