Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Over the Bar on January 31, 2007, 11:25:45 PM

Title: iPod & iTunes help
Post by: Over the Bar on January 31, 2007, 11:25:45 PM
I;ve uploaded all the music on my PC to the iTunes library ready to transfer it to my Ipod.  Many of the tunes and albums are duplicated tho so how do I remove the duplicates?
Title: Re: iPod & iTunes help
Post by: Homer on February 01, 2007, 12:25:09 AM
Click the Edit menu in the top toolbar and go to Show Duplicate Songs, this will bring up a list of all songs in the library with the same name (songs spelt wrong will not be matched). (As far as I know) You have to manually delete the duplicates.
Post by: Homer on February 01, 2007, 12:33:19 AM
Quote from: Homer on February 01, 2007, 12:25:09 AM
Click the Edit menu in the top toolbar and go to Show Duplicate Songs, this will bring up a list of all songs in the library with the same name (songs spelt wrong will not be matched). (As far as I know) You have to manually delete the duplicates.

Actually a handy way of doing this (provided you have none of these rated), is to go down My Rating column of the list and rate every second one (i.e. all grey or all white rows). When you reach the end just click the My Rating label to order the list by ratings (and thus seperating them) then click the first rated track to select it and hold Shift and click the last rated track to select all of the tracks you rated (or all duplicates) right click the selestion and select Clear.
Post by: Over the Bar on February 01, 2007, 10:13:20 AM
cheers will give it a go.  I have about 3,000 duplicates tho so might take a while.  cheers anyway
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on February 01, 2007, 10:34:04 AM

How long did it take you to put all your CDs on iTunes - if you have 3,00 duplicates, you must have some number of CDs?
Post by: Over the Bar on February 01, 2007, 10:44:37 AM
I bought a 300gb hard drive and have my whole music collection on there and then iTunes just does a search for what's there and imports it.  I've put about 300-400 cds on but also buy my music 40 albums at a time on 1 dvd then transfer it across.
Post by: ludermor on February 01, 2007, 12:54:18 PM
Another i tunes question,
i copied music from afriends computer but when i put them on my computer they want play, it say they are protected. is there anyway around this?
Post by: Over the Bar on February 01, 2007, 02:26:11 PM
Yes there is.  I think an earlier thread touched on this but if not you will get it in google groups as I deffo read it there.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 01, 2007, 04:32:05 PM
Im thinking of getting a Ipod,so just a few quick questions

Where can you get the device and whats it called that tunes into your car stereo so i can play the Ipod thru the  car speakers?
If i download music off bearshare/limewire can i put this onto the Ipod?
Post by: Over the Bar on February 01, 2007, 05:32:06 PM
Quote[Where can you get the device and whats it called that tunes into your car stereo so i can play the Ipod thru the  car speakers?
If i download music off bearshare/limewire can i put this onto the Ipod?/quote]

Yes you can upload mp3 thats you DL from limewire, however the odd one will fail depending on the quality of the original source.

There are a few iTrips about as they are known.  I;d advise against the Griffin iTrip whch is about £15-£20 as I got one and you could hear the FM 'hiss' quite a bit.  Then I got the Monster one which is about £30-£40 and its excellent sound quality.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 01, 2007, 05:36:03 PM
where did you buy?
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on February 01, 2007, 06:48:52 PM
i bought ipod off ebay and it going great 9 months later, it was bought as-new. got ipod speakers off ebay also, nice and cheap.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 01, 2007, 06:52:32 PM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on February 01, 2007, 06:48:52 PM
i bought ipod off ebay and it going great 9 months later, it was bought as-new. got ipod speakers off ebay also, nice and cheap.
I meant the itrips as over the bar called them.But actually i never thought of ebay,much cheaper?
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on February 01, 2007, 07:13:30 PM
got fold up speakers for 99c + $5 p&P, work a treat, ipod was €99 all in.
Title: iPOD solutions for the car
Post by: balladmaker on February 01, 2007, 10:51:57 PM
What do you think is the best iPOD solution for the car.  I got one of those Griffin FM transmitters, which works ok, although it is only really an average enough FM quality. 

Has anyone used any integrated set up which actually connects to the car stereo?

Post by: Over the Bar on February 01, 2007, 11:15:37 PM
Laois lad you can get the Monster iTrip on Ebay for about £20 or less.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 08, 2007, 06:42:13 PM
Right going up to Liffey Valley to get me an Ipod
Whats the best? I was going to get the 40gb one it'd 280euro
Can you download full length movies onto the Ipod?
And this is probably a really silly question but is there a random play function on the Ipod?
Post by: lfdown2 on February 08, 2007, 09:47:02 PM
lads and lassies, recently purchased a few films off itunes, i know ye cant do that at home yet but ye can purchase tv shows afaik, if anyone has done this a wee bit of advice would be greatly appreciated; when i play it in itunes on the laptop it plays in a reduced size box though when you maximise it it jumps anyone bought any films/tv shows had the same problem?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 09, 2007, 08:26:53 PM
Bought myself an iPod.Right i have no problem getting music or pictures onto it but i can't put some movies on it
Any ideas?
When i go to file then import and then pick the file i want sometimes nothing happens
What type of movie file does the iPod play? I've been trying to put mpeg files on it
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 09, 2007, 09:02:38 PM
Laoislad

You need to convert the files to .mp4 format.

Download this super bit of software at www.videora.com which will compress and convert the .avi or mpeg files.

Also handy for uploading to youtube as it plays .mp4s and they reduce the size of the video files considerably.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 09, 2007, 09:13:13 PM
some of the movie files that do make it onto the ipod won't play sound? any ideas
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 10, 2007, 04:18:07 PM
Anyone know of good software for storing dvds on your ipod? Free software would be good ;D
Post by: dublinfella on February 11, 2007, 01:35:03 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 10, 2007, 04:18:07 PM
Anyone know of good software for storing dvds on your ipod? Free software would be good ;D

3gp convertor. converts anything to mp4 and even puts it in ituned for you
Post by: SuperSub on February 13, 2007, 04:53:39 PM
Can anyone explain to me in lay man terms how to put a dvd onto my ipod?
also what software do i use and is there any free downloads of this software?
Thanks
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 13, 2007, 05:34:24 PM
Have been searching the internet myself for same software and only thing i could find of any use was this

http://www.intervideo.com/iVideoToGo/iVideoToGo_Download.jsp

its a 14 day free full trial of their software so in fairness two weeks is plenty of time to get a good few dvds onto your ipod
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 13, 2007, 05:42:37 PM
Anyone subscribed to any good podcasts that are worth watching out for?
Post by: redboots on February 14, 2007, 03:52:15 PM
I plugged my Ipod into a mates Itunes on their PC and got all there music sent to my ipod, does anyone know how I can get it from my Ipod onto Itunes on my own PC.
Post by: Kerry Mike on February 14, 2007, 04:29:37 PM
RedBoots: I recently upgraded my PC and had to do a ipod transfer without reloading all the music.

It was fairly straight forward, I found a good link in google on how to do it, I might have a copy of it in my favourites at home and will stick it up tonight if I find it.

In the meantime be careful not to sync your iPod with your PC as it might wipe the music copied from the other PC!!

Post by: SlimShady on February 14, 2007, 04:33:25 PM
jaysus christ, now thats a post i never thought i'd read. the oul fashioned aran jumper wearing Kerry Mike talking of iPods.

its a bit like a Granda talking about them oul Mobile Telephones!
Post by: Kerry Mike on February 14, 2007, 04:43:05 PM
The World is changing fast, Rugby and Soccer in Croke Park and KM on an iPod. Whatever next....

The iPod is fine but its costing me a f**king fortune in hamsters on the auld dynamo wheel to power the f**ker.

Post by: The Real Laoislad on March 07, 2007, 04:36:53 PM
Just bought a new laptop.When i downloaded itunes and connected my iPod it tells me my iPod is already synced with another iTunes libary and that if i want to sync it to this new laptop i can only transfer and i will have to erase everything else.Is there a way i can get all my music from old pc to new laptop through the ipod
Post by: magickingdom on March 20, 2007, 02:18:38 PM
just bought an ipod on ebay, one problem the language is in chinese. i can change it to english but every time its powered off it revirts to chinese.... anyone know if it can be permanently changed? thx
Post by: Main Street on March 20, 2007, 03:32:17 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on March 20, 2007, 02:18:38 PM
just bought an ipod on ebay, one problem the language is in chinese. i can change it to english but every time its powered off it revirts to chinese.... anyone know if it can be permanently changed? thx
Never had to do it but if I had to I would follow these instructions first.

If you accidentally set iPod to use a language you don't understand
You can reset the language.
1 Press and hold Menu until the main menu appears.
2 Choose the fifth menu item (Settings).
3 Choose the last menu item (Reset All Settings).
4 Choose the second menu item (Reset) and select a language.
Other iPod settings, such as song repeat, are also reset.
Post by: Main Street on March 20, 2007, 04:02:25 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on March 07, 2007, 04:36:53 PM
Just bought a new laptop.When i downloaded itunes and connected my iPod it tells me my iPod is already synced with another iTunes libary and that if i want to sync it to this new laptop i can only transfer and i will have to erase everything else.Is there a way i can get all my music from old pc to new laptop through the ipod
The ipod and pc is a kind of fundamentalist christian islamic marrraige.
Have you found out yet how to do it? Or did you wipe everything out, taking no prisoners?
Post by: magickingdom on March 20, 2007, 09:18:44 PM
thanks main st. think i got sold a right dummy tho, not even sure if ita a real ipod at this stag, the interface looks different. says it on the box tho
Post by: Main Street on March 21, 2007, 11:28:48 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on March 20, 2007, 09:18:44 PM
thanks main st. think i got sold a right dummy tho, not even sure if ita a real ipod at this stag, the interface looks different. says it on the box tho
If iTunes recognises it, then its an ipod. That's the equivalent recognition of a mother to a new born child.

If you are sending it back then okay do it. 
Its not the most sensible item to buy if its a second hand model, battery and hard drive have a varying limited lifespan and instant failure with a hard enough knock.
If you are keeping it then do the simple things first. Treat it as you would a hard disk and reformat the drive by
restoring and updating it in iTunes.

Title: iPhone launch date confirmed in USA
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on June 04, 2007, 08:57:23 AM
Apple has confirmed that its much-anticipated iPhone product will launch on 29 June in the USA.

The date was given in a series of TV adverts broadcast on Sunday 3 June, and was later confirmed by a spokesman for the California-based company.

The device, which combines the features of a mobile phone and personal digital assistant, will sell for $499 (£251) and $599, depending on configuration.

The phone's much-touted feature is a completely touch-sensitive interface.

The adverts on Sunday showed off several of the gadget's features, including surfing the net, watching videos and scrolling through e-mails using a finger as a pointer.

They ended with the news that the phone would be available "Only on the new AT&T" and "Coming June 29".

The product is one of the most highly-anticipated devices ever made by Apple and was announced last January at MacWorld in San Francisco by the firm's chief executive Steve Jobs.

His unveiling of the device managed to overshadow one of the world's largest technology conferences, CES, which was being held at the same time in Las Vegas.

Apple hopes to grab a slice of the global mobile phone market, which dwarfs the market for MP3 players, of which it is the dominant player with the iPod.

It hopes that the phone's multi-touch display, and ability to work with its iTunes music and video store, will make the device attractive to consumers.

A release date for Europe and the rest of the world has not been given.

Do you think they'll be here for Christmas?
Post by: ziggysego on June 04, 2007, 01:13:39 PM
I got an ipod last week... at long last some would say.

Put a few albums on at the weekend.

Why are some songs skipping and why have one album disappeared after one day?
Post by: Over the Bar on June 04, 2007, 01:17:25 PM
Is there an easy way to get rid of duplicate tunes?
Post by: ziggysego on June 04, 2007, 01:19:20 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on June 04, 2007, 01:17:25 PM
Is there an easy way to get rid of duplicate tunes?

That was the first question posed ;)
Post by: tyroneman on June 04, 2007, 06:53:14 PM
I have an Ipod nano 4GB - however the PC with Itunes installed has stopped recognising it. When I connect the Ipod it doesntl show up on the PC as a separate drive  or in Itunes.

I have tried 'add new hardware' and this doesn't find it either.

Help wanted please..................
Post by: SuperSub on June 04, 2007, 07:18:16 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on June 04, 2007, 06:53:14 PM
I have an Ipod nano 4GB - however the PC with Itunes installed has stopped recognising it. When I connect the Ipod it doesntl show up on the PC as a separate drive  or in Itunes.

I have tried 'add new hardware' and this doesn't find it either.

Help wanted please..................
Have you tried resetting your Ipod? press and hold the centre button and the top one untill the screen goes blank.This always works for me
Post by: tyroneman on June 04, 2007, 07:54:26 PM
Cheers Supersub - worked a treat  :)
Post by: ziggysego on June 04, 2007, 07:59:38 PM
No-one helping me with my problem? :(
Post by: ziggysego on June 04, 2007, 08:05:17 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 04, 2007, 08:04:45 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 04, 2007, 07:59:38 PM
Ziggy, what you need to do is turn the computer off. Go and watch tv or take a nice walk. Try and forget about the board for more than 5 minutes. Leave the mobile phone out of the road as this will only tempt you. Good luck, we are all in full support of your battle to beat the board. ;)

I can't walk.....
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 04, 2007, 08:07:16 PM

When you put new songs on Itunes you have to sync them with your Ipod,make sure on the options screen you have sync all music ticked maybe thats why that album isn't on your ipod it probably is on itunes but just not ticked to be synced to your ipod
Post by: ziggysego on June 04, 2007, 08:30:07 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 04, 2007, 08:07:48 PM
Your preferred method of transport or motion then.

My preferred method of transport is Falkor the Luck Dragon from the Never Ending Story, but I'll make do with my wheelchair ;)
Post by: ziggysego on June 04, 2007, 08:30:33 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 04, 2007, 08:07:16 PM

When you put new songs on Itunes you have to sync them with your Ipod,make sure on the options screen you have sync all music ticked maybe thats why that album isn't on your ipod it probably is on itunes but just not ticked to be synced to your ipod

Thanks Laoislad, I'll try that out.
Post by: Main Street on June 05, 2007, 09:36:56 PM
You don't have to have your iPod synced in iTunes in order to put music on it.
I wouldn't want to complicate the instructions for Ziggy.
I find it easier to manage the content on the iPod if syncing is turned off and just transferring new stuff or desired stuff to the iPod manually in iTunes.
If Syncing is turned on, iTunes will automatically dump all the stuff from your library on it and update everytime you connect your iPod.
Ziggy, test to see if the same song on your iPod is skipping in iTunes as well as your iPod. That means play the song in iTunes without your iPod being connected to the computer.

One option is delete the skipping track from your iPod and transfer it again to iPod from iTunes after you have determined that the iTunes track is good.
Post by: ziggysego on June 05, 2007, 09:52:03 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 05, 2007, 09:36:56 PM
You don't have to have your iPod synced in iTunes in order to put music on it.
I wouldn't want to complicate the instructions for Ziggy.
I find it easier to manage the content on the iPod if syncing is turned off and just transferring new stuff or desired stuff to the iPod manually in iTunes.
If Syncing is turned on, iTunes will automatically dump all the stuff from your library on it and update everytime you connect your iPod.
Ziggy, test to see if the same song on your iPod is skipping in iTunes as well as your iPod. That means play the song in iTunes without your iPod being connected to the computer.

One option is delete the skipping track from your iPod and transfer it again to iPod from iTunes after you have determined that the iTunes track is good.

Thanks Main. Will try that out tomorrow. Listening to Christy Moore on it at the moment and going to take an early night.
Post by: ziggysego on June 06, 2007, 08:12:32 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on June 05, 2007, 11:17:29 PM
Ziggy has the ipod helped you get to sleep? A few weeks back you werent sleeping.

Afriad not. Didn't get to sleep last night until 4.30am. On Sunday and Monday nights it was 5.30am.

Going to bed in the daylight and waking in the daylight would send anyone mad!
Post by: heganboy on June 06, 2007, 09:53:44 PM
Ziggy you're a liar!
Your preferred mode of transport is actually a quantum leap. Stop changing your story!
Post by: ziggysego on June 06, 2007, 09:58:55 PM
How'd you know I like Quantum Leap?  :D
Post by: ziggysego on June 06, 2007, 10:11:40 PM
Some days I'm up early and some not. Up early tomorrow, so I'm dreading tonight.
Post by: ziggysego on June 06, 2007, 10:31:50 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 06, 2007, 10:15:00 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 06, 2007, 10:11:40 PM
Some days I'm up early and some not. Up early tomorrow, so I'm dreading tonight.
It's a pain in the hole like. Throw a few halfuns into you.

Will drag myself out of bed real early for the next week or so and see how that does me. Shouldn't be so bad with the good weather.

