Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Minder on May 02, 2008, 09:17:36 AM

Title: The Official Glasgow Rangers UEFA Cup Final Thread
Post by: Minder on May 02, 2008, 09:17:36 AM
Lads i think we should have somewhere for everyone to leave their best wishes for Rangers ahead of their UEFA Cup Final on May 16th. Everyone must have been impressed by their heroic journey through this years competition. They have certainly won my heart. Im sure their fans will bring wonderful colour and excitement to the great city of Manchester.
Title: Re: The Official Glasgow Rangers UEFA Cup Final Thread
Post by: illdecide on May 02, 2008, 09:28:23 AM
It's a pity they're in the final as i would like the competition to go for another while as it's been perfect to put my 3 year old to sleep. Certainly in Europe they have been the most boring and negative team i've ever seen.
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 02, 2008, 09:28:47 AM
This just proves how good the SPL actually is.
It used to be just Celtic and rangers, but imo now Aberdeen, Dundee utd , Motherwell and Hibs could also give a good account of themselves if in the epl - obv they would need greater cash to bolster minimal current squads, but the attacking play on view for most SPL games is imo far more exciting to watch than most epl games (apart from maybe Arsenal or Man U games).

football is played in the spl in the true spirit and ethos it was traditionally meant to be played in (funnily enough maybe rangers cannot be included in this).

so well done rangers and the co-efficient has been raised again for spl clubs.
Post by: clarshack on May 02, 2008, 09:42:59 AM
rangers have to be the most negative team in europe since red star belgrade's disgraceful performance in the 1991 european cup final when they deliberately went for 0-0 and penalties.

at the same time the likes of sporting lisbon and fiorentina need to have a damn long hard look at themselves especially christian vieri.
Post by: doirebhoy on May 02, 2008, 10:33:56 AM
i am a hoops man through n through, however i have nothing against the gers being sucessfull. the year we got to the final we deserved it, we played lethal football, an had 1 of the best strikers in europe, we beat barce stuttgart etc, the gers have not played good football at all, they are a shocking side. wos at the recent old firm game 2-1, celts played them off the pitch.

Shocking Side
Post by: clarshack on May 02, 2008, 10:35:34 AM
apparently the St. Petersburg player who's top scorer in the uefa cup with 11 goals (and scored twice last night) misses out through suspension. name on the cup!
Post by: Billys Boots on May 02, 2008, 11:09:34 AM
Only saw the highlights last night, but St. Petersburg look a very decent side indeed - they absolutely destroyed a formidable-looking Bayern side.  I think they're Russian Champs, and will be in CL next year too.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 02, 2008, 11:28:03 AM
More matches like that would get football stopped. Rangers are the most negative side I've seen in Europe since Steaua Bucharest. Crossing the half-way line seems to be a last resort for them.

That said their name seems on the cup with Bayern Munich being knocked out and Zenit losing their top striker. Plus the final in Manchester will be like a home game for them.
Post by: doirebhoy on May 02, 2008, 12:00:57 PM
there will be a 100,000 huns in manchester on 14th may, FACT
Post by: wesaysanchez on May 02, 2008, 12:12:21 PM
im back and i m black.

well done to the Rangers last night they are the best team in eorupe (accpet our weeecountry) they of showed seloick how to win in europe so they hanbev. ia m goiunf got manchesrter for to watch the final . we will win so we will. foloow follow. o of wriiten a song for the occasion. o manchester o mancherst o manchesrte is wonderful its full of nice grils and the super bears o manchesrter is wodnerful.
it is coogd gtatht wee stevie davies is ont he  team it gives a loik link to ocw so it does. i here we are after hughiesy and king dvaid of killyleagh. we will be some team and it os good for to have loyal woc men in the rangers team for they play for the shirt so they do.
i hope chelasea win the chaionmps league for it wil be a blue fest of the blue sibrother in the super cup. that willbe some fun. whe nis it on. oh right you fenians wiuldn't knoe - losers. ha ha.

theres n otim in euore no tims i europe.
Post by: Minder on May 02, 2008, 12:17:30 PM
Welcome back big lad.
Post by: clarshack on May 02, 2008, 12:36:28 PM
Quote from: doirebhoy on May 02, 2008, 12:00:57 PM
there will be a 100,000 huns in manchester on 14th may, FACT

will be a home game. who the f*ck is going to travel from Russia?
Post by: clarshack on May 02, 2008, 12:52:21 PM
although with advocaat in charge and ricksen playing it might be a case of their own kind beating them.
Post by: red hander on May 02, 2008, 01:16:42 PM
Quote from: clarshack on May 02, 2008, 09:42:59 AM
rangers have to be the most negative team in europe since red star belgrade's disgraceful performance in the 1991 european cup final when they deliberately went for 0-0 and penalties.

at the same time the likes of sporting lisbon and fiorentina need to have a damn long hard look at themselves especially christian vieri.

Wee bit unfair clarshack.  Yes Red Star went for scoreless draw and the penalties win, but in the previous rounds of the competition they were an absolute joy to watch, one of the best footballing teams of that era.  I suspect it was fear of losing that led to their tactics in the final.

Now, as regards the huns, they have just patented and copyrighted a new form of the game called anti-football with all the negativity of those Italian teams of the 70s and 80s but without a scintilla of the skills ... 11 men behind behind the ball at all times then a big hoof up to that Spanish poof Novo.

But hey, they'll not mind if they win.  And they probably received their bonus for winning the semi-final when they flew into Glasgow this morning, namely Jim Beglin on his knees at the arrivals gate to blow each and every one of the Rangers party ... his commentary last night was a f****** disgraceful load of biased cac
Post by: Main Street on May 02, 2008, 01:23:43 PM
In 1972 Rangers played in that now defunct Cup Winners Cup final against a Moscow team.
They were banned from defending it the next year not because of the GBH inflicted on the Moscow team in the 2nd half but because of the behaviour of their fans.

If Rangers win the UEFA cup, there will be calls for the tournament to be abandoned due to it's reputation as a football competition being indelibly stained.

Though Celtic can use the coefficients to good effect in the CL with auto entry to the league format.

Post by: his holiness nb on May 02, 2008, 01:27:46 PM
I heard all this anti-football talk about Rangers a while back, but decided to make my own mind up.

I was at the Old firm 2-1 game, and would have to say, they didnt try to play football at all.
But that was the first time I watched them play 90 mins this year so decided to give them another go last night.

Jesus christ but that was one of the dullest games of football I ever saw.

I'm just surprised the peno shoot out didnt finish nil nil.

I couldnt really give a shite if Rangers do well or not to be honest, but if they play in the final like they did last night it will be an insult to soccer.

thats said, given the money involved in doing well these days, I can hardly blame them for using these tactics to overachieve with a squad of very limited players.

Post by: tintin25 on May 02, 2008, 01:27:56 PM
Good week all round for the Blues Brothers!
Post by: his holiness nb on May 02, 2008, 01:43:11 PM
How do the Celtic fans feel about them making the final?

I'd be happy, its another distraction from the league which could cause them to slip up.
Post by: clarshack on May 02, 2008, 02:05:56 PM
Quote from: red hander on May 02, 2008, 01:16:42 PM
Quote from: clarshack on May 02, 2008, 09:42:59 AM

Wee bit unfair clarshack.  Yes Red Star went for scoreless draw and the penalties win, but in the previous rounds of the competition they were an absolute joy to watch, one of the best footballing teams of that era.  I suspect it was fear of losing that led to their tactics in the final.

that's why it was a disgrace. they had some of the best attacking players in europe at that time yet chose to go for penalties from the kickoff.

a reverse of 2003 is still on the cards BUT celtic have to win big time on saturday. last nights extra time might take it out of the huns a wee bit especially if hibs put it in.
Post by: Evil Genius on May 02, 2008, 02:24:40 PM
In terms of skill and ability, this Rangers team is very limited indeed (imo). However, whilst no fan of theirs otherwise, I have to say I admire their formidable mental strength, discipline and teamwork - especially after such a long and draining season. To be consistently overturning richer, therefore "better" teams (i.e. with better players) deserves recognition.

Fair enough, it can lead to negative, defensive football, but the simple answer to that is for their opponents to score a goal and suddenly Rangers would have to find a Plan B. With the players at their disposal last night and at Ibrox (Mutu, Vieri etc), Fiorentina can have little cause for complaint, esp when they were conceded so much territory and possession by Rangers in both games.

The Final could end up being a repeat of last night's game. However it could also end up being a classic between a naturally attacking team and a defensive team looking to counter-attack on the break. I wouldn't mind seeing Zenit score early, to see just how much Rangers have "left in the tank".

Post by: stew on May 02, 2008, 02:46:59 PM
The huns will be creaming themselves at the thought of winning a european title, even if it is the mickey mouse EUFA cup. The good news is the predicament they have put themselves in, should they rest players and  risk dropping  league points or should they play everyone and hope that they can continue to win on the home front yet run the injury risk to key players.

I would love to see them lose the league and in Europe. No disrespect to the lads involved with them now but they were a horror show of an organisation for the guts of a century, that takes some doing.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 02, 2008, 03:41:16 PM
This Zenit St Petersburg don't sound too nice either.

QuoteDICK ADVOCAAT rocked Russian football yesterday by admitting Zenit St Petersburg fans are racists.

With Moscow preparing to host the Champions League Final on May 21, Advocaat confessed his club have no black players because their fans would never accept them.

The former Rangers and Holland manager - who guided Zenit to a 1-1 draw with Bayern Munich in Thursday's UEFA Cup semi-final first leg - insists he would have to ask the fans' permission before buying a black player and that they were unlikely to give it.

Zenit, whose top supporter is Russian president-elect Dmitry Medvedev, are the only club in Russia who have never fielded a black player.

Medvedev takes over the Kremlin next month and Advocaat's admission is a huge embarrassment.

The Dutchman said: "I would be happy to sign anyone but the fans don't like black players

When Advocaat tried to sign Frenchman Mathieu Valbuena recently, the first question on fans' websites was: "Is he a negro"?

Advocaat said: "The problem is our fans. Quite honestly, I do not understand how they could pay so much attention to skin colour. For me there's no difference between white, black or red".

"But the fans are the most important thing Zenit have. That's why I have to ask them outright how they'll react if we sign a dark-skinned player".

"Frankly the only players who can make Zenit stronger are dark-skinned. Look at the Brazilians who play for CSKA".

But Advocaat admitted if the fans did not want black players, he wouldn't buy any.

(http://img.lequipe.fr/Xml/Football/Dossiers/Media/11_PETERSBOURG_RACISME.jpg)

Post by: AZOffaly on May 02, 2008, 03:43:51 PM
That is absolutely astonishing. I was going to castigate Advocaat for kow-towing to the imbeciles, but now that I think of it, fair play to him for highlighting it.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 02, 2008, 03:48:26 PM
they will see some "black" players in the final :)
Post by: his holiness nb on May 02, 2008, 05:41:45 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on May 02, 2008, 02:24:40 PM
In terms of skill and ability, this Rangers team is very limited indeed (imo). However, whilst no fan of theirs otherwise, I have to say I admire their formidable mental strength, discipline and teamwork - especially after such a long and draining season. To be consistently overturning richer, therefore "better" teams (i.e. with better players) deserves recognition.

Fair enough, it can lead to negative, defensive football, but the simple answer to that is for their opponents to score a goal and suddenly Rangers would have to find a Plan B. With the players at their disposal last night and at Ibrox (Mutu, Vieri etc), Fiorentina can have little cause for complaint, esp when they were conceded so much territory and possession by Rangers in both games.

The Final could end up being a repeat of last night's game. However it could also end up being a classic between a naturally attacking team and a defensive team looking to counter-attack on the break. I wouldn't mind seeing Zenit score early, to see just how much Rangers have "left in the tank".

agree fully, except for the potential classic comment, they just arent good enough on the break.
If Zenit score first, it will be better ok, but I cant see a classic.

Shocking revelations re the Zenit fans though !
Post by: stiffler on May 02, 2008, 06:43:26 PM
That match last night was the most boring game of soccer i have watched (and i have seen a few!). Totally predictable, but fair play to rangers for making the final. They had a gameplan that worked, and they stuck to it, similar to Man utds victory over Barcelona.

The best teams don't always win, if they did there would be no fun in it!
Post by: red hander on May 02, 2008, 08:16:56 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 02, 2008, 01:23:43 PM
In 1972 Rangers played in that now defunct Cup Winners Cup final against a Moscow team.
They were banned from defending it the next year not because of the GBH inflicted on the Moscow team in the 2nd half but because of the behaviour of their fans.

If Rangers win the UEFA cup, there will be calls for the tournament to be abandoned due to it's reputation as a football competition being indelibly stained.

Though Celtic can use the coefficients to good effect in the CL with auto entry to the league format.

Is this not the game that took place in Barcelona in which the huns went 3-0 up but their opponents fought back to 3-2.  With still time remaining, did the red, white and blue-bedecked apes not conspire to get the referee to blow the game up early by invading the pitch and attacking the cops, one of whom was robbed of his gun by the hordes while getting kicked almost to death.  In effect, their only European trophy is null and void as the regulation 90 minutes (never mind added time) was not played...

