GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: passedit on October 18, 2009, 11:24:55 AM

Title: Donal Og's Book
Post by: passedit on October 18, 2009, 11:24:55 AM
Saw this on AFR this morning

http://www.anfearrua.com/db.asp?a=topicdisplay&tid=721969 (http://www.anfearrua.com/db.asp?a=topicdisplay&tid=721969)

Unfortunate that he should choose the Daily Mail for such a revelation.

I hope (for once) that the moderators here follow AFR's cautious lead.

Title: Re: Donal Og's Book
Post by: cicfada on October 18, 2009, 11:28:33 AM
An extraordinarily brave move on his part, it will put an end to the rumours anyway. It never affected his goalkeeping ability or indeeed influenced his tactics with regard to stirkes etc. This book will sell in huge numbers now! I wonder who will follow his lead!!!!!!!!
Post by: orangeman on October 18, 2009, 12:02:08 PM
Quote from: passedit on October 18, 2009, 11:24:55 AM

http://www.anfearrua.com/db.asp?a=topicdisplay&tid=721969 (http://www.anfearrua.com/db.asp?a=topicdisplay&tid=721969)

Would agree with that.

Definitely a very brave move on his part. Incendiary is how the book content is being described.

Good luck to him.
Post by: Lecale2 on October 18, 2009, 12:46:13 PM
Fair play to him. A brave move indeed.
Post by: INDIANA on October 18, 2009, 01:08:29 PM
Quote from: orangeman on October 18, 2009, 12:02:08 PM

Would agree with that.

Definitely a very brave move on his part. Incendiary is how the book content is being described.

Good luck to him.

lads there was stuff that they had to take out of the book because it was libellous. Could have been even more incendiary from what I heard.
Post by: heffo on October 18, 2009, 04:23:05 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on October 18, 2009, 01:08:29 PM
Quote from: orangeman on October 18, 2009, 12:02:08 PM

Would agree with that.

Good luck to him.

lads there was stuff that they had to take out of the book because it was libellous. Could have been even more incendiary from what I heard.

Correct.

He was always going to have to cover that particular issue - fair play to him for not shying away from it.
Post by: zoyler on October 18, 2009, 04:42:12 PM
Could not care less about his sexual orientation.  What upsets me is serialisation in the most anti-Irish Newspaper in the history of the British Yellow Press - even worse then The Sun.

I suppose we should not be surprised given his membership and encouragement of the GPA - when you bring in money principle soon loses out.
Post by: slow corner back on October 18, 2009, 05:10:01 PM
I for one would never buy the mail under any circumstances and indeed my opinion on Donals book would be similar ( I know I am prejudging a book I have not read but I just do not like the guy bec ause of his GPA striking B**shit ). Fair dues to him however for being the first high profile GAA player to come out that must have been difficult for him and his family.
Post by: stew on October 18, 2009, 08:54:50 PM
Quote from: slow corner back on October 18, 2009, 05:10:01 PM
I for one would never buy the mail under any circumstances and indeed my opinion on Donals book would be similar ( I know I am prejudging a book I have not read but I just do not like the guy bec ause of his GPA striking B**shit ). Fair dues to him however for being the first high profile GAA player to come out that must have been difficult for him and his family.

I would ahve no time for him based on what i know about his involvement with the gpa, I think he is a repugnant bastid and would have no time for him or his ilk. Desie and yer man are despicable hoors.

I will give the attention seeking hoor this though, he has some set of balls on him to come out and be the first openly gay GAA player.
Post by: stevetharlear on October 18, 2009, 09:31:39 PM
Quote from: stew on October 18, 2009, 08:54:50 PM

I would ahve no time for him based on what i know about his involvement with the gpa, I think he is a repugnant bastid and would have no time for him or his ilk. Desie and yer man are despicable hoors.

I will give the attention seeking hoor this though, he has some set of balls on him to come out and be the first openly gay GAA player.

Is it just Dessie and Donl's involvement bugs ya or is it all GPA members?
Post by: stew on October 18, 2009, 10:15:49 PM
Quote from: stevetharlear on October 18, 2009, 09:31:39 PM

It is any member who wants to turn our sports into a professional game, played by mercenaries for profit, these two are the highest profile players who have spoken out on tis and they is why i reserved my loathing for these two, they are the poster children for all that is bad within the gpa.
Post by: Zulu on October 18, 2009, 10:33:32 PM
The fact that they haven't done this is neither here nor there to you I suppose? That is simply your interpretation of statements they've made and that interpreatation is in fact at odds with what both men have said publicly.
Post by: dowling on October 18, 2009, 10:39:57 PM
Quote from: Zulu on October 18, 2009, 10:33:32 PM
The fact that they haven't done this is neither here nor there to you I suppose? That is simply your interpretation of statements they've made and that interpreatation is in fact at odds with what both men have said publicly.

And that's shite too Zulu. Yourself and others write/talk as if the GPA member is unknown to the rest of the GAA and they're misunderstood. If only we knew them we'd know how the GAA will develop and improve from what they're trying to do. We all know what they're at, maybe their parents and others licking their arses don't care or can't see for the darkness.
Post by: Reillers on October 18, 2009, 11:33:02 PM
Quote from: zoyler on October 18, 2009, 04:42:12 PM
Could not care less about his sexual orientation.  What upsets me is serialisation in the most anti-Irish Newspaper in the history of the British Yellow Press - even worse then The Sun.

I suppose we should not be surprised given his membership and encouragement of the GPA - when you bring in money principle soon loses out.

First off, I thought that was pretty old news, apparently not for some.

And secondly I'm 99% sure that the publishers decide all the things that include which paper gets the first extracts and such, very little to do with him, but of course he'll get insulted for just about anything on here.
Post by: Reillers on October 18, 2009, 11:35:35 PM
Quote from: stew on October 18, 2009, 10:15:49 PM
Quote from: stevetharlear on October 18, 2009, 09:31:39 PM

It is any member who wants to turn our sports into a professional game, played by mercenaries for profit, these two are the highest profile players who have spoken out on tis and they is why i reserved my loathing for these two, they are the poster children for all that is bad within the gpa.

Are you pulling the piss, plenty of other high profile players have come out in backing of the GPA, yet you don't have a go at them.
You could find a lot of things that the likes of Donal Og has done that would make hime a good poster for the young kids.
But never mind that..It's your personal opinion that's involved here, what's the point in hiding it.
Post by: Zulu on October 18, 2009, 11:37:36 PM
Quote from: dowling on October 18, 2009, 10:39:57 PM
Quote from: Zulu on October 18, 2009, 10:33:32 PM

And that's shite too Zulu. Yourself and others write/talk as if the GPA member is unknown to the rest of the GAA and they're misunderstood. If only we knew them we'd know how the GAA will develop and improve from what they're trying to do. We all know what they're at, maybe their parents and others licking their arses don't care or can't see for the darkness.

Yeah we all know what's going on, with your lack of insight into issues we can be almost 100% sure you don't know what's going on.
Post by: kevmy on October 19, 2009, 10:17:00 AM
I must be one of the few people who doesn't either hate or outright support Donal Óg.

He probably took some poor decisions in dealings with Cork County Board and the media over the yrs. Having said that he was up against probably the most rabid and unreasonable board in the country and had a lot of justification for it.

A really good goalie over the yrs and has pretty much never had a bad day.

Took some courage to come out - especially since he's still playing and will doubtlessly get buckets of abuse because of it.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on October 20, 2009, 01:03:44 AM
This is just a ploy to sell books,especially from members of the Gay/Lesbian Community who will now buy it in massive numbers.
i think i can say that i speak for the vast majority of members on this board anyway,when i say"who gives a f**k about Donal Og's sexuality".The rest of us have enough of our own problems rather than caring about whether our GAA stars smoke the polel,like the minge or indeed are interested in farm animals.
This guy is just in-love with himself and wants the attention and publicity.
Its sad that something like this is national news-worthy.
(PS im pro  GPA before anyone says otherwise  :D)
Post by: ha ha derry on October 20, 2009, 08:46:00 AM
it could have been worse... he could have admitted to being a footballer  ;D
Post by: Last Man on October 20, 2009, 11:44:04 AM
Very eloquently put Ballyhaise man, my thoughts exactly.
Post by: ha ha derry on October 20, 2009, 01:55:28 PM
always knew he was the best ball handler in the country  :D
Post by: illdecide on October 20, 2009, 02:23:48 PM
The Irish News done a short story on Donal today and gave actual comments from the GAA Board in their write up :D

Apparently someone wrote "it took some balls to come and fair play to him but he's still a bollix". I can remember reading that too but i couldn't find the thread there...must have been deleted ???
Post by: Lecale2 on October 20, 2009, 02:35:42 PM
The best quote I read was his Da's reaction when he told him he was gay - " Ah Jesus Donal Og! It's been hard enough trying to defend your short puck outs and now this!"
Post by: Drumanee 1 on October 20, 2009, 03:41:43 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on October 20, 2009, 01:03:44 AM
This is just a ploy to sell books,especially from members of the Gay/Lesbian Community who will now buy it in massive numbers.
i think i can say that i speak for the vast majority of members on this board anyway,when i say"who gives a f**k about Donal Og's sexuality".The rest of us have enough of our own problems rather than caring about whether our GAA stars smoke the polel,like the minge or indeed are interested in farm animals.
(PS im pro  GPA before anyone says otherwise  :D)

couldnt have put it better myself
Post by: Tubberman on October 20, 2009, 05:08:32 PM
QuoteThis is just a ploy to sell books,especially from members of the Gay/Lesbian Community who will now buy it in massive numbers.
(PS im pro  GPA before anyone says otherwise  )

He's the first GAA intercounty player, and the first major Irish sportsperson I can think of, that has come out publicly as gay. That is newsworthy in itself - a lot more than much of the shite you see on the TV news and in newspapers.
I wouldn't be a fan of Donal Óg, because of his GPA position and his seeming enthusiasm for confrontation and strikes, but I think to say he's only coming out so he can make money from it, is unfair to him. It's not like this is going to make life any easier for him.
You can be sure he'll get the cheap 'jokes' and insults shouted at him on the streets and from the terraces. 
Post by: DennistheMenace on October 20, 2009, 05:29:27 PM
So why come out now then if he isn't looking to make money from it ? Bit of a coincidence his book is coming out soon, no ?
Post by: Drumanee 1 on October 20, 2009, 05:36:23 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on October 20, 2009, 05:08:32 PM
QuoteThis is just a ploy to sell books,especially from members of the Gay/Lesbian Community who will now buy it in massive numbers.
(PS im pro  GPA before anyone says otherwise  )

He's the first GAA intercounty player, and the first major Irish sportsperson I can think of, that has come out publicly as gay. That is newsworthy in itself - a lot more than much of the shite you see on the TV news and in newspapers.
I wouldn't be a fan of Donal Óg, because of his GPA position and his seeming enthusiasm for confrontation and strikes, but I think to say he's only coming out so he can make money from it, is unfair to him. It's not like this is going to make life any easier for him.
You can be sure he'll get the cheap 'jokes' and insults shouted at him on the streets and from the terraces. 

he has been getting that anyway as it was widely known,it's all about the same thing,the reason he was the driving force behind the strikes and the g.p.a,money!come out now before the launch of his book,why?book sales,money.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on October 20, 2009, 06:35:30 PM
Fair play to him.

Mind, I can see Iris Robinson and her gang of 17th century homophobes reaching for their bibles and saying, 'The place is not only priest-ridden, but full of gay-lick supporters.'
Post by: Turlough O Carolan on October 21, 2009, 03:06:10 AM
Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on October 20, 2009, 06:35:30 PM
Fair play to him.

