Ciarraí vs Tír Eoghain NFL 2008

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, January 05, 2008, 06:51:30 PM

100%.

Hub has to prove to Mickey again.

Like the team, I think we've seen the best of Hub.

Unfortunately I won't get to see the game. Can anyone tell me if Setanta are repeating it during the week?

Setanta broadband arent showing it until 8pm pacific time, anyone have any other links????

Caitlin

Setanta Sports 2 are showing it at 10.15.This will be available to people on the Virgin/Setanta deal in NI

Kerry 12 - Tyrone 09
just in from the match and just heading out! good game on a feckin cold night with a great crowd there, thought kerry were well worth the win and should have won by more. good games for kerry by killian young, marc o se, thought scannlon did well enough, donaghy great (but no score) david moran got about the hour and did alright when darren o sullivan came on for him and did better, tommy walsh also got a run so there are two great names from the past back (moran/walsh) bryan sheehan did well as did declan o sullivan. tyrone man of the match? pascal mcconnell, need i say more! made 2 great saves. what does it all mean for the summer? sfa imo...

Tyrone decimated by injuries and with Conor Gormley hobbled at the last minute neverthelsee refuse to lie downto Kerry in their back yard.  Only  their 2nd defeat in 8 contests under Mickey Harte's tutelage.  A make-shift Tyrone defence notably holds Donaghy scoreless.

Listened to last 15 mins on Q107 - McGinn is good craic. Doesn't pull many punches.

Didn't really get the jist of the game too much, other than that Kerry should have been more ahead at half time.

Baptism of fire for McCarron at full-back, Gormley had flu? Whole full back line was all rookies actually, how did they look?

McGinn did not like McGuigan and C Cavanagh's holding up of the ball and not hitting the men making runs.
Also didn't like the fact that Mulligan wasn't making any runs.

Listened to it on Radio Kerry, once I got the accent sorted out I had a fair idea of who was who.

General Gist according to the boyos on the wireless

1. Mugsy was too far out to be causing any trouble

2. Donaghy (while scoreless) reined the full back line and was involved in almost every score

3. Scanlon lorded midfield (first half at least, I was drifting in and out in the second)

4. Brian Sheehans free taking was first class as usual (and boy, hes fairly trimmed down and will be expected to be in some shape come september!!)  Cocky fecking eejits! (probably true though)

Not looking forward to watching it on setanta later.

Watched it LIVE on Setanta and to be fair Kerry were the much superior team but had a lot of wides and couldn't seem to pul away
Tyrone looked very toothless in attack and midfield struggled again.

Was a reasonably open game I thought but again Mugsy, Hub were poor and Carlin and Cathal McCarron going off Injured
Donaghy did some fine catches and could have scored at least 2 goals but set up many other scores.
Thought Justy did well when he came in but why or why do we keep getting injuries.

Not a bad showing but obviously lacking a star forward now to carry the attacking threat and Mugsy just doesn't do it for me any more

He even missed another easy enough free and his living on past glory.
Harte was optmistic that after Galway we've 3 home matches and Derry away who beat Laois away tonight.
He talked of surviving relegation should be OK and that we could even end up in the mix. I can't see it myself

Think its still too early to panic though but I think we no longer have a dangerous forward line and so the days of scoring 0.21 in games are long gone. Are we gonna become a defensive minded team to grind out wins like 0.9 to 0.8

QuoteA make-shift Tyrone defence notably holds Donaghy scoreless.

But how much did he set-up, he was fantastic for Kerry I thought...

An entertaining 70 minutes of football, on a perfect February night for it, with Kerry well worth their win.

The (Tír Eoghain) positives:

• The Defence
  • Holding Donaghy scoreless, with 2nd and 3rd choice full backs, though he was involved in just about every Kerry score
  • Justin Mc Mahon
  • The overall work-rate and application (there were exceptions), with the curve definitely on the up
  • Only a kick in the ball in it at the end, though could had should have been more

The negatives:

• Midfield, i.e., where was it in the first half? Scanlon, in particular, did great for Kerry
  • Enda Mc Ginley is not a primary possession winner of clean ball, though great at the recycled and secondary phases, i.e., more a half-forward
  • The attack was too laboured at times, and did not generate enough options to trouble the Kerry defence

All in all, more positive than negative, but until we're close to being as strong in midfield and attack as we are in defence we can't realistically have aspirations towards the greatest prize this year... but it is only February.

phpearse

Watched the match on Setanta last night. Kerry were very good in the first half and really should have been out of site by half time. They were much sharper,were first to most of the breaking ball and ruled the midfield sector.

I thought the FB line had a torid fist half but settled better after the break. McConnell did well to save two goal efforts but he also gave up two points. One with the delay in the kick out the other with the pathetic fisted effort when he was unchallenged in the square. McCarron couldn't handle Donaghy at all, although the ball coming in was very good. Donaghy wasn't held scoreless, he did score a fisted point in the second half. Justin McMahon did do a decent job when he replaced McCarron at FB, although he was helped by a better workrate from the players out the field who limited the ball going into Donaghy.

Half back line again poor first half and better second. Jordan tried hard.

While McGinley didn't catch any clean ball in MF his workrate was tremendous. 2 points from play and winning a couple of scoreable frees. Hub was non existent.

Forwards were generally poor with the exception of McCullagh. Colm Cavanagh did well to last the whole game.

We'll be able to strengthen the backs and MF come championship time but lets face it we'll struggle to get points on the board. Did we even create one goal chance last night?

It's a case now of getting enough points to stay in div 1. That could be easier said than done.

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 17, 2008, 11:54:08 AM
  • Holding Donaghy scoreless, with 2nd and 3rd choice full backs, though he was involved in just about every Kerry score

Errm, just watching it now - Donaghy scored a fisted point on 56 minutes, and it's fairly obvious so far that it is the 2nd and 3rd choice full backs, he's cleaning them. That been said if Tyrone had their full deck it would be a different game

SuperDooperCooper

Unfortunately didn't get to see the game last night as all the pubs in Limerick (and I tried about 15) were watching the Leinster v Cardiff Blues rugby match.
Great to see that Seamus Scanlon had a fine game was clear from his underage days that he had the talent now he has the application as well.
From a Kerry team with so little training under their belts to be so competitive this early in the season is a positive sign, would not be overly concerned with the wides tally, the accuracy will come with the firmness in the sod.
The supporting pack seem to be stepping up to the plate which can only be beneficial when the marquee names return (Dara O'Se, Gooch, Galvin, Brozzie).
Would be happy eneough to avoid relegation this year and see a few new back come through but based on the reports from last night there is nothing wrong with the back line at present.