Post by: Solomon Kane on May 02, 2008, 10:06:18 PM
I have always had a bit of a dislike of Rangers but to be fair to them, "anti-football" or not they have done very well getting as far as they have. They are far from entertaining to watch but they know what to do to grind out results. I actually think they will lift the trophy now, but something is going to give in their domestic season.

From what I have seen of Russian football I can't say I'm all that shocked about the St Pete's fans. :(
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on May 02, 2008, 10:47:52 PM
There is no other team in the world I dislike more than Rangers but some of the abuse they are getting on this thread is unfair. Smith had very little cash last summer to rebuild his squad but with a very average group of players he done an amazing job. Its easy to say they play boring football but the reason for that is that they simply arent good enough to go on and open up and play an expansive system. Im sure they would rather be in the final and getting slagged off for playing anti football than having played an open style and being knocked out 3 months ago.
Post by: Yes I Would on May 02, 2008, 11:25:23 PM
Fair play to them for getting to the final by playing feck all football, but my god lets just hope and pray that they dont feckin win it!
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 02, 2008, 11:36:50 PM
Fcuk Rankers and their "anti-football"   ;)

Scotlands shame
Post by: Minder on May 02, 2008, 11:40:17 PM
Thye should have played more like "the biggest club in the world", Man Utd, in their two legs with Barcelona. Now that was total football......
Post by: new devil on May 03, 2008, 12:27:03 AM
 :D :D :D having seen you on the united thread in a few days minder  :D :D :D :D
Post by: mhacadoir on May 03, 2008, 03:37:52 AM
i didnt want them to win, and by jesus it was dire to watch.. but its effective. not looking forward to it in two weeks time though, preston will be full of them. least it might take their mind off the league
Post by: fred the red on May 07, 2008, 09:02:21 PM
Doesnt look to good for rangers now in the league.
Post by: Dannymcfella on May 08, 2008, 02:55:29 PM
Manchester will be over-run with racists!!! :-\ :-\
Post by: T Fearon on May 08, 2008, 04:54:20 PM
It will do the English people no harm at all to see these bigots in action and Scotland's Shame. Also many English cities in recent years (Liverpool, Blackburn, London and Manchester etc) have been privileged to host good humoured Celtic fans so there will no doubt be comparisons made ;)
Post by: Dannymcfella on May 08, 2008, 04:58:36 PM
They have seen them up to there work in recent years, Fulham said they would never have them back but we celts are welcome anytime, and a few other clubs have gave similar remarks about them!!
Post by: illdecide on May 08, 2008, 05:10:38 PM
Tell all the Huns you know that Manchester's not far to go!
They'll be shagging Gail Platt in Roy Croppers flat,
While we're winning 3 in a row ;D ;D
Post by: new devil on May 09, 2008, 04:05:01 AM
 :D :D :D :D Very good!!
Post by: T Fearon on May 09, 2008, 02:41:55 PM
By the way. What time is the Bill on at next Wednesday night? ;D
Post by: Bensars on May 09, 2008, 02:46:17 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 09, 2008, 02:41:55 PM
By the way. What time is the Bill on at next Wednesday night? ;D

Sad thing is you will watch the game, notebook in hand ala Roy Cropper to find the slightest glimpse of something that could possibly deemed offending. ::)

Worse still if there was a freebie to the game , you would be prostituting yourself in the VIP lounge with all those you "apparently" despise
Title: Reports of inadequate spermbank stocks in Scotland this week
Post by: T Fearon on May 14, 2008, 09:38:58 AM
A spokesman put it down to the fact that all the country's w*nkers are in Manchester currently ;D
Title: Re: Reports of inadequate spermbank stocks in Scotland this week
Post by: Gaaboardmod3 on May 14, 2008, 09:46:17 AM
Tony. Can you please stop posting new threads every time you want to slag off the IFA/Rangers/Linfield or eulogise Celtic/FAI/Spurs. Can you take a quick look at Rule 5 please. I am going to merge all of these threads now into their appropriate 'parent' thread if I can find one.

Cheers
Title: Re: Reports of inadequate spermbank stocks in Scotland this week
Post by: ziggysego on May 14, 2008, 09:47:08 AM
Quote from: Gaaboardmod3 on May 14, 2008, 09:46:17 AM
Tony. Can you please stop posting new threads every time you want to slag off the IFA/Rangers/Linfield or eulogise Celtic/FAI/Spurs. Can you take a quick look at Rule 5 please. I am going to merge all of these threads now into their appropriate 'parent' thread if I can find one.

Cheers

woohoo!  :D
Post by: T Fearon on May 14, 2008, 10:06:30 AM
Moderator, it is your choice, jumpng to conclusions that I was referring to Rangers starting this thread. The fact that all of Scotland's masturbating population is in Manchester currently could be purely coincidental
Post by: Main Street on May 14, 2008, 11:46:34 AM
Tony, while trying hard to get some sleep last night, got an idea for a topic to write about this morning ;D
Post by: Minder on May 14, 2008, 12:13:54 PM
Spoke to a fella i work with who has went over to the match this morning, he says Buckfast seems to be the beverage of choice in the square in Manchester for breakfast. He also said the sectarian chanting is a joy to behold......
Post by: The Watcher Pat on May 14, 2008, 12:26:39 PM
Josef fritzels daughter being interviewed by psychiatrist. Asked her how she was adapting to her new life.
Great she says i'm getting to grips with computers, am learning to drive, use a i-pod, but the one thing i can't understand is how to Fcuk Rangers got to the UEFA cup final... ;D
Post by: Evil Genius on May 14, 2008, 02:40:16 PM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on May 14, 2008, 12:26:39 PM
Josef fritzels daughter being interviewed by psychiatrist. Asked her how she was adapting to her new life.
Great she says i'm getting to grips with computers, am learning to drive, use a i-pod, but the one thing i can't understand is how to Fcuk Rangers got to the UEFA cup final... ;D

Glasgow police went round to Gordon Strachan's house and found his wife and family locked in the basement. When they asked Mrs. S if she wanted to press charges, she said "No - and don't you be telling the stupid wee fcuker where we are, either. Don't you think we've had enough embarrassment to put up with?"
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 14, 2008, 02:43:18 PM
Mon the Zenit!
Post by: spiritof91and94 on May 14, 2008, 02:49:10 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 14, 2008, 02:43:18 PM
Mon the Zenit!

Advocatt with Ricksen & Co v The huns   - what a night ahead!

Imagine if they win tonight and Chelsea win next week - what a Super Cup Final we would have - a complete hun-fest indeed.
poor Oul Tone will overdose on it....
Post by: AZOffaly on May 14, 2008, 02:49:19 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on May 14, 2008, 02:40:16 PM

Glasgow police went round to Gordon Strachan's house and found his wife and family locked in the basement. When they asked Mrs. S if she wanted to press charges, she said "No - and don't you be telling the stupid wee fcuker where we are, either. Don't you think we've had enough embarrassment to put up with?"

That could, quite possibly, be the singlemost unfunny thing I've ever read that was purporting to be humour. And that's saying a lot.
Post by: gallsman on May 14, 2008, 02:50:16 PM
Think I've demonstrated on several occasions before that I couldn't give a toss about either of the Old Firm. However, I was watching Sky News this morning who were interviewing a load of Rangers fans who were in Manchester from early in the morning. Lots, of singing, shouting etc. including a great wee rendition of "The Billy Boys". Most of them had the sense to mumble or shut up when in came to the "fenian blood" bit.

However, I still think ithis is in sharp contrast to the Celtic fans in Sevilla in 2003. Didn't they get some special award or something?!
Post by: T Fearon on May 14, 2008, 03:03:08 PM
I confidently predict that before the next 24 hours are out, Huns fans will bring shame on Scotland, win lose or draw tonight.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 14, 2008, 03:04:02 PM
QuoteI confidently predict that before the next 24 hours are out, Huns fans will bring shame on Scotland, win lose or draw tonight.

Well at least that ensures a quiet night for the police and residents of Manchester.
Post by: Minder on May 14, 2008, 03:05:39 PM
The fella that i mentioned earlier who is over also said that a load of Ranger fans "wrecked Blackpool" last night en  route, how you could make Blackpool any worse is beyond me though......
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 14, 2008, 04:17:30 PM
Don't really like either of the OF clubs but we've had a 'Mickey Mouse' treble when Liverpool won the FA Cup, League Cup and UEFA Cup in 2001. This could end up being the Scottish 'Mickey Mouse quadruple' if Rangers win 4 trophies.
Post by: The Watcher Pat on May 14, 2008, 04:18:55 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 14, 2008, 02:49:19 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on May 14, 2008, 02:40:16 PM

That could, quite possibly, be the singlemost unfunny thing I've ever read that was purporting to be humour. And that's saying a lot.

Oh grow a sense of humour its only a joke.....
Post by: AZOffaly on May 14, 2008, 04:20:21 PM
I know it's a joke. My point is it was a particularly shit one :D
Post by: mhacadoir on May 14, 2008, 05:21:28 PM
there has been loads of them in preston for the last few days - the celtic pub i work in has had to close for two days.  walking down the street yesterday and a group were singing, generally to a group of old ladies who happened to be going past, that the famine is over, why dont you go home. i was tempted to tell them that these people are english, and the lads singing had distinctiv belfast accents. mon the zenit!  О смотрители - дерьмо
Post by: Main Street on May 14, 2008, 05:40:12 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 14, 2008, 04:20:21 PM
I know it's a joke. My point is it was a particularly shit one :D
It was atrocious, but at least its in the right thread. :)
Post by: Solomon Kane on May 14, 2008, 05:43:25 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 14, 2008, 03:03:08 PM
I confidently predict that before the next 24 hours are out, Huns fans will bring shame on Scotland, win lose or draw tonight.

Not like these chaps of course

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gOwqWQS8oRY&feature=related

Two sides of the same shitty coin. A plague on both their houses.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 14, 2008, 05:47:44 PM
Quote from: Solomon Kane on May 14, 2008, 05:43:25 PM

Im not in anyway a Celtic fan i have no feelings towards them at all..But i don't see a whole lot wrong with that clip
Post by: Whitehair on May 14, 2008, 06:00:10 PM
BREAKING NEWS!

Crisis in Scotland..... Sperm banks have run dry by midweek!
All the w*nkers are in Manchester!
Post by: Solomon Kane on May 14, 2008, 06:14:37 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 14, 2008, 05:47:44 PM
Quote from: Solomon Kane on May 14, 2008, 05:43:25 PM

Im not in anyway a Celtic fan i have no feelings towards them at all..But i don't see a whole lot wrong with that clip

Would you describe yourself as a "RA" fan then?
Post by: Main Street on May 14, 2008, 07:30:24 PM
Go home wee ulsterite, try and masturbate in front of your UDR wall to wall poster.

(http://cain.ulst.ac.uk/images/posters/republican/poster74r.jpg)

The last line is a good one
Brigadeer Millar said that if he sacked UDR members just because they belonged to a loyalist paramilitary he would be left without a regiment.

Post by: red hander on May 14, 2008, 07:42:46 PM
Shit, Jim Beglin's in the commentary box ... he's so pro-hun it's unbelievable
Post by: ziggysego on May 14, 2008, 07:48:53 PM
(http://www.canadiancontent.net/images/people/picture/Leslie-Nielsen.jpg)

I just want to tell you good luck. We're all counting on you.
Post by: ONeill on May 14, 2008, 08:08:56 PM
Jaysus how shit must Spurs be.
Post by: charlie stubbs on May 14, 2008, 08:38:36 PM
"PUKE FOOTBALL" joke a team has won 2out of there last 12 european games and are in the final
Post by: ExiledGael on May 14, 2008, 08:41:27 PM
Big screens in Manchester city centre not working. Lot of unhappy Rangers fans according to BBC.
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 14, 2008, 08:47:12 PM
Quote from: ExiledGael on May 14, 2008, 08:41:27 PM
Big screens in Manchester city centre not working. Lot of unhappy Rangers fans according to BBC.

They should be pleased!  Is it only me that's bored?

oh wait, just got a laugh at a banner
"Rangers FC, the World's most successful club"
Post by: ziggysego on May 14, 2008, 08:48:25 PM

"There's been a bit of trouble in Manchester city centre over one of the big screens not working. Bottles have been thrown."
Post by: ExiledGael on May 14, 2008, 08:51:37 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on May 14, 2008, 08:47:12 PM

[/quote

Seen that at the start, should be in the WTF thread.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 14, 2008, 08:53:59 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on May 14, 2008, 08:47:12 PM

they aren't?
Post by: ziggysego on May 14, 2008, 08:55:00 PM
2051: "Stuff the UEFA Cup final. The Apprentice is on at 9." Damien, via text on 81111.

Post by: Minder on May 14, 2008, 08:56:27 PM
i think rangers have been playing for penalties since the first minute
Post by: ExiledGael on May 14, 2008, 09:06:54 PM
Actually a decent enough game now. Really think Rangers are going to win this.
Post by: Yes I Would on May 14, 2008, 09:11:26 PM
Please God No!!
Post by: Minder on May 14, 2008, 09:12:39 PM
I think they will win too,not because they deserve it but because they are jammy c***ts,also special mention for jim beglin and peter drury commentating on itv,two bigger retards you wont hear. .. . . . . .
Post by: charlie stubbs on May 14, 2008, 09:15:59 PM
oh oh! ;D
Post by: ziggysego on May 14, 2008, 09:16:43 PM
What is it?
Post by: Minder on May 14, 2008, 09:18:59 PM
hun nil to the russians
Post by: ExiledGael on May 14, 2008, 09:19:35 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 14, 2008, 09:16:43 PM
What is it?