Mind, I can see Iris Robinson and her gang of 17th century homophobes reaching for their bibles and saying, 'The place is not only priest-ridden, but full of gay-lick supporters.'

Fair play to Donal Og indeed.

But you can be absolutely sure after hearing about this, the DUPers and Free Presbys won't want to come within an asses roar of a hurling match. In addition to their distrust of "The Devil's Buttermilk", "Bingo" and "Barry's Tea", you can now add the "short puck out."
Post by: deiseach on October 21, 2009, 09:14:07 AM
Quote from: ha ha derry on October 20, 2009, 08:46:00 AM
it could have been worse... he could have admitted to being a footballer  ;D

Post by: deiseach on October 21, 2009, 09:38:20 AM
It's probably my instinctive distaste for Donal Óg and all his works and all his deeds, but my initial reaction was 'big deal, who gives a rat's ass in this day and age?'. Then I thought about all the openly gay active male athletes, and offhand I can't think of any. A few players in America have come out after they retired and the reaction from their former colleagues has ranged from mild irritation to outright disgust. It's a macho culture and anything which undermines that is going to be frowned upon. So fair play to Donal Óg. Someone had to be first and I admire his courage.

Going off on a tangent, was it really as widely known as people seem to be suggesting?
Post by: kevmy on October 21, 2009, 11:27:09 AM
I think it's wrong to say he's just coming out to make money from it.

Sure he has a book coming out - it's autobiography - in which people usually write about themselves, who they are and what they did - in their own words.

And I think its fair to say that being gay is a large part of who he is so it's completely fair to write about that.

If he hadn't said anything about it in the book people would be on here accusing him of dodging the issue. Some people have there minds made up about him and he'll never win them over
Post by: theskull1 on October 21, 2009, 11:47:53 AM
Don't be so niave kevmy.

The media and publishing industry is a business. Telling stories to them is a business. The more interesting the story the more potential to be of interest to the media because they can make money from relaying them. Donal Og and his agent know that the "oh did I ever tell you I'm gay" story will have legs as they say and they will be able to make money from it because the media industry craves shite like this. Get ready for TV appearances and glossy mag articles on top of the book and serialisations in the mail as he tells "his story" to the dumb masses

Of course it's not "just" the only reason I'm sure but the timing of it makes it obvious that he's making hay with his revelations.

He's no dozer
Post by: orangeman on October 21, 2009, 11:55:59 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 21, 2009, 11:47:53 AM
Don't be so niave kevmy.

The media and publishing industry is a business. Telling stories to them is a business. The more interesting the story the more potential to be of interest to the media because they can make money from relaying them. Donal Og and his agent know that the "oh did I ever tell you I'm gay" story will have legs as they say and they will be able to make money from it because the media industry craves shite like this. Get ready for TV appearances and glossy mag articles on top of the book and serialisations in the mail as he tells "his story" to the dumb masses

Of course it's not "just" the only reason I'm sure but the timing of it makes it obvious that he's making hay with his revelations.

He's no dozer

Jesus Christ ! This will be unbearable !
Post by: deiseach on October 21, 2009, 12:10:11 PM
Don't be so niave kevmy.

He's no dozer

You make it sound like he's decided to be gay for the purposes of selling his book.
Post by: Minder on October 21, 2009, 12:10:54 PM
He is on the Late Late show on Friday
Post by: theskull1 on October 21, 2009, 12:30:01 PM
Quote from: deiseach on October 21, 2009, 12:10:11 PM
You make it sound like he's decided to be gay for the purposes of selling his book.

If I tell you I'm not do you believe me?  :)

Read what I said again. I'm simply saying that he's taking full advantage of "his story" to benefit himself financially. The "I'm gay" story. The Frank Murphy saga. The Gerard McCarthy saga. The GPA and my role within it...etc etc

And I wouldn't doubt for one minute that creating controversy over the years wasn't in some way motivated by his own interests in creating incidents to write about later, as well as building a media profile for himself which he could benefit from. Rather than dealing with things behind closed doors ...theres no money in that. Some of course will say thats very cynical..but chat to any person in the PR industry about how that business works and you'll get you eyes opened. People do work the system and they will be encouraged to do so if the stories will be there for the media to benefit from as well.
Post by: Billys Boots on October 21, 2009, 12:44:08 PM
It would take a Cork hurler to want to make money out of his sexual inclination.
Post by: orangeman on October 21, 2009, 01:21:35 PM
I had a chuckle at this :

Carey defiant on Cats' GPA stance after Cusack jibes

By colm keys

Tuesday October 20 2009

DJ Carey has defended his former Kilkenny colleagues for their lukewarm support for the Gaelic Players' Association, a criticism raised by the association's chairman, Donal Og Cusack, in his forthcoming autobiography 'Come What May'.

Carey, a founding member of the players' body and one-time president, admitted he couldn't disagree with Cusack about Kilkenny's involvement with the GPA but added that Donal Og had to appreciate the different backgrounds they were coming from.

Carey said he condemned any personal abuse directed at Cork hurlers during the league game in Kilkenny earlier this year when the home side won by 27 points and got a standing ovation coming off the field.

Cusack claims a member of the Cork backroom staff heard a supporter in the stand roar, "Where's the nigger now?" in the first half, an apparent reference, he says, to Sean Og O hAilpin.

"I would challenge any supporter, from Kilkenny or anywhere else, if I heard that remark at a game. Of course it is unacceptable but abuse comes with the territory. I've been spat at myself coming off the field at games in Kilkenny."

Cusack is scathing in his criticism of Kilkenny and some of their high-profile players for not putting their collective shoulder to the GPA wheel in a much more meaningful way over the last decade.

"I always think that Kilkenny could have driven it on as much as we (Cork) did but maybe they were just genuinely happy with their own lot. That's their choice, but even they have benefited along the road," he wrote.

"We have made different journeys. We struggled and Kilkenny left us out there to walk the path alone. Through all the troubles we have had we have often thought how much easier and how much more effective for all players this would be if Kilkenny and Cork were marching together. Fine, let's flake each other on the pitch but let's pull together off it.

"It hasn't happened like that though. The more strife we have in Cork, the more pointedly 'of the establishment' Kilkenny seem to become. The more disorder there is in Cork, the more Kilkenny likes to be thought of fondly as the land of milk, honey and contentment.

"The GAA's version of 'The Stepford Wives'," writes Cusack.

"They went their way I suppose and we went ours. They are a great team but I wouldn't be gone on them bar say Eddie Brennan, who I know stands up for the GPA in a tough dressing-room environment.

"I understand they have their different ways and who am I to say which way is the best or right? We all have to take our journeys and do what we have to do, but Kilkenny? I wouldn't be gone on them. I imagine the feeling runs both ways."

argument

Carey said the backgrounds of both teams and their respective counties had to be factored in to give Cusack's argument about Kilkenny a perspective.

"Donal Og is someone who I have a lot of time for and without the input of the Cork players coming together, there wouldn't be a GPA. That's a fact. Their strength of unity in 2002 made the GPA. And I am still wholly supportive of the GPA even though I earnestly feel it is an organisation for current players, not past players.

"But prior to 2002 Cork didn't have a huge involvement in the Gaelic Players' Association. When they had their own troubles later that year it galvanised them, gave them the confidence to know that strength in numbers could get them places. They carried that to the GPA.

"At that time many of the current Kilkenny players were young; Tommy Walsh, JJ Delaney, even Henry (Shefflin) was still in his early 20s. They were more concerned with making the Kilkenny team.

"There were no problems in Kilkenny. The players got everything they sought and more. And that's the environment they came from, which was wholly different from Cork. That has to be taken into context too.

"I agree that if Kilkenny had been more supportive, as Donal Og says, the GPA would have been stronger.

"But Kilkenny were so well looked after in their own county it was hard for these players to be militant against their own board, a unit of the GAA. There were never battles with the board. Brian Cody, and in particular Ned Quinn, made sure of that," said Carey.

"Cork were more conditioned to it because of what went on in their own county. And I admire them greatly for it. But in Kilkenny Ned Quinn made sure we never had to go public on anything. I always stood square with the GPA and I suffered in my own county for that. I took some abuse for it.

"But I had spent my time travelling the country listening to complaints from players in other counties. That's why I became so immersed in the GPA."

Carey said that if Cusack felt Kilkenny was a land of milk, contentment and honey, that's because it was.

"Because they were successful and so well looked after by the board, the Kilkenny players would have felt loyalty to the board and that factored in to the approach to the GPA. Every county is different." Carey admitted he too turned down a lucrative offer from Lucozade Sport because of respect for C&C and Club Energise.

Cusack holds up Sean Og O hAilpin as an example of GPA solidarity for turning down Lucozade Sport for Club Energise (ironically O hAilpin did a Volkswagen promotion last week despite Opel's sponsorship of the GPA awards scheme).

On the subject of the abuse last April, Carey is sure it came from a minority.

"There is a minority in every county. I've suffered from it in Kilkenny. I think genuine hurling people in Kilkenny and other counties appreciate Cork for the hurlers they are."

- colm keys

Irish Independent

Post by: Maiden1 on October 21, 2009, 01:51:35 PM
Don't be so niave kevmy.

He's no dozer

Of course he is writing the book to make money, most people would write a book if they thought enough people would buy it to make it worthwhile.  Having a few personal stories, or a different line on a few fallouts in the camp makes it more interesting.  I have a read a few autobiographies where a player goes on about 1 match after another the whole book without mentioning how they got on with the manager or there team mates and it is boring as f&*k.  Kenny Dalglish autobiography was the worst, we won 1-0 in Anfield, then played 1 up front in the away leg in Moscow where we scrapped a 0-0 draw after they hit the post in the last minute, that got us through to the last 32 ...
Post by: Tubberman on October 21, 2009, 01:59:10 PM
QuoteAnd I wouldn't doubt for one minute that creating controversy over the years wasn't in some way motivated by his own interests in creating incidents to write about later

:D Ah now you're taking it to a different level!
So you honestly think the strikes, the GPA, the homosexuality, the Gerald McCarthy and Frank Murphy run-ins were all cunningly conceived by Cusack 20 years ago when he planned out his life so that it would make a good book that he could earn fame and fortune from.  :P
Post by: Reillers on October 21, 2009, 03:35:36 PM
Don't be so niave kevmy.

He's no dozer

Where do you think we are, America, England?
FFS. You really most hate the guy to say that he came out just to make money.
He's pretty thick skinned, I think we all know that by now, but the level of abuse he's gotten in some games, will be nothing compared to what he gets now, and it'll be from a lot of people, including I guess a few on here. If they hate him enough..
Or if they just think of what they're doing/saying is only a joke..
He's the first (that I can think of) Irish sports person to come out and openly say it, something that goes against the way of the GAA, it's culture..you think he did all that for the money?

To say that he's said what he's said, just for the money is ridiculous, no amount of money that he'll get will compare to the abuse he'll get on the field.
He wouldn't do it to himself, his family or the guys next to him on the pitch.

Many people bring out biographies, and you don't have a go at them, books that are usually full of this and that, bullshit basically. Donal Og actually comes out and writes something meaningful and pretty courageous, and you think it's just for money, and a story for the dumb masses.
Why am I not surprised..not with your type anyway.
Hopefully there'll be a clamp down on abuse in the terraces, because in a lot of games, even the KK one for example now, it's gotten out of hand lately, especially last season. You'd think it'd be just young men, teenagers..sadly it's not most of the time.
Post by: theskull1 on October 21, 2009, 04:04:25 PM
Quote from: Reillers on October 21, 2009, 03:35:36 PM
FFS. You really most hate the guy to say that he came out just to make money.
He's the first (that I can think of) Irish sports person to come out and openly say it, something that goes against the way of the GAA, it's culture..you think he did all that for the money?