Thanks for the advice hardstation.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 06, 2007, 11:07:50 PM
Im told a good auld choke of the chain often helps :-[ :-[...it's suppose to relax you thus making it easier to fall asleep and im sure it's a lot more enjoyable than having to get up early all week ;)
Post by: Main Street on June 07, 2007, 10:05:09 PM
Should this thread be renamed to
iPod, iTunes & iSomnia help
Post by: ziggysego on June 07, 2007, 10:09:01 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 06, 2007, 11:07:50 PM
Im told a good auld choke of the chain often helps :-[ :-[...it's suppose to relax you thus making it easier to fall asleep and im sure it's a lot more enjoyable than having to get up early all week ;)

I'd sooner cut my hand off than to that dirty deed  >:(
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 07, 2007, 10:39:56 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 07, 2007, 10:09:01 PM

Same here Ziggy same here :-[ :-\ ;)

AAnyone know if it's possible to put youtube videos onto iPod?
Post by: ziggysego on June 07, 2007, 10:40:58 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 07, 2007, 10:39:56 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 07, 2007, 10:09:01 PM

Same here Ziggy same here :-[ :-\ ;)

AAnyone know if it's possible to put youtube videos onto iPod?

Impossible.
Post by: joebloggs on June 07, 2007, 10:53:05 PM
Yea its called you tube download, send me a pm and ill see if i can email it to you, it downloads the url from youtube, saves it and then you can get it to convert the downloaded file into ipod format which is alot quicker than itunes
Post by: joebloggs on June 07, 2007, 11:11:06 PM
http://www.filefactory.com/file/cc2c0f/
Post by: Syd on June 13, 2007, 11:29:34 AM
Is there a lead i can use to connect my ipod to hi-fi speakers? Cheers
Post by: Main Street on June 13, 2007, 01:16:09 PM
Quote from: Syd on June 13, 2007, 11:29:34 AM
Is there a lead i can use to connect my ipod to hi-fi speakers? Cheers
Your iPod wouldn't have enough grunt to drive hi fi speakers.
The usual way is to connect to  rca inputs on any amplifier
Cable is single 3.5mm mini jack with 2 rca plugs 

Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 31, 2007, 04:12:54 PM
While trying to free up space on my laptop i deleted my music folder as i didn't think i needed as i had all my music on itunes,but seemingly it affects itunes as i now can't play any of the songs i have stored on it.
I do still have all the songs on my ipod though so does anyone know of a way of putting songs back onto my laptop from my ipod?
Post by: aidanmcg33 on July 31, 2007, 07:02:35 PM
Be careful of this, as you can easily wipe the ipod and then you lose all your music. If you open windows explorer, and select your ipod, and then the iPod_Control folder, There is a music folder with all your music. You could create a copy of this before hand just to make sure.
Post by: Main Street on July 31, 2007, 09:18:03 PM
QuoteWhile trying to free up space on my laptop i deleted my music folder as i didn't think i needed as i had all my music on itunes,but seemingly it affects itunes as i now can't play any of the songs i have stored on it.
I do still have all the songs on my ipod though so does anyone know of a way of putting songs back onto my laptop from my ipod?

The first thing you have to do before you do anything else is to check with
options/preferences
advanced
General
make sure there is a tick in the box for
Copy tunes to iTunes music folder when adding to the library

Most likely you had not selected when you added tunes to the iTunes library from your music folder.
That is why you lost them when you trashed the music folder files.

Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 31, 2007, 11:55:28 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 31, 2007, 09:18:03 PM
QuoteWhile trying to free up space on my laptop i deleted my music folder as i didn't think i needed as i had all my music on itunes,but seemingly it affects itunes as i now can't play any of the songs i have stored on it.

The first thing you have to do before you do anything else is to check with
options/preferences
advanced
General
make sure there is a tick in the box for
Copy tunes to iTunes music folder when adding to the library

Most likely you had not selected when you added tunes to the iTunes library from your music folder.
That is why you lost them when you trashed the music folder files.

Thanks Main St i will do that in future.Any idea how i can get the rest back or transfer them from ipod back to pc?
Post by: Homer on August 01, 2007, 12:20:41 AM
Give this a go LL

http://www.ipod2computer.com/ (http://www.ipod2computer.com/)
Post by: Tyrones own on August 01, 2007, 12:58:28 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 06, 2007, 10:11:40 PM

Just curious, does neither of you two boys have work to go to?
Post by: Main Street on August 01, 2007, 12:54:23 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 31, 2007, 11:55:28 PM
Thanks Main St i will do that in future.Any idea how i can get the rest back or transfer them from ipod back to pc?
That software looks grand and it says it's free.
But without the licence key you will only be able to transfer one tune at a time.

iPods can sync with iTunes  both ways.
You can transfer purchased tunes from your iPod to iTunes  just using iTunes.
http://www.apple.com/itunes/sync/transfer.html

I'll have a look and see if there is an elegant way of tranferring non purchased files without having to spend cash

I think anyway you will have to delete the orphaned files from iTunes Library.

Once you are set up again, then you can uncheck the auto sync option or just check the manual control box.
For general use, "Auto syncing" on full time is for the very lazy

Post by: Main Street on August 01, 2007, 02:03:54 PM
Manual Transfer for free, Because the music folder on your iPod is hidden there is a way to reveal it and copy the tunes to your hard drive.

http://playlistmag.com/secrets/2006/12/twowaystreet20/index.php

Otherwise use a utility

iPod rip looks hand for 5 uses and will do the whole job you need

You can also read reviews of some of them here: Wired News - Rescue Your Stranded Tunes
http://www.wired.com/science/discoveries/news/2006/11/72132

TuneJack Windows Only
iPod2PC Windows Only
iGadget Windows Only
iDump Windows Only
iRepo Windows Only
iPodRip Mac & Windows
YamiPod Mac and Windows Versions
Music Rescue Mac & Windows
iPodCopy Mac and Windows Versions

PS
you do understand that if your iPod is connected ITunes ( if the option is set already)
iTunes will try to replace the music on your iPod automatically with the tunes you have in iTunes Library.
That is Syncing
You do not want syncing
Syncing will remove your iPod music files and replace them with iTunes Library file

You can stop the syncing immediatly it starts, with no problems
If  iTunes starts to Sync automatically
You can stop it by clicking on the x in the little window that displays the info about what tune is playing

or as soon as your iPod begins to display "Do Not Disconnect", begin to press and hold the Shift and Ctrl keys on your keyboard together simultaneously.
Continue to hold these keys for about 20 seconds after your iPod is showing up in the Source List in iTunes.
Post by: Duine Eile on September 24, 2007, 10:19:56 PM
Ok have a quick question, can I buy music off the itunes store using a laser card or does it have to be credit card?
Post by: ziggysego on September 24, 2007, 10:25:52 PM
Has to be credit card to my knowledge.
Post by: Duine Eile on September 24, 2007, 10:35:46 PM
Thought so, thanks Ziggy
Post by: Tyrones own on November 22, 2007, 07:19:35 PM

Lads can i put someone elses new ipod to my PC to sync files that's on my itunes,
will it effect mine in any way?
Post by: Mentalman on November 22, 2007, 07:22:26 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on November 22, 2007, 07:19:35 PM

Lads can i put someone elses new ipod to my PC to sync files that's on my itunes,

Shouldn't, should just download music from your PC to theirs. As theirs is new it won't delete anything from their. I don't use that auto synch thing for just that reason, just in case.
Post by: ziggysego on November 22, 2007, 07:28:15 PM
Quote from: Mentalman on November 22, 2007, 07:22:26 PM

Shouldn't, should just download music from your PC to theirs. As theirs is new it won't delete anything from their. I don't use that auto synch thing for just that reason, just in case.

I thought that only one iPod could be registered to iTunes per machine to stop illegal copies.
Post by: Mentalman on November 22, 2007, 07:35:18 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 22, 2007, 07:28:15 PM
Quote from: Mentalman on November 22, 2007, 07:22:26 PM

I thought that only one iPod could be registered to iTunes per machine to stop illegal copies.

Not as far as I know, I've had multiple on my personal PC...then again those were two Shuffles and a Nano I've updated for othersm those it differentiate between different types of iPod? Or it's a recent restriction. There was some sort of restriction on downloading from iPod to PC but like I said I don't use autosynch, I have my iPod set as an external drive and use Sharepod. Music you purchased through iTunes can only be played on up to 5 authorised PCs but that's not the same.
Post by: Tyrones own on November 22, 2007, 07:48:28 PM

Cheers lads, i'll give it a blast anyway and see what happens!!
Post by: Mentalman on November 22, 2007, 07:51:00 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on November 22, 2007, 07:48:28 PM

Cheers lads, i'll give it a blast anyway and see what happens!!

Worst that will happen will be that it will freeze your PC and report you to the local peelers  :)
Post by: Tyrones own on November 22, 2007, 07:54:35 PM

Ah I'll not worry too much about that MM as long as i don't loose anything on my itunes
   or effect my own ipods syncing capabilities.
Post by: ziggysego on November 22, 2007, 08:01:00 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on November 22, 2007, 07:54:35 PM

Ah I'll not worry too much about that MM as long as i don't loose anything on my itunes
   or effect my own ipods syncing capabilities.

Back up your iTunes songs first on CD.
Post by: Tyrones own on November 22, 2007, 08:05:10 PM

Are you kinda suggesting that i do Ziggy or telling me i should?
  I have an awful lot of shite on there :-\
Post by: ziggysego on November 22, 2007, 08:12:26 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on November 22, 2007, 08:05:10 PM

Are you kinda suggesting that i do Ziggy or telling me i should?
  I have an awful lot of shite on there :-\

You should. Not because I think you're going to make a mess of it, but it's good practice. I copied my stuff over at the weekend and then deleted it off the PC. Speeded the computer up no end.
Post by: Tyrones own on November 22, 2007, 08:25:22 PM

Alrighty then, i better get to work :(
Post by: gerry on November 22, 2007, 10:48:49 PM
QuoteI thought that only one iPod could be registered to iTunes per machine to stop illegal copies.

naw, you can have a few
Post by: The Corporal on December 15, 2007, 11:35:11 AM
Was thinking of buying myself an i-pod, what would you's go for:

8GB I-pod Nano (the new small one) or
80GB I-pod classic?

I like the smallness of the nano but im undecided.

P.S how do you transfer videos, movies etc onto you i-pod?
Post by: the Deel Rover on December 15, 2007, 11:56:33 AM
Quote from: The Corporal on December 15, 2007, 11:35:11 AM

80GB I-pod classic?

I just got a i-pod 80 gb classic 2 weeks ago from America Corporal, got it for 240 us dollars around €170 and i have to say i'm delighted it i have downloaded my music collection on to it but haven't transfered any vidoes yet tried without luck
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 15, 2007, 03:49:12 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on December 15, 2007, 11:56:33 AM
Quote from: The Corporal on December 15, 2007, 11:35:11 AM

80GB I-pod classic?

I just got a i-pod 80 gb classic 2 weeks ago from America Corporal, got it for 240 us dollars around €170 and i have to say i'm delighted it i have downloaded my music collection on to it but haven't transfered any vidoes yet tried without luck

They have to be in the right file format first...You can convert them using this program  www.videora.com it will even transfer them for you too itunes
Post by: the Deel Rover on December 15, 2007, 04:01:30 PM
thanks LL will give it a go
Post by: the Deel Rover on December 29, 2007, 03:40:48 PM
Anyone recommend a docking station for the ipod looking for a  one with good spaeakers and sound?
Post by: Tyrones own on December 29, 2007, 05:48:37 PM

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-b1xdJQmvDaZ/App/Product/Item/Main.aspx?I=018SNDDOCK

Doesn't get any better than Bose, powerful sound altogether.
Post by: Leg End on December 30, 2007, 05:33:50 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on December 29, 2007, 05:48:37 PM

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-b1xdJQmvDaZ/App/Product/Item/Main.aspx?I=018SNDDOCK

Doesn't get any better than Bose, powerful sound altogether.

just bought my da a 60gb ipod classic and bose docking station for his birthday on christmas eve and signed him up to itunes on my laptop and put all his cd's onto it. thing is the next day i was bought an 8gb ipod nano and was wandering can i use his itunes or do i have to use another computer???? can i put my ipod into a mates computer to take his songs of his itunes?????
??? ??? ???
Post by: Leg End on December 30, 2007, 06:03:37 PM
w
Post by: Tyrones own on December 30, 2007, 06:07:06 PM
Quote from: gerry on November 22, 2007, 10:48:49 PM
QuoteI thought that only one iPod could be registered to iTunes per machine to stop illegal copies.

naw, you can have a few

From above Leg End, though i'm not sure myself.
Post by: Leg End on January 01, 2008, 06:27:56 PM
i might try that hardstation.... just set up another user account on me laptop. u think that would work? have one for me da's laptop and one for mine???????
Post by: FL/MAYO on January 01, 2008, 06:54:35 PM
Is there any way to have the music on a playlist shuffle, I own the Nano?  
Post by: The Corporal on January 08, 2008, 11:14:33 PM
My new ipod Nano wont play the songs for me! i can flick through the menus ok but when i go to select a song to play it wont play for some strange reason!

Anybody help?
Post by: Kerry Mike on January 08, 2008, 11:44:05 PM
QuoteIs it one ipod per user account on the computer?
I think I heard that somewhere but I dream things up all the time.

I have 3 iPod's running of one iTunes account a iPod 30gB and 2 8gB nano for some family, no bother, I just created a playlist for the 2 nanos and when you sync the nano you just select the playlist you need. Works for all my copied cd music and also music downloaded. The key is to only sync what you want on the smaller iPod.

QuoteMy new ipod Nano wont play the songs for me! i can flick through the menus ok but when i go to select a song to play it wont play for some strange reason!

Dont really know, I assume you have the volumn turned up, and that the song is not being paused, If yo uhave copied music to the iPod it should play, maybe do a bit of googling if that does not help.
Post by: Leg End on January 08, 2008, 11:52:06 PM
i know this sounds stupid but have you the earphones pushed in the hole way
Post by: Main Street on January 08, 2008, 11:52:32 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on January 01, 2008, 06:52:51 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 30, 2007, 06:09:26 PM
Is it one ipod per user account on the computer?
I think I heard that somewhere but I dream things up all the time.

Correct, all of the Ipod users in our house have their own iTunes and music in their own accounts on the same computer using XP Home with four user accounts.  Install iTunes in each account to pick up the Music folder in each account.
For sure I had my son's iPod mated to my iTunes at the same time as mine and we shared the one library no problem.
But it wasn't iTunes store bought music.

You can set also up iTunes to start up with a specified users iTunes library if you are not into installing iTunes into each User account.
Another option
If you have many different user accounts set up on Windows but you share some common music.
Isn't it possible to make one Music folder available to all users?
In that folder all music is kept.
And each user selects that music folder  for 'iTunes Music Folder Location'  in Advanced preferences - General

If you want to open up iPod to transfer music and copy music willy nilly on other computers then you need to use some iPod copy freeware.
Post by: The Corporal on January 09, 2008, 09:01:05 AM
Earphones are in correctly, volume is up but when you hit the play button for some reason the song doesnt even start playing! never encountered this before!
Post by: lfdown2 on January 09, 2008, 12:35:59 PM
any help greatly appreciated!

when i plug a new ipod into itunes it dosnt show up, and in options there is no tab for synching?

also anyone know if you can buy movies of the usa itunes from outside the us or when they will be available on the uk site?
Post by: FL/MAYO on January 09, 2008, 02:26:39 PM
Quote from: The Corporal on January 09, 2008, 09:01:05 AM
Earphones are in correctly, volume is up but when you hit the play button for some reason the song doesnt even start playing! never encountered this before!

Did the IPOD get wet at any time? My wife has not crasped the concept of electronics and water not working well together, I  have probems with the function key due it getting wet, it will play but when I go need to get back to the main menu I have to wait for the playlist to finish or hook my IPOD up to the computer.
Post by: Main Street on January 09, 2008, 02:33:48 PM
Quote from: lfdown2 on January 09, 2008, 12:35:59 PM
any help greatly appreciated!

when i plug a new ipod into itunes it dosnt show up, and in options there is no tab for synching?
In Options there is no tab for syncing.
When you plug in the iPod it show up as an external hard drive on your computer.
In iTunes when opened it should recognize that there is an iPod, shows up in  Left hand column of iTunes,
clicking on that opens up the iPod window.
Follow the options and restore -  update the software.
On that page the auto syncing option or manual syncing is available.

After that process your iPod should work as a functioning iPod.

If it doesn't show up at all in My Computer or in iTunes then try another cable or another usb port or another computer.

Quotealso anyone know if you can buy movies of the usa itunes from outside the us or when they will be available on the uk site?
at least you are optimistic.
Post by: Main Street on January 09, 2008, 02:36:20 PM
Quote from: The Corporal on January 08, 2008, 11:14:33 PM
My new ipod Nano wont play the songs for me! i can flick through the menus ok but when i go to select a song to play it wont play for some strange reason!

Anybody help?
First thing to try is re setting the iPod
check the little manual for the instructions

or read
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=61705 (http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=61705)
Post by: Sam Maguire on January 20, 2008, 08:05:22 PM
Got a new iPod nano there, the new little square type ones. A couple of questions.

1 - I can get pictures on to the ipod but can I attach them to particular songs so that they appear on the screen while the song is being played?? i.e. a picture of the artist coming up in the image space on the screen along with the song??

