About time to throw a thread up, we're only a week out from the start now!
Saturday February 4th, 2012
7:00 PM
Antrim vs. Sligo (Casement Park)
Sunday February 5th, 2012
2:30 PM
Longford vs.Offaly (Glennon Brothers Pearse Park)
Wexford vs. Cavan (Wexford Park)
Roscommon vs.Tipperary (Dr. Hyde Park)
Saturday February 11th, 2012
Cavan vs. Longford (Kingspan Breffni Park)
Sunday February 12th, 2012
Offaly vs.Roscommon (O'Connor Park)
Tipperary vs. Antrim (Semple Stadium)
Sligo vs.Wexford (Markievicz Park)
Saturday March 3rd, 2012
Antrim vs. Offaly (Casement Park)
Cavan vs. Sligo (Kingspan Breffni Park)
Sunday March 4th, 2012
Longford vs. Roscommon (Glennon Brothers Pearse Park)
Wexford vs. Tipperary (Wexford Park)
Sunday March 11th, 2012
12 45 PM
Tipperary vs. Cavan (Semple Stadium)
Sunday March 11th, 2012
Offaly vs. Wexford (O'Connor Park)
Sligo vs. Longford (Markievicz Park)
Roscommon vs. Antrim (Dr. Hyde Park)
Sunday March 18th, 2012
Cavan vs. Offaly (Kingspan Breffni Park)
Longford vs. Antrim (Glennon Brothers Pearse Park)
Wexford vs. Roscommon (Wexford Park)
Sligo vs. Tipperary (Markievicz Park)
Saturday March 24th, 2012
Tipperary vs. Longford (Semple Stadium)
Sunday March 25th, 2012
12:45 PM
Antrim vs. Wexford (Casement Park)
Sunday March 25th, 2012
Offaly vs. Sligo (O'Connor Park)
Roscommon vs. Cavan (Dr. Hyde Park)
Sunday April 8th, 2012
Cavan vs. Antrim (Kingspan Breffni Park)
Longford vs. Wexford (Glennon Brothers Pearse Park)
Tipperary vs. Offaly (Semple Stadium)
Sligo vs. Roscommon (Markievicz Park)
Saturday April 28th, 2012
TBC
NFL Divison 3 Final: 1st Placed team vs. 2nd Placed Team
N.B. the venues listed seem to only be provisional, from what I read in the paper the Roscommon vs. Tipp game will actually be played in Kiltoom, so similar changes for other games are likely.
Christ. I hate this 'Glennon Brothers Pearse Park' lark. Infacta why the feckin place was named after Pearse is a mystery to me. It was named so in 1937 and, as far as I know, Patrick Pearse had no connection with Longford.
That said we have a good chance of a nice league run. I expect wins over Offaly, Cavan and Antrim. Can't seee much change from the games agin Sligo and the Rossies and Tipp. Wexford at home may be a close affair. I'll call it for Longford. So 4 wins and 3 defeats.
For us the first game against Tipp is a piviotal one for the entire season - we've plenty of absenties (seven championship starters from last year, including the entire St. Brigids team, injuries and probably more college tied players than any other county panel) and this will be one of only three home games we'll have in the league, albeit away games to Longford, Offaly and Sligo soften that blow somewhat.
That's not to meantion Tipp being one of the most dangerous teams in the divison. If we can win that game we should be able to reach the latter stages of the league still in contention and by the Cavan game we should have a full hand to pick from and in that situation I think we're more than good enough to win out.
Getting a good run in the league would be a huge boost for a new manger with a game against Galway on the horizon.
All eyes in Cavan will be on this especially after Johnson-gate. Looking at the opposition, could this be the most competitive group in the League?
I would take a top 3 position but I have a feeling we could be drawn in to a relegation fight.
Let Battle commence
I reckon it was named after Willie Pearse - in true Longford fashion!!
From what i hear our opening league game has been switched to Kiltoom. I agree with Syferus, the Tipp game will set the tone for our league season & hopefully our injury list isn't as long as it's rumoured.
No expectations from me, we could get promoted, we could get relegated and we could stay in the division.
Paddy power odds To win the Div 3 title.
Wexford 5/2
Sligo 9/2
Longford 5/1
Tipperary 6/1
Offaly 7/1
Antrim 8/1
Roscommon 9/1
Cavan 9/1
Quote from: ross4life on January 28, 2012, 04:48:09 PM
Wexford 5/2
Sligo 9/2
Longford 5/1
Tipperary 6/1
Offaly 7/1
Antrim 8/1
Roscommon 9/1 WTF Get on it
Cavan 9/1
Wexford 5/2
Sligo 9/2
Longford 5/1
Tipperary 6/1
Offaly 7/1
Antrim 8/1
Roscommon 9/1
Cavan 9/1
I don't bet but that 9/1 for us is mighty attractive. We only need to get to second place to get to the final - and I expect alot of teams beating each other, so the threshold is likely to be low - and by then we'll have a very strong panel to choose from.
Quote from: Syferus on January 28, 2012, 07:43:28 PM
Wexford 5/2
Sligo 9/2
Longford 5/1
Tipperary 6/1
Offaly 7/1
Antrim 8/1
Roscommon 9/1
Cavan 9/1
I don't bet but that 9/1 for us is mighty attractive. We only need to get to second place to get to the final - and I expect alot of teams beating each other, so the threshold is likely to be low - and by then we'll have a very strong panel to choose from.
Have to agree 9/1 for the Rossies is attractive. Have realtives down in Roosky so always hope they go well. Sligo 9/2, Antrim 8/1?? Considering these two have been joined at the neck for 3/4 years either Anrtrim are good value or Sligo are way over priced.
As gambler i won't be going near those odds no matter how attractive. Another disappointing display away to Louth tonight from us without the St Brigid's lads (possibly out until the 2nd last game) & a mounting injury list i feel us keeping Div 3 status will be decent season.
Quote from: ross4life on January 28, 2012, 08:04:51 PM
As gambler i won't be going near those odds no matter how attractive. Another disappointing display away to Louth tonight from us without the St Brigid's lads (possibly out until the 2nd last game) & a mounting injury list i feel us keeping Div 3 status will be decent season.
Hard to read much of anything into challenge matches, though - we lost to Donegal by a point in a high-scoring affair (!) two days before the GMIT game, after all. In the closest we've had to a serious game, the Mayo one, we showed plenty with a skin-bare team sheet. This division could be a wild ride, no one's safe and no team has no hope of promotion. A few good results is all you need in this sort of league to set yourself up.
. Another disappointing display away to Louth tonight from us without the St Brigid's lads (possibly out until the 2nd last game) & a mounting injury list i feel us keeping Div 3 status will be decent season.
Were you up there R4Life? I heard they didnt do too bad but made a lorry load of substitutions.
Anyway - I too think we'll do well to hold on in D3 with the players available to us. We need to get some points in February or we could be rejoining D4 rapidly.
Mind you D3 has been the tightest League of the 4 over the last 3 years with most teams going in to the last round with a chance of promotion and a danger of relegation.
I have a tenner on Cavan to get promoted. Unlike a lot of teams, we are very focused on winning promotion as a top goal. We will know more after round 1 but I'm confident.
Good man Myles - my wife's brother would be a similar sort of optomist as you. "Cavan for Sam" is his motto. He is my prediction on final positions
Wexford
Tipperary
Roscommon
Longford
Sligo
Antrim
Offaly
Cavan
Quote from: Rossfan on January 28, 2012, 09:26:41 PM
. Another disappointing display away to Louth tonight from us without the St Brigid's lads (possibly out until the 2nd last game) & a mounting injury list i feel us keeping Div 3 status will be decent season.
Were you up there R4Life? I heard they didnt do too bad but made a lorry load of substitutions.
Nope but was getting regular text updates, by all accounts disappointing from 9ts up to lose by 4 Louth made most of the substitutions.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 28, 2012, 11:20:54 PM
Good man Myles - my wife's brother would be a similar sort of optomist as you. "Cavan for Sam" is his motto. He is my prediction on final positions
Wexford
Tipperary
Roscommon
Longford
Sligo
Antrim
Offaly
Cavan
Agree except your table is clearly upside down. Are you mad cos our u21's beat ye again today? Your brother in law sounds nice, tell him I was asking for him.
Fair enough Myles - Hastings defeat in Abbeylara was a blow to the nads. My auld lad reffed the first ever Hastings Cup Final in 19666666666666666665 ( i think)
Brother in law is a proud Bailieboro man and we've had manys a pint discussing football. We have a Marshall plan to improve both Cavan and Longford fortunes. Sadly the idea of kidnapping fertile women from Kerry, Tyrone and Dublin to breed with huge hairy monsters from Donegal and Armagh may be a tad unconstituntional.
Bastards.
First game v Sligo is massive for us but we're at fortress Casement so would be hopeful enough.
big year for us this year. Hope to go straight back up but we may be a bit light and up front
#saffronarmy
QuoteHastings defeat in Abbeylara was a blow to the nads.
A competitive match in Ballywillan Stadium - surely not??
Your predictions suffer from evidence of bewilderment SS - you must have taken a rap on the noggin.
Roscommon
Wexford
Antrim
Tipperary
Sligo
Longford
Offaly
Cavan
Wexford
Longford
Roscommon
Cavan
Tipperary
Sligo
Offaly
Antrim
Antrim
Sligo
Wexford
Roscommon
Tipperary
Cavan
Longford
Offaly
I originally only had one of Sligo and Antrim going up but I changed it because I've grown fond of Sligo and couldn't bare to be apart from them
I'm loving the way we're being written off.
Yes AZ
Seems to be a strong held view that Offaly are heading for the wilds of Div 4. Never fear. They won the Leinster from there in 1997.
Just the way we like it :D I remember the same last year, and I think we came within a last gasp defeat to Westmeath of making it up into Division 2.
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 30, 2012, 04:23:52 PM
Just the way we like it :D I remember the same last year, and I think we came within a last gasp defeat to Westmeath of making it up into Division 2.
Sligo and Offaly are the real wild-cards, either could be relegated or even promoted. Certainly safer bets, though.
Offaly are consistently inconsistent. To be honest I wouldn't back us in any game, but I'd never feel safe backing against us either. We must be one of the most idiosyncratic and unpredictable counties in the country.
Boylesports odds:
Wexford 5/2
Tipperary 5/1
Longford 6/1
Sligo 6/1
Offaly 13/2
Roscommon 8/1
Antrim 8/1
Cavan 11/1
This division is amazing.
There never seems to be a clear cut winner or relegation candidate easily picked any year.
Even if the standard can be poor at times,it is most definitely the most competitive of the Divisions in the NFL.
Wexford are the class of the division on paper but don't really seem to fire in the NFL.
Janey I dunno Keane. Wexford wouldn't put the fear of God into anybody. They might be marginally the best team there, but I don't think anyone will be approaching their respective Wexford game thinking they'll be definitely losing.
Wexford, depending on their panel, would be one of the strongest in the division but they're hardly head-and-shoulders above anyone. I'd say if we had a full panel available we'd be the strongest team - we've got good recent records against Sligo, Cavan and Longford and we beat Wexford over two championship games in 2009, and we're a far better team now. But like BallyhaiseMan said, this division can be very unpredictable and no team should be going into the season thinking they can't be promoted.
I think that's why the division is so tight. I can honestly say that I would not be surprised if Offaly won every match in the division, nor lost every match in the division. I don't think there is any team I'd look at there and say, lovely, easy two points. (If you would ever say that as an Offaly person). Nor would I look at it and say 'Well, we're f*cked in that one'. (Ditto re Offaly person).
Like AZ, I wouldn't go into any of the games out of the seven expecting to win, and neither would I go into any of the games thinking that we were without a decent chance, 30% at least.
Having said that, if somebody offered me a sixth place finish in the division now, I'd happily take it. We've a very new team, no idea when our one top class forward will be available for selection, and question marks over nearly every position. Richie Dalton will probably start at 8 or 9 in the championship, but other than that I wouldn't bet on anyone starting against Kildare at 3, 6, 8, 9, 11 or 14 at even money - which is a lot of questions to answer over the course of a league campaign.
Looking at the division generally, I'd agree with the sentiments that it's a difficult one to call, but I'd agree with the bookies rather than the consensus here with regard to Roscommon. They haven't beaten anyone other than division four teams and Sligo for two years - that's hardly the kind of form to suggest that they should be so highly rated in this league. 9/1 might be value if the St Brigids lads were available the whole way through, but without them, I'd honestly say they'd be my favourites to make the drop, albeit again in a league where any one of the eight could easily finish on the bottom.
Cavan for value for me. If they even improve a little bit they'll be right in there, four home games and plenty of good young footballers to bring on board.
Syferus, i don't know where you got our good rrecent records against longford cavan and sligo. Didnt longford hammer us last April and tihs weekend two years ago Cavan came to the hyde and scored 1-20 to our 1-10. And sure werent we blessed to beat sligo that last time we played them in the 2010 connacht final, as Eamon O Hara says (quite often) if the game was played the following tueday sligo would have won.
I'd be worried, we havent seen any sight of the likes of cregg, carty ward or o grady in the FBD, all due to injury i presume, we are missing at least 4 certain starters in mannion dommo senan and ian kilbride with bridgids and the likes of keenan and collins cannot make the DCU team. And the you have the curse of emmigration robbing us of james mckeague and when you take into account the fact that the new management will take a while to settle in, and we've no sponsor and no money. We're in poor shape really.
Now *that* is quality cute hoorism
With up to nine players out, now is the time to prove we have strength in depth better than i & many other rossies expect. It's worth pointing out the last time we played all these teams in the league we lost so the only way is up from here.
Looking at last year's Div 3 table 6pts got Limerick relegated while Louth got promotion with 8pts more of the same this year i feel.
It all depends on how things sake down. Two points in Kiltoom on Sunday will set us up in a very good position going forward as that Tipp team is likely to, at minimum, be taking points off alot of teams. Do that and we'll be getting progressively strong each week as the college players start to come in more and the strange rash of groin injuries clear up. We got promoted last year without the Brigids players for the most part, and even though the standard is obviously higher this year that doesn't have to be the make-or-break factor in being promoted in the league.
I've noticed a tendency towards fatalism in supporters here but we're not going to be the only county suffering absentees and injuries.
Cavan and Tipp to go up. Offaly and Sheepmen for the drop.
Cavan are going to beat wexford on Sunday. You heard it here first.
Quote from: Mayo Mick on January 30, 2012, 11:09:07 PM
Cavan and Tipp to go up. Offaly and Sheepmen for the drop.
? Meanwhile in Mayo.
(http://img830.imageshack.us/img830/1546/c26094ea23c01e3c6290c21.gif)
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 30, 2012, 04:23:52 PM
It was winner takes all in Cusack Park and to be honest only for McNamee and some sloppy defending on our part Offaly would have been beat out the gate at half time. Easily our best performance of the year before we completely imploded in the championship.
Wexford will take one of the promotion spots with the other one up for grabs for any of the other 7, this division will be really tight again this year.
Quote from: Magicsponge on January 30, 2012, 03:57:13 PM
Antrim
Sligo
Wexford
Roscommon
Tipperary
Cavan
Longford
Offaly
I originally only had one of Sligo and Antrim going up but I changed it because I've grown fond of Sligo and couldn't bare to be apart from them
Likewise, im at the stage now of our relationship that if we go up it just wouldnt feel right without Antrim by our side :) im glad the feelings mutual.