Looks like I was wrong. One nil to the Russians, who have been pretty poor since the break.
Post by: Main Street on May 14, 2008, 09:33:13 PM
Havent been watching it, its just on in the background here

Haven't the few thousand Zenits been outshouting the 50,000 Rangers all through the game ?
Post by: magickingdom on May 14, 2008, 09:35:51 PM
2-0 st petersburg.... from russia with love
Post by: ziggysego on May 14, 2008, 09:36:52 PM
hehe
Post by: Yes I Would on May 14, 2008, 09:39:33 PM
Footballing justice is served!!
Post by: The Gs Man on May 14, 2008, 09:43:59 PM
(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/44657000/jpg/_44657414_zenit_celebration_203b.jpg)
Post by: Minder on May 14, 2008, 09:44:34 PM
Manchester will be wrecked tonight
Post by: ziggysego on May 14, 2008, 09:47:47 PM
Tony just creamed himself.
Post by: clarshack on May 14, 2008, 09:48:08 PM
all i can say is thank f**k for that. finally a victory for football!
Post by: Bensars on May 14, 2008, 09:53:59 PM
(http://www.stuff.co.nz/dominionpost/blogs/wp-content/uploads/2007/12/strachan.jpg)
Post by: ziggysego on May 14, 2008, 09:58:12 PM
(http://z.about.com/d/politicalhumor/1/0/1/C/clinton_laughing.jpg)
Post by: Bensars on May 14, 2008, 10:01:23 PM
(http://cache.boston.com/bonzai-fba/Original_Photo/2007/06/08/1181310400_7735.jpg)
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on May 14, 2008, 10:01:56 PM
 ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 14, 2008, 10:03:40 PM
Ally McCoist seems a decent sort, I liked him on question of sport.
Post by: ziggysego on May 14, 2008, 10:05:16 PM
(http://blogs.telegraph.co.uk/VirtualContent/99659/SALMOND0701.jpg)
Post by: An Fear Rua on May 14, 2008, 10:07:36 PM
It was great boy it was beautiful  and the right foot it was true, a special goal for Denisov in minute 72.
They worked in vain to play football, but they just didnt look the part and Konstatin Zyryanov stuck daggers in their hearts.............

its a start.

I had the pleasure of grafting(selling t-shirts) among the hoards today, my only other exp of them of them up close was at Ibrox with Utd. Suffice to say that many of the stereotypes are very true indeed. The majority of shite, sectarian songs and casualtys(as in ambulances being called to the coach park) where from our alternative Irish bretheren. There were plenty of ordianry scottish football fans out for a good day, but they were that wee bit harder to spot.

Anyways , best team won, anyone for the next verse?
Post by: dodo on May 14, 2008, 10:08:20 PM
(http://www.partyinyourhonor.com/party_in_your_honor/images/bush_laughing.jpg)
Post by: Bensars on May 14, 2008, 10:08:56 PM
(http://users.netlink.com.au/~stgregs/PopeBenedictXVI_3.jpg)
Post by: ziggysego on May 14, 2008, 10:11:06 PM
(http://www.sluggerotoole.com/images/ian_p.jpg)
Post by: JimStynes on May 14, 2008, 10:11:33 PM
Cant wait for Tonys response  ;D ;D
Post by: ziggysego on May 14, 2008, 10:12:36 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on May 14, 2008, 10:11:33 PM
Cant wait for Tonys response  ;D ;D

(http://www.coolest-gadgets.com/wp-images/briefsafe.jpg)
Post by: Square Ball on May 14, 2008, 10:12:57 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on May 14, 2008, 10:11:33 PM
Cant wait for Tonys response  ;D ;D

FFS dont encourage him
Post by: From the Bunker on May 14, 2008, 10:26:09 PM
(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/42889000/jpg/_42889191_neillennon416.jpg)
Post by: haranguerer on May 14, 2008, 10:34:34 PM
Rangers fans fighting with each other, riot police, and stabbing russian fans. Showing themselves up just a bit. Disgusting. What do you do with fans like that?
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on May 14, 2008, 10:35:15 PM
He is loving it tonight no doubt

(http://armchaircelts.co.uk/files/images/holy%20goalie.jpg)
Post by: ExiledGael on May 14, 2008, 10:35:56 PM
Looks like the real action could be only starting in Manchester.
ITV had pictures there of charging riot police, cops dragging away Rangers fans and other gers throwing punches at each other.
Post by: wherefromreferee? on May 14, 2008, 10:36:36 PM
The better team clearly won on the night.  The Gers now have 3 away games on Sat, Mon and Thurs, plus the Cup Final on Saturday week....

One step at a time though.  Don't think Ive ever heard Jim Beglin so far up a teams ass before, wasn't sure if we were watchin the same game... the tool
Post by: An Fear Rua on May 14, 2008, 10:36:45 PM
Well well well

Its all kicking off in Manchester City centre, charging the GMP, fighting among themeselves and bottleing the big screens round the city.

http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/news/s/1049714_chaos_after_screen_fails?rss=yes (http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/news/s/1049714_chaos_after_screen_fails?rss=yes)

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/manchester/7401814.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/manchester/7401814.stm)

getting word that its getting even more interesting as they all get back from wastelands, and a russian fans been stabbed outside the ground
Post by: Minder on May 14, 2008, 10:38:44 PM
Quote from: Minder on May 14, 2008, 09:44:34 PM
Manchester will be wrecked tonight

The big screens were not even working for a long time tonight, which will have given them an excuse to get the party started......
Post by: stiffler on May 14, 2008, 10:44:42 PM
(http://www.seniorark.com/Humor/Laughing%20Horse.gif)
Post by: Whitehair on May 14, 2008, 10:45:25 PM
What does a Rangers supporter do after winning the 2008 UEFA Cup?

Switches off his playstation and gets back into bed with his sister!
Post by: new devil on May 14, 2008, 11:00:03 PM
New porn record set tonight in Manchester.......Dick fucks one hundred thousand arseholes!!!!
Post by: Doogie Browser on May 14, 2008, 11:03:44 PM
It is a bad reflection on Smith's judgement that he thought he could win a final playing as they did. 
Credit where it is due though, they were there on merit but the Fiorentina game should have highlighted that they would not get away with playing like that again. 
Cuellar & Davis looked the part, everyone else just not at the races.
Post by: ONeill on May 14, 2008, 11:08:41 PM
Jaysus it's cutting up rough in Manchester.
Post by: An Fear Rua on May 14, 2008, 11:09:33 PM
loads of them are down here with no digs, there is only one official train home, and there were women and kids on the local new suggesting that they would be happy to sleep on a park bench. Latest news is its all calmed down, as the more important search for cheap booze begins.
Post by: ONeill on May 14, 2008, 11:10:03 PM
One said: "This is absolutely ridiculous - there's Rangers fans throwing balls and cans at each other because the game's not on.
Post by: the green man on May 14, 2008, 11:11:34 PM
http://itn.co.uk/news/1cca25a87d6ab5c029e3ee2367acb411.html
Post by: ExiledGael on May 14, 2008, 11:13:32 PM
Some sights from Manchester. few good pics over on Celtic forum Kerrydale street
Post by: ONeill on May 14, 2008, 11:17:00 PM
Utd should have points deducted for this.
Post by: new devil on May 14, 2008, 11:17:19 PM
"mmmanchester your having a laugh'  :D :D :D :D silly c##ts
Post by: Doogie Browser on May 14, 2008, 11:18:58 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fsjF5Wcdbf4

The prats are knocking the crap out of each other  :-[
Can't wait for the stats on arrests compared to Seville 2003.
Post by: stiffler on May 14, 2008, 11:20:05 PM

Take a look at 28 seconds into the video.

Them streets looks like a hurricane had hit the place.
Post by: An Fear Rua on May 14, 2008, 11:20:31 PM
"Some people are really angry they've spent a lot of money - maybe £4,000 to £5,000 - to come down here for this."

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/...ter/7401814.stm

thats an expensive 200 miles

oh and if anyone here is going to moscow be even more careful now, as the local wont see any diff between the cuddly bears and the utd lads.
Post by: ONeill on May 14, 2008, 11:26:56 PM
Quote from: stiffler on May 14, 2008, 11:20:05 PM

Take a look at 28 seconds into the video.

Feck me. What was that about?
Post by: An Duin Abu on May 14, 2008, 11:27:28 PM
Seems a few of the technicians on duty tonight at the big screen in Manchester were Celtic supporters, sabotage perhaps...??????
Post by: new devil on May 14, 2008, 11:28:21 PM
dropped like a bag of spuds....they are scum of the earth
Post by: Yes I Would on May 14, 2008, 11:31:22 PM
I would have settled for the result, but the rest is really a bonus!!
Post by: An Fear Rua on May 14, 2008, 11:31:47 PM
Quote from: An Duin Abu on May 14, 2008, 11:27:28 PM
Seems a few of the technicians on duty tonight at the big screen in Manchester were Celtic supporters, sabotage perhaps...??????

turned off by the cops for H&S reasons, ie too many people to control, they have done it before, and point blank refuse to show united or city when they are on terrestrial. This time it seems cllr pat kearney over ruled them on financial grounds, the other big screens all stayed open. There were a further two within 2 mins walk of the broken one so f**k knows why they were sent the two miles to beswick to watch it at the velodrome
Post by: ONeill on May 14, 2008, 11:33:29 PM
I'd imagine if I had been a supporter, I would've been making my way somewhere to watch the game.

Why are they standing around?
Post by: An Fear Rua on May 14, 2008, 11:36:05 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 14, 2008, 11:33:29 PM
I'd imagine if I had been a supporter, I would've been making my way somewhere to watch the game.

Why are they standing around?

a very large number were incapable of walking anywhere when they stepped off the coaches, im sure a 2 mile walk didnt appeal.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 15, 2008, 12:05:51 AM
Quote from: new devil on May 14, 2008, 11:28:21 PM
dropped like a bag of spuds....they are scum of the earth

Who are?
Post by: SouthArmaghBandit on May 15, 2008, 12:12:44 AM
Scumbags but what would you expect from a pig but a grunt.
Post by: Whitehair on May 15, 2008, 01:00:54 AM
Tell all the Huns you know,
Novos the new Sebo,
with a minute to go, he fluffed it like Flo,
and it's gonna be three in a row.
Post by: T O Hare on May 15, 2008, 01:59:37 AM
Tony will be busy penning letters all week ;D Tony i am right behing you, we expect it from you!!!!!!
Post by: take_yer_points on May 15, 2008, 07:58:47 AM
From BBC:

"The injured Russian fan was taken to hospital after being attacked in a seated area of the stadium before the game."

That didn't have anything to do with getting beat 2-0 or a screen breaking down - it was before the game even started and sounds like it was inside the stadium.
Post by: spiritof91and94 on May 15, 2008, 08:24:11 AM
Quote from: T O Hare on May 15, 2008, 01:59:37 AM
Tony will be busy penning letters all week ;D Tony i am right behing you, we expect it from you!!!!!!

Irish News / News Letter / Belfast telegraph / Manchester Evening News / Evening Standard / Dublin Herald / Liverpool Echo / Daily Record

Thats a start Tony - you are the voice of the people and your time has arrived..... ;)

Post by: T Fearon on May 15, 2008, 08:59:00 AM
sorry lads, don't have the heart this morning. Just heard the news about Tommy Burns. I honestly never realised he was as ill as that. He is the patron of a Celtic Supporters Club in Portadown that I was a member of and he was a regular visitor to the town for functions etc, and wasn't averse to takng the microphone,loosening the tie and belting out a rebel song or two. Great man, great player and a terrible loss.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 15, 2008, 09:09:10 AM
Sad news about Tommy Burns indeed. Always seemed a decent sort, although I have no affinity with Celtic or Scotland. RIP.

As for Manchester, well Tony called that one right. It sounds as if there were just too many of them around, and the fact that there was no foreign trip involved probably meant a lot of eejits made the trip because it was handy. I'd echo AFR's statement as well, If I were heading to Moscow, I'd be very, very careful now. Moscow is no place for being naive at the best of times, as a foreigner, but being tagged as 'British' for that day will add to the hassle now.

Post by: T Fearon on May 15, 2008, 09:34:54 AM
I take no credit from being right. Unfortunately where huns are gathered in large numbers, be it Linfield/IFA in Dublin , Dundalk or Rangers, trouble unfortunately is inevitable and entirely predictable. The sectarian singing at the game last night is also something UEFA might well feel disposed to investigate

I am proud to be a Celtic and Ireland fan, as much for the exemplary behaviour of my fellow fans as anything else.