2 - It is also possible to put videos onto the Ipod. Where is the best place to download these music videos. And like above can I match a music video with a particular song while it is being played??

Thanks.
Post by: Minder on January 20, 2008, 08:37:07 PM
You can put videos on by using Videora, download it, you then download the videos off Youtube and Videora automatically transfers them onto your I Tunes, any problems you can PM me.
Post by: Main Street on January 21, 2008, 12:04:05 AM
Quote from: Sam Maguire on January 20, 2008, 08:05:22 PM
Got a new iPod nano there, the new little square type ones. A couple of questions.

1 - I can get pictures on to the ipod but can I attach them to particular songs so that they appear on the screen while the song is being played?? i.e. a picture of the artist coming up in the image space on the screen along with the song??
You do that in iTunes before you copy it to iPod
Select one track or many tracks,
right click
select -  get info -
paste your artwork into the artwork box

If you have selected multiple tracks then the procedure is similar and the pasted artwork will be displayed on all those tracks.

Post by: passedit on January 21, 2008, 10:22:58 AM
Mrs passedit got an ipod off santy last year and it's just died on her, apparently this is common enough and apple have a scheme where you send them a ball of money and the ipod and they send you back someone else's reconditioned one. A message came up saying something like haha sucker your warranty's just run out, time to screw you for a few more quid.Or it may be a sad face icon.

Has anyone any experience of this and there an alternative (ie cheaper) way to get it fixed?
Post by: Main Street on January 21, 2008, 10:44:06 AM
iPod comes out top on reliability and satisfaction in MP3 player surveys carried out by computer mags year after year.
Has the battery or the hard drive failed?
Both are easy enough to replace, one costing more than the other.
Post by: passedit on January 21, 2008, 11:58:07 AM
Hard drive it appears.
Post by: screenexile on January 21, 2008, 01:03:46 PM
I have the Ricky Gervais show podcats saved as mp3's on my PC but when I got to add them on Itunes it won't let me add them as podcasts. Is there any way I can add these to my itunes or ipod as podcasts or is it impossible?
Post by: Main Street on January 21, 2008, 02:22:59 PM
Quote from: passedit on January 21, 2008, 11:58:07 AM
Hard drive it appears.
Clicking noises - frowny face and/or folder icon error message?
Post by: passedit on January 21, 2008, 02:24:12 PM
Quote from: Main Street on January 21, 2008, 02:22:59 PM
Hard drive it appears.

YIP
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 21, 2008, 02:26:22 PM
Quote from: screenexile on January 21, 2008, 01:03:46 PM
I have the Ricky Gervais show podcats saved as mp3's on my PC but when I got to add them on Itunes it won't let me add them as podcasts. Is there any way I can add these to my itunes or ipod as podcasts or is it impossible?

Used to have these but managed to corrupt them somehow, do u remember where u got them (save on some searching time)???
Post by: Main Street on January 21, 2008, 04:55:21 PM
Quote from: passedit on January 21, 2008, 02:24:12 PM
Quote from: Main Street on January 21, 2008, 02:22:59 PM
Hard drive it appears.

YIP
First things first.
Try putting iPod into disk mode
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=93651 (http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=93651)

If no luck

hold it in one hand and give it two whacks on the back with the other hand.
If still no luck
Connect to a computer that does not have iTunes installed.
Should show up as a hard drive
If you use windows
Format it -  Fat32 ONLY 
better if you can zero out and format with with a disk repair utility. treat it like a hard disk that need maintainance

Worst case scenario - new 60gb hd for $100
http://www.ewiz.com/query.php?categry=59&brand=Toshiba&dp=1&dt=&categry=59&brand=Toshiba&pa0=&pa1=&pa2=&pa3=&pa4=&pa5=&searchStr=Search+from+current+results&myanchor=%23displaytop&categry=59&brand=Toshiba&pa0=&pa1=&pa2=&pa3=&pa4=1.8+inch&pa5=&nl=10&searchStr=Search+from+current+results&ob=&myanchor=%23displaytop (http://www.ewiz.com/query.php?categry=59&brand=Toshiba&dp=1&dt=&categry=59&brand=Toshiba&pa0=&pa1=&pa2=&pa3=&pa4=&pa5=&searchStr=Search+from+current+results&myanchor=%23displaytop&categry=59&brand=Toshiba&pa0=&pa1=&pa2=&pa3=&pa4=1.8+inch&pa5=&nl=10&searchStr=Search+from+current+results&ob=&myanchor=%23displaytop)

If you don´t want to do that then you can post it to me  :)
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 25, 2008, 12:16:01 PM
Mine seems to be doing the same thinhg that passedit was saying, keeps coming up with the apple logo as if I have reset it but then just clicks off after about twenty seconds then repeats the whole sequence again

Have put it in disk mode and restored to factory settings but dunno whats wrong

Any help?
Post by: Main Street on January 25, 2008, 02:02:39 PM
If it doesn´t work after restoring it to factory settings then
reformat it, treat it as a hard drive.
set to zeros and reformat it to fat32 format.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 25, 2008, 02:42:39 PM
Don't wanna annoy ya main street cuz appreciate your help but could ya walk me through how to do that step by step please, that was sorta too complex for y simple mind!!

Do I connect it to the computer then wat?
Post by: Main Street on January 25, 2008, 04:03:16 PM
Are you using Windows?   :'(
It´s easier for me to expain using Macintosh disk utility

If you are using Windows, then if you have exhausted the usual steps inside iTunes, resetting etc, then you treat the iPod as if it had a sick hard drive and try to repair it. This might work if the hard drive is not do do dead. If you have a disk repair utility program, fine use that, if not, then
1. change the usb port that ipod was attached to (that fools Windows every time)
2.  ipod is recognized as a hard drive,  go to MY COMPUTER , right click the ipod icon under my computer, click properties, then chose check disk (under tools i think). check both boxes, run check disk
then you have to wait a long time
3. with the ipod plugged into a different usb port, run ipod updater again. click restore, etc etc

Option
before moving to nr. 3
I don´t use Windows with iPod so I can´t remember if Windows cannot recognise a frozen device totally and asks you to reformat the "fat32" storage device.  The iPod has to be formatted to FAT32.  Once  you have reformatted it go back and "restore" it under the ipod software. Go to Programs-->Ipod-->Ipod Updater-->Ipod Restore. It

Any clicky whirly noise is bad news for a hard drive, you are usually up sh1ts creek then. In general use, an iPod should be treated as a hard drive and handled with due care.

Post by: Our Nail Loney on February 03, 2008, 06:35:15 PM
Right I am just giving up and assuming my iPod is bucked!! If I send it away to apple will they repair it for me? And will it cost me anythinh?

Only got the f**king thing couple weeks ago and so the warranty just two weeks old.
Post by: Over the Bar on April 01, 2008, 10:37:12 PM
I've found my iPod after being lost for about a year.  In the meantime I got a new one.  Now I want to transfer all the songs from the old one onto the iTunes which is synced with the new iPod.  Anyone know how to do this?
Post by: ziggysego on April 01, 2008, 10:40:24 PM
Never tried it, but worth a go.

http://www.downloadatoz.com/ipod-to-ipod/ (http://www.downloadatoz.com/ipod-to-ipod/)
Post by: heganboy on April 01, 2008, 11:18:27 PM
Just thought that I should post a correction

previously on this site I have posted that I loved the iphone. Having had the fecker for 3 months now Im over the initial glow, I'd like to retract that statement, It drops calls like a dodgy keeper, the touch screen gets hit by my wee tiny ears when I have my ear to the phone and randomly conferences in other people. The battery is a disaster and I have to top up during a busy day and the vpn times out far too often for it to be useful.

rant over
Post by: Main Street on April 02, 2008, 11:02:31 AM
Quote from: Over the Bar on April 01, 2008, 10:37:12 PM
I've found my iPod after being lost for about a year.  In the meantime I got a new one.  Now I want to transfer all the songs from the old one onto the iTunes which is synced with the new iPod.  Anyone know how to do this?
My 2nd iPod has been missing for over 18 months, it's a mystery, I always keep expecting to find it someplace, how did yours turn up? 
Post by: Owenmoresider on April 02, 2008, 10:08:28 PM
Alright, finally got an iPod after all this time, had an i-river but a downward trip to our driveway eventually did for that. A few questions:

1) Is there a good setup for connecting it to a car radio? Or does it sound fuzzy and require the sound to be turned up loud?
2) Can you sync from an external drive, or do you have to put it onto the iTunes library (NB there's 15-odd GB of that)?
3) Can you select individual songs to add to the iPod, rather than syncing it in full? Tried to see if I could but couldn't get anywhere with that.
4) Is it possible to play realplayer videos or other similiar videos from youtube etc. on it? Or is there a programme to convert them?

Probably been covered already, but time may have brought improvements.
Post by: Main Street on April 02, 2008, 11:00:51 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on April 02, 2008, 10:08:28 PM
Alright, finally got an iPod after all this time, had an i-river but a downward trip to our driveway eventually did for that. A few questions:

1) Is there a good setup for connecting it to a car radio? Or does it sound fuzzy and require the sound to be turned up loud?

Depends on what Americans call your Head Unit (car audio unit)
I have a Pioneer unit with a rca input, a mini jack input and a usb input.
That means I have 3 options to connect.
I prefer to use the mini jack and use the iPod screen for scrolling
If the iPod needs charging then I use the USB input, then I use the head units screen for scrolling.
Sound from the unit is excellent, good speakers help.

If you haven't got any of those inputs then you can't connect your iPod unless you have a cd changer input, then you might be able to buy an adapter.

Quote2) Can you sync from an external drive, or do you have to put it onto the iTunes library (NB there's 15-odd GB of that)?

Normally you can only transfer files through iTunes to an iPod. But you can transfer the files to the iTunes library without physically copying them to the iTunes music folder.

As my head unit has an USB input I can connect up to an 80gb drive directly to it and the unit reads the contents of the drive.

Quote3) Can you select individual songs to add to the iPod, rather than syncing it in full? Tried to see if I could but couldn't get anywhere with that.
Of course you can.
After you connect your iPod and ITunes is open, in the window that opens, the summary window, you have the option to manually manage music and videos
Have manual transfer of songs checked and apply.
You can also manually select the playlists to sync. in another window, then you go online to GAA Board while it does the business.
Quote4) Is it possible to play realplayer videos or other similiar videos from youtube etc. on it? Or is there a programme to convert them?
depends on the format of the video, should be mpeg 4, basically Quick Time should be able to play it.
There are a lot of software options for converting if you need to.
Post by: Over the Bar on April 02, 2008, 11:12:59 PM
Main Street, you seem tae know yer stuff.  Can you answer my question?

QuoteI've found my iPod after being lost for about a year.  In the meantime I got a new one.  Now I want to transfer all the songs from the old one onto the iTunes which is synced with the new iPod.  Anyone know how to do this?

btw it ws behind the filing cabinet in my office! :P
Post by: Main Street on April 03, 2008, 12:02:57 AM
Ziggy answered it already. Download some 3rd party software and it will do the trick.
There are a load of different ones afair.
All you need is some software that will recognize the music files stored on your iPod and you can transfer the files from the iPod to your hard drive and from there to iTunes and then to your iPod.
Normally when you connect your iPod, your OS will not gain access to the music files, they are hidden.

But if you still have the computer it was synced to then it's no problem. 

Nowadays you can have your iPod synced to 3 different computers.
At least with the latest generation or maybe it's since some software update.

Post by: take_yer_points on April 03, 2008, 09:02:49 AM
I use Ipod Videora for converting movies into a format that works with the ipod:

http://www.videora.com/en-us/Converter/iPod/

Never had any problems with it.
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on April 04, 2008, 09:43:33 PM
I have downloaded a few songs recently on limewire and whenever i listen to them on the lap-top the song plays fine and plays the whole way through (like it supposed to).  However when i have put them onto my i-pod, the song in particular only plays for about 10 seconds before skipping to the next track  ???

Any one else have this problem before?  If so any solutions?
Post by: ziggysego on April 05, 2008, 12:36:35 PM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on April 04, 2008, 09:43:33 PM
I have downloaded a few songs recently on limewire and whenever i listen to them on the lap-top the song plays fine and plays the whole way through (like it supposed to).  However when i have put them onto my i-pod, the song in particular only plays for about 10 seconds before skipping to the next track  ???

No. However that happens to me when I copy my albums on the iPod.
Post by: Main Street on April 05, 2008, 01:56:13 PM

Are you saying that it plays fine on iTunes on your laptop but once its in the iPod it skips.
Then it's likely to be a problem with the iPod's hard drive.
Treat it as a hard drive and run hardware tests.
First try to defrag the files with a hardware utility program if no luck then erase and restore it to FAt 32 format.

Quote from: ziggysego on April 05, 2008, 12:36:35 PM
No. However that happens to me when I copy my albums on the iPod.
I had that about a year ago.
But the likely culprit is the iTunes decoder. First check that you have the latest version of iTunes.
I'm not positive, but an update of iTunes software might have cured it. I can't rightly remember.
When my CDs didn't decode properly in iTunes,
I used a decoding program to decode the CD  to WAV lossless format and then ITunes would decode WAV to mp3 just fine.

Then I  started to use Lame for decoding from CD  to MP3 VBR VO quality.
Lame is free for Mac and PC and blends in with iTunes. They say it is the best decoder going. I don't know.

http://winlame.sourceforge.net/download.php (http://winlame.sourceforge.net/download.php)

PC users rave about Exact
http://www.free-codecs.com/download/Exact_Audio_Copy.htm (http://www.free-codecs.com/download/Exact_Audio_Copy.htm)

The fix is to bypass iTunes for decoding music files that are on a CD.

Post by: Minder on April 09, 2008, 12:02:55 PM
I know its a bit off topic but i hope someone can help. I have to put music onto a wee shitty bog standard MP3 player, i did it about a year ago but cant remember how. It is for a child so i am under pressure, i have the music downloaded in a seperate file and thought it was just a matter of connecting the usb to the PC, i know its something really simple but i cant remember. Maybe i have the music saved in the wrong place. I am used to dealing with an ipod, so just a matter of connecting ipod to pc and having itunes open. Cheers
Post by: BauldBull on April 21, 2008, 12:22:38 PM
Guys

I have a friend on hols in New York at the moment. Think I will get them to get me an itouch. Just wondering are there any pitfalls I should be aware of regarding the purchase of an electrical item in the US, compatibility ect. This may be a stupid question but no harm in double checking.

Cheers

Bull
Post by: ziggysego on April 21, 2008, 12:24:54 PM
USBs are all the same.
Post by: Puckoon on April 21, 2008, 05:08:00 PM

I had this problem with my first ipod. Needless to say - its was banjaxed
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on May 08, 2008, 11:27:10 PM
Downloaded my CD collection of near 7,000 songs onto iTunes and now trying to put them onto a 32Gb Creative Zen but the thing only went up to the D's in the alphabetical list before it crashed.

Any easy way to transfer these tunes over to the Zen library from iTunes before I chuck the whole caboodle in the bin?
Post by: tyroneman on May 20, 2008, 11:28:43 PM
When you are looking to transfer a Various Artists Album -how do you ensure they stay together under VA - Album Title - Artist - Song, instead of spreading out all over the IPOD as individual artists
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 20, 2008, 11:36:22 PM
If you go to file and pick new smart playlist there is a option where you can select what songs in that playlist are selected be it at random/album/artist/genre etc etc
If you download the album you want then go to the create smart playlist and select the option album and then in the text box type in the name of the album all the songs in that album should appear and you can then save them all to a new folder which will appear in the side menubar of itunes

There might be a easier way,In fact im sure there is but thats one way of doing it
Post by: screenexile on May 21, 2008, 09:16:15 AM
Yeah I think you can just name the "Album Artist" as Various Artists and have the "Artist" as the actual artist singing the song. That seems to work sometimes. What I do myself is I use Various Artists as both the "Artist" and "Album Artist" but I change the name of the song to reflect the name of the person singing i.e. Damien Dempsey - I Believe in a Thing Called Love.
Post by: the Deel Rover on June 04, 2008, 10:19:00 AM
just wonderling lads is there any music sites that i can download music from on to my i pod or do i have to use the ipod site. I want to buy get a few albums however they are €10 however if i had an american billing address i could buy them for $10 which is about €6  ??? 
Post by: screenexile on June 04, 2008, 10:32:18 AM
Deel sign yourself up for rapidshare.com. 6 Months for €30 and you can download as many albums as you can imagine. The only problem I've ever had with it is downloading Irish Specialist albums like Even Better than the real thing or Damien Dempsey stuff but you can get pretty much anything off rapidshare.
Post by: the Deel Rover on June 04, 2008, 10:35:42 AM
thanks for that screenexile
Post by: aontroim on June 04, 2008, 10:39:40 AM
screenexile - whats the story with that rapidshare site? can't see anywhere that shows music to download - do you have to sign up first - just looks like a hosting provider from the homepage?
Post by: screenexile on June 04, 2008, 11:02:25 AM
There are different ways of using rapidshare such as a download manager but I don't really bother with that.

