Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: lynchbhoy on September 26, 2008, 12:17:40 PM

Title: Ireland v Cyprus
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 26, 2008, 12:17:40 PM
I am in danger of becoming the new Tony Fearon (only a lot fatter and balder - if not a fair bit better looking)

After getting my corporate seat with a top global sportswear company at last Sundays All Ireland final
I have been invited along to see the upcomming croke park based Ireland v cyprus soccer match in another corporate box gig with a global IT Vendor.

Tone I presume you wont be in the cheap seats for this either ...will see you at the bar perhaps?
(obv we will have to go below to level 5 to do so )
;) :)
Title: Re: Ireland v Cyprus
Post by: Main Street on September 26, 2008, 01:07:29 PM
Congratulations there Lynchboy.
And opening up a new thread to make the announcement? ;D
Is this board big enough to handle another corporate gloater?
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 26, 2008, 01:32:50 PM
Quote from: Main Street on September 26, 2008, 01:07:29 PM
Congratulations there Lynchboy.
And opening up a new thread to make the announcement? ;D
Is this board big enough to handle another corporate gloater?
am waiting for Tone to chip in...no doubt he will 'better' me !
Post by: Declan on September 26, 2008, 02:13:23 PM
Don't forget to wave at us plebs in the cheap seats
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 26, 2008, 03:23:38 PM
Quote from: Declan on September 26, 2008, 02:13:23 PM
Don't forget to wave at us plebs in the cheap seats
[/quoteNo problem Dec,
..as long as I can get one of the servants to lift my arm up so I can move my hand at you that is!
Post by: Billys Boots on September 26, 2008, 03:38:16 PM
I assume, from the post, that you're back home on the mothership Declan???
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 26, 2008, 04:22:33 PM
actually Dec,
if you are going I'll meet up with you for a pint ....
you too Billy , Wouldnt be the first (or second) tim eI was stung for a round by a 'Larry' !
Post by: Billys Boots on September 26, 2008, 04:37:25 PM
Nah, no tickets - can't be arsed brown-nosing corporate types.  :P
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 26, 2008, 04:39:53 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on September 26, 2008, 04:37:25 PM
Nah, no tickets - can't be arsed brown-nosing corporate types.  :P
they came to me Billy !
:)
(same as my AI ticket did !)
Post by: Billys Boots on September 26, 2008, 05:21:26 PM
You must be getting even more irresistable with age lynchbhoy - my last soccer-trip to Croker was courtesy of my bank-manager, I'd hate to think he thought I owed him in any way.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 26, 2008, 05:25:41 PM
I would meet up with you LB, but I would make my own arrangements, I wouldn't want to miss the kick off :P

Will they have a cushion for your dodgy hip old bhoy?
Post by: ziggysego on September 26, 2008, 07:32:12 PM
Tony Fearon stepped into the Quantum Leap accelator and vanish.

He awoke to find himself trapped in the past, facing mirror that were not his own, but lynchbhoy's.

Each time he hopes that his next competition, will be the competition for the corporate box.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 26, 2008, 07:51:10 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 26, 2008, 07:32:12 PM
Tony Fearon stepped into the Quantum Leap accelator and vanish.

He awoke to find himself trapped in the past, facing mirror that were not his own, but lynchbhoy's.

Each time he hopes that his next competition, will be the competition for the corporate box.

Forget to take the pills again today Zig?
Post by: ziggysego on September 26, 2008, 08:54:17 PM
Today, yesterday, everyday TRLL
Post by: donalmac99 on September 26, 2008, 09:24:19 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on September 26, 2008, 12:17:40 PM
I am in danger of becoming the new Tony Fearon (only a lot fatter and balder - if not a fair bit better looking)

After getting my corporate seat with a top global sportswear company at last Sundays All Ireland final
I have been invited along to see the upcomming croke park based Ireland v cyprus soccer match in another corporate box gig with a global IT Vendor.

Tone I presume you wont be in the cheap seats for this either ...will see you at the bar perhaps?

Do you find violence against innocent people funny?

do you use sectarian terms and language when describing the other community?

are you an embarrassment to your own community?

Does everyone, including the entire staff of the Irish News, and every other 'letters editor' of every other publication that has cringed like the rest of us at the pathetic schoolboy letters, laugh at you instead of with you?

No to all 4 questions?

then dont worry you're not turning into TF.

Post by: pintsofguinness on September 26, 2008, 09:33:36 PM
Tony could do worse, he could make up stories about other posters threatening him via pm  ::)
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 27, 2008, 09:38:54 AM
Quote from: donalmac99 on September 26, 2008, 09:24:19 PM

Does everyone, including the entire staff of the Irish News, and every other 'letters editor' of every other publication that has cringed like the rest of us at the pathetic schoolboy letters, laugh at you instead of with you?

No to all 4 questions?

jeezuz, for a change I am at a loss for words

you dont really like Tony do you !
:o

BC1 - hardly my fecking fault we missed the start of the game..
you got a second day out didnt you !

Hip grand. Better , stronger faster.... ;)

Ziggy - am trying to lose weight and grow hair so I cna pass off as tony.

Any of you lads going to this game and I'll stand you a pint (esp POG and Donall99)

Post by: The Watcher Pat on September 27, 2008, 09:45:30 AM

No to all 4 questions?

Didnt pull any punches there!!

Bit harsh!

U got another grudge against someone?
Post by: The Watcher Pat on September 27, 2008, 09:49:07 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on September 27, 2008, 09:38:54 AM

No to all 4 questions?

jeezuz, for a change I am at a loss for words

you dont really like Tony do you !

BC1 - hardly my fecking fault we missed the start of the game..
you got a second day out didnt you !

Hip grand. Better , stronger faster.... ;)

Ziggy - am trying to lose weight and grow hair so I cna pass off as tony.

Any of you lads going to this game and I'll stand you a pint (esp POG and Donall99)

Going to skylawn (think the spelling is right) Was there at the last Cyprus match and ran in to a lot of cypriot fans before match....Craic was great.....All from London with english accents and they hate English football team more than me....LoL
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 27, 2008, 10:58:40 AM
But my bank manager doesn't even know I exist.  :(
Post by: The GAA on September 27, 2008, 11:01:05 AM

The trap would need to pull the finger out re stphen ireland. he's been in senstional form so far this season for city and ireland's midfield is mediocre at best
Post by: The Watcher Pat on September 27, 2008, 11:23:28 AM
Quote from: The GAA on September 27, 2008, 11:01:05 AM

The trap would need to pull the finger out re stphen ireland. he's been in senstional form so far this season for city and ireland's midfield is mediocre at best

WUM
Post by: T Fearon on September 27, 2008, 05:59:12 PM
Lynchboy, I will be there alright, but in the lower Hogan not the Corporate this time. Still on for a pint before the game though

I actually turned down a Premium Ticket for the Ireland Wales game at Croker (the first ever soccer match there) in March 07 as I wanted to sit with my wife in the lower Hogan! Hows that for true love ;D
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 27, 2008, 06:05:48 PM
She's a lucky woman!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 27, 2008, 06:27:01 PM
I'll be at the game myself fellas if yer meeting up before hand I be up for a few pints too..
I'd fit in with you lynchbhoy i am also streamlined on top  8)
Post by: magickingdom on September 28, 2008, 08:35:09 PM
stephen ireland will be a no show for a while yet, pity about that but if we reach a wc finals or european championships that might change
Post by: Declan on September 29, 2008, 07:39:23 AM
QuoteI assume, from the post, that you're back home on the mothership Declan???

Am indeed Billy. Oh the joys of the M50 again!!!

Maybe on for a pint before the game alright but will know nearer the day.
Post by: T Fearon on September 29, 2008, 09:03:26 AM
Stephen Ireland's situation needs to be resolved and quickly.