The Manchester Police did their duty last night as undoubtedly the Russian Police will do likewise next week when the need inevitably arises
Post by: SammyG on May 15, 2008, 09:42:09 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 15, 2008, 09:34:54 AM
I take no credit from being right. Unfortunately where huns are gathered in large numbers, be it Linfield/IFA in Dublin , Dundalk or Rangers, trouble unfortunately is inevitable and entirely predictable. The sectarian singing at the game last night is also something UEFA might well feel disposed to investigate

I am proud to be a Celtic and Ireland fan, as much for the exemplary behaviour of my fellow fans as anything else.
Are you taking the piss Tony? Two sides of the same shitty coin, always have been and always will be a minority in both Celtic and Rangers support who are scum. Interesting that a couple of posts ago you were praising Tommy Burns for sectarian singing but now your criticising Rangers for doing the same thing. More faces than the bloody Albert Clock.
The Manchester Police did their duty last night as undoubtedly the Russian Police will do likewise next week when the need inevitably arises
On that we can agree.
Post by: T Fearon on May 15, 2008, 10:08:41 AM
Sammy, Celtic have made huge strides to rid the club from the scourge of sectarian/political chanting. I heard not one instance of this last Sunday. Also I and the majority of Celtic fans on the plane last Sunday morning had Mark Hateley, Alex Rae, and Dave Mc Pherson and a few supporters for Company and not a word of abuse issued in their direction from anyone. I doubt if this scenario would have prevailed if there had been a plane load of Rangers fans with a few ex Celtic legends  on board. Celtic fans are aware that they are club ambassadors at all times

I don't think Rangers efforts in this area have been as exhaustive or as sincere as Celtic's unfortunately.

Also 100,000 Celtic fans made the trip to Seville without the merest hint of trouble, and Celtic fans can invade many English cities, Manchester, Liverpool, Blackburn etc without wreaking havoc.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 15, 2008, 10:17:35 AM
Quote from: SammyG on May 15, 2008, 09:42:09 AM

Are you taking the piss Tony? Two sides of the same shitty coin, always have been and always will be a minority in both Celtic and Rangers support who are scum. Interesting that a couple of posts ago you were praising Tommy Burns for sectarian singing but now your criticising Rangers for doing the same thing. More faces than the bloody Albert Clock.
On that we can agree.

Sammy you plank, do you never miss an opportunity to sully the great Celtic name!  >:(
Celtic were not playing last night - Rangers were!

Minority my arse, go onto youtube and watch some of the many videos being posted, seems like a hell of alot of Orcs fighting with the polis, attacking ambulances and paramedics, they're fighting with themselves FFS. Don't f**king dare compare some Celtic fans singing songs with that scum/animals.
Now go away and ram a big traffic cone up your arse - might stop you talking sh*te!  >:(
Post by: Bensars on May 15, 2008, 10:39:30 AM
(http://i25.tinypic.com/mn0xdu.jpg)
(http://i30.tinypic.com/14u80nl.jpg)
(http://i29.tinypic.com/t8tgfn.jpg)
(http://i29.tinypic.com/2dwhmh3.jpg)
Post by: SammyG on May 15, 2008, 10:41:44 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 15, 2008, 10:17:35 AM
Quote from: SammyG on May 15, 2008, 09:42:09 AM

On that we can agree.

Sammy you plank, do you never miss an opportunity to sully the great Celtic name!  >:(
Celtic were not playing last night - Rangers were!
Tony brought up Celtic not me!!!

Two sides of the same shitty coin, always have been and unfortunately always will be.
Post by: Minder on May 15, 2008, 10:49:05 AM
Quote from: Bensars on May 15, 2008, 10:39:30 AM

Get in there Lassie
Post by: the Deel Rover on May 15, 2008, 10:54:58 AM
Quote from: Minder on May 15, 2008, 10:49:05 AM

2 out of 3  dog owners said that their dog prefers rangers  ;)
Post by: passedit on May 15, 2008, 10:59:00 AM
Rovers 1 Rangers 0
Post by: thejuice on May 15, 2008, 11:01:53 AM
more like "Will ye go Lassie, go!"

Once again soccer hooliganism raises its head. Fans turning into wild apes, the excuse this time is the TV's wouldnt work. You have to love that mindset. Then they have the audacity to blame the authorities. Well actually they are right, its the authorities fault for letting these animals congregate by providing big TV's.

Well done to the cops, couldnt hit them hard enough
Post by: T Fearon on May 15, 2008, 11:04:33 AM
Jaysus, from that photo it would appear that the three Rangers fans are trying to restrain a crazed cop :D

I think the use of dogs is way over the top all the same, it gives one side and unfair advantage
Post by: Minder on May 15, 2008, 11:06:05 AM
They were hard at the Buckfast from early yesterday morning, what do the cops expect ?
Post by: T Fearon on May 15, 2008, 11:10:47 AM
I was at the UEFA Cup Final in Glasgow last year involving two Spanish teams, Seville and Espanyol. It was a piss poor day weather wise but both sets of fans got on brilliantly, the fanzones were accessible to all and there was a carnival atmosphere in the City all day long, but there was no mass drinking or overt aggression, which seems to be an exclusively British trait, and the Glasgow Police were extremely approachable and helpful as well.
Post by: bingobus on May 15, 2008, 11:13:45 AM
Re The Pictures...

Was listening to Gerry Ryan last week and someone rang in to say that his dog wouldn't stop eating his own shit, he nevered said that it was a police-dog  ;D  ;D
Post by: ziggysego on May 15, 2008, 11:14:19 AM
(http://www.sortroom.net/images/turd-polish.jpg)
Post by: An Fear Rua on May 15, 2008, 11:15:54 AM
GMP are not reknowed for their subtle approach, Ive seen them in action on many an occasion, they are not much liked around these parts
Post by: An Fear Rua on May 15, 2008, 11:16:38 AM
(http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/3997/79624604kj4.png)
Post by: Shrewdness on May 15, 2008, 11:19:31 AM
One of my abiding memories of last night was the sight of Walter Smith and Ally Mc Coist playing noughts and crosses on a clipboard for about 10 minutes after Zenit's first goal :o

What was that all about.
Post by: Against the Breeze on May 15, 2008, 11:19:47 AM
That **** doesn't look unlike our own  Mr Jeffrey

Scumbags! good enough for them, young Petersburg fan stabbed too though his injuries are believed to be non-life threatening..

Post by: Shrewdness on May 15, 2008, 11:23:38 AM
Class photo of Sutton. In that pic above of the Fella bitten by the dog, if that's his wife, she has a look on her face that says, '' if you think this is bad, wait til i get youse home. You always show me up when we're out ;D
Post by: T Fearon on May 15, 2008, 11:24:35 AM
AFR :D :D

Sutton fcuks the gers up..not for the first time.
Post by: wherefromreferee? on May 15, 2008, 11:31:05 AM
Quote from: Shrewdness on May 15, 2008, 11:19:31 AM
One of my abiding memories of last night was the sight of Walter Smith and Ally Mc Coist playing noughts and crosses on a clipboard for about 10 minutes after Zenit's first goal :o

What was that all about.

Reminded me of a scene in The Waterboy.
Post by: feetofflames on May 15, 2008, 11:39:20 AM
Its some ad for doggy mouthwash!1
Post by: An Fear Rua on May 15, 2008, 11:41:58 AM
The M.E.N should make interesting reading tonight, esp with the spanish press haveing already written the template

http://www.tribalfootball.com/article.php?id=64387

"Dear Rangers supporters, never come back to Barcelona again. And not because your players themselves aren't a legitimate team. No, it's not because of that - the Nou Camp frequently hosts teams who are lazy, boring, who only defend, who run and kick their opponents, and who shouldn't be in elite competition. On top of this, Rangers merely defend, run at the opposition and play dirty. Their defenders are butchers, their midfielders, heavy-footed; and their strikers just stand there like the furniture.

"But even apart from the footballing aspect, the best thing would be for Rangers never to return to Barcelona, because every time they do, they make a mess of the place. 35 years ago, you (the Rangers supporters) destroyed the seats at the Nou Camp. This time we have enjoyed no less than 48 hours of brawls, provocation, rackets, fights and common drunk women throughout the whole city, which you have fouled however you pleased.

"Stay at home and vomit in your own living-room, urinate in your sitting-room corners, fight with your neighbours, the Celtic supporters (who deserve a prize just for putting up with you) and foul the streets of Glasgow instead. Don't come back here again, because it is not a laughing matter. And, by extension, don't play in the Champions League either. You are not at that level neither in a sporting nor human sense" - Editorial from the Elmundo Deportivo newspaper.
Post by: ziggysego on May 15, 2008, 11:46:48 AM
(http://news.bbc.co.uk/nol/shared/spl/hi/pop_ups/08/uk_enl_1210834452/img/1.jpg)

Poor Barry
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 15, 2008, 12:29:38 PM
This will hopefully put an end to the Old Firm tag and the myth that both Glasgow clubs are different sides of the same shitty coin. Although there will still be people like SammyG who will have a vested interest in proposing this.
Post by: parttimeexile on May 15, 2008, 12:31:44 PM
There's very little sympathy here lads! Would you not have liked to have seen those lovely fans getting to celebrate. If they are that  much craic when they lose imagine what they are like when they win.
Post by: T Fearon on May 15, 2008, 12:32:46 PM
Sammy probably doesn't appreciate the irony...that is a North of Ireland supporter ridiculing anyone else in sport, and I mean anyone, for sectarianism ???
Post by: SammyG on May 15, 2008, 12:33:51 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 15, 2008, 12:29:38 PM
This will hopefully put an end to the Old Firm tag and the myth that both Glasgow clubs are different sides of the same shitty coin.t
How will it end it and why is it a myth. It is a statement of fact.
Although there will still be people like SammyG who will have a vested interest in proposing this.
What vested interest?
Post by: SammyG on May 15, 2008, 12:34:36 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 15, 2008, 12:32:46 PM
Sammy probably doesn't appreciate the irony...that is a North of Ireland supporter ridiculing anyone else in sport, and I mean anyone, for sectarianism ???
I'm not from the North of Ireland, so I'm not sure why that is directed at me.
Post by: T Fearon on May 15, 2008, 12:59:38 PM
You support the IFA team, who play at Windsor Park, who alone in these islands if not the World, have a shameful history of absuing, not only opposing players but your own players on account of their religion. Of all the excesses of certain Rangers and Celtic "supporters", neither stooped as low as abusing their own players :(
Post by: SammyG on May 15, 2008, 01:08:03 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 15, 2008, 12:59:38 PM
You support the IFA team, who play at Windsor Park, who alone in these islands if not the World, have a shameful history of absuing, not only opposing players but your own players on account of their religion.
Complete lie and you well know it.
Post by: The Watcher Pat on May 15, 2008, 01:13:56 PM
Maybe now the whole world will see what the Rangers fans are like.

Maybe this was the same Rangers fans who stormed the bar in Belfast only a few weeks ago...? or was that Linfield fans?

Both tarred with the same brush......Makes you proud to be a Tim
Post by: The Gs Man on May 15, 2008, 01:18:28 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F965rbxetrw

Particularly nasty one.  42secs in
Post by: Dannymcfella on May 15, 2008, 01:23:59 PM
NO MORE OLD FIRM, NO GUILT BY ASSOCIATION!!
Post by: his holiness nb on May 15, 2008, 01:25:29 PM
Didnt the Celtic fans win an award for being the best travelling support a few years back?

Then switch to last night in Manchester.

Different sides of the same shitty coin my arse.

I think anyone who had any lingering doubts about Sammy G can now see, through his efforts on here today, that he is a 100% bigot.

Post by: Bensars on May 15, 2008, 01:29:46 PM
Heard the chairman of a rangers supporters group on the radio this morning. He said he couldnt defend any of the actions, totally unacceptable.

In regards to the fans awards, did northern ireland not win something not so long ago.  And we all know what they have been capable of.
Post by: SammyG on May 15, 2008, 01:32:50 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on May 15, 2008, 01:25:29 PM
Didnt the Celtic fans win an award for being the best travelling support a few years back?

I think anyone who had any lingering doubts about Sammy G can now see, through his efforts on here today, that he is a 100% bigot.

So condemning scum makes you a bigot. Right on big lad, glad we got that cleared up.  ::)
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 15, 2008, 01:35:20 PM
Quote from: SammyG on May 15, 2008, 01:32:50 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on May 15, 2008, 01:25:29 PM

So condemning scum makes you a bigot. Right on big lad, glad we got that cleared up.  ::)

No Samuel, trying to tar Celtic fans with the same brush as Rankers fans (thus diluting the shame) makes you a bigot!  >:(
Post by: JimStynes on May 15, 2008, 01:37:01 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on May 15, 2008, 01:18:28 PM

f**k me thats like a scene from braveheart or something. Sure it was apparently only a minority of rangers fans causing trouble  :o
Post by: SammyG on May 15, 2008, 01:40:54 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 15, 2008, 01:35:20 PM
No Samuel, trying to tar Celtic fans with the same brush as Rankers fans (thus diluting the shame) makes you a bigot!  >:(
How the fcuk am I diluting anything? I completely and utterly condemn the scum involved and hope they get put away for a long time.

For the second time, Tony brought up Celtic, not me.
Post by: his holiness nb on May 15, 2008, 01:42:43 PM
Sammy, your attempts to paint Celtic fans in the same light as Rangers fans, even after last night, quite clearly proves your bigotry.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 15, 2008, 01:43:51 PM
Quote from: SammyG on May 15, 2008, 01:40:54 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 15, 2008, 01:35:20 PM
How the fcuk am I diluting anything? I completely and utterly condemn the scum involved and hope they get put away for a long time.