To say that he's said what he's said, just for the money is ridiculous, no amount of money that he'll get will compare to the abuse he'll get on the field.

QuoteOf course it's not "just" the only reason I'm sure but the timing of it makes it obvious that he's making hay with his revelations.

I count 25 words there. Could you read them slowly this time Reillers
Post by: EddieMerx on October 21, 2009, 04:11:43 PM
Reillers you are not much of a hurling supporter if you are saying this is the first you heard about it! I am from Wexford and was told almost 2 years ago that Donal was Gay.
Post by: deiseach on October 21, 2009, 04:13:24 PM
Quote from: EddieMerx on October 21, 2009, 04:11:43 PM
Reillers you are not much of a hurling supporter if you are saying this is the first you heard about it! I am from Wexford and was told almost 2 years ago that Donal was Gay.

Darn. I must not be much of a hurling supporter then . . .
Post by: Reillers on October 21, 2009, 04:26:21 PM
Quote from: EddieMerx on October 21, 2009, 04:11:43 PM

As I've said earlier in this topic, a page or so ago, it's old news, in Cork anyway, it's been said around Cork for the last 4/5 years I'd say.
Post by: EddieMerx on October 21, 2009, 04:27:01 PM
I can't believe this is news to people ??? I thought it was widely known but not spoken about in public as it doesn't matter what sexulaity he is
Post by: Reillers on October 21, 2009, 04:33:42 PM
Quote from: EddieMerx on October 21, 2009, 04:27:01 PM
I can't believe this is news to people ??? I thought it was widely known but not spoken about in public as it doesn't matter what sexulaity he is

Apparently it is, shocked a lot of people. I think to be fair it's widely known in Cork, it always has been.

Sure I remember hearing a rumour, and it was a rumour at best that after the handbags at Thurles a few years ago, when the Cork lads and Clare lads had to go up to Dublin that when they were there a Clare player was slagging Donal Og about it and there was a bit more of the handbags between them. Only a rumour of a rumour but I mean that was years ago, and it was known then.

People just didn't talk about it I suppose, there'd be the odd abusive comment thrown at him by other supporters and apparently players, so I suppose that other supporters from different counties knew about it as well, but apparently it wasn't as widely known as I or a lot of other people thought.
Post by: heffo on October 21, 2009, 06:17:14 PM
Quote from: Reillers on October 21, 2009, 04:33:42 PM
Quote from: EddieMerx on October 21, 2009, 04:27:01 PM

Apparently it is, shocked a lot of people. I think to be fair it's widely known in Cork, it always has been.

Sure I remember hearing a rumour, and it was a rumour at best that after the handbags at Thurles a few years ago, when the Cork lads and Clare lads had to go up to Dublin that when they were there a Clare player was slagging Donal Og about it and there was a bit more of the handbags between them. Only a rumour of a rumour but I mean that was years ago, and it was known then.

People just didn't talk about it I suppose, there'd be the odd abusive comment thrown at him by other supporters and apparently players, so I suppose that other supporters from different counties knew about it as well, but apparently it wasn't as widely known as I or a lot of other people thought.

I was told from a good source that what sparked that row in the tunnel was a comment made to Donal Og about his sexuality..
Post by: EddieMerx on October 21, 2009, 06:59:45 PM
Kudos to Donal for coming out and making it public, I am no fan of him and his GPA approach but I don't think he has made this public just to sell a few books. I think it is brave to come out and admit it as although most people suspected it he could always laugh it off as idle gossip. It would be foolish to think that he is the only high profile player who is Gay.
Post by: Minder on October 21, 2009, 07:29:04 PM
He said that when he told Sean Og he never had the same relationship with him.
Post by: Reillers on October 21, 2009, 07:39:04 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 21, 2009, 07:29:04 PM

All his teammates came out and support him, Corcoran and Sean Og especially, fair play to them as well. All legends.
Post by: Reillers on October 21, 2009, 07:50:18 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on October 21, 2009, 07:41:22 PM

:P That's hardly a suprise jumping into the same showers and sharing a room with someone who is attracted to the male form. Now the fox is a straight fox, but tho'n big bronzed O'Hailpin has been a pin up boy and I'm sure very attractive to those into muscular men  :-*

Talk about taking it out of context, but sure those kind of remarks are only to be expected.
And well, I guess it's clear who the people in the stands that will be making those "funny remarks" will be..Ah sure though, they're only jokes and a bit of fun.
Post by: longrunsthefox on October 21, 2009, 07:57:20 PM
Reillers, I did sink a bit there but the whole thing is a cynical bullsh*t way of selling his book. It was common knowledge he is gay... so what?!! Donal Og has been attention seeking for a number of years and brings a lot of the abuse on himself. There is another high profile gay player who just gets on with it and no-one bothers about it.   
Post by: dowling on October 21, 2009, 07:57:43 PM
Quote from: orangeman on October 21, 2009, 01:21:35 PM
I had a chuckle at this :

Carey defiant on Cats' GPA stance after Cusack jibes

By colm keys

Tuesday October 20 2009

DJ Carey has defended his former Kilkenny colleagues for their lukewarm support for the Gaelic Players' Association, a criticism raised by the association's chairman, Donal Og Cusack, in his forthcoming autobiography 'Come What May'.

Carey, a founding member of the players' body and one-time president, admitted he couldn't disagree with Cusack about Kilkenny's involvement with the GPA but added that Donal Og had to appreciate the different backgrounds they were coming from.

Carey said he condemned any personal abuse directed at Cork hurlers during the league game in Kilkenny earlier this year when the home side won by 27 points and got a standing ovation coming off the field.

Cusack claims a member of the Cork backroom staff heard a supporter in the stand roar, "Where's the nigger now?" in the first half, an apparent reference, he says, to Sean Og O hAilpin.

"I would challenge any supporter, from Kilkenny or anywhere else, if I heard that remark at a game. Of course it is unacceptable but abuse comes with the territory. I've been spat at myself coming off the field at games in Kilkenny."

Cusack is scathing in his criticism of Kilkenny and some of their high-profile players for not putting their collective shoulder to the GPA wheel in a much more meaningful way over the last decade.

"I always think that Kilkenny could have driven it on as much as we (Cork) did but maybe they were just genuinely happy with their own lot. That's their choice, but even they have benefited along the road," he wrote.

"We have made different journeys. We struggled and Kilkenny left us out there to walk the path alone. Through all the troubles we have had we have often thought how much easier and how much more effective for all players this would be if Kilkenny and Cork were marching together. Fine, let's flake each other on the pitch but let's pull together off it.

"It hasn't happened like that though. The more strife we have in Cork, the more pointedly 'of the establishment' Kilkenny seem to become. The more disorder there is in Cork, the more Kilkenny likes to be thought of fondly as the land of milk, honey and contentment.

"The GAA's version of 'The Stepford Wives'," writes Cusack.

"They went their way I suppose and we went ours. They are a great team but I wouldn't be gone on them bar say Eddie Brennan, who I know stands up for the GPA in a tough dressing-room environment.

"I understand they have their different ways and who am I to say which way is the best or right? We all have to take our journeys and do what we have to do, but Kilkenny? I wouldn't be gone on them. I imagine the feeling runs both ways."

argument

Carey said the backgrounds of both teams and their respective counties had to be factored in to give Cusack's argument about Kilkenny a perspective.

"Donal Og is someone who I have a lot of time for and without the input of the Cork players coming together, there wouldn't be a GPA. That's a fact. Their strength of unity in 2002 made the GPA. And I am still wholly supportive of the GPA even though I earnestly feel it is an organisation for current players, not past players.

"But prior to 2002 Cork didn't have a huge involvement in the Gaelic Players' Association. When they had their own troubles later that year it galvanised them, gave them the confidence to know that strength in numbers could get them places. They carried that to the GPA.

"At that time many of the current Kilkenny players were young; Tommy Walsh, JJ Delaney, even Henry (Shefflin) was still in his early 20s. They were more concerned with making the Kilkenny team.

"There were no problems in Kilkenny. The players got everything they sought and more. And that's the environment they came from, which was wholly different from Cork. That has to be taken into context too.

"I agree that if Kilkenny had been more supportive, as Donal Og says, the GPA would have been stronger.

"But Kilkenny were so well looked after in their own county it was hard for these players to be militant against their own board, a unit of the GAA. There were never battles with the board. Brian Cody, and in particular Ned Quinn, made sure of that," said Carey.

"Cork were more conditioned to it because of what went on in their own county. And I admire them greatly for it. But in Kilkenny Ned Quinn made sure we never had to go public on anything. I always stood square with the GPA and I suffered in my own county for that. I took some abuse for it.

"But I had spent my time travelling the country listening to complaints from players in other counties. That's why I became so immersed in the GPA."

Carey said that if Cusack felt Kilkenny was a land of milk, contentment and honey, that's because it was.

"Because they were successful and so well looked after by the board, the Kilkenny players would have felt loyalty to the board and that factored in to the approach to the GPA. Every county is different." Carey admitted he too turned down a lucrative offer from Lucozade Sport because of respect for C&C and Club Energise.

Cusack holds up Sean Og O hAilpin as an example of GPA solidarity for turning down Lucozade Sport for Club Energise (ironically O hAilpin did a Volkswagen promotion last week despite Opel's sponsorship of the GPA awards scheme).

On the subject of the abuse last April, Carey is sure it came from a minority.

"There is a minority in every county. I've suffered from it in Kilkenny. I think genuine hurling people in Kilkenny and other counties appreciate Cork for the hurlers they are."

- colm keys

Irish Independent

Proof for those who need it that those players in Cork pushing isses were working to a GPA agenda.
And I'm a little surprised Donal óg comes accross as slightly bitter towards the Kilkenny players although  I suppose after the treatment metted out to Gerald McCarthy in particular maybe I shouldn't be.
Post by: Lecale2 on October 21, 2009, 08:07:32 PM
I'd say the Kilkenny boys don't give a f**k what Donal Og thinks off them when they're polishing their All Ireland medals.
Post by: dowling on October 21, 2009, 08:13:41 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on October 21, 2009, 08:07:32 PM
I'd say the Kilkenny boys don't give a f**k what Donal Og thinks off them when they're polishing their All Ireland medals.

I'd say so but you'd have thought Donal could have been more gracious and maybe he is elsewhere. You could assume he's making the point that Cork hurlers were disadvantaged because they were 'carrying' the Kilkenny boys as far as GPA issues were concerned, as if the Cork boys had so much more to deal with.
Post by: longrunsthefox on October 21, 2009, 08:16:12 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on October 21, 2009, 08:07:32 PM

Exactly... and if Donal Og and his mates had spent less time agitating they might have done better. Biggest cheer of the year was at grounds around the county when Kilkenny hammered Cork. Him and that Dessie Farrell have that eejit Sean Cavanagh's head astray too with the result he can't play in All Ireland semi according to Harte. 
Post by: Minder on October 21, 2009, 08:31:19 PM
Quote from: Reillers on October 21, 2009, 07:39:04 PM

All his teammates came out and support him, Corcoran and Sean Og especially, fair play to them as well. All legends.

Why did he say his friendship with Sean Og has not been the same since he told him then?
Post by: Kerry Mike on October 21, 2009, 08:56:32 PM
And in another development, the Cork public better known as The Langers have again lined the streets of their real capital in a show of suport for the Cork hurlers.

(http://www.lefigaro.fr/assets/photo/stadefrancais.jpg)

Meanwhile the new Cork Jerseys has been launched for 2010

Home

(http://photos.madeinsport.com/E07/Sf-rep1-AH735_4_1_440.jpg)

2nd Jersey

(http://www.subsidesports.com/uk/images/product/xlarge/StadeFrancais3rdRugbyT0607-.jpg)

Yerra its all old news now about Donal Og anyway.

