GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 05, 2008, 06:51:30 PM

Title: Ciarraí vs Tír Eoghain NFL 2008
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 05, 2008, 06:51:30 PM
Putting this up early just to make sure that the game (on Saturday 16th Feb) is being played in Fitzgerald Stadium, so that appropriate arrangements can be made, if any of the Kerry folk could enlighten me please. Go raibh maith agat.

Oh! And of course we'll whip their asses  ;D
Title: Re: Ciarraí vs Tír Eoghain NFL 2008
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on January 05, 2008, 07:02:17 PM
This game should be very exiting. Looking forward to listening into Weeshie Fogarty on Kerry radio. His expertise and comentry should complament the match. I read somewhere recently, that Tyrone have beaten Kerry six out of the last seven meetings. It seem's a bit lob sided for two closely matched teams. Is there any statistician who could fill us in with the details?
Post by: ONeill on January 05, 2008, 07:17:25 PM
NFL 2007 - DRAW
NFL 2006 - TYRONE BY 2
SFC 2005 - TYRONE BY 3
NFL 2005 - KERRY BY 6
NFL 2004 - TYRONE BY 1
SFC 2003 - TYRONE BY 5
NFL 2003 - TYRONE BY 2
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on January 05, 2008, 08:34:25 PM
Would only be too happy to give you recommendations on accommodation in Killarney but if the game is scheduled for Saturday evening it is more than likely on in Tralee as Killarney does not have floodlight. Killarney would be a far nicer town to go in however.
Hopefully some of our minors from 04/05/06 will get a run in the early part of the league with the old warriors resting their limbs for the battles ahead. Mind you it's hardly fair that Tyrone have to come to Kerry for a second year in a row or indeed that we have to go to Donegal again.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 05, 2008, 08:39:34 PM
Thanks SDC, I was under the misapprehension that Austin Stack's was on the wind-down, what with the relocation of the park itself to further out of the town, but that must be nothing more than a blueprint at the minute perhaps.

Will be interesting indeed to see both line-outs, has Dara O'Sé declared either way for the year ahead yet?

Sláinte.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on January 05, 2008, 09:41:18 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 05, 2008, 07:17:25 PM
SFC 2003 - TYRONE BY 5

0-13 to 0-6  ;).
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 05, 2008, 10:09:39 PM
It will be a great honour for you to play the back to back AI champions in the home
of football. Please dont block our driveways with ye're horse and carts, ok.
Post by: Puckoon on January 05, 2008, 10:11:58 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on January 05, 2008, 10:09:39 PM
It will be a great honour for you to play the back to back AI champions in the home
of football. Please dont block our driveways with ye're horse and carts, ok.

Driveways? :o Come off it now Mike Sheehy! Driveways indeed.
Post by: ziggysego on January 05, 2008, 10:14:34 PM
Can I park my romany caravan in your garden Mike?
Post by: ONeill on January 05, 2008, 10:24:54 PM
Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on January 05, 2008, 09:41:18 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 05, 2008, 07:17:25 PM
SFC 2003 - TYRONE BY 5

0-13 to 0-6  ;).

Sorry about that. For some reason 12-7 jumped into my head.

Was thinking, won't Kerry be wile pissed off if we notch 5 McKennas in a row, eclipsing their failed and humiliating efforts at 5-in-a-row in 1982
Post by: orangeman on January 05, 2008, 11:34:00 PM
Will the celebrating still be on thst day ? Maybe you'll field a reserve side Mike !  ;D ;D :o 8) ???
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 06, 2008, 07:04:53 PM
Yes, We will probably field a reserve side to lull you into a false sense of security for the summer. Having won in Killarney
you will then be c**k a hoop and go on a rampage of facile wins (not to mention the McKenna cup 5-in-a-row). In reality
you should play it cute but ye just cant help ye'reselves as your fans bay for more, building up to a crescendo of hyperbole
before ye, once again, crash out in the quarters or even the qualfiers. There will then be a big push against Mickey harte
by his many enemies in the county and Frank McGuigan will be installed as trainer on $40K a week as club Tyrone do a
brisk trade in their own grandmothers in order to reclaim past glories. Frank wont be able to take the pressure and will
eventually be replaced by Art McRory and the cycle of disillusionment will start again as fellas in the bar will be wondering what
happened to those Minors that never made it to senior and cursing those Kerry hoors who just keep winning AI and fooling
themselves that its all because Munster is so "easy".

So, in a nutshell, ye'd be much better off to take it easy and lose in Killarney. Your entire future is at stake.
Post by: Kerry Mike on January 07, 2008, 07:36:24 PM
Cooper to miss National League - Handy game for Tyrone...

Kerry's 2008 National Football League hopes have suffered a major blow with the news that Colm 'Gooch' Cooper is to spend next spring in the US.

Cooper, who was recently rumoured to be planning a trip to Australia, will instead travel to the US and will miss the National League campaign as a result. But he plans to return home in time for the Kingdom's opening defence of their Munster title against either Waterford or Clare in June.

The brilliant forward said: "If I need to come home a little early I'll do that.

"Pat O'Shea is fine about it, but I don't want to be playing catch-up in terms of fitness when we're heading into the championship. It's not ideal to be doing extra preparatory work in the summer.

"From a purely football point of view, I don't feel fatigued. It's not a question of being burned out: the drive is still there for me.

"It's more a personal welfare decision. There is a life outside of football, and I need to sample a bit of it for a while.

"I'm only 24, and I'm heading into my seventh inter-county season, with 2003, when we were beaten in the (All-Ireland) semi-final the shortest season so far."

Both Declan O'Sullivan and Paul Galvin clearly benefited from their time away from football in Australia earlier this year, and Kerry fans will be hoping that Cooper will also return home feeling refreshed ahead of the county's bid for a third All-Ireland on the trot.
Post by: Aaron Boone on January 07, 2008, 07:50:32 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on January 07, 2008, 07:36:24 PM
Cooper to miss National League - Handy game for Tyrone...

But he plans to return home in time for the Kingdom's opening defence of their Munster title against either Waterford or Clare in June.

Hardly much point in him coming home for a Munster game against either Waterford or Clare now. Tell him he's ok for another few weeks after that.
Post by: Frank Casey on January 07, 2008, 07:57:23 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on January 07, 2008, 07:50:32 PM
Hardly much point in him coming home for a Munster game against either Waterford or Clare now. Tell him he's ok for another few weeks after that.

Shure d'extra training would be handy. He'll probably put on a couple of stone in America.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on January 07, 2008, 08:09:23 PM
I wouldn't be at all surprised if the wee gabshite is back within 6 weeks.
Post by: red hander on January 07, 2008, 08:51:37 PM
'Please dont block our driveways with ye're horse and carts, ok.'

There you go, I never realised that all those twee postcards we used to buy on holidays down in 'the home of football' were actually of Tyrone people delivering turf to the little people of Kerry ... where did I put me pot of gold, where's me pot of gold...
Post by: Aaron Boone on January 18, 2008, 09:50:45 PM
Is it definitely in Tralee?
Flights to Farranfore from Dublin City done and dusted. Reservation at Felspoint Hotel Tralee made.

Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 19, 2008, 04:25:41 AM
Its alright lads...someday ye'll have ye're own airport.

Honestly....<sniff>  you haven't really "arrived" until you've flown into your own back yard with Sam in tow <sniff>
Post by: Tyrones own on January 20, 2008, 03:09:44 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on January 19, 2008, 04:25:41 AM
Its alright lads...someday ye'll have ye're own airport.

Honestly....<sniff>  you haven't really "arrived" until you've flown into your own back yard with Sam in tow <sniff>

Yerra if ye don't leave him behind in Dublin that is ;)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 03, 2008, 05:46:57 PM
After that bruising affair last night (Geezer has well and truly stamped his mark on this particular Kildare team), one thing's certain, we need a massive step-up for this one. Although we restricted Kildare to 5 scores, they had twice as many again very scorable opportunities that they squandered, and we won't be let off as forgivingly in this one.

Post by: orangeman on February 04, 2008, 10:37:34 AM
Tyrone will find it hard going against a very strong Kerry outfit.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 04, 2008, 01:22:27 PM
Quote from: orangeman on February 04, 2008, 10:37:34 AM
Tyrone will find it hard going against a very strong Kerry outfit.
They can't be that strong if an injury ravaged Donegal beat them.
Post by: orangeman on February 04, 2008, 01:24:30 PM
Did you not see the game - Kerry full back was sent off in 1st half - Kerry were up by two with seconds left - Mc Fadden lobbed a high ball in with last kick and Donegal scored a goal  - Donegal couldn't believe it -
Post by: Tyrones own on February 04, 2008, 05:57:35 PM
Quote from: orangeman on February 04, 2008, 01:24:30 PM
Did you not see the game - Kerry full back was sent off in 1st half - Kerry were up by two with seconds left - Mc Fadden lobbed a high ball in with last kick and Donegal scored a goal  - Donegal couldn't believe it -

Yerra FFS, tell me they've moved on from the cynical stuff, can we get back to football lads ::)
Post by: tyssam5 on February 04, 2008, 06:26:13 PM
Quote from: Frank Casey on January 07, 2008, 07:57:23 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on January 07, 2008, 07:50:32 PM

Shure d'extra training would be handy. He'll probably put on a couple of stone in America.

No doubt he'll still be listed in the program at 10 stone.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 04, 2008, 06:27:22 PM
QuoteYerra FFS, tell me they've moved on from the cynical stuff, can we get back to football lads

I see your obsession with Kerry continues Tyrones own...
Post by: Tyrones own on February 04, 2008, 08:01:32 PM

No not at all Mikey, just wanted to draw you and since i succeeded
could you maybe ask someone that was at the game why he was sent off
and get back to me. Honestly, for the good of the game i hope it wasn't that auld cynical stuff,
it's horrible to watch!
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on February 04, 2008, 10:35:42 PM
Fairly important game for Tyrone here in terms of this years league. A loss and they'd be travelling to Galway for the next game with a potential relegation battle on the cards. A win and I suppose you could start to think about being contenders for the top 2 positions again. After Tyrones performance last week Kerry would have to be strong favourites going into this one. Even though its early in the season Im sure there'll be a high tempo to the game and it is likely to be fairly physical. A decent home support for Kerry's 1st home game can be expected.

Tyrone went down last year with low expectations and managed to get a draw and Im sure a lot of players will be out to prove that theyre better than they looked against Kildare. I cant see any of our big names who missed last week being back (not sure about McMenamin though), although Mugsy is likely to start. If Tyrone's free taking deosnt improve we'll have no chance - need to see an improvement from McCullagh and Id like to see Mulgrew tried with the one's on the other side.

Kerry seemed to dominate the Donegal game and will have another 2 weeks training behind them which should bring them on a little. I presume the Kerry team will be something similar to the last one with Tomas O'Se possibly starting. Kerry dont seem to keen to use Donaghy at full forward during the league so wouldnt be suprised if he operated further out the field.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 05, 2008, 06:27:02 PM
QuoteNo not at all Mikey, just wanted to draw you and since i succeeded
and get back to me. Honestly, for the good of the game i hope it wasn't that auld cynical stuff,
it's horrible to watch!

whinging about Kerry, whinging about Kildares "roughouse" tactics....whinge, whinge. The season is only one weekend old and
the Tymoan bies are already in overdrive.

Seriously, chill out and get a life. its only the national league.
Post by: Aaron Boone on February 05, 2008, 08:04:47 PM
With a big win, Kerry could end both Tyrone's NFL & Championship hopes on Saturday week. Team morale is low and the big players of 03 & 05 are just shadows of themselves. Tyrone are there for the taking.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on February 05, 2008, 08:25:47 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on February 05, 2008, 08:04:47 PM
With a big win, Kerry could end both Tyrone's NFL & Championship hopes on Saturday week. Team morale is low and the big players of 03 & 05 are just shadows of themselves. Tyrone are there for the taking.

Probably fair to say that "Tyrone are there for the taking" but talk of championship hopes being ended in February is way over the top...find myself in the unlikely situation of agreeing with Mike Sheehy and his "chill out... its only the national league" comment. Tyrone have a lot of work to do and with retirals and injuries Sam looks a distant prospect right now but there is plenty of time to work on the problems. Tyrone looked pretty ragged in May 2005 but it didnt hamper them when the important games came along later in the summer. Wont be writing off the class of 2008 on the back of the McKenna Cup and a draw in the opening NFL game (or in the event of being caned by Kerry).
Post by: orangeman on February 05, 2008, 08:32:54 PM

That's just about as pessimistic as it gets !  :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :(
Post by: Tyrones own on February 06, 2008, 02:31:22 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on February 04, 2008, 08:01:32 PM

No not at all Mikey, just wanted to draw you and since i succeeded
and get back to me.
Honestly, for the good of the game i hope it wasn't that auld cynical stuff,
it's horrible to watch!

Whinging....... :D

Having a tough time even finding anyone in your wee circle that were at the game eh Mikey,
Sure what would the Rugger crowd know about Gaelic Football anyway besides what they hear out
of Spillane, the Puke stuff is alive and well, going by the photo on the Kerry / Donegal thread :D
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 06, 2008, 07:18:52 PM

and get back to me.

Given I am stateside it would be hard to have made it to Donegal for the game.

Also, the game was on tv so I dont need to ask anyone in my vast circle about it. I could see it with my own eyes.It was clear that the Donegal man clumsily tripped over Tom O'sullivans
outstretched arm as Tom was falling. Unfortunate really, but there you go.

And as for the photo..what is puke football about a group of lads contesting a high ball ? Good honest winter football is what that is.

Its the 15 men behind the ball trying to break the gain line stuff ala rugby that is ruining the game. Its your
shower that invented that tripe. You should hang your head in shame.
Post by: Tyrones own on February 06, 2008, 08:30:32 PM

Quote. Its your shower that invented that tripe.

Ok the Armagh men might have invented it but for the kingdom purist's to have perfected it is truly worrying,
Bring back football i say, that stuff ye boy's play down there really is horrible to watch :-[

QuoteGood honest winter football is what that is.