For the second time, Tony brought up Celtic, not me.

So you deny saying - "different sides of the same shitty coin" ?
Post by: SammyG on May 15, 2008, 01:47:10 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 15, 2008, 01:43:51 PM
Not at all, why would I deny something that was clearly true. But I didn't bring it up, I just replied to the shite that Tony was spouting.
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on May 15, 2008, 01:55:20 PM
In some ways I'm with SammyG on this one.  That said, I would spread my net far wider than two scottish clubs.  Last night's trouble was inevitable because there is a certain level of "raucous" behaviour acceptable amongst soccer supporters (even the well-behaved ones).  When you combine that with the volume of crowds and alchohol consumption it makes for a tinderbox.

The authorities erred in allowing that amount of fans into the city and let them "enjoy the buid-up".  The should have limited the visitors and banned alchohol.  This is an unfortunate fact of life with soccer I'm afraid.  

I also see elements of this behaviour sneaking into other sports.  In particular in GAA I find certain Gaelic football teams have a less than savoury crowd.  I fear for the future in this regard.  Soccer did not go from scarf-waving and clapping to stabbings and riots over night.

/Jim.
Post by: his holiness nb on May 15, 2008, 01:56:53 PM
Quote from: SammyG on May 15, 2008, 01:47:10 PM
Not at all, why would I deny something that was clearly true. But I didn't bring it up, I just replied to the shite that Tony was spouting.

Sammy,
Surely you can admit that the travelling fans of Celtic are far better behaved that that of Rangers?

One set wins awards for being good fans, the other, well we all saw what happened last night.

Will you admit this?
Post by: T Fearon on May 15, 2008, 01:58:24 PM
Jim

Thank God few soccer fans have descended to the level of Dublin and Meath...and I'm talking players here
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 15, 2008, 02:00:22 PM
Quote from: SammyG on May 15, 2008, 01:47:10 PM

For f**k sake how can you honestly compare those animals from last night with Celtic fans! You really are one almighty fu**pot.
Post by: SammyG on May 15, 2008, 02:07:21 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 15, 2008, 02:00:22 PM
For f**k sake how can you honestly compare those animals from last night with Celtic fans! You really are one almighty fu**pot.
I wouldn't compare them to all Celtic fans and nor would I compare them to all Rangers fans BUT a significant minority of both supports are scum. Search youtube for Rangers or Celtic and you'll see plenty of evidence.
Post by: Mickey Linden on May 15, 2008, 02:23:28 PM
Lads I cant believe there is so much comment on this issue. Did anyone(including SammyG) seriously expect anything else from the Rangers fans??????
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on May 15, 2008, 02:31:42 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 15, 2008, 01:58:24 PM
Jim

Thank God few soccer fans have descended to the level of Dublin and Meath...and I'm talking players here

Tony,

Watching the behaviour of some fans at football matches in recent times I fear for the GAA in the future.  Soccer did not go from scarf-waving and singing to riots over night.  We need to be vigilant in all sports especially giving the increase of binge-drinking and violence in our broader society.  It is inevitable that these gurriers will find their way onto our terraces.

I'd hazard a guess that Celtic or Rangers are no worse than any supporters in this respect.  They just file their hatred under "sectarianism".  Look at some of the scumbags following Dublin soccer clubs.

I reiterate that I believe that the chanting and "banter" in soccer goes further than any sports.  This means that an injection of alchohol and too many of them in anyone place has an air of inevitability about it.

/Jim.

Post by: T Fearon on May 15, 2008, 02:33:03 PM
The issue here is not sectarian bigots within support bases. That is a given, and to be honest sectarian singing never deterred me from going to Windsor Park to see a particular player/team I wanted to see.

The question is this. Are Rangers, Celtic, Linfield, the IFA etc making sufficient efforts to cease being a magnet for such bigots.

I think Celtic are, with a ban on sectarian/political songs and issuing bans to supporters who indulge in sectarian behaviour.

Unfortunately I cannot say the same for Rangers,Linfield and the IFA. Rangers playing songs like Follow Follow (which contains the line "if they go to Dublin we will follow on") and Linfield and the IFA exclusive use of loyalist/unionist symbols means they stand indicted and cannot complain if sectarian bigots are attracted by sectarian ethos/symbols etc
Post by: T Fearon on May 15, 2008, 02:39:27 PM
Jim

I think you fail to appreciate the history and political baggage of a lot of soccer clubs. Practically every Italian soccer game is the reenactment of regional wars that have been going on for decades and centuries in some cases, the Rangers Celtic thing derives from the struggles of catholic/irish immigrants against the hostility of native protestant Glaswegians who treated them like dirt ( only a week and a half ago the Motherwell PA welcomed the Celtic support by laying "Gypsies, Tramps and Thieves), international fixtures like England and Germany and England and Argentina will always have an added spice owing to past wars between these countries, even Shamrock Rovers and Bohs reflect the Dublin Northside/Southside divide.

Thankfully the GAA is exempt from this political baggage
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 15, 2008, 03:26:24 PM
Quote from: SammyG on May 15, 2008, 12:33:51 PM
This will hopefully put an end to the Old Firm tag and the myth that both Glasgow clubs are different sides of the same shitty coin.t
How will it end it and why is it a myth. It is a statement of fact.

Rankers tear up Manchester whilst in 2003 Celtic leave only goodwill behind them in Seville. You'd like to think that even those with their heads stuck in the sand will begin to see the rays of light.

It's a myth because you, de media and de uneducated perpetuate it.

It's a statement of fact? Just because u said it  :D

Quote from: SammyG on May 15, 2008, 12:33:51 PM
Although there will still be people like SammyG who will have a vested interest in proposing this.
What vested interest?

Ah u know, instead of addressing the issues at that club, just lump them in with their biggest competitors to deflect from who they are and what they stand for (which is what your beloved NI did for God knows how many years). By trying to equate them instead of calling it for what it is, u are avoiding the issue which is de fact that the majority of NI's support would also be supporters of Rangers. So in effect you are trying to drag Rankers off de floor whilst pulling Celtic down to meet them and at the same time trying to rise the boat that is NI. As an aside I think some good work has been done in NI but there's a hell of a lot more to do...

That's de worst yet, no words to describe that  >:(
Post by: corn02 on May 15, 2008, 03:35:56 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/manchester/7402858.stm

disgraceful video.
Post by: lfdown2 on May 15, 2008, 03:38:57 PM

where in the name of fcuk did his colleagues go?he could have been killed christ id be fukin ragin at them!

also scotlands shame perform again! pig grunt...
Post by: Mickey Linden on May 15, 2008, 03:54:02 PM
Just seen the video there. Absolute disgraceful scenes!!! Whats SammyGs take on this?????
I seriously cant picture the Celtic fans in similar scenes!
Post by: T Fearon on May 15, 2008, 03:56:56 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/glasgow_and_west/7402561.stm

Does this sound familiar. Phrases like "Only a small minority" etc etc. Particularly laughable is the quote from the Scottish Tory and Rangers supporter. Tories like to style themselves as the party of law and order and would normally cheerfully hang any offender...except when it comes to their own of course >:(
Post by: spiritof91and94 on May 15, 2008, 03:59:05 PM
Quote from: corn02 on May 15, 2008, 03:35:56 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/manchester/7402858.stm

disgraceful video.

indefensible.
Post by: Minder on May 15, 2008, 04:00:04 PM
Some Scottish politicians want an investigation into the " police heavy handedness" and why riot police were deployed, i thought the Shinners had copyright on that phrase. Did they want the police to be armed with spud guns?
Post by: SammyG on May 15, 2008, 04:01:41 PM
Quote from: Mickey Linden on May 15, 2008, 03:54:02 PM
Just seen the video there. Absolute disgraceful scenes!!! Whats SammyGs take on this?????

My take (for the millionth time) is that they are the scum of the earth and I hope they're put away for a long time.
Try watching some of the videos on Youtube.
Post by: stew on May 15, 2008, 04:13:19 PM
Rangers were dire, simply pathetic. They got what they deserved which was nothing and their fans let them down again. It takes more than a few years to wash the stain of naked bigotry away and their fans, a large section of them anyway, shamed a club that has no shame, that is hard to do.

I hope the fine is large and they get suspended from Europe the knackers.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 15, 2008, 04:14:33 PM
Quote from: lfdown2 on May 15, 2008, 03:38:57 PM

where in the name of fcuk did his colleagues go?he could have been killed christ id be fukin ragin at them!

also scotlands shame perform again! pig grunt...

Look more closely and u'll see one of his colleagues get jumped earlier and receive similar if not worse treatment. Never before has the term hunnish hordes been more apt...
Post by: behind the wire on May 15, 2008, 04:32:51 PM
i never really get involved in these types of debate, i usually sit back and laugh. but i just want to ask sammy is there any chance he could give us a few links to the youtube pictures of celtic fans behaving like animals. you claim to have seen them so im sure you'll know where to find them.
Post by: SammyG on May 15, 2008, 04:43:13 PM
Quote from: behind the wire on May 15, 2008, 04:32:51 PM
i never really get involved in these types of debate, i usually sit back and laugh. but i just want to ask sammy is there any chance he could give us a few links to the youtube pictures of celtic fans behaving like animals. you claim to have seen them so im sure you'll know where to find them.

Follow the link on page 5 in this thread and you'll find plenty. I can't get into youtube at the minute, it's blocked in work.
Post by: behind the wire on May 15, 2008, 04:45:53 PM
i couldnt really be bothered looking. ill let you do that sometime. you always seem to want proof of everything so im sure you'll not mind providing proof of the celtic fans behaving badly somewhere. give me a shout when you post the links.
Post by: SammyG on May 15, 2008, 04:48:58 PM
Quote from: behind the wire on May 15, 2008, 04:45:53 PM
i couldnt really be bothered looking. ill let you do that sometime. you always seem to want proof of everything so im sure you'll not mind providing proof of the celtic fans behaving badly somewhere. give me a shout when you post the links.

The link has already been posted, on page 5. If you want I can post it again, when I can get into Youtube.
Post by: Whitehair on May 15, 2008, 04:51:25 PM
These are priceless! :D

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y256/MTPJ/dignity.jpg
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y256/MTPJ/r4te1.png
Post by: screenexile on May 15, 2008, 04:58:16 PM
Quote from: SammyG on May 15, 2008, 04:48:58 PM

The link has already been posted, on page 5. If you want I can post it again, when I can get into Youtube.

There's only one link there Sammy and it's hardly the most frightening bit of footage I've seen... A load of Celtic fans singing "Ooh ah up the Ra". Of course it shouldn't be done and indeed it isn't done during matches anymore but you can't tell me this kind of chanting doesn't go on in Rangers bars around Glasgow/Belfast or that there were no sectarian chants in Manchester yesterday?
Post by: behind the wire on May 15, 2008, 04:59:51 PM

just viewed the link on page 5

now i dont know what it is they are singing because i have no sound on the computer but i dont see where the police had to get involved, or where the paramedics were attacked or where the police officer was assaulted on the ground or where the bottles were hurled. in fact i cant say i seen anything similar to last nites incidents at all.

so when you are ready i await your links.
Post by: SammyG on May 15, 2008, 05:02:05 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 15, 2008, 04:58:16 PM

There's only one link there Sammy and it's hardly the most frightening bit of footage I've seen...

When you click on the link it brings up dozens of examples (or it did the other day). As I've already said I'll post some more links when I can get into youtube, this evening.
A load of Celtic fans singing "Ooh ah up the Ra". Of course it shouldn't be done and indeed it isn't done during matches anymore but you can't tell me this kind of chanting doesn't go on in Rangers bars around Glasgow/Belfast or that there were no sectarian chants in Manchester yesterday?
When did I say it didn't happen at Rangers, of course it does? Two sides of the same shitty coin.
Post by: illdecide on May 15, 2008, 05:06:46 PM
Oh the violence on that link from page 5 was terrible, celtic supporters chanting "up the ra" big deal. The wankpots left Manchester like Govan and they were only there for a few hours :o What do you expect from 100,000 pigs
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 15, 2008, 05:27:44 PM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on May 15, 2008, 11:16:38 AM
(http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/3997/79624604kj4.png)

You see the problem i have with that photo is that
a) that is only a 13amp plug top and a television that size would draw a hell of a lot more amps than 13
b) if the telly is plugged out how come there is still a message on the screen

Post by: take_yer_points on May 15, 2008, 05:50:01 PM
Quote from: SammyG on May 15, 2008, 05:02:05 PM

There's only one link there Sammy and it's hardly the most frightening bit of footage I've seen...

When you click on the link it brings up dozens of examples (or it did the other day). As I've already said I'll post some more links when I can get into youtube, this evening.
A load of Celtic fans singing "Ooh ah up the Ra". Of course it shouldn't be done and indeed it isn't done during matches anymore but you can't tell me this kind of chanting doesn't go on in Rangers bars around Glasgow/Belfast or that there were no sectarian chants in Manchester yesterday?
When did I say it didn't happen at Rangers, of course it does? Two sides of the same shitty coin.