The way I use it is through Google I will type in the artist and album title and then rapidshare.com and Google will give you links to sites that contain the rapidshare download link.

Most rapidshare files are stored in rar format so be sure to get winRAR to unzip any files you download.
Post by: Duine Eile on June 14, 2008, 07:07:23 PM
Flippin ipod is driving me soft. >:( It won't update for me at all, it goes through the usual steps to update and sync the library and ipod but after a minute or so it says  attempting to copy to the disc failed, an unknown errer occured. I've restored the ipod twice and uninstalled itunes and downloaded it again but it still isn't working.Nearly certain it's a problem with the laptop, the ipod will sync with the old library on the PC at home. Any ideas?
Post by: Sam Maguire on August 05, 2008, 11:12:58 PM
got a new remote for the ipod. it doesn't seem to work automatically, does it need connected to the ipod first in some way to get it going?
Post by: anportmorforjfc on August 06, 2008, 12:27:51 AM
The songs i have downloaded and transferred won't work on itunes. It says these songs are not compatible with this version of itunes. anyone know why this is?
Post by: The Corporal on August 06, 2008, 08:22:57 AM
You'll probably have to download a newer version of iTunes!
Post by: Sam Maguire on August 06, 2008, 03:46:06 PM
Quote from: Sam Maguire on August 05, 2008, 11:12:58 PM
got a new remote for the ipod. it doesn't seem to work automatically, does it need connected to the ipod first in some way to get it going?

anyone?
Post by: Main Street on August 06, 2008, 04:19:39 PM
Usually just do a search about    'ipod remote  <your brand> set up problems'
would get you to the hub of the matter
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on August 08, 2008, 09:16:16 PM
Lads

iPod is skipping tunes like fcuk - old chestnut of a problem but come on, any advice - and don't be too technical or say buy a new iPod!
Post by: Puckoon on August 08, 2008, 09:42:22 PM
This happened me, and I think it was related to having the correct update of both itunes and the correct update for the ipod.

It happened me with tunes Id bought over itunes, and when I didnt upload the correct version of itunes (im lazy like that) or the correct software upgrade for the ipod - it skipped those tunes.

Then a few months later Id to buy a new ipod....
Post by: downgirl on August 08, 2008, 10:42:54 PM
Help...put a few new cd's onto iTunes this afternoon, put the iPod on to sync, and it never picked it up as being there, nothing synced but it says do not disconnect even though it wasn't picked up as connected on iTunes; chanced it and turned the computer on and disconnected it, its still saying do not disconnect and I can't turn it off...what do I do!!
Post by: Main Street on August 08, 2008, 10:51:32 PM
Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on August 08, 2008, 09:16:16 PM
Lads

iPod is skipping tunes like fcuk - old chestnut of a problem but come on, any advice - and don't be too technical or say buy a new iPod!

If it's all /many/ most of the songs, you can try resetting your iPod a few times
Might work.

Most likely you will have to restore and update the software in iTunes.
All the music that is on IPod wil be lost and everything will be cleaned up.

Recopy all your tunes onto iPod.

Will work grand.

iPod has a hard drive, don't chuck it around the place.
Follow protocols for ejecting iPod when you have it connected to the computer, the software doesn't like to be suddenly terminated by a cable being yanked off.

Post by: downgirl on August 08, 2008, 10:54:02 PM
Yea but the computer wasn't picking it up as being connected so I couldnt click on safely remove hardware
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 08, 2008, 10:54:58 PM
Quote from: downgirl on August 08, 2008, 10:42:54 PM
Help...put a few new cd's onto iTunes this afternoon, put the iPod on to sync, and it never picked it up as being there, nothing synced but it says do not disconnect even though it wasn't picked up as connected on iTunes; chanced it and turned the computer on and disconnected it, its still saying do not disconnect and I can't turn it off...what do I do!!

Hold the centre button and the top button of the wheel at the same time until the screen goes blank,This should reset the ipod for you
Post by: Main Street on August 08, 2008, 10:57:32 PM
Quote from: downgirl on August 08, 2008, 10:42:54 PM
You must have been thinking of Pints at the time  ;D
You cant undo that thought.

But you will probably be all right with resetting it a few times
This is a minor glitch usually.
Turn off sync, thats just for  the lazy gobs.
After you are done resetting
Try connecting it to the computer and waiting for iTunes to read it  and then eject it from iTunes
wait until iPod say its ok to to disconnect.
Keep repeating until its all working smooth.
Post by: downgirl on August 08, 2008, 11:50:14 PM
Thanks fellas...think we have it sorted now  ;D
Post by: ildanach on August 11, 2008, 12:49:25 PM
got a new lap top and i want to transfer itunes library onto it from old laptop. anyone know how i can do this? Thanks
Post by: Main Street on August 11, 2008, 01:37:43 PM
Quote from: ildanach on August 11, 2008, 12:49:25 PM
got a new lap top and i want to transfer itunes library onto it from old laptop. anyone know how i can do this? Thanks

I know how I would do it on the Mac, just use the Migration assistant tool.

Assuming you have Windows OS
can you connect one laptop to the other using firewire cable so that the old laptop just shows up as a hard drive on your new laptop?

If not, copy your entire iTunes Libary folder onto an external hard drive or one/many dvd disk
Rename it any name you want
eg  Itunes 1

On the new laptop open up my documents, and copy it into the itunes folder

Open  Itunes up on the new laptop
Go to  File,  -   add folder to library,
Browse for the iTunes 1 folder  and tell  Itunes to import it.
Then it is imported into Itunes library.

if you want to get your playlists into the  new Itunes
then you need to do a few more things, just ask if you need that.

Post by: ildanach on August 11, 2008, 03:01:40 PM
Quote from: Main Street on August 11, 2008, 01:37:43 PM
if you want to get your playlists into the  new Itunes
then you need to do a few more things, just ask if you need that.

Thanks for that main street. I want  to get the play list in also so all help is appreciated
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 11, 2008, 03:23:03 PM

Use this program here..Its called idump and it will allow you to transfer all the contents of your ipod onto your new laptop
http://www.ipod2computer.com/index.php?SRC=6&gclid=CMSX0pv-hZUCFQpatAodHHAuXg
Post by: ildanach on August 11, 2008, 03:43:03 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 11, 2008, 03:23:03 PM

Use this program here..Its called idump and it will allow you to transfer all the contents of your ipod onto your new laptop

thanks for that. Do i need to download i tunes first on the new lap top or will it upload the program from my ipod and do i need to transfer the "my music" file also??
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 11, 2008, 03:52:17 PM
Quote from: ildanach on August 11, 2008, 03:43:03 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 11, 2008, 03:23:03 PM

thanks for that. Do i need to download i tunes first on the new lap top or will it upload the program from my ipod and do i need to transfer the "my music" file also??

I may be wrong but i think you have to download a new version of itunes,Then transfer all your songs onto your laptop using idump
Then you have to wipe your ipod clean as i don't think you can have one ipod connected to two laptops..Now i could be wrong on that..
Then all you do is transfer all the songs from the idump folder onto your new itunes and then sync it with your ipod
Post by: ildanach on August 11, 2008, 04:16:34 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 11, 2008, 03:52:17 PM
I may be wrong but i think you have to download a new version of itunes,Then transfer all your songs onto your laptop using idump
Then you have to wipe your ipod clean as i don't think you can have one ipod connected to two laptops..Now i could be wrong on that..
Then all you do is transfer all the songs from the idump folder onto your new itunes and then sync it with your ipod

thanks, i will give it a go this evening!
Post by: Main Street on August 11, 2008, 04:33:36 PM
Lads go easy with all the instructions.

Shouldn't you  be able to sync the iPod to 3 computers?

He wants to transfer the contents of his iTunes library from one computer to the other.

Transferring the iPod library is another matter altogether.

Firstly the ITunes library may well contain much more than what is on the iPod
And when I want to transfer the iTunes library from one computer to another I want to be able to use all the playlists and smart playlists that I have made.
All that info is contained within a file in your iTunes Library

If my earlier procedure is followed  (if you have purchased music you just click on a song and than authorize the new computer to play)
To get playlists into the new iTunes
You go to  File,
Add File to Library
Then Browse for the renamed  ITunes folder again
Select the file that says Itunes music library or Itunes library,
This is a XML file,
Add this file to your Itunes and it will import all of your playlists that were in your old library.
They will show up as playlists in your iTunes  library

This is a solid way to transfer one iTunes library from one computer to another and have the ITunes looking exactly the same as it did.

Post by: downgirl on August 17, 2008, 07:52:31 PM
Help...noticed today after sitting out on the sunlounger for a good few hours there looks like there are cracks in the front casing of my iPod??  Is this because of the heat??  Anyone else had this problem and can it be fixed??  The iPod itself is working fine its more of an aesthetic thing!
Post by: Main Street on August 17, 2008, 08:04:40 PM
That doesn't make sense, I heard there was a deluge in Down today.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 18, 2008, 01:26:44 PM
Right, I had my ipod synced to my computer and had my itunes with all my music on it bla bla bla

Anyway the computer was infested with viruses, trojan horses etc and had to get fixed. The fella fixing the computer said it would be better if it was just wiped so they did that. I wasn't consulted at all! Was my da getting it fixed.

So now we basically have a new computer with nothing on it, I have lost my iTunes and all ym music I had saved. Don't have my ipod at the min, have lent it to someone but what happens when I get ir back?

Will I just download iTunes again? If I put the iPod in will it think I am trying to put it to a new computer?? Can I not add or take off any more music to my ipod?? This is the main worry for me as I would normally download a few extra tunes a week and then add them, will I be able to? Also I used to get a few podcasts, will I be able to sync those to my ipod or is it just fucked and will have to stay the way it si now forever!

Main Street, HELP!
Post by: Main Street on August 18, 2008, 02:28:36 PM
You shoulda got religion ;D

The fella  "fixin" the computer could and should have copied all your music from the iTunes Library to an external storage disk as well as any other documents.
Only a woman has the privilege to decide things without consultation.

You have to downl iTunes again
I can't remember now exactly what will happen when you connect your iPod to a new set up.
You should be able to the sync the one iPod fully  to 3 diff computers.

At least the iPod should show in iTunes and you should be able to play from the iPods library.
You might be able to copy from the iPod to the iTunes Library - as in being synced.

If not, then just use one of those 3rd party software mentioned earlier that will allow you to do it.

Then sync the iPod to the new set up.

Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 18, 2008, 02:44:23 PM
Right cheers, na it was my f**king da who told the fella to wipe it! Don't worry I cracked up at him!

So I should be ok, I don't give s hti about losing the music on my itunes because it is all on my ipod anyway

Its just fro things like adding new songs/podcasts to my ipod, even videos...
Post by: downgirl on August 19, 2008, 01:24:56 AM
Quote from: Main Street on August 17, 2008, 08:04:40 PM
That doesn't make sense, I heard there was a deluge in Down today.

I was in Spain!! Only back there now.  Very depressing altogether!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 01, 2008, 06:08:16 PM
Are you allowed to use a ipod on a Airplane?
Post by: downgirl on September 01, 2008, 06:27:56 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 01, 2008, 06:08:16 PM
Are you allowed to use a ipod on a Airplane?

Yes but just not during take off or landing.
Post by: downgirl on September 03, 2008, 01:52:33 AM
Help help help...was downloading an update from itunes, once it finished tried to open itunes and it wont let me, it's saying there are one or more components missing, and I have to reinstall it.  Does this mean I have to delete the one I have from the hard drive and reinstall a new one; if so have I lost all my music or is there a way I can get it from the ipod to the laptop again???  :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(
Post by: Off The Fence on September 03, 2008, 11:26:14 AM
I've a couple of boxsets I would love to put on the Ipod and watch in my own time.

Is there any Ipod which could hold a number of dvds or what do i need to do to put them on it?
Post by: screenexile on September 03, 2008, 11:46:20 AM
To watch anything on an iPod it needs to be in mp4 format. There are a number of free converters you can get for it if you bang it into Google.

I would have no idea how to rip a DVD from boxsets though or what format they well be ripped into so you're on your own with that one.

I also think most Ipods are video Ipods anyway. An hour and a half piece of film is about 300MB so you're maybe talking 8GB up for holding whatever you want although you're probably better just trandferring them from your itunes folder as you need them to save space.
Post by: Main Street on September 03, 2008, 11:54:35 AM
Quote from: downgirl on September 03, 2008, 01:52:33 AM
Help help help...was downloading an update from itunes, once it finished tried to open itunes and it wont let me, it's saying there are one or more components missing, and I have to reinstall it.  Does this mean I have to delete the one I have from the hard drive and reinstall a new one; if so have I lost all my music or is there a way I can get it from the ipod to the laptop again???  :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(

Was this an iTunes update which went haywire.?
On Windows?

I don't know if deleting iTunes  (by way of remove programs in The Control Panel) will delete the iTunes music Library.
You can just duplicate the music library and put in a folder safe  away from harm before you try anything with the iTunes update /reinsatall.

Instructions are given earlier in the thread.
Post by: Off The Fence on September 03, 2008, 12:20:52 PM
While we are on the subject.. Does Anyone know how much Ipods are at the minute in the States i.e. 8GB or 16GB Touch?
Post by: Great Leap Forward on September 03, 2008, 03:14:56 PM
My I-tunes are all on my old work computer which I have no access to. I just use an AC charger for my I-pod but I now want to add some tunes to it.

Is there anyway to transfer the tunes from my ipod on to another computer? I don't want to have to upload 1000 songs on to I-tunes again.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on September 03, 2008, 07:19:43 PM
Quote from: Off The Fence on September 03, 2008, 12:20:52 PM
While we are on the subject.. Does Anyone know how much Ipods are at the minute in the States i.e. 8GB or 16GB Touch?

8GB  $300
16GB  $400

Thats with Circuit City!
Post by: Owenmoresider on September 11, 2008, 11:17:42 PM
Folks, I have read stuff about watching films and TV programmes on the iPod, yet on iTunes I can't see these anywhere >:(, yet they seem to be on the UK version. Is it simply not available for Ireland, like most things on the net (take a bow, BBC). Also, the radio never shows on the Ipod either, when it's on iTunes and appears on my 'settings' to change the main menu. I assume it's not available, or at least for the ordinary iPod?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 02, 2008, 11:12:02 PM
Right I downloaded a load of new movies through torrents,I then converted them for my ipod and had no bother transferring them across..
They movies were taking up huge space on my laptop so i deleted them off my memory but i still have them on my ipod...
My question is when I next connect my ipod to my laptop will the movies on my ipod be erased as they are no longer on my laptop..If so is there away to keep stuff on your ipod without it being on your itunes folder?

Thanks
Post by: lfdown2 on October 03, 2008, 09:57:19 AM
yeah afaik they will be lost though I think if u choose not to sync movies next time you plug it in they will stay, but you also won't be able to add any movies I think...... Unless you choose the option to sync only checked items (or something like that) but that could be all total bs
Post by: screenexile on October 03, 2008, 11:48:53 AM
Nah you should be ok as long as you have the "manually select music and video's" box checked on your itunes. Can't see why you wouldn't be able to add others as well if you like.
Post by: lfdown2 on October 03, 2008, 11:59:55 AM
Quote from: screenexile on October 03, 2008, 11:48:53 AM
Nah you should be ok as long as you have the "manually select music and video's" box checked on your itunes. Can't see why you wouldn't be able to add others as well if you like.

just what i said!!  ;D
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on November 05, 2008, 11:39:02 PM
With apologies if this has already been mentioned on this thread, as I have not gone back to look.

I have an 80Gb Classic iPod - my first iPod, so don't know what previous editions were like. My problem is with the sound / volumes. I have the volume setting as high as it will go - however walking along a busy street, the noise of traffic etc can drown out the music! I cannot see anything on the iPod itself to change - is this an issue and if so is there any sort of fix?

Ta in advance!  ;D
Post by: Kerry Mike on November 06, 2008, 12:01:49 AM
Rufus

Go to Main Menu , then Settings, then Turn Volumn Limit up to the fecking max, you can also try Turning off Sound Check.

And get a pair of those earplug type headphones, the wans that fit into your ear that block out background noise, I find them great when I'm flying which is often. I am as deaf as a plank though after them yokes but you only live the once.
Post by: Main Street on November 06, 2008, 12:19:55 AM
KM, he already has the volume setting maxed the limit, do you have some version that comes with a turbo volume setting, a special extra for when you're on the high road bombing along in your tractor.

I think your deafness could be associated with compressing the ear wax into hard lumps after shoving those plugs in too deep and with too much force.

Post by: tyrone86 on November 06, 2008, 12:22:30 AM
Is there any way of changing the name of tracks on Itunes from Track 1 Track 2 etc without editing them manually?
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on November 06, 2008, 12:33:39 AM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on November 06, 2008, 12:01:49 AM
Rufus

Go to Main Menu , then Settings, then Turn Volumn Limit up to the fecking max, you can also try Turning off Sound Check.

And get a pair of those earplug type headphones, the wans that fit into your ear that block out background noise, I find them great when I'm flying which is often. I am as deaf as a plank though after them yokes but you only live the once.

As MS has said, I've tried that Mike - but to no avail - I assume there is nothing on the computer I can mess with when I am charging / synchronising?