:D :D  Ye definitely are some Craic Sheehy, I must remember that one ;)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 09, 2008, 02:42:05 PM
Quill quits:

Ace attacker Declan Quill has informed Kerry football boss Pat O'Shea that he won't be available for selection for the remaining of 2008.
The 26 year old Kerins O'Rahilly's forward left the panel after being left out on the bench for the duration of last Saturday's NFL opener against Donegal in Ballybofey.
The Tralee-based schoolteacher told O'Shea on Monday of his decision to withdraw from the county squad; a decision which comes in the wake of defender Mossy Lyons' decision to quit the intercounty scene last month.

Rats and the sinking ship eh?  ;D

Sourced here (http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=89067)

And Galvin out for six weeks:

Following on from the opening round NFL defeat to Donegal, Kerry manager Pat O'Shea has been dealt a blow with the news that captain Paul Galvin is out for six weeks.
Galvin was due to lead the side out for the first time against Donegal in Ballybofey, but injured his hamstring playing for Finuge in the North Kerry championship.
O'Shea is already without Colm Cooper, who is taking a well earned break from the game and the loss of the inspirational Galvin will be a huge blow to the county's chances of success in the league.
The wing forward will definitely miss the games against Derry and Tyrone over the coming weeks, and could miss further matches depending on his recovery.

Sourced here (http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=89167)

Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 10, 2008, 07:55:27 AM
QuoteRats and the sinking ship eh?

really ?....so how would you classify Stephen O'Neill....King Rat perhaps ?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 10, 2008, 01:29:44 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 10, 2008, 07:55:27 AM
really ?....so how would you classify Stephen O'Neill....King Rat perhaps ?

If it isn't yourself, now there's a surprise!  :P
Post by: Datsun Donaghy on February 10, 2008, 04:31:01 PM
QuoteBut he plans to return home in time for the Kingdom's opening defence of their Munster title against either Waterford or Clare in June.

It's amazing how you boys get out of Munster every year against top class opposition like that!
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 10, 2008, 07:28:34 PM
QuoteIf it isn't yourself, now there's a surprise!

Dont dodge the question. Is Stephen O'Neill a rat ?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 10, 2008, 07:29:59 PM
QuoteIt's amazing how you boys get out of Munster every year against top class opposition like that!

Its what you do after the provinvials that count. Try getting past the quarter finals and you might be worth listening to.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 10, 2008, 07:45:14 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 10, 2008, 07:28:34 PM
Dont dodge the question. Is Stephen O'Neill a rat ?

Unlike you to get so personal in your abuse. I was being ironic, however, and I can appreciate that that flew right over your head somewhat.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 10, 2008, 08:51:15 PM
QuoteUnlike you to get so personal in your abuse.

You are the one calling people rats around here. I have been a model of restraint. Its tempting to respond in kind though,  I miss those 6 paragragh responses of apoplectic rage that you come out with. They are great craic.

But we need to be sensible about this. Just leave our Declan alone and leave the irony to woody allen or someone else with a talent for it. Then we'll all be happy.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 10, 2008, 09:07:46 PM
You're a right one Sheehy, and your righteous indignation is surely a sight to behold. Like I said, I was being ironic, and certainly wasn't having a personal attack on Quill, hence the  ;D in my original post, which you chose to omit; another clumsy attempt at misrepresentation.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 10, 2008, 09:22:15 PM
..uh oh...i feel a rant coming on..you've already got the thesaurus haven't you ? god help us !
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 10, 2008, 09:25:01 PM
Yeah... whatever.
Post by: tyroneman on February 11, 2008, 01:26:45 PM
Getting back to the game.........................

MH needs to address the FB issue now, we can't afford to wait until the Championship to experiment. If CG is the man he wants there then better come out and say it now and let Ricey or Carlin try to make CHB thier own.

If not (and hopefully Block will be at CHB the rest of the year) then one of the new lads needs in.

Up front Mugsy to start at FF - time to start performing...........................

Team for Sat (Hopefully)

Devine
PJ
McCarron / McCaul
Swift
Carlin
Block
Model
Hub
Enda (If Sean not ready yet)
Tommy
Mulgrew
Gormley
McCullough
Mugsy
Tommy

Don't hold out much hope of a win in Kerry but that team should put up a good fight.
Post by: feetofflames on February 11, 2008, 01:34:52 PM
Some potential  test for a debuttant full back never mind an experienced 1.  Donaghy.  I would tell Conor Gormley to follow Donaghy wherever he goes on the field.  he'd put the big star in his pocket.   
Post by: orangeman on February 11, 2008, 01:41:21 PM
I would tell Conor Gormley to follow Donaghy wherever he goes on the field.  he'd put the big star in his pocket.   

He did exactly that in the Railway Cup final under lights last year-  Mc Cloy of Derry got roasted and Gormley went in and snuffed hom out.
Post by: tyroneman on February 11, 2008, 01:49:07 PM
Would you not think big Donaghy would be the perfect chance for an aspiring FB to make his name???

We all know what Block can do - why not let McCaul / McCarron have a go against one of the best?
Post by: feetofflames on February 11, 2008, 02:02:57 PM
Lets put it like this. any man that has a good game on Saturday will be worth a working on.  Buy the way can anyone here goive me the reason why wee Marty P has made this years panel.  I cant recall any semblance of good form  bar that leap he made for the kickout against An Dun.
Post by: illdecide on February 11, 2008, 05:09:08 PM
C'MON TYRONE GET INTO THE "BOG MEN" ;)
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on February 11, 2008, 06:03:31 PM
 Id like to see something like this (injuries permitting):
P McConnell
D Carlin
C McCarron
M Swift
R McMenamin
C Gormley
P Jordan
C Holmes
K Hughes
C Cavanagh
R Mulgrew
E McGinley
N Gormley
O Mullgan
T McGuigan

Some peple might be critical of Holmes but I still think he could do a job in a physical game like this and would allow McGinley to take over from Mellon who needs to refind his form.
Post by: feetofflames on February 11, 2008, 06:13:15 PM
Mellon has had two years since the 05 final, and we could be waiting a while for that form to be found. Colum Cavanagh probably showed enough the last day to suggest he would need to go looking for his form as well although the lad has undoubted ability. My fear is that Harte could pick too many non Tyrone division 1 footballers and players who had big games a couple of years ago.    I dont trust the level that Holems  IS PLAYING AT in Armagh, I would keep this team 100 % Tyrone division 1 with the exception being Philly.  the rest of your team is not bad though. 
Post by: ziggysego on February 11, 2008, 07:48:07 PM
Quote from: feetofflames on February 11, 2008, 06:13:15 PM
I would keep this team 100 % Tyrone division 1 with the exception being Philly.  the rest of your team is not bad though. 

So you'd like to see a Tyrone team without Dooher and Cavanagh, amongst others?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 11, 2008, 08:55:21 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on February 11, 2008, 06:03:31 PM
Id like to see something like this (injuries permitting):
P McConnell
D Carlin
C McCarron
M Swift
R McMenamin
C Gormley
P Jordan
C Holmes
K Hughes
C Cavanagh
R Mulgrew
E McGinley
N Gormley
O Mullgan
T McGuigan

Some peple might be critical of Holmes but I still think he could do a job in a physical game like this and would allow McGinley to take over from Mellon who needs to refind his form.

Will be fairly close I'd say, though Mc Caul & Carlin could be in the starting mix somewhere.
Post by: tyssam5 on February 11, 2008, 09:25:14 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 10, 2008, 07:29:59 PM
QuoteIt's amazing how you boys get out of Munster every year against top class opposition like that!

Its what you do after the provinvials that count. Try getting past the quarter finals and you might be worth listening to.

03 and 05 still sting like feck don't they Mikey?

Don't give us any guff about where were Tyrone in 06 & 07, or you can only bate what's put in front of you etc. Yes or no will suffice.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on February 11, 2008, 09:26:12 PM
Ive Carlin down at corner back. Not sure if he'd start McCaul or not. Wouldnt be suprised if the team was the same as the last day with Penrose in for Mellon and Mugsy in for Snowy.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 11, 2008, 09:37:02 PM
Sorry TD, saw Carlin in the corner, read Quinn, who deserves another shot. Wouldn't be sure about Carlin in the corner.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on February 11, 2008, 10:35:25 PM
Quinn has impressed me at times particularly going forward and certainly deserves another shot. Just thought he might be a we bit light for quite a physical Kerry forward line but wouldnt complain if he was on - might even be an option at half back. Not sure yet if he'll be strong/good enough to start at corner back come championship time but Im sure Harte will have a good idea come the end of the league. Any updates on Dooher and when he's expected back? If McGuigan is close wouldnt be suprised if Harte gave him his 1st run out down in Galway were'd there wouldnt be the same spotlight on him - always seems to be small crowds at Galway games and I assume it wont be on tv.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 11, 2008, 11:06:22 PM
Galway and Mc Guigan could be a runner all right, if he's fully fit at all by that stage -- it'd be the ideal game to get him back into it. Would expect a fair crowd at this one though, given that Galway's the only 'real' away game this season with the exception of Kerry this Saturday (Celtic Park hardly counts), which'll be a bit too far for most.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 12, 2008, 04:24:06 AM
Quote03 and 05 still sting like feck don't they Mikey?

Don't give us any guff about where were Tyrone in 06 & 07, or you can only bate what's put in front of you etc. Yes or no will suffice.

No

Post by: feetofflames on February 12, 2008, 08:20:56 AM
o you'd like to see a Tyrone team without Dooher and Cavanagh, amongst others?
Neither of these guys are fit for Saturday Zman ??? Assuming you mean sean not Colm.  I believe a la Galaxy and Beckham you must pick club players in the main form the highest level of football possible.  College football is also a high level of foootball, Division 2 is not. 
Post by: sam03/05 on February 12, 2008, 10:42:50 PM
would it be fair to say that Rymond Mulgrew has become something of a mainstay on the tyrone team
i have been very impressed by him recently - thought he was superb for jordanstown v tyrone in mckenna where he roasted Gourley, and in my opinion he was our best player v kildare - and scored a cracking point.
i think we could be about to see a great player emerge. (i think he has got more confident after his all star nomination last year) an this is his third year on the panel now. It usually takes about that time for new players to find their feet.
Post by: ONeill on February 13, 2008, 09:20:26 AM
A fine talent - probably unfortunate that some see him as McGuigan's replacement as that's some act to follow. If Brian makes a full recovery, where to people envisage Rammie playing? Mickey likes his work horses at 10 and 12. Corner forward?
Post by: Star Spangler on February 13, 2008, 10:24:06 AM
Quote from: ONeill on February 13, 2008, 09:20:26 AM
A fine talent - probably unfortunate that some see him as McGuigan's replacement as that's some act to follow. If Brian makes a full recovery, where to people envisage Rammie playing? Mickey likes his work horses at 10 and 12. Corner forward?

Mulgrew is a  half-forward through and through so you'd have to have him at No. 12 (assuming Dooher remains at 10).  A year or two learning off McGuigan wouldn't do him any harm either.
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on February 13, 2008, 03:46:54 PM
Ah hell was looking forward to this game until the referee was aannounced - we got the worst ref in the country by a mile.......
Tralee                  Ciarraí         v       Tír Eoghain             LIVE SETANTA
Referee:        Gearóid Ó Conamha (Gaillimh)
Post by: Fuzzman on February 13, 2008, 04:54:54 PM
Yeah sounds like a nice half forward line alright IF all goes well for McGuigan
How's about this forward line.
At least they are all tall ball winners with maybe Enda doing his old roving outfield routine.

Colm Cavanagh    Mugsy    Enda McGinley

Mulgrew            McGuigan  Dooher

Sean C    Hub/Holmes

Any more word on the McMahon brothers getting over their injuries?
Did they get operations?

When Joey is fit he good certainly play at Midfield

This good weather should help the heavy pitches anyway and maybe we will see a fast, clean attacking open game of football as we did in the 2005 final.

(http://www.hertfordshire.freeserve.co.uk/ActivistsExposed/FlyingPigs.jpg)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 13, 2008, 09:38:38 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 13, 2008, 04:54:54 PM
Any more word on the McMahon brothers getting over their injuries?

Joey's out for the whole League, after just having had a groin operation. We're without Seán C, Dooher & Ricey. From here (http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=89414)

Still, hopeful of a good one (more hopeful than expectant), and looking forward to the craic in Tra Lí.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 13, 2008, 10:19:33 PM
Quote from: SuperDooperCooper on February 13, 2008, 03:46:54 PM
Ah hell was looking forward to this game until the referee was aannounced - we got the worst ref in the country by a mile.......
Tralee                  Ciarraí         v       Tír Eoghain             LIVE SETANTA
Referee:        Gearóid Ó Conamha (Gaillimh)

I share your pain there SDC, Gearóid is predictable only, sadly, in that he'll be wholly unpredictable for the full 70 minutes; I just hope he's not the main topic of discussion come the final whistle on Saturday evening.
Post by: ONeill on February 13, 2008, 10:22:01 PM
Was hoping he'd change the name and county again this year, maybe GK from the Block.
Post by: Redhandfan on February 13, 2008, 10:56:37 PM
Tyrone NFL Team v Kerry
13 Feb 2008

1. Pascal McConnell P Mac Dhónaill
2. PJ Quinn   PJ Ó Coinne
3. Conor Gormley C Ó Garmaile
4. Martin Swift M Ó Fuada
5. Davy Harte D Ó hAirt
6. Dermot Carlin D Ó Cearúlain
7. Philip Jordan P Mac Shiúrtáin
8. Kevin Hughes C Ó hAodha
9. Enda McGinley E Mag Fhionnaile
10. Colm Cavanagh C Caomhánach
11. Raymond Mulgrew R Ó Maolchraoibhe
12. Tommy McGuigan T Mag Uiginn
13. Niall Gormley N Ó Garmaile
14. Owen Mulligan E Ó  Maolagáin
15. Colm McCullagh C Mac CúUladh
16. Jonathan Curran S Ó Corráin
17. Sean Cavanagh S Caomhánach
18. Colin Holmes C Mac Thomáis
19. Cathal McCarron C Mac Cearáin
20. Damien McCaul D Mac Camhaoil
21. Michael McGee M Mag Aoidh
22. Justin McMahon S Mac Mathúna
23. Ryan McMenamin R Mac Meanman
24. Ryan Mellon R Ó Maelláin
25. Shaun O'Neill S Ó Néill

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 13, 2008, 11:06:02 PM
Thanks RHF, that half-back line will be critical, it needs to be a bit (big bit) less porous on Saturday, and the firmer ground should help.
Post by: ONeill on February 13, 2008, 11:13:46 PM
Quote from: Redhandfan on February 13, 2008, 10:56:37 PM
Tyrone NFL Team v Kerry
13 Feb 2008

5. Davy Harte D Ó hAirt

Some test for Quinn and Swift. I'd be confident enough with the HB line after having that Kildare game under the belt.