Quote from: commonman on January 30, 2012, 08:11:30 PM
Syferus, i don't know where you got our good rrecent records against longford cavan and sligo. Didnt longford hammer us last April and tihs weekend two years ago Cavan came to the hyde and scored 1-20 to our 1-10. And sure werent we blessed to beat sligo that last time we played them in the 2010 connacht final, as Eamon O Hara says (quite often) if the game was played the following tueday sligo would have won.
I'd be worried, we havent seen any sight of the likes of cregg, carty ward or o grady in the FBD, all due to injury i presume, we are missing at least 4 certain starters in mannion dommo senan and ian kilbride with bridgids and the likes of keenan and collins cannot make the DCU team. And the you have the curse of emmigration robbing us of james mckeague and when you take into account the fact that the new management will take a while to settle in, and we've no sponsor and no money. We're in poor shape really.
I'll another Eamonn o hara quote "i know roscommon only beat us by a point but they were way better than that on the day, should of been more" on that RTE show with marty last yr and I tend to agree with him. The ref should of played more Injury time and that was the only complaint from us but ye should of buried long before that far the better team.
Quote from: Lone Shark on January 30, 2012, 08:03:39 PMI'd agree with the bookies rather than the consensus here with regard to Roscommon. They haven't beaten anyone other than division four teams and Sligo for two years - that's hardly the kind of form to suggest that they should be so highly rated in this league. 9/1 might be value if the St Brigids lads were available the whole way through, but without them, I'd honestly say they'd be my favourites to make the drop, albeit again in a league where any one of the eight could easily finish on the bottom.
Agree with this, Roscommon are the most overrated team in terms of public perception in the country AINEC.
It would literally take €100 from a winning account to move the price from 9/1 on them winning D3, the fact that no such money is forthcoming should indicate that the sharp punters have no interest in them, they'd be top of my list to be relegated.
We haven't a hope right enough.
Mind you if Domo , Carty, Mannion, O'Gara, Cregg ,Ward and Senan were available I'd give us a fair enough chance of promotion. As it is avoiding the drop is THE challenge.
I wonder who is doing all the overrating of Roscommon?
Maybe our Kerry friend could enlighten us :D
A lot of people see that the team won a provincial title and played in Croke Park for the last couple of years and blindly assign these achievements an importance in spite of the fact that they haven't beaten even any second tier team in the last couple of years (correct me if I'm wrong).
Quote from: Keane on January 31, 2012, 03:44:06 PM
A lot of people see that the team won a provincial title and played in Croke Park for the last couple of years and blindly assign these achievements an importance in spite of the fact that they haven't beaten even any second tier team in the last couple of years (correct me if I'm wrong).
We haven't been overrated by anyone in reality people rarely talk about us at all. So stop talking nonsense.
Good to hear you've talked to everyone.
Odds should tell you how we are rated, secondly when the national newspapers report on our games they continually get players names wrong e.g Senan McBride, Jeff Clancy,Kevin O'Higgins Donal Shannon etc.
In the Division 3 previews all that's said about us is "missing St brigid's players" i bet they couldn't even name those players. Mr Keane for whatever reason you have a bee in your bonnet about us.
I believe the Louth media called Ger Heneghan " Geoffrey Annan" after last weekends challenge game :D
That Kerry lad has got his knockers in a twist about us alright.
Good to know someone outside our lovely fair County is so concerned about us :-*
lol, parochial saddos unite!
Don't feed trolls with vendettas. This isn't the only place he's tried to get a rise out of Roscommon fans.
May I complement our new jersey sponsor John Murphy from Castlerea who instead of his own name on the jersey is havine "Mayo Roscommon Hospice ".
A wonderful gesture .
Mind you seeing a Ros team with the letters M,A,Y and O on their jerseys...... :o
Roscommon team to play Tipp on Sunday.
1. Geoffrey Claffey Naomh Caoimhin Cáislean Riabhach
2. Seán McDermott Gaeil an Iarthair
3. Neil Collins Naomh Caoimhin Cáislean Riabhach
4. Stephen Ormsby Naomh Faithleach
5. Cathal Dineen Naomh Caoimhin Cáislean Riabhach
6. Niall Daly Na Phiarsaigh
7. Seán Purcell Mainistir na Búille
8. Michael Finneran Naomh Dominic
9. Kevin Higgins Gaeil an Iarthair
10. David Keenan Naomh Bearraí
11. Donie Shine Clann na nGael
12. John Rogers Béal na mBuillí
13. Darren McDermott Naomh Caoimhin Cáislean Riabhach
14. Conor Devanney Cill Bhríde
15. Ger Heneghan Naomh Caoimhin Cáislean Riabhach
As expected we are missing up to nine players making a difficult fixture even harder. Best of luck to Des & his team.
Tipperary team also selected, with two changes from the team that lost to Cork in the McGrath Cup Final last Sunday.
1. Matthew O'Donnell (Killenaule)
2. Robbie Costigan (Cahir)
3. Paddy Codd (Killenaule)
4. Ciaran McDonald (Aherlow)
5. Robbie Kiely (Arravale Rovers)
6. Tommy Ryan (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)
7. Andrew Morrissey (Galtee Rovers)
8. Brian Jones (Arravale Rovers)
9. Eoin Ryan (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)
10.Hugh Coghlan (Portlaoise)
11.David Butler (Drom-Inch)
12.Peter Acheson (Moyle Rovers)
13.Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen)
14.Philip Austin (Borrisokane)
15.Barry Grogan (Aherlow)
Sligo team to play Antrim
1. Vincent Cadden Coolera/Strandhill
2. Charles Harrison St.John's
3. Jonathan Martyn St.Mary's
4. Ross Donovan (Captain) Eastern Harps
5. Jonathan Davey St.Mary's
6. Shane McManus Geevagh
7. Paul McGovern Eastern Harps
8. Brendan Egan Tourlestrane
9. Eugene Mullen Easkey
10. Mark Breheny St.Mary's
11. Alan Costello Coolera/Strandhill
12. Pat Hughes Geevagh
13. Stephen Coen St.Mary's
14. Adrian Marren Curry
15. Niall Murphy Coolera/Strandhill
David Kelly rested for DCU game on Tuesday?
Quote from: ross4life on February 03, 2012, 05:10:01 PM
As expected we are missing up to nine players making a difficult fixture even harder. Best of luck to Des & his team.
It's a pretty experienced side given the circumstances. Playing Donie at 11 means we'll be looking to get him the ball quick from restarts and have him and Higgins run from deep, we're not going to be dropping a huge amount of long ball down on Devanney..! I fully believe we can win the game, especially when we still have a very good platform in the middle. Tipp are good but they need to be taken in perspective.
At Kiltoom there should be a great atmosphere too so hopefully the weather holds up and we get as good a game as it looks like being.
Quote from: ross4life on February 03, 2012, 11:09:08 PM
6. Shane McManus Geevagh
9. Eugene Mullen Easkey
12. Pat Hughes Geevagh
14. Adrian Marren Curry
Not sure on that, ive asked the question and no one seems to know, imo it would be a disgrace if that was the case, Sligo comes first, but i reckon from what ive been told hes carrying a knock. There are other suprises, but im glad 3/4 of the team. Great to see the 2 young coolera boys on it, serious prospects for us.
Im heading home to Sligo from limerick in the next hr and getting lift to belfast and back sligo again tonight, hopefully it will be worth my while, the dissertation can wait, ive always wondered do players ever understand the lengths fans go to getting to games in terms of money aswell. Its never guarnteed with Sligo but 100% effort is minimum and i'll be happy enough once i see that.
Quote from: Syferus on February 03, 2012, 11:47:03 PM
Quote from: ross4life on February 03, 2012, 05:10:01 PM
At Kiltoom there should be a great atmosphere too so hopefully the weather holds up and we get as good a game as it looks like being.
Hope the day is dry as there's not much cover in Kiltoom !!
As good a selection as we can put out seeing who's not available.
I'd have been be reasonably confident if O'Gara was fit and playing.
Good to see Collins and Daly getting starts , hopefully the NFL will bring them on and give us extra options fro the Championship.
Full forward line as named looks small and light but I expect Keenan and Rogers will be middle third runners with Devaney and Donie being the HFL line and Darren Mc being the FF line plus a bit of help hopefully from "Geoffry Annan" .
Hopeful rather than confident is the best I can manage.
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on February 04, 2012, 11:27:25 AM
Quote from: ross4life on February 03, 2012, 11:09:08 PM
6. Shane McManus Geevagh
9. Eugene Mullen Easkey
12. Pat Hughes Geevagh
14. Adrian Marren Curry
Not sure on that, ive asked the question and no one seems to know, imo it would be a disgrace if that was the case, Sligo comes first, but i reckon from what ive been told hes carrying a knock. There are other suprises, but im glad 3/4 of the team. Great to see the 2 young coolera boys on it, serious prospects for us.
Im heading home to Sligo from limerick in the next hr and getting lift to belfast and back sligo again tonight, hopefully it will be worth my while, the dissertation can wait, ive always wondered do players ever understand the lengths fans go to getting to games in terms of money aswell. Its never guarnteed with Sligo but 100% effort is minimum and i'll be happy enough once i see that.
Wouldn't be surprised if Kelly is rested after all DCU have lost Compton,Smith & Murphy to injury in recent weeks. I would hope the players knows the effort us fans put in see the games but i sometimes have to question them, as you say 100% effort is minimum.
Jaysus lads granted some fans are unreal dedicated but it you're a county footballer doing what you should be doing then you are putting in a serious effort and I think supporters should remember that too.
Quote from: mylestheslasher on February 04, 2012, 05:51:58 PM
Jaysus lads granted some fans are unreal dedicated but it you're a county footballer doing what you should be doing then you are putting in a serious effort and I think supporters should remember that too.
I agree 100% Myles. Try not to be too hard on them ;)
Fantastic result last night with a fantastic finish. Free 50metres out with last kick to win it by Tomas McCann
Great start for the Saffrons
Longford 1-14
Offaly 0-08
time more or less up
Great start to campaign for the Longford, 4 home matches should be a big help in pushing for a top two spot
Longford 2-15
Offaly 0-08
I knew Offaly were poor enough but that's some beating
Quote from: Gold on February 05, 2012, 02:44:48 PM
Fantastic result last night with a fantastic finish. Free 50metres out with last kick to win it by Tomas McCann
I think a draw would have been a fair result, The free that Antrim got to win was not a free. The ref called Harrisson for throwing the ball which he did not.
Terrible call, with 10 seconds left and sligo attacking.
It's time to get some right referees. Good luck to Antrim, but it hard losing on a call like that.
Quote from: sligoman2 on February 05, 2012, 04:54:46 PM
I think a draw would have been a fair result, The free that Antrim got to win was not a free. The ref called Harrisson for throwing the ball which he did not.
It's time to get some right referees. Good luck to Antrim, but it hard losing on a call like that.
I wonder what Sligonian's take will be? :P Ros/Tipp result anyone??
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 05, 2012, 05:05:56 PM
I wonder what Sligonian's take will be? :P Ros/Tipp result anyone??
Ros won by a goal. 1-12 to 0-12.
I dont blame the ref at all, Antrim deserved the win, should of been out of sight before we got going, tomas mccann was outstanding, i'll be sending the usual pm's on the sligo side of things as i wont comment publicly anymore on players. Management are continuing to be a joke though but no doubt they'll try and scapegoat the ref for there own shortcomings.
The ref was pathetic but he gave us some soft frees to go 10-7 up but he didnt decide the game imo. He was terrible for both sides. We could of won the game no doubt, but why have any sympathy for us repeating same mistakes over and over again, im so bored with it now.
Great result for us today. Defending and attacking we were tenuous but the only thing that let us down was midfield - we won about one clear catch the entire day and almost all breaks ended up in Tipp's hands. Our best plays where built up from the full-backs, by-passing high fielding completely. It was a real team performance, though, and it'd be very hard to single out a man-of-the-match. Caruso Dineen put in one of his best performances in the county jersey, Devanney was a serious danger all day and McDermott exerted alot of influence in these second half. Newton couldn't have picked a better day for his first win.
We're on the road.
Hard earned well deserved win for our lads though credit to Tipp even with 14 men they never gave up.
1st half poor enough Devaney unlucky not to score a couple of goals we defended well with 12 men back most of the time.
2nd half more opened game the likes of Daly,Rogers,Darren McDermott,Dineen worked their socks off one of those games where a goal would win it thankfully we got it & Devaney with a cool finish after fine work by Rogers. Niall Daly for me was MOTM fine display in his first senior start .
Vital win for us as we only two home games left. Offaly in Tullamore next i would fancy our chances for another two points but they will demand a reaction after that poor showing v Longford.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on February 05, 2012, 04:06:49 PM
Longford 2-15
Offaly 0-08
I knew Offaly were poor enough but that's some beating
Offaly were offaly poor ;D
I thought Paul Barden had an exceptionally good game for us and Paul Kelly was handy until he had to go off injured. Michael Quinn improved in the second half.
Best line was from an (Offaly) wag was when the new fancy Glennon Bros. scoreboard briefly went blank after the second goal:
"Even the scoreboard's going home."
Impressive win for Longford there. Seems Cavan had Wexford there for the taking at one point and got hit for a quick 1-02 and it was game over. Letting in 4 goals is worrying. Next Saturdays game at home to Longford is now a must win game if we aim to get promoted. Should be a good match.
Quote from: Syferus on February 05, 2012, 05:48:39 PM
Caruso Dineen put in one of his best performances in the county jersey, Devanney was a serious danger all day and McDermott exerted alot of influence in these second half.
Seanie Mac well up there as MOM contender for me - Tipp put it up to us today and came back from behind several times to almost reel us in. They look like they might need a Plan B when it comes to their style of play though as most teams know how to defend against them at this stage. Indiscipline and a lack of clinical finishing didn't help them today either, but teams will know they're in a game when playing Tipp & I can see them still being well up there when it comes to the shake out. Fair play to the James Horan and the Mayoites for putting out such a strong team against our depleted panel in the FBD, that game and the way we had to battle back in the second half in Ballinlough really stood us in good stead for today's contest!
Quote from: haranguerer on February 05, 2012, 02:27:51 PM
Subtlety does not tend to get noticed very well Haranguer but good observation nonetheless.
You may have noted the line "doing what you should be doing". I have the height of respect for them lads.
Quote from: anglocelt39 on February 05, 2012, 08:05:01 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on February 05, 2012, 02:27:51 PM
Subtlety does not tend to get noticed very well Haranguer but good observation nonetheless.
Thats a fair point but they get alot more than fans out of it imo, in terms of social status, health benefits, buzz playing in front of big crowds etc... all we were saying is give 100% is all we fans expect as a minimum.. and Sligo did do that last night, fair play.
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on February 05, 2012, 05:20:36 PM
I dont blame the ref at all, Antrim deserved the win, should of been out of sight before we got going, tomas mccann was outstanding, i'll be sending the usual pm's on the sligo side of things as i wont comment publicly anymore on players. Management are continuing to be a joke though but no doubt they'll try and scapegoat the ref for there own shortcomings.
The ref was pathetic but he gave us some soft frees to go 10-7 up but he didnt decide the game imo. He was terrible for both sides. We could of won the game no doubt, but why have any sympathy for us repeating same mistakes over and over again, im so bored with it now.
Completely agree--ref did not decide the game. He did give ropey enough frees for both sides but the match was not the hardest to ref and there wasnt any big flashpoint incidents-penaltys, penalty calls or sendings off. It was certainly not on the Colm Cooper scale of give a man 6 frees for nothing cause of his name v us in Tullamore 09.
We shouldv'e been out of sight but messed about shouting from stupid angles whilst Sligo scored nearly any time they got the ball. We died for first 20 mins of 2nd half.
