Kerry v Monaghan part 2

Started by Kerry Mike, July 27, 2008, 10:12:44 PM

Quote from: Tyrones own on August 03, 2008, 08:30:05 PM
Quote from: MacCruiskeen on August 03, 2008, 06:23:37 PM
Aidan O'Mahoney is a truly great footballer. Small dive in first half, no doubt, but my vote for best player in the country.

Very very cynical in my eyes TBH but like the rest of the team he seems to get away with it,
BTW how did O'Sullivan get away with relentlessly abusing Deegan like that ??? ....Maybe it's a Kerry thing :-\

Listened to the radio after the game and the kerry fans are some craic, they seem to believe that monaghan were the dirtiest hewers of all time whie their boys were as pure as the driven snow, apparently Kerry are the only county in Ireland who play the game clean.

Quote from: INDIANA on August 03, 2008, 08:21:39 PM
I apologise to monaghan fans for saying they were shite earlier in the season. they are a fraction away from the bigtime and still a work in progress.
Apology accepted Indiana  :)
it was a real championship game when the the other 3 games were damp squibs.
Even when the quality was lacking in the game, the intensity more than made up for up it.
2 teams who went hell for leather for victory with an almost controlled ferocity.
Donaghy's class on the day was the biggest difference but Kerry were just not going to lose that game under any circumstances.

Quote from: MacCruiskeen on August 03, 2008, 06:23:37 PM
Aidan O'Mahoney is a truly great footballer. Small dive in first half, no doubt, but my vote for best player in the country.

I'd say he'd start a fight at a funeral. Every break in play he seemed to be swinging at someone or wrestling with them.

Quote from: Main Street on August 03, 2008, 08:46:15 PM
I apologise to monaghan fans for saying they were shite earlier in the season. they are a fraction away from the bigtime and still a work in progress.
Even when the quality was lacking in the game, the intensity more than made up for up it.
2 teams who went hell for leather for victory with an almost controlled ferocity.
Donaghy's class on the day was the biggest difference but Kerry were just not going to lose that game under any circumstances.

i've no doubt monaghan would have beaten any other team on show this weekend main st. yet kerry get very little credit on this board for their achievements..

Quotewhat game were you watching? did monaghan not get physical at all ffs

There's a vast contrast between cynicism and physicality, and I was after all responding to
your mans post regarding O'Mahony, Monaghan weren't mentioned. ::)

QuoteThere's a vast contrast between cynicism and physicality

I suppose we will have to defer to your superior knowledge on the subject. Nobody knows more about cynicism than Tyrone. Dooher could write the book on the subject.

Quote from: magickingdom on August 03, 2008, 08:43:47 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 03, 2008, 05:41:39 PM
OK, I'm a fool (and 10 out of 10 for humour for anyone who quotes that). Well done Kerry.

Anyway, hardly epoch-marking, but Kerry are nothing to fear particularly either; no denying that pure class told in the end, and Tommy Walsh is a very promising addition, and Dara Ó'Sé just did what he does best and he's still a very formidable force, but the Kingdom are not the team they were this time last year, though overall I'm not particularly impressed. And I think most Kerry folk are of a similar mindset.

fear you miss the point with kerry, all they had to do today was win which they did..

Hats off mk, and you have a fair point there. Yes, you're doing just enough, and by God how that has served you over the decades (almost centuries now).I remain, however, sceptical, in that had you faced a more clinically scoring opposition today you were history -- the consecutive weekends told on Monaghan. As I've said continually, however, many a ship has foundered on the rocks of predicting Kerry's demise, and I'm not about to do it now. You'll be gone when you're gone, and I'm not about to venture that's going to be any time before the 3rd Sunday in September '08.