Colm Cav - Mulgrew - MCGuigan = how times have changed from the 2005 final!! Young and eager to prove themselves. Hoping to see progression in the way of Colm Cavanagh's development from last year. Mickey obviously has plenty of faith in the Moy man.
Gormley - Mulligan - McCullagh = actually looking forward to that concoction. Niall Gormley showed glimpses last year that he can step up at this level. Kerry should bring out the best in Mugsy.

The key could be Hub and Enda's performance.
Post by: OakLeaf on February 14, 2008, 08:58:00 AM
Is there anyone going to the Kerry / Tyrone match that would be willing to text updates to the Live Scores service on GAA Radio?  The number to send your texts to is 447624804328. The service is free for everyone to view at http://www.gaaradio.com/scores/liveScores.jsp . Thanks.
Post by: ONeill on February 14, 2008, 09:15:01 AM
Would it not be the same as someone watching it on Setanta texting in?
Post by: OakLeaf on February 14, 2008, 09:20:17 AM
Aye, that would work as well. Not everyone has Setanta so the texts are still handy.
Post by: Aaron Boone on February 14, 2008, 11:59:56 AM
Tyrone are staying in Adare on Sat night.
Post by: Star Spangler on February 14, 2008, 12:45:35 PM
Quote from: Redhandfan on February 13, 2008, 10:56:37 PM
Tyrone NFL Team v Kerry
13 Feb 2008

5. Davy Harte D Ó hAirt

Midfield looks worrying - we've one player who can't catch and one player who can't kick!
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on February 14, 2008, 01:05:32 PM
The All-Ireland champions have declared their hand as well:
1. Diarmuid Murphy
2. Marc Ó Sé 3. Tom O'Sullivan 4. Pádraig Reidy
5. Tomás Ó Sé 6. Aidan O'Mahony 7. Killian Young.
8. Seamus Scanlon 9. Tommy Griffin.
10.Seán O'Sullivan 11. Declan O'Sullivan 12. David Moran
13. Kieran O'Leary 14.Kieran Donaghy 15. Bryan Sheehan
Subs: 16. Kieran Cremin 17. Michéal Quirke 18. Paul O'Connor 19. Donnacha Walsh 20. Tommy Walsh 21.Daniel Bohane
22. Ronán Ó Flatharta 23. Darren O'Sullivan 24. Kieran Quirke (Duagh) 25. Anthony Maher (Duagh) 26. Mike Moloney (Dr. Crokes) and 27. Paddy Curran (Waterville)

The changes are Tomas for Quirke and Kieran O'Leary for Brozzie who is injured.
Massive game as the loser is probably out of contention for the league and facing a relegation battle.

For the Tyrone lads why is Kevin Hughes called hub?
Post by: red hander on February 14, 2008, 01:27:49 PM
Quote from: SuperDooperCooper on February 14, 2008, 01:05:32 PM
The All-Ireland champions have declared their hand as well:
1. Diarmuid Murphy
Subs: 16. Kieran Cremin 17. Michéal Quirke 18. Paul O'Connor 19. Donnacha Walsh 20. Tommy Walsh 21.Daniel Bohane
22. Ronán Ó Flatharta 23. Darren O'Sullivan 24. Kieran Quirke (Duagh) 25. Anthony Maher (Duagh) 26. Mike Moloney (Dr. Crokes) and 27. Paddy Curran (Waterville)

The changes are Tomas for Quirke and Kieran O'Leary for Brozzie who is injured.
Massive game as the loser is probably out of contention for the league and facing a relegation battle.

For the Tyrone lads why is Kevin Hughes called hub?

Are those two Quirke's brothers, SDC? And are they as big as each other?  Was reading in The Kerryman Donaghy and one of the Quirkes were still playing basketball ... are they still at it or have they given it up for the NFL?  Also, what's that O'Leary like?  Don't think I've ever seen him play.

As for 'Hub', I couldn't honestly tell you, probably have to be a Killeeshil man to answer that for you

Post by: feetofflames on February 14, 2008, 02:18:11 PM
Why would Kerry risk Conor Gormley humiliating Donaghy again.  To me thats just bad management.
As for the kerry team thats  a Fear some bunch of animals. 
Post by: Fuzzman on February 14, 2008, 03:49:48 PM
Fleet of Flames are you trying to tempt fate?

We know how good Block is but surely you've saw enough football to know that a defender can play a stormer the whole game and then slip or make one mistake and the FF scores a goal.

Remember Ulster final 2003 v Down when they punched those high balls in from freak angles.

I'm still wary of Nephew at half back and think he's occasional foray up field to get his point overlooks a lot of his defensive qualities.
I've saw team target him with kick-outs and if he's marking a fast half forward he's left for dead.

I'd much rather have Gourley or a fit Justin at No 5.
Wonder if we had a different manager would he be such a regular.

I'm a little concerned with two small corner forwards and Mugsy as the only target man.
He hasnt been the best at winning his own ball in recent years so can see a lot of short passing into the forwards which leads to lots of swarm defending.

Would love to see big Sean thrown into FF for 2nd half.
Post by: ONeill on February 14, 2008, 04:22:28 PM
I see Justin played FB for St Mary's.
Post by: tieroan on February 14, 2008, 04:34:20 PM
I have a feeling that Kerry will hammer Tyrone this week. That is a strong Kerry team and to be honest a poor Tyrone one. There is a terrible lack of strenght in that Tyrone team and the Nephew would not be a regular under anyone else!
Post by: rrhf on February 14, 2008, 05:01:29 PM
Its a team that cant score enough to beat Kerry thats for sure, but they should be able to defend and lets face it thats where Tyrone must concentrate this weekend.  theres a lot I would do differently however I think Davy has been 1 of Tyrones best players for the past 2 years and is well worth his place albeit he was horrid against Kildare. 
To me Tyrone should get hammered on that team certainly if 3 or 4 members play as they did the last day.  Mickey needs to make 5 early changes if needs be.  make them quick.
Yet dont write a Mickey Harte Team off, If Tyrone can get within 3 points of that Kerry team with that Tyrone team then lets quit with all the forboding, we'll have as good a chance as anyone  this year.  Big game for the years ahead.  Kerry have only defeated Tyrone 1 in 8 under Mickey.  Kerry cant usually cope with Mickey Hartes teams.  Great record -  bog it into the animals!!
Post by: ONeill on February 14, 2008, 05:58:06 PM
I still think the Nephew, Model and Block are essential to a top-performing Tyrone defence. Throw in an in-form Ricey, McGee(with tongue hanging out)/Carlin and the Return of the Mc(Mahon) and we'll not leak too many. Remember, only 4 or 5 points went over the bar for Kildare, albeit comparing the Lilys to the Animals is like matching Smash mash with spuds from Greece.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on February 14, 2008, 06:40:07 PM
Its going to be a very interesting game. Id be happy enough with our defense and midfield but would worry that we wont get enough scores up front. Its essential that the free taking improves or we can forget about victory in this one. Kerry deserve to be favourites. I still think Tyrone have a chance - that Kerry forward line is 3 players down on 1st choice and scores mightnt come just as easily for them as usual either. If Gormley can stop Donaghy getting goals and we can avoid giving away stupid free's (pretty obvious stuff!) then I cant see Kerry putting up a huge score. Wouldnt be suprised if Donaghy spends a lot of time out in the middle. Im looking forward to see how are half forward line copes against possibly the best half back line in the country. If Cavanagh and McMenamin were fit to come on in the 2nd half it would give the team a huge lift and could be enough to secure victory though Im not convinced either is fit to come on.
Post by: red hander on February 14, 2008, 06:42:57 PM
Mulligan needs to step up to the plate ... he has it in him, he's now the senior man in the forward line and he needs to grab the thing by the scruff of the neck ... time to see the mugsy we saw against dublin in 2005
Post by: ONeill on February 14, 2008, 06:49:27 PM
Quote from: red hander on February 14, 2008, 06:42:57 PM
Mulligan needs to step up to the plate ...

Trying to resist it.......
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on February 14, 2008, 10:33:53 PM
Suppose its inevitable that when Tyrone are struggling people will turn on Davy Harte the way they turned on Mark Harte when he was on the panel, both easy targets. Certainly very unfair on Davy who albeit we probably didnt expect him to become a regular when he first got onto the panel has actually been a very good player for Tyrone. These latest attacks on him seem to be based on one very poor (and very costly) decision at the end of the game against Kildare which is harsh in the extreme. He is a very steady and underated player.
All that said I actually wouldnt mind seeing Carlin get a run at no.5 because Im not convinced about him in the corner or at CHB. His ability though to drive forward with power and pace could be asset at no.5 and I think a Carlin, Gormley, Jordan unit could be excellent. Its more likely however that nephew will hold onto his place and Ive no great problem with that.

Decent enough looking team for the Kerry game in the circumstances. Bit surprised McCaul hasnt been named in the starting 15 for either league game so far but his time will come. Time now for a few of the younger lads to stand up and be counted. A couple of good performances from this team with the likes of Ricey, Sean, Hoover and Brian McGuigan (hopefully) then to come back and we might start getting some momentum up.
Post by: Puckoon on February 15, 2008, 12:20:01 AM
Quote from: ONeill on February 14, 2008, 05:58:06 PM
I still think the Nephew, Model and Block are essential to a top-performing Tyrone defence. Throw in an in-form Ricey, McGee(with tongue hanging out)/Carlin and the Return of the Mc(Mahon) and we'll not leak too many. Remember, only 4 or 5 points went over the bar for Kildare, albeit comparing the Lilys to the Animals is like matching Smash mash with spuds from Greece.

Horses for courses. I think Davy is one of the most consistent performers Tyrone have had recently. His defending needs a little work at times however.

McGee almost lost that tounge a couple of times, hes had it stitched back in at least once when it was sliced almost half the way across!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 15, 2008, 12:21:09 AM
Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on February 14, 2008, 10:33:53 PM
Suppose its inevitable that when Tyrone are struggling people will turn on Davy Harte the way they turned on Mark Harte when he was on the panel, both easy targets...

Disagree there LDA, I'd hope that any criticisms I have are based purely on a 70 minutes display, and that alone, and I know that in the past Mickey has been very quick to make the necessary changes, regardless of familial loyalties, or perceived loyalties. He's only human, after all, and at times I'm sure his judgement is blurred somewhat by the "...just because he's my son/nephew I'm going to be totally objective here, regardless...", but... that's a two-edged sword, so it can cut the other way, totally unintentionally, where he can be blind where he should have seen (bit like the teacher's son (or daughter) in school), and that's what makes management where blood relatives are concerned a veritable minefield. Tread lightly... not likely with MH, and good luck to him.

Quote from: Puckoon on February 15, 2008, 12:20:01 AM
Horses for courses. I think Davy is one of the most consistent performers Tyrone have had recently. His defending needs a little work at times however.

Agree entirely Puckoon, but won't hold back (within reason) where I think he's been lacking in any particular game. At his best, he's worth twice his weight and speed. Like a lot of our players the firmer ground suits him better, but the Kildare game is a good one to have out of his system.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 15, 2008, 09:32:22 AM
I don't know lads.
I haven't saw him this year yet so I'm not commenting on any one match such as the Kildare game.

All I'm saying is that in my opinion there are other defenders who are faster, stronger and better fielders than he is. He got roasted last year against Donegal time and time again. I've watched games where the other teams keeper targets him with lots of kickouts and despite his wholesome honest attitude I just think he's not one of our best 6 defenders.

I know I'm not the manager but it is a discussion board and we are entitled to voice our opinion if we think someone else would be better in that position.
I think it's only natural for a manager to have his favourites and for him sometimes to "STICK" with a player because of past glories in the hope he will come good
I'm thinking here of Mugsy before he scored that wonder goal v the Dubs in 2005.

Its hardly a witch hunt as yet to get the Nephew out but I think people overlook his lack of speed, fielding ability as he's not the tallest and his general defensive duties just because he's consistent and get the odd point from half back.

You must compare him with what's on the bench as you should do if Ricey or Carlin is having a bad game also.
In Fairness Mickey has pulled him off a few times but all I'm asking is if we have a fit Gourley, Justin McMahon, Collie Holmes, Carlin etc then how many of ye would not say these are better players than Davey if you were to leave sentiment at home.

There's a feeling of "Ah he's the nephew and he's quite consistent to let it be".
Of course there's other players you could also name that are often picked but aren't just doing it now for some time

Mellon, Mugsy even Cavanagh junior though he's young and learning his trade and esems to get an awful amount of abuse from defenders.

I started off with a bad feeling about this Sat but I'm beginning to look forward to it now
If midfield can get their fair share of ball I think we might do OK if its a solid pitch
DRAW
Post by: ONeill on February 15, 2008, 09:57:28 AM
Also starting to feel better about this. If McCullagh, Mugsy or Gormley are on-form in terms of free-taking, we've a chance.

Players can lose form and if Davy has a stinker on Sat he'll be benched I'm sure for the next. He's a fine player though.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 15, 2008, 10:26:55 AM
Yeah I agree

People change and players lose form and gain form again later
Mugsy is a prime example of this

Even Mickey himself is a changed manager from his days back in 2003.
Post by: cavanmaniac on February 15, 2008, 01:17:34 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 15, 2008, 09:32:22 AM
In Fairness Mickey has pulled him off a few times but all I'm asking is if we have a fit Gourley, Justin McMahon, Collie Holmes, Carlin etc then how many of ye would not say these are better players than Davey if you were to leave sentiment at home.