Tomas stood up and was a great leader. He started in FF line but no doubt serves us best out at half forward when his surging Darren O'Sullivan style runs make all the difference.
Paddy Cunningham isnt working at CHF. He cant win ball at FF so is now out at CHF. He appears to have a Stevie G/David Beckham type ego where he has to hit every free--running 20 metres back to take a free to where he was in the first place. As he's now at CHF he thinks he has to hit every ball--mostly long and too often when it's not on--he's not Greg Blaney --when a simple handpass is on he should take it. We carried him last night and cant afford to keep doing so.
Where we broke down was at half forward. James Loughrey is an outstanding half back but i feel his surging pace and power which always breaks the tackle is best served at half forward. In 2010 when we finished top of Div 3 he was our most potent attacking threat--he broke the gain line so many times, then laid it off to someone to stroke it over. In fact the holes he punched caused 90% of our goal chances in that league campaign. We'd no goal chance last night. Wont do to continue like that as the games go on.
Loughrey didnt play in the League last year and we went out with a whimper--he's that important.
Scullion played at corner back and was great. Antrim teams are never known to hit other teams or stop players in their tracks but Tony doesnt read the script. He loves hitting hard/borderline fair and i think its class.
Sligo didnt look too hot last night. They were rudderless up front for most of first half but relaxed a bit in the second half and improved. O'Hara and TT were a miss around the middle for them as was David Kelly (thank God he wasnt flying about up front).
Brady for us looked to me that he was going to get the hook till he won a ball and then followed that with a lobbed point. Thought Magill if fit shouldve been on.
Neeson scores some great points but shoots from crazy angles all too often. Also he hid in behind for 1st 25 mins of 2nd half and never touched leather during that time--not good enough going forward--he'll need to get out and win ball or have help in there to win ball. Numerous times we had ball going up left/stand side in 2nd half and the 2/3 full forwards ran away to far/top right corner in behind their men. The only ball playable to them then was a diagonal ball --but those 3 certainly arn't Ronan, Stevie and Diarmuid so that wasnt gonna work. They have to be brave, stronger and come out in front and get the ball--no primary school balls over the top at this level.
Tomas showed some guts though. Some pressure but stroked it over
Quote from: mylestheslasher on February 05, 2012, 08:11:07 PM
You may have noted the line "doing what you should be doing". I have the height of respect for them lads.
Comment re subtlety reinforced, never mind Myles you'll get it someday
Quote from: mylestheslasher on February 05, 2012, 06:59:59 PM
Impressive win for Longford there. Seems Cavan had Wexford there for the taking at one point and got hit for a quick 1-02 and it was game over. Letting in 4 goals is worrying. Next Saturdays game at home to Longford is now a must win game if we aim to get promoted. Should be a good match.
I would love to think we are still in the running for promotion Myles and don't want to come over all negative but at this stage I reckon we need to win four games out of six to be safe in Division 3 and who knows, that might even be enough for promotion with a bit of luck. There was an awful lot of positive stuff out there today, particularly when you consider where we are coming from but there is some serious stuff to worry about as well. I get the impression that Wexford had a view that we were a sitting duck to leak a few goals and so it proved. Now if that is a generally held view we are likely to leak another goal or two and may lose tight games that are there for the taking. Hope I am wrong but this has been an on going issue. In fairness, the first thing we need is not to spend 10 to 15 minute spells in games where we are winning nothing around the middle.
I can't see Cavan beating Longford next week, nor will Offaly beat the Rossies. Tipp to beat Antrim & Sligo to beat Wex. Sets the Longford Rossies game up
Nicely early in the season.
Quote from: panc56 on February 06, 2012, 12:12:15 AM
I can't see Cavan beating Longford next week, nor will Offaly beat the Rossies. Tipp to beat Antrim & Sligo to beat Wex. Sets the Longford Rossies game up
Nicely early in the season.
I think on today's performance we have every chance of taking Offaly but this division has the look of chaos about it - no one here is going to be over-confident next weekend. It is a big ask for Sligo to beat Wexford too, but maybe home field and necessity will coalesce for our neigbours.
Either way, that Longford game could well be huge. Cregg should be back for us by that game and he would help us no end with our problems controlling breaking ball in the middle so another performance like today against Longford would probably be enough to win.
Quote from: Gold on February 05, 2012, 08:37:26 PM
Completely agree--ref did not decide the game. He did give ropey enough frees for both sides but the match was not the hardest to ref and there wasnt any big flashpoint incidents-penaltys, penalty calls or sendings off.
Imo ref definitely decided the game. Thats the whole problem - as long as there are no major flash points, everyone goes, ach he was grand, but throughout a game, the borderline decisions make a massive difference. The ref was terrible, and favoured antrim. In fairness to them, they started very brightly, and should have been more ahead at ht, but some of the decisions throughout, key decisions at key times, were laughable. The free McCann got to level it was a disgrace.
Quote from: mylestheslasher on February 05, 2012, 06:59:59 PM
I think all the Longford win means is that the bookies were correct (about Offaly). We'll have a better idea of how things lie (with Longford anyway) after next weekend, I think.
After one poor showing yesterday i won't be writing off Offaly, in April Longford beat us by 6 points it really should have been double that. Over the years Offaly away is always difficult game for us & Sunday will be no different.
Quote from: ross4life on February 06, 2012, 06:12:54 PM
After one poor showing yesterday i won't be writing off Offaly, in April Longford beat us by 6 points it really should have been double that. Over the years Offaly away is always difficult game for us & Sunday will be no different.
I think you bring that league final game up way too much - we had a much more essential championship game a continent away the next weekend and every player was tense and playing within themselves - we took Kilbride off after about ten minutes - apart from Cregg. Previous to that our record against Longford has been ridiculously good so although I think Longford are a better team now than they have been for many years that game last year tells you next to nothing about our quality relative to them, let alone Offaly.
Quote from: Syferus on February 06, 2012, 06:58:59 PM
Quote from: ross4life on February 06, 2012, 06:12:54 PM
I think you bring that league final game up way too much - we had a much more essential championship game a continent away the next weekend and every player was tense and playing within themselves - we took Kilbride off after about ten minutes - apart from Cregg. Previous to that our record against Longford has been ridiculously good so although I think Longford are a better team now than they have been for many years that game last year tells you next to nothing about our quality relative to them, let alone Offaly.
I don't think i brought up the league final defeat since we lost it? I for one don't believe the myth "we were minding ourselfs for NY" Longford put in serious effort in that 2nd half something that we couldn't match on the day & Longford are a better team now than the one we use to regularly beat.
As for Offaly i see Niall McNamee is back in training hopefully from a Roscommon point of view next Sundays game comes to soon for him.
Quotethink you bring that league final game up way too much - we had a much more essential championship game a continent away the next weekend and every player was tense and playing within themselves - we took Kilbride off after about ten minutes - apart from Cregg. Previous to that our record against Longford has been ridiculously good so although I think Longford are a better team now than they have been for many years that game last year tells you next to nothing about our quality relative to them, let alone Offaly.
I agree 100% with Syferus. Rossies were awful that day but not because they are awful in general. A very bad day at the office and, yes, thoughts may have been on the trip to Amerikay.
Sadly I cannot read anything in the massacre of Offaly (and for Longford to beat Offaly by so much, given our history of meetings, it was a massacre). Maybe Sat in Breffni will give me some light. Can't go as I am at a 50th birthday party but I expect the odd text or two with updates.
I still would be happy with mid table at the end of it all.
Good win for our boys on Sunday against a never say die Tipp team.
Some good performances , esp Seanie , Niall Daly and Darren Mc.
We also had some of "dirty diesel " on display - some of our passing to Tipp men was particularly annoying.
The kind of thing we'll hopefully have eradicated as the evenings start to stretch.
Devaney could have had a hat trick but could hardly miss the one he scored.
I'm getting a biteen confident now ,which is dangerous ::) , but will await our trip to Tullamore before I start dreaming of good times.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on February 06, 2012, 10:28:57 PM
Quotethink you bring that league final game up way too much - we had a much more essential championship game a continent away the next weekend and every player was tense and playing within themselves - we took Kilbride off after about ten minutes - apart from Cregg. Previous to that our record against Longford has been ridiculously good so although I think Longford are a better team now than they have been for many years that game last year tells you next to nothing about our quality relative to them, let alone Offaly.
I agree 100% with Syferus. Rossies were awful that day but not because they are awful in general. A very bad day at the office and, yes, thoughts may have been on the trip to Amerikay.
Sadly I cannot read anything in the massacre of Offaly (and for Longford to beat Offaly by so much, given our history of meetings, it was a massacre). Maybe Sat in Breffni will give me some light. Can't go as I am at a 50th birthday party but I expect the odd text or two with updates.
I still would be happy with mid table at the end of it all.
Definitely a bad beating for our bucks, but I'm not without hope just yet. Obviously McNamee coming back will be important when it happens, but it's more important long term that the young lads learn from these beatings and improve from them. Longford should never be beating Offaly by 14 points, but it is a hard place to go and win, especially for a young Offaly team. I hope it will help focus the mind, and Roscommon might have a tougher task this weekend.
QuoteLongford should never be beating Offaly by 14 points
What do you mean by that - if you mean that no-one should be beating Offaly, fair enough (but you're deluded), but if, for some reason best known to yourself, you're saying that Biffos should always be superior to Larries then we're going to have to step outside.
Quote from: Billys Boots on February 07, 2012, 02:33:32 PM
What do you mean by that - if you mean that no-one should be beating Offaly, fair enough (but you're deluded), but if, for some reason best known to yourself, you're saying that Biffos should always be superior to Larries then we're going to have to step outside.
No. I said Longford should never be beating Offaly
by 14 points. Neither should Laois, Westmeath, Carlow, Roscommon, or most other teams. I'd stomach someone like Tyrone, Kerry or Dublin doing it ocassionally, if we were very weak, but not counties around the same standard as us.
I said Longford are tough to beat, especially up there, but a 14 point beating is not acceptable.
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 07, 2012, 03:56:36 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on February 07, 2012, 02:33:32 PM
No. I said Longford should never be beating Offaly by 14 points. Neither should Laois, Westmeath, Carlow, Roscommon, or most other teams. I'd stomach someone like Tyrone, Kerry or Dublin doing it ocassionally, if we were very weak, but not counties around the same standard as us.
I said Longford are tough to beat, especially up there, but a 14 point beating is not acceptable.
Agree with most of that AZ only 3/4 years ago we were getting beaten by 16/20/24pts by teams that weren't All Ireland contenders, something is seriously wrong within when your shipping defeats like that.
Have a lot of time for Offaly a proud GAA county with a fine tradition but if things are not sorted out it's only going to get a lot worse.
I think Offalys preparation started a lot later than ours. The winter training ban didn't include Longford who started in mid Oct & didn't stop since. I think Offaly only found their new manager in Nov, so that may explain the 13 point thrashing. Cavan have also been training since Oct1. It will be interesting to see if the Breffni men are as fit this early in the year.
Can't make Breffini this weekend , off to Paris for a first rugby game. I hope that result foes our way too!
Billy. Bit harsh there on AZ. AZ is right - but he's also wrong. Nobody should beat Offaly by 13-14 points. Offaly should be a mid Div 2 side - now they are whipping boys it seems. An O'Byrne Cup hammering and then a rogering from Longford - a county that Offaly usually beat and beat well. Who recalls 1997 in Leinster? I do. 5-17 to 0-13 to Offaly. That was my lowest day as a Longford supporter ever having shipped huge defeats in previous years in Leinster to Dublin, Wicklow, Laois, Meath, North Pole and Uranus. Probably a low day as well for one of the Boots clan.
Panc56 can you clarify the comments on winter training ban. Why wouldn't it apply to Longford. Good luck in Paris.
QuoteBilly. Bit harsh there on AZ. AZ is right - but he's also wrong. Nobody should beat Offaly by 13-14 points.
That's what I was thinking he should be focussing on too, rather than worrying about losing to us.
Quote from: Billys Boots on February 08, 2012, 08:47:50 AM
QuoteBilly. Bit harsh there on AZ. AZ is right - but he's also wrong. Nobody should beat Offaly by 13-14 points.
That's what I was thinking he should be focussing on too, rather than worrying about losing to us.
That's what I was focussing on. Jaysus ye're very touchy altogether.
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 08, 2012, 10:34:20 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on February 08, 2012, 08:47:50 AM
That's what I was focussing on. Jaysus ye're very touchy altogether.
All the oppenent is is a name on a jersey. Teams like Roscmmon, Wexford and Longfford have fluctuated wildly over the years (much like Offaly) so they are exactly the teams most likely to beat Offaly by a surprising amount.
Tipperary team to play Antrim on Sunday -:
1. Paul Fitzgerald
2. Andrew Morrissey
3. Paddy Codd
4. Ciaran McDonald
5. Robbie Costigan
6. Tommy Ryan
7. Robbie Kiely
8. Brian Jones
9. Eoin Ryan
10 Conor Sweeney
11 Shane Ryan
12 Peter Acheson
13 Michael Quinlivan
14 Philip Austin
15 Barry Grogan
Four changes from the team that lost to Roscommon. This is a must win game for Tipp and the other counties that lost their opening games last Sunday. The home teams won all four games last week. Could that happen again this week in the tightest division of the NFL.
Two changes to the Longford team for tomorrow night - Dermot Brady replaces Peter Foy at corner-back, and Niall Mulligan replaces Paul Kelly, who is still injured.
Damian Sheridan; Dermot Brady, Barry Gilleran, Declan Reilly; Shane Mulligan, Michael Quinn, Colm P Smyth; Bernard McElvaney, John Keegan; David Barden, Paul Barden, Niall Mulligan; Robbie Smyth, Seán McCormack, JJ Matthews.
Two changes for ourselves Dineen,Darren McDermott added to the long injury list G Claffey; S McDermott, N Collins, S Ormsby; S Purcell, N Daly, C Cafferky; M Finneran, K Higgins; D Keenan, D Shine, J Rogers; C Devanney, G Heneghan, D O'Gara. Good to see Cafferky given his senior chance has been doing well at U-21 level & O'Gara is unlikey to play at 15 maybe will swap with Shine. Best of luck to Des & the team.
Quote from: Onlooker on February 10, 2012, 11:16:16 AM
Tipperary team to play Antrim on Sunday -:
1. Paul Fitzgerald
2. Andrew Morrissey
3. Paddy Codd
4. Ciaran McDonald
5. Robbie Costigan
6. Tommy Ryan
7. Robbie Kiely
8. Brian Jones
9. Eoin Ryan
10 Conor Sweeney
11 Shane Ryan
12 Peter Acheson
13 Michael Quinlivan
14 Philip Austin
15 Barry Grogan
Four changes from the team that lost to Roscommon. This is a must win game for Tipp and the other counties that lost their opening games last Sunday. The home teams won all four games last week. Could that happen again this week in the tightest division of the NFL.
Quinlivan impressed me when he came on last Sunday top minor player he should make the break through at senior level.
Quote from: LaurelEye on February 10, 2012, 01:13:45 PM
Two changes to the Longford team for tomorrow night - Dermot Brady replaces Peter Foy at corner-back, and Niall Mulligan replaces Paul Kelly, who is still injured.
Damian Sheridan; Dermot Brady, Barry Gilleran, Declan Reilly; Shane Mulligan, Michael Quinn, Colm P Smyth; Bernard McElvaney, John Keegan; David Barden, Paul Barden, Niall Mulligan; Robbie Smyth, Seán McCormack, JJ Matthews.
