NFL Division 3 2012

Started by Syferus, January 28, 2012, 05:24:15 AM

Quote from: spuds on March 17, 2012, 08:00:54 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 17, 2012, 02:33:37 AM
Quote from: spuds on March 17, 2012, 02:26:46 AM
Lads, thought Roscommon got promoted last year ??

Yeah, and?
How come still in division 3 ?

We got promoted from D4 last year and we'd got relegated there the year before. We've played in four different divisions in the last six seasons and have only stayed in the same division the next season one time in that period. Up and down more than Appolo astronauts.

Wexford lead at ht 1-6 to 0-6 we missed a great goal chance then wexford went up the field & got theirs. Heneghan sent off before break (two yellows) making it a even tougher task for us.

Disappointing, we held Wexford to a low score but we couldn't get a platform in the middle, when he did get up we troubled the Wexford backs. If we'd have scored the goal in one of the earlier chances that game was there for the taking, but them's the breaks. Terrible mistake by Newton taking off Devanney rather than Heneghan, though.

At least Donie and Senan are looking more like themselves now and O'Gara's fit. It's all about building towards Galway now, if results somehow put us pack into the race it'll be an unexpected bonus.

Poor game best team won 1-12 1-10 wexford wides kept us in the game but we had to play with 14 men and missed some other goals. Top two should get promotion now and another year in div 3 for us.

Benny Sweeney

In tears here because we lost that match. We should be in Div 1/2 by rights. I cant believe we will have to wait another year in Div 3.

Half time:

Longford 0-09
Antrim 0-03

Benny Sweeney

Antrim down now to 14. Armstrong second yellow.

Cavan 0-9, Offaly 0-5 just few mins into 2nd half

At the end of the day we have now played the top two in this Division lost by 2pts twice but in truth we should have lost both games by more Wexford,Longford deserve to play Div 2 football next year.

Wexford kicked a load of wides on another day it could have been 1-22 us having to play all the 2nd half down a man didn't help & if we took one of those goal chances we might have stole it but TBH Des Newton has alot of work to do with team before the championship at least he's getting some of the injury/rested players back would be nice if finish the league with a two wins.

Longford win by 4 points. Div 2 football almost assured

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 18, 2012, 04:04:32 PM
Longford win by 4 points. Div 2 football almost assured
Was never in doubt will ye rest players for the final few games? fair play to Offaly pulling off a fine win & some 2nd half by Sligo.

LaurelEye

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 18, 2012, 03:27:44 PM
Antrim down now to 14. Armstrong second yellow.

I think it could have been a straight red. I didn't see any second yellow.

Quote from: Benny Sweeney on March 18, 2012, 02:56:51 PM
In tears here because we lost that match. We should be in Div 1/2 by rights. I cant believe we will have to wait another year in Div 3.
WE were absolutely rubbish today. Should have been bet by 12 or 15 points . We have no right to be anywhere except where we win the right to be.
Div 3 is our level at present .
Hopefully with the return of the missing ones , more training to catch up on the missing months with resultant mproved fitness levels we wil give the herrin chokers a game of it.
Hard to see it at present ..but a return trip to Wexford and some pints of porter make it hard ot see anything right now.  ??? ::)
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Longford's second half performance was their worst period of play in the League this season by all accounts. If Antrim had the full 15 on the pitch then they probably would have won it. Perhaps Longford switched off after going 7 points up and their opponents down to 14 five minutes into the second half. I was sure Shannonside had Armstrong in for a second yellow.

Wee schmozzle at the end after an Antrim lad cleaned out a Longford player right on the final whistle in a tackle that brought in the troops on both sides. Transgressor got a post final whistle yellow.

View is that if Longford match that second half performace in Div 2 (assuming etc) then our stay will be of a Fr. Ted variety - i.e. we'll be just resting in Div 2.

Trip to Tipp on Sat eve will seal promotion if we win or draw. I cannot see foot off the pedal for this one, despite Tipp's troubles. But what will happen the last game if both Wexford and Longford are in the Div 3 final two weeks or so later is anyone's guess.

Cavan were well shocked today. Real relegation scramble now as the trap door looms large. Could Offaly pull it off? Wouldn't put anything past dem boys.