Tell me you wrote that on purpose, and highlighted it to boot... :P
Post by: Quarterback on February 15, 2008, 03:07:40 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 15, 2008, 09:32:22 AM
I don't know lads.
I haven't saw him this year yet so I'm not commenting on any one match such as the Kildare game.

All I'm saying is that in my opinion there are other defenders who are faster, stronger and better fielders than he is. He got roasted last year against Donegal time and time again. I've watched games where the other teams keeper targets him with lots of kickouts and despite his wholesome honest attitude I just think he's not one of our best 6 defenders.

I know I'm not the manager but it is a discussion board and we are entitled to voice our opinion if we think someone else would be better in that position.
I think it's only natural for a manager to have his favourites and for him sometimes to "STICK" with a player because of past glories in the hope he will come good
I'm thinking here of Mugsy before he scored that wonder goal v the Dubs in 2005.

Its hardly a witch hunt as yet to get the Nephew out but I think people overlook his lack of speed, fielding ability as he's not the tallest and his general defensive duties just because he's consistent and get the odd point from half back.

You must compare him with what's on the bench as you should do if Ricey or Carlin is having a bad game also.

There's a feeling of "Ah he's the nephew and he's quite consistent to let it be".
Of course there's other players you could also name that are often picked but aren't just doing it now for some time

Mellon, Mugsy even Cavanagh junior though he's young and learning his trade and esems to get an awful amount of abuse from defenders.

I started off with a bad feeling about this Sat but I'm beginning to look forward to it now
If midfield can get their fair share of ball I think we might do OK if its a solid pitch
DRAW

Draw.....Cum on you guys....

I have to say im really worried about Saturday night... I look at the kerry back line and the team as a whole and i see a hungry bunch of men who have had the tyrone coup over their heads this past seasons......I think...where will they tyrone scores come from??....We had trouble scoring against a mediocre Kildare team yet we think it will be close against the all ireland champs.....

It could be a nightmare in the fullback line with only the block capable of thwarting the high ball..... how will quinn and swift cope with the high ball....lets refer back to colm mc fadden earlier in the year when wer'e thinking about this one....I felt harte should have opted with more height in that department...

Up front i feel is where the real problems will start...Mulligan has never done it without either canavan or mcguigan bye his side yet were all waiting on him to pull the strings....Free kicks is another prblem, we dont have a reliable freekick taker whilst on the other hand they have sheehan...

I hope im wrong but unless the old guard comes off the bench i.e. cavanagh ricey etc i feel we will be lucky to remain within 5 points off them....

Finally il ask the question, is Stephen o Neill a bigger loss to tyrone or Micky Harte.....

Post by: Fuzzman on February 15, 2008, 04:24:10 PM
(http://firstrung.co.uk/dbimgs/iStock_can%20of%20worms.jpg) 1/4 BACK digging that one up

I think it will be closer than you think and I think the sight of the green and gold gets the hunger back for the red hands.
They looked nothing too special against a weakened Donegal team either

Mugsy to score 1.04 and Tyrone by 2

Post by: Kerry Mike on February 15, 2008, 08:25:34 PM
1. Diarmuid Murphy

Are those two Quirke's brothers, SDC? And are they as big as each other?  Was reading in The Kerryman Donaghy and one of the Quirkes were still playing basketball ... are they still at it or have they given it up for the NFL?  Also, what's that O'Leary like?  Don't think I've ever seen him play.

No not even related and different clubs, Mike Quirke is the basketball player and himself and Donaghy still line out for Tralee but football always gets priority. Must be a first for Duagh having 2 players on a Kerry panel. Good to see former minor star Paddy Curran in the panel too, but he has lots to do get any game time this year.

The goalie and back line picks itself at this stage and with little defensive options those lads need to be pushed more by panel players to avoid any complacancy, same problem as last year.

Good to see Tommy Griffin back in the fold in midfield after a miserable year for him last year with injury, himself and Scanlon have much to prove this year but also will need to lay down a marker for the elder O'Se when he decides to come out to play that he just wont walk back on the team.

The forwards as usual has the most spots up for grabs but with Brosnan and Captain Galvin out injured it creates the opportunity for David Ogie Moran to have another start , I thought he did well against Donegal 2 weeks ago. Sean O'Sulliavn was lost in the corner the last day and a run in his normal wing position will suit him better where his pace will keep the Tyrone half backs occupied. Declan O'Sullivan will lead the attack from his best position and his usual hard work and ball control will be vital to break down the tyronies.

The passing was very sloppy against Donegal but with an extra 2 weeks training it should see a sharper Kerry team this weekend.
Kieran O'Leary has been on the panel the last few years with little game time, and with the Gooch sunning his hole in the US his club mate can try and make a name for himself, promissed much in underage and at club level so it will be a good trial of him against a tigerish Tyrone full back line, he will be wearing the Gooch's special protective googles for this encounter as you never know where a stray thumb, finger or elbow might end up  :P.

Looking forward to seeing Donaghy and Gormley, true Gormley got the upper hand in the Railway cup when switched onto him but that was in the middle of Kerry's annual beerfest in October so we should read nought into that, but this will be a big test for both big men.  2 big reputations are on the line even this early in the year. Bryan Sheehan missed a few sitters last time out and will need to improve his frees for Tyrone.

At the other end Tom O'Sullivan will be looking forward to to his clash with the blonde. There will be a few skelps (friendly of course)  between these two and if the Referee, formerly known as that useless bollix from Galway, plays up to form either of these two could be testing out the showers in Stacks Park, though hopefully not together, cause thats just not a pretty thought.

Hard to call but would be happy if  we shade it, a vital game for both teams, Kerry threw it away against Donegal and will want to get out quicker this weekend and finish off Tyrone if they get a chance. Tyrone should be more match fit given recent McKenna games and the Unibrow will have them well up for it.

The stewards in Tralee have been warned that if a wee baldy f**ker answering to the name of The Great throws off his jacket or tracksuit top after half time they are to stop him from getting on the field. Mr Maguire may be making an appearance for anyone travelling who might not see him for a while again.

It will have little or no bearing on the year in general I'd say, the league is a different fecking animal, yerra tis all about survival at the moment but no one can afford to lose.

Ciarrai Abu.
Post by: Puckoon on February 15, 2008, 08:30:38 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on February 15, 2008, 08:25:34 PM
1. Diarmuid Murphy

No not even related and different clubs, Mike Quirke is the basketball player and himself and Donaghy still line out for Tralee but football always gets priority. Must be a first for Duagh having 2 players on a Kerry panel. Good to see former minor star Paddy Curran in the panel too, but he has lots to do get any game time this year.

The goalie and back line picks itself at this stage and with little defensive options those lads need to be pushed more by panel players to avoid any complacancy, same problem as last year.

Good to see Tommy Griffin back in the fold in midfield after a miserable year for him last year with injury, himself and Scanlon have much to prove this year but also will need to lay down a marker for the elder O'Se when he decides to come out to play that he just wont walk back on the team.

The forwards as usual has the most spots up for grabs but with Brosnan and Captain Galvin out injured it creates the opportunity for David Ogie Moran to have another start , I thought he did well against Donegal 2 weeks ago. Sean O'Sulliavn was lost in the corner the last day and a run in his normal wing position will suit him better where his pace will keep the Tyrone half backs occupied. Declan O'Sullivan will lead the attack from his best position and his usual hard work and ball control will be vital to break down the tyronies.

The passing was very sloppy against Donegal but with an extra 2 weeks training it should see a sharper Kerry team this weekend.
Kieran O'Leary has been on the panel the last few years with little game time, and with the Gooch sunning his hole in the US his club mate can try and make a name for himself, promissed much in underage and at club level so it will be a good trial of him against a tigerish Tyrone full back line, he will be wearing the Gooch's special protective googles for this encounter as you never know where a stray thumb, finger or elbow might end up  :P.

Looking forward to seeing Donaghy and Gormley, true Gormley got the upper hand in the Railway cup when switched onto him but that was in the middle of Kerry's annual beerfest in October so we should read nought into that, but this will be a big test for both big men.  2 big reputations are on the line even this early in the year. Bryan Sheehan missed a few sitters last time out and will need to improve his frees for Tyrone.

At the other end Tom O'Sullivan will be looking forward to to his clash with the blonde. There will be a few skelps (friendly of course)  between these two and if the Referee, formerly known as that useless bollix from Galway, plays up to form either of these two could be testing out the showers in Stacks Park, though hopefully not together, cause thats just not a pretty thought.

Hard to call but would be happy if  we shade it, a vital game for both teams, Kerry threw it away against Donegal and will want to get out quicker this weekend and finish off Tyrone if they get a chance. Tyrone should be more match fit given recent McKenna games and the Unibrow will have them well up for it.

The stewards in Tralee have been warned that if a wee baldy f**ker answering to the name of The Great throws off his jacket or tracksuit top after half time they are to stop him from getting on the field. Mr Maguire may be making an appearance for anyone travelling who might not see him for a while again.

It will have little or no bearing on the year in general I'd say, the league is a different fecking animal, yerra tis all about survival at the moment but no one can afford to lose.

Ciarrai Abu.

Great post KM, neatly summed up in the highlighted section.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 15, 2008, 09:03:51 PM
Fair dues KM, an honest call.

I'm hoping that this is the game where the Hub eventually rediscovers his best, and if it doesn't happen in the Kingdom against the AI Champs, then I'd finally begin (or continue) to seriously wonder if he ever can. If he (The Hub) can scale something to like his most rarefied heights, we've a real chance, especially with Dara absent, though those two in the Kerry midfield are no second raters.

Anyways, here's to a good, open, honest game of entertaining football; just as the games between the Red Hand and the Kingdom invariably and undoubtedly always are  ;)

Tír Eoghain (agus Tra Lí) abú!
Post by: Puckoon on February 15, 2008, 09:07:40 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 15, 2008, 09:03:51 PM
Fair dues KM, an honest call.

I'm hoping that this is the game where the Hub eventually rediscovers his best, and if it doesn't happen in the Kingdom against the AI Champs, then I'd finally begin (or continue) to seriously wonder if he ever can. If he (The Hub) can scale something to like his most rarefied heights, we've a real chance, especially with Dara absent, though those two in the Kerry midfield are no second raters.

Anyways, here's to a good, open, honest game of entertaining football; just as the games between the Red Hand and the Kingdom invariably and undoubtedly always are  ;)

Tír Eoghain (agus Tra Lí) abú!

FOSB, thats a tough assessment. In Kerry, against Kerry on a late winter day is his last chance saloon???
The first 20 will tell us alot about the new men in the corners and tomorrow will say alot about Mugsy being able to step up and be the main man. Kerry were very sluggish against donegal, and I dont know how much two weeks will make to their fitness levels.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 15, 2008, 09:13:52 PM
Not quite last chance saloon Puckoon, but my personal in belief in Kevin being able to scale again will diminish considerably. And the time of year and conditions will be the same for everyone -- there was a time when he excelled regardless of the season or the sod.
Post by: ONeill on February 15, 2008, 10:00:32 PM
100%.

Hub has to prove to Mickey again.
Post by: orangeman on February 15, 2008, 11:50:52 PM
Like the team, I think we've seen the best of Hub.
Post by: Zapatista on February 16, 2008, 12:18:05 PM
Unfortunately I won't get to see the game. Can anyone tell me if Setanta are repeating it during the week?
Post by: Puckoon on February 16, 2008, 02:37:09 PM
Setanta broadband arent showing it until 8pm pacific time, anyone have any other links????
Post by: Caitlin on February 16, 2008, 05:01:52 PM
Setanta Sports 2 are showing it at 10.15.This will be available to people on the Virgin/Setanta deal in NI
Post by: magickingdom on February 16, 2008, 10:06:59 PM
Kerry 12 - Tyrone 09
just in from the match and just heading out! good game on a feckin cold night with a great crowd there, thought kerry were well worth the win and should have won by more. good games for kerry by killian young, marc o se, thought scannlon did well enough, donaghy great (but no score) david moran got about the hour and did alright when darren o sullivan came on for him and did better, tommy walsh also got a run so there are two great names from the past back (moran/walsh) bryan sheehan did well as did declan o sullivan. tyrone man of the match? pascal mcconnell, need i say more! made 2 great saves. what does it all mean for the summer? sfa imo...
Post by: under the bar on February 16, 2008, 10:18:50 PM
Tyrone decimated by injuries and with Conor Gormley hobbled at the last minute neverthelsee refuse to lie downto Kerry in their back yard.  Only  their 2nd defeat in 8 contests under Mickey Harte's tutelage.  A make-shift Tyrone defence notably holds Donaghy scoreless.
Post by: tyssam5 on February 16, 2008, 10:22:54 PM
Listened to last 15 mins on Q107 - McGinn is good craic. Doesn't pull many punches.

Didn't really get the jist of the game too much, other than that Kerry should have been more ahead at half time.

Baptism of fire for McCarron at full-back, Gormley had flu? Whole full back line was all rookies actually, how did they look?

McGinn did not like McGuigan and C Cavanagh's holding up of the ball and not hitting the men making runs.
Also didn't like the fact that Mulligan wasn't making any runs.
Post by: Puckoon on February 16, 2008, 11:40:05 PM
Listened to it on Radio Kerry, once I got the accent sorted out I had a fair idea of who was who.

General Gist according to the boyos on the wireless

1. Mugsy was too far out to be causing any trouble

2. Donaghy (while scoreless) reined the full back line and was involved in almost every score

3. Scanlon lorded midfield (first half at least, I was drifting in and out in the second)

4. Brian Sheehans free taking was first class as usual (and boy, hes fairly trimmed down and will be expected to be in some shape come september!!)  Cocky fecking eejits! (probably true though)

Not looking forward to watching it on setanta later.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 16, 2008, 11:52:42 PM
Watched it LIVE on Setanta and to be fair Kerry were the much superior team but had a lot of wides and couldn't seem to pul away
Tyrone looked very toothless in attack and midfield struggled again.