Post by: Reillers on October 21, 2009, 09:34:12 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on October 21, 2009, 07:57:20 PM
Reillers, I did sink a bit there but the whole thing is a cynical bullsh*t way of selling his book. It was common knowledge he is gay... so what?!! Donal Og has been attention seeking for a number of years and brings a lot of the abuse on himself. There is another high profile gay player who just gets on with it and no-one bothers about it.   

Not for everyone, hell not even for a lot of people. He confirmed rumours, but I think it was something he had to do personal, it had very little to do with selling books, he probably would have sold books without saying it, can you see the older generation GAA fan, 50+ range going out and buying the book now?I
He'll bring a hell lot more of abuse on him now, but he hasn't gone looking for it, nobody ever does.
And the amount of abuse that he'll get from certain people who will be doing it for their personal oppinion of him himself, or their beliefs or hell even just for a "joke" wont be made up for in book sales.
Like I said, if you heard him talk in it, he wouldn't do it to himself, his family or the lads on the pitch next to him, because like he says, it bothers them more then it does him.

And if you're telling me that it's no big deal coming out, as a high profile still active player, then you're either incredibly naive or you dislike him that much so you downgrade it.
Take you're pick.
Post by: Reillers on October 21, 2009, 09:34:50 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 21, 2009, 08:31:19 PM

Why did he say his friendship with Sean Og has not been the same since he told him then?
Did you read the entire thing, you've taken it way out of context.
Post by: Reillers on October 21, 2009, 09:37:44 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on October 21, 2009, 08:56:32 PM
And in another development, the Cork public better known as The Langers have again lined the streets of their real capital in a show of suport for the Cork hurlers.

Home

2nd Jersey

(http://www.subsidesports.com/uk/images/product/xlarge/StadeFrancais3rdRugbyT0607-.jpg)

Oh ya, another one of those types, the ones who'll think that the odd comment or chant is just a joke, and a bit of fun.

Hopefully all those types will be clamped down on and kicked out onto the street where they belong.
Hopefully it will be immediate reaction and not like when Sully had to go seek out a garda to throw out the idiot with the megaphone in the Tipp game.
It's a disgrace that he was let continue chanting, and everyone around them did nothing, stayed silent or even worse, joined in.
But hell..it's only a joke right..
Post by: heffo on October 21, 2009, 09:53:23 PM
Jesus Reillers I've missed you - please don't stay away this long again.
Post by: Reillers on October 21, 2009, 09:56:06 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 21, 2009, 08:31:19 PM

Have a read..

http://www.herald.ie/national-news/my-teammates-helped-me-through-ordeal-of-coming-out--donal-og-1917811.html (http://www.herald.ie/national-news/my-teammates-helped-me-through-ordeal-of-coming-out--donal-og-1917811.html)
Post by: Kerry Mike on October 21, 2009, 10:01:17 PM
QuoteOh ya, another one of those types, the ones who'll think that the odd comment or chant is just a joke, and a bit of fun.

Hopefully all those types will be clamped down on and kicked out onto the street where they belong.
Hopefully it will be immediate reaction and not like when Sully had to go seek out a garda to throw out the idiot with the megaphone in the Tipp game.
It's a disgrace that he was let continue chanting, and everyone around them did nothing, stayed silent or even worse, joined in.

Fecks sake ye Cork boys  are very touchy, its a month now since we bate ye , ye should be over it, and yes I was having a smile, but not in a bad way, you have to lighten up, and no I am not condoning any of the abuse Donal Og gets or will probably continue to get. 
Post by: AZOffaly on October 21, 2009, 10:01:49 PM
Firstly, I don't know Donal Og Cusack at all, so I have no idea what the private man is like. I think for people to say they hate him or don't like him is silly. I don't like his ideas a lot of the time, or the way he carries himself in public, or the things he says in relation to the GPA etc, but I don't think that's the person, that's just the bit we see and think we know.

As regards his sexuality, I think that's his own business, and how he deals with letting people know is his own business. So what if he decided it was worth putting in the book. Most autobiographies mention life away from the game, wife, family etc. Donal obviously has different circumstances and it's fairly reasonable to suggest that once he decided to do a book, that it would be part of it.

I sincerely hope that he doesn't hear any abuse for it, but I know he has already. It's been one of those 'secrets' that were fairly well known or rumoured for a while, as he suggests himself. The fact that some lads who know hurling weren't aware of it is a good thing as far as I'm concerned. What a man does in his own time is his own business. This shouldn't change because he's publicly said it.

Having said all that, these comments from Reillers made me chuckle a bit. Unintended I know, but all the more funny for it.

QuoteAll his teammates came out and support him,

and

QuoteClare player was slagging Donal Og about it and there was a bit more of the handbags between them.

Sorry, juvenile I know :D

Post by: Reillers on October 21, 2009, 10:05:33 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on October 21, 2009, 10:01:17 PM
QuoteOh ya, another one of those types, the ones who'll think that the odd comment or chant is just a joke, and a bit of fun.

Fecks sake ye Cork boys  are very touchy, its a month now since we bate y , ye should be over it, and yes I was having a smile, but not in a bad way, you have to have a lighten up, and no I am not condoning any of the abuse Donal Og gets or will probably continue to get.

What are you on about boy. How has this got anything to do with what we're discussing now.
Sure I suppose some of those who give abuse, and will no doubt in the future give even more, will only having a bit of good humoured smile about it, we'll say lighten up. It's only a joke..
You're not condoning abuse? Please you pretty much are almost..because that, having a little smile and joke about it, is usually where it always starts.

Like I said, I hope it's clamped down on this season, for everyone, for all players, no matter what, and that the likes of Sully doesn't have to go hunting out the gards to get it stopped. It's not acceptable.
Post by: Reillers on October 21, 2009, 10:10:26 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 21, 2009, 10:01:49 PM
Firstly, I don't know Donal Og Cusack at all, so I have no idea what the private man is like. I think for people to say they hate him or don't like him is silly. I don't like his ideas a lot of the time, or the way he carries himself in public, or the things he says in relation to the GPA etc, but I don't think that's the person, that's just the bit we see and think we know.

As regards his sexuality, I think that's his own business, and how he deals with letting people know is his own business. So what if he decided it was worth putting in the book. Most autobiographies mention life away from the game, wife, family etc. Donal obviously has different circumstances and it's fairly reasonable to suggest that once he decided to do a book, that it would be part of it.

I sincerely hope that he doesn't hear any abuse for it, but I know he has already. It's been one of those 'secrets' that were fairly well known or rumoured for a while, as he suggests himself. The fact that some lads who know hurling weren't aware of it is a good thing as far as I'm concerned. What a man does in his own time is his own business. This shouldn't change because he's publicly said it.

Having said all that, these comments from Reillers made me chuckle a bit. Unintended I know, but all the more funny for it.

and

QuoteClare player was slagging Donal Og about it and there was a bit more of the handbags between them.

Did anyone read Cody's book..a complete snoze, full of clichys and absolute bore. Whatever about the man himself, one of the great GAA men like, but that book.... :-\
Donal Og's (or so I've heard) is very refreshing (and so far has been) just straight down the line, no bullshit spinning or the same old crap we hear all the time. Just honest, his views, and a lot of biographies aren't like that.
And so far it seems to be getting good reviews..so.
Post by: Kerry Mike on October 21, 2009, 10:14:23 PM
QuoteIt's not acceptable.

its not. At least we agree on something.  But I like them jerseys.

Post by: Reillers on October 21, 2009, 10:16:02 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 21, 2009, 10:14:42 PM
Quote from: Reillers on October 21, 2009, 10:10:26 PM

and

Sorry, juvenile I know :Db

Did anyone read Cody's book..a complete snoze, full of cliches
The Arsenal player? A true Gael.

:-\..all right then..changed it, happy? Can we get back on topic now by any chance?
Post by: Kerry Mike on October 21, 2009, 10:32:26 PM
I suppose Gerald McCarthy will have a book out next disputing all that DOg says, and then Frank Murphy will have to tell all when he retires, I'd say he would have some good tales to tell.
Post by: Reillers on October 21, 2009, 10:45:01 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on October 21, 2009, 10:32:26 PM
I suppose Gerald McCarthy will have a book out next disputing all that DOg says, and then Frank Murphy will have to tell all when he retires, I'd say he would have some good tales to tell.
I'm sure he would, but why would he, or should he, bother bringing out something like that, in case you've forgotten he's a very long, succesfull, intersting career as a GAA player. Not everything is about the strike you know, and there's a lot more to Gerald then that as well.
And still waiting for a reply to my post..suppose I wont get it.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on October 21, 2009, 10:58:10 PM
Quote from: Reillers on October 21, 2009, 09:37:44 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on October 21, 2009, 08:56:32 PM

Home

2nd Jersey

Oh ya, another one of those types, the ones who'll think that the odd comment or chant is just a joke, and a bit of fun.

Well why didn't Sully take it off him then?

As for people saying everyone knew about it, its not as simple as that.  Everyone did not know about it, infact very few did, what everyone heard was the rumour that he was gay, but thats not the same as saying you "knew" he was gay.  There is a difference.  If that was the case I could post a few names of a few other sports people that are rumoured to be gay  Chances are, most that are rumoured to be are probably not.
Post by: theskull1 on October 21, 2009, 11:13:31 PM
Is Z list celebrity status now the aspirational pinnacle of high profile people in the GAA in this day in age? Get a book deal and you've made it. I find the whole thing very uninteresting. The GAA is sadly littered with mercenaries.
Post by: Reillers on October 21, 2009, 11:48:23 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 21, 2009, 11:13:31 PM
Is Z list celebrity status now the aspirational pinnacle of high profile people in the GAA in this day in age? Get a book deal and you've made it. I find the whole thing very uninteresting. The GAA is sadly littered with mercenaries.

I suppose that includes Cody, Mickey Harte, Kennelly..etc, right? And it's not just GAA either, it's every bloody sport, so give it a rest. I mean, do you ever stop moaning. I mean give it a break ffs.
Post by: dowling on October 22, 2009, 01:08:04 AM
"Donal Og's (or so I've heard) is very refreshing (and so far has been) just straight down the line, no bullshit spinning or the same old crap"

So why doesn't he come out and admit he encouraged panel members not to attend a certain funeral?
Why doesn't he admit the Cork strike had a GPA agenda?
Why doesn't he admit professionalism was always part of the GPA agenda?
Post by: heffo on October 22, 2009, 09:13:53 AM
Quote from: Reillers on October 21, 2009, 10:10:26 PM

and

Did anyone read Cody's book..a complete snoze, full of clichys and absolute bore. Whatever about the man himself, one of the great GAA men like, but that book.... :-\
Donal Og's (or so I've heard) is very refreshing (and so far has been) just straight down the line, no bullshit spinning or the same old crap we hear all the time. Just honest, his views, and a lot of biographies aren't like that.
And so far it seems to be getting good reviews..so.

I agree with you on this one Reillers - I'd much prefer to read a book that actually has something to say and gives an insight into the contentious issues the player has been involved in.

My feelings on Donal Og the GPA member are well known at this stage, but his private life is his own business and I think he was right to deal with the sexuality issue in this way - it's going to generate more hype in the media about the book, but I don't believe he came out for any other reason other than to get it out there as it were, as it was widely known already.

