More Thuggery on the GAA field

Started by agorm, January 23, 2012, 06:25:39 PM

Quote from: crossfire on January 27, 2012, 12:34:16 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 26, 2012, 11:58:28 PM
Why does the man with the clipboard swing his left leg forward?
It's this action that the Dromid player reacts to.
He seemed to be aiming towards the ball, possibly to kick it away but it looks to me like he probably made contact with the Dromid player as he already has the ball in his hands.
Watch the slow motion version.
I know I'm repeating myself but if that lad with the clipboard isn't where he is, and doesn't try to interfere with the Dromid #4 getting the ball back, then there's no row.

Yawn.

I'm in agreement with Jinxy on this in general.

Players will have a go at each other and whilst its not ideal its more manageable than people other than the 30 on the pitch becoming involved. I think it comes down to the one in all in mentality possibly to avoid lads getting sent off as it did on sunday.

As soon as officials, subs or supporters get involved then the GAA has to come down hard on them as much as the rules allow them.

Onlooker

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 27, 2012, 12:46:52 PM
Its getting better by the day!!!! I hope we give them their moneys worth!!!
QuoteDromid supporter wants his money back
27 January 2012
A Dromid Pearses supporter who attended last Sunday's controversial AIB All-Ireland club JFC semi-final against Derrytresk in Portlaoise is seeking a refund from the GAA.

Mickey Dennehy, who witnessed the appalling scenes in the company of his five children, is encouraging other supporters to do the same.

"I phoned Croke Park for a refund and I was told to put it in writing," he explained to Kerry's Eye.

"I intend to get a refund - and others should do too. The whole thing has left a sour taste in my mouth. It portrays Derrytresk in a bad way and has tarnished the whole area.

"It is a sad day for football. I will think twice about bringing children to any game. This is our national game and this should not have been allowed. Derrytresk are in the final, but they should not be."

Dennehy, who is an underage coach with Pearses, added: "I have been following GAA since I was a young boy and I am very disappointed that the GAA would allow this go on. I would be afraid for the children, it could have spilled into the stand. What is it saying to children - that the sneaky stuff can win?"
Surely this has to be a wind up.   Who or what is Kerry's Eye.   

Exactly.
Some people can't see the difference between a player getting involved with an opposition player and a player getting involved with an opposition official.
The subs came on the pitch because their backroom team got involved.
NOT because their players got involved.

Keane

Quote from: Onlooker on January 27, 2012, 12:51:41 PM

Kerry's Eye is one of Tralee's papers.

The guy telling the paper about looking for his money back is an embarrassment.

Quote from: Keane on January 27, 2012, 12:55:09 PM

Would that be the North Tralee or South Tralee edition then?

Quote from: Keane on January 27, 2012, 12:55:09 PM

In fairness ye are notorious for doing that.
Some Kerry fans think if you lose an All-Ireland final you're entitled to a refund.

Keane

Quote from: Jinxy on January 27, 2012, 01:00:37 PM
In fairness ye are notorious for doing that.
Some Kerry fans think if you lose an All-Ireland final you're entitled to a refund.

I'm sure some do.

In fairness, show me a good loser and I'll show you a fella who's used to it.

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 27, 2012, 12:46:52 PM
Its getting better by the day!!!! I hope we give them their moneys worth!!!
QuoteDromid supporter wants his money back
27 January 2012
A Dromid Pearses supporter who attended last Sunday's controversial AIB All-Ireland club JFC semi-final against Derrytresk in Portlaoise is seeking a refund from the GAA.

Mickey Dennehy, who witnessed the appalling scenes in the company of his five children, is encouraging other supporters to do the same.

"I phoned Croke Park for a refund and I was told to put it in writing," he explained to Kerry's Eye.

"I intend to get a refund - and others should do too. The whole thing has left a sour taste in my mouth. It portrays Derrytresk in a bad way and has tarnished the whole area.

"It is a sad day for football. I will think twice about bringing children to any game. This is our national game and this should not have been allowed. Derrytresk are in the final, but they should not be."

Dennehy, who is an underage coach with Pearses, added: "I have been following GAA since I was a young boy and I am very disappointed that the GAA would allow this go on. I would be afraid for the children, it could have spilled into the stand. What is it saying to children - that the sneaky stuff can win?"

Is this for real? Dromid are fast making complete and utter fools of themselves. I started this week thinking that Derrytresk were out of order, but as the week has gone on my mind has changed. The true colours of Dromid Pearse are being revealed and it is clear that they have an attitude of provoking responses from people and if this is the sort of whinging and provocation that the Derrytresk lads had to listen to during the match Im not surprised they reacted by punching seven bells out of them.

Top story on Hogan Stand so I presume its true. Maybe for our game Dr Crokes fans can get in free(or even insist we pay for them for the privilege of being in their company), have new seats put in with nice velvet cushions attached, have the stand to themselves, have us put in little caged pens like all the other 'animals' where they can come down as they wish and prod us with cattle brands, we will agree to play the game without AK, Oisin and Jamie Clarke and we also agree to only use our weaker foots.  Surely that would suffice to make sure each clubs standing in the GAA world is fairly reflected?

Keane

Quote from: BennyHarp on January 27, 2012, 01:07:09 PM
Is this for real? Dromid are fast making complete and utter fools of themselves. I started this week thinking that Derrytresk were out of order, but as the week has gone on my mind has changed. The true colours of Dromid Pearse are being revealed and it is clear that they have an attitude of provoking responses from people and if this is the sort of whinging and provocation that the Derrytresk lads had to listen to during the match Im not surprised they reacted by punching seven bells out of them.

Meh, this is a bit of a ridiculous attitude. The crabbing of some sour supporters after the fact hardly changes the contents of the video/the circumstances of the brawl.

Quote from: Keane on January 27, 2012, 01:29:46 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on January 27, 2012, 01:07:09 PM

Meh, this is a bit of a ridiculous attitude. The crabbing of some sour supporters after the fact hardly changes the contents of the video/the circumstances of the brawl.

Just as ridiculous as the attiutude of some clown wanting his money back because his team lost. Its that "crabbing" nature that made people want to punch them obviously. Remember - this bloke is coaching the kids, so they will have grown up with his attitude!   ;)

This is a very welcome development and I think the underage coach from Dromid Pearses is to be commended for doing supporters a great service.

Keane

Quote from: BennyHarp on January 27, 2012, 01:39:53 PM
Just as ridiculous as the attiutude of some clown wanting his money back because his team lost. Its that "crabbing" nature that made people want to punch them obviously. Remember - this bloke is coaching the kids, so they will have grown up with his attitude!   ;)

Well as long as you can see that the two things are as ridiculous as each other  ;D

As far as this particular champ goes, he's obviously an idiot and it's not good to hear he's involved with the kids.

I suppose in these tiny communities the people who end up still around into adulthood are often conditioned to be so parochial you'll get this sort of garbage out of them from time to time. Unfortunately small clubs aren't in a position a lot of the time to turn down man power wherever it comes from and as you say you end up with kids growing up with bad attitudes as well. Part of the reason why the GAA can be slow to progress at times I guess.

After reading some of the  embarrassing stuff coming out of Kerry this week I am delighted Derrytresk beat these clowns and will be firmly supporting cross to hammer the crokes. Kerry have come out of this in a very unsporting light as terrible losers. Shame on them.

Jaysus, I wish I could get a refund for everytime Antrim got tanked!