Is that the boy who lined out at corner-forward for the U-21s in last year's Leinster Final, while still a minor? Some talent ...
Quote from: ross4life on February 10, 2012, 05:49:32 PM
Two changes for ourselves Dineen,Darren McDermott added to the long injury list G Claffey; S McDermott, N Collins, S Ormsby; S Purcell, N Daly, C Cafferky; M Finneran, K Higgins; D Keenan, D Shine, J Rogers; C Devanney, G Heneghan, D O'Gara. Good to see Cafferky given his senior chance has been doing well at U-21 level & O'Gara is unlikey to play at 15 maybe will swap with Shine. Best of luck to Des & the team.
Sad to see Darren Mc pick up an injury given his history but at least it doesn't appear to be serious - Newton seemed to intimate in the paper that he'd be available as a sub if needed. O'Gara is a fantastic guy to be able to draft in, though, if he gets a run of fitness this season he'll do alot of damage to whoever we play.
Bad luck for Dineen too, he looked better than he perhaps ever had against Tipp.
Quote from: This Years Model on February 10, 2012, 09:55:21 PM
Quote from: LaurelEye on February 10, 2012, 01:13:45 PM
Is that the boy who lined out at corner-forward for the U-21s in last year's Leinster Final, while still a minor? Some talent ...
Wires slightly crossed. He was a corner-forward in that match but is a bit older than that (over 21 this year). Smyth, who played in the other corner in the final, was still a minor at the time, as was James McGivney, who came on as a sub last Sunday and played championship at all three grades last year.
HT Cavan 0-4 Longford 0-3 low scoring but the guys on http://www.northernsound.ie/ are saying it's a cracking game.
It finished Cavan 0-7 Longford 0-10 the larries will be delighted with 4pts from 4.
QuoteIt finished Cavan 0-7 Longford 0-10 the larries will be delighted with 4pts from 4.
We'll take that alright - wasn't there but it looks like we had a decent last quarter. I presume we'll have a report from Laureleye in the next while.
Hope Seanie J hasnt signed a long lease for that house in Straffan :D
What's the odds on Andrews being gone before Round 3?
Quote from: Billys Boots on February 11, 2012, 09:08:01 PM
QuoteIt finished Cavan 0-7 Longford 0-10 the larries will be delighted with 4pts from 4.
We'll take that alright - wasn't there but it looks like we had a decent last quarter. I presume we'll have a report from Laureleye in the next while.
I'm afraid I was otherwise engaged, Billy. The half-parishers seem to have made a decent contribution.
Ah shure I'd say we'll get a half-story from the locals at some stage.
By all accounts a half decent match. I couldnt make it ayther.
f***king pathetic from Cavan.
I take back what i said about all teams in this division being equal.
There is (in no particular order)
Wexford
Longford
Rossies
Tipp
Biffos
Antrim
Sligo
Then in the basement....
Cavan
Division 4, here we come.
I'm, sure the lads will enjoy their trips to Ruislip and Urlingford next year.
They might even give Kilkenny their 3rd win in 50 years in 2013 aswell.
Quote from: hardstation on February 12, 2012, 03:35:45 AM
I'm going to be very honest here, lads, I don't understand why we are ranked so low in this division. We got a hiding in most matches last year but Div 3 to Div 2 is a massive jump. We tanked most of these teams 2 years ago.
Longford, Roscommon and Wexford are leaps better now than they were in 2010 and if they all play to form that's more than enough to block the passage of anyone else. Antrim can scalp someone, sure, but it's hard to rank them above those three.
Ht offaly 5 roscommon 5 all our points from play & our injury jinx strikes again after losing rogers,o'gara,kenny
Ht
Sligo 3-7
Wex 0-7
Offaly penalty 1-6 to 0-9 donie shine is added to the injury list
Quote from: ross4life on February 12, 2012, 03:38:55 PM
Offaly penalty 1-6 to 0-9 donie shine is added to the injury list
Heard is serious knee injury?
Ft we won 0-12 1-6 another good win performace not as good as last week delighted to have 4pts from 4! not sure about shine injury hopefully he's back for the next game
Tipperary 0-13 Antrim 1-13 Brilliant win away from home. 2 from 2, not bad so far.
Quote from: ross4life on February 12, 2012, 04:04:33 PM
Ft we won 0-12 1-6 another good win performace not as good as last week delighted to have 4pts from 4! not sure about shine injury hopefully he's back for the next game
I am listening to midwest radio for the club finals in croke park and they said [possible serious kne injury. No plaer arpound him at time of injury.
Quote from: Benny Sweeney on February 12, 2012, 04:13:49 PM
Quote from: ross4life on February 12, 2012, 04:04:33 PM
I am listening to midwest radio for the club finals in croke park and they said [possible serious kne injury. No plaer arpound him at time of injury.
Sounds like ill-informed scare-mongering - no mention of a serious injury on Shannonside and they even interviewed Newton afterwards.
Ft
Sligo 4-14
Wex 1-17
Happy about the 4-14 not about the 1-17.
Johny davey and marren outstanding.
Nice to get a win- we were ahead by 12 and fell asleep. Wexford to their credit never gave up and brought it back to three before marren completed his hat trick in the last minute
Good peeformance without kelly.
Things are looking up......
The table as things stand
Longford - 4pts
Antrim - 4pts
Roscommon - 4pts
Sligo - 2pts
Wexford - 2pts
Cavan - 0pts
Tipperary - 0pts
Offaly - 0pts
Another huge win with so many players missing. Our injury jinx continues Kenny,O'Gara & Shine all had to go off (thankfully I'm hearing injuries are not serious) both teams played a defensive style TBH it wasn't pretty but all that matters this time of year is grinding out results.
Offaly penalty came against the run of play & the foul seemed to take place outside the box? but our lads like last weekend showed great character to get over the line! as i already said 4pts from 4 delighted with that but the performance levels will have to improve after the break.
Our scorers Conor Devaney 0-4,Murtagh 0-2,Scally0-2,Cafferky 0-1,Heneghan 0-1 Compton 0-1 Purcell 0-1
Sligo will do well. They are lucky to have Kevin Walsh as manager. Great Manager!
Quote from: Magicsponge on February 12, 2012, 04:09:48 PM
Tipperary 0-13 Antrim 1-13 Brilliant win away from home. 2 from 2, not bad so far.
Antrim were the better team today and definitely deserved to win and looked like winning by more until Tipp rallied in the last 15 minutes. I was very disappointed with Tipp's display and it will now be a real struggle to avoid relegation. Promotion hopes are now gone, but really we would have no business in Div. 2 the way we played today. Referee gave out a load of yellow cards in a game where there was not a single bad foul and was played in excellent spirit. He was another one of those ego trip referees who see themselves as the star of the show with the players mere supporting acts. You would certainly be tempted to tell him where to put his whistle!!!. Antrim to get promoted and Tipp to just about avoid relegation is my forecast.
Quote from: ross4life on February 12, 2012, 05:05:17 PM
Another huge win with so many players missing. Our injury jinx continues Kenny,O'Gara & Shine all had to go off (thankfully I'm hearing injuries are not serious) both teams played a defensive style TBH it wasn't pretty but all that matters this time of year is grinding out results.
Offaly penalty came against the run of play & the foul seemed to take place outside the box? but our lads like last weekend showed great character to get over the line! as i already said 4pts from 4 delighted with that but the performance levels will have to improve after the break.
Our scorers Conor Devaney 0-4,Murtagh 0-2,Scally0-2,Cafferky 0-1,Heneghan 0-1 Compton 0-1 Purcell 0-1
The one really good thing so far has been how dispersed our scorers have been, we're starting to move on from the days were Donie or Senan had to carry the entire load.
Devanney's easily been one of our most impressive players so far, he's looking fast and sharp with and without the ball.
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on February 12, 2012, 09:12:45 PM
Quote from: Benny Sweeney on February 12, 2012, 05:28:52 PM
Sligo will do well. They are lucky to have Kevin Walsh as manager. Great Manager!
Elaborate please, that was our first competitive win today since antrim last yr and that was our only win last yr, so hes a great manager with 2 wins in 20 matches :D
I dont know what your expecting in Sligo, but Kevin Walsh is over achieving with you. Sligo with only 2-3 Connacht titles should be by rights a Division 4 team playig the likes of Kilkenny, Carlow etc. I would love to have Kevin Walsh in charge of Ros!
Quote from: Benny Sweeney on February 12, 2012, 09:39:28 PM
Elaborate please, that was our first competitive win today since antrim last yr and that was our only win last yr, so hes a great manager with 2 wins in 20 matches :D
I dont know what your expecting in Sligo, but Kevin Walsh is over achieving with you. Sligo with only 2-3 Connacht titles should be by rights a Division 4 team playig the likes of Kilkenny, Carlow etc. I would love to have Kevin Walsh in charge of Ros!
Pass the spliff, mate!
This is the most talented Sligo panel ever assembled and they've took perhaps 19 months to recover from the 2010 Connacht final. Players have to accept blame, but so does management. Walsh has alot left to prove to live up to the words you're bestowing on him.
What does the amount of provincial titles/All Ireland's a county have got to do with what division a team is in????
Laois for example have only 6 provincial titles,so does that mean they are a division 4 outfit,
Cavan have 39 Ulster titles and 5 All Irelands, are we a division 1 outfit?
Sligo have a very talented bunch of players with a few areas of notable weakness.
They are
closer to being a division one team than they are to being a division four one in relation to football ability.
As for Kevin Walsh,when a team encounters a massive let-down from one year to the next, 2010 to 2011 in Sligo's case,questions about the management have to asked.
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on February 12, 2012, 09:56:03 PM
What does the amount of provincial titles/All Ireland's a county have got to do with what division a team is in????
Laois for example have only 6 provincial titles,so does that mean they are a division 4 outfit,
Sligo have a very talented bunch of players with a few areas of notable weakness.
They are closer to being a division one team than they are to being a division four one in relation to football ability.
As for Kevin Walsh,when a team encounters a massive let-down from one year to the next, 2010 to 2011 in Sligo's case,questions about the management have to asked.
The team has done nothing for over a hundred years in Connacht, the weakest of the provinces. Few of their best players from outside the county at the moment. Very limited players in general. Kevin Walsh is doing very well to have them in Division 3.
Quote from: Benny Sweeney on February 12, 2012, 10:09:15 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on February 12, 2012, 09:56:03 PM
They are closer to being a division one team than they are to being a division four one in relation to football ability.
The team has done nothing for over a hundred years in Connacht, the weakest of the provinces. Few of their best players from outside the county at the moment. Very limited players in general. Kevin Walsh is doing very well to have them in Division 3.
The likes of
Charlie Harrison
Ross Donovan
Brendan Egan
Johnny Davey
Mark Breheny,
Alan Costello
Adrian Marren
David Kelly
Stephen Coen
Not to mention
O'Hara
are not
limited players by any means, anyone who thinks they are,has absolutely no clue about the sport of Gaelic Football.
What Sligo lack,is the size/physique that many of the top teams have in abundance.
Quote from: Syferus on February 12, 2012, 09:37:04 PM
Quote from: ross4life on February 12, 2012, 05:05:17 PM
The one really good thing so far has been how dispersed our scorers have been, we're starting to move on from the days were Donie or Senan had to carry the entire load.
Devanney's easily been one of our most impressive players so far, he's looking fast and sharp with and without the ball.
And we needed to move on from that time. Conor Devaney's talent has always been there, one of the stars of the 2006 minor team & who could forget his display v Mayo in the U-21 championship a few years ago. After taking a year out he came back more focused & now it seems he's finally finding his consistent level for the seniors.
P.S when i seen that Benny's post about Walsh "Great manager" my first thought was jaysus wait till SLIGONIAN reads that.
Kevin Walsh is a top class manager, no doubt about it. Armchair pundits like sligoman should pay heed to the commitment it takes to manage an intercounty team. Sligo have done well with them. He has them promoted to a division above their traditional standing and deserves all the plaudits he can get.
This is verging on trolling. Impossible to tell if he's serious or not at this point.
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on February 12, 2012, 10:56:42 PM
Quote from: Benny Sweeney on February 12, 2012, 10:44:00 PM
Kevin Walsh is a top class manager, no doubt about it. Armchair pundits like sligoman should pay heed to the commitment it takes to manage an intercounty team. Sligo have done well with them. He has them promoted to a division above their traditional standing and deserves all the plaudits he can get.
Are you Kevin Walsh or a relation? :D some logic there btw :D Division 4 is where we belong, and we are bold boys for thinking above that.. :D
No am not Kevin Walsh or any relation. Yes I think Sligo is playing above themselves, Kevin Walsh is to thank for that and from players from outside of the county like Alan Costelloe who is from mayo i think.
Quote from: Syferus on February 12, 2012, 10:57:38 PM
This is verging on trolling. Impossible to tell if he's serious or not at this point.
Not on mybehalf. i think Kevin walsh is a brilliant manager to have sligo where they are today. what is wrong with thta?
Offaly vs Ros was absolutely painful viewing, standard was atrocious.
Quote from: Offalylad on February 12, 2012, 11:34:55 PM
We'd lost 4/7 of our first choice forwards in this match alone, nevermind the fact half of last year's starting forwards weren't even available going in. We played to our strengths. Offaly kicked too much aimless ball and bad shots that we never really needed to open up because we were dealing with Offaly's own version of the Donegal defensive system more than well enough to win. Whatever about standards, we've eiked out two big wins to start a campaign where we've been missing over half of our starters. I'm plenty impressed by our team's spirit and standard overall this year.
Good result today.Actually disagree with some views here saying not as good a performance as last week.I actually think the second half performance was better than last week in terms of dominance and use of the ball.Very impressed with our midfield and defensive system which choked offaly attacks in the second half.Devanney was class today and is a certain to start come championship.Our style of play of playing long early ball to isolated forward line with acres of space is working very well.Very impressed that we are going into the depths of the squad with so many injuries and the lads drafted in are playing well.Sign of a squad thats confident and happy.
Nial Daly is looking like a class act and seems to be making no 6 jersey his own.
My own opinion on the opposition was they were very poor.Lacked quality in the forwards .
Is a shame as its a great GAA county but seem to be at a low point at the moment.
Excellant venue and top class facilities it actually is a credit to the GAA family in the county.Its great to relax and enjoy a match in a venue like that
Agree with you Rossiemad - an excellent venue .
Great result for us and a decent show esp the last 15 - 20 mins as we overcame so many hammerblows and still won with a large number of novices.
Pity we hadnt got more early low ball to Conor Dev as he was on a roll yesterday. Also if there was more support up quicker for him... but then again it's February and with higher fitness levels later in the year that will come.
We were missing Niall Carty ,Peter Domican, Donal Ward, Karl Mannion, Senan Kilbride , Cathal Cregg, Senan O'Grady, Cathal Dineen, Darren McDermott and John Rogers and lost Enda Kenny and David O'Gara in the first 10 minutes yesterday. Then Donie went off in the early stages of the second half.
To win with that many players out was a good day no matter how poor the opposition.
I presume Sligo and Wexford don't use blanket defences or any defence?
Quote from: Rossfan on February 13, 2012, 11:15:45 AM
Great result for us and a decent show esp the last 15 - 20 mins as we overcame so many hammerblows and still won with a large number of novices.
Pity we hadnt got more early low ball to Conor Dev as he was on a roll yesterday. Also if there was more support up quicker for him... but then again it's February and with higher fitness levels later in the year that will come.