Apart from all that we owe the Cyriots a damn good hiding. Hope Trap cuts loose, as nothing less than a three goal victory will suffice
Post by: nifan on September 29, 2008, 09:09:11 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 29, 2008, 09:03:26 AM
Stephen Ireland's situation needs to be resolved and quickly.

He was in the Times yesterday basically saying he wasn't interested.
He did say "never say never" but at the minute he wouldn't be doing so, he wants to spend the time with his young family. Very much an implication that he didnt enjoy it (nor playing for city under erikson particularly) but was now looking forward to every city game.
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 29, 2008, 10:59:42 AM
Right Tone, and Laois Martyr, plus maybe Declan - a pint before the game is most def on !
Will leave any suggestions as to venue closer to the day.
Unlike the tyronies who couldnt even organise meeting up for a pint (afraid to meet in case someone would have to pay!), I'm sure we will manage it.
As for Stephen Ireland, let him play a while longer and learn his craft a bit more- then he will be more valuable to the Irish team.
Give him time, not ultimatums. He's clearly not ready to play for Ireland - at least this side of christmas (maybe no this season)
Post by: Main Street on September 29, 2008, 12:58:52 PM
He is good enough to play now, however he doesn't want to play.
The door has not been shut on him but he no inclination to turn up.
He prefers to stay at home and polish his pink wheels.

What can you do?
If we qualify there is no way he should get into a squad for the finals.
If he wants, he can wait for the next qual campaign.

Post by: T Fearon on September 29, 2008, 01:18:40 PM
Definitely on for a pint Lynchboy.

As for Ireland, I reckon a squad declaration that they will never take the piss out of him again on account of:

a) His Hair
b) either grandmother
c) his Superman Y Fronts

Should be enough to entice him back ;D
Post by: Billys Boots on September 29, 2008, 01:27:13 PM
Tony, you forgot d) his mental girlfriend.
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 29, 2008, 01:39:29 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on September 29, 2008, 01:27:13 PM
Tony, you forgot d) his mental girlfriend.
think thats what youd call a symbiotic relationship Billy !
One is def as bad as the other...
I mean, a pink tinged 4x4 !
the lads a nutter!
Post by: Billys Boots on September 29, 2008, 02:53:51 PM
QuoteOne is def as bad as the other...

Well I think that's covered by a), b) and c).
Post by: Main Street on September 29, 2008, 02:56:33 PM
a) does not apply
Post by: thebandit on September 29, 2008, 03:57:39 PM
I'll be heading to this as well, I'd say I'll be in the soft seats 8)

Isn't it a wee bit sad that it seems to be easier to sort out pints for a soccer game than the AIF!!
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 29, 2008, 04:10:31 PM
Quote from: thebandit on September 29, 2008, 03:57:39 PM
I'll be heading to this as well, I'd say I'll be in the soft seats 8)

Isn't it a wee bit sad that it seems to be easier to sort out pints for a soccer game than the AIF!!
less people going to it and those tyronies couldnt organise a pee up in the brewery  :D
Post by: illdecide on September 29, 2008, 04:19:07 PM
Lads i wouldn't mind going to this game so how do i go about getting tickets??? Are they on general sale or do you need to be in sort of supporters club???
Post by: fred the red on September 29, 2008, 04:21:17 PM
Tickets for the hill are on ticketmaster.ie as far as im aware
Post by: Declan on September 29, 2008, 04:32:27 PM
QuoteTickets for the hill are on ticketmaster.ie as far as im aware

Available today OK
Post by: Main Street on September 29, 2008, 04:50:13 PM
Kelly out, Finnan out, Steven Reid (probably)out,
Andy Reid playing like a beached whale

On the plus side
Given
McShane, Dunne, a fresh O'Shea and Kilbane
Duff  Whelan An Other  McGeady
            Keane Doyle

Trap may play that little Sunderland reserve or he might go for Andy Reid seeing as we are at home.
I don't know if Whelan would be able to constantly cover Andy Reids backside (jokes aside).

Another possibility is Carsley, who is playing well.
That would leave Whelan as the playmaker with Carsley holding the line.

One nil to Ireland.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 29, 2008, 05:00:49 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on September 29, 2008, 10:59:42 AM
Right Tone, and Laois Martyr, plus maybe Declan - a pint before the game is most def on !
Will leave any suggestions as to venue closer to the day.
Unlike the tyronies who couldnt even organise meeting up for a pint (afraid to meet in case someone would have to pay!), I'm sure we will manage it.
As for Stephen Ireland, let him play a while longer and learn his craft a bit more- then he will be more valuable to the Irish team.
Give him time, not ultimatums. He's clearly not ready to play for Ireland - at least this side of christmas (maybe no this season)

I don't mind where we go...I usually go to Quinn's or McGrath's but I'm not bothered one way or the other if someone else has another suggestion I'll go there..
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 08, 2008, 08:37:41 PM
Right lads only a week to go....Are ye still on for pints before game?
Post by: fred the red on October 08, 2008, 08:38:39 PM
Any word on how the Ireland XI Are getting on against notts forest?
Post by: Gold on October 08, 2008, 09:34:22 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 08, 2008, 08:37:41 PM

yeah i am.

where?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 08, 2008, 09:59:14 PM
Quote from: Gold on October 08, 2008, 09:34:22 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 08, 2008, 08:37:41 PM

yeah i am.

where?

I don't mind..I'm getting the bus in from Lucan so will be on the Dorset street side of Croke Park before the game
Post by: Rav67 on October 08, 2008, 10:16:56 PM
Unfortunately Carsley still isn't min the squad so centre-mid's going to be a big headache with S Reid out.  Its between Joey O'Brien (who's played most of his football at right-back), Liam Miller and Andy Reid (two men who can't get a game for Sunderland) for a place alongside Whelan, who although impressive for Ireland has not played since the last international games and I suspect won't be as effective without such an accomplished player as S Reid alongside him.

I think A Reid actually has the least chance of starting out of those 3 as Trap will want to keep the same system in place with the two centre-mids playing quite deep.  The more I think about this game it could well be a banana skin.  There's very little strength in depth in this squad and whether we like it or not we need Stephen Ireland back.  His goal record for Ireland is great too and he's twice the footballer now as he was when he last featured.  What a twat he is.
Post by: Declan on October 09, 2008, 08:55:30 AM
QuoteAny word on how the Ireland XI Are getting on against notts forest?

Not on until tonight

QuoteRight lads only a week to go....Are ye still on for pints before game?

Unfortunately won't be around for the game next week. Will be in the UK with work so will have to fore go the pints. Have one for me
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 09, 2008, 11:08:34 AM
Quote from: Declan on October 09, 2008, 08:55:30 AM
QuoteAny word on how the Ireland XI Are getting on against notts forest?
Not on until tonight
QuoteRight lads only a week to go....Are ye still on for pints before game?
Unfortunately won't be around for the game next week. Will be in the UK with work so will have to fore go the pints. Have one for me
thats a pity Dec...
Whats the consensus as to where before the game...somewhere not too far from the ground, yet a pub thats not going to be too full either
I am expecting my ticket and itinery for the match, so dont know yet what time I have to meet these people, so its likely I will have to meet you lads at 5-6ish hopefully I wont be meeting up with them until later so can meet up with you lads first.
So wheres the meeting location ?
Post by: T Fearon on October 09, 2008, 12:59:01 PM
Gresham? We might as well lower the tone of the place! ;D

Or Jurys at Croker?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 09, 2008, 06:13:30 PM
Just like a Fat girl in a nightclub......Im easy
Have no problem going wherever ye want to meet up..Jurys does be packed on soccer match evenings though...
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 10, 2008, 04:16:36 PM
jurys too packed
how about the gresham then - 5pm ?
I have to be over there at the ground around 6.30...

tony , LL, anyone else ?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 10, 2008, 08:25:28 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 10, 2008, 04:16:36 PM
jurys too packed

tony , LL, anyone else ?