To put it in context, I picked up a Teddy Kennedy autobiography on a recent flight to the States and immediately flicked to the index to look for the chapter on Chappaquidick - there was no mention of it whatsoever, so fair play to Donal Og for being so candid  - he could easily have portrayed the issue in a far softer light and not mentioned picking up one night stands in Vietnam etc..
Post by: theskull1 on October 22, 2009, 09:42:37 AM
Quote from: Reillers on October 21, 2009, 11:48:23 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 21, 2009, 11:13:31 PM

I suppose that includes Cody, Mickey Harte, Kennelly..etc, right? And it's not just GAA either, it's every bloody sport, so give it a rest. I mean, do you ever stop moaning. I mean give it a break ffs.

Yes as it happens it do. But the glossy media frenzy the will surround this one will make it a bit of a pantomine

QuoteHe'll bring a hell lot more of abuse on him now, but he hasn't gone looking for it, nobody ever does.
And the amount of abuse that he'll get from certain people who will be doing it for their personal oppinion of him himself, or their beliefs or hell even just for a "joke" wont be made up for in book sales.
Like I said, if you heard him talk in it, he wouldn't do it to himself, his family or the lads on the pitch next to him, because like he says, it bothers them more then it does him.

I did read over your previous comments here Reillers after reading heffo's latest post.

Do you think his parents needed to know about him picking up a total stranger in vietnam for casual sex? I think he's more interested in sensationalizing than worrying about what his family might think. If your motivations was not to make money but solely to tell your story Reillers, would you write about the one night stands you've knobbed in your book and do you think your parents (never mind the GAA public) would consider that an important part of your story?

Its all very similar to the story format of z celebs
Jordan bears her soul to the Mirror
Peter tells his side of the story in the Sun

Theres no shame in these stories when you're making money from embarrassing yourself and your family.

Post by: EddieMerx on October 22, 2009, 10:42:08 AM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on October 21, 2009, 10:58:10 PM

As for people saying everyone knew about it, its not as simple as that.  Everyone did not know about it, infact very few did, what everyone heard was the rumour that he was gay, but thats not the same as saying you "knew" he was gay.  There is a difference.  If that was the case I could post a few names of a few other sports people that are rumoured to be gay  Chances are, most that are rumoured to be are probably not.

Are you sure? The person who told me is also Gay and Donal is known in the Gay community so it's not like he was hiding in a closet, so as Reillers stated it has been known in Cork
Post by: Aghdavoyle on October 22, 2009, 12:02:46 PM

I know of only two other gay irish sports "stars", and neither are "out". a leinster footballer and a munster rugby player.
Post by: longrunsthefox on October 22, 2009, 07:46:08 PM
I know a county footballer plays the piano- no sh*t! 
Post by: cicfada on October 22, 2009, 08:05:51 PM
That Munster rugby player puts Donal og into the shade when it comes to fame and recognition that's for sure ;) ! That will be some revelation that's for sure! Anyway back to Donal, he stands  to make a pile of money based on his sexual preferences, so why all the solicitors lettters to his Cloyne teammate( allegedly)  over some remark in the dressing room ?? Why the surprise over all the abuse from the terraces? it's nothing compared to what he would get if he was picked by Denis Walsh next year that's for sure!! The whole book regardless of his personal revelation will make him even more disliked if the dripfeeds of extracts coming out are indicative of the rest of it!!!
Post by: Bud Wiser on October 23, 2009, 10:05:45 AM
I would have thought that what you say off the pitch stays off the pitch between mates but I don't think it was very fair of him to publicly name the three lads who went for a massage when they were in the aptly named city of Bangkok.

I am sure these lads wives will be buying the book and will have no problem deciphering who "Ogsie" and the other lads named are.  Was the row between themselves, the Cork lads and the Kilkenny boys during the All-Stars trip the reason why Cody kept the finger on the trigger and fed in the whole nine yards in Nolan Park this year? 

Post by: Aghdavoyle on October 23, 2009, 10:38:40 AM

Seriously now lads, are we saying that donal should have avoided the subject of his homosexuality? When he decided to tell his story in a book (as so many sports stars of various codes do) he had to deal with this subject or give no credability to the book.

For those of you pretending to be offended on behalf of his father, you are advocating writing a watered down story. the best autobiographys (cascarino, adams, etc) are good because they are brutally honest - no matter how poor a light it shows the author in.

Personally, if i'm reading a sporting autobiography i want to read warts and all or i will stop reading immediately.

at we can't get good biogs about. personally i'd love to read "real" autobiographies on cody, o'grady, harte, kernan, McGeeney, o'rourke, etc.
Post by: johnneycool on October 23, 2009, 11:05:41 AM
when is this book to be released?

Who ghost wrote it or is it all Donal's work?
Post by: Reillers on October 23, 2009, 11:59:04 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on October 23, 2009, 11:05:41 AM
when is this book to be released?

Who ghost wrote it or is it all Donal's work?

It was out yesterday.
Post by: theskull1 on October 23, 2009, 12:08:17 PM
Quote from: Aghdavoyle on October 23, 2009, 10:38:40 AM

Seriously now lads, are we saying that donal should have avoided the subject of his homosexuality? When he decided to tell his story in a book (as so many sports stars of various codes do) he had to deal with this subject or give no credability to the book.

For those of you pretending to be offended on behalf of his father, you are advocating writing a watered down story. the best autobiographys (cascarino, adams, etc) are good because they are brutally honest - no matter how poor a light it shows the author in.

Personally, if i'm reading a sporting autobiography i want to read warts and all or i will stop reading immediately.

at we can't get good biogs about. personally i'd love to read "real" autobiographies on cody, o'grady, harte, kernan, McGeeney, o'rourke, etc.

Serious question Aghdavoyle and any other avid autobio reader

Why the fascination with high profile sports people? Do youse think the fact they're a bit more talented make them and their opinions a bit more interesting than the rest of the public. I think they're the female equivilant of the glossy mag myself full of embelished stories written to make them all seem a bit more considered funny and intruiging.
Post by: Aghdavoyle on October 23, 2009, 01:04:57 PM
personally i look for their stories of the arena. competition at the highest level. what motivates them, how theoy focus, how they react to pressure, how it effects them in normal life, etc. there is nothing more intriguing thanthe human reaction to elite competition or battle.

the "rest of the public" don't have those stories to tell.

EDIT - should have added - way to argue just for the sake of arguing....
Post by: orangeman on October 23, 2009, 09:43:28 PM
Coming across well on TV. Says he's been interviewed by channel 4, Observer etc etc - international star now.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on October 23, 2009, 09:48:07 PM
Looks very nervous.

Got himself into a bit of bother talking about the sliother!
Post by: orangeman on October 23, 2009, 09:51:27 PM
Usually handles the ball better than that.

Going better now. Keeps looking to the ceiling for inspiration.

75 euros admission - says that the crowd wouldn't mind giving €3.75 out of it.

Dad says to him "we'll need to get you fixed !" - poor father.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on October 23, 2009, 09:54:53 PM
In fairness he should have tried to say very little about the sliothers as he had hes mind on other things coming onto the show.

Hes feeling a bit more confident now.  I never liked the fellow but hes coming across pretty well at the moment overall.
Post by: orangeman on October 23, 2009, 10:03:10 PM
Did he say young boys ???

He's doing a Rafa now ?

Did well in this interview. Took a bit of guts to do what he did here tonight to be fair to him.
Post by: ONeill on October 23, 2009, 10:06:32 PM
I thought he was excellent.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 23, 2009, 10:08:38 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on October 23, 2009, 09:54:53 PM
In fairness he should have tried to say very little about the sliothers as he had hes mind on other things coming onto the show.

Hes feeling a bit more confident now.  I never liked the fellow but hes coming across pretty well at the moment overall.
Would have the same sentiments too. He's a hard man and no doubt growing up harbouring that type of secret has toughened him up. Came across very well.
Post by: gerrykeegan on October 23, 2009, 10:10:16 PM
I thought he did very well. Even the reading of the email was a something which would help other young people who are struggling.
Post by: Minder on October 23, 2009, 10:15:47 PM
It really is interviewing by numbers by Tubridy.
Post by: Aghdavoyle on October 23, 2009, 10:16:49 PM
Quote from: orangeman on October 23, 2009, 10:03:10 PM
Did he say young boys ???

He's doing a Rafa now ?

Did well in this interview. Took a bit of guts to do what he did here tonight to be fair to him.

Don't think even his biggest adversaries would question his guts.

He did very well.
Post by: orangeman on October 23, 2009, 10:19:34 PM
No doubt - took a lot of guts and fair dues to him. He would be quite an adversary in the GPA and strikes or any other cause he decided to champion.
Post by: Louth Exile on October 23, 2009, 10:24:00 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 23, 2009, 10:08:38 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on October 23, 2009, 09:54:53 PM

Would have the same sentiments too. He's a hard man and no doubt growing up harbouring that type of secret has toughened him up. Came across very well.

Add my own thoughts along the same lines. Never doubted his talent as a player but never would have had much time for him because he is pure Cork and GPA (neither of which are admirable). I thought that he was very articulate and showed unbelievable strength. He deserves the utmost of credit. Well done Donal Og.

The only question that Tubirdy missed was how it has gone down in the club? But lads like that wouldn't think of the club.
Post by: Two Hands FFS on October 23, 2009, 10:31:48 PM
Tubridy is useless..especially the stuff about the ball in 2005. He hadnt a clue
Post by: dowling on October 23, 2009, 11:41:34 PM
Missed it. Did he talk about the funeral boycott?
Post by: Reillers on October 24, 2009, 09:22:29 AM
It was a great interview, and fair dues to him. He's earned a lot of haters respect tonight and that's blatantly clear. I've said it before that this lad is made of steel but tonight he just showed how much so.

He's a tough, tough man.  I haven't seen a better performance in a TV interview for a very long time, even though it was clear that Turbridy hadn't much of a clue about the hurling side of it.
It gave a good insight into why he's been such a leader for Cork in the past, and will continue to be. Very proud of him tonight.

It was a very powerful performance and it was clear all right that he was nervous at the start, but he settled into it very well and came across brilliantly. The best I've seen him in an interview that I can recall. Fantastic stuff.

The courage he showed, and his blunt honesty was fantastic.

But at the end of all of that, and despite all that, you just know that he'll get hell next season on and off the pitch....
There'll be some mighty abuse thrown at him. And he can take it, he's a strong character clearly, I just hope that ther'll be people in the stands who will shut the minority up.

Never been so proud of the lad. Showed great guts tonight.
Post by: Minder on October 24, 2009, 10:06:38 AM
Steady on Reillers, he wasn't being interviewed to lay bare his soul. He was being interviewed to promote and maximise book sales. Will always be a p***k in my eyes.
Post by: Silky on October 24, 2009, 11:48:08 AM
He's a bollocks pure and simple.

I really dont care whether he's a hetrosexual bollocks or a homosexual bollocks.
Post by: longrunsthefox on October 24, 2009, 11:57:47 AM
Quote from: Reillers on October 24, 2009, 09:22:29 AM
It was a great interview, and fair dues to him. He's earned a lot of haters respect tonight and that's blatantly clear. I've said it before that this lad is made of steel but tonight he just showed how much so.

He's a tough, tough man.  I haven't seen a better performance in a TV interview for a very long time, even though it was clear that Turbridy hadn't much of a clue about the hurling side of it.
It gave a good insight into why he's been such a leader for Cork in the past, and will continue to be. Very proud of him tonight.

It was a very powerful performance and it was clear all right that he was nervous at the start, but he settled into it very well and came across brilliantly. The best I've seen him in an interview that I can recall. Fantastic stuff.

But at the end of all of that, and despite all that, you just know that he'll get hell next season on and off the pitch....
There'll be some mighty abuse thrown at him. And he can take it, he's a strong character clearly, I just hope that ther'll be people in the stands who will shut the minority up.

