GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 25, 2007, 05:52:23 PM

Title: Tyrone vs Donegal NFL
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 25, 2007, 05:52:23 PM
After a dogged and determined (and well deserved) win for Donegal today against the Dubs, and a tame performance from ourselves in our capitulation against Cork last night, the stage is now set for the Omagh showdown in two weeks -- Donegal looking for Mc Kenna Cup revenge, and ourselves looking to rebound emphatically. 

Should be an interesting tie!
Title: Re: Tyrone vs Donegal NFL
Post by: Bensars on February 25, 2007, 06:07:30 PM
fear, are you the same guy that used to post on the hogan stand??
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on February 25, 2007, 06:50:40 PM
Quote from: Bensars on February 25, 2007, 06:07:30 PM

I was wondering that myself.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 25, 2007, 07:11:39 PM
Quote from: Bensars on February 25, 2007, 06:07:30 PM

Yes Bensars, one and the same, though I've been banned from posting there for being too grown-up and sensible!  :)

Seriously though, the administrators/editor (or Kindergarten Kops) on hoganstand.com are not interested in serious discusssion or debate; they prefer the mudslinging and playground-level antics, despite claims to the contrary. Neutral posts of mine were often withheld, but were I to have a go at another poster, then they posted it. All very childish.
Post by: tyroneman on March 01, 2007, 01:50:24 PM
MH and the players will have had a good break to digest the aftermath of the Cork game and hopefully will have done some real soul searching.

The question is - does MH go for essentially the same team again (minus Mugsy) to give them a shot at redemption, or does he go for others who may take thier chances?

IMHO - Mellon, Carlin, Hughes and Cavanagh jnr should all sit this start out with Cavo moved to CHF.

Justin McMahon at Mf anyone??? and Rouse in for a start at FF

Ricey should be back(?) to steady the backs and Jordan could well get a work out.

I would keep Mulgrew in as his workrate has improved a lot, same for McCullogh. SON is way off form at present and needs games.

Any word on Joe McMahon? When is he due back in trianing?
Post by: EC Unique on March 01, 2007, 02:22:34 PM
Tyrone would need to win this one to keep on course for a play off place. Otherwise they will be depending on other results.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 01, 2007, 02:33:58 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on March 01, 2007, 01:50:24 PM
MH and the players will have had a good break to digest the aftermath of the Cork game and hopefully will have done some real soul searching.

The question is - does MH go for essentially the same team again (minus Mugsy) to give them a shot at redemption, or does he go for others who may take thier chances?

IMHO - Mellon, Carlin, Hughes and Cavanagh jnr should all sit this start out with Cavo moved to CHF.

Ricey should be back(?) to steady the backs and Jordan could well get a work out.

I would keep Mulgrew in as his workrate has improved a lot, same for McCullogh. SON is way off form at present and needs games.

I would agree with that analysis largely; would like to see Justin Mc at midfield too (know that he's half-back for Omagh, but even so), Carlin does much better, and is much more of a threat to the opposition, from the half-back line.

MH has a few big calls on this one.
Post by: loughshore lad on March 01, 2007, 02:49:29 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 01, 2007, 02:33:58 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on March 01, 2007, 01:50:24 PM

I would agree with that analysis largely; would like to see Justin Mc at midfield too (know that he's half-back for Omagh, but even so), Carlin does much better, and is much more of a threat to the opposition, from the half-back line.

MH has a few big calls on this one.

Does Justin McMahon not play mid filed for Omagh - any Omagh game I have seen he was playing midfield, had to be moved out of midfield twice against Ardboe last year as he couldnt cope with John McConville
Post by: realredhandfan on March 01, 2007, 03:06:56 PM
kelvin Hughes at least deserves his chance now.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 01, 2007, 03:11:18 PM
Quote from: loughshore lad on March 01, 2007, 02:49:29 PM

Does Justin McMahon not play mid filed for Omagh - any Omagh game I have seen he was playing midfield, had to be moved out of midfield twice against Ardboe last year as he couldnt cope with John McConville

Could be wrong there, it's a while since I've seen him playing, but that would be a worry that he had to be shifted.
Post by: loughshore lad on March 01, 2007, 03:23:58 PM
Quote from: realredhandfan on March 01, 2007, 03:06:56 PM
kelvin Hughes at least deserves his chance now.

Do you reckon he has what it takes to play midfield at county level?
I would not have seen enough of him to make a definite judgement but on what I have seen I dont know.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on March 01, 2007, 03:27:54 PM
QuoteJordan could well get a work out
Doubt it...

Has Kelvin Hughes not had a few games for Tyrone in the McKenna cup?
Post by: ziggysego on March 01, 2007, 03:35:23 PM
There seems to be a campaign about to start on the Hoganstand website to get the Tyrone County Board to put the game back by one day, so that Greencastle gets the maximum support possible for their All Ireland Final game against Kerry's Duagh.

I'm told that Kerry County Board has been approached to put back Kerry's NFL game to accommodate Duagh and Artfark.
Post by: tyroneman on March 01, 2007, 07:34:41 PM
It's a shame that Tyrone's achilles heel(s) seem to be returning once again.

We thought we had FB sorted once...........then tragedy.
Thought it was sorted again.....then Joe gets injured (and why does MH not seem to rate him???)

We thought we had MF sorted............then Hub loses all semblance of form

Unless we get these positions sorted we are in for a quiet year IMHO.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 01, 2007, 09:40:43 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on March 01, 2007, 07:34:41 PM
It's a shame that Tyrone's achilles heel(s) seem to be returning once again.

We thought we had FB sorted once...........then tragedy.
Thought it was sorted again.....then Joe gets injured (and why does MH not seem to rate him???)

We thought we had MF sorted............then Hub loses all semblance of form

Unless we get these positions sorted we are in for a quiet year IMHO.

For once I agree with you Tyroneman, youse are in for a quiet year!!!  ;)
Post by: reddgnhand on March 01, 2007, 10:51:16 PM
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on March 01, 2007, 03:27:54 PM
QuoteJordan could well get a work out
Doubt it...

Has Kelvin Hughes not had a few games for Tyrone in the McKenna cup?

He's had 2 starts(subbed in 1) and to be honest has not impressed at all. Had heard good reports about him but was totally ineffective in the 2 games he played in. 
Post by: realredhandfan on March 02, 2007, 08:46:38 AM
He had an excellent game against Monaghan in the Mc Kenna cup, How could you justify starting Mc Mahon in midfield over him, he has had no good games at midfield for Tyrone..
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 02, 2007, 12:17:10 PM
Quote from: realredhandfan on March 02, 2007, 08:46:38 AM
He had an excellent game against Monaghan in the Mc Kenna cup, How could you justify starting Mc Mahon in midfield over him, he has had no good games at midfield for Tyrone..

I wouldn't rule Justin Mc out simply because he hasn't played at midfield before, after all Joe had never played at full back before either, and excelled. That's not to say Kelvin Hughes shouldn't be given a run-out however.
Post by: phpearse on March 06, 2007, 04:55:12 PM
This was back on page 3.

In any case Ricey is back from suspension and should be an automatic choice to drop into the full back that had their hands full against Cork. Dooher could also make his first start.

Saturday will be a double header at Healy Park with the U21 playing Donegal in the prelim round of the Ulster Championship. So I'm guessing the lads like Cavanagh, Dobbs, McCaul, Marlow, McCarron etc will all be togging out for the U21s and not the seniors. First game at 5.30 and seniors at 7.30, both under lights I would imagine.
Post by: realredhandfan on March 06, 2007, 05:16:05 PM
In fairness congrats to the various organising bodies who have put this double header together, a superb evenings football. 
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 06, 2007, 06:51:36 PM
Yeah, great evening's football in prospect, and proper that it's both counties that have both U21s and Seniors out (as opposed to different opposition in the U21).
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 06, 2007, 09:18:39 PM
Tyrone's Conor Gormley believes that their heavy Allianz NFL defeat by Cork last time out could benefit the team for the remainder of this season.

Gormley acknowledges that the team "perhaps got a bit carried away" by their McKenna Cup triumph and opening NFL wins over Dublin and Fermanagh.

"Maybe we were hyped up as All-Ireland champions already and maybe that got into a few heads," he told the BBC.

