Tipp v Clare Munster u21 final

Started by magickingdom, July 30, 2008, 09:11:39 PM

was it a point? they'll be war over this yet. Tipp won by a very dodgy point...

harlechman

Disgraceful scenes at the end there. The umpire pulled the Clare goalkeeper up on stepping outside the square on the puck-out. Meanwhile the ref had played on and had awarded Clare a 14 yard free. Then realised the umpire had spotted an infringement and brought the play back for a 14 yard free for Tipp... Tipp won by a point. Shocking scenes during the trophy presentation, Clare fans attacked the umpire and only for the Gardai the poor lad would be in bad shape. Will the GAA clamp down on these tramps?

Quote from: harlechman on July 30, 2008, 09:20:06 PM
Disgraceful scenes at the end there. The umpire pulled the Clare goalkeeper up on stepping outside the square on the puck-out. Meanwhile the ref had played on and had awarded Clare a 14 yard free. Then realised the umpire had spotted an infringement and brought the play back for a 14 yard free for Tipp... Tipp won by a point. Shocking scenes during the trophy presentation, Clare fans attacked the umpire and only for the Gardai the poor lad would be in bad shape. Will the GAA clamp down on these tramps?

Two people gave him a soft shoulder. Bad form alright but how the fcuk you reckoned he would be in bad shape if the gardai didn't escort him I'll never know.

With the keeper in a rush to get his puckout away, the umpire actually blocked his reverse before going forward to puck the ball out and even then he still had one foot inside the 6 yard box

More shocking was the manner of clares defeat. How would you have felt if your team had lost in such a way? Would you blame the umpire or your keeper?

Fairhead

Can't condone the actions at the end but i tell you what if you were at it and a Clare fan your blood would be boiling. My understanding of the rule is that if the keeper is outside the square a 65 is given against him; in this situation the keeper had a foot in and one foot out striking the ball (they showed it on a replay). I would say the vast majority of keepers on puck outs are like that. I could undestand if both feet were outside the square at the time of striking so to blow that up was a scandalous decision in my opinion and lost Clare the match.

In saying all of that Clare missed a great chance for a goal in the 1st half and had some very bad wides in both halves so like last Sunday they should have been further ahead and not have been in the position to be caught like they were. Still sickening though for Clare to lose a Munster final cos of an umpire.  

harlechman

Quote from: theskull1 on July 30, 2008, 09:31:57 PM
Quote from: harlechman on July 30, 2008, 09:20:06 PM

Two people gave him a soft shoulder. Bad form alright but how the fcuk you reckoned he would be in bad shape if the gardai didn't escort him I'll never know.

With the keeper in a rush to get his puckout away, the umpire actually blocked his reverse before going forward to puck the ball out and even then he still had one foot inside the 6 yard box

More shocking was the manner of clares defeat. How would you have felt if your team had lost in such a way? Would you blame the umpire or your keeper?

If the Gardai werent there to escort him off I wouldnt like to think what would have happened to him. The Clare supporters were livid (admittedly they had every right to be) but the issue here again is the safety of the officials. There were 5 or 6 lads going up to umpire and shouting in his face and he was nearly pushed to the ground at one stage. I'd say they would have hit him only for the Gardai. Lads no matter what decisions are made during again we cant be having these sorts of scenes, an absolute disgrace. It was like something you see in a South American soccer match.

I presume we will be hearing more about this.
Mind you the Tipp fans overdoing the celebrating on the pitch wasnt helping things at the end.
By the way the Ref gave a 65 for the (half)overstep not a 13m free.

harlechman

Quote from: Rossfan on July 30, 2008, 10:17:50 PM
I presume we will be hearing more about this.
Mind you the Tipp fans overdoing the celebrating on the pitch wasnt helping things at the end.
By the way the Ref gave a 65 for the (half)overstep not a 13m free.

Apologies, my mistake on that one

didlyi

This matach has put clare/tipp relationships back about 10 years, to the late 90'S. Brilliant! Roll on next year !

oh a county outside the elite geting screwed over? Call it paranoia , but again the cartel strikes back. Would the tipp keeper been hit with the same offence. Doubt it. Disgraceful, daylight robbery.

The Wedger

The Tipp captain should have showed more decorum than to thank the ref and umpires in his speech!

EddieMerx

Quote from: The Wedger on July 31, 2008, 07:57:54 AM
The Tipp captain should have showed more decorum than to thank the ref and umpires in his speech!

Have to agree on that one, I was sitting beside a Tipp person while watching it and they were shocked to hear him say that. Can anybody tell me why in the first half the ref booked the Tipp guy for throwing the butt of his hurl into the Clare defender and then only gave a throw in? Same in the second half where the Clare defender was taken out of it while coming out with the ball, also when the Tipp Official grabbed the linesmans flag and changed the direction from a Clare to a Tipp ball only for the ref to agree to this change. As for the Umpire, well I'd imagine his grinning like a cat that got the cream would anger any fan. Thats 2 big games in a few days that poor decisions by the officials have cost Clare

ríochtciarraí

I started a thread on this flag grabbing incident over on the football page drawing a paralell, but NOT a comparison with the Paul Galvin incident. I'd be interested to hear what ye think about it as most people over there weren't watching the game last night. Thread name is Declan Carr & Galvingate.

The main problem here is consistency of the application of the rules. It's very seldom you see a senior goalkeeper being punished for the same thing, although there have been a couple of high profile cases in the fairly recent past. Certainly Rule 4.15 'To take the puckout from outside the small square' is rarely applied, at best, and usually for clear breaches of it.

Certainly in Thurles last Sunday, and the week before, the likes of Brian Mullins, Philip Brennan and Clinton Hennessy all had a couple of puckouts where at least one foot was outside the square when the puckout was taken, but they all got away with it.

However, having said all that, the Clare goalie had been caught earlier on as well, so he was silly in the extreme to be caught again, this set of officials must have been particularly watching for it.

So the GAA should either apply this rule in ALL games, or else ditch it. It must be very frustrating to have a game like that decided on a technical breach, that is rarely called. My sympathy is mitigated by the fact that the goalie had been pulled up earlier though.

Finally, and more importantly, what happened afterwards was not on. By all means boo, and cat call the officials if you think you've been rode, but to invade the pitch,and make contact, or strike (which I don't believe happened) the match officials is a complete no-no, and I hope those who were caught on camera are identified and appropriate punishments are hended out.

QuoteBy all means boo, and cat call the officials if you think you've been rode, but to invade the pitch,

Unless of the course the "riding" involves blowing up 5 minutes early....

Stay goalside of your man

I think the Clare supporters let themselves down very badly last night.
How they let that umpire off the field without kicking the s@$t of him is unreal.
What would he have to do to ye to get a beating off ye?
Very poor showing from them.