Was a reasonably open game I thought but again Mugsy, Hub were poor and Carlin and Cathal McCarron going off Injured
Donaghy did some fine catches and could have scored at least 2 goals but set up many other scores.
Thought Justy did well when he came in but why or why do we keep getting injuries.

Not a bad showing but obviously lacking a star forward now to carry the attacking threat and Mugsy just doesn't do it for me any more

He even missed another easy enough free and his living on past glory.
Harte was optmistic that after Galway we've 3 home matches and Derry away who beat Laois away tonight.
He talked of surviving relegation should be OK and that we could even end up in the mix. I can't see it myself

Think its still too early to panic though but I think we no longer have a dangerous forward line and so the days of scoring 0.21 in games are long gone. Are we gonna become a defensive minded team to grind out wins like 0.9 to 0.8

Post by: Dinny Breen on February 17, 2008, 09:16:59 AM
QuoteA make-shift Tyrone defence notably holds Donaghy scoreless.

But how much did he set-up, he was fantastic for Kerry I thought...
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 17, 2008, 11:54:08 AM
An entertaining 70 minutes of football, on a perfect February night for it, with Kerry well worth their win.

The (Tír Eoghain) positives:

The negatives:

All in all, more positive than negative, but until we're close to being as strong in midfield and attack as we are in defence we can't realistically have aspirations towards the greatest prize this year... but it is only February.
Post by: phpearse on February 17, 2008, 12:38:22 PM
Watched the match on Setanta last night. Kerry were very good in the first half and really should have been out of site by half time. They were much sharper,were first to most of the breaking ball and ruled the midfield sector.

I thought the FB line had a torid fist half but settled better after the break. McConnell did well to save two goal efforts but he also gave up two points. One with the delay in the kick out the other with the pathetic fisted effort when he was unchallenged in the square. McCarron couldn't handle Donaghy at all, although the ball coming in was very good. Donaghy wasn't held scoreless, he did score a fisted point in the second half. Justin McMahon did do a decent job when he replaced McCarron at FB, although he was helped by a better workrate from the players out the field who limited the ball going into Donaghy.

Half back line again poor first half and better second. Jordan tried hard.

While McGinley didn't catch any clean ball in MF his workrate was tremendous. 2 points from play and winning a couple of scoreable frees. Hub was non existent.

Forwards were generally poor with the exception of McCullagh. Colm Cavanagh did well to last the whole game.

We'll be able to strengthen the backs and MF come championship time but lets face it we'll struggle to get points on the board. Did we even create one goal chance last night?

It's a case now of getting enough points to stay in div 1. That could be easier said than done.
Post by: stephenite on February 17, 2008, 12:41:32 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 17, 2008, 11:54:08 AM
  • Holding Donaghy scoreless, with 2nd and 3rd choice full backs, though he was involved in just about every Kerry score

Errm, just watching it now - Donaghy scored a fisted point on 56 minutes, and it's fairly obvious so far that it is the 2nd and 3rd choice full backs, he's cleaning them. That been said if Tyrone had their full deck it would be a different game
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on February 17, 2008, 01:09:06 PM
Unfortunately didn't get to see the game last night as all the pubs in Limerick (and I tried about 15) were watching the Leinster v Cardiff Blues rugby match.
Great to see that Seamus Scanlon had a fine game was clear from his underage days that he had the talent now he has the application as well.
From a Kerry team with so little training under their belts to be so competitive this early in the season is a positive sign, would not be overly concerned with the wides tally, the accuracy will come with the firmness in the sod.
The supporting pack seem to be stepping up to the plate which can only be beneficial when the marquee names return (Dara O'Se, Gooch, Galvin, Brozzie).
Would be happy eneough to avoid relegation this year and see a few new back come through but based on the reports from last night there is nothing wrong with the back line at present.
Post by: ONeill on February 17, 2008, 01:28:10 PM
Yes, I thought Donaghy did score.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on February 17, 2008, 02:27:47 PM
Thought we were poor enough. Hub and Mulligan might as well not have been on! Justy McMahon did well on Donaghy when he came on but the same quality of ball didnt come in as had done early in the game. Thought Phily Jordan was Tyrones best player by some distance - he'd some amout of possession and rarily wasted it. I said earlier we needed to sort out are free kick taking and we didnt. Owen Mulligan is now terrible at the free's - in order to be a good free kick taker you have to put in the practice and the signs are that Mulligan isnt doing any practice at them at all. The big worry going foward is our forwards and Im not sure if we'll be able to solve the problem without O'Neill. Is there any updates on Brian McGuigan? Is he still training away?
Post by: magickingdom on February 17, 2008, 03:07:27 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 17, 2008, 01:28:10 PM
Yes, I thought Donaghy did score.

didnt think donaghy scored but havent seen it on the telly yet, presume it'll be shown during the week. met a lot of tyrone supporters in tralee last night and none were too happy. tyrone must get a free taker or they will have problems..

Quote from: SuperDooperCooper on February 17, 2008, 01:09:06 PM
Would be happy eneough to avoid relegation this year and see a few new back come through but based on the reports from last night there is nothing wrong with the back line at present.

think the kerry backs are great at the minute and pick themselves
Post by: Puckoon on February 17, 2008, 04:47:13 PM
I dont know if it really matters if he scored or not. We werent competitive enough with our scoring. He was involved in most of what Kerry did.
Post by: supersarsfields on February 17, 2008, 06:47:20 PM
Watched the game on tv. I think most of the points have been made. Whether the star scored or not is irrelevant. He still did the majority of the damage to the makeshift full back line. Would have loved to see Gormley picking up Donaghy as it would have made it alot closer. Hopefully we'll get a chance to see that at some stage later in the year. Donaghy is just class. His ability to catch the ball one handed and the strength to hold of his marker is going to do alot of damage to teams this year.
From the Tyrone team I actually thought my MOM was Enda. Thought he covered some amount of ground as usually found Tyrone men with his passes. Jordan would have been the next closest in my opinion. Colm Cavanagh, Mulgrew, McGuigan, Gormley didn't feature enough and Tyrone never looked dangerous breaking, which has been their trade mark in past years. Unless a couple of these forwards hit a big patch of Form Tyrone's year may be very short!
Post by: AZOffaly on February 17, 2008, 06:50:39 PM
Donaghy got a point in the second half. Bryan Sheehan, I think, handpassed it over to him, and he punched it over the bar from the edge of the square.

Kieran O'Leary didn't look bad. He's been knocking about for Crokes for a couple of years. The first point he got was archetype corner forward play. Win the ball in your chest out in front. Dummy one way, go back the other and swing it over with your left. Very nice.
Post by: ONeill on February 17, 2008, 06:55:25 PM
To be fair to Mugsy, he received little good ball coming in. Kerry's defence was top-notch (was that their AI defence?) and were a step ahead every time. Tyrone's defence weren't the worst either but have seen little from Swift and Quinn to say that they're a better option to what we have. Jordan is looking fit and hungry already which is a great sign. McGinley had another fine game although Kerry lorded much of midfield. Don't know about Colm Cavanagh at wing forward. Maybe he'd make a decent 14 along the lines of the Star approach. Gormley was quiet.

Free-taking from distance is a problem and it's pointless rotating it 4-5 times a game. McCullagh is tidy from close in but seeing Mulgrew/Mulligan/Cavanagh lining up to take a 45 this summer will not inspire confidence. I don't know what the answer is given the present squad.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on February 17, 2008, 06:58:45 PM
Ive asked this before but isnt Justy McMahon a tidy free taker from distance for Omagh?? If he is going to force his way onto the team he might be an option for the frees?
Post by: Puckoon on February 17, 2008, 07:00:51 PM
Justin is a fine free taker from distance.
Post by: ONeill on February 17, 2008, 07:10:38 PM
Yes I was talking to an Omagh player at the Ulster minor final and he said Justin would be the man for the job. I'd say there's a good chance he could nail the FB spot, though MF wouldn't be ruled out. Not many FBs hitting frees these days!
Post by: never kickt a ball on February 17, 2008, 07:19:54 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 17, 2008, 06:55:25 PM
Free-taking from distance is a problem and it's pointless rotating it 4-5 times a game. McCullagh is tidy from close in but seeing Mulgrew/Mulligan/Cavanagh lining up to take a 45 this summer will not inspire confidence. I don't know what the answer is given the present squad.
A bit of hard work and PRACTICE might do the trick. Since Colm Cavanagh was carried off during the Tyrone V Donegal game last year it's been obvious that Tyrone are short of a right footed free taker. I can't remember now who eventually took the free (and missed) but McCullagh, Cavlan and Mellon all prepared to take it while Colm was treated. Mugsy is the obvious answer but I get the feeling (maybe I'm wrong) that he never practices frees from one game to the next. Someone needs to be assigned the role and then a bit of practice and hard work and the problem might be solved. What's Tommy Fiddis doing this weather? Justy can be a fine free taker but like McCullagh he's left footed.  
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 17, 2008, 09:40:36 PM
Quote from: stephenite on February 17, 2008, 12:41:32 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 17, 2008, 11:54:08 AM
  • Holding Donaghy scoreless, with 2nd and 3rd choice full backs, though he was involved in just about every Kerry score

Errm, just watching it now - Donaghy scored a fisted point on 56 minutes, and it's fairly obvious so far that it is the 2nd and 3rd choice full backs, he's cleaning them. That been said if Tyrone had their full deck it would be a different game

Yes, completely correct, I meant goalless (d'oh!), which is always a bonus against Star.
Post by: Aaron Boone on February 17, 2008, 11:31:21 PM
Some of Tyrone's scores in the first half were very efficient and they used the ball well. They had to as Kerry were well on top in midfield. Kerry's defence was very good though when it mattered in the second half. It would have been a fortunate draw if Tyrone had got a goal at the end. The ref had a poor enough outing and didn't let the game flow.
Post by: ONeill on February 18, 2008, 10:04:14 AM
I thought Tyrone were rather laboured up front with the Kerry defence able to read the final ball with relative ease. However, a 12-9 scoreline ain't the worst. If Tyrone can find some kind of attacking spark - someone who will set the pulse racing when he receives the ball - they'll still cause some teams bother. Kerry have Donaghy and Cooper, Armagh have McDonnell, Derry have Bradley. Monaghan have Freeman, Cork have Masters etc - players who are well capable of sticking her in the net with a bit of individual magic. From what I've seen the only man capable of such brilliance is Mulgrew yet he seems to be employed around the breaking ball middle third, too far out to do any damage to the scoreboard. Mulgrew's not lightening but he has the class and verve to unlock defences. It's finding that consistant 3-5 points from play man to feed off the likes of Mulgrew or McGuigan that seems to be the problem

Last year I thought Niall Gormley was starting to show signs of being a dangerous corner forward with a turn of speed capable of creating havoc. He looked somewhat out-of-shape on Saturday night so there's time yet.
Post by: loughshore lad on February 18, 2008, 10:15:07 AM
I thought the defence played fairly well on Saturday night considering the immense pressure they were under. For me PJ Quinn is good enough to nail down a starting place and he did his chances no harm on Saturday night. Jordan put in an excellent performance and is starting to regain his form after a few injury blighted seasons. Its from midfield forward where we are struggling, seriously lack direction and incisiveness. As fine a player as Mulgrew is he is not nor ever will be a replacement for McGuigan - Mulgrew is not as direct. Apart from McCullagh the forwards didnt perform and its difficult to see things changing in the near future.

Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2008, 10:46:14 AM
I'm afraid Hub seems ot have lost form completely - I know Kerry are very formidable opponents but Kerry could have won by 10 points.
Post by: snappiered on February 18, 2008, 12:55:02 PM
Any word on Conor Gormley?
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2008, 12:59:34 PM
Flu I heard ??
Post by: Star Spangler on February 18, 2008, 01:18:06 PM
I know there's a lot here being made about the forwards on Saturday night but I'd lay the blame for that with the poor supply they were getting.  Our midfield wasn't there for large parts of the game.  They were so anonymous for the first 20 minutes it made Kerry look a lot better than they were - thankfully their shooting was badly off.  McGinley worked hard and came into it more in the second half but his lack of ability in the air is a major handicap for playing in the middle.  Hub was fairly anonymous and when he did gain possession he seemed to always take the wrong option.  The rest of the team I thought played well and a few of the young lads showed up very well, particularly at the back.  If we can sort out midfield I'd feel positive enough about our prospects.
Post by: rrhf on February 18, 2008, 01:58:08 PM
Too many still judge Tyrone by 2005 standards.  Without forwards ye cant win airelands and Tyrone are not all ireland contenders this year.  By recent standards Saturday night was a much more improved Tyrone performance.  There are well documented  serious problems with Tyrone football in the middle third and even worse in attack, there are at least 5 individuals in the panel that are getting a possibly unfair amount of chances, but credit where credit is due, Harte Jordan, Mc Mahon, Mc Caul showed the neccessary hunger thats driving Tyrone football at the moment.  The defence is as good as there is in the country, and maybe that can be the area where we can nullify even the best of attacks.  Well done to Tyrone on Saturday night.  They showed a lot of pride in the jersey.       
Post by: Shadylimp on February 18, 2008, 02:06:54 PM
well i think im convinced about the analysts on this board now and how they continually get it wrong! having read all posts so far, everyone seems to be under the impression that the defence played well the other night. this i cant figure out, only for kerrys poor shooting there would have been a cricket score in it, and they didnt miss cos of the pressure from the defence on them, it was just poor shooting from kerry that let tyrone off. as for the forwards they were starved of ball although any time it did go into them they didnt look threatening. panic stations everyone! although us tyrone supporters always seem to be there.
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2008, 02:12:26 PM
Kerry could have won by 10 points
Shady
I did make this point earlier.
Post by: snappiered on February 18, 2008, 02:17:37 PM
Hope its just the flu that Conor had. The rumour mill is starting to get into full swing again.
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2008, 02:23:01 PM
Which rumour is that ???
Post by: Puckoon on February 18, 2008, 02:24:12 PM
Is Hub finished at FF also? What about employing a big man there? Colm Cavanagh? Justin Mac? Is this even worth a try?
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2008, 02:37:08 PM
I think the point is that our midfield isn't supplying the forward line with enough ball in order to create the chances to score.
Post by: feetofflames on February 18, 2008, 02:39:26 PM
Playing Hughes in midfield nearly 5 years after he played his best game for Tyrone is now delusionary.  If the rumours about Gormley refusing to play are true, Tyrones years is about to get a lot bleaker, I heard from a Carmen man that they are bollix, I heard from another Carmen man that they are true - the moral of the stoy is that you have to ask three Carmen people on anything before you can establish the truth.
As for the forward line, they are able to hold the ball up even and its delusionary to think that things will improve, they lack the quality that has been there for a couple of generations now.  Steven O Neill is desperately needed for the championship.  Tyrone are staring down the barrel of relegation and wont score enough to get themselves out of trouble.  
I disagree about the criticisms of Tyrones defence and big Enda.  Even without Gormley, Kerry could not get through.  I know Tyrone lived on the edge, ye always will against the best,  Mickey Harte has an ingenious ability to organise a defence, I worry about the attack now.  Without the defence travelling up the field Tyrone cant score, and against a good forward line they just cant attack as much.    
Post by: Puckoon on February 18, 2008, 02:41:02 PM
Its a two way street. Even if they were getting great ball in - we dont have anyone inside whose name rolls off the tounge when it comes to great forwards like the players listed by O'Neill. How come our half forward line is so laboured on the ball? Maybe they are getting no decent movement inside??
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2008, 02:43:28 PM
Unkess we get Mc Guigan, O'Neill and Cavanagh back to near their best it will be a short enough summer and considering that O'Neill has retired it shows what a ridculous statement this really is !
Post by: Star Spangler on February 18, 2008, 02:51:42 PM
At what point do we bite the bullet and admit that the past is the past and the time has come to rebuild the side?
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2008, 02:52:29 PM
At one point do we bit the bullet and admit that the past is the past and the time has come to rebuild the side?

