GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: magickingdom on July 26, 2009, 09:37:59 PM

Title: Back to Back All Irelands are tough
Post by: magickingdom on July 26, 2009, 09:37:59 PM
tyrone have a hard road ahead of them if their to achieve their dream of back to back all irelands and be in contention for team of the decade. if they overcome kildare they could yet have to beat cork in the semi final and maybe face kerry in the final. thats a tough ask but back to backs aint easy
Title: Re: Back to Back All Irelands are tough
Post by: ziggysego on July 26, 2009, 09:39:54 PM
No-one said it was easy magickingdom
Post by: under the bar on July 26, 2009, 09:44:33 PM
Quotetyrone have a hard road ahead of them if their to achieve their dream of back to back all irelands and be in contention for team of the decade

it makes it somewhat easier when you've thrashed your closest rivals for the accolade in all 3 meetings between them
Post by: johnpower on July 26, 2009, 09:45:54 PM
Quote from: under the bar on July 26, 2009, 09:44:33 PM
Quotetyrone have a hard road ahead of them if their to achieve their dream of back to back all irelands and be in contention for team of the decade

it makes it somewhat easier when you've thrashed your closest rivals for the accolade in all 3 meetings between them

Who is your rivals for back to back titles ? Armagh ?
Post by: comeontheredhands on July 26, 2009, 10:24:09 PM
pre-aif last year the press had the game billed as determining the team of the decade - given we have beaten kerry  each time we met them this decade in the championship surely this argument is over - but if we have to win another sam this year,do back to backs and beat kerry in the final to prove it then fine - bring them on 
Post by: magickingdom on July 26, 2009, 10:34:48 PM
if kerry win the ai this year kerry are the team of the decade....
Post by: muppet on July 26, 2009, 10:38:55 PM
Back to back All-Irelands in order of the most recently completed back to back:

Kerry
Cork
Meath
Dublin
Offaly
Galway
Down
Mayo
Cavan
Roscommon
Kildare
Wexford

NB Limerick never had the chance to do it 1888 due to a tour of the US.

12 counties have done the back to back, this Tyrone outfit can't possibly be considered above any of those great teams unless they do it.

Title: tough
Post by: drici on July 26, 2009, 10:50:08 PM
tough?

Killough County Down
Post by: drici on July 26, 2009, 10:52:21 PM
tough?

Clough County Down
Post by: comeontheredhands on July 26, 2009, 11:12:16 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on July 26, 2009, 10:34:48 PM

and when tyrone win it this year they still won`t be the team of the decade as far as you boys are concerned
Post by: johnpower on July 27, 2009, 10:06:02 PM
Quote from: comeontheredhands on July 26, 2009, 11:12:16 PM

and when tyrone win it this year they still won`t be the team of the decade as far as you boys are concerned

Ah the team of the decade debate . I think Tyrones record to date is up their with the best of them very few teams have won 3 in such a short period of time .This year is looking good for your guys with only the dubs and cork the only other contenders
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 27, 2009, 10:24:11 PM

Pity then they have won more All-Irelands, made more semi-finals etc while you have been beaten by the likes of Mayo and Laois etc...
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 27, 2009, 10:53:52 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 27, 2009, 10:24:11 PM

Pity then they have won more All-Irelands, made more semi-finals etc while you have been beaten by the likes of Mayo and Laois etc...

Have these 2 teams not beat Dublin this decade?
Post by: moysider on July 27, 2009, 11:18:19 PM

You ll note they have nt been beaten by the likes of Dublin so they have nt stooped too low over the past few years.
Post by: drici on July 27, 2009, 11:21:31 PM
tough?

lough
Post by: longrunsthefox on July 27, 2009, 11:25:04 PM

but they have been beaten by the likes of Tyrone but Tyrone have not been beaten by the likes of kerry  ;) 
Post by: red hander on July 27, 2009, 11:34:34 PM
We didn't start all this team of the decade shenanigans, that was the Kerry loving Dublin media ... and the talk soon stopped when their heirs apparent fell at the final hurdle last year

... and yes, it is hard to win back-to-back AIs
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 27, 2009, 11:53:22 PM
Its next to impossible to win the 2 in a row never mind a 3 in a row.

As for the Team of the decade talk its not important to us, I suppose that will be measured at the end of this year over the last ten years and will be based on consistancy over the decade, in first of all championship games and also the National league should be added in.

Currently in the All Ireland championships excluding the provincial championships games this is where Kerry and Tyrone stand. 

Kerry   W   D   L   P
Qualifiers   8   0   0   8
Quarters   8   1   0   9
Semis   7   2   2   11
Finals   4   1   3   8
Total   27   4   5   36

Tyrone   W   D   L   P
Qualifiers   11   1   3   15
Quarters   3   0   2   5
Semis   3   0   0   3
Finals   3   0   0   3
Total   20   1   5   26

I will leave it up to the experts to decide on the team of the decade. I Remember the 70's being callled the Decade of the Dubs even though Kerry beat them in 3 finals and had another won at the start of that decade for good measure !!
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 28, 2009, 12:01:29 AM
Quotebut Tyrone have not been beaten by the likes of kerry 

I promise you I will not mention Tyrone being beaten this decade by the likes of Sligo, Down, Laois , Mayo  :D
Post by: tyrone86 on July 28, 2009, 12:02:51 AM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 28, 2009, 12:01:29 AM

I promise you I will not mention Tyrone being beaten this decade by the likes of Sligo, Down, Laois , Mayo  :D

When's the last time Kerry beat Down  :P
Post by: moysider on July 28, 2009, 12:05:37 AM
Yeah Mike but Kerry folk did their bit to put that 70 s Dublin team on a pedestal. I m talking about players and manager who always gave the hacks what they wanted to hear. I never remember a Kerryman say - ' well actually apart from a couple of years the Dublin rivalry was nothing special'. If Dublin were nt about the Kerry lads would nt have got the same attention. Not as sexy beating lads from Cork, Roscommon or Offaly. But if truth be told the Offaly/Kerry meetings of the early 70s and 80s were every bit as good as the Dub era. The Offaly players were better footballers and some of those games were up there with the 77 semi.
Post by: stew on July 28, 2009, 12:06:54 AM

They would be as far as I am concerned, it wouldnt even be close.
Post by: longrunsthefox on July 28, 2009, 12:09:47 AM

and Kerry could not do what Sligo, Down, Laois and Mayo did  :P
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 28, 2009, 12:24:12 AM
You're scraping the bottom of a green and gold barrel there magickingdom. Nothing's been won or lost yet and already you're attempting to trade on past glories. Are you that certain that the Dubs are going to dump you on your Kerry asses?  ;)
Post by: boojangles on July 28, 2009, 12:41:53 AM
Tyrone are the team of the decade,FULL STOP. Experts-Id know more than all of them put together.
Post by: longrunsthefox on July 28, 2009, 01:07:40 AM
Kerry people have this obsession with lists of their past wins. Morning of 2005 All Irealnd final I was driving down the Drumcondra Road with Tyrone colours flying from the car and this moron from the so-called kingdom threw a sheet of paper in through the window. It had a list of kerry's All Ireland wins  :D. Rite enuff he wasn't able to add another title to it a few hours later  ;)   
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 28, 2009, 07:44:37 AM
QuoteKerry people have this obsession with lists of their past wins. Morning of 2005 All Irealnd final I was driving down the Drumcondra Road with Tyrone colours flying from the car and this moron from the so-called kingdom threw a sheet of paper in through the window. It had a list of kerry's All Ireland wins  . Rite enuff he wasn't able to add another title to it a few hours later     

And Tyrone never mention their past wins !!!

If you still have that list will you mark down 2006 and also 2007 and then check if the total number is 36, its good to keep these things up to date, when you have so many you can lose track easily.

I can't remember everyone I gave a list to  ;)
Post by: comethekingdom on July 28, 2009, 07:46:19 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on July 28, 2009, 01:07:40 AM
Kerry people have this obsession with lists of their past wins. Morning of 2005 All Irealnd final I was driving down the Drumcondra Road with Tyrone colours flying from the car and this moron from the so-called kingdom threw a sheet of paper in through the window. It had a list of kerry's All Ireland wins  :D. Rite enuff he wasn't able to add another title to it a few hours later  ;)   

Boo Hoo! It's still so hard to accecpt that Tyrone have only 3 AI titles !! :D But sure ye'll have a fourth in under 7 weeks time.
Post by: Son_of_Sam on July 28, 2009, 08:58:25 AM
Quote from: comethekingdom on July 28, 2009, 07:46:19 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on July 28, 2009, 01:07:40 AM

Boo Hoo! It's still so hard to accecpt that Tyrone have only 3 AI titles !! :D But sure ye'll have a fourth in under 7 weeks time.

Nah, it will be Mayo collecting our 4'th All-Ireland  ;)
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 28, 2009, 10:00:31 AM
Do people agree that Antrim and Wicklow are leading contenders for team of the decade beginning 2009?? ;)
Post by: Hardy on July 28, 2009, 10:04:56 AM
I'm amazed the Northern lads don't resort to the usual Ulster method of sorting these things out and concentrate on the only distinction that really matters to them. 

Ladies and gentlemen, I give you the ULSTER team of the decade ... ta daaaa.
Post by: ONeill on July 28, 2009, 10:05:36 AM
I can't wait til the next decade.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 28, 2009, 10:10:25 AM
Decide on your decade, decede from the Championship and decode your message...

@ drici...tough?? Try bough
Post by: magickingdom on July 28, 2009, 07:38:42 PM

if tyrone win this year they'll have 4 just like kerry and it will be a tie for team of the decade. its all about the bling.....
Post by: drici on July 28, 2009, 07:47:12 PM
tough?

dough
Post by: magickingdom on July 28, 2009, 07:50:44 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 28, 2009, 12:24:12 AM
You're scraping the bottom of a green and gold barrel there magickingdom. Nothing's been won or lost yet and already you're attempting to trade on past glories. Are you that certain that the Dubs are going to dump you on your Kerry asses?  ;)

fear, i cant believe you think i think the dubs are going to beat us, not going to happen imo. but i did start this thread with the intention of helping tyrone supporters understand the massive achievement back to back all irelands represent. if they do succeed i'll be first to offer my congratulations. in the meantime as my grandma used to say 'even a blind squirrel finds the odd nut' ;)
Post by: tyssam5 on July 28, 2009, 08:09:52 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on July 26, 2009, 09:37:59 PM
tyrone have a hard road ahead of them if their to achieve their dream of back to back all irelands and be in contention for team of the decade. if they overcome kildare they could yet have to beat cork in the semi final and maybe face kerry in the final. thats a tough ask but back to backs aint easy

Magic, you had a good point right up till you picked an easy team for us in the final. Throw in Dublin in the final and that would indeed be a hard road.