Taken on board the tip about the headphones Mike - Ta.
Title: Speakers/iStations?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on November 09, 2008, 06:56:42 PM
What speakers or systems do you all use??

I am looking a good station thingy for my room hopefully with radio integrated, thinking about getting rid of my hifi and my cds as they take a lot of room and they are all on my ipod anyway!!
Post by: Main Street on November 09, 2008, 08:19:00 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on November 06, 2008, 12:33:39 AM
- I assume there is nothing on the computer I can mess with when I am charging / synchronising?
In iTune prefs  there is an adjustable setting for "sound enhancer".
I never tried it

But there is a possibility
In the iTunes library you can select songs, individ or select a group of songs.
Right click  for
<get info>
<options>
and you can adjust the  volume.
I do not know if those settings are transferred to the iPod when you sync.

The iPod earplugs are very basic.
KM´s earbud is good idea. You can spend a more than the iPod cost on v.good ones.
I use the Sennheiser 100´s with a sound suppressor which is kept a distance away from the ear.
It would easily suppress an airplane engine drone.

Post by: Minder on November 18, 2008, 09:56:37 PM
Can i transfer my itunes library from one account to another on my computer.The account i have my I Tunes library in is really slow and sluggish so i have opened another account on my PC. I was about to try it there and it asked me did i want to "Erase and Sync" with the new I Tunes i have just downloaded, which obviously is blank.
Post by: imtommygunn on November 18, 2008, 10:39:19 PM
You can - your itunes doesn't have to be in sync with your ipod so you can leave your ipod as is and add all other songs "manually" - i.e. drag and drop.

Why would one account be slow and another not be though?? Run something like ccleaner or the like. I'm not sure I know a logical reason why one account would be slower than another. Get rid of all files hanging round specific to the user - that's all I could think of...
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on November 18, 2008, 10:54:55 PM
Quote from: Main Street on November 09, 2008, 08:19:00 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on November 06, 2008, 12:33:39 AM
- I assume there is nothing on the computer I can mess with when I am charging / synchronising?
In iTune prefs  there is an adjustable setting for "sound enhancer".
I never tried it

But there is a possibility
In the iTunes library you can select songs, individ or select a group of songs.
Right click  for
<get info>
<options>
and you can adjust the  volume.
I do not know if those settings are transferred to the iPod when you sync.

The iPod earplugs are very basic.
KM´s earbud is good idea. You can spend a more than the iPod cost on v.good ones.
I use the Sennheiser 100´s with a sound suppressor which is kept a distance away from the ear.
It would easily suppress an airplane engine drone.

Sorry MS - hadn't checked in here in a while and only seeing this now - cheers - I'll give that a go! 
Post by: Minder on December 02, 2008, 09:54:13 PM
I use Ares to download music, in the top left hand corner it continually says "connecting" therefore i cant download anything. My internet connection is working fine. Any ideas?
Post by: Main Street on December 02, 2008, 11:13:00 PM
How about "server not responding".
Post by: Minder on December 02, 2008, 11:42:08 PM
i removed Ares and reinstalled it,seems to have resolved it. Thanks anyway Main Street.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 02, 2008, 11:55:40 PM
Minder you'd be better sticking to a walkman and cassettes.
Post by: downgirl on December 26, 2008, 03:38:33 PM
What is the best car adaptor to get for the ipod?  Belkin?  Griffin? Can you get any that can be powered by batteries because I need the cigarette lighter for the sat nav!
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 26, 2008, 04:27:07 PM
Quote from: downgirl on December 26, 2008, 03:38:33 PM
What is the best car adaptor to get for the ipod?  Belkin?  Griffin? Can you get any that can be powered by batteries because I need the cigarette lighter for the sat nav!

Do ya have a tape deck downgirl?

I have a tape thing with a wire that I put into the tape deck of the car then the wire goes into the ipod and ya can play the mp3 player / ipod in the car that way?

Doesn't charge the mp3 player though if that's what you're looking for.

Post by: Tony Baloney on December 26, 2008, 04:27:35 PM
Pull the sat nav out and only use it when you need to. People got between a and b pretty well before halfords started convincing people they couldn't live without sat nav.
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 26, 2008, 04:51:38 PM
My niece got an Ipod and I've been trying to get Windows Media Player to put the songs on to it (I've always used wmp with my mp3 player) and wmp isn't picking up that the ipod is connected.  What's the story do you need Itunes to put music on to the ipod or what?
Post by: Tyrones own on December 26, 2008, 05:55:15 PM
Yes I believe you do Pints... i have to run everything through Itunes anyway.
Is there a reason you don't want to install it?
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 26, 2008, 06:00:19 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on December 26, 2008, 05:55:15 PM
They dont have the internet and I dont have broadband here so it'll be a bit of a pain.
Cant believe you cant put music on it through wmp!
Post by: Tyrones own on December 26, 2008, 06:15:53 PM
Right, i see.. I'm sure theres a way around it but of course it's set up to funnel you towards Itunes.
Some of the tech heads on here might know
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 26, 2008, 06:20:44 PM
Ah a couple of the family have broadband, they'll sort it out if she needs itunes.  Just a pain.
cheers though. 
Post by: downgirl on December 26, 2008, 10:06:04 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 26, 2008, 04:27:07 PM
Quote from: downgirl on December 26, 2008, 03:38:33 PM

Do ya have a tape deck downgirl?

I have a tape thing with a wire that I put into the tape deck of the car then the wire goes into the ipod and ya can play the mp3 player / ipod in the car that way?

Doesn't charge the mp3 player though if that's what you're looking for.

Dont have a tape deck on the new car I had that for the old car.  Turns out my best friend got me a Belkin clearscan one so its all good!
Post by: downgirl on December 26, 2008, 10:07:47 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 26, 2008, 06:00:19 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on December 26, 2008, 05:55:15 PM
They dont have the internet and I dont have broadband here so it'll be a bit of a pain.
Cant believe you cant put music on it through wmp!

Pints if you download itunes you can add the files from windows media player easily enough.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 26, 2008, 10:16:01 PM
Pints I thought I was the only in civilisation (if Armagh passes for that) without broadband! Sort yersel out!
Post by: Minder on December 26, 2008, 10:19:02 PM
I know a chap that bought an ipod yet has no broadband thus has no means of putting songs on it and i would say it is still in the box.
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 26, 2008, 10:27:33 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 26, 2008, 10:16:01 PM
Pints I thought I was the only in civilisation (if Armagh passes for that) without broadband! Sort yersel out!
I live in england, I have it there (only got about two weeks ago mind you, but I have it!) but only using dial when I'm at home. 
Santa really should have looked in to this!

Still can't believe you bloody need itunes to get songs on to them, my mp3 player works perfectly with wmp!
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 26, 2008, 10:30:47 PM
Quote from: Minder on December 26, 2008, 10:19:02 PM
I know a chap that bought an ipod yet has no broadband thus has no means of putting songs on it and i would say it is still in the box.
The ipod is nearly 2 years old! I can also confirm it is still in the box. Just playing the waiting game Minder.
Post by: thebigfella on December 27, 2008, 05:42:23 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 26, 2008, 10:30:47 PM
Quote from: Minder on December 26, 2008, 10:19:02 PM
The ipod is nearly 2 years old! I can also confirm it is still in the box. Just playing the waiting game Minder.

why not just load your cd's into itunes? you don't need broadband to use your ipod. wise up
Post by: Joxer on February 09, 2009, 08:11:49 PM
Folks,

Having problems with the Genius.

How exactly does it work?

Does the songs have to be from Itunes?
Post by: Minder on February 27, 2009, 11:08:40 AM
Folks

A chap in work got a new PC, he wants to transfer the songs on his IPod to Itunes on new computer, can it be done?

Edit* He has no access to his old computer which will make it more problematic i would think.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 27, 2009, 11:34:05 AM
Quote from: Minder on February 27, 2009, 11:08:40 AM
Folks

A chap in work got a new PC, he wants to transfer the songs on his IPod to Itunes on new computer, can it be done?

Edit* He has no access to his old computer which will make it more problematic i would think.

Here's a great free program I used for that very job
http://www.softspecialist.com/iDump-461/iDump.htm

It basically rips all the songs from your ipod to your new pc..
Post by: Minder on February 27, 2009, 11:57:36 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 27, 2009, 11:34:05 AM
Quote from: Minder on February 27, 2009, 11:08:40 AM
Folks

Here's a great free program I used for that very job
http://www.softspecialist.com/iDump-461/iDump.htm

It basically rips all the songs from your ipod to your new pc..

Good lad LL.
Post by: Rois on February 27, 2009, 02:20:00 PM
Got a new computer too, last night faced what I thought was going to be the problem of loading on new songs without erasing what was there already but simple solution - just manually add them by clicking on the manual option when the screen comes up with all the ipod details.  You/he prob knew that already but just in case.
Title: i pod
Post by: the Deel Rover on March 04, 2009, 09:09:37 PM
My i pod wont switch on . Any  ideas lads please dont tell me its fcuked
Post by: The Real Laoislad on March 04, 2009, 09:17:27 PM
Is it charged ?
Post by: the Deel Rover on March 04, 2009, 09:27:59 PM
It is l lad however when i put it on the docking station there is no sign of life at all it was working grand yesterday
Post by: joebloggs on March 04, 2009, 10:00:42 PM
Hold in the menu button and the midde circle button for 30 seconds. this will reset it. I have a docking station that causes problems like this quite often.
Post by: the Deel Rover on March 04, 2009, 10:11:44 PM
Fair play to ya joe worked a treat and who said this board had gone to the dogs
Post by: Karl Kennedy on April 02, 2009, 05:20:12 PM
When I plug my iPod in it won't appear in itunes. I've tried resetting the iPod but it didn't help.

Anyone know what the problem is?
Post by: Main Street on April 02, 2009, 05:36:01 PM

Does it charge up? Does it play?
tried another usb port?

if so then reinstall iTunes

and then the board can return to the dogs.
Post by: Karl Kennedy on April 02, 2009, 06:22:34 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 02, 2009, 05:36:01 PM

Does it charge up? Does it play?
tried another usb port?

if so then reinstall iTunes

and then the board can return to the dogs.

The iPod works ok. When I plug it into computer it used to appear right away in iTunes but it doesn't now. It doesn't appear to charge when connected to computer now either. When I plug it in, the computer beeps so it is registering with the computer in some way when I plug it in.

I did reinstall iTunes there recently and I don't think iPod has worked in computer since that, is it something to do with that?
Post by: Main Street on April 02, 2009, 07:57:05 PM
I suppose it is a significant coincidence that it hasn't showed since an update.
Are you using Windows?

Does it register in  <My Computer>  as an external device?
Possibly changing the letter that the  iPod drive is assigned would have an effect.
Change from a  "G" to an "I"
You do that somewhere in Administrative Tools - Computer Management.

Post by: Karl Kennedy on April 19, 2009, 09:50:13 PM
I reinstalled the iTunes again to see if that would help but the iPod is still not registering when I attach the lead to computer. As before when I plug it in, the computer beeps so it is registering with the computer in some way when I plug it in.

Main Street I didn't get any further than Administrative Tools - Computer Management as I wasn't sure what to do next.

The first problem arose when I was freeing memory on my computer through the control panel and I think I must have unistalled iTunes or some part of it anyway by mistake so that's why I reinstalled iTunes in the first place.

Would I have a too updated a version of iTunes or something? I have installed iTunes 8. My iPod is iPod nano third generation.

Also the iPod is not showing up in my computer.

Anyone any ideas?
Post by: Karl Kennedy on April 19, 2009, 10:15:59 PM
Got it sorted. Had to go through a load of stuff in 'computer management'!
Post by: Main Street on April 19, 2009, 10:24:38 PM
 I was going to guide you through it KK and failing that   through usb power management.

The Clones to Ballybay road has less twists and potholes. Glad you got there in the end.

Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 13, 2009, 04:30:33 PM
Anyone know a quick way of getting all the songs on itunes that have a little "!" beside their name onto the one page so that I can delete them all in the one go instead of having to delete them one by one?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 20, 2009, 08:27:50 AM
New question...

On my iPod I have a few films/TV shows that I put on ages ago from my old computer that I don't have the original copies anymore... Now I have to fill an iPod for a mate whos going to the States and he was saying could I put the films on his for him to watch on the plane...

So what I am looking to know is there a way I can rip the films from my iPod to my laptop with a view to copying them over to his iPod?? Is there a simple or even complicated way as I wouldnt have time to sit and download the stuff all again??

Cheers Main Street! I am guessing that's who will reply!
Post by: C_Berg_316 on May 20, 2009, 09:31:14 AM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on May 20, 2009, 08:27:50 AM
New question...

On my iPod I have a few films/TV shows that I put on ages ago from my old computer that I don't have the original copies anymore... Now I have to fill an iPod for a mate whos going to the States and he was saying could I put the films on his for him to watch on the plane...

So what I am looking to know is there a way I can rip the films from my iPod to my laptop with a view to copying them over to his iPod?? Is there a simple or even complicated way as I wouldnt have time to sit and download the stuff all again??

you should be able to go in to the ipod via MyComputer and copy the stuff from the files in there.  Note the files may be hidden so you will have to select the option to view hidden files.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 20, 2009, 09:46:15 AM
Quote from: C_Berg_316 on May 20, 2009, 09:31:14 AM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on May 20, 2009, 08:27:50 AM
New question...

you should be able to go in to the ipod via MyComputer and copy the stuff from the files in there.  Note the files may be hidden so you will have to select the option to view hidden files.

Dead on mate, cheers... Any idea if there are a lot of sub folders or what to go through or is it simple enough to find?
Post by: C_Berg_316 on May 20, 2009, 10:39:04 AM
should be simple enough to find - i do it all the time for copying music from mates iPods and then just load it into my iTunes library and add to my own library.  I think with music the folder is actually called Music and then when you click into it there are other subfolders - id imagine with videos it will be the same - a bit of browsing around and you should find it - the file may have a meaningless name though when you copy it to your computer and store it whereever and then load it back into iTunes it will come up fine.
Post by: Main Street on May 20, 2009, 11:31:00 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 13, 2009, 04:30:33 PM
Anyone know a quick way of getting all the songs on itunes that have a little "!" beside their name onto the one page so that I can delete them all in the one go instead of having to delete them one by one?
They are called dupes, after a well known political entity :)

To get around the tedious task of eliminating dupes one by one from your iTunes library, you need to get an application called a dupe eliminator.

This may work if you use Windows.
http://rapidshare.com/files/92898062/Dupe_Eliminator_andrewgalpin.rar (http://rapidshare.com/files/92898062/Dupe_Eliminator_andrewgalpin.rar)
Post by: screenexile on May 20, 2009, 11:37:28 AM
I generally flick down through the list and any with a ! beside them hold control and click on it and you can highlight all of them and delete them in one big whack.
Post by: Main Street on May 20, 2009, 08:03:53 PM
Well, that's what I do to delete the tracks/albums properly in the first place ;)
(after going the long way).

As Laoislad has not replied to say thanks for our advice we will never know how he got on.
I suspect he has not the patience for keyboard dexterity or he could be just too used to quickies.
Post by: cicfada on May 20, 2009, 08:13:17 PM
hi while we are oN  the subject of Ipods, maybe somebody could help me please! I cannot turn on my itunes programme! I click on it  or right click and  hit 'open' but to no avail!  Thanks in advance!! By the way I did reinstall the programme thinking that woud help but no it still does the same!
Post by: Main Street on May 20, 2009, 08:34:37 PM
Quote from: cicfada on May 20, 2009, 08:13:17 PM
hi while we are oN  the subject of Ipods,
You did not notice the name of the thread?  :)

Quotemaybe somebody could help me please! I cannot turn on my itunes programme! I click on it  or right click and  hit 'open' but to no avail!  Thanks in advance!! By the way I did reinstall the programme thinking that woud help but no it still does the same!
What OS are you using? 
If its Mac, you just rebuild the desktop, zap the pram, which is done by restarting  holding down a few keys
Command-Option-P-R, continuing to press until you hear the startup chime for the second time. This resets the computer's parameter random-access memory (PRAM).
If its Windows
Find the iTunes application, wherever it is,  Windows xp - Programs   and try clicking on the application from there.
If that works,  then delete the icons you were clicking  and make new ones.

if it doesn't work,
then reinstall windows ;D

Post by: cicfada on May 20, 2009, 08:39:28 PM
Thanks Main street for your assistance but it is still not working! It was fine last week but all of a sudden it's not working! I did what you suggested, ie went into programs (the os is xp by the way), clicked on itunes but it still does not work! very frustrating!
Post by: Main Street on May 20, 2009, 08:59:28 PM
cicfada,

I have no idea.
Well maybe one
Do you use Nort**s Security?
check to see if it has decided to block iTunes
you may have to permit it to allow you access iTunes.

