Ciarraí vs Tír Eoghain NFL 2008

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, January 05, 2008, 06:51:30 PM

Quote from: orangeman on February 19, 2008, 11:22:06 AM
Who all got injured ?

McCarron and Carlin where both carried off in the first half!

Mike.......agreed with 90% of yer assessment bar a few wee quibbles.......

QuoteHalf forwards were very poor, Mulgrew tried hard but got little from O'Mahony

Thought Mulgrew actually did quite well........was restricted by lack of movement ahead of him. Very accurate passing. Cameras caught exactly what he got from O'Mahoney

QuoteAidan O'Mahony another who is playing great football this early in the year, has great strength in the tackle and pace makes him probably the best centre back in the country over the last 2 years

Not by a mile. Block has been the best CHB by quite a distance over the last 2 years.

QuoteNot much to rate about any of the other Tyrone subs

Thought McCaul was excellent when he came on

QuoteGood to see himself and Declan sheparding a tyronie out over the sideline and throwing a few skelps at the tyrone subs and mentors who got involved, reminded me of a clip a few years ago when kerry men were being surrounded by Tyrones finest

If ye referring to the 2003 SF then I don'lt remember any Tyrone players "throwing a few skelps" at anyone on the Kerry sideline

Quarterback

Continuing to hear the rumors about Gormley, Semingly he was unhappy with the training.....

Its intresting that the kerry team were only back in training 2 weeks and they were flying in comparision to tyrone....I have to say if the rumours are true then is would be a serious blow to tyrone.  How would harte answer this one??....What would the county board do in this instance.....In fairness the effort against kerry was all there but we lack clynical finishing up front.  

1 Packie...Done very well but needs to sort his aimless kickouts out...he slices too mank kickoouts and a high hanging ball suited the kerry midfield...Should be replaced with devine or curran who can pick out their men.

2 PJ...Tenatious tackler, but seems to allow his man to get the ball.....One for the future

3. Mc Carron...Spent more time looking at donaghy and keeping his socks at the right level as apposed to concentrating on football...again one for the future

4.  Swift...Solid and a useful prospect

5. Davy...Moses Kipkeda, runs all day and gets through alot off work...Its not a question of what he done...its a question off not doing enough

6.  Carlin... Excellent until injured, dosent look out off place, should move to the wing instead off Harte

7.  Jordan, Powerful display off running, returing to the form off old...

8.  Mc Ginley Cleaned out in the middle off the park but through no fault off mcginley, not a midfielder

9. Hughes.. Not on Long enough to be rated

10. Cavanagh..spends moretime yapping that trying to get through hard work

11..Mulgrew   Genius...

12.. Mc Guigan Done well, hit a good point...works hard but much more in the tank

13..Mc Cullagh  V Effective and looks in good shape...

14.  Waste of space, i noted before the game that tyrone dont have a freetaker, and mulligan again showed he cant hit frees...What can he do i ask myself??  If a new boy hadda put in the same preformance wed be saying hes not up to it...

15..Gormley, never sniffed it off the sharp reidy...may improve...

If u look at that team and compare it to what in my opinion should be the team,(if all available) i feel theres a difference...

1    Curran
2    Ricey
3    K Mc Crory (Galbally)
4    M MGee
5    Carlin
6    Gormley
7    Jordan
8    S Cavanagh
9    Colin Holmes
10  Dooher
11  Mc Guigan
12  Mulgrew
13  Mc Cullagh
14  Enda Mc Ginley
15  Stephen O Neill

Management Setup : Liam Donnelly / Peter Canavan

Trainer: Ryan Porter/ Paddy Tally

Star Spangler

QuotePackie...Done very well but needs to sort his aimless kickouts out...he slices too mank kickoouts and a high hanging ball suited the kerry midfield...Should be replaced with devine or curran who can pick out their men.

That's a fair point.  I had a couple of years at midfield and there was nothing worse to catch than the kickouts that dropped straight down.  It always suited the taller player and not necessarily the best "run-jump" catcher which is exactly what Hub is.

QuoteContinuing to hear the rumors about Gormley, Semingly he was unhappy with the training.....

Jaysus lads, can we give oul the Conor Gormley rumours a rest - its not the first time a manager has been forced to withdraw a player very late before a game and it definately wont be the last! Is the whole season going to dominated by people whispering about problems within the camp?? Tyrone have been prepared very professionally ever since Mickey Harte took over, nobody was complaining after 2003 and 2005! I know on a discussion board its the place to discuss matters, but lets have a little bit of evidence before starting the rumour mill churning! "My mate was chatting to a Carmen man about Gormley" doesnt equate to evidence in my book!