We are tired of humping Kerry lad, I'm not even joking.
Post by: tyssam5 on July 28, 2009, 08:11:49 PM

Mike, you wouldn't change that avatar? It's a wee bit embarrassing when you don't have hold of Sam at minute.

I'll pull mine if and when we relinquish the cup.
Post by: muppet on July 28, 2009, 08:17:45 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on July 28, 2009, 08:11:49 PM

Mike, you wouldn't change that avatar? It's a wee bit embarrassing when you don't have hold of Sam at minute.

Not in public please.
Post by: tyssam5 on July 28, 2009, 09:02:36 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 28, 2009, 08:17:45 PM

I'll send you the link, the monthly subscription is pretty hefty though.
Not in public please.
Post by: magickingdom on August 03, 2009, 05:55:57 PM
fair play to tyrone they stood up to a gallant kildare yesterday (who nearly beat dublin) and held on for a victory to keep their quest for back to back ai's on the road. up next tho cork and then quite possibly kerry so for tyrone is welcome to the munster championship. without a doubt tyrone will be favourites but it will will be hard earned if they succeed...
Post by: tyssam5 on August 03, 2009, 06:11:15 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on August 03, 2009, 05:55:57 PM
fair play to tyrone they stood up to a gallant kildare yesterday (who nearly beat dublin) and held on for a victory to keep their quest for back to back ai's on the road. up next tho cork and then quite possibly kerry so for tyrone is welcome to the munster championship. without a doubt tyrone will be favourites but it will will be hard earned if they succeed...

Sure even if we win it this year, yis are still the team of the decade. You have loads of 2nd places to break the 4-4 tie!
Post by: comethekingdom on August 03, 2009, 06:31:40 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on August 03, 2009, 06:11:15 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on August 03, 2009, 05:55:57 PM

Sure even if we win it this year, yis are still the team of the decade. You have loads of 2nd places to break the 4-4 tie!
Good to see a man with a bit of common sense and rational reasoning at last !
Post by: blanketattack on August 03, 2009, 11:48:29 PM
Another "team of the decade" thread..........(http://forum.football365.com/images/smiley_icons/post-5758-1225601204.gif)
Post by: comethekingdom on August 23, 2009, 05:07:31 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on August 03, 2009, 11:48:29 PM
Another "team of the decade" thread..........(http://forum.football365.com/images/smiley_icons/post-5758-1225601204.gif)

Pat Spillane put that topic to bed there now! No questions about it anymore, Thanks.
Post by: magickingdom on August 23, 2009, 05:12:48 PM
the down team of 1961 still considered among the games greats did it and kerry have done it but its some task to achieve it. a team needs everything to go to plan and then get lucky. tyrone may yet do it in the next few years and good luck to them, no doubt they'll be back. . .
Post by: johnpower on August 23, 2009, 05:19:54 PM
The bloody team of the decade . Pat could not resist it with Joe sitting there
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 23, 2009, 05:27:12 PM

Time to change that avatar Tyssam5...and be quick about it..once again ye have embarrassed the title of AI champions with that pathetic defence. 
Post by: bcarrier on August 23, 2009, 05:30:23 PM
Mike put the rod away.

Post by: JMohan on August 23, 2009, 05:35:55 PM
Pat is making Brolly look intelligent
Post by: cicfada on August 23, 2009, 05:42:12 PM
Gas to see Spillane having a pop  at Joe over the team of the decade!! Is there any argument any more? Let's look at the facts!! Kerry beat a galway team only after a replay in 2000, when galway were missing three of their best players,  a Mayo team who regularly shit their pants at the sight of Kerry (twice) and then Cork which is a hurling county!! In the meantime  Tyrone beat the reigning All Ireland Champions in their 3 victories including Kerry twice. They beat Kerry 3 times  during the decade! Spillane is an idiot who looked pathetic  with his rant, he was also over the top about mulligan diving! Spillane is the RTE equivalent of Ian Wright, brought in to be the moron on the panel!
Post by: JMohan on August 23, 2009, 05:43:37 PM
What award is there for team of the decade?

It's a bullshit discussion anyway

Spillanes a knob and has lost the plot a little with his theatrics
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 23, 2009, 05:48:09 PM
Pat was acting like a child there at the end. He was practically dancing a jig he was so happy to see Tyrone beaten.
Post by: puskas on August 23, 2009, 05:49:32 PM
the only slim sliver of hope Kerry had for a claim of ToTD was beating Tyrone in the final. after Tyrone's clapped-out display today, and Cork's probable victory in the final, the ToTD verdict for the 2000's will be 'None applicable'.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 23, 2009, 05:52:28 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on August 23, 2009, 05:48:09 PM
Pat was acting like a child there at the end. He was practically dancing a jig he was so happy to see Tyrone beaten.

That was one of the funniest things Spillane's done on tv all Summer. Mind you I'm sure there have been lots more but there was nothing on in Mayo today so I had to watch him. He fairly put Brolly in his place though. I'm sure O'Rourke is fed up of listening to them at this stage. Could they not get different people in??
Post by: puskas on August 23, 2009, 05:58:12 PM
ah no, a Tyrone vs Kerry final would have been great sport, fuelled by the TotD crack, the final showdown etc. It's disappointing it hasn't come to pass but it's put to bed the whole argument, there hasn't been such a team. Tyrone came closest.
Post by: bcarrier on August 23, 2009, 06:01:52 PM
Were down or galway team of the 60s ? Did anyone care.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 23, 2009, 06:05:13 PM
Quotethe only slim sliver of hope Kerry had for a claim of ToTD was beating Tyrone in the final. after Tyrone's clapped-out display today, and Cork's probable victory in the final, the ToTD verdict for the 2000's will be 'None applicable'.

blah, blah.....more nordie mealy-mouthedness. Making the rules up as ye go along.
Post by: puskas on August 23, 2009, 06:08:59 PM
what rules Mike, what rules? (give me strength)
Post by: Cúig huaire on August 23, 2009, 06:12:03 PM
Back to back All Irelands aren't that hard, we were doing it before the rest of the Northern teams knew were Jones`s Rd was, Kerry have made a habit of 2, 3 or even 4 in a row.
As for team of the decade, that has to go to Kerry. They have won 3 All Irelands and appeared in 6 or 7 finals. Hopefully they will win a fourth in a few weeks time and put this sill argument to bed once and for all.
Post by: puskas on August 23, 2009, 06:19:07 PM
TotD could have gone Tyrone, really the only contender, but 3 out of 10 isn't a great return. As for Kerry, they failed to beat Tyrone three times when it counted, how can they possibly be?? There has been no TotD.
Post by: glens73 on August 23, 2009, 06:22:23 PM
Quote from: puskas on August 23, 2009, 06:19:07 PM
TotD could have gone Tyrone, really the only contender, but 3 out of 10 isn't a great return. As for Kerry, they failed to beat Tyrone three times when it counted, how can they possibly be?? There has been no TotD.

Not sure how you figure that, 3 out of 10 is an excellent return. I'm sure 30 other counties would take it.
Post by: thebuzz on August 23, 2009, 06:28:51 PM
Quote from: Cúig huaire on August 23, 2009, 06:12:03 PM
Back to back All Irelands aren't that hard, we were doing it before the rest of the Northern teams knew were Jones`s Rd was, Kerry have made a habit of 2, 3 or even 4 in a row.
As for team of the decade, that has to go to Kerry. They have won 3 All Irelands and appeared in 6 or 7 finals. Hopefully they will win a fourth in a few weeks time and put this sill argument to bed once and for all.

Surely Kerry have won four.
Post by: puskas on August 23, 2009, 06:29:16 PM
of course it is, but in terms of making a claim for this non-existent title so sought-after by Tyrone and Kerry fans, you need more than 3 out of 10. you also need to beat your major rivals at least once during the period. back to backs are irrelevant.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 23, 2009, 07:06:41 PM
Quoteof course it is, but in terms of making a claim for this non-existent title so sought-after by Tyrone and Kerry fans, you need more than 3 out of 10. you also need to beat your major rivals at least once during the period. back to backs are irrelevant.

you might have had some argument till you cam out with that shite. The hardest thing to do, by far, is to win two AI back to back. If anything is irrelevant its Head to heads, anything can happen on the day.   

Post by: johnpower on August 23, 2009, 07:14:01 PM
Quote from: puskas on August 23, 2009, 06:29:16 PM
of course it is, but in terms of making a claim for this non-existent title so sought-after by Tyrone and Kerry fans, you need more than 3 out of 10. you also need to beat your major rivals at least once during the period. back to backs are irrelevant.
Post by: In the Onion Bag on August 23, 2009, 07:14:20 PM
Ah comon now lads, leave poor Pat alone. 
Sure wasn't he they only Kerry man able to manage a score (and a good one it was) in the whole of the 2nd half of the semi in 2001

His cousin Thomas hung up his boots ater the roasting he got that day from Peter Withnell.  Thomas showed more sense thant his cousin who should have left the scene at the same time.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 23, 2009, 07:18:18 PM
QuoteAh comon now lads, leave poor Pat alone. 
Sure wasn't he they only Kerry man able to manage a score (and a good one it was) in the whole of the 2nd half of the semi in 2001

????
Post by: In the Onion Bag on August 23, 2009, 07:21:18 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 23, 2009, 07:18:18 PM

????

Gues you don't like that Miky.  Truth hurts eh?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 23, 2009, 07:24:45 PM
Quote from: In the Onion Bag on August 23, 2009, 07:21:18 PM

????

