Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

Would ye whist

Lets call it as it is lads our refs just are not up to it:

O'Neill in the Creggan game with a balls up
Totes completely out of his depth in our game v Brides
Matthews on Saturday wanted the game to be about him, the Ray show almost made a game of it
McDermot on Saturday nothing more than a complete disgrace
Parke yesterday a hurling ref, seems to throw the rule book out the window and allow PG1 to develop scrums all over the show, the only consistent thing was that he was consistently bad

Spike

Quote from: Saffsontop on October 14, 2024, 10:20:15 AM
Quote from: AntrimRealist on October 13, 2024, 07:03:48 PMMissed frees cost Portglenone over the 80 minutes, 4 or 5 scoreable ones that weren't converted. V costly in a low scoring game

I couldn't believe they didnt swap the taker during the game. Thought Lynn or Hagan would of been an obvious replacement after their usual leftie missed a couple

Thats the effect of pressure.  PG1 forwards weren't handling it well.

Spike

Quote from: Would ye whist on October 14, 2024, 10:23:59 AMLets call it as it is lads our refs just are not up to it:

Matthews on Saturday wanted the game to be about him, the Ray show almost made a game of it
Parke yesterday a hurling ref, seems to throw the rule book out the window and allow PG1 to develop scrums all over the show, the only consistent thing was that he was consistently bad

Sounds like an excellent time to introduce even more rules

Saul goodman

Quote from: Spike on October 14, 2024, 10:35:02 AM
Quote from: Would ye whist on October 14, 2024, 10:23:59 AMLets call it as it is lads our refs just are not up to it:

Sounds like an excellent time to introduce even more rules

The scrums that develop when lads are picking the ball up are a disgrace. It is a luck of the draw whether you get a free or not. Must be so infuriating for a player one time it is deemed a good tackle swarming the man. The next you get blown a free against and even to ask the ref for an explanation gets you a booking plus free moved up.

Wee Barky

Enda lynn added something that was missing to the portglenone forward line, I wouldn't be surprised to see him in the league squad for Antrim next year as it's exactly the type of club player Mc entee likes.

On a side note, when was the last time Portglenone won in extra time? I did not have a good feeling for them yesterday but they almost got over the line.

Around the glens

Quote from: EOC1923 on October 14, 2024, 12:38:00 AM
Quote from: bannside on October 14, 2024, 12:26:19 AMFirstly, congratulations to Cargin, great club, you know how to grind em out. Good luck in Ulster, all Antrim will be behind you.

Casements didn't fear Cargin before the game and round the club we feel like it's one we lost, rather than Cargin won.

The video is going around that shows we had a good goal disallowed, and we thought when Dermot was black carded, Mick got away with an exact same foul a few minutes later. Those things hot hard when refereeing gets it wrong or is perceived to not be consistent.

And we thought  Enda Lynn should have got a free in to level it in extra time.

Those who wish to comment please do so, just take the time to review the evidence beforehand.

Portglenone will suck it up, and will come back for more. Now that we know we can go toe to toe with Cargin for an hour, our challenge is to go find that extra couple of per cent.

Good luck Cargin, but don't go looking down your noses at us no more! We arnt far away...and youse know it.

Fair dues Bannside your men done  themselves proud today and took it to us but you are absolutely taking the piss claiming hard done by decision wise. 7-5 down in normal time, two scandalous decisions awarding frees. The commentators on the stream were in disbelief. Cargin on one of their worst days still came through against Portglenone who are away home thinking they played well
That's the reality.

Ahh ye can't be going on the basis of the commentary on the stream, it was cassidy and mcgourty just nodded and agreed. Might aswell of been cargin tv.

inabsentia

At the game yesterday and didn't think the ref was awful.

But there were a few instances that had you scratching your head.

Mick could have easily been a black card in the first half.

Some embarrassing moments for the PG1 backs diving all over the show that he didn't buy.

There was one particular instance which I thought was a cert free where Mick went up to take the ball and McAleese drove his shoulder through him in the air and he looked to come down awkwardly.

All in all free taking and decision making was the issue for PG1. Putting the ball into the square when there was 5 minutes to go and they were a point down I don't understand

Hectic

Experience carried Cargin through yesterday.