We were missing Niall Carty ,Peter Domican, Donal Ward, Karl Mannion, Senan Kilbride , Cathal Cregg, Senan O'Grady, Cathal Dineen, Darren McDermott and John Rogers and lost Enda Kenny and David O'Gara in the first 10 minutes yesterday. Then Donie went off in the early stages of the second half.
To win with that many players out was a good day no matter how poor the opposition.
Jesus, that's some amount of players out injured, or are there other reasons for some of them?
Is the training too severe, leaving them vulnerable to picking up injuries?
Domo, Mannion and Senan K are prioritising club duty with St Brigids.
Carty/Cregg/O'Grady/Ward have been out for a while.
McDermott got creeled by a Tipp man last Sunday.
Rogers was named yesterday but didnt start while 3 picked up injuries during the game yesterday.
All kinds of everything I suppose.
Quote from: Syferus on February 13, 2012, 12:30:32 AM
We'd lost 4/7 of our first choice forwards in this match alone, nevermind the fact half of last year's starting forwards weren't even available going in. We played to our strengths. Offaly kicked too much aimless ball and bad shots that we never really needed to open up because we were dealing with Offaly's own version of the Donegal defensive system more than well enough to win. Whatever about standards, we've eiked out two big wins to start a campaign where we've been missing over half of our starters. I'm plenty impressed by our team's spirit and standard overall this year.
I don't know if you're blind or biased but if there was anyone employing a defensive system it was Roscommon, they were the ones who brought men back. The Rossies behind me were bemoaning it for the entire second half or at least the last 15 minutes. You had about 12 men in your own half, and Offaly were just so awful that they never looked like doing anything.
Quote from: Tubberman on February 13, 2012, 11:23:44 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 13, 2012, 11:15:45 AM
Jesus, that's some amount of players out injured, or are there other reasons for some of them?
Is the training too severe, leaving them vulnerable to picking up injuries?
Rosfan don't forget Cathal Shine out injured for almost a year now plus Kilroy,Donie Smith whom picked up injuries playing for there colleges. Compton came back yesterday after three weeks out.
Tubberman where not getting much luck with injuries but i suppose if they clear up for the championship that's all that matters.
Quote from: Offalylad on February 13, 2012, 02:57:51 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 13, 2012, 12:30:32 AM
I don't know if you're blind or biased but if there was anyone employing a defensive system it was Roscommon, they were the ones who brought men back. The Rossies behind me were bemoaning it for the entire second half or at least the last 15 minutes. You had about 12 men in your own half, and Offaly were just so awful that they never looked like doing anything.
Offaly were at minimum as defensive as Roscommon and they had less reason for it - fewer injuries and continually trailing. The difference was our tactics made sense whereas Offaly's made little.
Quote from: Syferus on February 12, 2012, 10:57:38 PM
Well Dublin didn't take 25000 to Castlebar. :D
Both sides were trying to be defensive, the difference was that Roscommon had some semblance of a clue when going forward whereas we didn't. We also made them look defensive by taking forever to get the ball into the scoring zone and allowing them all the time in the world to amble back in numbers.
Dont get me wrong about Sligo, they dont have the best 15 in the country far from it. but every player on the Sligo team knows their role and they play with great fire and determination. cedit to walsh where credit is due.
The winner of Longford-Roscommon will be hard pressed to not be promoted this season, it has the look of a fantastic game. If the rash of injuries in the Offaly game prove minor and we have Cregg back as expected then we'll still have some solid firepower to ally to fringe players who've shown alot in their opportunities, like Matt Scally, Brian Murtagh and Ciaran Cafferky.
Whatever Newton's been doing he's got these guys motivated and playing hard and he's highlighted that we have deeper resources than alot of people had thought. I can only dream of summer days when we will, with even a smidge of luck, have a very good panel of players to chose from.
How come i can't find any relegation odds for this division?
Gutted by the Brigids loss today but the silver lining is that Senan Kilbride, Ian Kilbride (who I thought was one of the best players on the pitch today), Domincan, Mannion and whoever else Newton fancies will be on the road to Pearse Park again in two weeks. Longford's task just got a lot harder.
St.Brigid's loss could be a blessing in disguise for Roscommon? time will tell. It's going to be hard for the lads to pick themselves up after today's disappointed & probably doesn't help having to go back to the pitch where that disappointed happened.
Quote from: Syferus on February 18, 2012, 05:37:53 PM
Gutted by the Brigids loss today but the silver lining is that Senan Kilbride, Ian Kilbride (who I thought was one of the best players on the pitch today), Domincan, Mannion and whoever else Newton fancies will be on the road to Pearse Park again in two weeks. Longford's task just got a lot harder.
In all honesty apart from Domo, Mango and the Kilbrides .... who else on the St Brigid's team would be considered a County player?
Good thing is the 4 lads have 2 weeks to get over today ... and nothing like getting up on the bike again after a bad fall so maybe they'll take it all out on the Larries the next day. ;D
Quote from: Rossfan on February 18, 2012, 09:20:44 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 18, 2012, 05:37:53 PM
In all honesty apart from Domo, Mango and the Kilbrides .... who else on the St Brigid's team would be considered a County player?
Good thing is the 4 lads have 2 weeks to get over today ... and nothing like getting up on the bike again after a bad fall so maybe they'll take it all out on the Larries the next day. ;D
Don't think any others would be starts, at least not at first. Niall Grehan, Cathal McHugh, Darren Dolan and the Sheehys are all young players who could turn up something very worth-while for the county team and Darragh Donnelly is a solid, experienced back who is hardly old himself. Especially with all the injuries we have I wouldn't be surprised to see a super-sized Brigids contingent on the panel in two weeks time, Fergie's biggest selection weaknesses was probably not mining the ore in Kiltoom a bit better because we're still not sure about many of those players' capabilities at inter-county level.
Cathal McHugh , Donnelly and Robbie Kelly were on the panel some years ago and obviously hadn't the required ability.
Niall Grehan is the same age as Cathal Cregg and Enda Kenny so if he had anything to offer he'd be there by now.
Darren Dolan had been looking like he might have something to offer but I remain to be convinced.
Team next day? Claff, Seanie Collins Domo, Purcell Daly Ian K, Finn Higgins , Keenan Donie(if fit) Cregg , Conor Senan and Ger? ,
Mannion and hopefully Carty as first 2 subs.
Or will all U21s be excused as they prepare for the Championship game v Galway ( or Laythrum)?
Quote from: Rossfan on February 19, 2012, 04:31:02 PM
Cathal McHugh , Donnelly and Robbie Kelly were on the panel some years ago and obviously hadn't the required ability.
Niall Grehan is the same age as Cathal Cregg and Enda Kenny so if he had anything to offer he'd be there by now.
Darren Dolan had been looking like he might have something to offer but I remain to be convinced.
Team next day? Claff, Seanie Collins Domo, Purcell Daly Ian K, Finn Higgins , Keenan Donie(if fit) Cregg , Conor Senan and Ger? ,
Mannion and hopefully Carty as first 2 subs.
Or will all U21s be excused as they prepare for the Championship game v Galway ( or Laythrum)?
Darren Dolan Eoin Sheehy are two that will probably be given a chance for the seniors in the years ahead. Our U-21s play the winners of Mayo/Galway on the 21st of March.
You're right as usual Ross4life.
A Wed night in Kiltoom I believe.
Quote from: Rossfan on February 19, 2012, 05:07:24 PM
You're right as usual Ross4life.
A Wed night in Kiltoom I believe.
Kiltoom indeed but throw in TBC remember we beat Mayo on a Wednesday afternoon a few years ago.
Just because a player hasn't featured previously or wasn't up to it before doesn't mean you should disregard players. Having two long runs in the club championship has brought on alot of this Brigids team and they're all far fitter and naturally more focused than they were a couple years ago.
We don't have the luxury of throwing 20-25 year olds on the scrap heap like that, especially from a club as consistently good as Brigids. Almost all of them are worth bringing into the fold so they can prove their worth or lack thereof.
I don't think most of them would be any improvement on what we have already.
Also Brigids were a better team during 201-11 campaign than they were in the 2011-12 campaign.
Quote from: Rossfan on February 20, 2012, 02:09:45 PM
I don't think most of them would be any improvement on what we have already.
Also Brigids were a better team during 201-11 campaign than they were in the 2011-12 campaign.
No. They
preformed better.
Maybe the non-county players had accumulated some mental fatigue from the almost back-to-back seasons but they've learnt alot from these runs and held their nerve on big ocassions. Brigids have alot of scope for being an even better team after they recover from this loss. It'll be hard to put a third run on the trot together but I can definitely see Brigids being very close to Croke Park again in the not too distant future.
With the Rossies chit chat on here and fergal o donnells ridiculous judgement of sligo players for connacht, maybe the rossies arent cuter than us after all that the 2010 final suggests, cuter than a certain galwayman yes but not us Sligomen ;).
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on February 20, 2012, 05:09:35 PM
With the Rossies chit chat on here and fergal o donnells ridiculous judgement of sligo players for connacht, maybe the rossies arent cuter than us after all that the 2010 final suggests, cuter than a certain galwayman yes but not us Sligomen ;).
Adrian Marren showed none of his 3-5 form yesterday? Some strange selections by Fergal including picking our own Purcell at full back? but i guess with so many missing he didn't have much choice. If we get over Galway in May we hope to out smart that Galwayman again in June :P
Quote from: ross4life on February 20, 2012, 07:02:05 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on February 20, 2012, 05:09:35 PM
Adrian Marren showed none of his 3-5 form yesterday? Some strange selections by Fergal including picking our own Purcell at full back? but i guess with so many missing he didn't have much choice. If we get over Galway in May we hope to out smart that Galwayman again in June :P
Not if NY get there first, my granny could outsmart that galwayman cue benny sweeneys reappearance. :D
But sure if he picked himself in the middle Sligo'd be unstoppable...
Quote from: Syferus on February 20, 2012, 10:57:06 PM
But sure if he picked himself in the middle Sligo'd be unstoppable...
He was awesome in his day but you'd think our midfield would be class with a man of his experience having played there wouldnt ya, like 4 yrs and its been a problem area.
Look the be all and end all is i just cant forgive walsh for 2010 compounded by 2011 unless we win connacht this yr, that is of course all we be forgiven then ;), simples. Im am buzzing this yr about Sligo football for other reasons though.
With our interest in the Club championship over for this year and the silly diversions of sigersons and Railways out of the way - the real world resumes this coming weekend.
We're making the short trip to Pearse Park to take on the Larries and it's about time we bet them following a draw and a defeat last season.
Don't know if any Beidgets lads will be back and I'm hoping some of our injured might be ready. This will be a good one to win but at least with 4 points under the belts it's not the end of the world if we slip up.
Quote from: Rossfan on February 28, 2012, 08:11:42 PM
With our interest in the Club championship over for this year and the silly diversions of sigersons and Railways out of the way - the real world resumes this coming weekend.
We're making the short trip to Pearse Park to take on the Larries and it's about time we bet them following a draw and a defeat last season.
Don't know if any Beidgets lads will be back and I'm hoping some of our injured might be ready. This will be a good one to win but at least with 4 points under the belts it's not the end of the world if we slip up.
Newton said as much as the Brigids lads will be playing in the Hearld today. He also said only Enda Kenny was seriously injured versus Offaly (a broken bone in his hand, Rodgers is unlikely to play but that it's an outside possibility tells you he's got nothing particularly serious) and that Cathal Shine is back training with the team, something that should excite any Roscommon fan.
Yep big local derby this Sunday must be the first time in a long time that Longford are favorites & tbh they deserve to be e.g more impressive in the opening 2 games plus home advantage.
Hard to know our team but sounds like the St. Brigids lads will be used as impact subs? good to have Cregg back & Cathal Shine back in training (we'll need him for the U-21 game in a few weeks) Is Brian kavanagh back for longford?
Should be decent crowd in Pearse stadium if i was offered a draw now i would take it but a win for either side would put them in promising position.
Quote from: ross4life on February 29, 2012, 02:05:41 PM
Yep big local derby this Sunday must be the first time in a long time that Longford are favorites & tbh they deserve to be e.g more impressive in the opening 2 games plus home advantage.
Hard to know our team but sounds like the St. Brigids lads will be used as impact subs? good to have Cregg back & Cathal Shine back in training (we'll need him for the U-21 game in a few weeks) Is Brian kavanagh back for longford?
Should be decent crowd in Pearse stadium if i was offered a draw now i would take it but a win for either side would put them in promising position.
I see no reason not to start both Senan and Ian Kilbride from the start, honestly. Ian's in great form and Senan is probably the very best forward in the entire province. If they're fit and want to play, they should start. Mannion would be a huge help in the middle - our real trouble spot so far in the league - if he finds form. The reports didn't seem to make mention of Domincan so I don't know about his availability for the Longford game.
What will our forward-line look like?
Kennan Cregg Shine
Devanney Kilbride Heneghan ?
I'd prefer Kilbride over Shine to be in the half-forwards. Shine didn't look all that comfortable against Tipp there, but that had everything to do with his recent troubles under high balls. O'Gara might be a dark horse at 11/13 but I'd doubt if Newton wants to through him in at the deep end just yet.
Whatever our line-up ends up being we'll have a very good set of forwards on the field.
We'll have some good forward options for Sunday alright & with the U-21 championship around the corner i would like to see C.Shine,Compton,D.Smith get a few minutes in the next few games. Longford have plenty of forward power themselves McCormack,Barden's & Kavanagh (if fit)so our defenders will be on their toes & it looks like three of our best defenders will be missing on Sunday.
So it'll be a high scoring one Sunday ?
However I think the weather will be wet , cold and windy which won't help.
I expect defence will be as last day , not sure of forwards but expect Keenan, Dev, Donie( if he can ) , Heneghan to be there anyway.
Senan and Mango to come on as subs I suspect.
Would be nice if D.Smith ,Compton , C Shine and Kilroy were available for subs roles but from what I hear only Compton is ready yet.
Quote from: ross4life on March 01, 2012, 02:14:36 PM
We'll have some good forward options for Sunday alright & with the U-21 championship around the corner i would like to see C.Shine,Compton,D.Smith get a few minutes in the next few games. Longford have plenty of forward power themselves McCormack,Barden's & Kavanagh (if fit)so our defenders will be on their toes & it looks like three of our best defenders will be missing on Sunday.
Who is missing?
Quote from: hardstation on March 01, 2012, 03:39:43 PM
Wexford Sligo Longford Tipperary Offaly Antrim Cavan
Yeah speak up the silence is deafening.
Quote from: Keane on March 01, 2012, 03:45:03 PM
Quote from: ross4life on March 01, 2012, 02:14:36 PM
Who is missing?
Donal Ward,Peter Domican,Niall Carty.
Hows the world looking from down here lads.
Larries v Rossies. Part III. Both started from rock bottom 2 years ago, and evenly matched since. Ros went further than us in qualifiers ,'got to R3, we went in R2 , both losing to Tyrone but Longford only went down by 5 against their 11. The league final was hard to judge but better to have won in terms of progression. Ros were always going to beat NY. Longford to win but only if their forwards click.
Welcomed return for Cregg a first league start for Brian Murtagh & Ian Kilbride is the only St. Brigid's guy that returns.
1. Geoffrey Claffey (C)
2. Seán McDermott
3. Neil Collins
4. Stephen Ormsby
5. Ian Kilbride
6. Niall Daly
7. Seán Purcell
8 . Michael Finneran
9. Kevin Higgins
10. David Keenan
11. Cathal Cregg
12. Brian Murtagh
13. Conor Devaney
14. Ger Heneghan
15. Donie Shine
I suppose if things are not going well we have the options on the bench.