No, I just know what you are referring to
Post by: In the Onion Bag on August 23, 2009, 07:27:46 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 23, 2009, 07:24:45 PM
Quote from: In the Onion Bag on August 23, 2009, 07:21:18 PM

????

No, I just know what you are referring to

Fair play to you then
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 23, 2009, 07:34:21 PM
Pat Spillane was long retired by 2001 ? If you are referring to 1991 then at least get your facts straight before trying to wind.

silly nordie
Post by: johnpower on August 23, 2009, 07:39:34 PM
Quote from: In the Onion Bag on August 23, 2009, 07:14:20 PM

His cousin Thomas hung up his boots ater the roasting he got that day from Peter Withnell.  Thomas showed more sense thant his cousin who should have left the scene at the same time.

Whoes cousin ?
Post by: puskas on August 23, 2009, 07:57:56 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 23, 2009, 07:06:41 PM
Quoteof course it is, but in terms of making a claim for this non-existent title so sought-after by Tyrone and Kerry fans, you need more than 3 out of 10. you also need to beat your major rivals at least once during the period. back to backs are irrelevant.

you might have had some argument till you cam out with that shite. The hardest thing to do, by far, is to win two AI back to back. If anything is irrelevant its Head to heads, anything can happen on the day.

Mike, I've no desire to get into a slanging match with you as you're up to your neck in bias on this point, and can't seem to argue without losing the rag.

As a neutral, I'll stand by my opinion that Kerry's abject failure to beat their major rival Tyrone three times this decade invalidates their claim to be TotD, a back to back against the weaker opposition provided by Mayo and Cork in those years is clutching at straws IMHO, sorry.
Post by: Kerry1980 on August 23, 2009, 08:31:28 PM
Quotea back to back against the weaker opposition provided by Mayo and Cork in those years is clutching at straws IMHO, sorry.

Oh dear...
Cork weak opposition? They'd have won a bunch of all Ireland's this decade if it wasn't for Kerry and only Kerry, meaning the only team to defeat them in years has been Kerry. Oh yeah, they're in this years final if you hadn't noticed.  Your weak opposition to the now fact that Kerry is the team of the decade is what's clutching at straws, sorry.
Post by: INDIANA on August 23, 2009, 08:33:05 PM
I'd like to ask people what trophy is awarded for the team of the decade?
Also - does anyone really give a shit?
Post by: magickingdom on August 23, 2009, 08:37:30 PM
Quote from: puskas on August 23, 2009, 07:57:56 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 23, 2009, 07:06:41 PM

Mike, I've no desire to get into a slanging match with you as you're up to your neck in bias on this point, and can't seem to argue without losing the rag.

As a neutral, I'll stand by my opinion that Kerry's abject failure to beat their major rival Tyrone three times this decade invalidates their claim to be TotD, a back to back against the weaker opposition provided by Mayo and Cork in those years is clutching at straws IMHO, sorry.

no one in kerry give a sh1t about team of the decade were team of the century ffs.

ps to paraphrase 'its about the trophies stupid' not head to head one off games
Post by: In the Onion Bag on August 23, 2009, 08:38:05 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 23, 2009, 07:34:21 PM
Pat Spillane was long retired by 2001 ? If you are referring to 1991 then at least get your facts straight before trying to wind.

silly nordie

Miky, I am pretty sure you know what I meant, still you come back with a stupid insult.  Learn some grace man or continue in the small band of kerry assholes .  Suspect you are not a really Kerry, your parents probally are from Limerick or somewhere? 
Any way, share with the board your memories of the 1991 game w-stain?
Post by: puskas on August 23, 2009, 08:42:52 PM
Quote from: Kerry1980 on August 23, 2009, 08:31:28 PM
Quotea back to back against the weaker opposition provided by Mayo and Cork in those years is clutching at straws IMHO, sorry.

Oh dear...
Cork weak opposition? They'd have won a bunch of all Ireland's this decade if it wasn't for Kerry and only Kerry, meaning the only team to defeat them in years has been Kerry. Oh yeah, they're in this years final if you hadn't noticed.  Your weak opposition to the now fact that Kerry is the team of the decade is what's clutching at straws, sorry.

Sir, I saw Cork 2009 today and it ain't no Cork 2006-2007

Bunch of All-Irelands this decade for Cork?? List what they would/could have won. Hint, a bunch means more than one, and you can't include this year.
Post by: puskas on August 23, 2009, 08:49:55 PM

no one in kerry give a sh1t about team of the decade were team of the century ffs.

Team of the century, no question, as long as you mean the 20th right? Now just be big enough to admit you couldn't get the better of Tyrone in the last 10 years, why it so shaggin difficult for you lot to concede there was one bloody team a tiny bit better than ye. You'll probably be the team of this century as well if it massages your bruised little egos a little and makes you feel better. Strewth. (Although the slapping your minors got today makes me ponder about your production line).
Post by: magickingdom on August 23, 2009, 08:54:38 PM
Quote from: puskas on August 23, 2009, 08:49:55 PM

Team of the century, no question, as long as you mean the 20th right? Now just be big enough to admit you couldn't get the better of Tyrone in the last 10 years, why it so shaggin difficult for you lot to concede there was one bloody team a tiny bit better than ye. You'll probably be the team of this century as well if it massages your bruised little egos a little and makes you feel better. Strewth. (Although the slapping your minors got today makes me ponder about your production line).

our minors are often slapped around the place, but there you go thats young fellas for you, they wont listen :D get over the tyrone thing will you, it really doesnt matter each all ireland is equal and this one will be as good as anyother if we win it. did we beat down in the championship? do we have care?
Post by: puskas on August 23, 2009, 09:04:19 PM

each all ireland is equal

whatever. never mention the words 'soft all-ireland' to a kerryman. you're the greatest, this decade, every decade gone and to come. period. good luck.
Post by: Kerry1980 on August 23, 2009, 09:18:45 PM
puskas, if meath make this years final and Cork win it, it will surely be a soft all ireland for Cork since they won't have done so by beating Kerry, the side they've been unable to beat in croker this decade, right?
Post by: comethekingdom on August 23, 2009, 09:23:18 PM
Quote from: puskas on August 23, 2009, 09:04:19 PM

each all ireland is equal

whatever. never mention the words 'soft all-ireland' to a kerryman. you're the greatest, this decade, every decade gone and to come. period. good luck.

Look ! - You can only bate whats put in front of you. If we bate Meath next Sunday we'd prefer a final against Tyrone but sadly thats not going to happen.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 23, 2009, 09:23:56 PM
QuoteMiky, I am pretty sure you know what I meant, still you come back with a stupid insult.  Learn some grace man or continue in the small band of kerry assholes .  Suspect you are not a really Kerry, your parents probally are from Limerick or somewhere? 
Any way, share with the board your memories of the 1991 game w-stain?

run along now gobshite....your heros got found out today so deal with it instead of coming with shite about a game from nearly 20 years ago.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 23, 2009, 09:30:12 PM
Quote from: puskas on August 23, 2009, 09:04:19 PM

Never mention the words "flash in the pan" to an Armagh man. You're the shitest this decade, every decade gone and to come, period. good luck.

Keep at it Puskas. I am more than happy to keep this going.
Post by: western exile on August 24, 2009, 02:02:42 AM
Quote from: Kerry1980 on August 23, 2009, 09:18:45 PM
puskas, if meath make this years final and Cork win it, it will surely be a soft all ireland for Cork since they won't have done so by beating Kerry, the side they've been unable to beat in croker this decade, right?
emmm....  so who are the Munster Champions then?
Post by: Lazer on August 24, 2009, 01:01:46 PM
Quote from: thebuzz on August 23, 2009, 06:28:51 PM
Quote from: Cúig huaire on August 23, 2009, 06:12:03 PM

Surely Kerry have won four.

Kerry won in 2000, 2004, 2006 and 2007
Tyrone won it in 2003, 2005, 2008

Therefore - Kerry are the team of the Decade, the theory was that the team of the decade would be decided this year was obviously based on Tyrone winning to make it 4 All

As it was the Tyrone fans who started the claim about being the team of decade so they now have to accept that it just wasn't to be, the Team of the decade is Kerry without a Doubt
Its the trophies that count
Post by: longrunsthefox on August 24, 2009, 01:15:29 PM
Jack O'Connor came back to beat Tyrone  ::).  I heard Tyrone people after game saying, "at least it wasn't Kerry" and wishing Cork the best of luck in the final.  Jees!  Cork people have same estimation of Kerry begrudgers as us.
Legacy of Kerry this decade ... never beat Tyrone.
Post by: Billys Boots on August 24, 2009, 01:18:41 PM
QuoteLegacy of Kerry this decade ... never beat Tyrone.

They never beat Leitrim either. 
Post by: longrunsthefox on August 24, 2009, 01:25:57 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on August 24, 2009, 01:18:41 PM

Good one from that bastion of Gaelic football.. longford  :D
Post by: armaghniac on August 24, 2009, 01:26:34 PM
QuoteBack to back All Irelands aren't that hard, we were doing it before the rest of the Northern teams knew were Jones`s Rd was

Er Perhaps you are an Irish speaker Mr Cuig, the correct tense in English should be we did it, as you only did it once, although that was a great achievement. Indeed only one Ulster team has reached successive AI finals since then. It was not the case that you got to Jones Rd first though, Cavan, Armagh, Derry etc were all in finals before you.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 24, 2009, 01:31:45 PM
QuoteJack O'Connor came back to beat Tyrone  .  I heard Tyrone people after game saying, "at least it wasn't Kerry" and wishing Cork the best of luck in the final.  Jees!  Cork people have same estimation of Kerry begrudgers as us.

Legacy of Tyrone - diving, cheating, puke football, not team of the decade and couldnt do back to back AI which is the mark of true champions.

Back in your box now longrunsthefox.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 24, 2009, 01:34:03 PM
Would people ever give up on this team of the decade nonsense. It is a mythical title that only exists in the minds of gutter tabloid hacks and clueless supporters. Its not as if there'll be an award ceremony on New Year's Eve or anything. Football existed before this decade and it will go on beyond it. Who were the team of the nineties then?? Meath? Down? Galway? It is just a pointless debate.