I just had a look on youtube and watched the video of the Celtic fans singing. The top link to another video is called "Celtic Sectarian Report" - and its actually a report from Sky Sports about Rangers fans singing sectarian songs with Ally McCoist saying that he's hopeful that they can stop it before action's taken against them??
Post by: fred the red on May 15, 2008, 06:11:04 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 15, 2008, 11:46:48 AM
(http://news.bbc.co.uk/nol/shared/spl/hi/pop_ups/08/uk_enl_1210834452/img/1.jpg)

Poor Barry

Ziggy, you stated on another thread that it will be 'heaven' when the football season ends. Why you posting on a football thread if you hate it so much?  ???
Post by: ziggysego on May 15, 2008, 06:16:36 PM
Bored, that's why. Honestly, I've no dislike for soccer.
Post by: iluvni on May 15, 2008, 07:42:52 PM
Interesting that whilst believing they inhabit some kind of high moral ground, the likes of Tony Fearon have no issue whatsoever with using sectarian terms such as 'Huns' on this site.

I read the other day he is about to embark on a 'media campaign' (God help his wit), and no doubt the thuggery in Manchester  will have him chomping at the bit, but I challenge him now to have the courage of his convictions and label the Rangers fans he'll be taking to task as 'Huns' in his next letter to the Belfast Telegraph.
Post by: Main Street on May 15, 2008, 08:05:21 PM
Only in the world of of the OWC bigots
can Riotous behaviour of 1000s of Rangers fans, stabbing opposition fans, pitch encrosions, attacks on law officers, be compared to the behaviour of Celtic fans who have received standing ovations from police forces and fans from around the world.
Post by: stew on May 15, 2008, 08:34:32 PM

There's only one link there Sammy and it's hardly the most frightening bit of footage I've seen... A load of Celtic fans singing "Ooh ah up the Ra". Of course it shouldn't be done and indeed it isn't done during matches anymore but you can't tell me this kind of chanting doesn't go on in Rangers bars around Glasgow/Belfast or that there were no sectarian chants in Manchester yesterday?

Of course this sort of thing does not happen in Rangers bars around belfast. absolutely scurrilous remarks altogether.

Glentoran supporters clubs are places were absolutely nothing ever happens to anyone that walks through their doors, on the odd aul occasion you can even hear the soldiers song being belted out whilst the Hibernians rent out the club much to the delight of the Glensmen.

:o
Post by: Minder on May 15, 2008, 09:59:03 PM
I was talking to a friend that was over at it, he said of course there are a number of Rangers fans that are scumbags and it seemed to be mainly the Scottish ones misbehaving but he said Manchester was totally unprepared for that number of people arriving even though they knew 100,000 plus would be there. He said there was over 20,000 in the picadilly square and there were 3 porta kabins for toilets. He said when it was kicking off some of the Gers fans started knocking the f**k out of each other. He also said you were not allowed glass bottles into the fan zones and this was policed by two big black guys that asked you if you had any glass bottles, you said no and you were let in regardless if you had them or not. This fella is a very reasonable chap but reckons he will never set foot in Manchester again and said it is a "total hellhole" There was not a peeler to be seen all day until they appeared in riot gear..........There are two sides to every "shitty coin" i suppose.
Post by: ExiledGael on May 15, 2008, 11:35:58 PM
Jesus, your man's out before he hits the ground. And he hits it with quite a thud too.
Post by: Yes I Would on May 15, 2008, 11:41:46 PM
Talking when he should have been listening!!
Post by: KIDDO 4 on May 16, 2008, 12:04:04 AM
GLASGOW Rangers supporters in Coleraine have accused a Scottish newspaper of "total censorship".
Their claims follows the airbrushing of an Red Hand of Ulster motif from a newspaper picture of the Coleraine True Blue Rangers Supporters Club banner.

The change was spotted immediately by the man pictured beside the banner, club secretary TommyVauls, who had been in Florence for the Rangers UEFA Cup semi-final match on May 2.

The Glasgow Evening Times gave its usual full colour picture coverage of the match and the Coleraine fans were prominent in the pictures. The fans were shocked to find that the published pictures had been doctored to remove the "Red Hand" symbol from the banner.

Tommy told the Coleraine Times: "This is total censorship. There is nothing sectarian about the banner but they removed the "Red Hand" from three pictures..

"We have taken the banner all over Europe and there has never been any bother with it, in fact most people compliment us on it."
Chairman Frank Daly said: "We are recognised as an official supporters club and we have raised £1,000's for childrens' charities. We never ask who or what the children are."

East Londonderry MP, Gregory Campbell said: "The Red Hand of Ulster is a symbol used by people from both sides of the community in Northern Ireland. It features prominently in the flag of Northern Ireland; it is used by the GAA as well as being displayed, as in this case, on the banners of people who are legitimate and properly registered supporters of Glasgow Rangers Football Club.

"I am at a loss to understand why the Glasgow Evening Times would have spent time and effort removing the Red Hand of Ulster from the pictures they carried of the crowd. I have made contact with the newspaper in an effort to see if they have a reason for this censorship.
"People in Ulster regard the Red Hand as a non contentious symbol, so too should those from outside the Province."

In a move welcomed by Mr Campbell and the supporters club, the editor of the Glasgow Evening Times, Donald Martin, has apologised for any upset caused.
He said: "As a Glasgow based newspaper we are always mindful of the sensitivities involved in covering the Old Firm. We are champions of both clubs and their supporters and always try to ensure our coverage is balanced.

"On this occasion we failed to take into account that the fans were displaying a recognised flag. The picture was, however, used in full online.
"We apologise for any upset we may have caused and wish Rangers and their supporters the best of luck on Wednesday."
The Coleraine fans will be putting the row behind them this week as they set sail for Manchester for the final of the UEFA Cup against Zenit St Petersburg.

Needless to say, the banner will be there as well.

Post by: ziggysego on May 16, 2008, 12:06:31 AM
Quote from: KIDDO 4 on May 16, 2008, 12:04:04 AM
"We have taken the banner all over Europe and there has never been any bother with it, in fact most people compliment us on it."

Bollocks, why would someone compliment a flag?
Post by: Donagh on May 16, 2008, 12:17:26 AM
Quote from: Whitehair on May 15, 2008, 04:51:25 PM
These are priceless! :D

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y256/MTPJ/dignity.jpg
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y256/MTPJ/r4te1.png

Brilliant! Think I seen those socks in Matalan as well.
Post by: Chrisowc on May 16, 2008, 07:42:54 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 16, 2008, 12:06:31 AM
Quote from: KIDDO 4 on May 16, 2008, 12:04:04 AM

Bollocks, why would someone compliment a flag?

There is every chance this would happen.

You would get opposition and your own team's fans as well as locals/other tourists taking photographs of some of the better flags.
Post by: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 08:11:07 AM
Quote from: behind the wire on May 15, 2008, 04:59:51 PM

now i dont know what it is they are singing because i have no sound on the computer but i dont see where the police had to get involved, or where the paramedics were attacked or where the police officer was assaulted on the ground or where the bottles were hurled. in fact i cant say i seen anything similar to last nites incidents at all.

Here you go

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wM_ax89ge-w (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wM_ax89ge-w) Try this one and the other links down the side of it.
Post by: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 08:13:12 AM
Quote from: Main Street on May 15, 2008, 08:05:21 PM
can Riotous behaviour of 1000s of Rangers fans, stabbing opposition fans, pitch encrosions, attacks on law officers, be compared to the behaviour of Celtic fans who have received standing ovations from police forces and fans from around the world.
For the umpteenth time, the comparison was made by Tony, not anybody from OWC or anywhere else but sure don't let the facts get in the way of your rant.
Post by: illdecide on May 16, 2008, 10:30:21 AM
What does a Rangers fan do when he sees his team win the UEFA cup?

Turns off his playstation and gets back into bed with his sister :D
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 16, 2008, 10:30:34 AM
Quote from: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 08:11:07 AM
Quote from: behind the wire on May 15, 2008, 04:59:51 PM

Here you go

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wM_ax89ge-w (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wM_ax89ge-w) Try this one and the other links down the side of it.

:D A load of lads singing  :D Let me repeat the above statement "i dont see where the police had to get involved, or where the paramedics were attacked or where the police officer was assaulted on the ground or where the bottles were hurled. in fact i cant say i seen anything similar to last nites incidents at all."
Title: here we go...
Post by: Mentalman on May 16, 2008, 10:32:25 AM
Rangers probe infiltrator claims  

Rangers believe the trouble in Manchester city centre which marred the Uefa Cup final involved people with no history of following the club.

Hundreds of fans turned violent when a big screen showing the match in the city's Piccadilly Gardens broke down.

"We've been informed that those scenes were caused by fans who don't normally attach themselves to our support," said Rangers chief executive Martin Bain.

"We have to identify anybody that was responsible for the acts of violence."

Fifteen officers were injured, as well as a police dog, and 42 arrests were made as riot police and supporters fought running battles.

One Zenit St Petersburg fan was stabbed, but his injuries are not life-threatening.

"Unfortunately a screen went down in the centre of Manchester without maybe a separate feed coming in as back-up, and it has obviously been the catalyst for some incident," Bain said.

Rangers chief executive Martin Bain

"We're extremely disappointed and we'll do everything we possibly can to help Manchester Police find out who those perpetrators are."

Rangers security chief Kenny Scott insisted the club would take action against the troublemakers.

"The club will take the appropriate action," said Scott. "The difficulty is that many of these people will have no association with Rangers Football Club.

"That exacerbates our difficulties in dealing appropriately with the situation which occurred in Manchester."

Scott stressed that plans to accommodate visiting supporters in Manchester city centre on the day of the game had been extensive.

"I don't think there's an awful lot more that could have been done," he said.

"We saw yesterday afternoon great scenes in the city of Manchester.

"The city absorbed the numbers that were there, despite the fact they exceeded the numbers which were expected.

"But unfortunately the catalyst for the disorder last night was the breaking down of the screen.

"Though by no means do we condone the behaviour of the supporters who became involved in violence, particularly when police officers were injured and we particularly abhor that type of brehaviour, we still have got to reflect back on the fact that in the stadium the atmosphere was fantastic.

"We had positive comments from Uefa about the sporting behaviour of our supporters.

"In the city centre, if there were 120,000 people or so in the city centre, 200 or so according to police estimates and the estimates of the city of Manchester authorities, let down this club."

Uefa will wait until Friday before making any decision about launching an investigation into the violence.

Europe's governing body will assess a report from the referee and the match delegate before deciding on any action.

A Uefa spokesman stressed that, while they condemned the violent scenes in Manchester, events outside the stadium were outside its jurisdiction.

So there wasn't a second feed to the screen and anyway it wasn't their fans. I wonder would he term these infiltrators the "casual" support?
Post by: mhacadoir on May 16, 2008, 11:43:48 AM
http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/article1166626.ece

utterly shameful, shameful actions.

one other point, probably should be on the other thread but fair play to the rangers fans who turned up to pay their respects to tommy burns. the should be commended, just as the scum element should be condemned in the strongest words possible. 
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 16, 2008, 12:03:00 PM
Quote from: mhacadoir on May 16, 2008, 11:43:48 AM
http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/article1166626.ece

utterly shameful, shameful actions.

one other point, probably should be on the other thread but fair play to the rangers fans who turned up to pay their respects to tommy burns. the should be commended, just as the scum element should be condemned in the strongest words possible. 

That is vile, fair play to the student who had the balls to film that and hang around that mob, I hope the book is thrown at them.

I can't believe Rankers are going down the "infiltrator" route, in that vid u can clearly hear, UVF chants, "We are de pepil" as well as something about Sínn Féin. That cop was lucky he wasn't kicked to death. Also can't believe Rankers have come out and said that "We had positive comments from Uefa about the sporting behaviour of our supporters" although nothing should surprise me about that shower.
Post by: Main Street on May 16, 2008, 12:32:06 PM
Quote from: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 08:13:12 AM
Quote from: Main Street on May 15, 2008, 08:05:21 PM
For the umpteenth time, the comparison was made by Tony, not anybody from OWC or anywhere else but sure don't let the facts get in the way of your rant.

You wrote
"Two sides of the same shitty coin, always have been and always will be a minority in both Celtic and Rangers support who are scum"

Your subjective idea of Celtic shít  is someone in a celtic shirt singing a rebel song.
and saying that that is the other side of the same coin

The other side of the coin being
Riotous behaviour of 1000s of Rangers fans, stabbing opposition fans, pitch encrosions, attacks on law officers, injuring a police dog.

Only a pure bigot would compare that to the behaviour of Celtic fans who have received standing ovations from police forces and fans from around the world.

Post by: The Watcher Pat on May 16, 2008, 12:42:03 PM
Fair play to the cop who stood his ground.....I'd be asking where my mates were then.....

Yesterday morning people were saying it was only a few people??? This was orcastrated violence and I hope every one of them is caught by cctv.....Maybe the police over there will do something with the cctv pictures unlike the useless shower we have over here.
Post by: Bensars on May 16, 2008, 03:11:26 PM
(http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/uploads/IMG2870-1210943815.jpg)

Post by: Minder on May 16, 2008, 03:22:58 PM
I hope future modelling assignments/contracts are not jeopardised by negative press for that fella in the last photo
Post by: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 03:28:07 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 16, 2008, 12:32:06 PMYour subjective idea of Celtic shít  is someone in a celtic shirt singing a rebel song.