Tyrone players 'got carried away'

Tyrone face Donegal in the Allianz NFL at Healy Park on Saturday evening.

The Carrickmore man is expecting a tough game against Donegal, who have the only 100 per cent record in Division 1A.

"Donegal are contenders for the Ulster title and they maybe will want to prove a point as well after we beat them in the McKenna Cup final.

"We would hope that the Cork game was a blip although there is no doubt that we were outplayed by them that night.

"You have to give credit to Cork but we were disappointed in our own performance.

"We've now got the Donegal game to look forward to and the batteries have been recharged for Saturday's game."

Post by: ONeill on March 06, 2007, 10:53:11 PM
An excellent, mature and honest remark from Conor Gormley. The likes of Burns, Brolly and every Tom, Dick and Harry had Tyrone as unbeatable in 2007. Cork was the perfect tonic for journalists and Tyronnies alike. I know of a bookie who was taking a few bets on Tyrone winning the McKenna/NFL/Ulster and Sam quadruple. Having won Sam in 2003, 2005 it doesn't necessary follow then 2007.

Well said Conor!
Post by: ziggysego on March 06, 2007, 11:00:47 PM
He definately is a mature person indeed O'Neill. However if you had asked any right thinking Tyrone man after the Cork game, none of them were too down hearted. It's better to get a defeat now than in the summer.
Post by: recall06 on March 07, 2007, 01:59:41 PM
Jordan def wont be playing against Donegal. He has just returned from Germany having received a double Hernia opperation. He was over at the same surgeon that Joey MacMahon was at a few weeks ago. Prob be a month before we see him in a tyrone top again. Other players out for Donegal game are McGee (Shoulder), Carlin (ankle) and Tommy McGuigan (ankle)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 07, 2007, 02:23:47 PM
Quote from: recall06 on March 07, 2007, 01:59:41 PM
Jordan def wont be playing against Donegal. He has just returned from Germany having received a double Hernia opperation. He was over at the same surgeon that Joey MacMahon was at a few weeks ago. Prob be a month before we see him in a tyrone top again. Other players out for Donegal game are McGee (Shoulder), Carlin (ankle) and Tommy McGuigan (ankle)

And was Joe Mc's a double hernia operation too recall?
Post by: uselessfootballer on March 07, 2007, 02:29:53 PM
With those absentees added to to the few other longtermers, Mugsy and all of the U-21s, the panel is looking a wee bit light for Saturday, in what now looks like a must win game if we are to reach the play-offs.
Post by: Over the Bar on March 07, 2007, 02:38:04 PM
QuoteAnd was Joe Mc's a double hernia operation too recall?

McMahon's was a calcite growth on the pubic bone I believe. 
Post by: Bensars on March 07, 2007, 02:46:48 PM
Joe was back training with omagh 10 days ago and apparrently  very fit.

Some of the omagh lads couldnt believe he was back training on a few days after the operation.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 07, 2007, 02:48:08 PM
Quote from: Bensars on March 07, 2007, 02:46:48 PM
Joe was back training with omagh 10 days ago and apparrently  very fit.

Some of the omagh lads couldnt believe he was back training on a few days after the operation.

Thanks Over, and great news Bensars.
Post by: loughshore lad on March 07, 2007, 02:56:23 PM
Quote from: recall06 on March 07, 2007, 01:59:41 PM

Tommy has an ankle injury and def wont be playing, I think he has to have an x ray to see what the damage is.
Post by: tyroneman on March 08, 2007, 01:22:59 PM
Could be in trouble for this game if Big Sean has to sit it out. MF will look very weak indeed.

Personally I would like to see Mulgrew kept from the u-21 game and given his head with the seniors as much as possible.

Cavo at CHF and Rouse at FF.

the 2 Hughes in MF maybe?

Does anyone know how far away Joe McMahon is from even a run out?????

And would not put it past MH to give a certain someone his first run out of the year........... ;)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 08, 2007, 02:54:01 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on March 08, 2007, 01:22:59 PM
Could be in trouble for this game if Big Sean has to sit it out. MF will look very weak indeed.

Personally I would like to see Mulgrew kept from the u-21 game and given his head with the seniors as much as possible.

Cavo at CHF and Rouse at FF.

the 2 Hughes in MF maybe?

Does anyone know how far away Joe McMahon is from even a run out?????

And would not put it past MH to give a certain someone his first run out of the year........... ;)

Yep, piece of big-time juggling required from MH here, will be interesting. Could be the game to make or break a few for the season ahead, though not sure the U21 management would be happy with R Mulgrew sitting the curtain-raiser out.
Post by: uselessfootballer on March 08, 2007, 03:12:29 PM
In previous seasons MH made a big thing of not picking U-21s when there was a clash.

If they are U-21 then they should be allowed to play for U-21 in the first instance, was his stated poisition. Can't see that he would change his stand on that now. Championship, at whatever grade comes first.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 08, 2007, 03:45:58 PM
Fair point, can't see MH pushing with the U21s too much, he's only too well aware of what's involved with management at that level from experience.  Restricts the options though.
Post by: recall06 on March 08, 2007, 04:15:44 PM
Possible line out for sat
Packie
Ricey, Cormac, PmcGurk
Davy, Conor, Justin Mac
  Cavanagh, Hughes
Dooher, Calvo, Enda
Mugsy, Stevie, Mellon

If Cavanagh not fit then Calvo to midfield, Mugsy to CHF and possibly Colm McCullagh
Post by: KIDDO on March 08, 2007, 04:48:08 PM
Mulligan is suspended ,
Post by: uselessfootballer on March 08, 2007, 05:10:37 PM
I'd say you're looking at Hughes and Hughes in the middle of the field (sounds like a firm of solicitors) if Sean is out.

I'm a big fan of Ger Cavlan's but don't think he has the legs for midfield anymore, will still do a great job at 11 or 12.
Post by: realredhandfan on March 08, 2007, 05:37:54 PM
Boys and gals get along early, this Under 21 game will be a cracker,  Lets bring 10 000 to an under 21 championship and show the GAA shes for keeps.
Post by: realredhandfan on March 08, 2007, 05:47:01 PM
Is there anyone who would be brave enough to have a guess at picking the 2 tyrone teams,  O Neill would certainly be brave enough but is he wise enough????
Post by: ONeill on March 08, 2007, 07:10:44 PM
The Tyrone U21 side that took the Shamrock Cup recently was:

John Curran,
Damien McCaul, Cathal McCarron, PJ Quinn,
Brendan Boggs, Paul Marlow, Martin Murray,
Raymond Mulgrew, John Kelly,
Aidan Cassidy, Mark Cunningham, Ronan McRory,
Conor O'Donnell , Cathal McCarron, Niall McGinn.
Subs: Kieran McGinley, Niall McGinnl, Gareth Devlin, Philip Toner

Throw in McMahon and Cavanagh.
Post by: ONeill on March 08, 2007, 07:17:02 PM
Seniors - I'd plump for:

Packie
Ricey, Cormac, McGee
Davy, Conor, Carlin
Donnelly, Hughes
Dooher, Cavlan, McGinley
McCullagh, Stevie, Mellon
Post by: reddgnhand on March 08, 2007, 07:35:07 PM
Is Justy McMahon not overage for the U21's?
Post by: realredhandfan on March 08, 2007, 07:46:31 PM
Is the match on television lads and by that i mean pee per view,
Can we put 10 thousand at the under 21s lads can we really do this?
Title: Tyrone Teams
Post by: never kickt a ball on March 08, 2007, 08:47:24 PM
SENIOR AND U-21 TEAMS TO PLAY DONEGAL
08 Mar 2007

The Tír Eoghain Senior team to play Dún na nGall in the Allianz NFL match in Healy Park on Saturday at 7.30 pm is:

Pascal McConnell, Ryan McMenamin, Cormac McGinley, Michael McGee, Davy Harte, Conor Gormley, Dermot Carlin, Peter Donnelly, Kelvin Hughes, Brian Dooher (Capt.), Enda McGinley, Declan Treanor, Martin Penrose, Stephen O'Neill, Colm McCullagh.