In conclusion, the Kilkenny hurlers are the team of the decade!!  ;)
Expect the Cork hurlers to start a work to rule in protest at this announcement.
Post by: Billys Boots on August 24, 2009, 01:38:32 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on August 24, 2009, 01:25:57 PM

Go on then, tell me it's not true.

And, by the way, there's a very fine tradition of football in Longford.  The X-Factor generation mightn't know that.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 24, 2009, 01:52:06 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on August 24, 2009, 01:38:32 PM

And, by the way, there's a very fine tradition of football in Longford.  The X-Factor generation mightn't know that.

I think you'll find that longrunsthefox is a lot older than that....read some of his first posts on the board. He's a bit weird.
Post by: Billys Boots on August 24, 2009, 01:55:51 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 24, 2009, 01:52:06 PM

I think you'll find that longrunsthefox is a lot older than that....read some of his first posts on the board. He's a bit weird.

I was estimating his age from the maturity displayed in his posts - apologies.
Post by: JMohan on August 24, 2009, 02:07:24 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 24, 2009, 01:31:45 PM
QuoteJack O'Connor came back to beat Tyrone  .  I heard Tyrone people after game saying, "at least it wasn't Kerry" and wishing Cork the best of luck in the final.  Jees!  Cork people have same estimation of Kerry begrudgers as us.

Legacy of Tyrone - diving, cheating, puke football, not team of the decade and couldnt do back to back AI which is the mark of true champions.

You're really letting down the Kerry people and good Kerry footballers I know - a few with handfuls of All Irelands - they'd never dream of being so disrespectful to another team

Post by: muppet on August 24, 2009, 02:12:56 PM
Quote from: johnpower on August 23, 2009, 07:39:34 PM
Quote from: In the Onion Bag on August 23, 2009, 07:14:20 PM

Whoes cousin ?

Tom Spillane was Pat's brother in 1991 and may in fact still be.
Post by: JMohan on August 24, 2009, 02:22:47 PM
I think they had another one and may still have too
Post by: longrunsthefox on August 24, 2009, 02:24:29 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 24, 2009, 01:52:06 PM

This is from Sheehy who had to withdraw remarks from the board about my mother!.. and you call me wierd!
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 24, 2009, 03:06:42 PM
QuoteYou're really letting down the Kerry people and good Kerry footballers I know - a few with handfuls of All Irelands - they'd never dream of being so disrespectful to another team

It was Tyrone baiting and gloating that has gotten the two counties to the level of discourse we are at today.  If you give it, learn to take it....and dont presume to speak for Kerry players.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 24, 2009, 03:08:38 PM
QuoteThis is from Sheehy who had to withdraw remarks from the board about my mother!.. and you call me wierd!

you still chasing after that Everton fan..you strange man...
Post by: longrunsthefox on August 24, 2009, 03:15:15 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 24, 2009, 03:08:38 PM
QuoteThis is from Sheehy who had to withdraw remarks from the board about my mother!.. and you call me wierd!

you still chasing after that Everton fan..you strange man...

wat?  ???
Post by: Apple Crumble on August 24, 2009, 04:40:03 PM

I certainly agree with the diving & cheating.  Horrible form. 

They dived & cheated their way in 2003
Post by: longrunsthefox on August 24, 2009, 04:45:35 PM
Quote from: Apple Crumble on August 24, 2009, 04:40:03 PM

I certainly agree with the diving & cheating.  Horrible form. 

They dived & cheated their way in 2003

Sour apples from the one hit wonders  :D
Post by: JMohan on August 24, 2009, 04:51:24 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 24, 2009, 03:06:42 PM
QuoteYou're really letting down the Kerry people and good Kerry footballers I know - a few with handfuls of All Irelands - they'd never dream of being so disrespectful to another team

It was Tyrone baiting and gloating that has gotten the two counties to the level of discourse we are at today.  If you give it, learn to take it....and dont presume to speak for Kerry players.
You're doing a good enough job of that
Post by: stew on August 24, 2009, 04:57:31 PM

there you are again, if you keep fighting with everybody Sheehy you will end up in hospital. take a tablet and turn off the computer before ye hurt yerself.
Post by: JUMBODEMPSEY on August 24, 2009, 05:01:33 PM
Tyrone won 3 All Irelands this decade... 2003 beating Kerry in the semis, 2005 beating Kerry in the Final and again in 2008..

How can Kerry even bring up an argument of being team of the decade??

3 TIMES IS NO FLUKE...

Kerry also lost to Armagh and struggled this year with Antrim so obviously the word ULSTER is a mental hurdle in the land of the second best team of the decade...
Post by: SidelineKick on August 24, 2009, 05:05:11 PM
Quote from: JUMBODEMPSEY on August 24, 2009, 05:01:33 PM
Tyrone won 3 All Irelands this decade... 2003 beating Kerry in the semis, 2005 beating Kerry in the Final and again in 2008..

3 TIMES IS NO FLUKE...

Kerry also lost to Armagh and struggled this year with Antrim so obviously the word ULSTER is a mental hurdle in the land of the second best team of the decade...

4 All Irelands (potentially 5) V 3 All irelands.  More provincial titles and 2 national leagues.

Silly indeed.
Post by: Apple Crumble on August 24, 2009, 05:17:54 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on August 24, 2009, 05:05:11 PM
Quote from: JUMBODEMPSEY on August 24, 2009, 05:01:33 PM

3 TIMES IS NO FLUKE...

4 All Irelands (potentially 5) V 3 All irelands.  More provincial titles and 2 national leagues.

Silly indeed.

Kerry are'Team of the Decade'.....why is this even a discussion??
Post by: In the Onion Bag on August 24, 2009, 05:22:22 PM
Back-to-backs cannot be all that difficult.

Sure didn't Down do it at their 1st attempt and only 1 year after taking up the senior game.
Post by: JUMBODEMPSEY on August 24, 2009, 05:25:40 PM
How can you be team of the decade when you couldn't beat Tyrone??

And to use provincial titles in Munster is a joke... One game to play.. The Tyrone u-16 development squad could get to a Munster final for jaysus sake...

To be the best you have to beat the best.. somthing Kerry couldn't do at 3 times of asking.

In my statement about Kerry being afraid of Ulster i even forgot the damage Monaghan inflicted and even Derry after going well behind in a National league...

Take Ulster out of the equation and Kerry are team of the decade.. and even if Kerry do win the All Ireland this year which i strongly doubt... NOT BEATING TYRONE TAKES THE SHINE RIGHT OF IT....AGAIN!!!

Post by: longrunsthefox on August 24, 2009, 05:28:39 PM
Quote from: JUMBODEMPSEY on August 24, 2009, 05:25:40 PM
How can you be team of the decade when you couldn't beat Tyrone??

And to use provincial titles in Munster is a joke... One game to play.. The Tyrone u-16 development squad could get to a Munster final for jaysus sake...

To be the best you have to beat the best.. somthing Kerry couldn't do at 3 times of asking.

In my statement about Kerry being afraid of Ulster i even forgot the damage Monaghan inflicted and even Derry after going well behind in a National league...

Take Ulster out of the equation and Kerry are team of the decade.. and even if Kerry do win the All Ireland this year which i strongly doubt... NOT BEATING TYRONE TAKES THE SHINE RIGHT OF IT....AGAIN!!!

I would like to be associated with the words of the last speaker  :D  3-0 
Post by: SidelineKick on August 24, 2009, 05:35:01 PM
What was it I said, bad losers and even worse winners!

Its just looking like sour grapes now lads, give it up. Forget about provincials then, Kerry have more AIs this decade, making them team of the decade.

But sure you always have Dooher, "Player of the Decade"  ::)
Post by: supersarsfields on August 24, 2009, 05:36:28 PM
Lads seriously let the whole team of the decade thing go. If we had went on to win this year then yip i'd have said we deserved it. But the fact Kerry have more titles makes it pointless. It might be an irritation to them to not having beat Tyrone but no more than that. Head to head battles only come into account when the titles are level.
Post by: SidelineKick on August 24, 2009, 05:40:05 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on August 24, 2009, 05:36:28 PM
Lads seriously let the whole team of the decade thing go. If we had went on to win this year then yip i'd have said we deserved it. But the fact Kerry have more titles makes it pointless. It might be an irritation to them to not having beat Tyrone but no more than that. Head to head battles only come into account when the titles are level.

There speaks a man with sense.

Also, I'm not saying Tyrone weren't / aren't a brilliant team.
Post by: longrunsthefox on August 24, 2009, 06:17:06 PM
OK  Kerry-the team of the decade who couldn't beat Tyrone  :-*
Post by: SidelineKick on August 24, 2009, 06:19:56 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on August 24, 2009, 06:17:06 PM
OK  Kerry-the team of the decade.

There. Wasn't that easier than you thought?  ;)
Post by: longrunsthefox on August 24, 2009, 06:28:14 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on August 24, 2009, 06:19:56 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on August 24, 2009, 06:17:06 PM
OK  Kerry-the team of the decade.

There. Wasn't that easier than you thought?  ;)

easier than it was for Kerry to beat Tyrone   :P
Post by: western exile on August 24, 2009, 07:00:57 PM
It is indisputable that Kerry have won more Sam Maguire than Tyrone this decade.
The main case being put forward by some posters  that Tyrone are better because they have beaten Kerry the 3 times that they met in the Championship.  To address this point, let me use an example of a decade from history....
In the '60s, Down could justifiably claim to be the team of the decade (hold fire please Galway posters and indulge me for the sake of making this point!).
However, when you talk to Cavan people who were around during that decade, they will all tell you that Down should have won more than 3 AI then but for the fact that Cavan consistently beat them in Ulster Final. So, were Cavan better than Down in the '60s?  Some would say that they were.  But does that make them the team of that decade? No, of course not.

Back to this decade....  It is a good record that Tyrone have over Kerry, but that feat alone does  not make them the team of the decade, no more than it would make Cavan the  team of the '60s.