Sligo team:
1. Philip Greene
2. Charles Harrison
3. Brian Kennedy
4. Ross Donovan (Captain)
5. Jonathan Davey
6. Shane McManus
7. Paul McGovern
8. Brendan Egan
9. Eugene Mullen
10. Mark Breheny
11. Alan Costello
12. Pat Hughes
13. Colm McGee
14. James Clarke
15. Adrian Marren
Looks quite a strong team from my admittedly weak knowledge - O'Hara and Kelly the main notable absentees?
HT scores
Cavan 0-10 Sligo 0-3
Antrim 1-8 Offaly 0-6 (Offaly down to 14 full back sent off before the break)
Quote from: ross4life on March 03, 2012, 07:40:04 PM
HT scores
Cavan 0-10 Sligo 0-3
Have Sligo lost the plot? Losing cause i backed them!!!!
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 03, 2012, 08:08:02 PM
HT scores
Cavan 0-10 Sligo 0-3
Maybe but Sligo have improved in the 2nd half it's currently 1-6 to 0-12 (Sligo Egan just sent off)
FT scores
Antrim 2-14 Offaly 1-8 (Antrim top of the table Offaly finished with 13)
Cavan 0-14 Sligo 1-8 (Cavan up & running, 1st half display lost it for Sligo)
Quote from: ross4life on March 03, 2012, 08:37:03 PM
FT scores
Antrim 2-14 Offaly 1-8 (Antrim top of the table Offaly finished with 13)
Cavan 0-14 Sligo 1-8 (Cavan up & running, 1st half display lost it for Sligo)
Fantastic result, unbeaten league start to 2012 for the saffrons in both codes
So Antrim will arrive at the Hyde unbeaten. We have to be looking at the next seven days as an opportunity to all but assure promotion.
HT scores
Cavan 0-10 Sligo 0-3
I wonder how long Kevin Walsh will stick with them? he has taken them as far as they can get. I think he regrets not taking the Galway job now. Man of his calibre needs to move on.
I expect we will beat Longford today by three points.
Quote from: Benny Sweeney on March 04, 2012, 12:26:04 PM
HT scores
Cavan 0-10 Sligo 0-3
I wonder how long Kevin Walsh will stick with them? he has taken them as far as they can get. I think he regrets not taking the Galway job now. Man of his calibre needs to move on.
I expect we will beat Longford today by three points.
(http://i301.photobucket.com/albums/nn67/SLIGONIAN2007/selfcontrol.jpg)
We lead 2-4 to 0-7 three point lead about right at ht
Great win for Longford, despite doing our best in the first half to lose it!
Best team longford won 0-16 2-8 awful display by us in the 2nd half, ref was woeful.
Ref was brutal by all accounts from the commentators on Shiteside. The number of times he pulled Rossie lads for over carrying had Donie Shine Snr pulling his hair out. Onwards now to Park Markthepitch to play Sligo
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 04, 2012, 04:17:38 PM
Ref was brutal by all accounts from the commentators on Shiteside. The number of times he pulled Rossie lads for over carrying had Donie Shine Snr pulling his hair out. Onwards now to Park Markthepitch to play Sligo
I think Countess Markievicz has earned the right to have her name spelt right and not takin the piss out of, a little respect ffs,
Bit unfair on the ref ,some tight calls on the over carrying but if you keep been pulled for the same offence who is wrong? The player who holds onto the ball without attempting to play it waiting for a free , or the ref.Ref was codded a couple of times by Kavanagh who pulled down the Rossie full back on top of him to "win" the frees. Longford gifted the 2 goals also Roscommon scored directly from Sean Mc Cormack's missed 13m free which never left the ground. M Quinn's move to midfield made a huge difference. Defence tightened up well with some magnificent fielding , the highlight of which was Damian Sheridan's take on the 13 m line as Roscommon searched for an equaliser
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on March 04, 2012, 04:52:40 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 04, 2012, 04:17:38 PM
I think Countess Markievicz has earned the right to have her name spelt right and not takin the piss out of, a little respect ffs,
I think you'll find that no-one spelt Countess Markievicz's name wrong - he was referring to the Sligo county ground, which doesn't deserve the same respect in terms of nomenclature, I think you'd agree. Maybe not.
Terrible result for Tipperary against Wexford today. Very much looks like Tipp and Offaly are heading back to Div. 4. Pity with so many good minor players coming along in Tipp these days.
Disppointing display/result in hindsight the two goals in a couple of minutes papered over the cracks on how bad the display was. It reminded me of the 2007 Sligo championship game in Hyde park.
Todays display by us especially in that 2nd half was almost as bad as the Div 4 final last April i guess that puts the myth to bed that we were "minding ourselves" not many stood today for us Cregg was our best player IMO but he's just back from injury so was always going to taken off early. Our Fb line struggled badly I like Collins & i think he's worth a place on the team but like Donal Ward last year he's not a FB.
Anyways well done Longford the best team won on the day & should have won by more. Plenty of points will be dropped in the division i think 10 will be enough for promotion so if (it's a big if after watching that display today) we beat Antrim at home next Sunday we'll be back in the hunt for promotion.
Pity for both Offaly and Tipp alright, but in Offaly's case there's too much transition too quickly. It's unfortunate for the young lads that they are shipping bad beatings and too much change to quickly can really hit confidence hard. They need a couple of results in the latter stages at least, even if relegation is likely, at least to give them a sense they are turning a corner.
What's the story with McNamee AZ? Will he be playing this year or is he taking the year out?
He's back in a few weeks now.
Deserved win for the Larries all right. They're the best team we've played in this division so far & must fancy their chances of making it to Div 2 now. Some cracking points from McElvanney there today.
More midfield woes today, so many times Higgins didn't even jump for the ball or Finneran grabbed it and then spilled it. Mannion brought us back into contention in the middle after Newton re-jigged the midfield late on.
The ref pinged us too much in the second half and probably cost us a few points but we made plenty of mistakes going forward - Donie had a terrible afternoon, starting it off by kicking from the hand on frees (wtf?), missing sitters and the ball screwing off his boot anywhere but towards the target and ending it by kicking three garryowens in between the two Longford back-lines to his undersized full-forward, he seemed to be playing the ball as if he had Senan Kilbride on the inside. Someone needs to put an arm around Donie and help him get his head straight, he's ten times the player he's of the level he's been performing to so far in the league.
The backs dealt pretty well with the flood of pressure they got in the second half, once or twice the Longford full-forward got inside his marker, but it was hard to do much when every kick-out was coming straight back at them. The half-backs in particular were excellent, Niall Daly is continuing to grow and looked assured on and off the ball and Ian Kilbride was the best player on the pitch today, his vision, strength and intelligence was causing mayhem for Longford. Longford obviously got the message to try and nix him at half time - they trying to muscle him out of the game in the second half, but to little avail.
Cathal Cregg made a great return to the county, he probably shouldn't have been took off as we lost our shape a bit after he left. Darren McDermott scored an inspirational point late on and looked, as usual, skilled and assured on the ball. He should be challenging for a start the next day.
No need to over-react, we could have won this one but with Antrim coming next week we have the perfect opportunity to re-establish ourselves at the top of the league. Mannion should start and, barring injury, Senan Kilbride can do as much damage as his brother did today the next day and Cregg should be ready for a full game next week. Someone give Donie a hug, though!
And ross4life, this says nothing about the D4 final! This game was as tight as they come and could have easily been at least draw even with a minute and a half to go if Shine had his shooting boots on and scored his late free. Longford were good, but they're about the best in the division and we could have beat them with a bit of luck or a better refereeing display. We just need to focus on winning cleaner ball in the middle and we're very capable of beating any of the remaining teams.
Syferus you must have been at a different game than me so. As i said already the two goals in as many minutes (against the run of play) gave the scoreline a false look, yes we had the opportunity to grab a draw at the end but in truth Longford could/should have won by more. BTW in the Div 4 final we missed loads of frees a penalty & the Longford keeper pulled off incredible save from Cregg so you could use the ifs,buts, & maybes on that game aswell.
I'll mark today's display down as bad day at the office & move onto the next game hoping for improvement.
Quote from: ross4life on March 04, 2012, 11:20:18 PM
Syferus you must have been at a different game than me so. As i said already the two goals in as many minutes (against the run of play) gave the scoreline a false look, yes we had the opportunity to grab a draw at the end but in truth Longford could/should have won by more. BTW in the Div 4 final we missed loads of frees a penalty & the Longford keeper pulled off incredible save from Cregg so you could use the ifs,buts, & maybes on that game aswell.
I'll mark today's display down as bad day at the office & move onto the next game hoping for improvement.
Longford were just about worth a two point win, if that. Their backs had alot of trouble with our forwards all day and if Donie was half on form he'd have had enough points to swing the score-line our way, it wasn't Longford that were making him screw the ball like a Christmas balloon. It was a hard fought game where, apart from a 5 minute stretch by us at the beginning of the game and a 15 minute stretch in the second half by Longford, there was almost nothing between the teams. A very entertaining game, 16 points for Longford and we tallied 14 against a team who'd conceded no goals and only 15 points in their previous two games.
Their backs had alot of trouble with our forwards all day and if Donie was half on form he'd have had enough points to swing the score-line our way, it wasn't Longford that were making him screw the ball like a Christmas balloon. It was a hard fought game where, apart from a 5 minute stretch by us at the beginning of the game and a 15 minute stretch in the second half by Longford, there was almost nothing between the teams
Well IMO Cregg was our only forward that had Longford defenders on the back foot, Heneghan scored a early goal but did little else same with Brian Murtagh & Devaney. Keenan played more in defense than the forward line while Shine named at corner forward was far too deep to trouble Longford like i know he can. Longford forward's were more fluent than ours & they were unlucky not to score a few goals in that 2nd half.
Thankfully You learn lesson's from defeats & that type of display from us today won't be good enough to beat Antrim,Wexford,Cavan or Sligo & i'm sure the players/Des Newton knows this already.
Syferus you must have been at a different game than me so. As i said already the two goals in as many minutes (against the run of play) gave the scoreline a false look, yes we had the opportunity to grab a draw at the end but in truth Longford could/should have won by more. .
It wasn't a good day for us anyway. :(
While the result of a League game in March might not be too important in the greater scheme of things our performance yesterday left a lot to be desired.
Looking at unchallenged Larries running all round the place brought back some nightmare memories of Clones/Crossmaglen/Parnell Park in 2008 or the awful hammering by Cavan in 2010.
Longford have a lot of nice forwards and if you let them play by God they will play. Against a team like that defenders have to be in their faces all the time.
Midfield was a virtual wipe out and it was galling to see the big Larry - McElvany - score 2 or three long range points without a yellow jersey in sight. Kavanagh and McCormack got an awful lot of space too and we could have conceded a few goals in that second half.
We have to hope it was just a one off bad day yesterday which they might get out of their system next Sunday.
One thing for sure a repeat will see us drop 2 more points and have us praying Offaly and Tipp continue to lose games.
Quote from: Rossfan on March 05, 2012, 01:52:05 PM
Syferus you must have been at a different game than me so. As i said already the two goals in as many minutes (against the run of play) gave the scoreline a false look, yes we had the opportunity to grab a draw at the end but in truth Longford could/should have won by more. .
It wasn't a good day for us anyway. :(
While the result of a League game in March might not be too important in the greater scheme of things our performance yesterday left a lot to be desired.
Looking at unchallenged Larries running all round the place brought back some nightmare memories of Clones/Crossmaglen/Parnell Park in 2008 or the awful hammering by Cavan in 2010.
Longford have a lot of nice forwards and if you let them play by God they will play. Against a team like that defenders have to be in their faces all the time.
Midfield was a virtual wipe out and it was galling to see the big Larry - McElvany - score 2 or three long range points without a yellow jersey in sight. Kavanagh and McCormack got an awful lot of space too and we could have conceded a few goals in that second half.
We have to hope it was just a one off bad day yesterday which they might get out of their system next Sunday.
One thing for sure a repeat will see us drop 2 more points and have us praying Offaly and Tipp continue to lose games.
Sweet Jesus! Some of us are a little too scarred by the past. Plenty to build on in our performance yesterday, very good half-back play, including a lot of turnovers, Cregg looking electric and a great spread of scorers. Mannion will start next week and maybe Donie in a sort of crossbreed of a midfielder and half-forward, he ended the game there and although his kicking was terrible he fielded balls he was dropping in previous games and was hand-passing well. Parity in the middle is enough for us to beat any team in the division, I have a lot of faith in our backs and forwards.
Nothing worse at a game watching on helpless knowing it's drifting away from you. Enda Kenny (our player) was sitting behind me yesterday & even he was shouting put a challenge/tackle in.
That game is gone now i have given my honest opinions. We need to bounce back from defeat on Sunday & Syferus i too have faith in the players.
So that's 3 out of 3! 2nd half performance was excellent, when this team click they can go on a scoring spree. Sligo away is a different game entirely, a more hardened outfit. Getting a result could be huge. Good Luck to the 21s on Wed.
Tipperary team to play Cavan in Thurles on Sunday -:
Matthew O'Donnell, Andrew Morrissey, Paddy Codd, Ciaran McDonald, Lorcan Egan, Tommy Ryan, Robbie Kiely, Brian Jones, Eoin Ryan, Sean Carey, Philip Austin, Peter Acheson, Conor Sweeney, Shane Ryan, Barry Grogan. I presume that the Under 21 players were not considered because of the Munster Championship game v. Kerry next Wednesday. This is a must win game for Tipp as far as avoiding relegation to Div, 4 is concerned. A win would give us a fighting chance (no more than that) of staying in Div. 3. John Evans has made 3 changes from the team beaten by Wexford, but only 1 change in the defence that conceded 2-20 in Wexford Park. I don't feel at all optimistic about this game and it is probably just as well that Seanie Johnston will be absent.
Roscommon team to play Antrim just named, still missing a few:
1. Geoffrey Claffey (C)
2. Seán McDermott
3. Neil Collins
4. Stephen Ormsby
5. Ian Kilbride
6. Niall Daly
7. Seán Purcell
8. Michael Finneran
9. Kevin Higgins
10. David Keenan
11. Cathal Cregg
12. Brian Murtagh
13. Conor Devaney
14. Ger Heneghan
15. Donie Shine
Domincan is taking a couple months out to be fresh for the championship, so he's out of the immediate equation. It's a wonder Senan isn't starting but perhaps management are just being careful not to over-work him, the last thing we need is a recurrence of a hamstring injury after he's found - mostly - fiitess over the last 18 months. I'd really hope they throw him on if the game is close with 15-20 minutes to go, this game is essential if we're to be promoted. I'd have preferred Mannion over Higgins too because Higgins have been very anonymous in the middle and routinely kicks Seamie O'Neil-style wild shots that are as likely to hit the corner flag as the goal. If someone could get him to play his team-mates into position better he'd be a good player as he's got all the physical attributes required.
Doesn't make much sense to be unchanged.Senan Kilbride,Mannion would have brought much needed experienced while Kilroy,Compton,McDermott would have given us more scoring power.
I trust the management on this one & as they say no two games are the same so here's hoping we bounce straight back from defeat this Sunday.
Roscommon is a good test for antrim on sunday. It'll show how far we've come on/not come on as they have a number of very good players in their team.
Still hopeful we can beat them though. It'll tell a lot in the promotion stakes who wins this.
Once again the teams promoted from 4 seem to be flying in 3. Wll Longford at least - sunday will tell for roscommon...
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 09, 2012, 05:30:34 PM
Roscommon is a good test for antrim on sunday. It'll show how far we've come on/not come on as they have a number of very good players in their team.
