The OFFICIAL Liverpool FC thread - RIP Diogo

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, February 05, 2009, 03:47:16 PM

Strange game last night with both defences going AWOL at times. Enrique is a shadow of the player that started last season so well.

Assaidi was grand, offers something different. I reckon the Garcia comparisons will come from fact that alot of what he tries mightn't come off and that will fustrate some.

Thought Henderson looked solid and worked the role well that suits him.

Of the young fellas, Suso and Wisdom would have done themselves no harm and will hopefully see more action in this competition. Pacheo struggled I thought.

Shelvey is continuing to impress. He is more Frank Lampard than Stevie Gerard, a real knack of getting into goal scoring positions. I think he will be a big player for Liverpool and had a real positve influence on the game when he arrived.

Moves to big one sunday, firstly hopefully Suarez gets the handshake done and thats it buried, on the occasion thats in it, no side shows needed. Can see goals going in for both sides as defensively, both have struggled. Liverpool will need a huge performance to get anything from it.

I'd expect to see:

Reina Kelly Skrtel Agger Johnson Henderson Allen Shelvey Gerard Suarz Sterling.

Can see him changing it a bit with Gerard playing further forward and Allen with Henderson holding the middle and Shelvey ahead. Sterling to start as United may be vunerable out wide.

2-15 to 1-13 to Liverpool.

Quote from: Bingo on September 21, 2012, 11:22:20 AM
Strange game last night with both defences going AWOL at times. Enrique is a shadow of the player that started last season so well.

Assaidi was grand, offers something different. I reckon the Garcia comparisons will come from fact that alot of what he tries mightn't come off and that will fustrate some.

Thought Henderson looked solid and worked the role well that suits him.

Of the young fellas, Suso and Wisdom would have done themselves no harm and will hopefully see more action in this competition. Pacheo struggled I thought.

Shelvey is continuing to impress. He is more Frank Lampard than Stevie Gerard, a real knack of getting into goal scoring positions. I think he will be a big player for Liverpool and had a real positve influence on the game when he arrived.

Moves to big one sunday, firstly hopefully Suarez gets the handshake done and thats it buried, on the occasion thats in it, no side shows needed. Can see goals going in for both sides as defensively, both have struggled. Liverpool will need a huge performance to get anything from it.

I'd expect to see:

Reina Kelly Skrtel Agger Johnson Henderson Allen Shelvey Gerard Suarz Sterling.

Can see him changing it a bit with Gerard playing further forward and Allen with Henderson holding the middle and Shelvey ahead. Sterling to start as United may be vunerable out wide.

2-15 to 1-13 to Liverpool.

I agree about Suarez, and in fact I'd go so far as to say that if he makes this about himself and Evra again, on this day of all days, then he should be sold in January.

Moves to big one sunday, firstly hopefully Suarez gets the handshake done and thats it buried, on the occasion thats in it, no side shows needed.

Quote from: deiseach on September 21, 2012, 11:26:27 AM
Moves to big one sunday, firstly hopefully Suarez gets the handshake done and thats it buried, on the occasion thats in it, no side shows needed.

You might find that the handshake won't even happen as Buttner might have forced himself infront of Patrice at the minute.

Quote from: AZOffaly on September 21, 2012, 11:25:20 AM
I agree about Suarez, and in fact I'd go so far as to say that if he makes this about himself and Evra again, on this day of all days, then he should be sold in January.

Id agree - he made a tit of kenny last season, who had lost the run of himself in the ott defence of suarez.

Once Evra offers his hand this time Luis will have no problem shaking it I'm sure.
I'm going for a 4-0 to Liverpool with a Suarez hatrick and a Evra own goal.

Geoff Tipps

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 21, 2012, 08:25:26 AM
Shelvey's goals were top class.  Enrique and Reina are both having a bit of a Spanish flu I reckon.  Hopefully Reina recovers his form as Jones is just above average.  Assaidi looks lively and has the trickery.  Think he can be a great impact sub at this stage, imagine having to chase that wee hoor after running after say Sterling or Borini for an hour!  Suso and Wisdom played well and Henderson put in a mature performance.  Pacheco was a bit lost.  Carra is done but is a key player for this season for these types of games to help Wisdom and Coates settle in.  

Substitutions worked very well as Borini and Shelvey were key to wnning the game.  Shelvey is a smashing player and on current 'form' should play at the top of the midfield three, behind either Borini or Luisito.

I disagree BCB. I think he's hampering their development. The defence descends into chaos when a forward gets a run on him. He brings nothing but panic to the back four.

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 21, 2012, 11:49:25 AM

You might find that the handshake won't even happen as Buttner might have forced himself infront of Patrice at the minute.

I was thinking the same but Fergie might stick with Evra as it is a big game for a new player.

Quote from: Geoff Tipps on September 21, 2012, 12:12:40 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 21, 2012, 08:25:26 AM
Shelvey's goals were top class.  Enrique and Reina are both having a bit of a Spanish flu I reckon.  Hopefully Reina recovers his form as Jones is just above average.  Assaidi looks lively and has the trickery.  Think he can be a great impact sub at this stage, imagine having to chase that wee hoor after running after say Sterling or Borini for an hour!  Suso and Wisdom played well and Henderson put in a mature performance.  Pacheco was a bit lost.  Carra is done but is a key player for this season for these types of games to help Wisdom and Coates settle in.  

Substitutions worked very well as Borini and Shelvey were key to wnning the game.  Shelvey is a smashing player and on current 'form' should play at the top of the midfield three, behind either Borini or Luisito.

I disagree BCB. I think he's hampering their development. The defence descends into chaos when a forward gets a run on him. He brings nothing but panic to the back four.

Maybe Geoff, things were not held last night with the calamity that is Enrique at the minute! Not since The Jimmy have I seen such comical defending as Enrique last night

Quote from: EC Unique on September 21, 2012, 01:25:18 PM

I was thinking the same but Fergie might stick with Evra as it is a big game for a new player.

Fergie wont stick with Evra because Evra is awful.

Being Liverpool on Channel 5 tonight.
How would one get to see it that doesn't have said station?

Quote from: laoislad on September 21, 2012, 01:36:59 PM
Being Liverpool on Channel 5 tonight.
How would one get to see it that doesn't have said station?

maybe its the 1st episode that is on youtube?

Quote from: J OGorman on September 21, 2012, 01:29:41 PM

I hope you are right. I like the look of Buttner so far. Be interesting to see him pick up Saurez.

Quote from: EC Unique on September 21, 2012, 01:45:33 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on September 21, 2012, 01:29:41 PM

I hope you are right. I like the look of Buttner so far. Be interesting to see him pick up Saurez.

a quick, young, scoring fullback with nice hair...as rare as hens teeth