Back to Back All Irelands are tough

Started by magickingdom, July 26, 2009, 09:37:59 PM

puskas

TotD could have gone Tyrone, really the only contender, but 3 out of 10 isn't a great return. As for Kerry, they failed to beat Tyrone three times when it counted, how can they possibly be?? There has been no TotD.

glens73

Quote from: puskas on August 23, 2009, 06:19:07 PM
TotD could have gone Tyrone, really the only contender, but 3 out of 10 isn't a great return. As for Kerry, they failed to beat Tyrone three times when it counted, how can they possibly be?? There has been no TotD.

Not sure how you figure that, 3 out of 10 is an excellent return. I'm sure 30 other counties would take it.

thebuzz

Quote from: CĂșig huaire on August 23, 2009, 06:12:03 PM
Back to back All Irelands aren't that hard, we were doing it before the rest of the Northern teams knew were Jones`s Rd was, Kerry have made a habit of 2, 3 or even 4 in a row.
As for team of the decade, that has to go to Kerry. They have won 3 All Irelands and appeared in 6 or 7 finals. Hopefully they will win a fourth in a few weeks time and put this sill argument to bed once and for all.

Surely Kerry have won four.

puskas

of course it is, but in terms of making a claim for this non-existent title so sought-after by Tyrone and Kerry fans, you need more than 3 out of 10. you also need to beat your major rivals at least once during the period. back to backs are irrelevant.

Quoteof course it is, but in terms of making a claim for this non-existent title so sought-after by Tyrone and Kerry fans, you need more than 3 out of 10. you also need to beat your major rivals at least once during the period. back to backs are irrelevant.

you might have had some argument till you cam out with that shite. The hardest thing to do, by far, is to win two AI back to back. If anything is irrelevant its Head to heads, anything can happen on the day.   

Quote from: puskas on August 23, 2009, 06:29:16 PM
of course it is, but in terms of making a claim for this non-existent title so sought-after by Tyrone and Kerry fans, you need more than 3 out of 10. you also need to beat your major rivals at least once during the period. back to backs are irrelevant.

In the Onion Bag

Ah comon now lads, leave poor Pat alone. 
Sure wasn't he they only Kerry man able to manage a score (and a good one it was) in the whole of the 2nd half of the semi in 2001

His cousin Thomas hung up his boots ater the roasting he got that day from Peter Withnell.  Thomas showed more sense thant his cousin who should have left the scene at the same time.

QuoteAh comon now lads, leave poor Pat alone. 
Sure wasn't he they only Kerry man able to manage a score (and a good one it was) in the whole of the 2nd half of the semi in 2001

????

In the Onion Bag

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 23, 2009, 07:18:18 PM

????

Gues you don't like that Miky.  Truth hurts eh?

Quote from: In the Onion Bag on August 23, 2009, 07:21:18 PM

????

No, I just know what you are referring to

In the Onion Bag

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 23, 2009, 07:24:45 PM
Quote from: In the Onion Bag on August 23, 2009, 07:21:18 PM

????

No, I just know what you are referring to

Fair play to you then

Pat Spillane was long retired by 2001 ? If you are referring to 1991 then at least get your facts straight before trying to wind.

silly nordie

Quote from: In the Onion Bag on August 23, 2009, 07:14:20 PM
Ah comon now lads, leave poor Pat alone. 

His cousin Thomas hung up his boots ater the roasting he got that day from Peter Withnell.  Thomas showed more sense thant his cousin who should have left the scene at the same time.

Whoes cousin ?

puskas

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 23, 2009, 07:06:41 PM
Quoteof course it is, but in terms of making a claim for this non-existent title so sought-after by Tyrone and Kerry fans, you need more than 3 out of 10. you also need to beat your major rivals at least once during the period. back to backs are irrelevant.

you might have had some argument till you cam out with that shite. The hardest thing to do, by far, is to win two AI back to back. If anything is irrelevant its Head to heads, anything can happen on the day.

Mike, I've no desire to get into a slanging match with you as you're up to your neck in bias on this point, and can't seem to argue without losing the rag.

As a neutral, I'll stand by my opinion that Kerry's abject failure to beat their major rival Tyrone three times this decade invalidates their claim to be TotD, a back to back against the weaker opposition provided by Mayo and Cork in those years is clutching at straws IMHO, sorry.

Kerry1980

Quotea back to back against the weaker opposition provided by Mayo and Cork in those years is clutching at straws IMHO, sorry.

Oh dear...
Cork weak opposition? They'd have won a bunch of all Ireland's this decade if it wasn't for Kerry and only Kerry, meaning the only team to defeat them in years has been Kerry. Oh yeah, they're in this years final if you hadn't noticed.  Your weak opposition to the now fact that Kerry is the team of the decade is what's clutching at straws, sorry.