Still hopeful we can beat them though. It'll tell a lot in the promotion stakes who wins this.
Once again the teams promoted from 4 seem to be flying in 3. Wll Longford at least - sunday will tell for roscommon...
Roscommon on paper is superior to Antrim, we have 20 Connacht titles and have performed well on the national stage. It depends how heavy are the legs, the Ros are in serious training at the moment.
The past is irrelevant for Sunday's game.
Just because Antrim never won a Connacht Title doesnt mean we can beat them. ::)
Only way we will win is if we're better than them on the day.
Quote from: Rossfan on March 09, 2012, 06:14:37 PM
The past is irrelevant for Sunday's game.
Just because Antrim never won a Connacht Title doesnt mean we can beat them. ::)
Only way we will win is if we're better than them on the day.
Last time i checked Antrim wasnt in Connacht. did i miss something ? :P
Quote from: Benny Sweeney on March 09, 2012, 05:56:58 PM
]
RRoscommon on paper is superior to Antrim, we have 20 Connacht titles .
Just taking my cue from this post..... ;)
Which is the tougher, the Ulster or the Connacht championship..........Antrim have 10 Ulster titles but have no Connacht titles !!!
Quote from: Buswhacker on March 09, 2012, 06:55:43 PM
Which is the tougher, the Ulster or the Connacht championship..........Antrim have 10 Ulster titles but have no Connacht titles !!!
Connacht is
Quote from: Benny Sweeney on March 09, 2012, 05:56:58 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 09, 2012, 05:30:34 PM
Roscommon on paper is superior to Antrim, we have 20 Connacht titles and have performed well on the national stage. It depends how heavy are the legs, the Ros are in serious training at the moment.
On paper on the basis of what - history? History means nowt.
Not sure how far we've come on with Baker but this is a good test.
Ah jayus lads, the only fools are the ones falling for the painfully obvious baiting.
Quote from: Syferus on March 09, 2012, 08:32:05 PM
Ah jayus lads, the only fools are the ones falling for the painfully obvious baiting.
I have ebery right to comment on Ros GAA so mind your own. why dont you go off and whinge about ballagdreen on boards.ie besides having a go at me!
:'(
We havent won an Ulster Football title from 1951. I'd swap the last 10 hurling titles for a football one this year.
If we were in Connaght i'd say we'd have won at least one since 1951. Troubles hit us harder than any other county.
We're getting our house in order and improving, as we should with a county our size.
As for Sunday, hard to call, we've played with a fair bit of pace so far this year although we were lucky enough v Sligo to get a win we were comfortable v Tipp and then Offaly (who were v poor).
Couldnt tell you what Ros are like these days although with home advantage i'd say the bookies have them favourites
Totally beautiful day today and the same promised tomorrow. Should be a fantastic game!
I can't see many away teams being up for a 12.45pm start in Semple. Tipp evens to win.
Cavan had their Weetabix this morning.
Tipp 0-5 Cavan 2-6 at the interval.
We lead 1-7 to 1-3 full value for that 4 point lead, no shine today his replacement d mcdermott playing well hopefully more of the same in the 2nd half
Great win back in the promotion race but that was awful stuff from both sides in the 2nd half
Hello operator could you put me throgh to division four please.
Good win for us v one of the better teams in this division especially without so many championship starters.
Enjoyable 1st half bad start (Antrim goal after 50 seconds) but we soon settled to control the half Cregg pulling the strings Devaney impressing while Darren McDermott showing why he was chosen instead of Donal Shine 4 points up really should have been more however Claffey pulled off a fine save before HT.
2nd half was not a enjoyable watch, woeful stuff altogether from both sides real Div 3 stuff we were very wasteful close to 15 wides hitting the crossbar a few times & missing easy frees. Antrim missed a penalty when it might have brought them back into but any Antrim fan has to bitterly disappointed with that display today.
6 points from 8 back in the hunt for promotion happy enough with that but some tricky games ahead.
Huge call by Newton to drop Shine, he was off-form but for a manager to have the balls to drop his star player two months into his term is certainly bold. Shine didn't cut a happy figure on the sideline but knowing the lad and his family's football pedigree he should use that disapointment to drive himself back into form, he'll be needed next weekend.
We controlled this game completely apart from the first score of the game, Antrim's goal. Antrim were toothless and were choked out of the game very fast. Without being too biting, Antrim are not even in the promotion picture now. We played within ourselves the entire match and easily won, we played with much more intensity against Longford and lost, I can't see how Antrim beat Longford next week or Wexford later in the league.
The ref didn't help our cause in the second half, disallowing a goal, giving huge marginal calls to Antrim in almost every instance so I wouldn't be as harsh as to say we were poor - our finishing was poor but our defence and our passing was good.
Darren McDermott is a serious player. You can start pencilling him in for the championship 15 at this point, every single game he's played he's performed in. There's such a comfort in having a keeper of Claffey's quality, two huge saves today and if not for him a David Kelly goal would have probably won the 2010 Connacht final for Sligo. Cathal Dineen made his return to the starting line-up in the pre-match shuffle and continued his fine form against Tipp. Finneran is a real workhorse, so many times you see him in the full-back line clearing ball and he still manages to get forward. Niall Daly looks wonderfully assured for such a young player, he rarely ever makes the wrong decision. Ian Kilbride has introduced a physicality to our defence that was missing, too. Cregg is looking better than ever, some wayward shots but his energy, skill and passing were second to none. Every Roscommon supporter would glad to see Senan Kilbride back in the county colours, though they'll need to be feeding him better ball and supporting him more than they were today.
It all sets up what should be a promotion decider in Wexford next weekend. If the winner of that game doesn't get promoted they'll have no one to blame but themselves.
Quote from: sligoman2 on March 11, 2012, 04:07:25 PM
Hello operator could you put me throgh to division four please.
If yis had taken half the chances yis got (particularly early on in the second half when yis were all over us) it might well have been different. The score flattered us considerably.
BTW, was the scoreboard operator drunk?
Riding high to my complete surprise. Must say Glen has the team flying - hopefully it can last and the team doesn't shoot its bolt.
2 home games v Antrim and Wexford and away to a struggling Tipp is a nice place to be at the moment. A chance of promotion but looking at the fare in Div 2 there is a good auld gap between the two divisions.
It could get very interesting in Div 3 over the next three weeks with the Rossies, Longford, Antrim and Wexford all looking for brighter things and Sligo, Tipp and Offaly ponder the shopping in London.
Big problems in Offaly alright. But now is not the time for madness. We have a few good minor teams over the past few years coming through to U21 level now, and they are being thrown to sink or swim at the moment at senior level. It will be Division 4, which is a pity in one way, but we need to be patient and persist and use division 4 to mature.
Quote from: hardstation on March 11, 2012, 07:13:03 PM
Was listening on Shannonside. Seems we were dung.
Ye sure were and we werent much better in that awful 2nd half.
This game resembled a challenge match at times and was played in almost total silence. Biggest cheer was the penalty save by Geoff. He made one great save in the first half twisting himself backwards to stop a flick from an Antrim forward but like most goalies did a few mad things afterwards - that punch especially.
Devaney and Darren McD could have had a field day in the first half if enough ball was hit to them. Cregg , Ian K ,Percy , Keenan ( how did he manage to hit the bar from 2 feet out !! :o) and my m.o.m Micky Finn were others to impress.
Donie had a bad game against the Lars and was deservedly "rested", don't know if you could call it a big call - proper management decision I would think.
We are now as good as safe from relegation and can start thinking about promotion - at least till throw in v Wexford.
If as expected Longford get full points then this one v the yellabellies is more or less a promotion play off with the losers out of the race in reality.
I'm hopeful but I won't be visiting the bookies though. :D
With no Rogers,Shine on the field yesterday & Heneghan not interested in frees anymore Claffey was given the job to take a few distance frees i just hope that's that last time i see him trying them.
Keenan smashing the crossbar was incredible miss & the goal ruled out for a square ball should have stood as Finneran ran into the box.
Looking at the Divison now Longford,Wexford are the favourites to get the two promotion spots but we have done well to be in the hunt (remember some pundits had us tipped for relegation) Antrim were poor yesterday but a win v Longford would put them right back in it.
Tipp,Offaly look certain for the drop now we regrouped after relegation i'm sure both of them can as well. Sligo,Cavan are in limbo won't get relegated or promoted by the looks of it.
I dont want to gloat, but I told you so!
Quote from: ross4life on March 12, 2012, 04:21:53 PM
With no Rogers,Shine on the field yesterday & Heneghan not interested in frees anymore Claffey was given the job to take a few distance frees i just hope that's that last time i see him trying them.
Keenan smashing the crossbar was incredible miss & the goal ruled out for a square ball should have stood as Finneran ran into the box.
Looking at the Divison now Longford,Wexford are the favourites to get the two promotion spots but we have done well to be in the hunt (remember some pundits had us tipped for relegation) Antrim were poor yesterday but a win v Longford would put them right back in it.
Tipp,Offaly look certain for the drop now we regrouped after relegation i'm sure both of them can as well. Sligo,Cavan are in limbo won't get relegated or promoted by the looks of it.
Claffey only took the one, it was worth a go because McDermott was assured enough taking short frees but the one long one he hit was about the only mistake he made all day long. Strange that he and not Heneghan, the free-taker that McDermott's own club, wasn't taking them.
The irony of Claffey's screwed kick was that it ended up in Cregg's hands just outside the square and he missed a guilt-edged shot himself, I've rarely seen a player hold his head in his hands for as long as Cregg did, the water-boy was probably about to wheel the oxygen tank out!
Regardless of how we do, Wexford will be too good at home for Ros. So we could have 3 on 8 pts & 2 on 6!
Now that would be a big change to the promotion hunt. Still
Longford are looking strong favorites to do it. But after today's Hurricane failure in Cheltenham favs don't always do it.
Longford have a recent history of underachieving against Wexford - no excuses though, the run in is at home against the two better sides and away to Tipp (no slur on their form intended).
One weekend at a time, chaps ....
As with our hurlers, you never really know what you're going to get on any given Sunday with Wexford. Although I suppose the footballers are a bit more consistent.
Our last two outings will prove no preparation at all for the visit of Roscommon, as, no offence, but Offaly were woeful and apparently Tipp were "quer bad" as we might say down in the Sunny South-East.
Fairly crucial game, as a defeat would seriously dent the promotion hopes of either team. Note it's a double-header, so the locals will get a bit of value for money at least. The Rossies from around Boyle will have an early start though, with throw-in at 12.45 ...
Hopefully we won't get a repeat of the weather the last time the Rossies came to town!
Big game at the bottom of the league table on Sunday in Sligo. If Sligo win, Tipp are heading back to Div. 4 for next year. If Tipp win, the relegation battle will go to the final day. Both managers seem to be under severe pressure in their respective counties. The difference between winning and losing this game will be huge for both camps.
We make two changes for Sunday Higgins,Kilroy out Mannion,Rogers in. Our best scoring forwards Donal Shine,Senan Kilbride on the bench again. Wexford pick their strongest possibly team a very free scoring forward line.
A uphill task for us on Sunday but a good test to see how far we have come.
Quote from: ross4life on March 16, 2012, 04:06:40 PM
We make two changes for Sunday Higgins,Kilroy out Mannion,Rogers in. Our best scoring forwards Donal Shine,Senan Kilbride on the bench again. Wexford pick their strongest possibly team a very free scoring forward line.
I'd imagine Newton will make more 'last minute' changes'. Kilbride particularly may end up starting. I can't see Shine not a elast feature at some point, though.
Hard to know it would give us more scoring power. At least Rogers has returned from injury he's another free taker option & has a eye for a goal. Wexford without talking them up too much are one of the best teams in leinster now & arguably only Dublin have a better forward line than they do in that province.
Absolutely, but it's not exactly a murders row of forwards you'd be comparing them to in Leinster, look at how desperate Kildare are to get Johnston and they're the second best overall team in Leinster. Likewise, though, we'd have the best selection of forwards in our province.
We won't have any apprehensions facing Wexford - we've played them three times in competitive fixtures since 2009 - and I'd imagine the players will draw on last years' trip to the south-east and their brilliant battle with Micko and Wicklow as proof that a long journey to a hard place doesn't have to be fruitless.
Lads, thought Roscommon got promoted last year ??
Quote from: spuds on March 17, 2012, 02:26:46 AM
Yeah, and?
Quote from: Syferus on March 16, 2012, 10:49:16 PM
[
I'd imagine Newton will make more 'last minute' changes'. Kilbride particularly may end up starting. I can't see Shine not a elast feature at some point, though.
Might be one or two more alright. ;)
Can't see Donie starting unless attitude changes. Kilbride looked like a lad who could do with a rest last Sunday.
As R4Life says - an uphil task but a good one to measure if any progress being made.
Losers are as good as out of the race while winners will be hoping Longford put Antrim out of it.
Quote from: spuds on March 17, 2012, 08:00:54 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 17, 2012, 02:33:37 AM
Quote from: spuds on March 17, 2012, 02:26:46 AM
Yeah, and?
How come still in division 3 ?
We got promoted from D4 last year and we'd got relegated there the year before. We've played in four different divisions in the last six seasons and have only stayed in the same division the next season one time in that period. Up and down more than Appolo astronauts.
Wexford lead at ht 1-6 to 0-6 we missed a great goal chance then wexford went up the field & got theirs. Heneghan sent off before break (two yellows) making it a even tougher task for us.
Disappointing, we held Wexford to a low score but we couldn't get a platform in the middle, when he did get up we troubled the Wexford backs. If we'd have scored the goal in one of the earlier chances that game was there for the taking, but them's the breaks. Terrible mistake by Newton taking off Devanney rather than Heneghan, though.
At least Donie and Senan are looking more like themselves now and O'Gara's fit. It's all about building towards Galway now, if results somehow put us pack into the race it'll be an unexpected bonus.
Poor game best team won 1-12 1-10 wexford wides kept us in the game but we had to play with 14 men and missed some other goals. Top two should get promotion now and another year in div 3 for us.
In tears here because we lost that match. We should be in Div 1/2 by rights. I cant believe we will have to wait another year in Div 3.
Half time:
Longford 0-09
Antrim 0-03
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 18, 2012, 03:09:36 PM
Half time:
Longford 0-09
Antrim 0-03
Oh god that makes it worse!
Antrim down now to 14. Armstrong second yellow.
Cavan 0-9, Offaly 0-5 just few mins into 2nd half
At the end of the day we have now played the top two in this Division lost by 2pts twice but in truth we should have lost both games by more Wexford,Longford deserve to play Div 2 football next year.
Wexford kicked a load of wides on another day it could have been 1-22 us having to play all the 2nd half down a man didn't help & if we took one of those goal chances we might have stole it but TBH Des Newton has alot of work to do with team before the championship at least he's getting some of the injury/rested players back would be nice if finish the league with a two wins.
Longford win by 4 points. Div 2 football almost assured
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 18, 2012, 04:04:32 PM
Longford win by 4 points. Div 2 football almost assured
Was never in doubt will ye rest players for the final few games? fair play to Offaly pulling off a fine win & some 2nd half by Sligo.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 18, 2012, 03:27:44 PM
I think it could have been a straight red. I didn't see any second yellow.
Quote from: Benny Sweeney on March 18, 2012, 02:56:51 PM
In tears here because we lost that match. We should be in Div 1/2 by rights. I cant believe we will have to wait another year in Div 3.
WE were absolutely rubbish today. Should have been bet by 12 or 15 points . We have no right to be anywhere except where we win the right to be.
Div 3 is our level at present .