Agreed.
Post by: supersarsfields on February 18, 2008, 03:03:26 PM
Snappiered I heard a rumour regarding Gormley as well. To be honest I'd take it with a pinch of salt!!
Post by: feetofflames on February 18, 2008, 03:09:39 PM
rebuild - yes, transition - no.
"Transition"  Pron: tran -sich- yon:  is a word used to describe the time wasted in the rebuilding process ie when a manager cant make up his mind between what has been and what can be. 
How many midfield options were given 20 minutes in this years Mc Kenna cup and got dumped on their hole whilst the Hub made it?  im not saying they would have been any better, but could they be any worse? 
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2008, 03:13:08 PM
I hope the rumour mill is wrong again and that the supposed row re Conor Gormley didn't happen -
Post by: ONeill on February 18, 2008, 03:15:37 PM
You're an awful hoor for discussing possible rows orangeman.
Post by: tieroan on February 18, 2008, 03:16:39 PM
My Carmen source (very relaible and a club player og Gormleys) said this is a laod of balls. He was laid low with the flu over the weekend.
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2008, 03:18:08 PM
Did it happen or not ? There's a lot of speculation - as I say, I hope it didn't happen - but as usual whenever a team loses, you end up with a lot of shite talk - but it seems strange that Gormley cried off so late on  - and as we all know, Gormley isn't exactly the crying type, is he ?.
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2008, 03:18:56 PM
My Carmen source (very relaible and a club player og Gormleys) said this is a laod of balls. He was laid low with the flu over the weekend

Delighted to hear this - this was my information as well.
Post by: Puckoon on February 18, 2008, 03:19:47 PM
Quote from: orangeman on February 18, 2008, 03:18:08 PM
Did it happen or not ? There's a lot of speculation - as I say, I hope it didn't happen - but as usual whenever a team loses, you end up with a lot of shite talk - but it seems strange that Gormley cried off so late on  - and as we all know, Gormley isn't exactly the crying type, is he ?.

you are talking like we are all  in the know ???

what reportedly happened?
Post by: feetofflames on February 18, 2008, 03:27:07 PM
When things are bad you hear loads of rumours - most of them unhelpful to the Tyrone cause, in fairness its possibly mostly Carmen  men who are saying these things, is it general Carmen folk or Conor himself that is unhappy with Conor at f/b?  In fairnesss ye get talking to folk most days of the week and you get a top breaking news every day.
On an unrelated note has everyone got their tickets for the nally stand now?  Still a few left.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 18, 2008, 03:28:31 PM
I was at the game on Saturday night and to be honest i never felt that Tyrone  really looked like winning the game and to be fair i was quite pleased at the way they battled hard to keep in touch in a game that as Orangeman says we should have lost by 10 points!

It was a strange game to analyse, the forward line where very economical when they had decent ball, but complaining about the ball in is unfair when you look down the pitch and nobody is making a meaning run to get into space to receive the pass. Our scores came mainly from breaks up the field by the half backs - usually the outstanding Philip Jordan! Colm Cavannagh has come in for a bit of stick lately, but i thought at least he was consistently trying to show for the ball - ok he made a few mistakes but at least he showed willing - unlike Mulgrew, Mugsy and Gormley! I thought McCullagh had a good game, but i'm concerned at halving our most capable scoring forward popping up to make defencive tackles inside his own 21.

The defence did a decent job - McCarron was struggling to be fair, but our midfield was so over run it was difficult for him when the supply has plenty of time to pick the perfect ball from someone like Donaghy! I thought Justy did well when he came and got into Donaghy's face a bit - which seems to put him off his game as he spent most of the rest of the game with his arms out complaining looking for frees! Maybe this is the way to deal with him!

As i said, Jordan was superb, during the second half it seemed like it was Kerry V Philip Jordan - perhaps CHB is his place, which would mean Gormley can come back into the square (speaking of which, we heard in the pub before the game that he wasnt playing and it was because of flu!) and Carlin can move to the wing where i feel he could be very dangerous!

Big Pascal made 3 great saves, but his kick-outs were shocking although the movement by the midfield didnt help! Overall though, a more encouraging display with a bit more bite, however we are severely short in major areas i.e. midfield and a ball winning and accurate scoring forward!
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2008, 03:29:49 PM
has everyone got their tickets for the nally stand now?  Still a few left.

You'se have the country cleaned - one top Irish economist has blamed the fall in house prices and the Carrickmore draw for the current credit crisis !  ;D ;D
Post by: Puckoon on February 18, 2008, 03:35:01 PM
From the horses mouth, Conor does hate full back. He would play anywhere though without complaint.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 18, 2008, 04:07:54 PM
Lads its only February for God's sake so maybe we're all a little hasty here.

This time last year things we're not so good either and we won Ulster without Stevie and many others.
Who would have thought we'd have hammered Donegal the NFL champs who were looking good last year and then beat Monaghan who should have beaten Kerry.

Come June we could have a team like this

Packie
Ricey
Justin McMahon or Holmes
McCaul
Carlin
Block
Jordan
Sean
Joey
Dooher
McGuigan
Mulgrew
McGinley
Colm Cavanagh
Mugsy/McCullagh

Keep the Faith
Post by: never kickt a ball on February 18, 2008, 05:18:20 PM
Mickeys verdict on the match:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/avdb/sport/other_sport/audio/153000/bb/153005_au_bb.ram
Post by: longball on February 18, 2008, 06:07:59 PM
Heard the rumour about Gormley a number of times at work 2day. wud like to think there nothin in it but the last time  heard rumours from the same sources about this were about a certain Steven O'Neill
Post by: red hander on February 18, 2008, 06:08:08 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on February 18, 2008, 03:28:31 PM
I was at the game on Saturday night and to be honest i never felt that Tyrone  really looked like winning the game and to be fair i was quite pleased at the way they battled hard to keep in touch in a game that as Orangeman says we should have lost by 10 points!

It was a strange game to analyse, the forward line where very economical when they had decent ball, but complaining about the ball in is unfair when you look down the pitch and nobody is making a meaning run to get into space to receive the pass. Our scores came mainly from breaks up the field by the half backs - usually the outstanding Philip Jordan! Colm Cavannagh has come in for a bit of stick lately, but i thought at least he was consistently trying to show for the ball - ok he made a few mistakes but at least he showed willing - unlike Mulgrew, Mugsy and Gormley! I thought McCullagh had a good game, but i'm concerned at halving our most capable scoring forward popping up to make defencive tackles inside his own 21.

The defence did a decent job - McCarron was struggling to be fair, but our midfield was so over run it was difficult for him when the supply has plenty of time to pick the perfect ball from someone like Donaghy! I thought Justy did well when he came and got into Donaghy's face a bit - which seems to put him off his game as he spent most of the rest of the game with his arms out complaining looking for frees! Maybe this is the way to deal with him!

As i said, Jordan was superb, during the second half it seemed like it was Kerry V Philip Jordan - perhaps CHB is his place, which would mean Gormley can come back into the square (speaking of which, we heard in the pub before the game that he wasnt playing and it was because of flu!) and Carlin can move to the wing where i feel he could be very dangerous!

Big Pascal made 3 great saves, but his kick-outs were shocking although the movement by the midfield didnt help! Overall though, a more encouraging display with a bit more bite, however we are severely short in major areas i.e. midfield and a ball winning and accurate scoring forward!

I couldn't make the match cos I work Saturdays (f****** floodlights) but I watched the highlights on Sunday on TG4 and I have to say the performance with what is a seriously understrength team was very encouraging IMO ... I totally agree with Benny's summary, especially considering he was there
Post by: tyroneman on February 18, 2008, 10:46:29 PM
Encouraging enough game alright. At no stage did I ever think we would win it but by the same token I never thought we'd get hammered either.

To be fair the kerry defence wasn't far off Championship staring line up and the O'Se brothers are simply rolls royce players.Scanlon looked good and the advantage of a good free taker was made very clear.

Positives For Tyrone:
1. Justy put the brakes on "star" and may just be the answer at FB (we need Conor at CHB, no debate)
2. Jordan put 2 fingers up to those who felt he should be dropped - a rolls royce of our own and MOM
3. Enda looking sharp. Not a MF plyer by any shape but would do sterling work at HF in place of Dooher.
4. Mulgrew I thought was very good - composed on the ball and placing some excellent passes into the forwards, when they could be ar*ed to make runs. Also seemed able to take a good dirty punch to the stomach (we seen ye alright AOM)
4.McCaul, PJ and to a lesser extent Swift.all coming along nicely
5. Colm McCullogh.at least he looks like he wants to be there.

Negatives
1. McCarron not up to it just yet........maybe in another year or two
2. More injuries
3. Mugsy..........simply awful for almost 2 years now. Should never be taking frees. Not a leader.
4. Hub..looks finished as far as MF goes
5. Very little forward threat.

Finally..have Silke and co climbed back out of "star"'s ar*e yet?????????

Ye would think the lad took 10min at HT to cure cancer, deliver 4 babies and solve the Middle East Crisis before notching up 4-8 the way they slavered over him.

I would also copyright "lording it", everyone from ref to keeper to crowd were feckin "lording it" at some stage.
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2008, 10:51:58 PM
 Mugsy..........simply awful for almost 2 years now. Hub..looks finished as far as MF goes

What do you do with Mugsy and Hughes ? Do you continue to play them in the hope that they eventually deliver or do you give them a rest in order to get their appetite back again ?
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2008, 10:53:45 PM
This Conor Gormley story simply isn't going away and is doing the rounds tonight again. If this story has any semblance of truth about it, it is a very very worrying development which we could all do without.
Post by: ONeill on February 18, 2008, 10:54:47 PM
Two good posts from tyroneman and rrhf - a mixture of the two suggests our expectations should perhaps lower a little from 03-05 vintage whilst some positives are obvious. Jordan and McGinley's performances are extremely welcome. If we see the same from Ricey, Gormley, Sean, Davy, Carlin/McGee, McMahon (x2) then there is a sound basis there that will have us competing despite a misfiring forward unit, and that could still be worked on. Are we missing any forwards of note (scoring) apart from Dooher?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 18, 2008, 11:05:11 PM
Enough already of the Conor Gormley scare stories until we know for sure what the craic is.

Fair assessments from BennyHarp and Tyroneman, and my own feeling is that if we can restore a functioning midfield, partial or whole, then a few of the concerns about the last third should seem a little less weighty.

Anyway, here's to the Galway game!
Post by: Fuzzman on February 18, 2008, 11:10:54 PM
Can anyone PM me what they have heard about Block if you don't want to post it.

It seems to me as we have loads of good defenders again but not so many forwards.

Well said Fear but who would you play there. Holmes. joey?

Post by: ONeill on February 18, 2008, 11:33:21 PM
I can't see Holmes gaining a mf berth after this length - he's a fair stop-gap though. I'd like to see Sean and Justin there although the latter will continue to plug a hole at FB.

However, Mickey is a Hughes man.

Fuzz re your pm, I'd completely forgotten - will get them copied tomorrow for sure.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 18, 2008, 11:39:36 PM
Seán C should be back indeed for the Galway game Fuzzman, with Enda moving up properly to the half-forwards (where he will absolutely flourish in his current form), and ONeill could be right about Hughes being his partner (Joey's out for the League), though I'd be happier with that than Enda and Hub.
Post by: Kerry Mike on February 19, 2008, 01:02:38 AM
Just watched it again on Setanta and we missed a pile but will take the two points gratefully, gets the year off nicely.

Just a quick view on the Kerry performances, there are enought experts on Tyrone.

1 Diarmuid Murphy dealt easily with an first half flick on from a Mulligan free dropped short, other wise not tested in the game, Kick outs found his men, mostly Scanlon all the time.

2 Marc O'Se another immense game made 3 vital interceptions, has great antipitation and is very assured on the ball.

3 Tom O'Sullivan cleaned out Cavanagh in the First half and Mulligan in the second , made some great bursts from the full back line and his foot passes were intelligent. A good day for the full back.