Subs: Jonathan Curran, Gerald Cavlan, Colm Donnelly, Niall Gormley, Colin Holmes, Kevin Hughes, Aiden McCarron, Damian McDermott, Tommy McGuigan, Justin McMahon, Ryan Mellon, Michael Murphy, Paul Quinn, Paul Rouse.

Manager: Mickey Harte

The Tír Eoghain U-21 team to play Dún na nGall in the first round of the Ulster Championship match in Healy Park on Saturday at 5.30 pm is:

Jonathan Curran, Damien McCaul, Cathal McCarron, PJ Quinn, Brendan Boggs, Ciaran McGinley, Martin Murray, Raymond Mulgrew (Capt.), Colm Cavanagh, John Kelly, Marc Cunningham, Ronan McRory, Conor O'Donnell, Aidan Cassidy, Cathal McCarron.

Subs: Greg Kelly, John Gilmore, Niall Kerr, Jason McAnulla, Gerard McCaughey, Niall P McGinn, Shane O'Hagan, Dean O'Neill, Shaun O'Neill

Managers: Martin Coyle, Liam Donnelly

http://www.tyronegaa.ie/county/football/news/story.jsp?newsid=314

Post by: ONeill on March 08, 2007, 09:05:43 PM
Didn't foresee the Treanor and Penrose inclusion. Decent forward options on the bench. A possible lack of creativity perhaps? Perspiration over inspiration?
Post by: never kickt a ball on March 08, 2007, 09:23:10 PM
Dooher ends long injury nightmare 

Brian Dooher will end a nine-month injury nightmare when he makes his first NFL start of the season against Donegal at Healy Park on Saturday.
Dooher's return is one of seven changes made by manager Mickey Harte from the team that lost heavily to Cork. Ryan McMenamin returns to the defence after a four-week suspension and in attack Enda McGinley replaces the suspended Owen Mulligan. Kelvin Hughes and Declan Treanor make their debuts in midfield and attack. Hughes gets his league debut at midfield as part of a new combination alongside Peter Donnelly, the pair replacing Sean Cavanagh and Gerard Cavlan. Treanor gets the nod ahead of Colm Cavanagh in attack. Martin Penrose comes in, following a spell in the half back line.
Tyrone boss Mickey Harte told the BBC that everybody connected with the Red Hands had to hear a few "home truths" after the defeat by Cork. "When we win, we all accept responsibility and it's the same if you lose," said Harte Everybody involved, including the management, had to accept responsibility for what happened in Cork. It's not about blaming individuals. It's a collective thing." "You had to give Cork credit as well. They played much better than us and maybe to an extent, they just didn't let us play. "The last few minutes of the game was exhibition stuff by them but we would need to play a lot better against Donegal." Brian McGuigan has returned to club duty but he is unlikely to be unavailable for the county until later this month.

Tyrone: P McConnell, R McMenamin, C McGinley, M McGee, D Harte, C Gormley, D Carlin, P Donnelly, K Hughes, B Dooher, E McGinley, D Treanor, M Penrose, S O'Neill, C McCullagh.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/6432827.stm
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 08, 2007, 09:37:31 PM
Interesting Senior selection indeed, with a few surprises. If certain players come up to the mark in this game (MH believes it's going to happen, so I won't argue) then they'll surely have arrived, and in the groove; and overdue it maybe but nonetheless welcome for all that.  A strong bench too in the circumstances. Here's hoping Seán Cav (and Brian Mc Guigan, Joe Mc Mahon, and Philly Jordan) don't dally too long in returning to the strip. Tír Eoghain abú!
Post by: tyroneboi on March 08, 2007, 09:55:44 PM
Quote from: never kickt a ball on March 08, 2007, 09:23:10 PM
Dooher ends long injury nightmare 

Brian Dooher will end a nine-month injury nightmare when he makes his first NFL start of the season against Donegal at Healy Park on Saturday.
Dooher's return is one of seven changes made by manager Mickey Harte from the team that lost heavily to Cork. Ryan McMenamin returns to the defence after a four-week suspension and in attack Enda McGinley replaces the suspended Owen Mulligan. Kelvin Hughes and Declan Treanor make their debuts in midfield and attack. Hughes gets his league debut at midfield as part of a new combination alongside Peter Donnelly, the pair replacing Sean Cavanagh and Gerard Cavlan. Treanor gets the nod ahead of Colm Cavanagh in attack. Martin Penrose comes in, following a spell in the half back line.
Tyrone boss Mickey Harte told the BBC that everybody connected with the Red Hands had to hear a few "home truths" after the defeat by Cork. "When we win, we all accept responsibility and it's the same if you lose," said Harte Everybody involved, including the management, had to accept responsibility for what happened in Cork. It's not about blaming individuals. It's a collective thing." "You had to give Cork credit as well. They played much better than us and maybe to an extent, they just didn't let us play. "The last few minutes of the game was exhibition stuff by them but we would need to play a lot better against Donegal." Brian McGuigan has returned to club duty but he is unlikely to be unavailable for the county until later this month.

Tyrone: P McConnell, R McMenamin, C McGinley, M McGee, D Harte, C Gormley, D Carlin, P Donnelly, K Hughes, B Dooher, E McGinley, D Treanor, M Penrose, S O'Neill, C McCullagh.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/6432827.stm

so has the panel been cut or wat is the story? Looks to be a lot of dead wood still in the squad and even starting team. Im thinking of Colm Donnelly, Peter Donnelly and Mickey Murphy. Maybe with the U-21 game being on at the same time the panel may not be cut for definite yet
Dont know what Paul Rouse has to do to get an opportunity in the starting team would definitely be a better option than the likes of Penrose and Treanor. Maybe its interesting to note that in the 4 biggest games so far this year (McKenna Cup Final and 3 league games) he has only got 5 mins at the end. Think he can offer something different to the full forward line and can also do a good job in midfield.
Still expect a Tyrone victory in this one though it will be closer that the McKenna Cup final. Good to see Dooher back as well!
Post by: ClosetotheHarte on March 09, 2007, 12:09:39 AM
It doesn't seem as if there has been anybody cut from the Senior panel yet - as you say tyroneboi that's probably because there are six or seven players involved with the Under-21s, unless some of those aren't going to be going back to join the Seniors when the Under-21s are finished.
Apart from the Under-21s, others missing from the Seniors this weekend are Mugsy, Joe McMahon, McGuigan and Jordan, plus Gourley and Holmes (assuming these two are still considered as panelists throughout their injuries). The Manager is definitely keeping the door open to players for as long as possible this year. There must be over 40 still involved some way with the squad.
Saturday is the big chance for Kelvin Hughes and Declan Treanor plus Peter Donnelly and Martin Penrose are getting another chance in different positions this time. Funny seeing Treanor in the half forwards and his club mate Cavlan on the bench.
We're going to miss Mulgrew on Saturday - but hopefully he'll be leading the Under21s to victory.
Fingers crossed that Dooher is ready for a big year from Saturday on. We still need him and he's just what we need now to help make sure there is no repeat of the poor display in Cork. I think that game will be put behind us on Sat but Donegal aren't going to lie down like they did in the 2nd half of the Mckenna Final, that's guaranteed.
Post by: tyroneman on March 09, 2007, 12:21:24 AM
Jaysus, this is one of those times when ye really need to put faith in MH.

Peter Donnelly should have got the road last year - I think it's only the recent write ups for the poly that has got him in.

Penrose has done NOTHING for Tyrone since he made the senior panel - NOTHING

Cavo on the bench - MH obviously wants options to help if things don't go to plan, but Enda at CHF - ball winner yes, competitor, yes, playmaker NO NO NO
Post by: loughshore lad on March 09, 2007, 09:20:35 AM
Serious reservations about our midfield parining on Saturday night. Donegal are very good in this area regardless of what pairing from Gallagher, Cassidy or Monaghan plays I fear they will be much too physically strong for the pairing Tyrone have selected. Would love to be proved wrong though.
The forward line doesnt look very potent either although there are a few good options on the bench.
This game will be very interesting, I dont think there is as much between the teams as the McKenna cup final scoreline suggests. Knowing Brian McIver he will have his homework done on Tyrone and the Donegal lads bouncing off the walls for this one - I just hope we can sneak a victory.
Post by: recall06 on March 09, 2007, 09:44:18 AM
Yes some fellas have been dropped from Mickeys Panel. Ciaran McRory, Paul McGurk, Chris Colhoun and Daisy McDermott. Heard big Sean turned up to trainin last nite in an Air Cast. It's some sort of cast to protect his foot for a while. McGee still a slight Doubt for sat even though he's down to start.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 09, 2007, 09:48:28 AM
Yeah, midfield would appear to be a particular worry here, but if MH has faith that Peter Donnelly is going to step up to the Senior plate, and exhibit some of the great qualities he so regularly displayed as an U21, then I'll give him the benefit of that doubt at this point and hold counsel (what MH sees in training has to inform his judgement).  And contrary to what some of us thought about Peter Donnelly against Cork, I think he actually did OK -- stopped a lot of ball reaching their full forwards for the short time he was on with some great high-fielding (not that that was particularly evident from the final score, but it could have been so much worse) -- if only he could up and maintain is workrate...