Are there 2 accounts set up?
right click on the iTunes icon and select
run as
and select
current user

But that would be limit of what I can remember from using Windows

Post by: cicfada on May 20, 2009, 09:16:04 PM
I do have Norton security but how do you check what the security settings are anyway? I have gone into it but can't fnd the seings!
Post by: cicfada on May 20, 2009, 09:24:45 PM
right I amin settings of Norton but now do not know what to change! Christ almighty what the hell happened to my computer?
Post by: Main Street on May 20, 2009, 09:46:13 PM
Whatever you do, just purge Nortons from your system, it is a plague.
Use something else which works.

I can´t help you with finding out what Nortons blocks or unblocking what it does.
Cant you just disable it now?

Here is an apple doc which looks interesting
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1275 (http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1275)

Tthe standard solution is delete all trace of iTunes and Quick Time
after you delete from your  - control panel -  remove programs-
do a search for more files not deleted

Then downl and install both QT and iT.
Disable Nortons.
then restart
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 23, 2009, 09:06:30 PM
What do I have to do to view the hidden files on my ipod?? Trying to fish out these films here from mine and dunno what to do on Vista to show all the hidden folders and files, knew how to do it on XP but never done it on this

Edit to say: Doesnt matter, I worked out how to show hidden files but there is no way in hell I will be able to find the films I have on it

:(
Post by: anportmorforjfc on June 21, 2009, 08:27:02 PM
Is there a way to add files to my ipod on another computer and then keep them when i go home to use my own itunes? I have added files from another computer, but when i go to add files from my itunes i must delete the added files from another computer.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 21, 2009, 08:31:34 PM
Use copypod or similar software to copy the songs on your iPod to the hard drive of your computer and then add into iTunes that way.
Post by: anportmorforjfc on June 21, 2009, 08:35:24 PM
Thanks Archie
Post by: cornerback on July 06, 2009, 08:45:09 AM
Dunno if this has been covered but having some trouble with my ipod...

Simply i can't listen to my music - i've tried the headphones, docking station in the car, home docking station & the itrip and not a mute... The song & art work comes up on the screen but no sound.  Is there something simple i'm missing or is it something more serious?

I've put music onto the ipod since this has happened so the usb cable connection was working...

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Post by: ziggysego on July 06, 2009, 10:04:38 AM
(http://news.sky.com/sky-news/content/StaticFile/jpg/2008/Jan/Week4/1639387.jpg)
Post by: cornerback on July 06, 2009, 10:10:10 AM
Go f**k Yourself Ziggy  :o

Not in the mood... if you can't help, why post...
Post by: ziggysego on July 06, 2009, 10:13:09 AM
Only playin' ya. Check your earphones. The ones that come with the iPod aren't great. I replaced mine and they worked great after.
Post by: cornerback on July 06, 2009, 10:16:17 AM
I don't use the earphones that came with the ipod, i bought the sport ones that wrap around the top of your ear... but its not just with the earphones that i cant listen to the music, its with the docking station & itrip as well...
Post by: ziggysego on July 06, 2009, 10:19:39 AM
Restore your iPod using iTunes and re-add your tunes again. Could be corrupted.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 06, 2009, 10:22:04 AM
Thats you told Ziggy, trying to be a smart arse there.

When you connect up your iPod to your computer, can you play the songs which are on your iPod through iTunes on your computer?

Bit strange than both the headphone jack and dock wont play any sound.
Post by: cornerback on July 06, 2009, 10:33:26 AM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on July 06, 2009, 10:22:04 AM
Thats you told Ziggy, trying to be a smart arse there.

When you connect up your iPod to your computer, can you play the songs which are on your iPod through iTunes on your computer?

Bit strange than both the headphone jack and dock wont play any sound.

Yeah, i can play the songs on itunes through the 'puter.

I might try to restore it - pain in the arse though
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 06, 2009, 10:40:28 AM
What type of iPod do you have? There is a way to restore it by holding in the buttons on the iPod. Not sure what they are or what sequence to do it in but Our Nail Loney should know.
Post by: cornerback on July 06, 2009, 10:51:56 AM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on July 06, 2009, 10:40:28 AM
What type of iPod do you have? There is a way to restore it by holding in the buttons on the iPod. Not sure what they are or what sequence to do it in but Our Nail Loney should know.

It was just an ipod when i bought it  :P

But i think it would now be called an 80 GB Classic video ipod or something like that...
Post by: thebigfella on July 06, 2009, 11:37:57 AM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on July 06, 2009, 10:40:28 AM

Or just use your own initiative and go to the apple website and search for the solution for your specific model   ;D
Post by: Main Street on July 06, 2009, 11:49:08 AM
No Sound is usually bad news.

Usually means something is kaput inside but a small glimmer of hope is that you can play sound through the usb connector to the computer.
But very very strange that you can not play through a docking station which uses the same iPod connection as the computer.

If it was no sound at all  = total kaput
If it was just no sound through mini jack earphone connector  = possible soldering job inside or kaput.

A well known temp fix is to put it in the freezer for 30 minutes.
Usually works for an hour or so afterwards.

Can you confirm that you get sound out to the computer but no sound from the same iPod output  when connected to a docking station.
Very strange indeed.
Post by: cornerback on July 06, 2009, 12:08:07 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 06, 2009, 11:49:08 AM
No Sound is usually bad news.

Usually means something is kaput inside but a small glimmer of hope is that you can play sound through the usb connector to the computer.
But very very strange that you can not play through a docking station which uses the same iPod connection as the computer.

If it was no sound at all  = total kaput
If it was just no sound through mini jack earphone connector  = possible soldering job inside or kaput.

A well known temp fix is to put it in the freezer for 30 minutes.
Usually works for an hour or so afterwards.

Can you confirm that you get sound out to the computer but no sound from the same iPod output  when connected to a docking station.
Very strange indeed.

This isn't looking good...

There is definitely no sound when connecting to a docking station or from ear phones

When i was putting tracks onto the ipod recently there was no problem & i was listening to songs through the computer but would that just be from the itunes on the computer rather than from the ipod via the usb???

How can i check to see if i can listen to music on the ipod via the usb?
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 06, 2009, 12:51:49 PM
When you have the iPod connected and you can see the name of your iPod, click on the music part of this. This will show your music on your ipod, try and play them from that list rather than your main iTunes library.
Post by: cornerback on July 06, 2009, 12:56:14 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on July 06, 2009, 12:51:49 PM
When you have the iPod connected and you can see the name of your iPod, click on the music part of this. This will show your music on your ipod, try and play them from that list rather than your main iTunes library.

Cheers, i'll have a go at that this evening...
Post by: Main Street on July 06, 2009, 01:47:49 PM
Quote from: cornerback on July 06, 2009, 12:08:07 PM

There is definitely no sound when connecting to a docking station or from ear phones

When i was putting tracks onto the ipod recently there was no problem & i was listening to songs through the computer but would that just be from the itunes on the computer rather than from the ipod via the usb???

You have two outputs on your iPod
1. output at the top, the minijack for headphones
2  output at the bottom,  for connecting to usb input on a computer and usually connecting to a dock, connecting to usb input in a head unit in a car.

Can you confirm that you have no sound coming out of the bottom iPod output?
or do you have sound when that bottom output is connected to computer but not when it is connected to a dock.
Post by: cornerback on July 06, 2009, 02:04:28 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 06, 2009, 01:47:49 PM
Quote from: cornerback on July 06, 2009, 12:08:07 PM

You have two outputs on your iPod
1. output at the top, the minijack for headphones
2  output at the bottom,  for connecting to usb input on a computer and usually connecting to a dock, connecting to usb input in a head unit in a car.

Can you confirm that you have no sound coming out of the bottom iPod output?
or do you have sound when that bottom output is connected to computer but not when it is connected to a dock.

Sorry if i'm not making myslef clear Main Street

There is no sound coming out of the bottom iPod output (there is no sound coming from the headphones either).

Any time the iPod is connected to the computer AFAIK i'm just listening to music from my iTunes library on the computer and not from the iPod so i don't know if i have sound by doing this.

I'll try what Archie said this evening (clicking on my iPod name etc) to see if i there is sound when the iPod is connect to the computer...
Post by: Main Street on July 06, 2009, 05:09:47 PM
Cornerback, that was my misunderstanding or when rereading your previous post, hindsight is a great cure for more clarity :)
Try what archie said.

But it does not look good.
I just had a quick search and this is the best description I can find
http://forums.macnn.com/103/ipod-iphone-and-apple-tv/351485/no-sound-ipod/ (http://forums.macnn.com/103/ipod-iphone-and-apple-tv/351485/no-sound-ipod/)

Posts 17 and 18   june 25
both by Warnergt

Post by: cornerback on July 08, 2009, 08:43:35 AM
Quote from: Main Street on July 06, 2009, 05:09:47 PM
Cornerback, that was my misunderstanding or when rereading your previous post, hindsight is a great cure for more clarity :)
Try what archie said.

http://forums.macnn.com/103/ipod-iphone-and-apple-tv/351485/no-sound-ipod/ (http://forums.macnn.com/103/ipod-iphone-and-apple-tv/351485/no-sound-ipod/)

both by Warnergt

Thanks for that link MS, it seems that i've the same problem with my iPod as those people...

The temporary fixes work, such as putting it in the freezer or pressing on the bottom RHS of the iPod, but they are exactly that - temporary!!

I'm not prepared to open the thing up to try my hand at fixing it so i'll have to get onto Apple - the people on that message board seemed to have some success at getting their iPods replaced

Its probably well out of the warranty period (about 3yrs old) but one of the reasons i bought an 80gb is so that i wouldn't have to replace or update to a new iPod anytime soon...

Cheers again for your help lads (except ziggy)  :P
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 21, 2009, 06:27:21 PM
Went to add a couple of songs to my iPod last night, when I plugged it in it didn't register on the iTunes... Left it for a minute or so, nothing. Took the lead out and put back in again.

Then it came up this iPod is corrupted and I have to restore it!! f**k sake.

Don;t wanna lose everything! Disaster.
Post by: cornerback on August 01, 2009, 04:44:16 PM
Quote from: cornerback on July 08, 2009, 08:43:35 AM
Quote from: Main Street on July 06, 2009, 05:09:47 PM
Try what archie said.

both by Warnergt

Thanks for that link MS, it seems that i've the same problem with my iPod as those people...

The temporary fixes work, such as putting it in the freezer or pressing on the bottom RHS of the iPod, but they are exactly that - temporary!!

I'm not prepared to open the thing up to try my hand at fixing it so i'll have to get onto Apple - the people on that message board seemed to have some success at getting their iPods replaced

Its probably well out of the warranty period (about 3yrs old) but one of the reasons i bought an 80gb is so that i wouldn't have to replace or update to a new iPod anytime soon...

Cheers again for your help lads (except ziggy)  :P

Good news, apple are gonna repair or replace my iPod, don't really care which, though a new 120gb would be nice  ;)  :D
They are sending me a box to put my ipod in that royal mail will collect again...

Thanks for that link MS... i owe you one

First time i phoned i'd no luck - customer care rep said it would cost something like £139 to repair!!! - but the 2nd time, as soon as i said what the problem was the rep was more than helpful!

Hopefully in a couple of weeks i'll have a working iPod...

I'll keep you posted!
Post by: Main Street on August 02, 2009, 11:10:34 AM
That's amazing good news.

if you get the 120 gb version, it has a better interface/menu/playlist display/battery life and more stable than the 80gb classic version.
But I'd expect there are still a load of 80gb models still available.
Post by: gallsman on August 12, 2009, 06:42:19 PM
Looking to finally buy myself an MP3 player. Prefer the Zen X-Fi but the only go up to 32 gig and are mad pricy, so I'll ave to go for the inconvenience of an iPod and it's devil sister, i Tunes. Looking to buy 120gb and get a accessory bundle that will include an arm-strap for running etc. Does anyone have any idea where to get the best deal?
Post by: Bainisteoir on August 12, 2009, 08:23:28 PM
Can someone give me some help - I usually sync my iPhone to my laptop but I was thinking of syncing to my home PC.. The Internet connection is quicker so would be better for downloadng things. Is it possible to have my iTunes account on 2 different computers?
Post by: Archie Mitchell on August 12, 2009, 08:40:19 PM
Quote from: Bainisteoir on August 12, 2009, 08:23:28 PM
Can someone give me some help - I usually sync my iPhone to my laptop but I was thinking of syncing to my home PC.. The Internet connection is quicker so would be better for downloadng things. Is it possible to have my iTunes account on 2 different computers?

Not sure if it's possible though dont see why not as many a user will connect at home and at work. Worth a try anyway. Just make sure you back up the iPhone on the laptop, then try and sync it with you home PC and then connect to laptop again. If all else fails, just restore to your backup image on your laptop.
Post by: cornerback on August 17, 2009, 04:17:33 PM
Quote from: Main Street on August 02, 2009, 11:10:34 AM
That's amazing good news.

if you get the 120 gb version, it has a better interface/menu/playlist display/battery life and more stable than the 80gb classic version.
But I'd expect there are still a load of 80gb models still available.

You were Main Street...

Got my new 80gb iPod delivered today... great to finally get it back!

;D  ;D  ;D  ;D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 01, 2009, 08:47:18 PM
Any use anything bar itunes for their managing their ipod music?
Post by: mhacadoir on October 22, 2009, 09:36:13 AM
I have an ipod, 80 gb, i got it from someone else and when i went to erase their songlist and sync mine, i got a message saying that it wouldn't do it as there was "an unknown error." I restored factory settings and tried again but no luck, is there anything that can be done that is worth the money? :-[
Post by: Main Street on October 22, 2009, 12:10:17 PM
Any error number?
Post by: mhacadoir on October 22, 2009, 12:42:28 PM
yeh, it says (-1303)
Post by: Main Street on October 22, 2009, 02:22:14 PM
error -1303  = insufficient privileges

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=228658 (http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=228658)

Post by: mhacadoir on October 22, 2009, 03:20:13 PM
Hmm, have no idea what that is about. I connected the ipod back to itunes and a msg appeared saying that the ipod was corrupt, and to restore to factory settings, which i did, started syncing, got 3/4 of the way through then it froze. No error msg this time. I think it may be wrecked
Post by: Well on November 12, 2009, 07:10:57 PM
My ipod is stuck on the "Do not discount" screen and iTunes is not recognising it.
Does anyone know how to reset it?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 12, 2009, 07:21:56 PM
Quote from: Well on November 12, 2009, 07:10:57 PM
My ipod is stuck on the "Do not discount" screen and iTunes is not recognising it.
Does anyone know how to reset it?

Press the middle button and the top of the wheel at the same time for a few seconds until the screen goes blank,you should then see the Apple logo and it will start itself from there
Post by: lurganblue on November 20, 2009, 01:18:16 PM
i've a quick question about itunes. dont know if its been covered yet already?

i already use itunes on my laptop to get music onto my iphone.  both me and the wife have got our daughter and ipod nano for christmas. now obviously she doesnt listen to the same type of music that i do.  I'm wondering if it is possible to have two seperate itunes accounts on the one laptop and if so how?

i tried to log in as a different user and download itunes again. i got a message to say that itunes was already downloaded on this system and did i want to continue. i decided not to as i was afraid that it would wipe all the songs on my current itunes.
any help would be greatly appreciated.
Post by: Billys Boots on November 20, 2009, 01:39:17 PM
I'd say that you need to enable the manual management of files, rather than 'autosynchronisation'.  My two kids use the computer at home for their iTunes accounts and they like completely different kinds of music - I've heard no complaints from them about it.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on November 20, 2009, 01:57:10 PM
lurgan blue..the way I did this for me, the wife, and our kids is to set up playlists for them e.g. Mary's Music.  Copy the music your wife wants from the library to that playlist.  Then ask the iPod to sync music only from that playlist to your wife's or daughter's iPod.
Post by: lurganblue on November 20, 2009, 03:12:35 PM
Thanks lads, I'll give the new playlist a go and see if that works.
Post by: screenexile on November 20, 2009, 04:18:31 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on November 20, 2009, 03:12:35 PM

There is another better way which you can set up a completely separate iTunes library... hold the shift key when clicking the iTunes icon and it will ask you if you want to choose a different itunes library or create a new one. At first you create a new one then you can switch between them using the shift key every time you restart iTunes.
Post by: Minder on November 20, 2009, 07:00:24 PM
Lurganblue - I have separate usernames for me and the wife and also separate Itunes accounts on each username. You should be able to do this without any bother.
Post by: lurganblue on November 23, 2009, 08:57:41 PM
Quote from: screenexile on November 20, 2009, 04:18:31 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on November 20, 2009, 03:12:35 PM

There is another better way which you can set up a completely separate iTunes library... hold the shift key when clicking the iTunes icon and it will ask you if you want to choose a different itunes library or create a new one. At first you create a new one then you can switch between them using the shift key every time you restart iTunes.

tried this and it just opens as normal for me screen. doesnt give me that option

Quote from: Minder on November 20, 2009, 07:00:24 PM
Lurganblue - I have separate usernames for me and the wife and also separate Itunes accounts on each username. You should be able to do this without any bother.

so if i download itunes as a different user it shouldnt wipe what i already have on my own account?
Post by: Minder on November 23, 2009, 11:20:56 PM
Lurganblue - No it shouldn't, I have about four different Itune accounts on my computer, all as different usernames.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on November 23, 2009, 11:31:13 PM
What do you need 4 iTunes accounts for Minder? Up to no good as usual ;)
Post by: Billys Boots on December 14, 2009, 10:31:41 AM
For iTunes experts, is there a catch with emusic.com (offering a significantly cheaper alternative than iTunes)??
Post by: Billys Boots on December 15, 2009, 12:02:26 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on December 14, 2009, 10:31:41 AM
For iTunes experts, is there a catch with emusic.com (offering a significantly cheaper alternative than iTunes)??