P.S. The Galway 3 in a row is in no way diminished  ;D
Post by: puskas on August 24, 2009, 07:52:10 PM
it is indeed indisuptable that Kerry will have won more this decade than Tyrone. does this make them TotD? some here, mostly from Kerry, argue it does. others like myself argue that it doesn't. others argue that it's a nonsense argument. I don't get this. there have been two outstanding teams in the last 10 years, why not discuss and debate who is the better?

re Down and cavan in the 60s, I'm not sure it's a good comparison. Armagh with all their Ulster titles this decade ahead of Tyrone wouldn't make any claim that they were better than Tyrone during the period.

i think the team of the decade argument ended on Sunday. Had Tyrone won a 4th All-Ireland, it would have been end of story, but 3 titles, admirable though they are, is not dominance of a decade. Even if they don't win this year, Kerry can now indisputably say they won the most titles in this decade, true, but they haven't dominated it either as they failed 3 times to better the other major team of the decade. It's a question of definition I suppose, if you consider it purely a title count (as the Kerry fans do) then it's Kerry's, if you consider it dominance of a decade (a more subjective concept) then it's no-one's, neither Kerry's or Tyrone's in my opinion. just like the 60s you mention and most other decades there hasn't been a team of the decade.
Post by: No way ref on August 24, 2009, 08:28:54 PM
i couldn't be bothered to read all of this thread so this may have been said before but anyways here goes. Tyrone's failure to win this years All Ireland mean that Kerry have been the most consistant team of the decade so therefore they are the team of the decade, BUT (isn't there always), the Tyrone team of 2005 is the best football team i have ever seen (from 1986 to present). I was too young to see the Kerry team of the late 70's/ early 80's 
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 24, 2009, 08:50:47 PM
As someone said there are no awards for Team of the Decade, its a media stunt that started in the 70's with the Decade of the Dubs shite, that was a great one to get the rise out of Kerry people, its the same nowadays with Tyrone v Kerry, its media crap, I like most Kerry people are only interested in one thing, thats is winning Sam. That's the barometer that history will measure by.

As for back to back titles being tough to win, yes its damn tough to do and only one county has pulled it off since 1990 but of course they were "easy" All Ireland's and don't really count, but as I always say if it was easy everyone would be doing it.

Tyrone's achievements have been immense since 2003 and they are a super team that have the respect of most people in Kerry including Mr Spillane (but by jaysus can he wind ye lot up), and they will be remembered as one of the great teams of the GAA , though they are not finished just yet, I'd guess.

On a lighter note the country as a whole can be grateful that Tyrone were around the last few years or otherwise we may well have had the mythical 5-in-a-row finally sown up, Feck me we were a Canavan Goal, and a McConnell save away from the being possibly the greatest team ever  :P :P :P
Post by: muppet on August 24, 2009, 08:52:28 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on August 24, 2009, 08:50:47 PM
As someone said there are no awards for Team of the Decade, its a media stunt that started in the 70's with the Decade of the Dubs shite, that was a great one to get the rise out of Kerry people, its the same nowadays with Tyrone v Kerry, its media crap, I like most Kerry people are only interested in one thing, thats is winning Sam. That's the barometer that history will measure by.

As for back to back titles being tough to win, yes its damn tough to do and only one county has pulled it off since 1990 but of course they were "easy" All Ireland's and don't really count, but as I always say if it was easy everyone would be doing it.

Tyrone's achievements have been immense since 2003 and they are a super team that have the respect of most people in Kerry including Mr Spillane (but by jaysus can he wind ye lot up), and they will be remembered as one of the great teams of the GAA , though they are not finished just yet, I'd guess.

On a lighter note the country as a whole can be grateful that Tyrone were around the last few years or otherwise we may well have had the mythical 5-in-a-row finally sown up, Feck me we were a Canavan Goal, and a McConnell save away from the being possibly the greatest team ever  :P :P :P

What about team of the (21st) century? We'll give Kerry the last century.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 24, 2009, 08:55:24 PM

Well said KM
Post by: supersarsfields on August 24, 2009, 09:01:25 PM

Fair play KM, gracious as ever and no dancing over our graves. Could ya not go and have a wee word in MS's ear and tell him to cop himself on.
Post by: Rossfan on August 24, 2009, 10:20:53 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 24, 2009, 08:52:28 PM

What about team of the (21st) century? We'll give Kerry the last century.

We as in Mayo  :o
Ye must be slow starters or are ye working on getting longer odds? ;D

Post by: stew on August 24, 2009, 10:23:36 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on August 24, 2009, 09:01:25 PM

Fair play KM, gracious as ever and no dancing over our graves. Could ya not go and have a wee word in MS's ear and tell him to cop himself on.

Ach go easy on young Sheehy, himself was a wee bit upset at the fact that the orchard men from the big bad north had beaten his beloved Kerry again.

Rumour has it he is busy today getting fitted for the straighjacket he is going to need should Kerry face Cork in the AI. That will completely send him off the deep end. ;)
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 24, 2009, 10:37:31 PM
Quoteshould Kerry face Cork in the AI

Facing Cork is one thing, losing to them is another, I will be getting fitted for the auld strait jacket then too.
Post by: longrunsthefox on August 24, 2009, 11:29:30 PM

Most sensible post yet about this team of the decade nonsense. anyway the tyrone taem won All Ireland in 2003 was a fair bit different than 2008... so which team? Is a stupid debate-even tho i too have got into it, usually baited by that clown Sheehy.
Waited all my life to win one Sam and then get three in six years... that'll do me  :P
Post by: johnpower on August 24, 2009, 11:32:44 PM
I agree what a nonsense . Its a pity sometimes that  players only get recognition when they are finished
Post by: comethekingdom on August 24, 2009, 11:34:18 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on August 24, 2009, 10:37:31 PM

Facing Cork is one thing, losing to them is another, I will be getting fitted for the auld strait jacket then too.
Put my name down for one too KM. Losing to the langers will be devastating if it happens!
Post by: longrunsthefox on August 24, 2009, 11:36:27 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on August 24, 2009, 11:34:18 PM

Put my name down for one too KM. Losing to the langers will be devastating if it happens!

You serious?!!  :o COME ON THE REBELS!!!
Post by: johnpower on August 24, 2009, 11:39:16 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on August 24, 2009, 11:34:18 PM

Lets see what happens on Sunday if we are not good enough this year then Meath on you go and sort them out alot of my friends are from Cork and the slagging is always  good .
Post by: nrico2006 on August 25, 2009, 09:22:07 AM
QuoteLegacy of Tyrone - diving, cheating, puke football, not team of the decade and couldnt do back to back AI which is the mark of true champions.

Miek Sheehy, I think you are listening to much to that tube Spillane and others - I understand that achieving back to back titles is a great feat, but I don't buy into all this nonsense that to be considered true champions you have to have achieved this.  I think winning All Irelands consistently over a period of 5 years is as good an achievment, if not better.  This decade has been dominated by Kerry and Tyrone, and as we know Kerry have 4 All Irelands and a few National Leagues while Tyrone have 3 All Irelands and a few National Leagues too (not that the league counts for much but it seems that Spillane regards them as a big achievement now, how times have changed).  In time, people will look at this decade and see that it was dominated by these teams and the only possible way of distinguishing who was the best team is to look at the heads to heads between the sides, which we all know will show that Tyrone were the better side.  You can throw in your other arguments about Tyrone losing to Mayo in 2004, or the injury ravaged sides in 2006 and 2007 losing to Laois and Meath but no matter how decimated any Tyrone side has been this decade they have not suffered defeats on a par with those that Kerry have.  Tyrone were poor on Sunday but only lost by a few, but the same Cork side hammered Kerry this year, while Tyrone in 2003 and Meath in 2001 have also handed out severe hidings to your great Kerry team.
Post by: SidelineKick on August 25, 2009, 09:44:15 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on August 25, 2009, 09:22:07 AM
QuoteLegacy of Tyrone - diving, cheating, puke football, not team of the decade and couldnt do back to back AI which is the mark of true champions.

Miek Sheehy, I think you are listening to much to that tube Spillane and others - I understand that achieving back to back titles is a great feat, but I don't buy into all this nonsense that to be considered true champions you have to have achieved this.  I think winning All Irelands consistently over a period of 5 years is as good an achievment, if not better.  This decade has been dominated by Kerry and Tyrone, and as we know Kerry have 4 All Irelands and a few National Leagues while Tyrone have 3 All Irelands and a few National Leagues too (not that the league counts for much but it seems that Spillane regards them as a big achievement now, how times have changed).  In time, people will look at this decade and see that it was dominated by these teams and the only possible way of distinguishing who was the best team is to look at the heads to heads between the sides, which we all know will show that Tyrone were the better side.  You can throw in your other arguments about Tyrone losing to Mayo in 2004, or the injury ravaged sides in 2006 and 2007 losing to Laois and Meath but no matter how decimated any Tyrone side has been this decade they have not suffered defeats on a par with those that Kerry have.  Tyrone were poor on Sunday but only lost by a few, but the same Cork side hammered Kerry this year, while Tyrone in 2003 and Meath in 2001 have also handed out severe hidings to your great Kerry team.

Or, indeed, count the number of All irelands they won  :-\
Post by: nedman on August 25, 2009, 12:36:07 PM
Here are the ACTUAL STATS  as we near the end of the decade

Kerry                    Tyrone
AI Titles                             4(possibly 5)               3

AI Final appearances             7(possibly 8 )              3

Semi appearances                  10                         4

From looking at these FACTS it is clear to see not only Kerry have been more successful but have played much more football from August onwards over the last decade.

While Tyrone  have the clear adv in H2H, yet the great Liverpool side from late 70's - early 80's are widely regarded as one of the best in English and European history yet had a poor record H2H against Man Utd(who incidentally won very little in this era apart from the odd FA Cup)
Post by: INDIANA on August 25, 2009, 01:39:30 PM
In my view there is no team of the decade.

Tyrone haven't been consistent enough but that wasn't all their fault when you considered what happened.

Kerry can't be considered team of the decade either because they never beat Tyrone in championship football in this decade.