Interesting team QB but lettuce see who you're leaving out

McCaul - I think he's in with a great shout for a Full back line position somewhere
Gourley - Harte likes him when he's fit
Justin - Again if he can stay fit can become a regular. Maybe FB
Joey  - Again if he can stay fit can become a regular. Maybe FB or MF
Nephew - I'm not a fan despite his honest hard working approach
Swift - Have never saw him live but looked ok last Sat on TV
PJ Quinn - Have never saw him live but looked ok last Sat on TV
C.McCarron - Never saw him til last week but think he's not ready from what I heard

Ricey was beginning to look to have slowed up a bit last year and got a roasting from a few forwards.
McGee's been out injured for ages so will be hard to judge

Penrose - Can be a good player and as our forwards now seem in short supply may have a good season this year

I would not play Mugsy or Hughes any more until they proved that they are willing to bust a gut for the cause.

I'd be hopeful (Not expectant) of Brian McGuigan making it back for the summer but I think Stevie won't be back. At least NOT this year.

I'd love to see a bit tall strong FF such as Joey to completely revitalise how we play like Kerry did as we've become far to predictable and one our FF line has hardly any threat now.

Now theres an idea.
I have a fear about some of these players though that they are physically not up to play a full season in terms of injuries.  We had a County standard full back who played a few games including championship for the county a few years ago.  He was brave as hell but  he was ravaged by injuries from soft muscle stuff to shoulder dislocations, back and knee problems, the lad just eventual;ly had to quit through chronic bad luck injuries.  Sometimes the body just cant take that level of physical activity.  Is big Joey the same and indeed others in the panel.   

Quote from: rrhf on February 19, 2008, 05:12:59 PM
Now theres an idea.
I have a fear about some of these players though that they are physically not up to play a full season in terms of injuries.  We had a County standard full back who played a few games including championship for the county a few years ago.  He was brave as hell but  he was ravaged by injuries from soft muscle stuff to shoulder dislocations, back and knee problems, the lad just eventual;ly had to quit through chronic bad luck injuries.  Sometimes the body just cant take that level of physical activity.  Is big Joey the same and indeed others in the panel.   

Ive been kinda hinting against Justin getting a run out at full forward. We need something different. An off form mugsy isnt a target man, and the two smaller corners cant feed off him. Maybe getting a big man in there and mixing it about a little might give the attack some sort of focal point, which it appears to be lacking right now.

There was hope that Rouse might have provided this option at FF but he wasn't really given much of a run out. I don't know if throwing Justy or Joey in there would work. Donaghy is way above the level either of these are at. There's no point copying Kerry's style when we don't seem to have the personal to do it with. The only one I think could do a similar job would be Canavagh Sr and we can't really afford to lose him out the field.

Our option then is to continue in the present vein?

Quote from: Oraisteach on February 19, 2008, 01:23:08 AM
KM, is David Moran Ogie's son?

as az said yep and tommy walsh is sean walshs son... btw david 'ogie' moran is 6' 2" and the da was nowhere near that.

I don't think we have much of an option. I think our current vein is that we're just not where we were two or three years ago. I just don't think we have player who can do for Tyrone what Donaghy does for Kerry. In saying that I think our defence looks as strong now as it did in 2005. Maybe that's the key. In 2005 we notched up a couple of big scores but were conceding more. Now I would have alot more confidence in our defence.

We dont necessarily need someone in the form of a Donaghy. We  need a focal point for our attack - which right now we dont have. No penetration except what our half backs are providing.

The defence is in good shape - but it wont bring honours, merely a stay of execution until we meet the big guns again.

I don't think a strong defence should be underestimated. It can make big differences especially when meeting the big guns!! Althought I agree things aren't right in the fforward line up. But unless one or two of the exsisting players hit a purple patch in the scoring I can't really see any change. The players that started the last day will be the ones come the heat of the championship as well, Bar maybe McGuigan I can's see there being a major change.

I agree with what you are saying, so like another poster alluded to - do we stick with what we have and give them one more shot to get it right, or do we try and rebuild and give the younger players some experience? Throw into the mix the rumours concerning Mickey Harte and Stephen O'Neill and maybe next year might bring a host of changes?  ???