Kelvin Hughes deserves his chance, and again, this is his big opportunity, a do or die on the county scene since Donegal is the team to extract maximum from any aspirant.
Post by: nrico2006 on March 09, 2007, 10:52:17 AM
As Tyrone man said, Donnelly should have got the road a long time ago.  This has to be his last chance, hes been given enough and has not shown anything!
Post by: realredhandfan on March 09, 2007, 11:29:13 AM
I agree with all, this is a strong  opportunity for some and a last opportunity maybe for others.  However we are criticising the changes before the game starts many of whom were not playing against Cork and yet we were not calling time on their careers.  Its still March and to say this is Kelvins one and only chance is a little unfortunate.  I admit pressure is high and its a big chance for him, but surely hes entitled to the same slack afforded to Mellon, Penrose, C Mc ginley, Mc gee, Donnelly and even legends like Cavanagh etc who took over a year to settle into the panel.  Im looking forward to the game but a little worried about our half forward line and again our no 3.  Im disappointed Mc ginn didnt make the starting 15 for the under 21s, but thats some panel of talent.  lets hope they deliver and the conveyor belt keeps turning.  i for one will be watching the full forward line, full back and the midfield of the under 21s for to see potential senior stuff inthe next 12 months.   
Post by: nrico2006 on March 09, 2007, 12:22:49 PM
Agree with realredhand fans concern over no.3, definite concern.  Cormac McGinley is a good player but really lacks pace.  Hopefully Joe Mc Mahon returns there when he returns to fitness.
Title: Donegal team
Post by: J70 on March 09, 2007, 01:03:28 PM
Same again, with the exception of Karl Lacey returning in place of Thomas Donoghue.

Pol O Durcain                Na  Ceithre Maistri             Paul Durcan

Neil Mac Aoidh            Gaoth Dobhair                    Neil McGee

Padraig O Cathmhaoill  Naomh Conaill                    Paddy Campbell

Carol De Lasa              Na Ceithre Maistri              Karl Lacy

Padraig Mac Conigaile  Gaeil Fhanada                    Paddy McConigley

Barri O Muineachain     Na Ceithre Maistri              Barry Monaghan

Barri O Duinin               Na Ceithre Maistri              Barry Dunnion

Nial O Gallchoir            Gleann Sulai                       Neil Gallagher                     

Caoimhin O Casaide      Gaoth Dobhair                   Kevin Cassidy

Sean Mac Gilla Eoin      Naomh Conaill                   Johnny McLoone

Ruairi O Caomhánach   Naomh Adhamhain            Rory Kavanagh

Brian O Ropier              Aodh Ruadh                      Brian Roper

Coilm MacPhaidin         Naomh Michael                 Colm McFadden

Brendan O Duibheannaigh Naomh Adhamhain         Brendan Devenney     

Ciaran O Cnaimhsi         Gleann Sulai                      Ciaran Bonner 
Post by: tyroneman on March 09, 2007, 02:04:26 PM
Quote[Yes some fellas have been dropped from Mickeys Panel. Ciaran McRory, Paul McGurk, Chris Colhoun and Daisy McDermott/quote]

Daisy is listed among the subs for tomorrow so which is it? Dropped or still in?

Big doubts around McGinley. He has been gettign roastings recently and can't see him doing any better tomorrow.

Peter Donnelly has had anough chances on the senior panel. Last year should have been enough for him.

SON could be the man to step up tomorrow. He has been very quiet since his return and revels when the pressure is on him.

Anyhow - bring it on.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 10, 2007, 04:17:24 AM
Jezuz lads are youse soooooo worried???!!!!

Dún na all to win by two points.

Tír Connaill Abú.
Post by: ONeill on March 10, 2007, 06:57:27 AM
I fancy a draw here. Donegal to be robbed as Tyrone get a soft free towards the end. Cassidy mouths off to the ref and gets a straight red, ruling him out of the Championship opener. Donegal decide this is too big a blow and hit the bars with gusto in Bundoran.
Title: Re: U-21 - Tyrone v Donegal
Post by: Armagh Exile on March 10, 2007, 05:31:51 PM
Anyone know the result of this afternoon's Ulster Under-21 Football Championship game between Tyrone and Donegal?
Post by: Tyrones own on March 10, 2007, 05:33:40 PM
  i believe its only getting underway now @ 5.30
Post by: Tyrones own on March 10, 2007, 05:36:18 PM

Its on Highland radio if your interested.
  http://www.highlandradio.com/streaming.php
Post by: Armagh Exile on March 10, 2007, 05:41:19 PM
It is also broadcast of Q101.2 and also on the web
http://www.q101west.fm/q101/new/about.php
Post by: J70 on March 10, 2007, 05:45:51 PM
After about 15 minutes...

Tyrone 0-6 Donegal 0-1

Donegal giving away a lot of scorable frees!
Post by: J70 on March 10, 2007, 06:05:49 PM
Half-time...

Tyrone 0-9 Donegal 0-6

Tyrone 0-6 to 0-0 up after 12 minutes. Donegal changes in midfield and half-forwards working, to an extent. Still giving away a lot of frees though.
Post by: J70 on March 10, 2007, 06:53:10 PM
Easy win for Tyrone U-21s in the end.

Post by: tyroneboi on March 10, 2007, 08:08:49 PM
Any updates on the match? cant be bothered listening to it on the radio!
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on March 10, 2007, 08:13:59 PM
Donegal 1-8 Tyrone 1-3 at half time. Tyrone faded after a decent start, were 1-2 to 0-2 up early on. McGee and C.McGinley off injured.
Post by: tyroneboi on March 10, 2007, 08:18:40 PM
maybe they will turn it round in the 2nd half. who came on? anybody playin well?
Post by: anportmorforjfc on March 10, 2007, 08:19:09 PM
what kind of team has tyrone out tonight
Post by: J70 on March 10, 2007, 08:20:44 PM
Bad mistake in the Tyrone defense for Toyes goal. Donegal are winning midfield and Devenney and McFadden are causing big problems for the Tyrone full backs. Let's hope they can continue it in the second, but I'd imagine Harte will be making quite a few changes.

Dublin 0-9 to 0-2 ahead of Cork.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on March 10, 2007, 08:23:50 PM
Donegal dominating the game....Devenny is causing all sorts of trouble up front....Tyrone having to concede an awful lot of frees....
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on March 10, 2007, 08:25:32 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on March 10, 2007, 08:18:40 PM
maybe they will turn it round in the 2nd half. who came on? anybody playin well?

Justin McMahon came in for McGee and I think it was Paul Quinn who replaced McGinley. According to the radio commentary Davy Harte was at full back at the end of the half :o
Post by: Flirtyflan on March 10, 2007, 08:27:57 PM
Paul Rouse on for Trainor
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on March 10, 2007, 08:32:44 PM
Donegal score a penalty, 2-8 to 1-3. Commentary team seemed very doubtful about penalty award.
Post by: anportmorforjfc on March 10, 2007, 08:53:19 PM
2-9 1-5
Post by: tyroneboi on March 10, 2007, 09:02:31 PM
is it as bad as the scoreline suggests?
Post by: Tatler Jack on March 10, 2007, 09:07:46 PM
Final Score 2-11 to 1-8.
Post by: J70 on March 10, 2007, 09:09:40 PM
Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on March 10, 2007, 08:32:44 PM
Donegal score a penalty, 2-8 to 1-3. Commentary team seemed very doubtful about penalty award.