Certainly didn't earn my respect. The audience seemed determined to cheer any suggestion of Donal Og's dad been put in his place. First GAA star I've heard yet being able to regale us with his one night stand exploits... but it is politically incorrect to complain lest you be accused of homophobia. Then a wee story about his cheating. Does it not cross his mind he was booed because he is an obnoxious, self obsessed bollox?... doing GAA -GAY interviews now for Channel 4 and Daily  Mail...media whure.  You're proud of him Reileers? God help you and the rest of Cork if that is your hero. It was a sleazy interview.       
Post by: theskull1 on October 24, 2009, 01:28:37 PM
Donal Og must consider you a great friend Reillers. You really are a crawler

(http://rlv.zcache.com/i_want_a_friend_that_will_worship_the_ground_i_tshirt-p235906183279604358trlf_400.jpg)
Post by: orangeman on October 24, 2009, 02:09:40 PM

He's a tough, tough man. I haven't seen a better performance in a TV interview for a very long time, even though it was clear that Turbridy hadn't much of a clue about the hurling side of it.

TV must be real shite at the minute.  ;) :D   I know you're a big fan but steady on man.

What was the story about him going off and sleeping with yer man on some foreign holiday and getting up the next morning to be confronted with a load of big dogs ??? Where was this ?
Post by: Minder on October 24, 2009, 02:33:51 PM
Vietnam
Post by: Galwaybhoy on October 24, 2009, 02:44:40 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on October 24, 2009, 11:57:47 AM

Certainly didn't earn my respect. The audience seemed determined to cheer any suggestion of Donal Og's dad been put in his place. First GAA star I've heard yet being able to regale us with his one night stand exploits... but it is politically incorrect to complain lest you be accused of homophobia. Then a wee story about his cheating. Does it not cross his mind he was booed because he is an obnoxious, self obsessed bollox?... doing GAA -GAY interviews now for Channel 4 and Daily  Mail...media whure.  You're proud of him Reileers? God help you and the rest of Cork if that is your hero. He gives me the creeps.         

Yeah he should have kept quiet about changing the balls.  If any other hurler was on the Late Late Show or if being gay wasn't the topic of the day then there would have been a lot more made of this.  But it will be ignored now.

I would also rather if he didn't get into the nitty gritty about his exploits with other men.  Don't want to be hearing that.

That said it took guts to go on TV.  He will probably suffer loads of abuse now, which is awful but then many other players have to put up with that as well.
Post by: orangeman on October 24, 2009, 02:50:58 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 24, 2009, 02:33:51 PM
Vietnam

Was yer man a Vietnamese ?

Vietnam - strage location for a team holiday. Different.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2009, 02:57:14 PM
Quote from: orangeman on October 24, 2009, 02:50:58 PM
Vietnam

It's a tough life being a Cork hurler.

Tubridy really should have taken him to task over his cheating with the ball.

Reiller's from reading that post I'd say you're jealous of the man in Vietnam!
Post by: Aghdavoyle on October 24, 2009, 02:57:39 PM
You're getting carried away there reillers. the man did well but he's only telling his story, he's not dragging the country off its knees!
Post by: zoyler on October 24, 2009, 02:58:18 PM
I don't care about his sexuality and neither I believe do the vast majority of GAA supporters.  What I do care about is the damage the GPA have done and are doing to the GAA in general with their introducion of professionalism and greed into our games which is seeping like a cancer further and further into the organisation - eg two well known county managers visited county finalists in the west this week the fee being €500 in at least one case)

When will those like McCarthy get the chance to defend the old values on the Late Late Show?  Who will get the chance to explain what the €75 admission fee is used for?  How can somebody professing to love the GAA and all it stands for expect to be believed when he spices up his story with tales of one night stands with strangers and then sells it to the most anti Irish and anti Gay (Jane Moirs colum on Stephen Gately) tabloid in Britain.

BTW we are told 'coming outs' a big deal and then were told everybody in Cork knew anyway!
Post by: Whitehair on October 24, 2009, 03:04:39 PM
Vietnam

Was it not South Africa!?
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2009, 03:12:48 PM
Quote from: Whitehair on October 24, 2009, 03:04:39 PM
Vietnam

No his sister called him in South Africa to say word had broken that he was gay. His one night stand story was Ho Chi Minh.
Post by: Aghdavoyle on October 24, 2009, 03:13:42 PM
Quote from: zoyler on October 24, 2009, 02:58:18 PM
I don't care about his sexuality and neither I believe do the vast majority of GAA supporters.  What I do care about is the damage the GPA have done and are doing to the GAA in general with their introducion of professionalism and greed into our games which is seeping like a cancer further and further into the organisation - eg two well known county managers visited county finalists in the west this week the fee being €500 in at least one case)

When will those like McCarthy get the chance to defend the old values on the Late Late Show?  Who will get the chance to explain what the €75 admission fee is used for?  How can somebody professing to love the GAA and all it stands for expect to be believed when he spices up his story with tales of one night stands with strangers and then sells it to the most anti Irish and anti Gay (Jane Moirs colum on Stephen Gately) tabloid in Britain.

BTW we are told 'coming outs' a big deal and then were told everybody in Cork knew anyway!

To be fair to him i thought he was distinctly uncomfortable talking about that one night stand but it's the only thing tubridy seemed entusiastic about. it was in the book so he couldn't avoid it.

don't let reiller's over zealousness distort your objectiveness on the interview.
Post by: orangeman on October 24, 2009, 03:31:33 PM
Vietnam

Shit - a big black one ? Doesn't bear thinking about.  ;)
Post by: gallsman on October 24, 2009, 04:27:38 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on October 24, 2009, 02:44:40 PM

Certainly didn't earn my respect. The audience seemed determined to cheer any suggestion of Donal Og's dad been put in his place. First GAA star I've heard yet being able to regale us with his one night stand exploits... but it is politically incorrect to complain lest you be accused of homophobia. Then a wee story about his cheating. Does it not cross his mind he was booed because he is an obnoxious, self obsessed bollox?... doing GAA -GAY interviews now for Channel 4 and Daily  Mail...media whure.  You're proud of him Reileers? God help you and the rest of Cork if that is your hero. He gives me the creeps.         

Yeah he should have kept quiet about changing the balls.  If any other hurler was on the Late Late Show or if being gay wasn't the topic of the day then there would have been a lot more made of this.  But it will be ignored now.

I would also rather if he didn't get into the nitty gritty about his exploits with other men.  Don't want to be hearing that.

That said it took guts to go on TV.  He will probably suffer loads of abuse now, which is awful but then many other players have to put up with that as well.

Then don't listen.
Post by: Minder on October 24, 2009, 04:43:09 PM
Quote from: orangeman on October 24, 2009, 03:31:33 PM
Vietnam

Shit - a big black one ? Doesn't bear thinking about.  ;)

He was in South Africa when he had to cum home to tell the family, Vietnam when he was bumping and grinding with some feller.
Post by: heffo on October 24, 2009, 04:58:49 PM
Vietnam

I don't think anyone, with the possible exception of young Reillers wants to know the answer to that.
Post by: Minder on October 25, 2009, 01:12:28 AM
I wonder what the dynamic/mood was in the showers after a match. I would be showering in the house if i was on that panel.
Post by: Minder on October 25, 2009, 01:43:08 AM
I would say Big Dan is delighted..........

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/europe/8324347.stm
Post by: Tatler Jack on October 25, 2009, 09:10:51 AM
Quote from: Minder on October 25, 2009, 01:43:08 AM
I would say Big Dan is delighted..........

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/europe/8324347.stm

Think he should be making a call to his solicitor!!
Post by: dowling on October 25, 2009, 10:23:32 AM
Was there no insight into the strike during the interview?
Post by: Reillers on October 25, 2009, 10:44:49 AM
Quote from: dowling on October 25, 2009, 10:23:32 AM

No, strangely enough, while it still remains an obsession for some, like yourself, they had other things to talk about.
Post by: gallsman on October 25, 2009, 12:30:11 PM
Quote from: Reillers on October 25, 2009, 10:44:49 AM

No, strangely enough, while it still remains an obsession for some, like yourself, they had other things to talk about.

Wow, I thought everyone was going over the top with their piss-ripping, but you really are blinded. The strikes are some of the biggest issues to have hit the GAA in the last ten years, and Cusack has been instrumental in them, yet you suggest that it's not worth discussing?!
Post by: dowling on October 25, 2009, 12:33:27 PM
Strangely enough indeed Reillers and I've just watched the interview on the net. Obviously his sexuality was highlighted and nothing wrong with this or to use this as a selling point for the book but I'd say in the GAA world more people would be interested in what he has to say in relation to his disputes in Cork and his involvement in the GPA. Many might already have their minds made up as there's already a lot of information out there but it will be interesting to see if he acknowledges anything which previously he hasn't and what general spin he puts on everything. Let's be honest he didn't come accross as a bastard on the Late Late but it was a book promotion and I'd say RTE were restricted to what matters they could raise although I'd like to hear Gerald's take on what Donal said he said. The reading of the book on these type of matters should tell us more about his honesty and integrity. When you think about it, it seems the only player to come into direct conflict with Gerald was Donal óg so you have to wonder if he was the chief instigator in all the disputes and if he'll throw any light on that. But you also have to remember that it wasn't that long ago that Donal was saying the Cork disputes and the GPA weren't looking pay for play but at the same time him and Dessie were doing a feasibility study on that very prospect.
Post by: Reillers on October 25, 2009, 01:09:10 PM
Quote from: dowling on October 25, 2009, 12:33:27 PM
Strangely enough indeed Reillers and I've just watched the interview on the net. Obviously his sexuality was highlighted and nothing wrong with this or to use this as a selling point for the book but I'd say in the GAA world more people would be interested in what he has to say in relation to his disputes in Cork and his involvement in the GPA. Many might already have their minds made up as there's already a lot of information out there but it will be interesting to see if he acknowledges anything which previously he hasn't and what general spin he puts on everything. Let's be honest he didn't come accross as a b**tard on the Late Late but it was a book promotion and I'd say RTE were restricted to what matters they could raise although I'd like to hear Gerald's take on what Donal said he said. The reading of the book on these type of matters should tell us more about his honesty and integrity. When you think about it, it seems the only player to come into direct conflict with Gerald was Donal óg so you have to wonder if he was the chief instigator in all the disputes and if he'll throw any light on that. But you also have to remember that it wasn't that long ago that Donal was saying the Cork disputes and the GPA weren't looking pay for play but at the same time him and Dessie were doing a feasibility study on that very prospect.

And on that note, a quote from the Sunday Mail..

When we left that fifth meeting, I said to Gardiner "Listen, if the worst came to the very worst, I could maybe live with Gerald. I could bear him". And John said: "Thats okay for you! You are a goalie, you're off doing your own stuff. We can't come down every session and put up with it. Three or four days of our week. That's how often that we are dealing with it"

From the start, too, I was surprised at how strong the group were against Gerald and his selectors and how they were willing to go to resist it. We held a meeting after we had sat down with the County Board for the fifth time. I honestly didn't know if I would have the belly for more conflict but the basic mood in the meeting was that something had to be done

Doesn't sound like he's that much of a leader of it, from that quote, that you make him out to be. But I'm sure you'll find a reason to slag him anyway.

And Gerald was brought up, but it was clear there was only one thing Tubridy was interested in. And if he'd been given restrictions to what he could ask, which I'm 90% sure he wouldn't have. The man hasn't a clue about sport and I'd say he had to look up who Gerald McCarthy was before hand.
It's not like he could have asked the questions you wanted to hear, and like I said if there were restrictions that meant some sort of research went into it, which doesn't look likely when you look at the f**k up he made asking about the "All Ireland semi final." I mean clearly he didn't spend much time on it.
There was always only going to be one thing that was going to be asked, seeing as Tubirdy hasn't a fkin clue about GAA.