Christ that be very posh...I could be in my work clothes  :-[

How about Messer Mcguires or the Q bar?
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 10, 2008, 10:29:37 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 10, 2008, 08:25:28 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 10, 2008, 04:16:36 PM
jurys too packed

tony , LL, anyone else ?

Christ that be very posh...I could be in my work clothes  :-[

How about Messer Mcguires or the Q bar?
yer easy alright, just like a woman !
its not posh its a fecking kip...
used to be posh ...
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 10, 2008, 10:34:49 PM
Jees lads ive only ever been to friendlies before but now i get to WC qualifier, just booked my ticket, could never get tickets before. Cant believe its not sold out to be honest. Looks like the new landowne at 50,000 is the right call.

We owe these guys one and its going to be a tough game so looking forward to it.
Post by: Main Street on October 10, 2008, 11:19:02 PM
Laos lad, those 2 gobs from the North's projects have been given premium seats for the match, now they are all talk about Jurys and the Gresham and how McGuires would be beneath them
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 11, 2008, 11:18:55 AM
Quote from: Main Street on October 10, 2008, 11:19:02 PM
Laos lad, those 2 gobs from the North's projects have been given premium seats for the match, now they are all talk about Jurys and the Gresham and how McGuires would be beneath them
cant believe you wrote that ya fecker !

are you for the game too....or are the 'gobs' beneath you ?!!

none of those pubs woul dbe places I frequent, quinns, mcgraths,meaghers (to bump into some old faces) would be the normal haunts
however, if you want to meet up with a few lads you have never met before - then a crowded pub like jurys, messers, Q bar etc wouldnt be the ideal place ! gresham isnt the posh joint it once was, and its bar shoul dbe a touch quieter (plus is on my route to croker)
ya stirring bustard !
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 11, 2008, 04:16:27 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 11, 2008, 11:18:55 AM

none of those pubs woul dbe places I frequent, quinns, mcgraths,meaghers (to bump into some old faces) would be the normal haunts
however, if you want to meet up with a few lads you have never met before - then a crowded pub like jurys, messers, Q bar etc wouldnt be the ideal place ! gresham isnt the posh joint it once was, and its bar shoul dbe a touch quieter (plus is on my route to croker)
ya stirring bustard !

Fair enough the Gresham it is so...
I'll be the good looking bloke with the shaved head chatting up some lonely blonde housewife at the bar..
Post by: Main Street on October 11, 2008, 04:25:54 PM

ya stirring bustard !
Right now I couldn't afford to be standing you and Tony round after round, in fact I'm so out of practice I wouldn't even be standing after 1/2 hour  ;D
But I plan to be there for either Georgia or Bulgaria.
Depends which one you can get a premium seat for me. They do have escalators in Croker to to take me up that high don't they?
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 11, 2008, 04:26:09 PM
you will never sneak the goat into the gresham Laois lad  ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 11, 2008, 04:43:35 PM
Quote from: Main Street on October 11, 2008, 04:25:54 PM

ya stirring bustard !
Right now I couldn't afford to be standing you and Tony round after round, in fact I'm so out of practice I wouldn't even be standing after 1/2 hour  ;D
But I plan to be there for either Georgia or Bulgaria.
Depends which one you can get a premium seat for me. They do have escalators in Croker to to take me up that high don't they?

I think either the Georgia or Bulgaria games are on a saturday....ALL DAY SESSION ANYONE ? :)
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on October 11, 2008, 08:58:58 PM
I see Cyprus got a draw with Georgia today. Still 0-0 between Bulgaria and Italy.
Post by: FermPundit on October 11, 2008, 09:28:07 PM
Bulgaria and Italy ended 0-0. Great result for Ireland. Here's the updated table

FIFA World Cup European Qualifying : Group Eight Table

11 October 2008 21:12

P W D L F A GD PTS
1 Italy 3 2 1 0 4 1 3 7
2 Rep of Ireland 2 1 1 0 2 1 1 4
3 Bulgaria 2 0 2 0 2 2 0 2
4 Montenegro 2 0 2 0 2 2 0 2
5 Cyprus 2 0 1 1 2 3 -1 1
6 Georgia 3 0 1 2 2 5 -3 1

Post by: lynchbhoy on October 13, 2008, 02:45:29 PM
5pm Wed - gresham bar Tony & LL (and anyone else ?)
Post by: T Fearon on October 13, 2008, 02:50:33 PM
Will be there. No big session mind, I want to stay sober for the match and I'm driving home!!!

Anyone else up for exploring the possibility of a trip to Italy for the away match with the Italians? I know its a while away. Hope they play it in Rome or Milan and not some outpost in Sicily or somewhere.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 13, 2008, 03:47:12 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on October 13, 2008, 02:50:33 PM
Will be there. No big session mind, I want to stay sober for the match and I'm driving home!!!

Anyone else up for exploring the possibility of a trip to Italy for the away match with the Italians? I know its a while away. Hope they play it in Rome or Milan and not some outpost in Sicily or somewhere.

I've heard the Ireland game will almost definitely be in either Rome or Milan (I've been told Rome) as they are expecting the largest amount of away supporters at that one.
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 13, 2008, 03:48:49 PM

unlikely , but depends on when.
I presume you'll be getting (winning) and audience with the Pope (or is it vice versa)  :D
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 13, 2008, 03:51:06 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on October 13, 2008, 03:47:12 PM

I've heard the Ireland game will almost definitely be in either Rome or Milan (I've been told Rome) as they are expecting the largest amount of away supporters at that one.
you around Wed for the gresham GBB?
Post by: T Fearon on October 13, 2008, 04:12:07 PM
I very nearly swung an audience with the Pope last year on a trip to Rome. One of my mates has a friend in very very high places in Rome ;)
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 13, 2008, 04:22:22 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 13, 2008, 03:51:06 PM

you around Wed for the gresham GBB?

Unfortunately not. I know a few lads going to the game but can't make it this time.
Post by: his holiness nb on October 13, 2008, 05:14:10 PM
Probably sound like Tony here, but have just been given 2 premium level tickets for the game free of charge!!

Sure I might wander in so.
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 13, 2008, 05:36:09 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on October 13, 2008, 05:14:10 PM
Probably sound like Tony here, but have just been given 2 premium level tickets for the game free of charge!!

good man see you then
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 13, 2008, 05:53:44 PM

Gresham 5pm? I don't wanna be stuck with two Nordies on me own  :o
I'll be the one with the T-shirt with a Anti-Traveller slogon on the front and a Anti-Dub slogan on the back  ;D
Post by: Main Street on October 13, 2008, 07:57:26 PM
All Tony and Lynchboy have to look out for, is the guy with a knife stuck in his back.
Post by: Hound on October 13, 2008, 08:14:20 PM

As far as I know, the Italian FA have made no indication where the venue will be. The FAI are lobbying for Rome.
Post by: magickingdom on October 13, 2008, 08:18:28 PM
huge game this one imo, if we can beat cyprus by a few goals we'll really have turned a corner. if not all traps good work will be for nothing. stephen reid is a big loss but hopefully we can pull it off. cyprus have a team in the champions league which is more then we've ever achieved and by all accounts should have beaten georgia (missed a peno) not too mention drawn with italy! lets hope it goes right tomorrow night....
Post by: his holiness nb on October 13, 2008, 08:47:38 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 13, 2008, 05:36:09 PM

good man see you then

actually meant to the game   :)

only finish work at half five in the north county so would struggle to get in that far on time, sorry folks!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 13, 2008, 11:20:46 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on October 13, 2008, 08:47:38 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 13, 2008, 05:36:09 PM

good man see you then

actually meant to the game   :)

only finish work at half five in the north county so would struggle to get in that far on time, sorry folks!

