Ciarraí vs Tír Eoghain NFL 2008

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, January 05, 2008, 06:51:30 PM

At one point do we bit the bullet and admit that the past is the past and the time has come to rebuild the side?

Agreed.

Snappiered I heard a rumour regarding Gormley as well. To be honest I'd take it with a pinch of salt!!

feetofflames

rebuild - yes, transition - no.
"Transition"  Pron: tran -sich- yon:  is a word used to describe the time wasted in the rebuilding process ie when a manager cant make up his mind between what has been and what can be. 
How many midfield options were given 20 minutes in this years Mc Kenna cup and got dumped on their hole whilst the Hub made it?  im not saying they would have been any better, but could they be any worse? 
Chief Wiggum

I hope the rumour mill is wrong again and that the supposed row re Conor Gormley didn't happen -

You're an awful hoor for discussing possible rows orangeman.

tieroan

My Carmen source (very relaible and a club player og Gormleys) said this is a laod of balls. He was laid low with the flu over the weekend.

Did it happen or not ? There's a lot of speculation - as I say, I hope it didn't happen - but as usual whenever a team loses, you end up with a lot of shite talk - but it seems strange that Gormley cried off so late on  - and as we all know, Gormley isn't exactly the crying type, is he ?.

My Carmen source (very relaible and a club player og Gormleys) said this is a laod of balls. He was laid low with the flu over the weekend

Delighted to hear this - this was my information as well.

Quote from: orangeman on February 18, 2008, 03:18:08 PM
Did it happen or not ? There's a lot of speculation - as I say, I hope it didn't happen - but as usual whenever a team loses, you end up with a lot of shite talk - but it seems strange that Gormley cried off so late on  - and as we all know, Gormley isn't exactly the crying type, is he ?.

you are talking like we are all  in the know ???

what reportedly happened?

feetofflames

When things are bad you hear loads of rumours - most of them unhelpful to the Tyrone cause, in fairness its possibly mostly Carmen  men who are saying these things, is it general Carmen folk or Conor himself that is unhappy with Conor at f/b?  In fairnesss ye get talking to folk most days of the week and you get a top breaking news every day.
On an unrelated note has everyone got their tickets for the nally stand now?  Still a few left.
Chief Wiggum

I was at the game on Saturday night and to be honest i never felt that Tyrone  really looked like winning the game and to be fair i was quite pleased at the way they battled hard to keep in touch in a game that as Orangeman says we should have lost by 10 points!

It was a strange game to analyse, the forward line where very economical when they had decent ball, but complaining about the ball in is unfair when you look down the pitch and nobody is making a meaning run to get into space to receive the pass. Our scores came mainly from breaks up the field by the half backs - usually the outstanding Philip Jordan! Colm Cavannagh has come in for a bit of stick lately, but i thought at least he was consistently trying to show for the ball - ok he made a few mistakes but at least he showed willing - unlike Mulgrew, Mugsy and Gormley! I thought McCullagh had a good game, but i'm concerned at halving our most capable scoring forward popping up to make defencive tackles inside his own 21.

The defence did a decent job - McCarron was struggling to be fair, but our midfield was so over run it was difficult for him when the supply has plenty of time to pick the perfect ball from someone like Donaghy! I thought Justy did well when he came and got into Donaghy's face a bit - which seems to put him off his game as he spent most of the rest of the game with his arms out complaining looking for frees! Maybe this is the way to deal with him!

As i said, Jordan was superb, during the second half it seemed like it was Kerry V Philip Jordan - perhaps CHB is his place, which would mean Gormley can come back into the square (speaking of which, we heard in the pub before the game that he wasnt playing and it was because of flu!) and Carlin can move to the wing where i feel he could be very dangerous!

Big Pascal made 3 great saves, but his kick-outs were shocking although the movement by the midfield didnt help! Overall though, a more encouraging display with a bit more bite, however we are severely short in major areas i.e. midfield and a ball winning and accurate scoring forward!

has everyone got their tickets for the nally stand now?  Still a few left.

You'se have the country cleaned - one top Irish economist has blamed the fall in house prices and the Carrickmore draw for the current credit crisis !  ;D ;D

From the horses mouth, Conor does hate full back. He would play anywhere though without complaint.

Lads its only February for God's sake so maybe we're all a little hasty here.

This time last year things we're not so good either and we won Ulster without Stevie and many others.
Who would have thought we'd have hammered Donegal the NFL champs who were looking good last year and then beat Monaghan who should have beaten Kerry.

Come June we could have a team like this

Packie
Ricey
Justin McMahon or Holmes
McCaul
Carlin
Block
Jordan
Sean
Joey
Dooher
McGuigan