When the fcuk did I say that?
Post by: Donagh on May 16, 2008, 03:31:53 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 16, 2008, 03:29:53 PM
1st picture, left hand side. Is that Kevin McGourty?

Well spotted!
Post by: Main Street on May 16, 2008, 03:36:28 PM
Quote from: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 03:28:07 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 16, 2008, 12:32:06 PMYour subjective idea of Celtic shít  is someone in a celtic shirt singing a rebel song.

you said this
You wrote
"Two sides of the same shitty coin, always have been and always will be a minority in both Celtic and Rangers support who are scum"

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=7653.msg292199#msg292199 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=7653.msg292199#msg292199)
Post by: Rav67 on May 16, 2008, 03:38:07 PM
Hooligans not wearing their team's colours -  is this supposed to be a new development?
Post by: tintin25 on May 16, 2008, 03:38:12 PM
Quote from: Donagh on May 16, 2008, 03:31:53 PM

Well spotted!

Boy on the other side looks like Sean Cavanagh.... :-\
Post by: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 03:38:28 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 16, 2008, 03:36:28 PM
Quote from: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 03:28:07 PM

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=7653.msg292199#msg292199 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=7653.msg292199#msg292199)

Oh right, I didn't say it, you're just making up shite as usual. I should have realised, would have saved me asking.
Post by: Minder on May 16, 2008, 03:41:50 PM

Aye it is before he stopped using Clearasil.......
Post by: Main Street on May 16, 2008, 03:45:22 PM
Sammy the Bigot wrote in reference to riots by rangers fans at the UEFA final

Cannot possibly be interpreted any other way.

Post by: T Fearon on May 16, 2008, 03:50:19 PM
Interesting to see Rangers blaming "Northern Irish accents" for the trouble. Terry Venables, England's manager at the time, did likewise after the trouble at Lansdowne in 1995.

Shows how much real brits value their wannabe compatriots from the six counties
Post by: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 03:56:29 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 16, 2008, 03:45:22 PM

You don't need to 'interpret' it, it's a statement. If detesting all hooligans makes you a bigot, then I suppose I must be a bigot then.
Post by: nifan on May 16, 2008, 03:58:00 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 16, 2008, 03:50:19 PM
Interesting to see Rangers blaming "Northern Irish accents" for the trouble. Terry Venables, England's manager at the time, did likewise after the trouble at Lansdowne in 1995.

Shows how much real brits value their wannabe compatriots from the six counties

In this case I would say there is much more chance that boyos from NI where involved than on the previous occasion.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 16, 2008, 04:01:25 PM
Quote from: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 03:56:29 PM

You don't need to 'interpret' it, it's a statement. If detesting all hooligans makes you a bigot, then I suppose I must be a bigot then.

Sammy. Define 'hooligan' from your perspective. What I witnessed on various news and video clips from Wednesday evening was certainly hooliganism in my eyes, but I haven't seen Celtic fans engaging in the same behaviour.

Is singing 'ooh ahh up the 'Ra' hooligan behaviour in your eyes? I'm not stirring, because I really don't care about either Glasgow team to be honest. But I can't see that they both bear comparison in the 'hooligan' stakes.

Post by: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 04:05:30 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 16, 2008, 04:01:25 PM

Sammy. Define 'hooligan' from your perspective. What I witnessed on various news and video clips from Wednesday evening was certainly hooliganism in my eyes, but I haven't seen Celtic fans engaging in the same behaviour.

Is singing 'ooh ahh up the 'Ra' hooligan behaviour in your eyes? I'm not stirring, because I really don't care about either Glasgow team to be honest. But I can't see that they both bear comparison in the 'hooligan' stakes.

No I talking about 'real' hooliganism. Fighting, throwing bottles, attacking peelers etc. Do a search on Youtube for Celtic and hooligans and you'll find pages of them.

And for the umpteenth time I Only mentioned Celtic in response to Tony's post.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 16, 2008, 04:18:02 PM
I know when you mentioned Celtic, and why. I don't care about your frequent spats with Tony et al. about the merits of NI/Celtic/Rangers/ROI etc etc. I was just curious because I genuinely haven't heard about hooliganism and Celtic.

If you say there are examples of that, then fair enough. I'm not aware of them, and hadn't heard about them. Certainly not on the scale of Wednesday night.
Post by: Main Street on May 16, 2008, 04:18:55 PM

Its obvious bigotry
When you say,  the flip side of Rangers Hooligans are Celtic Hooligans in a reply on the Manchester riots,
then you make a comparison between between Rangers hooligans in Manchester and Celtic Hooligans.

As we know Celtic Hooligans are virtually non existent to foreign clubs and foreign police forces, in fact Celtic Fans have received the highest praise from all, the highest praise means none higher.

How can those Celtic Fans become the flip side of your same shitty coin as the disgraced Ranger Hooligans?
Post by: behind the wire on May 16, 2008, 04:21:11 PM
Quote from: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 04:05:30 PM

No I talking about 'real' hooliganism. Fighting, throwing bottles, attacking peelers etc. Do a search on Youtube for Celtic and hooligans and you'll find pages of them.

right sammy. we have asked you a couple of times for evidence of this hooligan behaviour and all you can come up with are videos of celtic supporters signing loudly, albeit songs that could very well be regarded as provocative. but i can never remember hearing about any celtic supporters attacking police/paramedics. hope to see your links soon. after all you always like to see the proof.
Post by: lfdown2 on May 16, 2008, 04:26:58 PM
normally dont post on this sorta shite but as a celtic fan this is starting til get up my nose, firstly dont like the whole they're worse than us shit and think that those with their provo etc chanting do nothing but sully the good name of celtic fc, however i did as sammy said searched celtic hooligans and there is not much there, best they can do lately is the dida incident where the club took action banning the 'supporter' see link to the search, i havnt gone through it all as i couldnt be arsed but it should put an end to the lies sammy spouts on here day in day out;

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=celtic+hooligans&search_type= (http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=celtic+hooligans&search_type=)
Post by: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 04:38:17 PM
Quote from: behind the wire on May 16, 2008, 04:21:11 PM
Quote from: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 04:05:30 PM

right sammy. we have asked you a couple of times for evidence of this hooligan behaviour and all you can come up with are videos of celtic supporters signing loudly, albeit songs that could very well be regarded as provocative. but i can never remember hearing about any celtic supporters attacking police/paramedics. hope to see your links soon. after all you always like to see the proof.

I've given you links, fighting with Chelsea 'fans', attacking peelers with beer glasses outside a pub, attacking a pub in Dundee, fighting with Aberdeen etc etc etc. The link I gave didn't even have the 'party songs', there are even more of those if you want to have a look.
Post by: behind the wire on May 16, 2008, 04:47:07 PM
hopefully you will be able to provide links to those incidents. its funny how you say these things happened and then go and post a link of something completely different. surely if you have the links to these incidents it would be as easy to post their link as opposed to a different incident.
Post by: Main Street on May 16, 2008, 04:47:44 PM
So now Sammy are you saying they are 2 sides of the same shitty coin or not.
I can't figure out if you are denying it or not ?

Have looked at the links and can't find anything more than verbals.

uTube verbals compared to riots stabbings ???

I would rather trust the evidence of police forces and fan clubs from around the world as a testament to the exemplary behaviour of celtic fans.

Post by: T Fearon on May 16, 2008, 04:55:01 PM
Lads, I wouldn't say that Celtic haven't nutcase fans, but these are in a tiny minority and the difference is that if they tried to cause trouble anywhere, the vast majority would stamp it out and quickly.

As Tommy Gemmell, a non catholic Lisbon Lion quite correctly said, Rangers extremist fans are ten times worse than Celtic's.

On a positive note I see the Rangers Chairman has vowed to identify and ban those involved in the trouble for life.This is a sign that they recognise they have a problem and are determined to take action, unlike Linfield and the IFA who hear no evil see no evil, and try to convince us all that they have successfully dealt with sectarianism ::)

Post by: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 04:58:46 PM
Quote from: behind the wire on May 16, 2008, 04:47:07 PM
hopefully you will be able to provide links to those incidents. its funny how you say these things happened and then go and post a link of something completely different. surely if you have the links to these incidents it would be as easy to post their link as opposed to a different incident.
I posted the link to the fight with Chelsea and the other links are down the right hand side.
Post by: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 05:02:35 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 16, 2008, 04:18:55 PM

Its obvious bigotry
When you say,  the flip side of Rangers Hooligans are Celtic Hooligans in a reply on the Manchester riots,
then you make a comparison between between Rangers hooligans in Manchester and Celtic Hooligans.

As we know Celtic Hooligans are virtually non existent to foreign clubs and foreign police forces, in fact Celtic Fans have received the highest praise from all, the highest praise means none higher.

How can those Celtic Fans become the flip side of your same shitty coin as the disgraced Ranger Hooligans?
FFS this is getting silly now. I DID NOT MENTION CELTIC Tony did and I replied. The well behaved Celtic fans are obviously not the same as the hooligan Rangers fans they are the same as the tens of thousands of well behaved Rangers fans. However the hooligan Celtic fans are the same as hooligan Rangers fans.

Hope that is clear enough for even your tiny brain to understand.
Post by: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 05:04:34 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 16, 2008, 04:55:01 PM
Lads, I wouldn't say that Celtic haven't nutcase fans, but these are in a tiny minority
Fcuk me I agree with Tony, is this a sign of the end of the world?  :o
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 16, 2008, 05:05:02 PM
Quote from: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 04:58:46 PM
I posted the link to the fight with Chelsea and the other links are down the right hand side.

What did they fight with??? Phlem???
Post by: T Fearon on May 16, 2008, 05:06:46 PM
Sammy we are clearly talking magnitude here. I think even you would admit that Celtic fans would never cause the mass mayhem witnessed in Manchester on Wednesday night.

But at least Celtic and Rangers recognise the problem and are actively combatting it, unlike Linfield and the IFA who try to pretend that they are free from sectarianism >:(
Post by: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 05:08:35 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 16, 2008, 05:05:02 PM

Fists, feet and beer glasses (and bar stools in the Dundee clip, just for good measure).
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 16, 2008, 05:13:41 PM
Quote from: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 05:08:35 PM

Fists, feet and beer glasses (and bar stools in the Dundee clip, just for good measure).

Links and times these incidents happened at please, couldn't be bothered wasting my Friday evening crawling through youtube...
Post by: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 05:15:39 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 16, 2008, 05:13:41 PM

Links and times these incidents happened at please, couldn't be bothered wasting my Friday evening crawling through youtube...
Aye cause I've nothing better to do.  ::) I've given you the links, they're between 2 and 10 minutes long, if you think I can be arsed to sit through them (again) and time stamp them for ye, you'll be waiting a while.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 16, 2008, 05:19:17 PM
Quote from: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 05:15:39 PM

Aye cause I've nothing better to do.  ::) I've given you the links, they're between 2 and 10 minutes long, if you think I can be arsed to sit through them (again) and time stamp them for ye, you'll be waiting a while.

Well ur on here all day every day, so I take that as a given...

No links, no times, no proof = bullshit Q.E.D.
Post by: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 05:21:12 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 16, 2008, 05:19:17 PM

Links - given
Times - watch the fecking thing yerself and stop being a lazy bollix
Proof - see links.
Post by: the Deel Rover on May 16, 2008, 05:27:14 PM
Well if ye take the two finals that both clubs have been involved in in 2003 celtic fans got an award from UEFA for been the best supporters, they definately didn't cause the carnage that them rangers boys caused on wednesday night. Now of course their might be isolated small incidents but i never heard anything about or seen anything like what happened on wednesday night it was appalling stuff 
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 16, 2008, 05:32:11 PM
Quote from: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 05:21:12 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 16, 2008, 05:19:17 PM

Links - given
Times - watch the fecking thing yerself and stop being a lazy bollix
Proof - see links.

Links - 1 given so since that's not plural it should read link
Times - please see http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=7653.msg293449#msg293449 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=7653.msg293449#msg293449) and less of the name calling
Proof - none

Well done on deflecting the attention away from Rankers btw. Off home now, I'd wish ya a good weekend except I doubt u'd hear me with ur head stuck so far down there in the stand...
Post by: Solomon Kane on May 16, 2008, 05:46:40 PM
If I was a Ceptic fan this would be one of the best weeks of my life. Some of the Ranker's fans let themselves down an awful lot, but to be fair some of them probably really enjoyed turfing bottles etc. I hope whoever was lifted goes away for a while - they deserve it.

I have stated before I personally narrowly missed being caught up in trouble caused by Ceptic fans in Belfast on two occasions when they thought it would be a good idea to throw stones at passing cars. To be fair this didn't take place near a match - just near bars that were showing the matches. Neither club can be held responsible for some of the dross that attaches themselves to their support as I know decent supporters of both teams. I can't for the life of me see the appeal however - from what little of it I have seen the football is poor.   

Post by: lfdown2 on May 16, 2008, 06:44:57 PM
Quote from: Solomon Kane on May 16, 2008, 05:46:40 PM
If I was a Ceptic fan this would be one of the best weeks of my life. Some of the Ranker's fans let themselves down an awful lot, but to be fair some of them probably really enjoyed turfing bottles etc. I hope whoever was lifted goes away for a while - they deserve it.