It was a hash of a game but also an exciting watch because it was a game of fine margins.

I just wonder how much enjoyment lads get from playing in games where the major focus is on crowding and closing, especially when it is not always being called consistently.  Or what alternative approach teams can take that then does not then just run into the opposition trap.

Cargin will certainly be hoping to shake off a few injuries now and get Ulster ready. 

Have they been looking to peak for Ulster all along or are they showing signs of the last throws of an era of domination?

Spike

its said every year yet they still find a way, even when not playing well.  PG1 will be pleased with their performance yet Cargin wont though they still were pretty comfortable throughout extra time. If you cant beat a team playing poorly does that say more about you than them?   

regarding the enjoyment factor, numbers playing would suggest the game is still appreciated by many.  if it wasn't would the likes of Niall McKeever and Justin Crozier still be at it? doubtful.

bannside

You think Portglenone are pleased with themselves? How do you come up with that?

They're gutted, and when they watch the live stream highlights in the club in an hour or two they will find it a hard watch...basically kicked twice the amount of wides that Cargin did, and scuffed enough chances to win several games.

Basically beat themselves, that's the view from here, and they are devastated because they left here expecting to win the game.

And once again, well done to Cargin, your name goes down for another year.

BigGreenField

Swarm tackling ain't pretty but not against the rules and both sides fairly disciplined on this yesterday, so not blaming the ref here as wasn't any fouls,  (as a ref from about here said look for the soft free..) Horrible stuff though.

One foul MMcC didn't get I think partly as he took a swan dive half way through (it was still a foul) and possible because he'd had words with the officials previously, who knows if that sometimes influences the other way.

DC on commentary is normally pretty balanced, he did lose the run once or twice yesterday and a bit of balance would have been good, I thought having 2 lads on (and less of JQ was a good thing) wouldn't have minded a pitchside half time interview with a PG1 viewpoint with the fancy new camera.

A funny one for Cargin, the test will have done them the world of good and posed some questions they hadn't had in a while, possibly a little worrying as while PG1 struggled to score, arguably with a 2 point winning margin, so did Cargin - largely because Tomas was forced out the field in search of ball and space and he remains the chief creator.

Although it's all curates egg stuff as a win in a final is a win and that's all that matters.

Duine Inteacht Eile

Yeah, I'd be shocked if PG1 were pleased with their performance. They made fundamental error after fundamental error and I imagine they will think that they could play much better than they did.

Hectic

Fair enough and I guess even in a game as through other as yesterday still need find a way and when the final whistle goes the joy is the same.

I'll certainly be right behind Cargin for Ulster and hope they have another gear or two there.  Aside from injuries and the type of game that unfolded there was also some brutal passing from dead balls too - basic stuff.

But better to get that out of the system in a scrappy win and find closer to perfection the next day.

Spike

Quote from: bannside on October 14, 2024, 12:32:56 PMYou think Portglenone are pleased with themselves? How do you come up with that?

They're gutted, and when they watch the live stream highlights in the club in an hour or two they will find it a hard watch...basically kicked twice the amount of wides that Cargin did, and scuffed enough chances to win several games.

Basically beat themselves, that's the view from here, and they are devastated because they left here expecting to win the game.

And once again, well done to Cargin, your name goes down for another year.

BS, understandable you're emotional but saying the above when it isn't true renders any valid points less effective.

The stats of normal time according to the GAA Sports Tracker App were PG1 17 shots, Cargin the same with 17 shots. PG1 7 scores, Cargin 7 Scores. PG1 7 wides, Cargin 5 wides. PG1 3 dropped short, Cargin 5 dropped short. And Cargin managed the extra time period with relative ease when PG1s shot selection from absurd positions in a pressure environment was crazy. for example the one off the ground on the right hand side was plain daft

But regardless of stats or mine or anyone's opinion on here, whats done is done and Portglenone have to tell themselves whatever they need to tell themselves so that they get back to a final.

BelSaft

On some of the above:
Jerome so bad! not a clue. You'd think he would know the Antrim Club players at this stage?
Damien so Bias it's unbelievable
Officiating with in the county is at an all time low. So many out of their depth. Not sure what the answer is.
Sports Tracker App boy not much better than Jerome.

Fair Play Cargin