Ireland v Cyprus

Started by lynchbhoy, September 26, 2008, 12:17:40 PM

Mentalman

Tony is a well known GAA personality and political raconteur....that and the Spurs double commemorative T-shirt were bound to be a give away.
"Mr Treehorn treats objects like women man."

Quote from: Main Street on October 16, 2008, 04:28:07 PM
What was your most distinguishing feature that made Lynchboy offer the "Tony Fearon I presume" line?

Thats something that had me wondering too..I thought to myself as I sat alone at the bar drinking pint after pint of Smithwicks feeling lonelier and lonelier how silly it was that we never actually exchanged phone numbers or said how we might identify one another

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 16, 2008, 04:10:52 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 16, 2008, 09:31:26 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2008, 04:56:08 PM
I'm here in the Gresham at the moment no sign of the other two gimps!
was that you carrying a gola bag ?
I was on the phone and then Tony arrived after a wee while

Nope I hadn't a Gola Bag...
I was sitting at the bar that is on your right as you walk in..I was there at 4.45pm and left at 6pm I even have the bloody receipts to prove it if ya don't believe me!
Where bouts were ye?
I did a bit of a tour around the hotel 'lounge' on the right (as you enter the main hotel entrance), then while scanning the rest of the middle rounded my way over to 'Toddy's bar' on the left as you go in through the main hotel entrance.
I was trying to picture what you may look like - electrician, brit-pop style (as is common in Laois) , round the 30 mark , scanning all the women passing by - but the only 'brit-pop-esque' dressed guy that came close was some dude with a gola bag and trendy square glasses - which didnt have me thinking that this was electrician material.
Pity we missed you. Next time eh ! - I meant to pm you before yesterday with my number.
Apologies LL.

Between the three of yiz - couldn't organise a piss-up, etc.

Quote from: Hardy on October 16, 2008, 04:36:44 PM
Between the three of yiz - couldn't organise a piss-up, etc.
au contraire
The two of us had a great drink and chat - as per usual them Laois lads lost their way.....can understand now what happens their senior team each year now!

Nordies have that instant unspoken intuitive connection.
Lynchboy you can be forgiven for forgetting that other Irishmen don´t have that knack.

Quote from: Main Street on October 16, 2008, 04:42:04 PM
Nordies have that instant unspoken intuitive connection.
Lynchboy you can be forgiven for forgetting that other Irishmen don´t have that knack.

well it was a lot easier and not risking as much embarrassment by shouting 'Hi Tony' than it would have been saying 'hey Laoislad' to all the seated punters :D

Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 16, 2008, 04:36:04 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 16, 2008, 04:10:52 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 16, 2008, 09:31:26 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2008, 04:56:08 PM
I'm here in the Gresham at the moment no sign of the other two gimps!
was that you carrying a gola bag ?
I was on the phone and then Tony arrived after a wee while

Nope I hadn't a Gola Bag...
I was sitting at the bar that is on your right as you walk in..I was there at 4.45pm and left at 6pm I even have the bloody receipts to prove it if ya don't believe me!
Where bouts were ye?
I did a bit of a tour around the hotel 'lounge' on the right (as you enter the main hotel entrance), then while scanning the rest of the middle rounded my way over to 'Toddy's bar' on the left as you go in through the main hotel entrance.
I was trying to picture what you may look like - electrician, brit-pop style (as is common in Laois) , round the 30 mark , scanning all the women passing by - but the only 'brit-pop-esque' dressed guy that came close was some dude with a gola bag and trendy square glasses - which didnt have me thinking that this was electrician material.
Pity we missed you. Next time eh ! - I meant to pm you before yesterday with my number.
Apologies LL.

I was wearing a rather cool pair of Jack n Jones jeans and a red Tiger Woods Nike polo shirt,I was seated at the bar just to left of centre reading a newspaper drinking Smithwicks..

Lynchboy, I think the Board should know that we offered our seats to elderly ladies as well. ;)

Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 16, 2008, 04:36:04 PM

Apologies LL.

Maggie seanie was there too  :o

Quote from: The Watcher Pat on October 16, 2008, 08:46:33 AM
Quote from: The Gs Man on October 16, 2008, 08:39:13 AM
McGeady does my tits in sometimes.  He does a magical bit of skill one minute and the next minute he's running straight into a player or tripping over himself.  Thought he was poor enough last night.

As for Dunphy, saying that he needed Giles to back him up because everybody else thought he was nuts was comedy gold.  I thought Giles was gonna cry at one stage when he thought Dunphy was accusing him of backing down.  Some craic!

Yeh does my tits in too!  He actually got man of the match in the Daily Mirror....Loses the ball far too easily for my liking...They went for the break at the wrong time on RTE...Dunphy and Giles were warming up nicely...You could actually hear them still going as the break was starting!

Duff was man of the match in the mirror. Agree on McGeady, him and Nani are the two most annoying players I've ever seen.

Quote from: T Fearon on October 16, 2008, 04:59:58 PM
Lynchboy, I think the Board should know that we offered our seats to elderly ladies as well. ;)
the fact they refused  them kind of embarrasses me ...how old do we look !
:o

What was your most distinguishing feature that made Lynchboy offer the "Tony Fearon I presume" line?

I was able to spot Tony at the Ulster Final last year. Didn't even have a picture to go by.

Quote from: ziggysego on October 16, 2008, 08:28:53 PM

I was able to spot Tony at the Ulster Final last year. Didn't even have a picture to go by.
I spotted tony in my local because I seen his picture in the one of the sunday papers about a week before!

Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 16, 2008, 08:30:13 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 16, 2008, 08:28:53 PM

I spotted tony in my local because I seen his picture in the one of the sunday papers about a week before!

Did you not say hello?