You say that the GAA world, more people would have been intersted in him talking about the strikes and the GPA and what not, but look where he wasn't. Tubridy hadn't a clue.

I suppose what else to expect from the Late Late. I mean this is the same show that put together that shambolic, abysmal, pathetic so called GAA special for the 125 years. It was the biggest joke of a show I've ever had to sit through.
It was always going to be based around the fact that he said he was gay.
Post by: The GAA on October 25, 2009, 03:39:55 PM
Strangely enough indeed Reillers and I've just watched the interview on the net. Obviously his sexuality was highlighted and nothing wrong with this or to use this as a selling point for the book but I'd say in the GAA world more people would be interested in what he has to say in relation to his disputes in Cork and his involvement in the GPA. Many might already have their minds made up as there's already a lot of information out there but it will be interesting to see if he acknowledges anything which previously he hasn't and what general spin he puts on everything. Let's be honest he didn't come accross as a b**tard on the Late Late but it was a book promotion and I'd say RTE were restricted to what matters they could raise although I'd like to hear Gerald's take on what Donal said he said. The reading of the book on these type of matters should tell us more about his honesty and integrity. When you think about it, it seems the only player to come into direct conflict with Gerald was Donal óg so you have to wonder if he was the chief instigator in all the disputes and if he'll throw any light on that. But you also have to remember that it wasn't that long ago that Donal was saying the Cork disputes and the GPA weren't looking pay for play but at the same time him and Dessie were doing a feasibility study on that very prospect.

So you're saying that the cork dispute was about pay for play, even though the feasability study you refer to in linking the two was done many years before?
Post by: orangeman on October 25, 2009, 09:26:38 PM
Was this a runner at all ?

DONAL óg Cusack says he was offered the role of coach of the Cork hurlers by GAA chief executive, Paraic Duffy, earlier this year in an attempt to end the last of three players' strikes.

In the latest extract from his upcoming autobiography, Come What May, Cusack revealed that Duffy had made contact with him in order to set up a confidential meeting between the pair wherein it was suggested that the Cork county board would be put into a state of "suspended animation" and the affairs of the county would be run by Croke Park.

Duffy also put forward the proposal that Cusack be appointed to the Rebels' management team in an effort to insert some player presence in the group.

"That night myself and John (Gardiner) had arrived at the hotel first to meet with the Croke Park people," Cusack wrote. "They had produced a document that laid out what was going to happen over the next couple of years. The document basically outlined a position where the county board would be put into suspended animation and Cork's affairs would be run from Croke Park."

"We read all this out and said, 'Oh Jesus, we need to get the boys in here because there is some stuff in this document that is big'.

"It looked so bad to the county board and apparently, they were accepting it, even though it was a damning indictment of them. What the GAA had put on the table that night was interesting in that it damned the county board. They published the document afterwards, but the one thing they held back was that they offered me a role coaching the team!"

However, Cusack also outlines why the player rejected the deal, even though it suspended the powers of the board. According to the Rebel keeper, some of the senior players on the squad felt a move from playing to management for Cusack would "kill" him in the ongoing battle between the squad and the county board.

"Some of our players liked what was on offer but I wasn't comfortable with the idea. Joe Deane was very strong on the notion that it would be a way of killing me. At the end of the day, I had to face Paraic Duffy and tell him that there was no deal. I hated doing that to Paraic Duffy, as I have had to do it too many times at this stage."
Post by: dowling on October 25, 2009, 11:37:23 PM
Quote from: The GAA on October 25, 2009, 03:39:55 PM

So you're saying that the cork dispute was about pay for play, even though the feasability study you refer to in linking the two was done many years before?

Actually I'm saying what Donal óg said, that the disputes and the GPA weren't about 'pay for play'. Gerald McCarthy seemed to think there was a link with the strike and the 'pay' thing so now that Donal óg has acknowledged the GPA would like money for playing, and that's been their private position for some time, perhaps Gerald's  'fears' should be given more credence.

As for yourself Reillers fair enough, I think we can all agree that Gardiner and Donal were very close during all this. But when you read back to the dispute, Donal and Gerald had issues over the puck outs, but where were all the other personal issues or were there none?
Post by: Galwaybhoy on October 25, 2009, 11:47:10 PM
Quote from: gallsman on October 25, 2009, 12:30:11 PM

Wow, I thought everyone was going over the top with their piss-ripping, but you really are blinded. The strikes are some of the biggest issues to have hit the GAA in the last ten years, and Cusack has been instrumental in them, yet you suggest that it's not worth discussing?!

Cusack was on the Late Late Show for one reason and one reason only, because he came out as gay, he wasn't there for hurling reasons, the strike was not a big talking point.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on October 25, 2009, 11:49:11 PM
Quote from: gallsman on October 24, 2009, 04:27:38 PM

Then don't listen.

Strange, unlike you I cant read the future so didn't know he was going to mention it or talk in such detail about his sexual exploits.  ::)
Post by: Reillers on October 26, 2009, 12:07:33 AM
Quote from: dowling on October 25, 2009, 11:37:23 PM
Quote from: The GAA on October 25, 2009, 03:39:55 PM

Actually I'm saying what Donal óg said, that the disputes and the GPA weren't about 'pay for play'. Gerald McCarthy seemed to think there was a link with the strike and the 'pay' thing so now that Donal óg has acknowledged the GPA would like money for playing, and that's been their private position for some time, perhaps Gerald's  'fears' should be given more credence.

As for yourself Reillers fair enough, I think we can all agree that Gardiner and Donal were very close during all this. But when you read back to the dispute, Donal and Gerald had issues over the puck outs, but where were all the other personal issues or were there none?

Did you not just read what I posted..
It wasn't just, and it really frustrates me when the likes of you do it, put all the blame on Donal Og, saying that he was key behind the strike, that he led them, like the others didn't have a big say in it, I mean Joe Deane was as involved as Donal Og but it'll be DOC who gets all the blame all the time, despite the facts that are right there in front of you. It's unfair, and it's a good part of why the players have such respect for him.

Post by: dowling on October 26, 2009, 12:12:54 AM
Reillers are you Donal óg?
Gerald and Donal clashed over the puck outs.
Who else did Gerald clash with over their actual play on the field?

If it came out during the strike I missed it.

"Actual play on the field", for Cork that is.
Post by: Reillers on October 26, 2009, 12:21:13 AM
Quote from: dowling on October 26, 2009, 12:12:54 AM

They did argue abou tpuck outs once, but that's got nothing to do wtih the rest of what you're saying.
You said Gardiner and Donal Og were pretty close in running the strike.
You can't seem to grasp/admit that the likes of Joe Deane has as much to do in the strike as the likes of Donal Og, but unfairly people like you leave all the blame on his shoulders.
Post by: dowling on October 26, 2009, 12:29:15 AM
Quote from: Reillers on October 26, 2009, 12:21:13 AM

They did argue abou tpuck outs once, but that's got nothing to do wtih the rest of what you're saying.
You can't seem to grasp/admit that the likes of Joe Deane has as much to do in the strike as the likes of Donal Og, but unfairly people like you leave all the blame on his shoulders.

No I didn't say that but thanks for clarifying who ran the strike.
Post by: Reillers on October 26, 2009, 12:30:41 AM
Quote from: dowling on October 26, 2009, 12:29:15 AM
Quote from: Reillers on October 26, 2009, 12:21:13 AM

No I didn't say that but thanks for clarifying who ran the strike.
Stop trying to be so feckin smart, it's pretty much what you say all the time.
You blame Donal Og for absolutely everything, and it's unfair.
Post by: dowling on October 26, 2009, 07:35:27 AM
Reillers I don't understand why you keep going off like that. Of course Donal was a leading figure in the strike, we all know that, I'm wonder how much light the book will throw on the strike and events during it. From your quote he would seem to be trying to play down his role. Is that fair? I don't know but I would be inclined to take that with a pinch of salt.
Post by: The GAA on October 26, 2009, 10:17:42 AM
Quote from: dowling on October 25, 2009, 11:37:23 PM

Perhaps you'd be kind enough to post up that link / quote?
Post by: dowling on October 26, 2009, 11:48:53 AM
What are you on about GAA?
Post by: cornafean on October 26, 2009, 11:52:36 AM

Time to change your avatar so.
Post by: dowling on October 26, 2009, 12:41:15 PM
Quote from: cornafean on October 26, 2009, 11:52:36 AM

Time to change your avatar so.

Post by: gallsman on October 26, 2009, 12:47:38 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on October 25, 2009, 11:49:11 PM

Then don't listen.

Strange, unlike you I cant read the future so didn't know he was going to mention it or talk in such detail about his sexual exploits.  ::)

Wow, the previous post you mention that the sole reason he was there was because he had come out. Then you're surprised to hear him mention about having been with men. Detail? Please elaborate on how what he said qualifies as going into "detail"?
Post by: Galwaybhoy on October 26, 2009, 02:59:42 PM
Quote from: gallsman on October 26, 2009, 12:47:38 PM

Then don't listen.

Wow, the previous post you mention that the sole reason he was there was because he had come out. Then you're surprised to hear him mention about having been with men. Detail? Please elaborate on how what he said qualifies as going into "detail"?

Did I say I was surprised to her him mention having being with other men?  As I said he was on the show because he came out as gay.  The detail might have been him talking about out in Ho Chi Minh city getting away from his team mates and waking up the next morning beside a stranger well outside the city and not knowing where he was.  What possessed you to reply to my post in the first place, what angered you so much that you thought you needed to make a one sentence reply even though you didn't really having anything constructive to say?
Post by: gallsman on October 26, 2009, 03:16:09 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on October 26, 2009, 02:59:42 PM

Then don't listen.

Did I say I was surprised to her him mention having being with other men?  As I said he was on the show because he came out as gay.  The detail might have been him talking about out in Ho Chi Minh city getting away from his team mates and waking up the next morning beside a stranger well outside the city and not knowing where he was.  What possessed you to reply to my post in the first place, what angered you so much that you thought you needed to make a one sentence reply even though you didn't really having anything constructive to say?

No, but what you did say was that you didn't want to hear about it and when I suggested that you simply didn't listen you gave a response that suggested you weren't expecting to hear such things. Something unexpected and a surprise really are kind of the same thing now, aren't they?

Wow, he was on a trip and slept with a stranger. That's really explicit, isn't it?

What made me reply to you in the first place? I'd say you know fine well. If the story wasn't about his being gay, but rather his cheating on a hypothetical female partner, deciding to come clean mentioning that he slept with a random female, would that amount of "detail" offend you as well? I didn't realise that I was obligated to say anything "constructive" whatsoever. As far as I understand it, this is a discussion board, where people will air their views, and in doing so expect to have them challenged by someone who disagrees with them.

Let's cut to the chase here. Why don't you just come out and admit that you have no problem with gays as long as you don't have to be exposed to their actions in any way, shape or form, because that's what it's all about, isn't it?
Post by: Galwaybhoy on October 26, 2009, 03:55:17 PM
Quote from: gallsman on October 26, 2009, 03:16:09 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on October 26, 2009, 02:59:42 PM

Then don't listen.

No, but what you did say was that you didn't want to hear about it and when I suggested that you simply didn't listen you gave a response that suggested you weren't expecting to hear such things. Something unexpected and a surprise really are kind of the same thing now, aren't they?

Wow, he was on a trip and slept with a stranger. That's really explicit, isn't it?