Devenney probably took an extra step or two in the buildup, but it was a definite foul.
Post by: tyroneboi on March 10, 2007, 09:12:17 PM
Any comments on Tyrone performance? Were they terrible or were Donegal that good? any positives?
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on March 10, 2007, 09:12:48 PM
FT Donegal 2-11 Tyrone 1-8.

I didnt see the penalty incident J70 but the fact that the very pro-Donegal Radio Highland commentary team didnt think it was a penalty was interesting ;) Didnt sound like Tyrone were at the races anyway though.

Disappointing defeat and leaves us with a bit of work to do to secure a place in Division 1 for next season. Sounded like the midfield of Donnelly and Kelvin Hughes struggled to make any real impact there tonighst. On the positive side Dooher got a full game under his belt and got a good point at the end.
A lot of people were saying a couple of weeks back how hard it was going to be for Mickey to pick a panel....should be bit easier after the last couple of games.
Post by: J70 on March 10, 2007, 09:16:04 PM
Nice revenge for the McKenna Cup defeat, but Tyrone were missing Kavanagh, Mulligan and McGuigan. Good performances all over the field, particularly in the second quarter when the match was won. Very encouraging when you can bring on the likes of Toye, Doherty and Leon Thompson as subs, with men like Michael Hegarty and Eamon McGee left in reserve. The return of Devenney and McFadden has been vital though, and the two of them were excellent tonight.

Kerry up next, with Limerick and Fermanagh to follow. Division 1 status secured. Happy days (for now anyway!).
Post by: J70 on March 10, 2007, 09:18:47 PM
Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on March 10, 2007, 09:12:48 PM
FT Donegal 2-11 Tyrone 1-8.

I didnt see the penalty incident J70 but the fact that the very pro-Donegal Radio Highland commentary team didnt think it was a penalty was interesting ;) Didnt sound like Tyrone were at the races anyway though.

I saw it on the Setanta coverage. No doubt in my mind. At least two defenders brought him down just as he was about to lay it off. The ref was a couple of yards away.

And yes, Tyrone were awful!
Post by: Redgreenery on March 10, 2007, 09:36:23 PM
Quote from: J70 on March 10, 2007, 09:16:04 PM
Kerry up next, with Limerick and Fermanagh to follow. Division 1 status secured. Happy days (for now anyway!).

Is the Kerry game home or away to Donegal?
Post by: J70 on March 10, 2007, 09:38:30 PM
Quote from: Redgreenery on March 10, 2007, 09:36:23 PM
Quote from: J70 on March 10, 2007, 09:16:04 PM

Is the Kerry game home or away to Donegal?

Kerry and Fermanagh are home games for Donegal. Limerick is away.
Post by: FermPundit on March 10, 2007, 09:45:26 PM
Donegal are defintely dark horses for ulster this year. back to back league defeats for Tyrone. when was the last time this happened?
Post by: Goats Do Shave on March 10, 2007, 09:47:49 PM
You would expect the Donegal men to win against Fermanagh & Limerick! Kerry will be tough, but Donegal will have home advantage...so possibly a white wash of the division this year!!??

Some turn around from the performances agaisnt Armagh & Tyrone in the McKenna cup!!!!!
Post by: J70 on March 10, 2007, 09:50:06 PM
Quote from: FermPundit on March 10, 2007, 09:45:26 PM
Donegal are defintely dark horses for ulster this year. back to back league defeats for Tyrone. when was the last time this happened?

Definitely the most promising Donegal squad in many years. Its a shame Tyrone and Armagh are not in the other side of the draw. :P
Post by: Tyrones own on March 10, 2007, 10:15:52 PM
  Fair play to Donegal, came wanting it and got it.
Just wondering where the Board's "Dive" Police are after this game though. ::)
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on March 10, 2007, 10:18:36 PM
Quote from: FermPundit on March 10, 2007, 09:45:26 PM

I think you know fine the answer to that :D

Tyrone will do better when the likes of McMahon, Jordan, Cavanagh, McGuigan and Mulligan return but still a disappointing show by lads who needed big performances to secure their places on the panel. Like I said earlier MH probably has a better idea now who he will be cutting from the squad. Some positives in the under 21 game though, Mulgrew seemed to have an excellent match.
Post by: tyroneman on March 10, 2007, 10:46:39 PM
Just back in from the game and what a night  ???

U-21 were the only bright spots.

For a team beaten big time by Cork the passion and the work ethic still did not seem to be there tonight. As said before Donegal came psyched up and wanted the game much more.

So what to make of it all:

First the refd - and if we are honest he was truly awful - Donegal handled the ball on the ground in the build up to thier first goal - no foul given, Donegal threw the ball on several occasions - no foul given, SON had jersey pulled all night - no foul given, Donegal forwards lay down holding onto Tyrone backs jeresey - free every time

It would be easy to blame the referee for ALL Tyrones problems and that wasn't so.

We were cleaned out in MF - Donnelly has NO future with the Senior panel and Hughes f**ked his chances with that awful attempted clearance which gave the ball away for the first goal. Neither made any dent on the DONegal MF and did little to support the forwards.

Enda at CHF just didn't work. Forwards ran down blind alleys all night (Donegal backs very good has to be said)

Carlin is as headless a chicken as I've seen in along time. Constantly ran in circles or straight into trouble.

Can't say ANY player pulled a shift for Tyrone tonight - all awful from 1-15. Apart maybe from CG.

MH has a lot of work to do just to stay in Div 1.
Post by: ClosetotheHarte on March 10, 2007, 11:29:31 PM
I said here after the Cork game that I wasn't too worried about the performance and put it down to a bad day at the office. I also said that I would be more worried if there was a similar show against Donegal - and sadly that's what we got. On top of that Cork were hammered by Dublin!
I wouldn't go writing us off yet and if anybody can turn this situation around its MH, but something's not right at the moment. The team isn't firing at all and I'm wondering why. I know we have Jordan, McGuigan, Cavanagh, Mugsy and McMahon to add to the team that played tonight, plus a few U21s, but we're not playing with any conviction at all. The fight we saw from Tyrone in the 2nd half v Dublin has disappeared.
Is it simply because the back up players aren't as good as we'd first thought? Not many of our players have come out of the last two games with any credit - but the problem looks to be a team thing rather than individual problems. After the great goal from McGinley tonight which should have set us up for a good performance we did very little afterwards.
It makes our next game so important now - isn't it Limerick next? If it is, we'd need to be getting something out of that game with Kerry and Mayo to come afterwards. If we're going to hit a bad spell now's the time for it but we'd need to get things going again soon. Another beating in Limerick wouldn't be good and right now we can't rule it out completely.
I also have to say Donegal played very well and if they can keep that up they'll be a force this year. Hopefully for them its not another false dawn.

Post by: never kickt a ball on March 10, 2007, 11:51:18 PM
Saturday, 10 March 22:14 GMT

Donegal stretched their lead at the top of Division 1A of the Alliamz National Football League to four points on Saturday evening as they saw off Ulster rivals Tyrone, while Dublin got their League challenge back on track with a comfortable win over Cork.NFL 1A

Tyrone 1-8 Donegal 2-11
Donegal outplayed and outscored a poor Tyrone side to win the NFL Division 1A clash by 2-11 to 1-08 under the lights at Healy Park on Saturday night.The Tir Conaill Men bossed the midfield and showed far more confidence in their finishing keeping the former All-Ireland champions on the back foot throughout.
Brian McIver's side took the lead with a free in the opening few minutes, but it was Tyrone who looked the more threatening of the two sides in the early exchanges.
Enda McGinley exchanged a neat one-two with a fellow player before opening his body up to strike the ball into the back of the net on the sixth minute to light the scoreboard up with a goal to Tyrone.
Two cynical fouls in the space of two minutes gave Donegal two free kicks in a central position, but only one of those was converted. It did prove to be a catalyst for the visitors, who started to rain long balls into the opposing area.
Donegal got their first goal of the evening when a long shot cracked the upright before descending upon a busy goal-mouth area, but the danger was never cleared and Donegal took advantage by hammering the ball into the back of the net.
By this stage, the visitors were in control and dominating the play. The fat lady was starting to clear her throat even before Tyrone had tried to erect some sort of challenge.
Donegal got their second goal of the night on 39 minutes after some barbaric defending in the Tyrone square left the referee with no choice but to blow in favour of the men with yellow and green jerseys. McFadden slotted in the resulting kick.
They missed the strength and guile of Owen Mulligan, who was suspended for the game. But missing one player is never an excuse for a team to collectively put in a poor performance - then again; Donegal hardly gave them a chance to get going.
http://ni.setanta.com/portal/article/gaa?open&articleid=41363330a6beae308025729a0074e3e3
Post by: never kickt a ball on March 10, 2007, 11:56:08 PM
Tyrone 1-08 2-11 Donegal
Donegal maintained their 100 per cent record in Allianz NFL Division 1A by beating Tyrone 2-11 to 1-08 under lights at Healy Park on Saturday night.
Brian McIver's side took an early lead but Enda McGinley netted in the eighth minute to make it 1-1 to 0-2 to Tyrone.