Hopefully with the return of the missing ones , more training to catch up on the missing months with resultant mproved fitness levels we wil give the herrin chokers a game of it.
Hard to see it at present ..but a return trip to Wexford and some pints of porter make it hard ot see anything right now. ??? ::)
Longford's second half performance was their worst period of play in the League this season by all accounts. If Antrim had the full 15 on the pitch then they probably would have won it. Perhaps Longford switched off after going 7 points up and their opponents down to 14 five minutes into the second half. I was sure Shannonside had Armstrong in for a second yellow.
Wee schmozzle at the end after an Antrim lad cleaned out a Longford player right on the final whistle in a tackle that brought in the troops on both sides. Transgressor got a post final whistle yellow.
View is that if Longford match that second half performace in Div 2 (assuming etc) then our stay will be of a Fr. Ted variety - i.e. we'll be just resting in Div 2.
Trip to Tipp on Sat eve will seal promotion if we win or draw. I cannot see foot off the pedal for this one, despite Tipp's troubles. But what will happen the last game if both Wexford and Longford are in the Div 3 final two weeks or so later is anyone's guess.
Cavan were well shocked today. Real relegation scramble now as the trap door looms large. Could Offaly pull it off? Wouldn't put anything past dem boys.
Quote from: hardstation on March 18, 2012, 06:39:34 PM
Quote from: LaurelEye on March 18, 2012, 06:28:04 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 18, 2012, 03:27:44 PM
I think it could have been a straight red. I didn't see any second yellow.
What did he do? Very unlike Mickey to be put off.
Caught Declan Reilly round the neck.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 19, 2012, 12:42:01 AM
Longford's second half performance was their worst period of play in the League this season by all accounts. If Antrim had the full 15 on the pitch then they probably would have won it. Perhaps Longford switched off after going 7 points up and their opponents down to 14 five minutes into the second half. I was sure Shannonside had Armstrong in for a second yellow.
As I said, I didn't see the yellow, which is not the same thing as there not having been one.
Sticking for fifteen minutes of a strategy of having two extra men in defence while leaving Antrim with an extra man to mop up the few forwards we had was.... em.... interesting.
Jaysus. Hah?
Jaysus indeed a real relegation battle in O Connor Park on Sunday. Longford should 100% confirm promotion on Saturday TBH they have what it takes more than any team in this Division to complete in the level above. Under performing Tipp will probably fall through the trap down while Wexford should join the Larries but they won't want reminding what happened last year.
If they slip up again ourselves or Antrim will be waiting to pounce! i hope we get a few shock results this weekend as if we don't alot of the final round of fixtures will be nothing more than challenge games.
Quote from: ross4life on March 20, 2012, 05:58:04 PM
Jaysus indeed a real relegation battle in O Connor Park on Sunday. Longford should 100% confirm promotion on Saturday TBH they have what it takes more than any team in this Division to complete in the level above. Under performing Tipp will probably fall through the trap down while Wexford should join the Larries but they won't want reminding what happened last year.
If they slip up again ourselves or Antrim will be waiting to pounce! i hope we get a few shock results this weekend as if we don't alot of the final round of fixtures will be nothing more than challenge games.
Agreed, at the very least it'd make the trip to Markievicz more than just a scouting report for a potential Connacht semi-final.
I have to imagine Antrim are a superior team at home, they certainly didn't cause us or Longford much trouble these last two weeks.
We should at least draw in Tipp on Sat. They have no manager but we came a cropper in a similar situation in the Leinster a few years ago when a managerless Carlow (or maybe Luke was drafted in at the 11th hour) ambushed us in Portlaoise when we were hot favourites.
The phrase "don't count chickens...." was invented in Longford.
Ironically if we do get to the Div 3 final in Croke Park it's on Sat 28 April...the day of my young wan's communion!
I've not missed a Longford game in Croker since the All Ireland semi in 1968!!
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 20, 2012, 11:57:28 PM
We should at least draw in Tipp on Sat. They have no manager but we came a cropper in a similar situation in the Leinster a few years ago when a managerless Carlow (or maybe Luke was drafted in at the 11th hour) ambushed us in Portlaoise when we were hot favourites.
The phrase "don't count chickens...." was invented in Longford.
Ironically if we do get to the Div 3 final in Croke Park it's on Sat 28 April...the day of my young wan's communion!
I've not missed a Longford game in Croker since the All Ireland semi in 1968!!
Neither of them??? ;)
No venue yet for that Div 3 Final, Shamrock, at least according to gaa.ie.
Just going on last year when the Div 3 and Div 4 finals were held in Croke Park on a Sat. I spose there may be a rethink as the crowd was only about 6k for the games.
Ros have named the same starting 15 as took the field in Wexford Park last Sunday.
I wonder..... but anyway we can expect to see Donie and Senan and maybe Domican who has resumed duty with the panel.
I expect O'Gara will come in too at some stage.
If Longford win as expected and Wexford beat Antrim then promotion is done and dusted even if we bate the Cavanites as best we can do then is finish level with Wexford and they bet us .
However a win for Antrim ( and us of course ) would make for an interesting last day.
Quote from: Rossfan on March 23, 2012, 04:48:28 PM
Ros have named the same starting 15 as took the field in Wexford Park last Sunday.
I wonder..... but anyway we can expect to see Donie and Senan and maybe Domican who has resumed duty with the panel.
I expect O'Gara will come in too at some stage.
If Longford win as expected and Wexford beat Antrim then promotion is done and dusted even if we bate the Cavanites as best we can do then is finish level with Wexford and they bet us .
However a win for Antrim ( and us of course ) would make for an interesting last day.
Not sure how Des can go with the same team after our worst display of the league last weekend? With the Galway championship game just 8 weeks away we really need to be starting close to our strongest line up.
Unless Antrim show what they haven't shown the last two games Wexford should win to wrap up promotion but still it's important we finish the league campaign with 100% home record & get one over Cavan after our last two dreadful displays vs them.
Has to be a shell team, surely?
Kilbride and Shine need to be played into form and we've only got two competitive games to go 'till Galway. And we need to be exploring other options in the middle, be it Cathal Shine for a half v. Cavan or moving someone else into the middle, we just aren't getting a proper platform to work from. A better midfield and we'd have won every game we've played this year, and with something to spare. We're tantalisingly close to a very good team if we can arrange the chairs correctly.
Tipp 0-6 Longford 0-5 after 25 minutes.
Willie H doing the commentary :o :o
Quote from: Rossfan on March 24, 2012, 07:28:50 PM
Christ, are we not suffering enough?
14 men Tipp went down fighting far play to them! Longford promoted well done to them.
Quote from: LaurelEye on March 24, 2012, 08:14:38 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 24, 2012, 07:28:50 PM
Christ, are we not suffering enough?
Vintage Willie there, commentating legend.
Barry Grogan 'puts the bacon in the oven and maybe even makes a dinner of it' ... for those unfamiliar with the Rossie radio maestro, this may be interpreted as Barry Grogan winning and lining up a scorable Tipp free, with the game in the melting pot.
Longford's Reilly ' twists and turns like he's in a dancehall, kicks a Hairy-Mary and scores a Hairy Mary' ... never heard that one before but i suspect, all jiving aside, he was describing a kick akin to the better known 'Hail-Mary' which may have been borderline???
Congrats on promotion Larries, well deserved.
Longford put in an awful performance but we have staggered over the line!
At the end the announcer said attendance of 414!
More anon when I get home
414 in Thurles ... must have been a scary place and it in the dark too :o
They threw away the mould when they made Willie alright ;D ;D
Well done Larries indeed , hope ye can stay up.
Hopefully our wonderful Shannonside breathern won't get lazy next week, we'll need their help if we have any chance of sneaking into D2.
Obviously teams are playing better at home and worse away, maybe Antrim can make some shape of Wexford in Casement. They won't be short motivation since they know it's their only hope of remaining in the race themselves but the Antrim team that showed up the last two weeks doesn't inspire much confidence.
414 + childer - probably 500. Floodlights were on.
80% were from Longford I'd say. Most making a night of it but staying in the local hoselries. (There was the 'Tipp Lovely Girls' competition on in The Anner Hotel.)
It was a poor game - full of errors and missed opportunities but what the hey, we got at least what we set out to acheive on the trip.
I did not think we'd get promoted so soon so well done to all concerned.
Glen Ryan is certain the Div 3 final will be in Croker.
Tomorrow may decide opponents. I too hope that Longford don't go 'easy' in the last match if it comes to this which may disadvantage the neighbours
Wexford leading by 5 promotion looking very likely now for them.
Ah well another year in div 3 for us, well done wexford
QuoteLongford's Reilly ' twists and turns like he's in a dancehall, kicks a Hairy-Mary and scores a Hairy Mary'
Wouldn't have believed it until I heard it live.
And did you know, God loves good footballers
Sligo 1- 10
Offaly 0-6
HT
Sligo taking some great scores. Offaly have the wind in the second half.
Johny Davey and Johny Martin have gone off injured. Coen, Breheny and Marren scoring from everywhere.
Coen is having a blinder.
Level at ht 1-7 to 0-10 we recovered well from the poor start, good game but the ref is trying his best to ruin it
QuoteAnd did you know, God loves good footballers
Yes - he said this as well today. I am doomed, doomed, I tells ya.
We won 1-17 to 1-12 good win decent showing
Good win for Sligo - 2 points win in the end.
At least we stay up and can relax for the Roscommon game....
Well done to Glen Ryan and his backroom team. The players have put in a huge effort and Division Two is the ideal place for the talent coming through.
Roll on Laois in May. I hope the Co Board make a big push to promote this game locally'and get a huge crowd backing the team.
Am I correct in saying if Offaly beat Tipp and Cavan lose to Antrim then Cavan head south to Div 4?
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 25, 2012, 11:26:55 PM
Am I correct in saying if Offaly beat Tipp and Cavan lose to Antrim then Cavan head south to Div 4?
That looks right. NorthernSound were saying that Cavan were safe, but I wouldn't take much notice of that!
It'd be harsh on Cavan to be relegated, played quite well and fought gamely today, it wasn't until the final eight or so minutes before we started to ease away from them. They certainly were as stiff an opposition for us as Tipp (this was before their confidence flat-lined) an aeons better than Offally or Antrim.
Tipp were not half bad against Longford and probably could have got more than the draw but the sending off hampered them. Offaly should, though, beat them.
Cavan are like the Forrest Gump boxa chawclates. You never know what you are going to get. So if I were a lad from Stradone I'd start praying. While Antrim have nawthin to play for, in theory, I am sure they would love a win in Cavan. And may just get it.
I think thats right as they will both have 4 pts and offaly won the bead to head
Is the Cavan-Antrim game in Breffni Park?
Round 7
Cavan V Antrim
Time: 2 30 PM , Venue: Kingspan Breffni Pk
Referee: TBC
Round 7
Longford V Wexford
Time: 2 30 PM , Venue: Glennon Brothers Pearse Park
Referee: TBC
Quote from: sligoman2 on March 25, 2012, 03:09:27 PM
Sligo 1- 10
Offaly 0-6
HT
Sligo taking some great scores. Offaly have the wind in the second half.
Johny Davey and Johny Martin have gone off injured. Coen, Breheny and Marren scoring from everywhere.
Coen is having a blinder.
I was also listening to the Ocean FM commentary but when I spoke to a friend of mine who was at it he told me there was no wind. Thank God we survived, I thought our goose was cooked when Offaly beat Cavan last week and the drop to Div 4 would have been a disaster.
Quote from: Maguire01 on March 25, 2012, 11:30:11 PM
That looks right. NorthernSound were saying that Cavan were safe, but I wouldn't take much notice of that!
By "NorthernSound" do you mean their "star commentator" yesterday (Hegarty), or someone who actually might be expected to know something?
Apart from the last relegation spot next Sunday's round will be a damp squib.
With an U21 final between Sligo and ourselves on Saturday and the likelihood of totally weakened teams playing the NFL game, plus of course Easter Sunday - I wonder will it be the smallest crowd ever at a competitive Ros/Sligo game?
Cavan's need to win will possible see them scrape by antrim, Offaly will still give it a go v Tipp just in case while Longford/Wexford will probably have most followers asking " who's that number 2/3/5/7/8/9/10/23/29......?" :D
Division 3
Pos. Team P W D L F A Pts.
1 Longford 7 6 0 0 5-96 5-64 13
2 Wexford 7 5 0 2 8-110 13-71 10
3 Roscommon 7 4 0 3 6-81 5-76 8
4 Sligo 7 4 0 3 9-84 3-91 8
5 Antrim 7 4 0 3 11-68 2-88 8
6 Cavan 7 2 0 5 6-79 11-74 4
7 Tipperary 7 1 0 5 1-77 8-90 3
8 Offaly 7 1 0 6 6-57 5-98 2
Hey everybody!
What's the craic?
What's the temperature like in here then?
Slight revenge for Sligo today TBH this game will be forgotten as quickly as the last league game between the two. Looking at the above table as it turn's out if we had beaten either Longford or Wexford we would have got promoted but TBH where not ready for Div 2 football yet.
Quote from: ross4life on April 08, 2012, 04:55:24 PM
Slight revenge for Sligo today TBH this game will be forgotten as quickly as the last league game between the two.
but TBH where not ready for Div 2 football yet.
If the repeats of 2010 continue we'll be happy enough ;)
Not much for us to enthuse about today and while we're certainly not ready for Div 2 football I hope we'll be able for next year's Division 3 :o
Tipperary finished their campaign in Div. 3 with a 3 points win over Offaly. Tipp were already relegated before today's game and will be joined in Div. 4 by Offaly. Looking at the table I would argue that Tipp should have comfortably retained their Div. 3 place if they had played any way well in their first 5 games, all of which were lost. We were the only team not to lose to Longford and on that form should have been able to get someting out of the home games with Antrim or Cavan. Even a draw with Cavan would have saved us. Ah well, Div. 4 it is next year.
Quote from: Jinxy on April 08, 2012, 04:43:18 PM
Hey everybody!
What's the craic?
Sup dawg. Any clue if you're coming to the Hyde or we're going to the grassy banks of Navan next March?
The MAN says we can't use our grass banks anymore.
Wouldn't mind a trip to the Hyde.
That's assuming I've calmed down enough by then to have any interest in watching them again.
Quote from: hardstation on April 08, 2012, 05:41:52 PM
Antrim scored 4 goals? What's going on there?
You were playing Cavan horse.
Thats a nice defensive system you lads played though,reminiscent of Donegal last year.
What we would do for a manager with a bit of tactical know-how like Bradley!!
Quote from: hardstation on April 08, 2012, 05:41:52 PM
Antrim scored 4 goals? What's going on there?
1. Loughrey finally played at wing-forward
2. Cavan aren't world beaters anymore
3. Loughrey finally played at wing-forward
Slight revenge for Sligo today TBH this game will be forgotten as quickly as the last league game between the two. Looking at the above table as it turn's out if we had beaten either Longford or Wexford we would have got promoted but TBH where not ready for Div 2 football yet.
Are you joking? This was a challenge match ffs.
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 10, 2012, 11:12:00 AM
I think that was the point of the adverb, sir.
Adjective ?
Quote from: Syferus on April 10, 2012, 01:55:21 PM
Exactly. Seanie got any views on Sligos league campaign & the upcoming exhibition game.
Quote from: ross4life on April 10, 2012, 03:34:23 PM
Exactly. Seanie got any views on Sligos league campaign & the upcoming exhibition game.
Yes I have.
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 10, 2012, 04:08:58 PM
Quote from: ross4life on April 10, 2012, 03:34:23 PM
Yes I have.
Good.