Call it a tie.
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 25, 2009, 07:31:48 PM
QuoteHere are the ACTUAL STATS  as we near the end of the decade

Here is the full run down of the Tyrone and Kerry routes through the decade if anyone is interested in throwing on the anorak and analyzing them. I could not sleep well last night and this is the shite in my head at 2am, I've probably made a mistake or two.

Tyrone have played in 56 championship games from 2000-2009 inclusive.
They have won 37, drawn 7 and lost 12.

Kerry have played in 64 championship games from 2000-2009 inclusive - to date.
They have won 47, drawn 8 and lost 9.

Tyrone have played 21 different counties in the decade beating 18 of them at least once.
Cork, Meath and Sligo are the 3 teams they did not beat.

Kerry have played 20 different counties in the decade also beating 18 of them at least once.
Tyrone and Meath are the 2 teams they did not beat.

Tyrone have beaten the following 18 teams in 37 wins:
Derry 5 times.
Armagh and Down 4 times each.
Kerry 3 times.
Cavan, Louth, Dublin, Monaghan, Antrim, Fermanagh and Wexford 2 times each.
Donegal, Laois, Mayo, Galway, Leitrim, Westmeath and Kildare Once each.

Kerry have beaten the following 18 teams in 47 wins:
Cork 10 times.
Limerick 5 times.
Tipperary and Dublin 4 times each.
Galway, Mayo and Clare 3 times each.
Armagh, Monaghan, Longford and Waterford 2 times each.
Antrim, Derry, Fermanagh, Wicklow, Sligo, Kildare and Roscommon Once each

Tyrone have drawn with the following 5 teams in 7 draws:
Armagh and Down 2 times each.
Derry, Cavan and Louth all once.

Kerry have also drawn with 5 teams in 8 draws:
Cork 4 times.
Dublin, Armagh, Galway and Limerick once each

Tyrone have lost to the following 9 teams in 12 losses:
Armagh 3 times.
Derry 2 times.
Down, Donegal, Meath, Laois, Mayo, Sligo and Cork once each.

Kerry have lost to the following 4 teams in 9 losses:
Cork 4 times.
Tyrone 3 times.
Meath and Armagh once each

In Tyrone's 56 games they have played against:
Ulster Opposition: 35 times: W22,D6,L7
Leinster Opposition: 12 times: W9,D1,L2
Connacht Opposition: 5 times: W3,D0,L2
Munster Opposition: 4 times: W3,D0,L1

In Kerry's 64 games they have played against:
Munster Opposition: 33 times: W24,D5,L4
Ulster Opposition: 12 times: W7,D1,L4
Leinster Opposition: 10 times: W8,D1,L1
Connacht Opposition: 9 times: W8,D1,L0

Tyrone's 56 games:
28 games in Ulster championship, with 16 wins, 6 draws and 6 losses, winning 4 Ulster titles.
14 games in Qualifiers, with 11 wins,1 draw and 2 losses.
7 games in Quarter finals with 4 wins and 3 losses.
4 games in Semi finals with 3 wins and 1 loss.
3 games in Finals with 3 AI wins.

Kerry's 64 games:
27 games in Munster championship, with 19 wins, 4 draws and 4 losses, winning 6 Munster titles.
8 games in Qualifiers, with 8 wins.
10 games in Quarter finals with 9 wins and 1 draw.
11 games in Semi finals with 7 wins, 2 draws and 2 losses.
8 games in Finals with 4 AI wins, 1 draw and 3 losses.

I'll sleep better tonight now that is off my chest....
Post by: 020304 Tir Eoghain on August 25, 2009, 08:43:19 PM
I could not sleep well last night and this is the shite in my head at 2am, I've probably made a mistake or two.

Jaysus KM, would you not a been better taking a tablet, or a couple of halfuns of Jamesons if ye couldnt sleep. :D As for
mistakes, I for one will take yer word for it :)

Good luck on Sunday btw!
Post by: comethekingdom on August 25, 2009, 10:06:45 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on August 25, 2009, 07:31:48 PM

Here is the full run down of the Tyrone and Kerry routes through the decade if anyone is interested in throwing on the anorak and analyzing them. I could not sleep well last night and this is the shite in my head at 2am, I've probably made a mistake or two.

Tyrone have played 21 different counties in the decade beating 18 of them at least once.

Kerry have played 20 different counties in the decade also beating 18 of them at least once.

Derry 5 times.
Kerry 3 times.

Cork 10 times.
Limerick 5 times.

Cork 4 times.

Armagh 3 times.
Derry 2 times.

Cork 4 times.
Tyrone 3 times.

Tyrone's 56 games:
28 games in Ulster championship, with 16 wins, 6 draws and 6 losses, winning 4 Ulster titles.

Kerry's 64 games:
27 games in Munster championship, with 19 wins, 4 draws and 4 losses, winning 6 Munster titles.

Thats some numbers crunched there Kerry Mike - well done!
Post by: INDIANA on August 25, 2009, 10:10:41 PM
Didn't realise Tyrone beaten vastly superior outfits than Kerry. But is suppose when you compare the provincial championships -its not a surprise.
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 25, 2009, 10:18:36 PM
Between both of us the Jackeens have got bate 6 times this decade. Great reading isn't it ?  :P
Post by: tyssam5 on August 25, 2009, 10:20:30 PM

Derry 5 times.
Kerry 3 times.

Cork 10 times.
Limerick 5 times.

Cork 4 times.

Armagh 3 times.
Derry 2 times.

Cork 4 times.
Tyrone 3 times.

Tyrone's 56 games:

Kerry's 64 games:

STATTOOO! STATTOOO! STATTOOO!

Nice job of work there. Can't see a paid journalist sitting down to do it.
Post by: Trevor Hill on August 25, 2009, 10:25:36 PM
All this talk of team of the decade is nonsense. Tyrone were nowhere a decade ago, they have managed3 All Irelands in the last 6 years but they will disappear again, just like Armagh did in 2005. Whereas Kerry are Kerry. Form is temporary. Class is permanent.
Post by: comethekingdom on August 25, 2009, 10:32:17 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on August 25, 2009, 10:25:36 PM
All this talk of team of the decade is nonsense. Tyrone were nowhere a decade ago, they have managed3 All Irelands in the last 6 years but they will disappear again, just like Armagh did in 2005. Whereas Kerry are Kerry. Form is temporary. Class is permanent.

Now there's a statement to wind the nordies up! :o
Post by: armaghniac on August 25, 2009, 11:16:30 PM
Teams have a 6-7 year life, Kerry have few players in 2009 that played in 2000. Tyrone weren't there then, so even if Tyrone exceeded Kerry for a period, Kerry have had a longer innings. So this decade thing is nonsense.

Quotebut they will disappear again, just like Armagh did in 2005.

Even in 2006 we gave Kerry more trouble than Tyrone gave Cork. And since then we got an Ulster, something found only in the last century in Down.
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 25, 2009, 11:57:09 PM
QuoteKerry have few players in 2009 that played in 2000

2000 Final team.
D. O'Keeffe, M. Hassett, S. Moynihan, M. McCarthy, T. O Se, E. Fitzmaurice, T. O'Sullivan, D. O Se, D. Daly, A. MacGearailt, L. Hassett, N. Kenneally, MF Russell, D. O Cinneide, J. Crowley. Subs: M. Fitzgerald, T. Griffin, D. O'Dwyer, E. Galvin, K. Burns, K. Dillon, S. O'Sullivan, P. O'Leary, M. Lyons

Our Famous 5 still going strong , not bad after 10 years of toil at the highest level.

QuoteTyrone weren't there then

If you want to get measured over the decade you have to take all years into account, them's the rules , you can t be picking out the good years only.

QuoteEven in 2006 we gave Kerry more trouble than Tyrone gave Cork

What was the score and winning margin in 2006 I forget.

QuoteAnd since then we got an Ulster, something found only in the last century in Down.

Lost in translation...

Post by: armaghniac on August 26, 2009, 12:45:40 AM
I know what you mean Kerry Mike, the oul memory goes after a while. I wasn't able to find the score for the game, but I did find info on the first half. Kerry won certainly, but at least we gave you a game until half time.

1 min: Armagh 0-1 0-0 Kerry Armagh forward Ronan Clarke fists over the first point for Joe Kernan's side.
2 mins: Armagh 0-2 0-0 Kerry A good passing move ends with Steven McDonnell notching Armagh's second point.
11 mins: Armagh 0-3 1-1 Kerry John McEntee's beautifully-struck left-foot effort brings the Orchard County to within a point.
12 mins: Armagh 0-4 1-1 Kerry A free brings Ulster points record holder Oisin McConville his first score of the afternoon.
15 mins: Armagh 0-4 1-2 Kerry A Francie Bellew foul gives Colm Cooper the opportunity to edge the south-west county into the lead again.
17 mins: Armagh 0-5 1-2 Kerry Aaron Kernan replies with a free for Armagh to level the scores.
19 mins: Armagh 0-6 1-2 Kerry Steven McDonnell blasts over the bar from a Ronan Clarke lay-off when a goal looked on.
20 mins: Armagh 0-6 1-3 Kerry Paul Galvin snaps up a neat point from play to equalise for the Kingdom.
23 mins: Armagh 1-6 1-3 Kerry Armagh find the net as Steven McDonnell snaps up his 17th career goal for the Ulster outfit.
3 mins: Armagh 0-2 1-0 Kerry Kerry snatch the lead as Eoin Brosnan pokes a low shot past keeper Paul Hearty.
33 mins: Armagh 1-7 1-3 Kerry Steven McDonnell snaps up his fourth score of the match to stretch Armagh's advantage two minutes before half-time.
34 mins: Armagh 1-7 1-4 Kerry Colm Cooper lands a point to keep Kerry in touch.
35 mins: Armagh 1-7 1-5 Kerry Brilliant goalkeeping by Paul Hearty keeps Armagh ahead at the break. He pulls off a magnificent close-range save from Colm Cooper and when Mike Frank Russell pounces on the loose ball Hearty tips the shot over.
Post by: In the Onion Bag on August 26, 2009, 01:28:13 AM

Derry 5 times.
Kerry 3 times.

Cork 10 times.
Limerick 5 times.