4 Padraig Reidy started well but seemed to fade,  need to be tighter to his man.

5 Tomas O'Se saw alot of the ball and his usual driving style setup up alot of attacks , his fitness is lacking but we will probably give him another chance.

6. Aidan O'Mahony another who is playing great football this early in the year, has great strength in the tackle and pace makes him probably the best centre back in the country over the last 2 years. Lucky to escape a booking for a dig but a man you want on your side, who said we would never replace Seamus Moynihan and Mike McCarthy last year??? The 2 men from Rathmore have stood up and been counted.

7. Killian Young very composed on the ball and seems to be stronger this year, great game.

8. Tommy Griffin put in a huge workload but struggled with McGinley when he moved forwards but still won plenty of primary and breaking ball.

9. Seamus Scanlon was man of the match and he towered over everyone in midfield, as one stage we had won 12 of 17 Tyrone kick outs and he got on most of them, how his "point" was signalled wide is baffling. Darragh O'Se will have to work his arse off to get back in, which is the way it should be.

10. Sean Sullivan lots of ball, 3 wides and 2 points, but faded out in the end, replaced mid way in second half.

11. Declan OSullivan another who has taken up where he left off last year, his deliveries to Donaghy in first half were spot on, 2 points and 2 wides , ran hard through the middle of Tyrone backs.

12. David Ogie Moran picked up alot of breaks around the middle, big but needs to strengthen up as he lost alot of ball in the tackle, one wide but will improve with a few more games and experience.

13. Kieran O'Leary small and fast looks like a young Mike Frank, took 2 very good points and had a 3rd ruled out by some woefull umpiring. Got stuck in well in first half but faded in second , needs to stay closer and read Donaghys game better. Shure a handy man to keep the Gooch's jersey warm for the spring.

14. Kieran Donaghy "lorded" the air in the first half but it was down to some great ball in from midfield, the type of ball that seems to hang in the air allows him to get great positions, caught 2 balls one handed and laid off well for most of Kerry's first half scores, surprised he was not brought out the field in the second when things slowed down but still took a point well.
Good to see himself and Declan sheparding a tyronie out over the sideline and throwing a few skelps at the tyrone subs and mentors who got involved, reminded me of a clip a few years ago when kerry men were being surrounded by Tyrones finest.
Still if he gets the right ball he is hard to stop, goalie made a good save to deny him a goal.

15. Bryan Sheehan: good first half but over does the soloing and runs into trouble , great chance of a goal early on which he should have stuck away, finished with 4 points and 3 wides , 2 bad frees at the end.

Subs Darren O'Sullivan looked lively as he always does and kicked a great point, should have done better with a late goal chance.
Donnacha Walsh and Tommy Walsh did not do anything after coming on.

From a Tyrone point of view McConnell saved tyrone 3 times but undid it with a soccer style 2 fisted punch giving away a 45, Thought his kickouts were very poor kept trying to hit Hughes who was having a mare against Scanlon.

The 2 corner men struggled early on with Sheehan in particular seeing alot of the ball, McMenemin was missed.

At full back twas a pity not to see Gormley on Donaghy but McCarron had a game to forget and you would wonder why Harte had not moved him before he got injured, McMahon did a bit better on him but the ball just wasnt coming their way in the seconld half.

Carlin Was stuggling with Declan O'Sullivan before he went off and Declan seemed to get the better hand on his marker Jordan I think near the end. Harte was poor and struggled to stay with Sean O'Sullivan.

Jordan was not great in the first half when David Moran seemed to get on alot of breaks but improved in the second half and was Tyrones best player.

Midfield was a disaster for Tyrone , Hughes should have been moved earlier was making no impression i think his best years are well behind him, McGinley though he struggled in the middle did well when he got forward and kicked 2 good points.

Half forwards were very poor, Mulgrew tried hard but got little from O'Mahony, I thought McGuigan did okay with the limited ball he got but was finding it hard to make headway. Cavanagh started at full forward but got little from Tom O'Sullivan who had one of his better games for Kerry.

The small lad Gormley in the corner found it tough going against Marc O'Se but then who wouldnt, McCullagh did well enough and ended up with 4 points , 3 from frees but seems to be lacking physically.

Mulligan has gone back alot I think and was a big dissapointment for someone who has promised so much he finds it hard to deliver. Who is the Tyrone leader up front hear to pick one out.

Good to see Sean Cavanagh back playing again, surprised Harte did not give him a longer run espeically with Tyrone struggling at midfield. Not much to rate about any of the other Tyrone subs.

Anyway we will take the win, dissapointed we did not score more of our chances, 13 wides is piss poor and we created 3 good goal chances on top of that but there is no point in beating Tyrone by too much at this time of the year :P

Our defence played really well at times and limited Tyrone to only 3 more chance on top of the 9 points they scored, but there is room for improvement there.

And when you consider we were without the likes of Darragh O'Se, Colm Cooper, Paul Galvin, Eoin Brosnan and have lost Mossy Lyons and Declan Quill from the panel and also Mike Frank has yet ot committ to 08, we are looking in a very healthy position. Fingers crossed its stays that way.
Post by: Oraisteach on February 19, 2008, 01:23:08 AM
KM, is David Moran Ogie's son?
Post by: Zapatista on February 19, 2008, 07:47:25 AM
Any word on the boys injured from Saturday?
Post by: AZOffaly on February 19, 2008, 11:12:09 AM
Quote from: Oraisteach on February 19, 2008, 01:23:08 AM

He is indeed. (Sorry, I know that was addressed to Mike).
Post by: orangeman on February 19, 2008, 11:22:06 AM
Who all got injured ?
Post by: BennyHarp on February 19, 2008, 11:57:27 AM
Quote from: orangeman on February 19, 2008, 11:22:06 AM
Who all got injured ?

McCarron and Carlin where both carried off in the first half!
Post by: tyroneman on February 19, 2008, 12:28:54 PM
Mike.......agreed with 90% of yer assessment bar a few wee quibbles.......

QuoteHalf forwards were very poor, Mulgrew tried hard but got little from O'Mahony

Thought Mulgrew actually did quite well........was restricted by lack of movement ahead of him. Very accurate passing. Cameras caught exactly what he got from O'Mahoney

QuoteAidan O'Mahony another who is playing great football this early in the year, has great strength in the tackle and pace makes him probably the best centre back in the country over the last 2 years

Not by a mile. Block has been the best CHB by quite a distance over the last 2 years.

QuoteNot much to rate about any of the other Tyrone subs

Thought McCaul was excellent when he came on

QuoteGood to see himself and Declan sheparding a tyronie out over the sideline and throwing a few skelps at the tyrone subs and mentors who got involved, reminded me of a clip a few years ago when kerry men were being surrounded by Tyrones finest

If ye referring to the 2003 SF then I don'lt remember any Tyrone players "throwing a few skelps" at anyone on the Kerry sideline
Post by: Quarterback on February 19, 2008, 01:07:33 PM
Continuing to hear the rumors about Gormley, Semingly he was unhappy with the training.....

Its intresting that the kerry team were only back in training 2 weeks and they were flying in comparision to tyrone....I have to say if the rumours are true then is would be a serious blow to tyrone.  How would harte answer this one??....What would the county board do in this instance.....In fairness the effort against kerry was all there but we lack clynical finishing up front.  

1 Packie...Done very well but needs to sort his aimless kickouts out...he slices too mank kickoouts and a high hanging ball suited the kerry midfield...Should be replaced with devine or curran who can pick out their men.

2 PJ...Tenatious tackler, but seems to allow his man to get the ball.....One for the future

3. Mc Carron...Spent more time looking at donaghy and keeping his socks at the right level as apposed to concentrating on football...again one for the future

4.  Swift...Solid and a useful prospect

5. Davy...Moses Kipkeda, runs all day and gets through alot off work...Its not a question of what he done...its a question off not doing enough

6.  Carlin... Excellent until injured, dosent look out off place, should move to the wing instead off Harte

7.  Jordan, Powerful display off running, returing to the form off old...

8.  Mc Ginley Cleaned out in the middle off the park but through no fault off mcginley, not a midfielder

9. Hughes.. Not on Long enough to be rated

10. Cavanagh..spends moretime yapping that trying to get through hard work

11..Mulgrew   Genius...

12.. Mc Guigan Done well, hit a good point...works hard but much more in the tank

13..Mc Cullagh  V Effective and looks in good shape...

14.  Waste of space, i noted before the game that tyrone dont have a freetaker, and mulligan again showed he cant hit frees...What can he do i ask myself??  If a new boy hadda put in the same preformance wed be saying hes not up to it...

15..Gormley, never sniffed it off the sharp reidy...may improve...

If u look at that team and compare it to what in my opinion should be the team,(if all available) i feel theres a difference...

1    Curran
2    Ricey
3    K Mc Crory (Galbally)
4    M MGee
5    Carlin
6    Gormley
7    Jordan
8    S Cavanagh
9    Colin Holmes
10  Dooher
11  Mc Guigan
12  Mulgrew
13  Mc Cullagh
14  Enda Mc Ginley
15  Stephen O Neill

Management Setup : Liam Donnelly / Peter Canavan

Trainer: Ryan Porter/ Paddy Tally
Post by: Star Spangler on February 19, 2008, 02:47:32 PM
QuotePackie...Done very well but needs to sort his aimless kickouts out...he slices too mank kickoouts and a high hanging ball suited the kerry midfield...Should be replaced with devine or curran who can pick out their men.

That's a fair point.  I had a couple of years at midfield and there was nothing worse to catch than the kickouts that dropped straight down.  It always suited the taller player and not necessarily the best "run-jump" catcher which is exactly what Hub is.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 19, 2008, 03:34:53 PM
QuoteContinuing to hear the rumors about Gormley, Semingly he was unhappy with the training.....

Jaysus lads, can we give oul the Conor Gormley rumours a rest - its not the first time a manager has been forced to withdraw a player very late before a game and it definately wont be the last! Is the whole season going to dominated by people whispering about problems within the camp?? Tyrone have been prepared very professionally ever since Mickey Harte took over, nobody was complaining after 2003 and 2005! I know on a discussion board its the place to discuss matters, but lets have a little bit of evidence before starting the rumour mill churning! "My mate was chatting to a Carmen man about Gormley" doesnt equate to evidence in my book!
Post by: Fuzzman on February 19, 2008, 04:07:11 PM
Interesting team QB but lettuce see who you're leaving out

McCaul - I think he's in with a great shout for a Full back line position somewhere
Gourley - Harte likes him when he's fit
Justin - Again if he can stay fit can become a regular. Maybe FB
Joey  - Again if he can stay fit can become a regular. Maybe FB or MF
Nephew - I'm not a fan despite his honest hard working approach
Swift - Have never saw him live but looked ok last Sat on TV
PJ Quinn - Have never saw him live but looked ok last Sat on TV
C.McCarron - Never saw him til last week but think he's not ready from what I heard

Ricey was beginning to look to have slowed up a bit last year and got a roasting from a few forwards.
McGee's been out injured for ages so will be hard to judge

Penrose - Can be a good player and as our forwards now seem in short supply may have a good season this year

I would not play Mugsy or Hughes any more until they proved that they are willing to bust a gut for the cause.

I'd be hopeful (Not expectant) of Brian McGuigan making it back for the summer but I think Stevie won't be back. At least NOT this year.

I'd love to see a bit tall strong FF such as Joey to completely revitalise how we play like Kerry did as we've become far to predictable and one our FF line has hardly any threat now.
Post by: rrhf on February 19, 2008, 05:12:59 PM
I'd love to see a bit tall strong FF such as Joey to completely revitalise how we play like Kerry did as we've become far to predictable and one our FF line has hardly any threat now.
Now theres an idea.
I have a fear about some of these players though that they are physically not up to play a full season in terms of injuries.  We had a County standard full back who played a few games including championship for the county a few years ago.  He was brave as hell but  he was ravaged by injuries from soft muscle stuff to shoulder dislocations, back and knee problems, the lad just eventual;ly had to quit through chronic bad luck injuries.  Sometimes the body just cant take that level of physical activity.  Is big Joey the same and indeed others in the panel.   
Post by: Puckoon on February 19, 2008, 05:38:01 PM
Quote from: rrhf on February 19, 2008, 05:12:59 PM
Now theres an idea.
I have a fear about some of these players though that they are physically not up to play a full season in terms of injuries.  We had a County standard full back who played a few games including championship for the county a few years ago.  He was brave as hell but  he was ravaged by injuries from soft muscle stuff to shoulder dislocations, back and knee problems, the lad just eventual;ly had to quit through chronic bad luck injuries.  Sometimes the body just cant take that level of physical activity.  Is big Joey the same and indeed others in the panel.   

Ive been kinda hinting against Justin getting a run out at full forward. We need something different. An off form mugsy isnt a target man, and the two smaller corners cant feed off him. Maybe getting a big man in there and mixing it about a little might give the attack some sort of focal point, which it appears to be lacking right now.
Post by: supersarsfields on February 19, 2008, 05:49:54 PM
There was hope that Rouse might have provided this option at FF but he wasn't really given much of a run out. I don't know if throwing Justy or Joey in there would work. Donaghy is way above the level either of these are at. There's no point copying Kerry's style when we don't seem to have the personal to do it with. The only one I think could do a similar job would be Canavagh Sr and we can't really afford to lose him out the field.
Post by: Puckoon on February 19, 2008, 06:00:43 PM
Our option then is to continue in the present vein?
Post by: magickingdom on February 19, 2008, 06:08:22 PM
Quote from: Oraisteach on February 19, 2008, 01:23:08 AM

as az said yep and tommy walsh is sean walshs son... btw david 'ogie' moran is 6' 2" and the da was nowhere near that.
Post by: supersarsfields on February 19, 2008, 06:17:34 PM
I don't think we have much of an option. I think our current vein is that we're just not where we were two or three years ago. I just don't think we have player who can do for Tyrone what Donaghy does for Kerry. In saying that I think our defence looks as strong now as it did in 2005. Maybe that's the key. In 2005 we notched up a couple of big scores but were conceding more. Now I would have alot more confidence in our defence.
Post by: Puckoon on February 19, 2008, 06:21:18 PM
We dont necessarily need someone in the form of a Donaghy. We  need a focal point for our attack - which right now we dont have. No penetration except what our half backs are providing.