btw who is getting your 2nd ticket because I have to slum it with the peasants in the cheap seats and I would be very happy to take the other ticket off your hands  ;)
And I don't wanna hear any crap that your giving it to your wife  >:(
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 13, 2008, 11:22:34 PM
If he gives it to anyone it should be me, he owes me one ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 13, 2008, 11:23:51 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 13, 2008, 11:22:34 PM
If he gives it to anyone it should be me, he owes me one ;)

If he gives his other ticket to me I'll give you mine  :)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 13, 2008, 11:27:17 PM
Oh btw his holiness,You are not allowed to act as you would when you are on Hill 16.
So that means
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 13, 2008, 11:27:35 PM
I went to a game earlier in the year in Croke park and swore I would never go back(soccer that is).  The atmosphere was cat bad and the game was boring as hell.  Now it was an end of season game but the highlight was the opposition guy lifting the ball and squeezing it as it was soft and Captain Robbie going ballistic at him.  I think it was Slovenia or someone like that, so your ticket with cue is safe!
Post by: Gold on October 13, 2008, 11:29:50 PM
i went to the last Cyprus game and swore id never be back.

now with Trap comes new hope

i'll take your spare ticket if u want--PM me
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on October 13, 2008, 11:34:03 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 13, 2008, 11:27:35 PM
I went to a game earlier in the year in Croke park and swore I would never go back(soccer that is).  The atmosphere was cat bad and the game was boring as hell.  Now it was an end of season game but the highlight was the opposition guy lifting the ball and squeezing it as it was soft and Captain Robbie going ballistic at him.  I think it was Slovenia or someone like that, so your ticket with cue is safe!

Woulda been Serbia. Atmosphere at Croke Park has been poor enough so far. Suppose its too many people with only a vague interest. Also suffers from  he fact that most soccer fans in Ireland don't go live matches every week and don't have the same culture of live support.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 13, 2008, 11:35:08 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on October 13, 2008, 11:34:03 PM

Woulda been Serbia. Atmosphere at Croke Park has been poor enough so far. Suppose its too many people with only a vague interest. Also suffers from  he fact that most soccer fans in Ireland don't go live matches every week and don't have the same culture of live support.

Don't go to live soccer matches or don't go to live sport?
Post by: T Fearon on October 14, 2008, 08:58:28 AM
Atmosphere has been poor due to the fact that there has been precious little to get excited about, and that has been the case since the Mc Carthy days. An up and at em show with a couple of goals would soon change all that.
Post by: EC Unique on October 14, 2008, 09:28:23 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 13, 2008, 11:27:17 PM
Oh btw his holiness,You are not allowed to act as you would when you are on Hill 16.
So that means

• No bottle throwing
  • No snorting coke

• No booing the opposition
  • when in need of a piss you can't just get the lad out and piss where you are sitting/standing you must use a public toilet

Who said anything about Anfield?
Post by: his holiness nb on October 14, 2008, 01:11:22 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 13, 2008, 11:20:46 PM
btw who is getting your 2nd ticket because I have to slum it with the peasants in the cheap seats and I would be very happy to take the other ticket off your hands  ;)
And I don't wanna hear any crap that your giving it to your wife  >:(

:D :D :D :D :D

Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on October 14, 2008, 01:16:35 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 13, 2008, 11:35:08 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on October 13, 2008, 11:34:03 PM

Don't go to live soccer matches or don't go to live sport?

Live soccer matches RLL. Completely different atmosphere at GAA or rugby.
Post by: dodo on October 14, 2008, 08:12:50 PM
Anyone know what's the story with getting a few decent tickets for the match tomorrow night ?

Ticketmaster not selling online, saying are available at Jervis St and Stephen's Green S.C., are these the crap seats like in the GAA ?

Any help greatly appreciated.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2008, 04:56:08 PM
I'm here in the Gresham at the moment no sign of the other two gimps!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2008, 05:40:48 PM
On me 3rd pint of Smithwicks it looks like i've been stood up :'( there is a goodlooking and rather large breasted woman sitting across from me at bar i don't suppose your really a woman lynchbhoy ???
Post by: magickingdom on October 15, 2008, 08:12:05 PM
1-0 but need to wake up
Post by: ExiledGael on October 15, 2008, 08:18:26 PM
A win of any kind here is essential and would put us in good shape for a push at qualifying.
Bulgaria drew 0-0 in Georgia this evening and the Montenegrans have just equalized in Lecce against Italy.
Post by: orangeman on October 15, 2008, 08:22:36 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2008, 05:40:48 PM
On me 3rd pint of Smithwicks it looks like i've been stood up :'( there is a goodlooking and rather large breasted woman sitting across from me at bar i don't suppose your really a woman lynchbhoy ???

Large breasted - maybe - good looking ??
Post by: ziggysego on October 15, 2008, 08:48:10 PM
I feel your pain LL
Post by: muppet on October 15, 2008, 09:53:11 PM
The lack of comment here accurately reflects the type of match. We were poor but got the points. Realistically if we break even in the 2 games against Bulgaria and no major screw-ups against the minnows we should come second.

Dunphy losing the head at the moment over Andy Reid not playing.
Post by: comethekingdom on October 15, 2008, 10:01:56 PM
Dunphy going mental - Great craic! :D
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on October 15, 2008, 10:13:30 PM
Hard to watch. How much was it in? - whatever it was it was too expensive.
Post by: magpie seanie on October 15, 2008, 10:34:20 PM
Dunphy overdid the ould mickey fit he had. The team is playing with committment and passion and they are elements that were completely absent in recent years. The way lads are going on you'd swear Andy Reid was Pele! Yes - he should be in the team and I would say he will be if the workrate he allegedly showed against Arsenal is replicated week in week out. Its all about workrate and I'll settle for that. The amount of running Kevin Doyle was an embarrassment to his fellow professionals. Never knocked a feather out of him either, still flying at the end. For all that Whelan and Gibson may have lacked we were not cut up by the Cypriots. Dunne was immense - a guy who was criticised harshly early in his career and who got his act together to become a top player. Fair play to him.

So not brilliant but things are going in the right direction. Plenty to work on but loads to build on too. Results are the most important thing and the team has 7 points from a possible 9. We are capable of taking something of the Italians too so it could be a good campaign.
Post by: ExiledGael on October 15, 2008, 10:47:32 PM
Good result, not great performance but as has been said things are moving along nicely and quite quietly. Dunphy and those clowns need something to be over the top about one way or the other. It's the Reid situation this time and it all reads a little pathetic. You can't argue with the results and for me it's the exact same as Ferguson selecting Park for the majority of United's crucial Champions League games last year. You need your team to play a certain way and adhere to the gameplan above anything else.
I admire Reid as a player, he has undoubted quality but he's been a professional on the cusp of being a top player for some time now and still he appears overweight and the same doubts that lingered 6/7 years ago remain. If he was to fulfil his potential at any stage those matters should have been dealt with and I would have some doubts about his dedication and determination at the very top level. He showed against Arsenal lately that he can be part of a real gameplan but I don't see where Trapattoni can fit him in.
With our full-back situation you couldn't trust him to protect the defence on either flank and he is simply too small and unfit for the new style of play.
Post by: kickingmule on October 15, 2008, 10:53:08 PM
 :-[ they're going the right direction alright ... hopefully down the plughole,  cyprus are a third rate team .... no ifs or buts about it,

the sooner we get this shite out of croke park, the better .  they would  f***ing  bore ya to tears !!!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2008, 11:09:17 PM
Always one who has too chip in with the get this shite out of Croker line...Would ye ever get over it  ::)
Post by: Donagh on October 15, 2008, 11:10:01 PM
Is my memory playing tricks on me or did Dunphy not get on the same when Charlton dropped Liam Brady for Euro '88?
Post by: Tankie on October 15, 2008, 11:14:12 PM
Anyone know what the attendance was tonight? i heard this morning on the radio that they had 60k+ sold.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2008, 11:16:47 PM
Quote from: Tankie on October 15, 2008, 11:14:12 PM
Anyone know what the attendance was tonight? i heard this morning on the radio that they had 60k+ sold.