Cork 4 times.

Armagh 3 times.
Derry 2 times.

Cork 4 times.
Tyrone 3 times.

Tyrone's 56 games:

Kerry's 64 games:

KM- there are people who can help you through this but you first must accept that you need to help yourself.  Get a life.
Post by: comethekingdom on August 26, 2009, 06:43:48 AM
Help KM ??  I thought he done a great job compiling all the info.
Post by: JMohan on August 26, 2009, 07:57:17 AM
I have great time for Kerry and Kerry people - but if Meath winning Sunday would shut KM up ... I'd take that any day

He really should be on the Hogan Stand
Post by: Hardy on August 26, 2009, 08:16:09 AM
Quote from: JMohan on August 26, 2009, 07:57:17 AM
I have great time for Kerry and Kerry people - but if Meath winning Sunday would shut KM up ... I'd take that any day

What are you talking about?
Post by: blewuporstuffed on August 26, 2009, 08:55:51 AM
Quote from: Hardy on August 26, 2009, 08:16:09 AM

What are you talking about?
i think your confusing kerry mike with mike sheehy ;)
Post by: longrunsthefox on August 26, 2009, 04:31:43 PM
Kenny Archer gives Pat Spillane and the Kerry mindset some touch in the irish News today. Spillane's obvious distain for Tyrone and Ulster... (partitionist) and gloating although he tipped them for the All Ireland this year.  Archer rightly suggests it was also relief they would not be in the final to beat Kerry again. 
He ends. "Most of the country now thinks that most Kingdom  ::)  footballers followers are arrogant, spoilt brats, who throw their toys out of the pram when they lose and rub others' faces in the dirt when they win. There will be little sorry now if Kerry don't win the All Ireland."
He is spot on... Up The Royal or Rebels... whoever Kerry play
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 26, 2009, 04:49:57 PM
And that aforementioned article:

Pundits can't let bias Spill out for all to hear

Hitting the Target
By Kenny Archer

GOOD, better, best. It's a simple enough progression, learnt at primary school by most people.

Yet in the playground world of some sports pundits, the only alternative to good is 'bad' – or, better (worse?) still, they'll say 'dreadful', 'awful', or some similar scathing word.

Since I stopped wearing short trousers on a regular basis, I've never had the mindset that declares winners to be wonderful and everyone else to be rubbish. Perhaps that comes from being a Liverpool fan, but I like to think that I can be relatively sane in my analysis of sport.

At least mere supporters can be excused for the simplistic remarks that come post-match or after their team wins a trophy, comments that basically go along the lines of: 'We won, so we're great and you're rubbish, na na na na na.'

Everyone is biased to some degree, and the extent of that is often greater in the GAA. For many, it's a case of 'my county, right or wrong'.

Yet for highly-paid pundits, especially those employed by a public service broadcaster, to indulge in such infantile behaviour, is inexcusable.

RTE's Pat Spillane, in particular, made no attempt to disguise his delight that Tyrone lost their All-Ireland semi-final last Sunday, even though their conquerors were Cork, arch-rivals of his own county Kerry.

Of course, the Red Hands have been the real rivals to Kerry for most of this decade, which was what truly motivated Spillane's unbalanced outburst.

Spillane ranted at half-time about the unfair dismissal of Cork midfielder Alan O'Connor with the fear of a man who thought Tyrone were going to come back and reach the final – where they would, of course, beat his beloved Kerry. Again.

I'm certainly not anti-Kerry. I've praised them on many occasions and, in May, tipped them to win back the Sam Maguire.

Pat may well be right that Kerry are 'The Team of the Decade'. However, this question will always be asked: 'How come they couldn't beat Tyrone in the Championship, then?' More questions flow from that, pertinent to Pat's remarks about the Red Hands.

If Tyrone aren't a special side then how did they manage to overcome the Kingdom on all three occasions? Shouldn't the great Kerry have won at least one of those matches? Don't those results suggest to anyone sensible that Tyrone are rather more than a team without great players, as Spillane ridiculously implies?

To paraphrase Lady Bracknell, from Oscar Wide's 'The Importance of Being Earnest' (admittedly not a noted GAA follower herself): To lose one All-Ireland final to Tyrone may be regarded as a misfortune; to lose two looks like carelessness.

And to lose two after having already lost to them in an All-Ireland semi-final looks like a pattern.

Kerry certainly cared, and cared a lot, about each and every one of those losses, as Spillane's spite shows.

The eagle-eye may pick up on that phrase 'how did they manage?' and point to the sideline. Mickey Harte is undoubtedly one of the GAA greats in that regard. yet the man himself would readily acknowledge – and often has done – that he has been blessed with a highly talented group of players at his disposal. Mickey is the man with the plan, but he still needs top players to make it work.

Tyrone's two-time All-Ireland U21 winners of 2000 and 2001 were arguably the greatest ever at that level and many of them have progressed to one of the best senior sides of modern times, as acknowledged by Armagh legend and current Kildare boss Kieran McGeeney.

Kerry have been great too. Spillane trumpeted his county's record run of 10 consecutive

All-Ireland semi-final appearances, and five (possibly six, if they beat Meath this Sunday) finals in-a-row, both of which are truly remarkable achievements.

But for most of those seasons Kerry have had to win at most just one serious match in Munster to get into the All-Ireland quarter-finals, the game in question being when (or if) they come up against neighbours Cork.

The provincial championships format undoubtedly helps Kerry and hinders Tyrone and other Ulster teams.

Unlike the ungracious Spillane, however, I can happily acknowledge that it's Kerry's quality that takes them on from the last eight into the last four – and into those last five finals.

Maybe Spillane was in a bad mood because Armagh minors had humiliated their Kerry counterparts in the curtain-raiser, the young Orchard lads repeatedly ripping open the Kingdom rearguard.

In truth, he probably wasn't too bothered about that as, despite not winning an All-Ireland minor since 1994, Kerry have done rather well on the senior scene over the past 10 years.

However, he should heed the words of a soccer great, Matt Busby, who once said: "Winning isn't everything. There should be no conceit in victory and no despair in defeat."

Both Tyrone manager Mickey Harte and his Cork counterpart Conor Counihan showed they understood those sentiments.

Kerry (but not Spillane) were gracious in 2002 after Armagh surprised them in the All-Ireland final, but elements in the county have since shown far less good grace after losses to Tyrone.

Instead of allowing Spillane's bitterness to infect the studio, the pundits should have offered some serious analysis of how Cork maintained their five-point interval lead to the end of the match, despite being a man down.

Playing very well was a huge factor, but Cork cynicism also played its part, with some 'robust' tackling.

Notably, nowhere near the same amount of time was devoted to discussing why John Miskella was NOT sent off, as he should have been, compared to the furore over O'Connor's dismissal.

At times it also seemed that the Rebels had at least 16 men on the pitch, and I'm not talking about referee John Bannon and his linesman, who presumably did not deem Miskella's strike as a red card offence.

Attention should have been focussed on the Cork runners/ water-carriers, who seemed never to be off the pitch and were clearly cleverly disrupting Tyrone, especially as regards their short kick-outs in the second half.

Of course, it's only Ulster teams who can be accused of cynicism.

It's a pity for Kerry people that Pat Spillane is their public face – and that's not the type of personal criticism that the man himself might stoop to in describing someone.

Perhaps I should say 'public voice'. The point is, much of the rest of the country now thinks that most Kingdom football followers are arrogant, spoiled brats, who throw their toys out of the pram when they lose and rub others' faces in the dirt when they win. There will be little sorrow now if Kerry don't win the All-Ireland – but may the best team win.
Post by: ziggysego on August 26, 2009, 04:52:44 PM

Eh? KM is a gentleman. You sure you don't mean MS?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 26, 2009, 04:55:44 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on August 26, 2009, 04:31:43 PM
Kenny Archer gives Pat Spillane and the Kerry mindset some touch in the irish News today. Spillane's obvious distain for Tyrone and Ulster... (partitionist) and gloating although he tipped them for the All Ireland this year.  Archer rightly suggests it was also relief they would not be in the final to beat Kerry again. 
He ends. "Most of the country now thinks that most Kingdom  ::)  footballers followers are arrogant, spoilt brats, who throw their toys out of the pram when they lose and rub others' faces in the dirt when they win. There will be little sorry now if Kerry don't win the All Ireland."

What a load of nonsense. Kerry folk are the salt of the earth for the most part. They're a proud county and are gracious both in victory and defeat in my experience.

Spillane is only a wind-up merchant and its not as if he's an official spokesman for Kerry followers. Brolly waffles on about Ulster football as if the rest of the country is still in the dark ages. I wouldn't let his views change my opinion of the good GAA folk of Ulster though.

Pure gutter journalism.
Post by: longrunsthefox on August 26, 2009, 05:01:58 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on August 26, 2009, 04:55:44 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on August 26, 2009, 04:31:43 PM

What a load of nonsense. Kerry folk are the salt of the earth for the most part. They're a proud county and are gracious both in victory and defeat in my experience.

Spillane is only a wind-up merchant and its not as if he's an official spokesman for Kerry followers. Brolly waffles on about Ulster football as if the rest of the country is still in the dark ages. I wouldn't let his views change my opinion of the good GAA folk of Ulster though.

Pure gutter journalism.

They have absoultly been anything but gracious in defeat in recent years.. from Spillane to Sean Walsh to Jack O'Connor's book and their supporters. For years we admired Kerry here in Tyrone especially in the 70s and 80s glory years. What begrudgers they turned out to be when we started to beat them . Horrible shower.
Post by: Hardy on August 26, 2009, 05:05:53 PM
Who is Kenny Archer? Whoever he is, he must have no embarrassment threshold. If some of the more rabid partisans here posted something like that we'd laugh at him. This character gets paid for it!
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 26, 2009, 05:08:40 PM
I've seen better articles written for the Inter-Cert English exam. That really is one of the most pathetic things I've ever read.
Post by: longrunsthefox on August 26, 2009, 05:11:38 PM
He reflects how many now see Kerry whatever the standard of writing.
Post by: Billys Boots on August 26, 2009, 05:12:58 PM
It takes gracelessness, paranoia and self-obsession to a new level.  And apparently the Northern lads rate this guy highly; what a joke.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 26, 2009, 05:14:00 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on August 26, 2009, 05:11:38 PM

There are many pathetic people out there then
Post by: longrunsthefox on August 26, 2009, 05:24:54 PM
When Kildare and Longford beat Kerry in All Ireland finals you will know what we are talking about... and so will your grandchildren   ;)
Post by: SidelineKick on August 26, 2009, 05:29:02 PM
He reflects how I now see Kerry whatever the standard of writing.