Bumpity bump!  Anyone?  Anyone?
Post by: ArmaghLedd on December 15, 2009, 12:07:31 PM
Well I've been using itunes for a few years but I've never agreed to paying 79p-99p for a song. I think it is brutal the price for 1 song, I have used various sites giving free downloads and have also used cd's but these day Itunes has taken the digital music market to the next level every site expects you to pay for a song now.

But If i was buying a song i would purchase it of Itunes, least you know it safe and reliable and if any problems occur you can always email apple.
Post by: Main Street on December 15, 2009, 01:04:15 PM
In contrast to the some of the outlaw sentiments expressed elsewhere, I think it adds some small bit of integrity that we have at least one member who still actually pays for downloadable music.
Post by: gallsman on December 26, 2009, 02:35:07 PM
Anyone any tips for places to pick up cheaper iPods or the like for relatively? Preferably the newest Classic ones.
Post by: flantheman82 on December 27, 2009, 10:24:29 AM
Hey, I'm pretty sure it can't be done but is there anyway I can transfer songs from the iTunes library on my laptop to the iTunes library on my da's pc via a memory stick? For using on 2 separate iPods?
Post by: Main Street on December 27, 2009, 12:35:29 PM
It can be done quite simply.
Just copy the music manually to the usb stick  from your iTunes folder in 
C:\Documents and Settings\%your_username_here%\My Documents\My Music
then open up iTunes on your Dad's pc  and drop them into the Music Library as normal.
Post by: ONeill on December 29, 2009, 10:57:00 PM
How can I transfer my podcasts from my itunes account on the laptop to my phone? I thought that the automatic sync when I plug in the phone would do that but it doesn't.
Post by: ONeill on December 29, 2009, 11:20:17 PM
It'd be more in your line to be picking up thon tin cans lying in the street.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on December 29, 2009, 11:21:52 PM

Look at your settings. The 'synch podcasts' may not be checked with a 'tick'
Post by: ONeill on December 29, 2009, 11:42:44 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on December 29, 2009, 11:21:52 PM

Look at your settings. The 'synch podcasts' may not be checked with a 'tick'

The job's a good 'un.
Post by: ONeill on December 29, 2009, 11:48:42 PM
Just noticed nothing is ticked at all. It must be herself. Always unticking things.
Post by: ONeill on December 29, 2009, 11:57:27 PM
Why would you sync applications?
Post by: Norf Tyrone on January 06, 2010, 12:20:36 PM
Probably a question that's been covered 100s of times on here.

If I want to transfer my music from my PC to the IPOD nano, what do I have to do?

A--- Do I set up an I Tunes account, upload them to there, then upload to the ipod?

B--- Is there an easier way?
Post by: screenexile on January 06, 2010, 12:33:17 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on January 06, 2010, 12:20:36 PM
Probably a question that's been covered 100s of times on here.

If I want to transfer my music from my PC to the IPOD nano, what do I have to do?

A--- Do I set up an I Tunes account, upload them to there, then upload to the ipod?

B--- Is there an easier way?

If they are already on your computer it shouldn't take you long at all. Download iTunes then click 'File' and 'add folders to itunes library'.

Once you've done that then highlight the folders where your music is and iTunes wil then display them.

Once that's done you can transfer away on the iPod nano.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on March 07, 2010, 08:33:17 AM
My PC fucked up yesterday and I've lost 2,000 tunes. Plug in the iPod, asks me to transfer the lost tunes, I say yes, but then it freezes. Any ideas?
Post by: Main Street on March 07, 2010, 11:18:13 AM
If the tunes are still on your computer they are stored in a folder
User - my Music - iTunes.

If not, then you can start to panic.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on March 07, 2010, 02:54:08 PM
They are there. Do I just click and drag them into iTunes?

Thanks Main street, has done the trick, just about 100 songs lost.
Post by: Puckoon on March 24, 2010, 06:33:54 PM
Ive been using iTunes for almost 6 years now, and I have a new problem. Previously, I had iTunes on a work computer at a place I no longer work, and at a home computer in a place I no longer live. I also had a 3G iPhone which was stolen, and now have a new 3Gs phone.

My question is that when I authorized a new computer to access my iTunes account - only the music purchased on the new iPhone is available. All other purchased music over the other three devices going back to 2004 - is no longer accessible.

Any ideas?
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on April 28, 2010, 08:02:25 PM
I have a new 8GB I pod to replace my 4GB i pod

How do i transfer my music from one IPOD to another IPOD?   Do I have to use some sort of software like YamiPod? ???

HELP TECH HEADS  :)
Post by: gerry on July 15, 2010, 12:01:11 PM
any ideas how i sort an ipode that "says ipod in recovery mode need to rest".
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 15, 2010, 12:19:52 PM
Quote from: gerry on July 15, 2010, 12:01:11 PM

A hot bath and a early night? Maybe a drop of Jameson as well?
Post by: gerry on July 15, 2010, 12:31:33 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 15, 2010, 12:19:52 PM
any ideas how i sort an ipode that "says ipod in recovery mode need to reset".

A hot bath and a early night? Maybe a drop of Jameson as well?

feck the jameson just for me only
Post by: Main Street on July 15, 2010, 01:43:42 PM
This should sort it out for you.
http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1456?viewlocale=en_US (http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1456?viewlocale=en_US)
Post by: gerry on July 15, 2010, 05:45:53 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 15, 2010, 01:43:42 PM
http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1456?viewlocale=en_US (http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1456?viewlocale=en_US)

cheers, had already tried that now it saying files being used by other user.
Post by: Main Street on July 15, 2010, 08:12:24 PM
Quote from: gerry on July 15, 2010, 05:45:53 PM

Another user or another application?
You are using the ipod on your computer and have done so before with no problems?
Have you followed all the instructions from that linked page? have you reassigned a drive letter to the iPod in Computer Management.
Windows is a peculiarly knotty OS and fortunately I never had to learn the ways around its many idiosyncrasies. I don't know the ways around to unlock a process.

Last resort.
Is all your iPod music in the iTunes library?
if so then just do a low level format to the ipod drive  (to fat32) , wiping everything out and start from scratch, then restore in iTunes.

Post by: gerry on July 16, 2010, 12:57:32 AM
Quote from: Main Street on July 15, 2010, 08:12:24 PM
Quote from: gerry on July 15, 2010, 05:45:53 PM

Another user or another application?
You are using the ipod on your computer and have done so before with no problems?
Have you followed all the instructions from that linked page? have you reassigned a drive letter to the iPod in Computer Management.
Windows is a peculiarly knotty OS and fortunately I never had to learn the ways around its many idiosyncrasies. I don't know the ways around to unlock a process.

Last resort.
Is all your iPod music in the iTunes library?
if so then just do a low level format to the ipod drive  (to fat32) , wiping everything out and start from scratch, then restore in iTunes.

aye done all that but vista does not give me a fat32 option, best of all its not my ipod but my x wife, fecking hate the sight of them.  i put all my music on my nokia with far less hastle
Post by: Main Street on July 16, 2010, 10:46:55 AM
That would be one of the idiosycrisities of Windows, not allowing you do a fat32 format

Here is a link to a utility called Partition Manager, you can format it with that.
http://rapidshare.com/files/106043293/Paragon.Partition.Manager.v9.0.Professional-Mohsen6558.rar (http://rapidshare.com/files/106043293/Paragon.Partition.Manager.v9.0.Professional-Mohsen6558.rar)
Post by: gerry on July 16, 2010, 11:01:14 AM
cheers main street, good to see there is no hard feeling before this sunday
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 16, 2010, 11:38:43 AM
Quote from: Boycey on July 15, 2010, 06:31:39 PM
I have no technical help to offer but I would just like to say I f**king hate itunes, most annoying, user unfriendly thing I have ever had the misfortune of using.

Thanks

Post by: Midman on August 17, 2010, 06:22:05 PM
Alright Lads,
                 I'm unable to connect to itunes store or download podcasts. I get the message Iunes could not connect to the store: Make sure your network connection is active.

It was fine until a few days ago and all other web applications are working, any suggestions?
Post by: Main Street on August 17, 2010, 07:30:26 PM
It's not iTunes fault.

Probably this is a firewall issue. Probably you have some anti virus software running and for some reason it decided to block iTunes. In general  I don't use anti virus software so I am not au-fait with that merry go around. Probably you have to try and gain access as an admin to add iTunes to an exception list. But most probably delete your anti virus software, scrub your hard disk clean and check iTunes connectivity before reinstalling your AV software.
Post by: lurganblue on September 04, 2010, 08:55:03 PM
i'm sure this has probably been covered before but i just got a new laptop and i'm trying to transfer the data from my iphone to a new itunes.  i've managed to transfer stuff that i have purchased on itunes but not all the rest of the stuff.  i've tried downloading some "ipod to new computer" software but they all seem to want to charge me for the pleasure. any ideas?
Post by: ziggysego on September 05, 2010, 12:57:03 AM
I spent the better part of 40mins downloading the update for iTunes 10. Right at the last possible minute, the internet crashed. Have to start all over again. ARGH!!!  >:(
Post by: Puckoon on September 05, 2010, 06:12:12 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on September 04, 2010, 08:55:03 PM
i'm sure this has probably been covered before but i just got a new laptop and i'm trying to transfer the data from my iphone to a new itunes.  i've managed to transfer stuff that i have purchased on itunes but not all the rest of the stuff.  i've tried downloading some "ipod to new computer" software but they all seem to want to charge me for the pleasure. any ideas?

I dont know if this pertains to you - but I had an issue whereby I had been purchasing of itunes for years. For one reason or another the two computers I had use for itunes were no longer accesible to me - so I contacted itunes and they gave me a one time only free "redownload" to my new personal computer of all the items I had purchased (with the exception of a couple of items that were no longer available for some reason).

If this is the same for you - contact them and see what they can do.
Post by: lurganblue on September 05, 2010, 07:32:53 PM
Na unfortunately not puck. The stuff I purchased transferred ok. It's the stuff that I have downloaded off different sites which I can't now transfer from my iPhone to the new iTunes
Post by: fitzroyalty on September 06, 2010, 01:16:09 PM
ipod is being clean ive, will only play through the left speakers in the car and when its hooked up to the aux yoke on the hifi, yet works fine on my ipod earphones? Any ideas?
Post by: Main Street on September 06, 2010, 01:25:32 PM
The output jack on the iPod is fine, then the first thing I would suspect is the cable you use in the car.
Post by: Bensars on September 06, 2010, 01:48:55 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on September 06, 2010, 01:16:09 PM
ipod is being clean ive, will only play through the left speakers in the car and when its hooked up to the aux yoke on the hifi, yet works fine on my ipod earphones? Any ideas?

Some Car stereos require a specific cable. I have a Kenwood stereo in my car and it requires a cable that connects into the jack and usb port simultaneously.
Post by: Minder on November 21, 2010, 02:17:36 PM
Anyone know how to get an IPhone out of "recovery mode" without having to restore it?
Post by: Main Street on November 21, 2010, 03:42:48 PM
Quote from: Minder on November 21, 2010, 02:17:36 PM
Anyone know how to get an IPhone out of "recovery mode" without having to restore it?
I don't, but as not knowing the solution is not the problem, I offer you a link that appears first in a basic search
http://cybernetnews.com/get-iphone-out-of-recovery-mode/ (http://cybernetnews.com/get-iphone-out-of-recovery-mode/)
Post by: Minder on November 21, 2010, 04:19:16 PM
Quote from: Main Street on November 21, 2010, 03:42:48 PM
Quote from: Minder on November 21, 2010, 02:17:36 PM
I don't, but as not knowing the solution is not the problem, I offer you a link that appears first in a basic search
http://cybernetnews.com/get-iphone-out-of-recovery-mode/ (http://cybernetnews.com/get-iphone-out-of-recovery-mode/)

Thanks, tried that link to no avail last night. This query is actually on behalf of Tony Baloney.
Post by: Main Street on November 21, 2010, 06:34:34 PM
Quote from: Minder on November 21, 2010, 04:19:16 PM
This query is actually on behalf of Tony Baloney.
Then would that not be the blind leading the blind?

Post by: Catch the high ball on November 28, 2010, 04:30:43 PM
I have an 80gb ipod classic.

Recently when attempting to charge it via USB plug and via computer it hasn't connected.

It will only charge via the docking station. Also used 2 different USB leads to connect and still didn't work. Can't put feckin music on!
Post by: andoireabu on November 28, 2010, 04:33:07 PM
the sisters ipod suhin seemed to freeze yesterday. the menu selections still work but when you press play on a song it doesn't play.  do any of you know can it be sorted or is it banjaxed?  Bloody thing isn't a year old yet
Post by: muppet on November 28, 2010, 04:35:28 PM
Quote from: andoireabu on November 28, 2010, 04:33:07 PM
the sisters ipod suhin seemed to freeze yesterday. the menu selections still work but when you press play on a song it doesn't play.  do any of you know can it be sorted or is it banjaxed?  Bloody thing isn't a year old yet

Happens from time to time. Needs a reset: http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1320 (http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1320)
Post by: andoireabu on November 28, 2010, 04:44:34 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 28, 2010, 04:35:28 PM
Quote from: andoireabu on November 28, 2010, 04:33:07 PM

Happens from time to time. Needs a reset: http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1320 (http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1320)
sorted. cheers chap. saved a lot of ball ache sending it away
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on December 14, 2010, 07:07:53 PM
Question from an associate!... (apologises if asked already, not pushed on flicking through 25 pages to find out)

Is it possible to transfer films from a hard drive to an IPod touch and not have to buy them off iTunes??
Post by: Minder on December 14, 2010, 07:25:42 PM
Transferring photos from laptop to Itunes/Iphone (after doing a restore). Possible?
Post by: muppet on December 14, 2010, 07:52:00 PM
Quote from: Minder on December 14, 2010, 07:25:42 PM
Transferring photos from laptop to Itunes/Iphone (after doing a restore). Possible?

If it is the laptop that it was originally synched to, should be.
Post by: Main Street on December 14, 2010, 07:59:39 PM
Synch or sync.
Post by: muppet on December 14, 2010, 08:23:00 PM
Quote from: Main Street on December 14, 2010, 07:59:39 PM
Synch or sync.

Not a techie.
Post by: Puckoon on December 14, 2010, 08:31:40 PM
Thanks you sunk.
Post by: muppet on December 14, 2010, 08:57:29 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 14, 2010, 08:31:40 PM
Thanks you sunk.

Cink?
(http://i.pga.com/pga/images/rydercup/2006/photos/team/cink.jpg)
Post by: Puckoon on December 14, 2010, 09:55:31 PM
(http://cache3.asset-cache.net/xc/89750179.jpg?v=1&c=IWSAsset&k=2&d=77BFBA49EF878921CC759DF4EBAC47D0C06DF664D43D6F8D57552B9FEBC3C04880235386B3418874)

Cinked.
Post by: Puckoon on December 14, 2010, 09:57:34 PM
(http://img.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2007/08_03/titanic_468x288.jpg)

Syncing.
Post by: Puckoon on December 14, 2010, 09:58:55 PM
(http://farm1.static.flickr.com/9/69247756_f3ae450f35_z.jpg?zz=1)

Sunk.
Post by: Pangurban on December 15, 2010, 12:13:54 AM
A very stupid question, i know, but when an I Pod touch asks for a password to connect with internet, what is required,  Password supplied by ISP or Modem password or something else
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 15, 2010, 12:19:49 AM
Quote from: Pangurban on December 15, 2010, 12:13:54 AM
A very stupid question, i know, but when an I Pod touch asks for a password to connect with internet, what is required,  Password supplied by ISP or Modem password or something else
Is it accessing Internet via your wifi? If you have a security key on your router any devices using wifi will need that key.
Post by: Pangurban on December 15, 2010, 01:11:02 AM
Many thanks Tony, will try that
Post by: AZOffaly on December 15, 2010, 11:37:59 AM
Hi Lads,

Sorry as I'm sure this has been asked before, but I have a load of music etc on my laptop on an iTunes library for my iPod. Now I have to swap my computer, but the old one is still working fine.

How difficult is it to transfer the library onto the new computer and authorise the new one to sync without losing all my music on either the iPod or the library? Do I need to de-authorise the old one?

Sorry for being a numpty about this.

Cheers
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on December 17, 2010, 09:18:21 PM
As someone said above, apologies if this has been asked before, but the 'in ear' phones by Apple - was thinking of investing, but the price is putting me off. Are they any good, as I have to say that I have found the ordinary i Pod earphones disappointing as regards sound and the fact that they won't stay in my lugs!!   >:(  Maybe if I cleared out the spuds it might help!!   :-[
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 17, 2010, 09:32:59 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 15, 2010, 11:37:59 AM
Hi Lads,

Sorry as I'm sure this has been asked before, but I have a load of music etc on my laptop on an iTunes library for my iPod. Now I have to swap my computer, but the old one is still working fine.