Yeah was only bout that, still around 25k more than would have fit in Landsdowne all the same  ;)
Post by: Tankie on October 15, 2008, 11:28:24 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2008, 11:16:47 PM

Yeah was only bout that, still around 25k more than would have fit in Landsdowne all the same  ;)

Just got the official attendance and it was only 53,500, poor enough really!
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on October 15, 2008, 11:31:17 PM
Very little of Hill 16 was full, or was that all given to the Cypriots????

The Novelty has worn off

Cant see anymore than 50K for any of the other games with the exception of the Italy and maybe the Bulgarian game.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2008, 11:31:58 PM
Quote from: Tankie on October 15, 2008, 11:28:24 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2008, 11:16:47 PM

Just got the official attendance and it was only 53,500, poor enough really!

Not really when you consider apart from Man U and Arsenal most Premier League clubs get up to 45k
Yes it was down on normal games but €70 a ticket is a lot these days and a lot of people who normally go might not be able afford it now
Post by: kickingmule on October 15, 2008, 11:38:25 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2008, 11:09:17 PM
Always one who has too chip in with the get this shite out of Croker line...Would ye ever get over it  ::)

there's more than one son ... you need a soh. to watch that crap!!! :-* :-* :-*
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2008, 11:39:47 PM
Quote from: kickingmule on October 15, 2008, 11:38:25 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2008, 11:09:17 PM

there's more than one son ... you need a soh. to watch that crap!!! :-* :-* :-*

I'm not your son
Whats a soh  ???
And don't watch it if you don't like it
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2008, 11:51:14 PM
The match might have been poor but I was happy with my nights work  ;D

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/ScreenPart_2008-10-15_234834.jpg)
Post by: Norf Tyrone on October 15, 2008, 11:52:03 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on October 15, 2008, 10:34:20 PM
Dunphy overdid the ould mickey fit he had. The team is playing with committment and passion and they are elements that were completely absent in recent years. The way lads are going on you'd swear Andy Reid was Pele! Yes - he should be in the team and I would say he will be if the workrate he allegedly showed against Arsenal is replicated week in week out. Its all about workrate and I'll settle for that. The amount of running Kevin Doyle was an embarrassment to his fellow professionals. Never knocked a feather out of him either, still flying at the end. For all that Whelan and Gibson may have lacked we were not cut up by the Cypriots. Dunne was immense - a guy who was criticised harshly early in his career and who got his act together to become a top player. Fair play to him.

So not brilliant but things are going in the right direction. Plenty to work on but loads to build on too. Results are the most important thing and the team has 7 points from a possible 9. We are capable of taking something of the Italians too so it could be a good campaign.

Totally agree with that re Dunne Magpie. I have never seen a footballer turn an average ability into a very impressive career as well as he has. He is no Messi but he provides one thing that all fans- well me anyhow- love......heart and effort. Great block at the end tonight.
Post by: Rav67 on October 15, 2008, 11:57:24 PM
The sad thing about Dunphy's rants is that a lot of idiots seem to listen to take on board the crap he comes out with.  Trap should be immune from criticism they way he's turned Ireland around.  Not an outstanding display but I didn't expect more than a one-goal win, with Bulgaria drawing Ireland sitting nicely in second now with a few points to spare.  
Post by: kickingmule on October 16, 2008, 12:00:43 AM
thank f**k for that!!!

whats a  soh.  .... haha!!! ... for  sure you ain't  got one anyway ....  :( :(
Post by: dodo on October 16, 2008, 12:18:59 AM
As stated above, good result but not a performance to shout about. Scoring in the first few minutes should of set us up for a comfortable win against a limited Cypriot side. These lads supposedly should have beat the Italians (world cup champions) in Cyprus so it just goes to show that there are actually very few sides about that are way above the rest.
Given very good as usual, had to make one save that he didn't know a lot about when he was hit with a shot. Dunne was very good and stands up all the time to take responsibility. How can he be so busy and his partner O'Shea on the other hand is hard to notice for long periods of the match ? !!
Kilbane did very well, tackled soundly and linked up well with Duff. McShane was poor, will be poor and is just not up to this level.
Gibson and Whelan had a mixed evening, little composure at times but wouldn't complain about either too much as they are short of regular competitive gametime. Duff was very good, had the beating of his markers, drew frees and worked hard right through. McGeady mixed the good with the bad, beating his man and then giving possession away. Made a few good breaks and had one rasper of a shot saved. Will get better I feel.
Kevin Doyle worked tirelessly all night, tackled and harried winning back possession at times and kept the Cyprus defense busy. Won many flick ons and was an effective target man. Had a shot well saved in the second half too. Robbie Keane scored his 35th goal for Ireland but still was on the periphery for much of the match. If he doesn't get ball to feet he is a frustrating/frustrated player.
The big positives besides the 3 points are that Finnan will come back in at right back and Steven Reid at midfield which should make a big difference.
€70 for a ticket is damn expensive I think, manys a comment about pricey GAA tickets at championship time on this website.
Post by: kickingmule on October 16, 2008, 01:04:28 AM
sssshhh .....  :-X :-X
Post by: The Gs Man on October 16, 2008, 08:39:13 AM
McGeady does my tits in sometimes.  He does a magical bit of skill one minute and the next minute he's running straight into a player or tripping over himself.  Thought he was poor enough last night.

As for Dunphy, saying that he needed Giles to back him up because everybody else thought he was nuts was comedy gold.  I thought Giles was gonna cry at one stage when he thought Dunphy was accusing him of backing down.  Some craic!
Post by: The Watcher Pat on October 16, 2008, 08:46:33 AM
Quote from: The Gs Man on October 16, 2008, 08:39:13 AM
McGeady does my tits in sometimes.  He does a magical bit of skill one minute and the next minute he's running straight into a player or tripping over himself.  Thought he was poor enough last night.

As for Dunphy, saying that he needed Giles to back him up because everybody else thought he was nuts was comedy gold.  I thought Giles was gonna cry at one stage when he thought Dunphy was accusing him of backing down.  Some craic!

Yeh does my tits in too!  He actually got man of the match in the Daily Mirror....Loses the ball far too easily for my liking...They went for the break at the wrong time on RTE...Dunphy and Giles were warming up nicely...You could actually hear them still going as the break was starting!
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 16, 2008, 09:31:26 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2008, 04:56:08 PM
was that you carrying a gola bag ?
I was on the phone and then Tony arrived after a wee while
Post by: magpie seanie on October 16, 2008, 09:37:48 AM
QuoteHow can he be so busy and his partner O'Shea on the other hand is hard to notice for long periods of the match ? !!

O'Shea had a good game and got through a fair bit of work too so go easy. He got a lot of unjustified criticism for mixed performances for Ireland so when he's doing his job give him a bit of credit. Dunne's second half was savage alright. Its great comfort for Dunne though when he's going for a tough ball to know he has a good partner with him for a change. A bit like the Vidic/Ferdinand combo at United. There's no point in the two of them going for the same ball.
Post by: donalmac99 on October 16, 2008, 09:56:41 AM
lets not beat around the bush, this performance was no where near good enough. It was a very unconvincing win against 'minnows'
I had ten euros on a 5-0 win. It's a disgrace, Gibson was awful, out of his depth and never in the game. As i've stated before  he is not good enough for this level, he is a League 1 player at best. On a plus side, Doyle was superb....just a pity idiots like Gibson can manage to trail the whole side down to his pathetic level, why oh f**king why did the p***k not choose the North. >:(
Ah well, 3 points is 3 points I guess .