I have stated before I personally narrowly missed being caught up in trouble caused by Ceptic fans in Belfast on two occasions when they thought it would be a good idea to throw stones at passing cars. To be fair this didn't take place near a match - just near bars that were showing the matches. Neither club can be held responsible for some of the dross that attaches themselves to their support as I know decent supporters of both teams. I can't for the life of me see the appeal however - from what little of it I have seen the football is poor. 

are you not a ni supporter? ;D

Post by: The Watcher Pat on May 16, 2008, 10:21:32 PM
Quote from: SammyG on May 15, 2008, 04:01:41 PM

My take (for the millionth time) is that they are the scum of the earth and I hope they're put away for a long time.
Try watching some of the videos on Youtube.

Sammyg ure fighting a loosing battle here......Not Even Donald Findlay QC could defend this! And hes even been caught singing sectarian songs himself..........Scotlands shame
Post by: magickingdom on May 16, 2008, 10:29:10 PM
they're sickening pathetic fcukers for what they've done in manchester and theres no way to hide that sammy, no way if celtic had been playing in manchester would that have happened and i know they're no angels. man u fan will pay too as the open air screens for the champions league final have been cancelled.
Post by: Main Street on May 16, 2008, 10:39:14 PM
Quote from: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 05:02:35 PM
[
FFS this is getting silly now. I DID NOT MENTION CELTIC Tony did and I replied. The well behaved Celtic fans are obviously not the same as the hooligan Rangers fans they are the same as the tens of thousands of well behaved Rangers fans. However the hooligan Celtic fans are the same as hooligan Rangers fans.

Yes you did mention Celtic in reference to Tony going on about the Glasgow riots by Rangers fans.
You wrote

No evidence to support,  no arrest count. no police statements. no bbc television pictures, no media attention. in fact Celtic fans behaviour are of the highest standards in soccer and have received fulsome praise from Police chiefs/media /fans all around the world whereas Rangers in general have an intense scum element everpresent.

No comparison really, even a braindead windup  troll like should get that point

Post by: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 10:42:22 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on May 16, 2008, 10:29:10 PM
they're sickening pathetic fcukers for what they've done in manchester and theres no way to hide that sammy,
How the fcuk am I hiding anything? I have said time and again that they are the scum of the earth and should be locked up. What more do you want me to say?
Post by: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 10:45:13 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 16, 2008, 10:39:14 PM
Quote from: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 05:02:35 PM
[

Yes you did mention Celtic in reference to Tony going on about the Glasgow riots by Rangers fans.
You wrote

No evidence to support,  no arrest count. no police statements. no bbc television pictures, no media attention. in fact Celtic fans behaviour are of the highest standards in soccer and have received fulsome praise from Police chiefs/media /fans all around the world whereas Rangers in general have an intense scum element everpresent.

No comparison really, even a braindead windup  troll like should get that point

When you say brain dead I presume you're talking about the type of person who can comment on something without actually bothering to read it, a bit like yourself in fact.

p.s. Rangers have been praised several times this season and had zero arrests or trouble at any of their previous European matches. But that doesn't mean that a significant minority aren't scum, they clearly are, as Wednesday night proved.
Post by: stiffler on May 16, 2008, 10:54:34 PM

p.s. Rangers have been praised several times this season and had zero arrests or trouble at any of their previous European matches. But that doesn't mean that a significant minority aren't scum, they clearly are, as Wednesday night proved.

http://spanishfootballsports.blogspot.com/2007/11/rangers-fans-in-barcelona-back-to-dark.html (http://spanishfootballsports.blogspot.com/2007/11/rangers-fans-in-barcelona-back-to-dark.html)

Sammy you are obviously trying to wind up here. If you are gonna continue to lie, please refrain from posting. You have absolutely no creditibility on this board anymore, and will never have again.

From the article:

Sometimes we get lucky & see how people must have lived in the
"DARK AGE", so called because human knowledge stopped & the
masses were without education.
Yesterday in Barcelona, Scottish & Rangers fans gave us & the world
an reenactment of the then state of mentality & how barbarians acted
& lived back then, & all for free!

Post by: the green man on May 16, 2008, 10:55:39 PM
Quote from: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 10:45:13 PM

I dont believe they were praised in Barcelona this year.

Here a brief description from '72

http://blogs.guardian.co.uk/sport/2008/05/13/the_behaviour_of_the_scottish.html

Post by: Main Street on May 16, 2008, 10:56:18 PM
Quote from: SammyG on May 16, 2008, 10:45:13 PM
You must post the references of the praise they received from Barcelona, Villareal, Stuttgart Israel when you get time.

Post by: Main Street on May 16, 2008, 11:30:09 PM
Here is a nice tribute from Willie Waddell, Rangers manager, after the Barcelona riots 1972

"It is to these tikes, hooligans, louts and drunkards that I pinpoint my message – it is because of your gutter-rat behaviour that we [Rangers FC] are being publicly tarred and feathered . . . "
Post by: Yes I Would on May 16, 2008, 11:34:57 PM
How some things never change!!
Why is it they attract the scum of the earth??
Post by: the green man on May 16, 2008, 11:54:25 PM
Quote from: Yes I Would on May 16, 2008, 11:34:57 PM
How some things never change!!
Why is it they attract the scum of the earth??

Its the english sumpremacist mentality that prevailed throughout the 20th century. Two world wars and all that. Even though it took the yanks to win them. I'm afraid that Rangers is the last bastion of that attitude.
Post by: Main Street on May 17, 2008, 12:06:04 AM
EL Mundo Deportiva
after Barca V Rangers
(http://www.whoateallthepies.tv/rangers%20barcelona%20cartoon-thumb.JPG)

"They say Barcelona scored two goals."
His mate replies: "Great! I was so drunk I thought they scored four!

Post by: full back on May 17, 2008, 04:01:48 PM
Bad week for the Gers got worse today after drawing
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on May 17, 2008, 05:44:09 PM
Quote from: full back on May 17, 2008, 04:01:48 PM
Bad week for the Gers got worse today after drawing

I see the guy who was bit by the Alsatian was a convicted murderer!!! Nice.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 17, 2008, 05:47:26 PM
(http://images.football365.com/08/05/240/Motherwell-Chris-Porter-celeb-v-Rangers_877299.jpg)
Go on!
Post by: Main Street on May 17, 2008, 07:38:05 PM
Constable Mick Regan, the one who got battered black and blue.
"Never in my career have I been in a situation like that. The people who were kicking off were drunk and out for trouble. I know they will say it's a minority but a few thousand is a big minority."
Post by: Solomon Kane on May 18, 2008, 11:27:32 AM
Quote from: lfdown2 on May 16, 2008, 06:44:57 PM
Quote from: Solomon Kane on May 16, 2008, 05:46:40 PM

are you not a ni supporter? ;D

Yes indeed! I can't help where I was born ;) :D I have in my life-time seen many ups and downs - more down than up. At least at WP we can get behind the team. The Rangers support was pathetic in the ground on Wednesday night. There was hardly a peep from them. I hope Steve Davis has his bags packed at the end of the season.
Post by: Main Street on May 18, 2008, 12:51:04 PM
We have read the pathetic refrain of the 2 sides of the shitty coin

Solomon Kate, people who go to games are the fans. the people who go to the away games are fans and ambassadors.
If you can present any evidence from police forces, fan clubs or even any newspapers around Europe, which reflects badly on Celtic support in any of the games they have been involved with then we can say your opinion is not just prejudice.

All the evidence points to that there is no comparison with the thousands of rioting Rangers contingent to the behaviour of Celtic fans around europe.

-

Post by: Solomon Kane on May 18, 2008, 01:44:54 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/tyne/6918761.stm
Post by: Main Street on May 18, 2008, 02:06:42 PM
Is that it?
or was there not also some airplane hassle with one passenger in Portugal as well about 5 years ago

Take all that from the past 5 years  and add it up to this years performance from rangers fans.
Compared to city disturbances in Barcelona, full scale riots in Manchester, stadium behaviour in Villareal and against the Israeli team.

Barcelona where Rangers urine stinks and Celtic urine doesn't bother the locals at all :)
Where the Rangers fans manage to attract contempt and where the Celtic fans are no bother.
Milan, where stadium security all come to applaud the Celtic fans and give them a guard of honour.

Post by: Solomon Kane on May 18, 2008, 02:23:53 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 18, 2008, 02:06:42 PM
Is that it?
or was there not also some airplane hassle with one passenger in Portugal as well about 5 years ago

Take all that from the past 5 years  and add it up to this years performance from rangers fans.
Compared to city disturbances in Barcelona, full scale riots in Manchester, stadium behaviour in Villareal and against the Israeli team.

Barcelona where Rangers urine stinks and Celtic urine doesn't bother the locals at all :)
Where the Rangers fans manage to attract contempt and where the Celtic fans are no bother.
Milan, where stadium security all come to applaud the Celtic fans and give them a guard of honour.

If it makes you happy, I will concur that some of the antics of Rangers fans on Wenesday night are the worst to have occured in British football in years, and have damaged the British game by the looks of things. I will even agree that Celtic fans have not been involved in anything as bad, at least for a long time.

However, the only personal experience I have had with groups Celtic fans is a crowd of dirtbags stoning traffic after Old Firm games on two seperate occasions. I have also had the sorry experience of nearly being caught up in loyalist rioting, many of the knuckle draggers wearing Rangers tops. Of course they are a small minority, as is the rump end of any support but my personal experiences of both lots has not been good.

The morons on the plane were a special type of idiot. Only a few of them I'm sure (6 or 7 if I remember) but one is one too many.   

Post by: Donagh on May 19, 2008, 03:20:34 PM

Glasgow Rangers fan attacked by police dog at Uefa Cup final is convicted murderer

Alexander Aitkenhead, 38, a Glasgow Rangers supporter, was jailed for life after stabbing his brother-in-law to death in a row about his sister in 1987.

He was 17 at the time of his conviction and was released more than a year ago. He served an extra year on his sentence after punching and kicking a prison officer in 1992.

Photographs taken on Wednesday night after the match between Rangers and Zenit St Petersburg show Mr Aitkenhead angrily confronting police officers who were trying to contain rioting supporters in Manchester city centre.

As he pointed in the face of one officer, a police Alsatian lunged at him and bit his right arm and leg, drawing blood in both places.

Speaking from his home in Glasgow, Mr Aitkenhead said he had not been instigating any trouble and that the police had overreacted.

He said: "The police came down the road and ushered us into a hotel. Hotel security then threw us back in the street. The police dog branch had turned up and they went mental. One of my friends fell and a policeman was about to hit him over the head with his baton. I ran over to stop him.

"The dog bit me on the hand and I fell over. It got hold of me by the leg and dragged me off the pavement into the road."

He added: "My conviction is in the past, it is not relevant."

A former prison officer, who knew Mr Aitkenhead, said: "People will be saying 'look at this poor guy who had his leg bitten by a vicious dog'. But let me tell you, he is no poor guy. "I felt sick when I saw him in the paper. It shows the calibre of people who were involved in this."

Trouble started in Manchester city centre when an open air screen showing the match, which Rangers lost 2-0, failed to work. Fifteen police officers and a police dog were injured and a Russian supporter was stabbed. Eleven Rangers fans have been charged with various offences.
Post by: T Fearon on May 19, 2008, 03:38:20 PM
In the Daily Record on Saturday, Mr Aikenhead, or Alex the bollix, was strongly of the opinion that said dog should be given a tetanus injection without delay :D :D :D
Post by: EC Unique on May 19, 2008, 03:41:46 PM
I hope the poor dog at least got some mouth wash after. Were his teeth ok? :D :D
Post by: stiffler on January 28, 2009, 05:27:44 PM
Met Police release pics of the fans they was to question in connection with rioting.

http://news.sky.com/skynews/Home/UK-News/Football-Hooligans-Suspects-After-2008-Glasgow-Rangers-Vs-Zenit-St-Petersburg-Uefa-Cup-Final/Media-Gallery/200901415211211?lpos=UK_News_News_in_Picture_Home_Region_0&lid=GALLERY_15211211_Football_Hooligans%3A_Suspects_After_2008_Glasgow_Rangers_Vs_Zenit_St_Petersburg_Uefa_Cup_Final (http://news.sky.com/skynews/Home/UK-News/Football-Hooligans-Suspects-After-2008-Glasgow-Rangers-Vs-Zenit-St-Petersburg-Uefa-Cup-Final/Media-Gallery/200901415211211?lpos=UK_News_News_in_Picture_Home_Region_0&lid=GALLERY_15211211_Football_Hooligans%3A_Suspects_After_2008_Glasgow_Rangers_Vs_Zenit_St_Petersburg_Uefa_Cup_Final)
Post by: cavan4ever on January 28, 2009, 05:47:21 PM
A few lads will be shitting it now id say they though they had gotten away with it  :D :D :D
Post by: An Fear Rua on February 23, 2009, 04:30:31 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/manchester/7905499.stm

Policeman held over Uefa violence
Post by: illdecide on February 23, 2009, 05:01:52 PM
TONY HAS BEEN TELLING YOUS THAT FOR YEARS ABOUT THE COPPERS...So the cop is a Rangers fan and liked a riot, he'll prob get the george cross for it...lol :P