The defence is in good shape - but it wont bring honours, merely a stay of execution until we meet the big guns again.
Post by: supersarsfields on February 19, 2008, 06:32:50 PM
I don't think a strong defence should be underestimated. It can make big differences especially when meeting the big guns!! Althought I agree things aren't right in the fforward line up. But unless one or two of the exsisting players hit a purple patch in the scoring I can't really see any change. The players that started the last day will be the ones come the heat of the championship as well, Bar maybe McGuigan I can's see there being a major change.
Post by: Puckoon on February 19, 2008, 06:37:13 PM
I agree with what you are saying, so like another poster alluded to - do we stick with what we have and give them one more shot to get it right, or do we try and rebuild and give the younger players some experience? Throw into the mix the rumours concerning Mickey Harte and Stephen O'Neill and maybe next year might bring a host of changes?  ??? 
Post by: Puckoon on February 19, 2008, 06:38:08 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on February 19, 2008, 06:32:50 PM
I don't think a strong defence should be underestimated. It can make big differences especially when meeting the big guns!! Althought I agree things aren't right in the fforward line up. But unless one or two of the exsisting players hit a purple patch in the scoring I can't really see any change. The players that started the last day will be the ones come the heat of the championship as well, Bar maybe McGuigan I can's see there being a major change.

This is the crux of our disagreement. Do we keep giving them chance after chance, or should it be changed up a bit. Alot.  ???
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 19, 2008, 06:50:39 PM
Quote15. Bryan Sheehan: good first half but over does the soloing and runs into trouble , great chance of a goal early on which he should have stuck away, finished with 4 points and 3 wides , 2 bad frees at the end.

Agreed. He did it at least 3 times. He needs to cut that out. Leave any running with the ball  to the Sullivans (Darren, Sean or Declan). He is too slow for it he needs to either take a shot or lay it off.
Post by: feetofflames on February 19, 2008, 06:55:03 PM
Pat Spillane stated on the radio last night that Tyrone are now officially the lowest scoring county in Ireland.  It time for something different Mickey.  I think we need to look at the under 21 panel.  Any forwards there? Cavo?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 19, 2008, 07:08:18 PM
QuoteTyrone are now officially the lowest scoring county in Ireland

..its the unibrows...shave them off and ye might get a shag..
Post by: ONeill on February 19, 2008, 07:22:39 PM
I think there were big hope for McGinn to be that high-scoring forward but that's a non-runner now. Pity Daisy didn't cope with the burden of expectation either.

It'd be a interesting bet this year - who'll end up Tyrone's top scorer from play this year?

I think it's something like this so far, from play -

Hughes 0-1
McGinley 0-2
McCullagh 0-3
Mulgrew 0-2
McGuigan 0-2
Post by: supersarsfields on February 19, 2008, 08:49:20 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 19, 2008, 06:38:08 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on February 19, 2008, 06:32:50 PM

This is the crux of our disagreement. Do we keep giving them chance after chance, or should it be changed up a bit. Alot.  ???

My view would be that the time for changing is past. The McKenna cup was there for that. I just don't see what changes are avaliable now? Who would you bring in? As Oneill said my hope for this year would have been pinned on McGinn. And that's went tits up. The majority of that forward line will line out for the Championship.
Post by: Aaron Boone on February 19, 2008, 09:51:27 PM
How was the attendance only 4,500 on Saturday night? The stand was full and the terrace on the camera side was full. I was there.

Playing devil's advocate, but is it true that if you announce a lower attendance, then you have a lower cut to pay Croke Park?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 19, 2008, 10:06:33 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on February 19, 2008, 09:51:27 PM
How was the attendance only 4,500 on Saturday night? The stand was full and the terrace on the camera side was full. I was there.

Playing devil's advocate, but is it true that if you announce a lower attendance, then you have a lower cut to pay Croke Park?

Surprised at that low figure myself, maybe something to do with cash at the turnstiles  ;)
Post by: Kerry Mike on February 20, 2008, 12:32:32 AM
QuoteThe turnstiles have a counter.

Would Ciarrai have that type of device??

Does it take the auld electric current, we are only getting that in now in the Kingdom. Thankfully we have managed fine without it until now.   
Post by: Muzz on February 20, 2008, 01:25:03 AM
Just watched the highlights again there...McConnell's punch with no one near him and loads of time - How good a job would he have done on Donaghy.  Its not like he needs to go out and catch the ball infront of him, just spoil him.  Punch it clear let the corner backs or half backs pick up the pieces?  I want to see that tried come AIF!!!
Post by: loughshore lad on February 20, 2008, 08:36:41 AM
I wonder about some of the posters on this board at times. The calls for Justin or Joe McMahon to be played in full forward are very unrealistic in my opinion. Yes Donaghy gives Kerry a unique option in full forward but its not just his size that makes him so dangerous its the athleticism and speed of thought he has. How many "big" men are there up and down the country as big as Donaghy playing football at all levels? Quite a lot I would guess but the thing is its Donaghys additional qualitites that set him apart.
I know where people are coming from in that they feel Tyrone desperately need to shake things up but we are talking about county football. For example if either of the McMahons were playing full forward for Omagh would many teams in 1A be overly worried? I dont think so, to expect them to be able to play there at county level is very unrealistic in my opinion.
Post by: supersarsfields on February 20, 2008, 09:14:39 AM
That would be my feelings on things as well Lough. I just don't feel that we have a player in the squad that could do the star's role to anywere near the same level. Course if them thieving Kerry boyos hadn't stolen him in the first place we'd be landed!!
:P
Post by: BennyHarp on February 20, 2008, 09:19:07 AM
Just watched a recording of the setanta coverage last night! Ray Silkes co-commentating must the worse i've ever heard. I honestly thought he was going to have an orgasim over "the star" in the first half! No mention of how quiet "the lording star" went in the second half!!

On the topic about the attendance - i thought the official figure sounded quite low - most of the main stand was full and the majority of the far side too! I too found it a bit odd that they were accepting cash at the turnstiles! Do you not normally buy a ticket first?? A bit of cute hoorism i reckon!!
Post by: tyroneman on February 20, 2008, 01:12:27 PM
If McGuigan came back to take the CHF slot...........what about Mulgrew playing at CF? He's quick , has a good eye for a score and can beat a man 1-on-1

you would hope that between Mugsy, Mulgrew and McCullogh they could eventually gel and produce a reaosnalbe attacking threat.

throw in Scores from the 2 Brians and Tommy or Enda...we might be alright.
Post by: loughshore lad on February 20, 2008, 01:17:29 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on February 20, 2008, 01:12:27 PM
If McGuigan came back to take the CHF slot...........what about Mulgrew playing at CF? He's quick , has a good eye for a score and can beat a man 1-on-1

Mulgrew would be totally lost in the corner, thats not his type of game at all. Take and compare Tommy for example, he is a much more direct type of player then Mulgrew and he is struggling in the full forward line. Corner forward is a very difficult place to play even more so at county level, dont think Mulgrew would be cut out for it at all.
Post by: tyroneman on February 20, 2008, 01:55:08 PM
QuoteMulgrew would be totally lost in the corner, thats not his type of game at all.

Might take him a bit of time to adjust but I wouldn't be too pessamistic about the idea. SON was well capable of switching from half forward to full forward, although granted he is a different class to Mulgrew.

Penrose............not the solution, not by a country mile.

Mugsy has the talent, of that there is absolutely no doubt, you just wonder what it takes to get his head right and for him to take the burden of leadership on.
Post by: Puckoon on February 20, 2008, 05:09:29 PM
QuoteThe calls for Justin or Joe McMahon to be played in full forward are very unrealistic in my opinion.

Again loughshore lad its a matter of horses for courses. Neither lad would be first choice full forwards, but thats the nature of a utility player. Im just wondering if it would ever be an option, against certain teams and full back lines who might struggle under the high ball..
Think last years ulster final and Vincent Corey, a man who as recently as last week lined out at centre half forward.

It might be my St Endas tinted glasses, but it would be a fairly badly prepared Division 1A full back who would take marking either of the McMahons lightly.
Post by: red hander on February 20, 2008, 06:30:22 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on February 20, 2008, 01:55:08 PM
QuoteMulgrew would be totally lost in the corner, thats not his type of game at all.

Might take him a bit of time to adjust but I wouldn't be too pessamistic about the idea. SON was well capable of switching from half forward to full forward, although granted he is a different class to Mulgrew.

Penrose............not the solution, not by a country mile.

Mugsy has the talent, of that there is absolutely no doubt, you just wonder what it takes to get his head right and for him to take the burden of leadership on.

Penrose for me gets into some great positions with the ball but he seems to panic a wee bit and either fluffs the ball during a solo or takes the wrong option by either passing when he should go on on his own or going on on his own when he should pass ... but i still think there's potential there
Post by: tyroneman on February 20, 2008, 07:37:27 PM
QuotePenrose for me gets into some great positions with the ball but he seems to panic a wee bit and either fluffs the ball during a solo or takes the wrong option by either passing

Yeh had me with yeh up to that point...Penrose wouldn't know a pass if it smacked him in the face - if there is a dead end to run aimlessley up..he's yer man
Post by: Tyrones own on February 21, 2008, 05:45:56 AM

QuotePenrose for me gets into some great positions with the ball

Yes which is more than can be said for what's getting playing time these days with the exception of McCullagh.
  Very harsh on Penrose IMO, Back when he was taking flak for the above mentioned we had a very formidable
  forward unit at our disposal, need i remind some of you, we're not just so blessed these days.
  Mulligan and Hub need to be benched till about the end of June at least, it might light a fire under them both :-\
Post by: loughshore lad on February 21, 2008, 08:49:55 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 20, 2008, 05:09:29 PM
QuoteThe calls for Justin or Joe McMahon to be played in full forward are very unrealistic in my opinion.

Again loughshore lad its a matter of horses for courses. Neither lad would be first choice full forwards, but thats the nature of a utility player. Im just wondering if it would ever be an option, against certain teams and full back lines who might struggle under the high ball..
Think last years ulster final and Vincent Corey, a man who as recently as last week lined out at centre half forward.

It might be my St Endas tinted glasses, but it would be a fairly badly prepared Division 1A full back who would take marking either of the McMahons lightly.

Vinny Corey actually plays as a forward for his club and is a more natural forward than a defender, Seamus McEnaney actually switched him into full back due to a lack of alternatives. I didnt say a full back would be taking either of them lightly I dont think any full back would be as nervous picking them up as they would be picking up a more natural forward like Stevie O'Neill, Frank McGuigan, Sean O'Neill etc
I understand where you are coming from I just think its a massive ask to play someone who is not a natural full forward in that position at county level.
Post by: feetofflames on February 21, 2008, 09:05:57 AM
Am I the only one here who hasnt been impressed by Mulgrew.  Maybe Im missing something.
Post by: loughshore lad on February 21, 2008, 11:29:53 AM
Quote from: feetofflames on February 21, 2008, 09:05:57 AM
Am I the only one here who hasnt been impressed by Mulgrew.  Maybe Im missing something.

No I have not been overly impressed with him either. Dont get me wrong I think he is a fine player but its getting to the stage where he should be making more of an impact, dont forget this is his third year as a starting player. Maybe there is too much expectaion on his shoulders and people automatically think he will pick up where Brian McGuigan left off, but people need to remember he isnt in the same class as McGuigan was (and hopefully still is!)
Post by: orangeman on February 21, 2008, 12:09:06 PM
There has been a lot of pressure placed on Mulgrew's young shoulders in the absence of Mc Guigan, Dooher, Cavlan, O'Neill, Canavan.
Post by: Mr. Nakata on February 21, 2008, 01:18:07 PM
I watched the game with about 8 pints on board, pictures, no sound thankfully as Silke is shocking. So I wasn't as focused as I should've been. For me Mulgrew has to take on more responsibility. The fact that he's been bummed up for the last 4 years as the great white hope has meant he is playing with this burden on him, so I always end up being critical because I expect so much more. However, I really hope he comes good, likewise Justy who was immense in the U-21 setup. It looks as though we will get slaughtered in midfield week in, week out, so the hoover will be very welcome back. Galway will be another tough one, but if we improve on the last performance, a game I think we can win.
Post by: Quarterback on February 21, 2008, 02:23:10 PM
I can confirm that the rumours spouted around about gormley are completely untrue, He was infact, and still is suffereing frrom a bad flu.....Thankfully from tyrones point of view the rumours are untrue.  So that puts an end to that....
Post by: feetofflames on February 21, 2008, 03:32:49 PM
Does this mean you're not going to use it as a stick to beat Mickey Harte then? Even if he had nothing to do with it!
Post by: red hander on February 21, 2008, 04:55:21 PM
Quote from: feetofflames on February 21, 2008, 09:05:57 AM

I agree. But saying that, I think he definitely has it in him and his underage reputation would suggest that ... remember his point out on the hogan stand side during the league game against the Dubs in Croker last year, awesome, but we've been waiting for two years for him to fulfill the hype
Post by: under the bar on February 21, 2008, 09:54:58 PM
Chill.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on February 22, 2008, 08:43:06 PM
Quote from: feetofflames on February 21, 2008, 03:32:49 PM
Does this mean you're not going to use it as a stick to beat Mickey Harte then? Even if he had nothing to do with it!

I heard he actually caught the flu from Mickey. This would never have happened if Tally was coaching the team.
Post by: johnpower on February 23, 2008, 04:01:35 PM
Was at the match last Saturday.Disappointed with the match well off championship pace .Tyrone missing alot of the big guns . Kerry lorded Mid Field and left it close at the end . I was surprised with Gormley missing the match and can only assume that he was getting over the flu . Tyrones forwards were very economical with the limited possession that they got . Just got the impression that Mickey Harte is keeping something back until the summer .Kerry seemed to be playing from Memory .How much training have Tyrone done at this stage ?
Post by: orangeman on February 23, 2008, 04:59:17 PM
Apparently Tyrone are only training once a week