The OFFICIAL Liverpool FC thread - RIP Diogo

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, February 05, 2009, 03:47:16 PM

Mentalman

Fergie's Letter to the United fans, to be handed out to them at the turnstiles on Sunday:

The great support you gave the team here last season has seen our allocation back up to near-full levels. I want you to continue that progress today.

But today is about much more than not blocking gangways. Today is about thinking hard about what makes United the best club in the world.

Our rivalry with Liverpool is based on a determination to come out on top - a wish to see us crowned the best against a team that held that honour for so long.

It cannot and should never be based on personal hatred. Just ten days ago, we heard the terrible, damning truth about the deaths of 96 fans who went to watch their team try and reach the FA Cup final and never came back.

What happened to them should wake the conscience of everyone connected with the game.

Our great club stands with our great neighbours Liverpool today to remember that loss and pay tribute to their campaign for justice. I know I can count on you to stand with us in the best traditions of the best fans in the game.

Yours sincerely, Sir Alex Ferguson.

"Mr Treehorn treats objects like women man."

Thats a powerful piece by Fergie in fairness.

Quote from: Bingo on September 21, 2012, 04:47:50 PM

It's unequivocal, isn't it? Fair play to him.

Quote from: deiseach on September 21, 2012, 04:49:54 PM
Quote from: Bingo on September 21, 2012, 04:47:50 PM

It's unequivocal, isn't it? Fair play to him.

Absolutely, no doubt or holding back, laid on the line and I hope both sets of supporters response to it. First Manc games I've missed in years, it will be a big game for Liverpool in terms of their season.

Mentalman

Well he's really stuck his chin out, hasn't he? I mean if there are any disrespectful incidents instigated by United fans, it's not just an insult to Liverpool, and the families of the 96, and common decency, it's an insult to him personally, and in fairness, at this point, he is United in many people's eyes? Here's hoping it all goes off well.

It's a bit sad a group of grown men have to be told to behave at soccer match, anyone with a bit of respect for themselves or others( dead and alive) wouldn't need to be told.
Hopefully they will listen to him anyways.

Nordie Tayto is shite

Mentalman

Quote from: laoislad on September 21, 2012, 05:06:02 PM
It's a bit sad a group of grown men have to be told to behave at soccer match, anyone with a bit of respect for themselves or others( dead and alive) wouldn't need to be told.

True, but unfortunately you have to deal with idiots in every facet of life, not just following soccer teams, it's just more visible there.

Quote from: Mentalman on September 21, 2012, 05:08:35 PM
True, but unfortunately you have to deal with idiots in every facet of life, not just following soccer teams, it's just more visible there.

Crowds are toxic places. A friend of mine from the Garvaghy Road is so switched off from tribal politics that he follows Portadown FC. But even he admitted that he joined the mob in pelting the peelers with stones during one of the Drumcree stand-offs.

Fair play to fergie and UTD. Hope the fans listen and I think if any break rank they will soon be told to f**k up by other UTD fans.

Youse watch Being Liverpool FC? All a bit soft focus anx PR savvy but definitely not as bad as I thought would be.

Lolz at Carra doing relaxation and meditation. Brendan has some gaff.

It was ok. Like an authorized biography and not a patch on the Hard Knocks series HBO does about NFL teams. Hopefully it will improve.

Reina, Kelly, Agger, Skrtel, Johnson, Allen, Gerrard, Shelvey, Borini, Sterling, Suarez.
Nordie Tayto is shite

Only one team in it Liverpool by far the better team.
An absolute joke of a sending off it was a yellow at best.
Evra's tackle on Sterling was worse and he wasn't even booked.
Thought the ref was giving United everything even before the sending off.
Nordie Tayto is shite

Liverpool have actually played pretty well. Been much the better side. Halsey only seems to be refereeing one team though.

Feels like a 1-0 defeat might be on the way though. United will surely be better in the 2nd half with the extra man advantage.

Desperate decision, Valencia just fell over.