Post by: full back on October 16, 2008, 09:59:23 AM
Fcuk off night owl belfast owl ;)
Post by: donalmac99 on October 16, 2008, 10:04:59 AM
Quote from: full back on October 16, 2008, 09:59:23 AM

I'll miss you when you're suspended  ;)
Post by: full back on October 16, 2008, 10:07:06 AM
Why would I be suspended?

Who is belfast owl?? Who am I talking to?  ;)
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 16, 2008, 10:15:19 AM
Quote from: Donagh on October 15, 2008, 11:10:01 PM
Is my memory playing tricks on me or did Dunphy not get on the same when Charlton dropped Liam Brady for Euro '88?

was thinking the same thing myself it was like deja vu . Is Reid even starting for Sunderland now ? i never heard Dunphy rating hime so highly before actually seem to recall him giving out about his condition. Did ye see apres match afterwards thought it was excellent
Post by: Hardy on October 16, 2008, 10:18:38 AM
I don't follow this stuff much any more, but I said to the Mrs when Dunphy was eulogising Trapattoni on his appointment "give it three qualifier matches".

Right on cue. He's great entertainment, though.

Oh and I assume it's not permittted to post about the "Republic of" Ireland team without mentioning Andy Reid.

So - Andy Reid.
Post by: turk on October 16, 2008, 10:19:28 AM

Agree 100% Seanie.

People seem to forget Andy Reid played the 90 minutes against Cyprus in the last campaign and was useless! At least we don't have swarms of lads running through the midfield. Reid probably deserves a run off the bench at some stage, but the clamouring for his inclusion is nonsense.
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on October 16, 2008, 10:35:26 AM
No harm lads, was out coaching minor hurlers last night and came in and watched the second half, think i fell asleep, it was dire stuff. Just glad I was out game for the 1st half and after watching that it just re-enforced my desire to further the small ball up here in the north.

P.s I still love Man utd though.  :P
Post by: T Fearon on October 16, 2008, 10:51:19 AM
Happy enough with last night. Team showed good energy, lots of shots on goal a few near misses alright, but Cyprus are no mugs, and we are second in the group. Best soccer game Ive seen in Croke Park to date

Thought Gibson had a very solid game, well built in the Keane mould,and resembled Neil Lennon in style, breaking down moves, always available for the pass and used the ball well.

Good old yarn and a pint with Lynchboy before the game as well

Post by: ziggysego on October 16, 2008, 11:00:26 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on October 16, 2008, 10:51:19 AM
Good old yarn and a pint with Lynchboy before the game as well

Why did the both of you ditch LL?
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 16, 2008, 11:01:11 AM
I think its a team still finding its way under a new manager and we have been a tad lucky thus far.
However Trap sets out his side to not concede goals and it was through two mistakes that Ireland were almost caught.
Cyprus were slicker more skilful and played nice passing football, but did nothing in the final third of the field.
Ireland had an unspectacular but effective central partnership in the middle of midfield. Tackled , harried, won ball passed it away first time. Thats all they were required to do. We dont want them attemting to play with the flair they dont posess.
Thats what those tow wing men are for, and when Duff and McGeady got going - they really looked good. Duff almost back to his absolute blinding best, McGeady starting to shake off his lack of confidence and losing he ball less and less as he grows into this team.
All the good things came out of the 'striking four' - Duff, Keane, McGeady and the sensational doyle (he will def be snapped up in Jan by a bigger epl/euro club).
Central defence were great, given great and the two full backs tried hard but are not natural full backs and will always be on th eback foot because of this. Did far more positive things than bad though.
Ireland need to concentrate on finding an outlet for the ball instead of hoofing it up the field , retaining posession and working space for the two wing men will eventually turn this Irish side from a potentially good if not shaky team, into a potent counter attacking unit.
Andy reid (obligitory mention) does not fit into Traps plans ,as he wants two grafter tackler types in the centre - Stephen Reid does that and can also pass the ball fantastically well. Look forward to his return in the Iris side. Stephen Ireland would prob not get a game under Trap if he wishes to retain this system. However as time goes on and the team improve, he might look to replace whelan
with A.Reid or Ireland (when he declares for us again next season).

Italy found cyprus hard to beat and were rather fortunate to ecape with a lucky 1-0 win.
Last time Ireland played cyprus in croker, we were lucky to get a 1-1 draw.
Last night we should have won far more comfortably in spite of never really getting fully into our stride.
I think the future looks positive for Ireland.

Enjoyed a pint with Mr Fearon before the match, he is a soft spoken mild mannered chappie, and def not the megolomaniac people berate him on this board for supposedly being.
Poor chap didnt hardly get a word in edgeways - Sorry Tony, will allow you to talk more next time !
Thankfully we remained well hidden from that Laois fecker !
Post by: magpie seanie on October 16, 2008, 11:22:36 AM
QuoteWhy did the both of you ditch LL?

Are you serious?
Post by: Main Street on October 16, 2008, 11:23:21 AM
Can't believe that LL could have failed to spot ye.
He must have forgotten to take out his earplugs.

Good win, could have done with a second, can always do with a second.
Gibson did well enough for a starting debut in such an important game.
Both him and Whelan would need a more experienced head beside them but they held the line unflinchingly, Cyprus did not get through the middle, unlike our last 2 performances against them.

Great to have Duff back and McGeady had his best game for us. We need Finnan.  
Post by: T Fearon on October 16, 2008, 11:25:48 AM
Cheers Lynchboy. Laoislad replicated his  county teams in Croke Park... he didn't turn up last night ;D
Post by: Orior on October 16, 2008, 11:34:51 AM
Feckity feck. Once again no RTE2 on cable up norf.

So I had to watch Bells'r'us on Setanta and Germany on BBC4.  >:(

By the sound of it, Cyprus are much better than their results to date suggest.
Post by: Mentalman on October 16, 2008, 11:45:33 AM
Was at the game last night. Good to get a result against Cyprus, even if the performance, on the whole, was poor enough. Should have been a comfortable win, the Cypriots were slow out of the traps in the opening 30 minutes. In the end we were just glad to have the three points. McShane is not a right back. Kept drifting inside and standing to far off his man, he was all at sea. O'Shea kept telling him to push out, to such an extent he actually pushed out towards him himself in an effort to encourage him to stay out. Not his fault, just doesn't have the confidence or positional sense to play there at this level. Absolutely no over lapping from our full backs either, which was very noticeable on occasions when McGeady & Duff got isolated and double teamed - again not natural full backs. Dunney & O'Shea still seem to be the best combination at centre half we have had in a couple of years. Whelen isn't match fit, needs first team football. Gibson was very nervous and was more worried about not making mistakes, a lot of back passes and not showing for the ball. Steven Reid was badly missed. Duff was the difference. I really thought his best was behind him, but if he keeps trying like that he may well get back to somewhere close to it. McGeady, as frustrating as he is, had his best game yet. A lot of working back, but he can't tackel for nuts, in danger of drawing cards the way he lunges in, but good to see the effort. Only a matter of time befroe he scores. Doyler has some appetite for work, and for a not overly tall man wins more than his fair share of ball in the air. Great tackling back. Robbie was completely anonymous other than the goal, and to be fair it would of taken an effort of Iwuelmo proportions to miss from there. Forgoet Given, but only because his level of performance is such that we've just come to expect it. No sign on the crisp passing through the midfield provided by Steven Ried and on that performance you would find it hard to see the getting a result against Italy, but there's a ways to go before that game. As for Gibson Vs. Reid, you can see Traps reasoning WRT to the physicality of the Cypriots, and also Gibson's inclination to take instruction and provide another body back there covering the defense. Andy Reid just doesn't seem to fit into what Trap wants to do, and as long as he keeps winning no one will question it too much.
Post by: T Fearon on October 16, 2008, 11:49:27 AM
What woud we do with both Stephens. ie Ireland and Reid, in midfield?