Donegal fought back to lead 1-8 to 0-3 at the break assisted by a goal from substitute Christy Toye on 28 minutes.

Colm McFadden converted a penalty soon after half-time after Brendan Devenney was fouled and Donegal went on to win.

Devenney and Brian Dooher exchanged early points before McFadden popped over a free and then McGinley completed a good move by firing a right foot shot into the net.

Stephen O'Neill, McFadden and Rory Kavanagh all pointed and then Devenney and Kavanagh added further scores to put Donegal ahead once again.

Peter Donnelly replied with a point for Tyrone but Toye took advantage of poor Red Hands defending to score his side's first goal.

Further points by McFadden and Devenney before the interval put Donegal in the driving seat.

Justin McMahon pulled down Devenney to concede the penalty which McFadden dispatched with aplomb.

Mickey Harte's outfit rallied with second half points by O'Neill, Paul Quinn, Davy Harte and Dooher but it was too little, too late.

Ciaran Bonner, Kavanagh and McFadden were the visitors' point scorers after the break.

Donegal : P Durcan, N McGee, P Campbell, K Lacey, P McConigley, B Monaghan, B Dunnion, N Gallagher, K Cassidy, J McLoone, R Kavanagh, B Roper, C McFadden, B Devenney, C Bonner.

Story from BBC SPORT:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/go/pr/fr/-/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/6438651.stm

Post by: Smokin Joe on March 11, 2007, 09:16:28 AM
Does anyone think that Ricey might be getting a letter through the door from the CDC this week?
Post by: bridgegael on March 11, 2007, 09:35:05 AM
when do tyrone expect brian mcguigan to be back playing for them?   we played ardboe yesterday and although mcguigan played the whole game he still seem to be limping abit.
Post by: ONeill on March 11, 2007, 12:30:44 PM
The sky is falling.

No point in repeating what i said on the Tyrone/Cork thread.

Apart from fitness, no positives.

Donegal, well hyped by the media all week to do so, put Tyrone to the sword in impressive fashion.

Finger out Mickey. Cork made you sit up. Donegal confirmed it.
Post by: realredhandfan on March 11, 2007, 12:42:58 PM
agreed.  This panel needs to be worked harder. To call for the new guys heads Tyroneman is ridiculous conor and Stevie had their worse games for Tyrone.  C Mc Ginley  and Mc Gee were rubbish again.  Treanor, Rouse, E Mc Ginley were played out of position and jumped around the 2 midfielders and broyuught their men in with them.  This zone was a mess, Hughes made a goal and lost one,  he will improve, but he supported well.   the second goal was given away as well..  The solo run needs banned from Tyrone defenders now.  Its destroying them..
Post by: ONeill on March 11, 2007, 01:08:04 PM
As said above, the puzzling aspect of both games has been the lack of fight and conviction - the will and want to burst a gut for the county. It almost points to complacency but sure the soundbites all season have been about the old guard fighting to get their places back! I know I said I wouldn't repeat it...but....the 05 team aren't really being troubled by the newcomers in terms of competition for places. Would Mulgrew, Colm Cavanagh, McCarron etc have made a difference last night? Many of the new heads struggled last night.

Where's redhandfan by the way? Has the Moy gagged him, again? We need his positive outlook!
Post by: tyroneman on March 11, 2007, 02:30:42 PM
Quote[To call for the new guys heads Tyroneman /quote]

Donnelly and Carlin? Neither of these would be 'new guys' and I would keep Carlin around as cover.. I'd also see the back of Cormac McGinley in a shot though

Hughes - yes - not good enough.
Post by: reddgnhand on March 11, 2007, 05:43:51 PM
realredhandfan
No harm to you but K hughes was awful last night just does not have it at county level. Tyrone are losing it on the line. P Donnelly has been on the panel 5 years now. 5 F*****g years now. He's not going to make it, Is never going to make it. I'm from Dungannon but for the life of me what in under F**k  does MH see in D Treanor.     
Post by: tyroneman on March 11, 2007, 05:51:00 PM
I agree wholeheartedly. This is the time to make a name for yourself.

Now from what I've seen some like Mulgrew, Cavanagh Jnr, McMahon jnr, McCarron, Rouse and a few others have showed up reaosnably well in places and are worth keeping around.

Others have had thier chance...........P Donnelly, C McGinley, Kel. Hughes and blown it each and every time.
Post by: tones81 on March 11, 2007, 06:10:52 PM
i agree, but would also add penrose too that list
these players are deadwood...time too get rid of them
Post by: ONeill on March 11, 2007, 06:45:46 PM
I think Cormac McGinley has shown well on occasions but suffers badly at other times especially against boys like Devenney. In the McKenna final Devenney roasted him early on.

I think people have short memories regarding Penrose. This time last year he was an able deputy in picking up breaking ball in Dooher's absence and can do that type of job when required. He's worth a place on the panel.

Last night McGee had a nightmare and was responsible for many of the first half frees Donegal knocked over. Carlin was unlucky at times although some of his passes fell chronically short. Sean Cavanagh's presence was sorely missed when Tyrone needed someone to take the game by the scruff. We'd win nowt without him. O'Neill is taking time to get back to himself but as long as he does so eventually we'll bide the time. He needs support. Still not sure if McCullagh has high calibre football in him.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 11, 2007, 07:08:19 PM
Phew, what an evening of mixed emotions!  :P

A big congrats to Greencastle, fantastic result, and great to see the cavalcades of green & white on the way back up on the road to Dublin today.  Met the team bus at about 2:30 just north of Monaghan town, so I'd say there's some craic now in them thar hills!  ;)

Good result for the U21s, totally outclassed Donegal; promising.

As for the senior, it's all been said here, and forebodings before the game about certain suspicions were borne out. Some serious thinking ahead of MH.  Stevie O'Neill is still far off his best, but he's on the way back, and he'll get there in (some more) time, and it would help if the referee wasn't blind. Midfield struggled, and full-back was a problem again. Ger Cavlan was a welcome introduction but he would have been much more effective on the half-forward line, not in the corner.

Still, all is not lost; the hungrier team won on the night, and deservedly so, but with 14 wides against Donegal's 5 at least we made the opportunities for all the problems. We've hit the nadir, there's only one way to go now, and we have to pull it out for the remaining 3 games. Not easy, but possible.

Though he was not in any way the reason for the result, the referee was abominable. I've never yet seen him referee a game consistently -- extremely erratic, and consistently inconsistent: sometimes remembering about steps, then forgetting, yellow card for striking, hopping the ball when a player's lying on it (a foul), ignoring trips, etc.  When a referee has to hop the ball as many times as he did last night it's time to ask questions, and the GAA needs to get real about the inability of some referees to come up to the mark.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on March 11, 2007, 07:23:23 PM
Whatever about the ref being poor maybe it would help if players actually knew what a tackle was - holding someone back and then roaring abuse when penalised!!! Elbowing someone in the back of the head only gets a yellow card!!!!.....The problem Tyrone have is that as individuals there defenders don't get isolated often and have to defend properly especially against physically strong forwards....when this happens they tend to foul rather than tackle correctly...
Post by: Pangurban on March 11, 2007, 07:25:15 PM
A full strength Tyrone team would have that Donegal team for breakfast, you have no worries lads.
Post by: J70 on March 11, 2007, 07:36:38 PM
Quote from: Pangurban on March 11, 2007, 07:25:15 PM
A full strength Tyrone team would have that Donegal team for breakfast, you have no worries lads.