Fixed.
Post by: longrunsthefox on August 26, 2009, 05:33:10 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on August 26, 2009, 05:29:02 PM

Fixed.

Foxed
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 26, 2009, 05:33:34 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on August 26, 2009, 05:24:54 PM
When Kildare and Longford beat Kerry in All Ireland finals you will know what we are talking about... and so will your grandchildren   ;)

We bate them in the 1998 All-Ireland semi and they were nothing but gracious, even though they had a Denis O'Dwyer goal probably wrongly disallowed for a square ball. Paidí Ó Sé wrote in his book how one Kildare supporter said to him that it was an honour to have beaten Kerry as he walked out of the Kildare dressing room.

Perhaps you could learn a thing or two about graciousness from Kerry people.
Post by: longrunsthefox on August 26, 2009, 05:39:59 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on August 26, 2009, 05:33:34 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on August 26, 2009, 05:24:54 PM

We bate them in the 1998 All-Ireland semi and they were nothing but gracious, even though they had a Denis O'Dwyer goal probably wrongly disallowed for a square ball. Paidí Ó Sé wrote in his book how one Kildare supporter said to him that it was an honour to have beaten Kerry as he walked out of the Kildare dressing room.

Perhaps you could learn a thing or two about graciousness from Kerry people.

Any wonder they were gracious... your manager and best player were from Kerry  :D
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 26, 2009, 05:43:16 PM
What's your point??

Maybe if Tyrone had Micko in charge they might have four All-Irelands including back-to-back titles like ourselves!!   :P

BTW, our best player Niall Buckley didn't play that day due to an injury.
Post by: longrunsthefox on August 26, 2009, 05:46:27 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on August 26, 2009, 05:43:16 PM
What's your point??

Maybe if Tyrone had Micko in charge they might have four All-Irelands including back-to-back titles like ourselves!!   :P

BTW, our best player Niall Buckley didn't play that day due to an injury.

He wasn't the only one didn't play that year... was lily whites on the field as well. I was at the final. What a second half surrender  ::)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 26, 2009, 05:49:58 PM
You're really getting childish now. I won't keep you because your obviously enjoying the last week of your summer holidays before your back to school.
Post by: mountainboii on August 26, 2009, 05:54:01 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on August 26, 2009, 05:12:58 PM
It takes gracelessness, paranoia and self-obsession to a new level.  And apparently the Northern lads rate this guy highly; what a joke.

I don't, very average GAA reporter and a nonsense, Liverpool obsessed (he even managed to name check them in this piece  ::)), soccer journalist. That article was a bit of a joke alright, but they've got to pander to the Tyronies still licking their wounds from the weekend.
Post by: SidelineKick on August 26, 2009, 05:55:39 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on August 26, 2009, 05:49:58 PM
You're really getting childish now. I won't keep you because your obviously enjoying the last week of your summer holidays before your back to school.

Unfortunately longrunsthefox has been running around for a few more years than you might expect.

He's just unbelievably childish and unwilling to take on board anyone's view if they disagree with him in any way.
Post by: longrunsthefox on August 26, 2009, 05:55:59 PM

You're right. I have to go myself. Actually I would like to see youse win an All Ireland. Stop wasting all that money on outside managers and get someone with Kildare blood in their veins would be a start. Slan. 
Post by: longrunsthefox on August 26, 2009, 05:58:42 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on August 26, 2009, 05:55:39 PM

Fortunately longrunsthefox has been running around for a few more years than you might expect.

He's just unbelievably enlightened and open to take on board anyone's view if they disagree with him in any way.

Post by: magickingdom on August 26, 2009, 08:13:34 PM
hope your sleeping better now km ;)
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 26, 2009, 08:20:26 PM
Great sleep last night MK, woke up once and for a micro second thought that Tyrone were back in the final and then I knew I was dreaming  ;)
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 26, 2009, 08:42:38 PM
Has anybody actually read some of the comments from Tyrone posters on this board over the last year...nevermind previous years. And all the anti-kerry bias in the Norther Media...guys like Heaney..etc

I find it astonishing that you didnt expect to get it in the neck on here  as well as  from guys like spillane. Thats the way things have worked for a few years now. You win and everythings great, you lose and you take a kicking. Its your turn to take the kicking. Stop whinging and crying like babies now that your baiting and gloating has come back to bite you.

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 26, 2009, 08:58:53 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on August 26, 2009, 08:20:26 PM
Great sleep last night MK, woke up once and for a micro second thought that Tyrone were back in the final and then I knew I was dreaming  ;)

That makes a change, it's usually your nightmares that we inhabit!  ;)
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 26, 2009, 09:06:54 PM
I can see the likeness in Freddie Kruger and Ryan McMenimen alright, just like his long lost child. But like any nightmare they fade away to more pleasant thoughts
Post by: crossfire on August 26, 2009, 09:32:49 PM
Quote from: western exile on August 24, 2009, 07:00:57 PM
It is indisputable that Kerry have won more Sam Maguire than Tyrone this decade.
The main case being put forward by some posters  that Tyrone are better because they have beaten Kerry the 3 times that they met in the Championship.  To address this point, let me use an example of a decade from history....
In the '60s, Down could justifiably claim to be the team of the decade (hold fire please Galway posters and indulge me for the sake of making this point!).
However, when you talk to Cavan people who were around during that decade, they will all tell you that Down should have won more than 3 AI then but for the fact that Cavan consistently beat them in Ulster Final. So, were Cavan better than Down in the '60s?  Some would say that they were.  But does that make them the team of that decade? No, of course not.

Back to this decade....  It is a good record that Tyrone have over Kerry, but that feat alone does  not make them the team of the decade, no more than it would make Cavan the  team of the '60s.

P.S. The Galway 3 in a row is in no way diminished  ;D

From 1959 to 1969 Cavan and Down met in 8 Ulster finals and won 4 apiece. You could hardly say that Cavan consistently beat them. ::)
Post by: crossfire on August 26, 2009, 09:38:30 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on August 25, 2009, 10:25:36 PM
Typical Downman, they do not want to see any other team from the north being successful.
I was working with a number of Down fans in 1993 and they all wanted Cork to beat Derry so that Down would still be the only team to take Sam across the border.  ???
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on August 26, 2009, 11:38:48 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on August 26, 2009, 05:01:58 PM

They have absoultly been anything but gracious in defeat in recent years.. from Spillane to Sean Walsh to Jack O'Connor's book and their supporters. For years we admired Kerry here in Tyrone especially in the 70s and 80s glory years. What begrudgers they turned out to be when we started to beat them . Horrible shower.

Youre out of order there fox. The individuals you mention (and our good friend on this board Mike Sheehy ;D) are the only examples I can think of. Far outweighed by the rest of their countyfolk who took what must have been very painful championship defeats with class and dignity. I have fond memories of Ger O' Keefe in particular immediately after the 2005 final, at a time when Mickey Harte was breaking down with the emotion of winnig Sam for Cormac, speaking wonderfully and doing himself and his county huge credit. You dont tar a whole county due to the actions or words of a tiny minority. There have been a few eejit Tyrone fans on this board over the years but that doesnt mean the vast majority of Tyrone people havent taken defeats with good grace.

As for the thread topic I think outside circumstances made successful defences pretty much impossible in 2004 and 2006. This year was different and on the day Tyrone were beaten by a better side, no complaints with that. Even if Tyrone disappear for a few years though Ive no doubt that history will still judge this team as great regardless of not winning back to back titles. 3 All-Irelands in 5 years is a wonderful achievement at any time but in the light of what happened to that squad of players and what they came through their achievements were all the more special. And who knows there could be more to come still.
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on August 27, 2009, 09:27:35 AM
Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on August 26, 2009, 11:38:48 PM

Youre out of order there fox. The individuals you mention (and our good friend on this board Mike Sheehy ;D) are the only examples I can think of. Far outweighed by the rest of their countyfolk who took what must have been very painful championship defeats with class and dignity. I have fond memories of Ger O' Keefe in particular immediately after the 2005 final, at a time when Mickey Harte was breaking down with the emotion of winnig Sam for Cormac, speaking wonderfully and doing himself and his county huge credit. You dont tar a whole county due to the actions or words of a tiny minority. There have been a few eejit Tyrone fans on this board over the years but that doesnt mean the vast majority of Tyrone people havent taken defeats with good grace.

As for the thread topic I think outside circumstances made successful defences pretty much impossible in 2004 and 2006. This year was different and on the day Tyrone were beaten by a better side, no complaints with that. Even if Tyrone disappear for a few years though Ive no doubt that history will still judge this team as great regardless of not winning back to back titles. 3 All-Irelands in 5 years is a wonderful achievement at any time but in the light of what happened to that squad of players and what they came through their achievements were all the more special. And who knows there could be more to come still.

agree - well said
Post by: magickingdom on August 27, 2009, 07:05:52 PM

we said lda, i see mickey harte quoted in todays times as saying he could see up to 6 of the minor team playing senior soon. as i said earlier tyrone will be one of the favourites next year with their 'new found' hunger after this years disappointment. .
Post by: In the Onion Bag on August 27, 2009, 10:08:20 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on August 27, 2009, 07:05:52 PM

well said Lda, i see mickey harte quoted in todays times as saying he could see up to 6 of the minor team playing senior soon. as i said earlier tyrone will be one of the favourites next year with their 'new found' hunger after this years disappointment. .

I enjoy the banter as much as the next one but now that this week's bragging rights have been claimed its really nice to see the above mutual respect between true Gaels come to the surface.  We have a quality game so lets enjoy it, banter and all but respect and humility are also v-important.