I think Ireland needs to be coaxed back asap, but the team is improving as is the squad strength. Take last night's team and add Finnan, Hunty, both Reids, Ireland etc and you have plenty of options
Post by: Mentalman on October 16, 2008, 11:54:58 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on October 16, 2008, 11:49:27 AM
What woud we do with both Stephens. ie Ireland and Reid, in midfield?

I think Ireland needs to be coaxed back asap, but the team is improving as is the squad strength. Take last night's team and add Finnan, Hunty, both Reids, Ireland etc and you have plenty of options

Was listening to an interview with Dunne on Newstalk last week, and I think the S.Ireland issue is a dead one until he says he wants to play. Dunne said he thought after the last series of games it had all been sorted, and Ireland was coming back. Then he just kind of left it at that, didn't commit to a return. As far as Dunne is concerned Ireland is his clubmate, but not his country man. The players who turn up for every squad are sick of being asked about the one guy who doesn't even give a reason for not coming and are moving on. It's unfortunate, but I think it's the only realistic way to move forward for now.
Post by: corn02 on October 16, 2008, 12:13:30 PM

No better summary than that.
Post by: Mentalman on October 16, 2008, 01:22:02 PM
Oh yeah on the price issue, the FAI need to sort themselves out. People are not going to keep paying 70 euro and then be inundated by little knackers on schoolkid tickets brought in to make the ground look full. Most of them find more entertainment in watching members of their group causing fights, being pulled out by Gards & firing things at other spectactors - it's going to lead to a high publicity incident yet, and then where will the reputation of Irish fans be? I'm all for children at matches, but not totally unsupervised. In that case 70 should get you a family ticket if they want to fill the ground and promote the game. Hopefully with more wins and bigger games the ground will be genuinely filled out, not in an artifical manner. Doesn't help the lack of atmosphere either.
Post by: his holiness nb on October 16, 2008, 01:57:01 PM
It was the first international game I attended for about 15 years and my god was it dull. Found myself constantly checking my watch and thinking "feck theres still 20 mins left".

I suppose I'm one of those lads who the soccer only lads hate, sitting there grumbling how the atmosphere and excitement cant be compared with a GAA game  :D

That said, 3 points is 3 points. Wasnt pretty but we are in a healthy enough position without actually playing well.
Post by: his holiness nb on October 16, 2008, 02:00:38 PM
Quote from: donalmac99 on October 16, 2008, 09:56:41 AM
Gibson was awful, out of his depth and never in the game. As i've stated before  he is not good enough for this level, he is a League 1 player at best. On a plus side, Doyle was superb....just a pity idiots like Gibson can manage to trail the whole side down to his pathetic level, why oh f**king why did the p***k not choose the North. >:(
Ah well, 3 points is 3 points I guess .

How is this guy not banned yet???  ???
Post by: baoithe on October 16, 2008, 02:01:53 PM
Stuck for time here.
The game as I saw it:
To be as brief as possible and apologies if I am repeating other peoples thoughts (havent really read the thread)- I dont need to mention Given - I thought O'Shea was excellent last night and Dunne was immense. O'Shea in particular should be congratulated for finding some consistency in his game and I counted only two occasions when his pass out of defence didnt reach its intended target - one of those occasions was a long ball up the field. His was so aware of everything around him and was always looking to find a man whether he was clearing or heading. The two full backs started the game in a dodgy fashion and for me were always a source of concern ( and I should add I am not one of those who berates Kilbane). In fairness in the first half Cyprus were constantly pinging the diagonal ball to test our full backs with McShane being the intended target more often than not. Apart from his lunge at his man early on in the game McShane did what an average centre half should do when playing full back ie get tight and goalside of his man. We'll be more solid with Finnan back.

I thought Gibson had a good start to his senior competitive career and was mightily impressed at his willingness to look for the ball at all times. Things were whizzing by whelan a little in the first half but he did get to grips with that towards the end of the half . It should be remembered though that the Cypriots were not trying to run through the middle of us (a la previous encounters) so the centre of midfield was by-passed at times. That couple with the fact that whelan and gibson were instructed to stay deep at all times may justify their anonymity in part. I'm not sure about whelan though. In the second half I felt he wasnt great again in the sense that he's there as the work horse and tackler and to be honest I thought he should be letting these lads know that he's going to mill them if he gets a sniff of the ball. That didnt happen but if it did I think Ireland would have had a more comfortable victory.

As has been pointed out on numerous occasions, McGeady needs an end product. When he gets that he will be a superb player. He has bags of ability and worked his socks off last night. Its just the cross at the end of his forays into enemy territory that disappoint. Duff is back to his best but lacking a bit of pace. Still a wily fecker and a genius at getting his free. He probably would have made a mighty corner forward.

As for the front two I thought they both worked hard from a defensive standpoint but Doyle was immense both offensively and defensively. He's some player and has improved no end since we last saw him in Croker. His balance, strength and awareness of those around him is second to none. His only downfall is pace but if he had that he'd be up there with the best in my opinion.

A 1-0 win is nothing to be ashamed of against these guys. They are a team that have the ability to pass the ball around all day and are very well organised. The centre half they took off was a liability but other than that I think they're an ok team and they will take points off Bulgaria. Also it should be remembered that under the old regimes we would have gone for broke and tried to beat these guys by a few goals. However, now we keep our shape and do not deviate away from the gameplan at all.

Lastly I was disappointed with the crowd. Thought there'd be more there for the first home game of the qualifiers. Also the atmosphere was flat.
Mentalman, I just noticed your comments re undesirables at the matches. Unfortunately that element form a significant proportion of soccer supporters. You just have to ignore them.
Post by: Mentalman on October 16, 2008, 02:16:10 PM
Quote from: baoithe on October 16, 2008, 02:01:53 PM
Mentalman, I just noticed your comments re undesirables at the matches. Unfortunately that element form a significant proportion of soccer supporters. You just have to ignore them.

Know what you're saying, but in the section between the Cusack and Davin lower (where unfortunately I'm block booked beside - cheers FAI) it's all just school boys. There was one lad there last night no more than 5/6, no lying, totally unsupervised. The Gardaí were kept busy pulling young lads apart all game long. And all this is in an effort to make the ground look full. It certainly isn't helping the atmosphere in any event. All it's going to take is the cameras to pan into the ground once to see that and the rot sets in. Like yourself, and most here, I'm well used to going to Croker for the GAA, and not having it full. Even been involved in a few stand up rows there with lads in my time. But I've never seen that number of people (kids) ejected from a game before. I think the FAI are damaging an already devalued product with that carry on, and like I said all it will take is a Garda/steward/player/visitor to be hit by an object and a deserved reputation is lost for nothing.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 16, 2008, 04:10:52 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 16, 2008, 09:31:26 AM

Nope I hadn't a Gola Bag...
I was sitting at the bar that is on your right as you walk in..I was there at 4.45pm and left at 6pm I even have the bloody receipts to prove it if ya don't believe me!
Where bouts were ye?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 16, 2008, 04:11:18 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on October 16, 2008, 11:22:36 AM
QuoteWhy did the both of you ditch LL?

Are you serious?

Yes I think he actually is.....
Post by: T Fearon on October 16, 2008, 04:24:31 PM
We were in bar on left. However I did an extensive tour of both bars, right and left, before being identified by Lynchboy
Post by: Main Street on October 16, 2008, 04:28:07 PM
What was your most distinguishing feature that made Lynchboy offer the "Tony Fearon I presume" line?
Post by: Mentalman on October 16, 2008, 04:30:37 PM
Tony is a well known GAA personality and political raconteur....that and the Spurs double commemorative T-shirt were bound to be a give away.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 16, 2008, 04:31:10 PM
Quote from: Main Street on October 16, 2008, 04:28:07 PM
What was your most distinguishing feature that made Lynchboy offer the "Tony Fearon I presume" line?