You may be right Pangurban. I do remember you dismissing Donegal as inferior to Down in the run-up to the Championship last year though. :P
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 11, 2007, 07:38:52 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on March 11, 2007, 07:23:23 PM
Elbowing someone in the back of the head only gets a yellow card!!!!.....

Yes, you're talking about Ricey here I think -- that's my point, he couldn't have had anything other than a yellow because the ref had already given a yellow (only) for a sneaky uppercut he took a few minutes previously, that the linesman was in full view of. The question has to be asked: what was the initial yellow card for? If it's a strike it's a straight red, no ifs or buts, if it wasn't what could it have been for then?  It was reflective of this particular referee's inability to interpret and apply the rules properly.
Post by: loughshore lad on March 12, 2007, 08:45:33 AM
Quote from: bridgegael on March 11, 2007, 09:35:05 AM
when do tyrone expect brian mcguigan to be back playing for them?   we played ardboe yesterday and although mcguigan played the whole game he still seem to be limping abit.

Its hard to say when he will be back. Yesterday was has first full game and although he does still sometimes look as though he is limping at times its his ankle that is bothering him. After so much inactivity the joint has become inflammed due to suddenly being used again. In saying that he was still the most influential player on the pitch (as usual!)
Were you playing bridgegael? How many players were yous missing?

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 12, 2007, 08:54:18 AM
Quote from: loughshore lad on March 12, 2007, 08:45:33 AM
Quote from: bridgegael on March 11, 2007, 09:35:05 AM

Its hard to say when he will be back. Yesterday was has first full game and although he does still sometimes look as though he is limping at times its his ankle that is bothering him. After so much inactivity the joint has become inflammed due to suddenly being used again. In saying that he was still the most influential player on the pitch (as usual!)
Were you playing bridgegael? How many players were yous missing?

Thanks for the info, good to hear he's still pulling those strings. An inflamed joint is probably to be expected for a while, and that should subside we'd hope, as long as an (other) operation isn't called for.
Post by: realredhandfan on March 12, 2007, 08:59:55 AM
Listen folks we have to find ourselves a couple of midfield options alongside Cavanagh and at least cover for the hub  He is and has been our midfield for the last 4 years, but even he took a year to settle into that level of foootball.  he was a different player in 2002 as in 2003, Mulgrew hopefully will be a better player this year than last year.  We are very critcal of the Treanors and Hughes of this world whilst we say little about the performances of the experienced Gormley; mc Ginley; Mc Gee  etc.  Mickey Harte had a rubbish night too, so lets lay off them all and give thema break.   To me the root problem is the tactics at the moment,  Defenders running into trouble all the time every man running with the ball until he gets a big hit,  Its like rugby league and it weras you down.. Midfield had 10 bodies in it as very big player in Tyrone brought their men in for the glory catch, the result a mess with wee Donegal men getting breaks.  Id be worried about the big wedding the night before the match this time, you know how our boys love a big night out.
Post by: snappiered on March 12, 2007, 09:11:39 AM
From chatting to a few people after the game Mc Gee wasnt able to start as he had a shoulder injury and i seen him puttin ice on it once he got subtituted. MH was wrong to start him. In saying that Roper didnt come into the game till Mc Gee was taken off, Glad to hear wee Brian is back playing for Ardboe. I know he came on for Tyrone last Saturday night in the game v the U-21s and he was in conseiderable pain after it. Kelvin Hughes has to go from the panel as well as Penrose. Not of them two are up to it. When our club play them in Division 1 this year we wont fear them. Treanor is another player struggling but he is better than the previous two.
Post by: loughshore lad on March 12, 2007, 09:16:21 AM
Unfortunately couldnt make Omagh as was at club games on Saturday evening so only going by what I saw on TV.  I know its relatively early in the season and Tyrone fans are a fickle bunch but for me there are some alarm bells ringing. As I have stated on this board before all this talk about the fantastic strength in depth Tyrone have needs taken with a pinch os salt. Some of the players on the panel are not up to standard required and MH is far too loyal to certain individuals such as Donnelly, McGee and Penrose who dont seem up to the standard required. He has given others like Kelvin Hughes, Treanor etc their chance and unfortunately hey have not really taken it with both hands. I definitely agree with O'Neill, in my mind our best team is the 2005 team plus Kevin Hughes, Ger Cavlin and Raymond Mulgrew.
On another note I would have concerns over the fitness and sharpness of the Tyrone team - they dont look as well prepared as Donegal for example. I really think Donegal will be hard to beat this summer, they have a talented squad with a number of big, physically strong, athletic men who can play ball and an excellent manager in Brian McIvor.

Post by: Star Spangler on March 12, 2007, 10:00:16 AM
I wouldn't be too worried at this stage.  The target for the league this year was to stay in the top flight and I think we might just manage that.  After that, it's a case of using any defeats as a means for highlighting weak areas.  That's what Mickey will use these for - no better man for making positive use out of a negative situation.  Donegal are flying at the minute but they're also drawing a lot of attention to themselves and that won't do them any favours come the business end of the year.  I'm not saying they won't still do well in the championship but it'll make it that bit more difficult.  The reverse is also true - maybe some teams might start to underestimate Tyrone.

If we manage to stay in Div 1 (Div 2 wouldn't be the end of the world either) we'll soon forget these setbacks.  Especially if they instigate some major changes as discussed already here like giving up the Penrose experiment.  I know it wouldn't be a popular opinion here but I also have my doubts about Cavlan btw.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 12, 2007, 10:39:52 AM
Yeah folks, too early for panicking yet. After all, that's what the League's all about: discovering who's up to the mark, and who isn't.  Games like those against Cork and Donegal will actually do us a favour in that all chinks in the armour will be exposed, even at this relatively early stage.  There's ample time to address the weaknesses, and it still feels nowhere near as bad as it did in the last game against Kerry in 2005.

Something as close as possible to the team of '05, with a few of the U21s thrown in, (and I wouldn't dismiss Ger Cavlan just yet either), won't be far away.  Donegal are flying at the minute, but they'll need to watch that they don't peak too early, that performance on Saturday evening was from a team at the top of their game.
Post by: realredhandfan on March 12, 2007, 11:11:56 AM
It seems a few have it in for Hughes,  BTW this was his national league debut,  We had men on that field with 2 all Irelands who played as bad as him.. Ger Cavlan was the worst in the world after Cork, lads we need to be realistic hear, we are playing shite football and in a ruck but we will get out of it.  The team dosent look fit at teh moment too.  Lets not castigate, but encourage the new lads.  Bad bad form from a lot of lads on here. 
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 12, 2007, 11:24:32 AM
Quote from: realredhandfan on March 12, 2007, 11:11:56 AM
It seems a few have it in for Hughes,  BTW this was his national league debut,  We had men on that field with 2 all Irelands who played as bad as him.. Ger Cavlan was the worst in the world after Cork, lads we need to be realistic hear, we are playing shite football and in a ruck but we will get out of it.  The team dosent look fit at teh moment too.  Lets not castigate, but encourage the new lads.  Bad bad form from a lot of lads on here. 

Would agree RRHF that's it's not fair to single him out here, and even though he gifted Donegal their first goal and found the midfield heavy going, he was involved in our own goal, and it was his debut. So, he should be cut some slack and not judged on the basis of that performance alone. It was a big ask as a first game.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on March 12, 2007, 12:17:35 PM
Quote from: realredhandfan on March 12, 2007, 11:11:56 AM

Fair point rrhf and Kelvin Hughes is maybe a bit unfortunate in that he is not just coming out of underage football and wont get the same chance to play a few bad games as some of the younger players would. Thats just the way it is though and he's been on the panel a few months now without doing too much in the few chances he's had to prove he's worth his place. If he gets another chance he's going to have to step up to the mark.

No need to panic as far as the overall team is concerned though. Remember the listless display and defeat to Wexford in the league semi and 2005 and none too impressive championship showings against Down and Cavan.A few months later we had Sam back. Tyrone werent world beaters a few weeks ago after beating the Dubs and winning the McKenna Cup and by the same token arent suddenly a bad team after losing to Cork and Donegal!