How difficult is it to transfer the library onto the new computer and authorise the new one to sync without losing all my music on either the iPod or the library? Do I need to de-authorise the old one?

Cheers
Minder was doing this yesterday as he was transferring from his old laptop to his new MacBook so he may be of assistance.
Post by: Main Street on December 17, 2010, 09:51:40 PM
Have you figured it out yet AZ? There must be a zillion 'how to' guides out there.
In MacOs you just use Applicat/Utilities/Migration assistant or Time machine or just copy the iTunes folder onto an external hd.
Do you use Windows OS?
You are aware that the iTune library files are stored in the folder  My Music?
Can't you just find some way in Windows to migrate files your new computer?
Just in case you have a problem  to copy your current iPod music into its  iTunes library,
here is a link to a shareware program which facilitates copying the files from iPod to another computer
http://rapidshare.com/files/380739635/CTS3.28.rar (http://rapidshare.com/files/380739635/CTS3.28.rar)
Post by: Minder on December 17, 2010, 09:56:24 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 17, 2010, 09:32:59 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 15, 2010, 11:37:59 AM
Hi Lads,

Cheers
Minder was doing this yesterday as he was transferring from his old laptop to his new MacBook so he may be of assistance.

I was just in the process of drafting a reply Tony. There is probably an easier way, but i googled and thought this was the easiest for me.

Make sure both computers are "authorized". What i did was "share" my library from my old pc to my new one. Obviously they need to be in the same Wi Fi connection/network.

In Itunes -

Edit>preferences>sharing. Tick "Look for shared libraries" & "Share my library on my local network", and select "share entire library. Both computers have to be set up for sharing. Itunes should pick up that you are set up for sharing and it will transfer the library from your old Itunes to the new Itunes. Somewhere in the left hand side of ITunes you should see a "Shared" section. I then imported them from the "Shared" library into the new blank Itunes library. This is where it got a bit time consuming for me, i couldnt see a way of importing them all in one fell swoop (I am sure there is a way) so had to right click on each track and "import". They are now in your new Itunes.

I would say Main Street or someone better versed will put you on the right road.

Post by: Main Street on December 17, 2010, 10:07:30 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on December 17, 2010, 09:18:21 PM
As someone said above, apologies if this has been asked before, but the 'in ear' phones by Apple - was thinking of investing, but the price is putting me off. Are they any good, as I have to say that I have found the ordinary i Pod earphones disappointing as regards sound and the fact that they won't stay in my lugs!!   >:(  Maybe if I cleared out the spuds it might help!!   :-[
Chuck those apple pods into a bin, they are not fit for purpose.
I got a pair of these for my daughter and she like them, that means they are cool and stay in her ear.
The sound quality is good. £85 though
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Monster-Cable-Beats-Dr-Dre-Headphones/dp/B002GI2YXA/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1292622958&sr=1-1 (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Monster-Cable-Beats-Dr-Dre-Headphones/dp/B002GI2YXA/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1292622958&sr=1-1)

You can go lower
A Sennheiser cx300 for £15  is a bargain, about the best deal going, imo.  http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sennheiser-CX-300-II-Precision-Noise-Isolating/dp/B001EZYMTK/ref=sr_1_10?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1292623090&sr=1-10 (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sennheiser-CX-300-II-Precision-Noise-Isolating/dp/B001EZYMTK/ref=sr_1_10?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1292623090&sr=1-10)

Post by: Rufus T Firefly on December 17, 2010, 10:47:48 PM
Quote from: Main Street on December 17, 2010, 10:07:30 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on December 17, 2010, 09:18:21 PM
Chuck those apple pods into a bin, they are not fit for purpose.
I got a pair of these for my daughter and she like them, that means they are cool and stay in her ear.
The sound quality is good. £85 though
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Monster-Cable-Beats-Dr-Dre-Headphones/dp/B002GI2YXA/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1292622958&sr=1-1 (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Monster-Cable-Beats-Dr-Dre-Headphones/dp/B002GI2YXA/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1292622958&sr=1-1)

You can go lower
A Sennheiser cx300 for £15  is a bargain, about the best deal going, imo.  http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sennheiser-CX-300-II-Precision-Noise-Isolating/dp/B001EZYMTK/ref=sr_1_10?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1292623090&sr=1-10 (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sennheiser-CX-300-II-Precision-Noise-Isolating/dp/B001EZYMTK/ref=sr_1_10?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1292623090&sr=1-10)

Thanks for that Main Street. I have a Classic iPod 80 Gb and I've just realised whilst reading up on the earpones that the mic (sp?) and remote control don't work with this 'older model', and I assume those features are a significant part of the price. I'll definitely check out what you recommended! 
Post by: Main Street on December 18, 2010, 04:09:55 PM
You can get the cable beats with or without the control talk feature, but they are similarly expensive, you have to treat them with care as you have more to lose.
That's why  (not great but defiantly good enough) Sennheiser cx300 pods for £20 make (sound) practical sense. They are a big upgrade from the apple pods.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 20, 2010, 07:17:21 PM
Thanks a million lads. I'll try this over the Christmas. I have a good few purchased songs from iTunes, so I don't want to lose them when I migrate the library. The music files themselves are already on the new computer.
Post by: Puckoon on December 20, 2010, 07:19:24 PM
I really dont understand why for such an expensive, well made product - the headphones associated with apple are beyond useless.
Post by: Don Johnson on January 03, 2011, 10:54:25 PM
Recently tried to sort out my music folders. I have downloaded the same songs a couple of times and have a good lot of duplicates in my iTunes library.

I know I can click on 'show duplicates' and this brings them all up. Then I could go through and delete each duplicate from the iTunes library but I was wondering is there any way of deleting from the library AND also taking it off my hard drive at the same time to get rid of clutter. Rather than go through my music folder one by one as it is a mess, all over the place.

I was thinking if there isn't a simple way to do this on iTunes that I try this:
-Copy entire iTunes library to iPod
-Delete Music folder from hard drive
-Use Copypod or something and copy the music from my Ipod to my newly blank Music folder
-This will then have the songs etc all tidied up into folders by Artist?? Am I right? This would make it a lot easier deleting the duplicates.

Really annoys me having the same song twice on both my iPod and hard drive, I get a bit OCD over it. Also annoys me when I flick through friend's iPods and they have the same artist down about two or three times (eg Beatles, Beetles and The Beatles).
Post by: DrinkingHarp on January 14, 2011, 11:22:29 PM
Ok, I am cheap - where can I get free music downloads for my Ipod Nano?

If not free then maybe a month or week of unlimited downloading for a set price.

New to the whole downloading thing so I will have the nephew do the downloading.

Post by: Minder on January 14, 2011, 11:33:29 PM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on January 14, 2011, 11:22:29 PM

If not free then maybe a month or week of unlimited downloading for a set price.

New to the whole downloading thing so I will have the nephew do the downloading.

I use Ares, YouTube Convertor is supposed to be a grand job too. All free.
Post by: Don Johnson on January 15, 2011, 12:11:49 AM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on January 14, 2011, 11:22:29 PM

If you don't mind a life of crime, use torrents.
Post by: Don Johnson on October 20, 2011, 09:06:51 AM
Finally ordered myself a new iPod Classic there last night after going so long without one. Got a Nano ordered as well for when I am on the go.

Anyway, is there anything I can do with my old water damaged one? Seems a waste just binning it, is it totally useless? I have tried all the usual methods, leeaving it in the hot press for ages, even when it has dried out it still doesn't turn on at all.
Post by: Main Street on October 20, 2011, 11:31:19 AM
Is it an iPod classic? There's not much you can do with it, unless you hold onto it and find (free advert?) someone who could scavenge the parts e.g. battery, drive. possibly the screen. There are people who would really appreciate a free classic to take apart.

Post by: Don Johnson on October 20, 2011, 12:47:42 PM
Yeah it is a silver 160gb Classic. Only had it for a couple of months before I spilt water on it one night, I ws drunk and spilt a pint of water on the floor and didn't notice until the morning my iPod was lying there beside it.
Post by: muppet on October 20, 2011, 03:00:55 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on October 20, 2011, 12:47:42 PM
Yeah it is a silver 160gb Classic. Only had it for a couple of months before I spilt water on it one night, I ws drunk and spilt a pint of water on the floor and didn't notice until the morning my iPod was lying there beside it.

Yea, eh water.
Post by: J OGorman on October 20, 2011, 04:58:00 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on October 20, 2011, 09:06:51 AM
Finally ordered myself a new iPod Classic there last night after going so long without one. Got a Nano ordered as well for when I am on the go.

Anyway, is there anything I can do with my old water damaged one? Seems a waste just binning it, is it totally useless? I have tried all the usual methods, leeaving it in the hot press for ages, even when it has dried out it still doesn't turn on at all.

Don, re the iPod classic..i had one were the swivel bit stopped working, thing was brusted. Being of country stock, I took a flat-head screwdriver to trying to open it, made a right mess of it. I phoned Apple and bought a one year apple care protection plan. A few days later a courier called to collect my battered iPod and a replacement arrived within the week, gleaming...would be worth the £40 if its a 160GB classic
Post by: supersub on December 13, 2011, 01:43:04 PM
Don't know if it has been asked before don't have time to trawl through, but I am looking to transfer the songs from my ipod nano to my (new) laptop, don't have the old itunes library/laptop.

Does anyone have the/a programme to do this? Basically ripping the songs off your ipod back to computer.
Post by: Main Street on December 13, 2011, 04:19:05 PM
You actually don't need extra software.
I presume you use  Windows OS

laziness  goes with the territory  :)

The music files are in a hidden folder called ipod_control directory
but are easily revealed,

read from  half way down
http://www.ilounge.com/index.php/articles/comments/copying-music-from-ipod-to-computer/P1/ (http://www.ilounge.com/index.php/articles/comments/copying-music-from-ipod-to-computer/P1/)

the chapter on The Brute-Force Approach—Copying your Media Back Manually

Once you locate the folder on the iPod disk,  just simply drop the music folders back into iTunes application- music library. And all tagging info will be preserved as the music files come back to life.
Post by: supersub on December 13, 2011, 07:10:31 PM
Cheers was readin up on that earlier this afternoon but wasn't that confident I could do it without corrupting the ipod! But think I will give it a go!1
Post by: bennydorano on December 13, 2011, 10:08:01 PM
Quote from: supersub on December 13, 2011, 01:43:04 PM
Don't know if it has been asked before don't have time to trawl through, but I am looking to transfer the songs from my ipod nano to my (new) laptop, don't have the old itunes library/laptop.

Does anyone have the/a programme to do this? Basically ripping the songs off your ipod back to computer.
Sounds like a job for itunes liberator
Post by: muppet on December 14, 2011, 02:48:43 PM
Quote from: Main Street on December 13, 2011, 04:19:05 PM
You actually don't need extra software.
I presume you use  Windows OS

laziness  goes with the territory  :)

The music files are in a hidden folder called ipod_control directory
but are easily revealed,

read from  half way down
http://www.ilounge.com/index.php/articles/comments/copying-music-from-ipod-to-computer/P1/ (http://www.ilounge.com/index.php/articles/comments/copying-music-from-ipod-to-computer/P1/)

the chapter on The Brute-Force Approach—Copying your Media Back Manually

Once you locate the folder on the iPod disk,  just simply drop the music folders back into iTunes application- music library. And all tagging info will be preserved as the music files come back to life.

Good man.

Signed up yesterday for the 30 day FREE trial with Senuti and it is practically idiot proof. Excellent piece of software.
Post by: muppet on December 16, 2011, 07:13:29 PM
iTunes have a free App for Christmas which will give free songs, books and Apps every day from 26th Dec to the 6th Jan. And this is supposed to be all FREE.
Post by: Minder on December 16, 2011, 08:07:37 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 16, 2011, 07:13:29 PM
iTunes have a free App for Christmas which will give free songs, books and Apps every day from 26th Dec to the 6th Jan. And this is supposed to be all FREE.

They have been doing it for a few years and it is mostly gash, but there is usually the odd decent thing in it.
Post by: supersub on December 16, 2011, 09:39:27 PM
Had it last year, some poor apps and a few duran duran and kylie songs... But xmas special of Father Ted was a highlight on the other hand!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 27, 2012, 08:27:39 PM
Ok not great at this type of thing, I have just got a ipod shuffle and I'm trying to get it working, it's told me to download the latest itunes. Have tried unsuccessfully now and starting to get pissed off, keeps getting to a point and then says I've to repair or remove itunes, i pick repair as my kids have it on already (don't think it's been updated in a while) and I don't know if tehy will lose stuff if i remove it? I need to snyc my suffle before I can listen to music.

I manage to get to another point and it says the feature you are trying to use is on a network resource that is unavailable

Click OK to try again or enteran alternate path to a folder containing the intillation package itunes64.msi in the box below

use source: which is a c:users/ thingy and a tab with browse beside it!! Whats best thing to do
Post by: ONeill on December 27, 2012, 08:31:54 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 27, 2012, 08:27:39 PM
I need to snyc my suffle before I can listen to music.

Kinky bastard.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 27, 2012, 08:37:23 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 27, 2012, 08:31:54 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 27, 2012, 08:27:39 PM
I need to snyc my suffle before I can listen to music.

Kinky b**tard.

My shuffle ipod!!!
Post by: theticklemister on December 27, 2012, 08:38:27 PM
ha ha good thread.

Can anyone help with this - itunes recognises my ipod, but 'my computer' does not; therefore i can't take the tunes off my itouch to put onto my new laptop computer. was through the internet all day yesterday but here are some weirdos on youtube who just talk shite. i think maybe only a GAA man can help here.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 27, 2012, 08:45:15 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on December 27, 2012, 08:38:27 PM
ha ha good thread.

Can anyone help with this - itunes recognises my ipod, but 'my computer' does not; therefore i can't take the tunes off my itouch to put onto my new laptop computer. was through the internet all day yesterday but here are some weirdos on youtube who just talk shite. i think maybe only a GAA man can help here.

Fcuk off, I asked first!!
Post by: theticklemister on December 27, 2012, 09:08:13 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 27, 2012, 08:45:15 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on December 27, 2012, 08:38:27 PM
ha ha good thread.

Fcuk off, I asked first!!

Yer from west belfast, just go and swipe another ipod shuffle from your neighbour!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :P :P :P :P :P
Post by: BennyCake on February 10, 2013, 12:01:04 AM
What's going on with iTunes lately? There's a few podcasts I listen to, but none have been updated lately.
Post by: Syferus on February 10, 2013, 12:08:45 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on February 10, 2013, 12:01:04 AM
What's going on with iTunes lately? There's a few podcasts I listen to, but none have been updated lately.

The stop downloading by default after you don't listen to them a few weeks in a row. Sometimes you just need to right-click and hit update podcast because the connection can get broken. Likewise podcasts sometimes change their feeds and you need to re-subscribe to them through the store to get them downloading again in that situation.
Post by: BennyCake on February 10, 2013, 12:29:44 AM
Tried all those. Still nothing. Very strange. I listen to some podcasts daily and none have been updated this last 4/5 days or longer.
Post by: bennydorano on January 12, 2016, 04:37:47 PM
Having issues with my daughter's ipod (6th gen i think, bought last summer) - it originally locked & got that message "this ipod is locked for 24million odd mins", I did the restore and got it reset, but now when trying to log in cant remember, apple ids, passwords, recovery emails, the security questions - all that, been there and exhausted all options.

Think i need to remove her account from the ipod and start afresh, anyone know how I can do this?
as i think this is the only way around it?

This has been going on since before Christmas & is driving me nuts. Help appreciated plz
Post by: bennydorano on January 12, 2016, 09:20:34 PM
Anyone? Plz
Post by: No wides on January 13, 2016, 09:10:19 AM
Benny you would need something, with what you forgot you may as well have stolen it, I know you didn't but that is why the security is there, surely you can remember something a security question - where did your parents meet or something?
Post by: No wides on January 13, 2016, 09:12:01 AM
My own daughter lost her IPOD and found it again a few days ago - when she goes to log on to imessage it keeps throwing her back to the login screen, very annoying, followed all suggestions about date being set to automatic etc to no avail.
Post by: bennydorano on January 13, 2016, 01:59:58 PM
Quote from: No wides on January 13, 2016, 09:10:19 AM
Benny you would need something, with what you forgot you may as well have stolen it, I know you didn't but that is why the security is there, surely you can remember something a security question - where did your parents meet or something?
The next step is the Apple shop and these thoughts had already crossed my mind. It's so fucked up, the whole thing is a fiasco of our own making.

I need some way to remove her account from the ipod, it's the only solution unless we fluke upon a password.
Post by: bennydorano on February 27, 2016, 02:45:14 PM
I never got the ipod sorted. I did find the correct Apple id - is there anyway of getting in now without knowing the recovery email address or DOB - as a fake one was used :'( With the recovery email it just says it's a hotmail address, anyway of getting the full address? (as it's defo not mine). Any help appreciated.