Thats something that had me wondering too..I thought to myself as I sat alone at the bar drinking pint after pint of Smithwicks feeling lonelier and lonelier how silly it was that we never actually exchanged phone numbers or said how we might identify one another
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 16, 2008, 04:36:04 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 16, 2008, 04:10:52 PM

I was sitting at the bar that is on your right as you walk in..I was there at 4.45pm and left at 6pm I even have the bloody receipts to prove it if ya don't believe me!
Where bouts were ye?
I did a bit of a tour around the hotel 'lounge' on the right (as you enter the main hotel entrance), then while scanning the rest of the middle rounded my way over to 'Toddy's bar' on the left as you go in through the main hotel entrance.
I was trying to picture what you may look like - electrician, brit-pop style (as is common in Laois) , round the 30 mark , scanning all the women passing by - but the only 'brit-pop-esque' dressed guy that came close was some dude with a gola bag and trendy square glasses - which didnt have me thinking that this was electrician material.
Pity we missed you. Next time eh ! - I meant to pm you before yesterday with my number.
Apologies LL.
Post by: Hardy on October 16, 2008, 04:36:44 PM
Between the three of yiz - couldn't organise a piss-up, etc.
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 16, 2008, 04:38:53 PM
Quote from: Hardy on October 16, 2008, 04:36:44 PM
Between the three of yiz - couldn't organise a piss-up, etc.
au contraire
The two of us had a great drink and chat - as per usual them Laois lads lost their way.....can understand now what happens their senior team each year now!
Post by: Main Street on October 16, 2008, 04:42:04 PM
Nordies have that instant unspoken intuitive connection.
Lynchboy you can be forgiven for forgetting that other Irishmen don´t have that knack.
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 16, 2008, 04:45:37 PM
Quote from: Main Street on October 16, 2008, 04:42:04 PM
Nordies have that instant unspoken intuitive connection.
Lynchboy you can be forgiven for forgetting that other Irishmen don´t have that knack.

well it was a lot easier and not risking as much embarrassment by shouting 'Hi Tony' than it would have been saying 'hey Laoislad' to all the seated punters :D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 16, 2008, 04:58:12 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 16, 2008, 04:36:04 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 16, 2008, 04:10:52 PM

Where bouts were ye?
I did a bit of a tour around the hotel 'lounge' on the right (as you enter the main hotel entrance), then while scanning the rest of the middle rounded my way over to 'Toddy's bar' on the left as you go in through the main hotel entrance.
I was trying to picture what you may look like - electrician, brit-pop style (as is common in Laois) , round the 30 mark , scanning all the women passing by - but the only 'brit-pop-esque' dressed guy that came close was some dude with a gola bag and trendy square glasses - which didnt have me thinking that this was electrician material.
Pity we missed you. Next time eh ! - I meant to pm you before yesterday with my number.
Apologies LL.

I was wearing a rather cool pair of Jack n Jones jeans and a red Tiger Woods Nike polo shirt,I was seated at the bar just to left of centre reading a newspaper drinking Smithwicks..
Post by: T Fearon on October 16, 2008, 04:59:58 PM
Lynchboy, I think the Board should know that we offered our seats to elderly ladies as well. ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 16, 2008, 05:17:10 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 16, 2008, 04:36:04 PM

Apologies LL.

Maggie seanie was there too  :o
Post by: ExiledGael on October 16, 2008, 05:39:48 PM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on October 16, 2008, 08:46:33 AM
Quote from: The Gs Man on October 16, 2008, 08:39:13 AM

Yeh does my tits in too!  He actually got man of the match in the Daily Mirror....Loses the ball far too easily for my liking...They went for the break at the wrong time on RTE...Dunphy and Giles were warming up nicely...You could actually hear them still going as the break was starting!

Duff was man of the match in the mirror. Agree on McGeady, him and Nani are the two most annoying players I've ever seen.
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 16, 2008, 05:40:29 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on October 16, 2008, 04:59:58 PM
Lynchboy, I think the Board should know that we offered our seats to elderly ladies as well. ;)
the fact they refused  them kind of embarrasses me ...how old do we look !
Post by: ziggysego on October 16, 2008, 08:28:53 PM

I was able to spot Tony at the Ulster Final last year. Didn't even have a picture to go by.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 16, 2008, 08:30:13 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 16, 2008, 08:28:53 PM

I was able to spot Tony at the Ulster Final last year. Didn't even have a picture to go by.
I spotted tony in my local because I seen his picture in the one of the sunday papers about a week before!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 16, 2008, 08:31:25 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 16, 2008, 08:30:13 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 16, 2008, 08:28:53 PM

I spotted tony in my local because I seen his picture in the one of the sunday papers about a week before!

Did you not say hello?
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 16, 2008, 08:32:44 PM
No he was too busy with his coffee and tayto (freestate) crisps.
Post by: ziggysego on October 16, 2008, 08:35:46 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 16, 2008, 08:32:44 PM

Almost the same reason as to why I didn't say hello. He had a big plastic bag full of crisps, chocolate bars, sandwiches and fizzy drinks.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 16, 2008, 08:36:32 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 16, 2008, 08:35:46 PM

Almost the same reason as to why I didn't say hello. He had a big plastic bag full of crisps, chocolate bars, sandwiches and fizzy drinks.

That could have been pints you saw so
Post by: ziggysego on October 16, 2008, 08:37:17 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 16, 2008, 08:36:32 PM

Nah, I sent Tony a message the following day and true enough it was him.
Post by: fred the red on October 16, 2008, 08:45:52 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 16, 2008, 08:37:17 PM

You have tonys mobile no ?? 
Post by: Rav67 on October 16, 2008, 09:04:25 PM
Quote from: fred the red on October 16, 2008, 08:45:52 PM

It's probably up on the owc site
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 16, 2008, 11:29:07 PM

Im sure he means a message as in a pm from this site
Post by: ziggysego on October 16, 2008, 11:41:35 PM

Oh God no, over the gaaboard.com. Don't you know, I'm mobile on it! :D
Post by: Gold on October 16, 2008, 11:53:13 PM
How cold was it on the Hill last nite?! Jeez im stil not warm

We are poor--nothing to get the crowd going--McGeady does my head in. Shay and Dunne were great as usual but as everyone knows the midfield are terrible--i was never an Andy Reid fan but at least he can play a bot of ffotball. Bring back Stephen Reid--our heartbeat

I'll hopefully get the chance to post more later
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 16, 2008, 11:55:38 PM
Quote from: Gold on October 16, 2008, 11:53:13 PM
How cold was it on the Hill last nite?! Jeez im stil not warm

We are poor--nothing to get the crowd going--McGeady does my head in. Shay and Dunne were great as usual but as everyone knows the midfield are terrible--i was never an Andy Reid fan but at least he can play a bot of ffotball. Bring back Stephen Reid--our heartbeat

I'll hopefully get the chance to post more later

I thought you were coming to the Gresham?
Post by: gerrykeegan on October 17, 2008, 08:46:51 AM
Anyone else think it was a disgrace that someone in the FAI thought that Noel O'Reilly was 80 years of age and not 60. Shoddy to say the least. His family must have been embarrassed.
Post by: Mentalman on October 17, 2008, 08:54:08 AM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on October 17, 2008, 08:46:51 AM
Anyone else think it was a disgrace that someone in the FAI thought that Noel O'Reilly was 80 years of age and not 60. Shoddy to say the least. His family must have been embarrassed.

Noriced that but would you expect any different from that bunch of clowns?
Post by: fred the red on October 18, 2008, 03:38:43 PM
Quote from: donalmac99 on October 16, 2008, 10:04:59 AM
Quote from: full back on October 16, 2008, 09:59:23 AM

I'll miss you when you're suspended  ;)

Oh the irony!!!  :D