The main thing for the remaining 3 league games is to get enough points to secure Division 1 football next season and to address FB. I doubt Cormac McGinley is the answer there and hopefully Mickey will give somebody else a chance to stake a claim there.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 12, 2007, 01:12:10 PM
Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on March 12, 2007, 12:17:35 PM

The main thing for the remaining 3 league games is to get enough points to secure Division 1 football next season and to address FB. I doubt Cormac McGinley is the answer there and hopefully Mickey will give somebody else a chance to stake a claim there.

Joe Mc Mahon may not be too far away by all accounts, and would appear to be the most promising for number 3 at this point.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on March 12, 2007, 01:15:10 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 12, 2007, 01:12:10 PM
Joe Mc Mahon may not be too far away by all accounts, and would appear to be the most promising for number 3 at this point.

I would agree but MH doesnt seem to...Joe has hardly had a game at FB since the AI Final in 2005. Who else could go in there??
Post by: realredhandfan on March 12, 2007, 01:21:38 PM
Dare I say the under 21 full back maybe worth a go.  Hes more of a full than corner back.. Step forward Mc Caul. 
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 12, 2007, 01:40:05 PM
Quote from: realredhandfan on March 12, 2007, 01:21:38 PM
Dare I say the under 21 full back maybe worth a go.  Hes more of a full than corner back.. Step forward Mc Caul. 

Worth a throw!
Post by: loughshore lad on March 12, 2007, 01:49:39 PM

I think he has potential. How did he play for the U21's? Was Cathal McCarron (dromore) not full back for the u21-s on Saturday night?
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on March 12, 2007, 02:18:53 PM
Quote from: loughshore lad on March 12, 2007, 01:49:39 PM

I think he has potential. How did he play for the U21's? Was Cathal McCarron (dromore) not full back for the u21-s on Saturday night?

McCaul was the man I was thinking about regarding a run at full back for the seniors but Im pretty sure it was indeed McCarron who was at FB for the under 21's on Saturday....

Maybe Marlow is the answer in time but looks maybe a bit early at the minute.
Post by: realredhandfan on March 12, 2007, 03:14:41 PM
Mc Carron started as f/b but struggled for pace a little against donegals fastest player. In fact the Dongal f/f line (2) were both sharp and fast. Mc Carron was moved to the corner and eventually taken off but had done a sterling job as they were marking 2 exceptional footballers.  Mc Carron will be another year or 2 id have thought from senior football but looks a good prospect.  Mc Caul plays full back every week for the club - a position we had struggled to fill for a number of years and has held PTG scoreless among others.  IMHO hes probably the best Donaghmore footballer since Cush.  But is a central player not a corner back.  Hes county f/b stuff whether it will be this year or next.  Maybe Mickeys scared because he is only 20 which is understandable enough.  Donaghmores youngest ever player of the year last year. 
Post by: ONeill on March 12, 2007, 03:27:42 PM
Quotehes a very nice lad to boot.

Still possess that fetish eh?
Post by: realredhandfan on March 12, 2007, 03:30:46 PM
Same way Id have kicked yourself in the afterschool games on a Friday. .
Post by: Over the Bar on March 12, 2007, 03:37:49 PM
Quotehes a very nice lad to boot.

That'll reassure MH. 
Post by: realredhandfan on March 12, 2007, 03:57:40 PM
The no 6 for the u21s is he another brother otb.
Post by: Tyrones own on March 12, 2007, 11:20:42 PM

McConnell
Ricey        Gormley      McGee/Carlin

Harte      McMahon      Jordan

Cavanagh   McGinley

Dooher     McGuigan   O'Neill

Mulligan     Rouse/Cavlin     McCullagh/McCarron

Rouse should be given a good chance, O'Neill Needs space to work, too easy tied up at
the edge of the square with any kind of pulling or dragging.
We could switch McMahon and Gormley for height in certain games when necessary.
McCullagh/McCarron and McGee/Carlin can be switched out at times depending on form.
Just my 2 cents :-\
Post by: willyorwonthe on March 13, 2007, 12:21:04 AM
i wasn't at the tyrone v dublin game but watched it on television. my opinion is that there were toomany NIMOS on the Tyrone team compared to Donegal-just my opinion, maybe I'm wrong.
Post by: Tyrones own on March 13, 2007, 12:31:45 AM
Quote from: willyorwonthe on March 13, 2007, 12:21:04 AM
i wasn't at the tyrone v dublin game but watched it on television. my opinion is that there were toomany NIMOS on the Tyrone team compared to Donegal-just my opinion, maybe I'm wrong.

::) ??? ::)
Post by: tyroneman on March 13, 2007, 01:48:21 PM
I know Tyrone fans have a rep as being fickle (from where this comes I'd love to know) but theres absolutley no need to panic at this stage. If we look at our Blackwater neigh bours - did they not get relegated the year they won the AI? (or close to?)

Anyhow. I think the time is right now to keep the young players in the panel and ditch the deadwood.

To my mind a team lined out of:

McConnell

Ricey - McMahon - McGee

Harte - Gormley - Jordan

Cavanagh - Hughes

Dooher - McGuigan - Cavlan

Enda - SON - Mugsy

with the genuine options of Mulgrew, McCarron, McMahon, Rouse, McCullogh, Holmes and Cavanagh Jnr to spring from the bench we would have little to fear from any team.

The bigger issue is whether the heads are right.

I have heard alot of talk about things not being right in the camp, as far back as 2005 between MH and the players.

Hopefully this is all talk but there is some serious soul searching to be done.

Post by: realredhandfan on March 13, 2007, 02:10:30 PM
I know nothing about internal politics,nor do I give a fook,  but I do believe that more youth is needed here. 
McConnell

Ricey has not been working well this year- McMahon untried in nearly 2 years in this position and even then only played 3 games in it - McGee not good enough

Harte - Gormley - Jordan excellent half back line worth a point or 2

Cavanagh (2 points)Tyrones MVP and best footballer in Ireland - Hughes we are basing form on Sept 4 years ago because I havent seen him perform since.  

Dooher needs a full recovery (1 point0- McGuigan needs a full recovery (1 point)  - Cavlan ( I would stick by cavo ) (2 points)

Enda (dont see it yet this year midfield option not cf. - SON(playing poorly will come good) (5 points) - Mugsy playing poorly(odd goal mostly 2 points)
Lets get one thing straight whilst the older lads were suspended and injured this year.  It was a young fearless fresh Tyrone team that stormed the Mc Kenna cup.  I believe many of the older guys have returned too early and are now stale.  Sean C is the biggest worry although if he makes a full recovery the rest will do him no harm.. To say this team is our best team you are taking a risk as many of them are currently injured or out of form..  I think Cathal Mc Carron has played better than all 3 of your f/f line this season and has been doing the business. I think we owe these guys everything, and every chance to get back to the level, but are we gonna keep playing them for nostalgia reasons?    I agree with Mc Cullough on the bench, he will win some games and will be entirely snuffed out on others. 
Post by: tyroneman on March 14, 2007, 01:19:19 PM
RRF - you say youth is required here but what options do you suggest?

Many of these players are tried and tested. Many (all bar Cavo?) of them are also the right side of 30.

you seem quick to discard players like Ricey who has been a star for the past number of years but don;t offer much of a solution re: replacement.

Put yr money where yr mouth is and give us a team you woulod rely on to start the Championship in the summer.
Post by: Over the Bar on March 14, 2007, 01:43:14 PM
Although MCConnel has the greater physical presence, he tends to bomb-scare.  I'd opt for the steadier and more experienced John Devine anyday.
Post by: nrico2006 on March 14, 2007, 02:39:12 PM
QuoteI'd opt for the steadier and more experienced John Devine anyday.

Hardly more experienced, and hes as safe as David James under the high ball!
Post by: Johnnygall13 on March 14, 2007, 06:22:08 PM
Does anybody know where you watch the highlights from that match,think it was on sentanta
Post by: Over the Bar on March 14, 2007, 09:10:57 PM
QuoteHardly more experienced

How many Ulster Club medals does McConnel have?