What made me reply to you in the first place? I'd say you know fine well. If the story wasn't about his being gay, but rather his cheating on a hypothetical female partner, deciding to come clean mentioning that he slept with a random female, would that amount of "detail" offend you as well? I didn't realise that I was obligated to say anything "constructive" whatsoever. As far as I understand it, this is a discussion board, where people will air their views, and in doing so expect to have them challenged by someone who disagrees with them.

Let's cut to the chase here. Why don't you just come out and admit that you have no problem with gays as long as you don't have to be exposed to their actions in any way, shape or form, because that's what it's all about, isn't it?

Ah I was waiting for you to say this.  Just as I thought.  You took offense because you thought I didn't want to hear such details because he was gay.  If you read any of my posts on this subject you would see I don't have a problem with his sexuality.  But there is always one isn't there that has to look for offense where none was intended.  You don't know me.  I would say the same if someone came on TV and start talking about all the women he slept with and getting into detail about it.  But you had to ASSUME that I only held this opinion because he was gay, and if he came on TV and it was a girl in place of a man that he woke up beside not having a clue where he was that I wouldn't think it was just as bad.  Don't be making assumptions here.
Post by: theskull1 on October 26, 2009, 06:09:14 PM
There are hateful self interested hetrosexuals and hateful self interested homosexuals. The fact that Donal Og is homosexual doesn't change the way alot of people think of him i.e. hateful & self interested.

I do think though that those who do consider him a hateful self interested individual will be labelled homophobic by his adoring fans, so coming out will actually provide him with a layer of protection from the real reasons why people can't abide him and what he stands for.
Post by: Reillers on October 26, 2009, 07:14:43 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 26, 2009, 06:09:14 PM
There are hateful self interested hetrosexuals and hateful self interested homosexuals. The fact that Donal Og is homosexual doesn't change the way alot of people think of him i.e. hateful & self interested.

I do think though that those who do consider him a hateful self interested individual will be labelled homophobic by his adoring fans, so coming out will actually provide him with a layer of protection from the real reasons why people can't abide him and what he stands for.
Oh grow up, do you have to have a go with him every single time. Maybe there are some morons out there (apparently, according to you anyway) who can't tell the difference between loathing hate and homobhobic hate.
People who shout, "He's gay, he's bent, Donal Og's for rent.." from the stands will be considered homobhobic idiots. People who shout the normal level of abusive crap at him (or any other player for that matter, from any other team) will just be considered abusive idiots.

Because it's never ok to abuse a player the way some certain people do in the stands, and Donal Og to be fair gets a lot of it, but he's tough as they come. Roaring abuse that make them look like idiots, like English soccer fans at times.

I'm sorry if him coming out has inconvenienced the idiots, apparently, by the way you're talking, that includes yourself, I mean why else would you even post something like that, or have that come to mind..not something the average normal GAA man would think of..) who shout horrible abuse, (I mean God forbid that should stop) I'm sure you'll find more interesting ways to roar your abuse..sure why not give the soccer a try, you'd fit in well there.
Post by: heffo on October 26, 2009, 09:14:40 PM
Quote from: Reillers on October 26, 2009, 07:14:43 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 26, 2009, 06:09:14 PM

"He's gay, he's bent, Donal Og's for rent.."

Is it not '....his ass is up for rent.."
Post by: imtommygunn on October 26, 2009, 09:26:50 PM
Reillers you don't strike me as a man who would be averse to shouted abuse yourself...
Post by: theskull1 on October 26, 2009, 11:58:14 PM
Quote from: Reillers on October 26, 2009, 07:14:43 PM
I'm sorry if him coming out has inconvenienced the idiots, apparently, by the way you're talking, that includes yourself, I mean why else would you even post something like that, or have that come to mind..not something the average normal GAA man would think of..) who shout horrible abuse, (I mean God forbid that should stop) I'm sure you'll find more interesting ways to roar your abuse..sure why not give the soccer a try, you'd fit in well there.

Jesus Reillers you really let that little mind run away on you......where in my post did I refer to anyone hurling "horrible abuse" towards any player on a hurling pitch as acceptable???
I wouldn't because I find that whole practice despicable.

You're actually proving my point for me.
Title: Homosexual comes out as GAA player
Post by: ludermor on October 30, 2009, 06:43:14 PM
apologies if this has been posted before.
http://www.oxygen.ie/page/2649
In a shock revelation, homosexual Donal Og O'Cusack has stunned the Gay community by coming out as a GAA player.

The 32 year old gay man revealed in his forthcoming biography that he has in fact spent many years playing as a hurling goal-keeper on the Cork County Team.

Cusack tells in his autobiography of how he dabbled with GAA early on in his life, and settled into the hurling lifestyle soon after. He kept this silent from his gay friends who never questioned why he was always talking about "going down to the field."

In one episode Cusack tells of how he rushed back to Ireland early from a training exercise in Africa to tell some of his closest gay friends at the George in Dublin that the rumours of him being a hurler were in fact true.

The gay man told The Spanner that "it was better to hear it from me than they see it on the Sunday Game if they were ever to be flicking through channels and see me."

"Homosexuality was traditionally one of the few GAA free places left in Ireland," says Homer Sexual, head of the Gay-lic Alliance Association (the other GAA) "we were all shocked by Donal's decision to go public with his hurling. We wish him the best in future and hope he brings up back pictures from the changing rooms."

Not all gays are proving as supportive however. "How dare he?" fumed one angry man on Dublin's Georges Street."He thinks he can just casually reveal he spent years running around with all those other hurdling boys in shorts and we'll just continue to accept him as if everything's ok?"

"Being a gay in Ireland requires years of dedicated hardwork and preparation. You can't just play with the straight boys all day then pop over for cosmos and mickeys after work.

"Has he got all Britney's albums? Has he ever voted for someone on the Xfactor? I doubt he even knows what night bingo is on."

Post by: theCritic on October 31, 2009, 08:31:55 AM
brave move but hope it works out
Post by: orangeman on December 03, 2009, 12:54:23 PM
Big award for Donal Og's book :

Dónal Óg Cusack's autobiography Come What May, with Tom Humphries, has won the Williamhill.com Irish Sports Book of the Year for 2009.

Cusack's book beat off stiff competition from Damian Lawlor's Working on a Dream and Kieran Shannon's Hanging from the Rafters, which came second and third respectively.

Cusack's book was one of the most anticipated publications of the year. Written with journalist Tom Humphries, the book details Cusack's life from his upbringing in Cork through his three All-Ireland successes, his role in some of the most groundbreaking decisions in GAA history and his struggles to be true to himself.

Come What May was also the public's choice for Williamhill.com Irish Sports Book of the Year with over 5,000 votes registered on the official website.

Donal Og Cusack said in the aftermath of the award: 'Taking the decision to write this book was a difficult one, but once I decided, I knew it had to be an honest account of my life.

'An essential part of this process was Tom Humphries' skill and dedication to the project and his outrageous sense of humour which made the process less onerous, I would like to thank him sincerely.

'Since publication, I have been overwhelmed with the response the book has received both here and abroad. Winning this award is a great honour for me and I would like to thank the judges and the general public for choosing my book from such a strong shortlist.

'I would also like to take this opportunity to thank my family, friends, team-mates and work colleagues for their unwavering support in the last number of years.'

Tom Humphries said: 'To have been named in such a shortlist was a thrill and any prize for Come What May is a bonus and an honour in that company.

'For me though the enduring rewards are the privilege I feel at having been asked to walk a few steps of Dónal Óg's journey with him, the welcome and the kindness of his family and gaining the friendship of an extraordinary man.'

Tony Kenny, PR Manager for William Hill, believes: Come What May is a worthy winner of this year's award. He said: 'The quality of the award this year was outstanding, especially when you look at some of the books that didn't even make the shortlist.

'Donal Og's book is an excellently told story of a person with a huge dedication to their sport and someone who wasn't afraid to put themselves forward as a role model to many in sport and life not just in Ireland but across the world.'

This year's judging panel is made up of ten of Ireland's best sports commentators and experts. The panel includes RTE rugby pundit and Newstalk presenter George Hook, RTE's Eamon Dunphy, Today FM and TV3 presenter Matt Cooper and Setanta Sports' Paul Dempsey

Post by: Asal Mor on December 23, 2009, 05:09:48 AM
Well done Donal Og. Just reading the book now - it's outstanding.
Post by: Doogie Browser on June 30, 2010, 02:10:26 PM
Did anyone see the BBC Inside Sport show 'The Last Taboo' recently?  It was about homosexuality in sport and more particulary looking at why no soccer players have came out (exception of Justin Fashanu).  Included interviews with amongst others Martina Navratilova, Gareth Edwards and Donal Og.  I am sure it will be on the BBC iPlayer if you checked as it was on very late at night.
Post by: Two Hands FFS on June 30, 2010, 02:32:31 PM
£4.99 in easons now. Good book.
Post by: Reillers on June 30, 2010, 07:39:04 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on June 30, 2010, 02:10:26 PM
Did anyone see the BBC Inside Sport show 'The Last Taboo' recently?  It was about homosexuality in sport and more particulary looking at why no soccer players have came out (exception of Justin Fashanu).  Included interviews with amongst others Martina Navratilova, Gareth Edwards and Donal Og.  I am sure it will be on the BBC iPlayer if you checked as it was on very late at night.

Saw a bit of it, don't think you can get it on the BBC Iplayer, I think it's the same as ITV, you have to be England. Maybe I'm wrong I don't know.

It's an excellent book in fairness, changed a lot of peoples mind about him.
Post by: muppet on June 30, 2010, 08:52:04 PM
Quote from: Two Hands FFS on June 30, 2010, 02:32:31 PM
£4.99 in easons now. Good book.

Two hands FFS can I just ask, what do you use the two hands for?
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on June 30, 2010, 10:02:43 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on June 30, 2010, 02:10:26 PM

Never knew Gareth Edwards was gay.
Post by: Minder on June 30, 2010, 10:44:37 PM
I think he means Gareth Thomas.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on July 01, 2010, 12:14:35 AM
Quote from: Minder on June 30, 2010, 10:44:37 PM
I think he means Gareth Thomas.

Does he? Bit careless. It's like saying that Willie Nelson and Willie McCrea are the same person because they both like to sing a few bars of a song.
Post by: Lecale2 on July 01, 2010, 02:15:47 AM
Which one is gay?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 01, 2010, 08:55:51 AM
Gareth Thomas.
Post by: fearglasmor on July 01, 2010, 09:02:23 AM
I always believed that Graham LeSeux was gay and out,  but it seems he's not at all.
Post by: Doogie Browser on July 01, 2010, 09:33:32 AM
Sorry to Gareth Edwards for outing him  :-[
Post by: Rav67 on July 01, 2010, 01:25:40 PM
Quote from: fearglasmor on July 01, 2010, 09:02:23 AM
I always believed that Graham LeSeux was gay and out,  but it seems he's not at all.

Naw he's married.  Apparently other players started saying he was gay because he didn't like getting into the communal bath with the other boys after England games/training!
Post by: heffo on July 01, 2010, 01:57:40 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on July 01, 2010, 01:25:40 PM

Apparently other players started saying he was gay because he didn't like getting into the communal bath with the other boys after England games/training!

That and the fact that he read the Guardian and not The Sun
Post by: AZOffaly on July 01, 2010, 02:07:46 PM
Gareth Thomas was married as well. In fairness to le Saux though, I think it was the fact that he didn't fit the usual mould of a soccer player that led to him being labelled as gay.
Post by: muppet on July 01, 2010, 07:59:37 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on July 01, 2010, 01:25:40 PM

Naw he's married.  Apparently other players started saying he was gay because he didn't like getting into the communal bath with the other boys after England games/training!

This perfectly demonstrates the (lack of) intellect of some soccer players.