Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

Spike

Cargin's main players are still the best players in the county. Kobo still the best defender in the county.  Our county captain was schooled by Mick McCann. Cargin had more legs than those supposedly young fitter faster PG1 players in extra time.

Feels like it's hard to please everyone. We've had an exciting county final that was tight but because Cargin won many on this board are gutted.

paddyjohn

Quote from: Saul goodman on October 13, 2024, 06:32:03 PMThe ref allowed serial bouts of over carrying to go. It is shocking the cargin keeper got away with a few as did many other players. He reffed like it was a game of hurling lads just charging into contact taking 20 steps

He is a hurling ref.

The man who should have reffed it was writing on this board.

Christmas Lights

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 13, 2024, 06:12:31 PMCargin meeting possibly the Tyrone or Donegal champions is a decent draw, the Tyrone ones who put more effort into their league will be lucky to get past St Eunan's

Few weeks to clear up any injuries and prepare for Ulster

Hard to see Cargin beating any of the Donegal or Tyrone champions though.  They will be of much higher quality than anything in Antrim right now.

AntrimRealist

Missed frees cost Portglenone over the 80 minutes, 4 or 5 scoreable ones that weren't converted. V costly in a low scoring game

Duine Inteacht Eile

Quote from: Spike on October 13, 2024, 06:50:34 PMCargin's main players are still the best players in the county. Kobo still the best defender in the county.  Our county captain was schooled by Mick McCann. Cargin had more legs than those supposedly young fitter faster PG1 players in extra time.

Feels like it's hard to please everyone. We've had an exciting county final that was tight but because Cargin won many on this board are gutted.
People were complaining about the quality of football on show today throughout the game, before there was a winner so I'm not sure how you arrive at that conclusion. But if that narrative suits you, work away.

Saul goodman

Quote from: AntrimRealist on October 13, 2024, 07:03:48 PMMissed frees cost Portglenone over the 80 minutes, 4 or 5 scoreable ones that weren't converted. V costly in a low scoring game

One or two when they had the slight breeze at their back were missed v costly. I was surprised Enda Lynn didn't hit the frees for the left footer. He scored 2 nice ones from play

Duine Inteacht Eile

I thought they took on some frees that were far too low percentage as well. Paddy Kelly coming over to hit a difficult one on the wrong side is just poor decision making. The corner back McNicholl came up a couple of times and hit 2 awful kicks that he should never have taken on.

Mcaleese scored one from more or less the same place though - with his right foot.

Cargin still do have the best individuals in the county yes. Those ones aren't available to the county though.

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on October 13, 2024, 07:05:24 PM
Quote from: Spike on October 13, 2024, 06:50:34 PMCargin's main players are still the best players in the county. Kobo still the best defender in the county.  Our county captain was schooled by Mick McCann. Cargin had more legs than those supposedly young fitter faster PG1 players in extra time.

People were complaining about the quality of football on show today throughout the game, before there was a winner so I'm not sure how you arrive at that conclusion. But if that narrative suits you, work away.

Has anyone seen the turnover stats yet??

Wee Barky

Congratulations Cargin, the best team in the championship won.

Fair play also to the ref, who I thought had a great game, in what was a challenging game to manage.

Portglenone will be kicking themselves , they had chances but failed to convert, so can make no excuses for the final score.

BrollysArmy

There won't be a brick layed tomorrow! Fair dues to Cargin, hopefully something to shout about in Ulster!

Sportacus

Well done Cargin and commiserations Portglenone.  They're both working hard at underage so can't see either of them being too far away for a while to come.  St Brigid's potentially in that bracket too. There's no substitute for hard work.
Football across the country is generally in an awful state overall thanks to coaches setting up teams to not concede.

Hectic

I think Portglenone will be back soon enough.

NatSoSaff

Quote from: Wee Barky on October 13, 2024, 09:59:42 PMCongratulations Cargin, the best team in the championship won.

Fair play also to the ref, who I thought had a great game, in what was a challenging game to manage.

Portglenone will be kicking themselves , they had chances but failed to convert, so can make no excuses for the final score.

Jesus! What game were you watching? Has to be one of the worst displays of officiating I've seen in recent times. I've no dog in the fight, but it was infuriating trying to figure out what way he was setting out his stall. I think he couldn't make his mind up himself which was clear to be seen.

Portglenone were the better team over the 80 minutes and will be sick at the chances missed.

The best team in Antrim now go forward and will have much better performances to come in Ulster I'm pretty sure.

Fair play Cargin. Hard luck Portglenone

Round or stuffed

what way does that leave promotion from division 3 now, Aggies play Laochra in a playoffs?  when will that be