Quote from: magickingdom on August 03, 2008, 09:10:04 PM

i've no doubt monaghan would have beaten any other team on show this weekend main st. yet kerry get very little credit on this board for their achievements..
Monaghan would most likely have beaten any of the other teams this weekend, they are however missing a bit of class up front imo.  That is a phenomenal bench Kerry have, nearly every man who came on would be a starter on every other team in the country.
Now, the other point is that today's game showed up, once again, how stupid the current system is, imo if Kerry were playing in Ulster and had been coming up against teams like Monaghan etc throughout the last 3 years they wouldn't be going for 3 in a row, I don't mean this as a slight on Kerry, it's not their fault.

Quote from: Bogball XV on August 03, 2008, 09:20:46 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on August 03, 2008, 09:10:04 PM

Monaghan would most likely have beaten any of the other teams this weekend, they are however missing a bit of class up front imo.  That is a phenomenal bench Kerry have, nearly every man who came on would be a starter on every other team in the country.
Now, the other point is that today's game showed up, once again, how stupid the current system is, imo if Kerry were playing in Ulster and had been coming up against teams like Monaghan etc throughout the last 3 years they wouldn't be going for 3 in a row, I don't mean this as a slight on Kerry, it's not their fault.

ever hear of cork? over the decades often the second best team in the country but the rest of the country didnt have to worry too much about them. and how did ulster teams do this weekend? 1 out of 4 survived

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 03, 2008, 09:18:40 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on August 03, 2008, 08:43:47 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 03, 2008, 05:41:39 PM
OK, I'm a fool (and 10 out of 10 for humour for anyone who quotes that). Well done Kerry.

Anyway, hardly epoch-marking, but Kerry are nothing to fear particularly either; no denying that pure class told in the end, and Tommy Walsh is a very promising addition, and Dara Ó'Sé just did what he does best and he's still a very formidable force, but the Kingdom are not the team they were this time last year, though overall I'm not particularly impressed. And I think most Kerry folk are of a similar mindset.

fear you miss the point with kerry, all they had to do today was win which they did..

Hats off mk, and you have a fair point there. Yes, you're doing just enough, and by God how that has served you over the decades (almost centuries now).I remain, however, sceptical, in that had you faced a more clinically scoring opposition today you were history -- the consecutive weekends told on Monaghan. As I've said continually, however, many a ship has foundered on the rocks of predicting Kerry's demise, and I'm not about to do it now. You'll be gone when you're gone, and I'm not about to venture that's going to be any time before the 3rd Sunday in September '08.

we'll never be gone!

Kerry are always slow out of the blocks. If the games in Ulster are as "hard" as ye keep saying then those games would, no doubt, improve us with each one, safe in the knowledge that there is a second chance through the back door. Having more games has been a distinct advantage which has helped Northern teams in recent years.

...and as for before the qualifiers...well Ulsters 14 AI  out of 120 wouldnt inspire much fear. Sure Cork, the second best team in Ireland for many years, nearly have half that total themselves.

Quote from: magickingdom on August 03, 2008, 09:40:40 PM
ever hear of cork? over the decades often the second best team in the country but the rest of the country didnt have to worry too much about them. and how did ulster teams do this weekend? 1 out of 4 survived
Jeez you lads are fierce touchy, I was simply pointing out that Kerry arrived at the 3rd round of the qualifiers by virtue of beating clare by 15 points, whilst Monaghan had to play Fermanagh, Donegal and Derry to reach this stage, hardly very fair is it?
You constantly stream out this bollox about how tough games can improve a team, indeed they can, to an extent, however by the law of averages you'll lose a fair percentage of tough games, if Kerry had to play teams of Monaghan's standard throughout a 3 game provincial campaign, they would be unlikely to be going for 3 in a row.  No, if you still don't agree with me, would you at least agree that the current system based on provinces is a pile of shite?

the point you're missing is that donegal/derry/fermanagh aren't at monaghan's standard. i know fermanagh beat monaghan but their is no comparison between the teams and its not inconceivable that monaghan are the best team in ulster. why they haven't won at least won 2 ulster championships is down to them rather than the standard up north which i happily concede now is no better than anywhere else. up until this weekend i considered it better than the rest, but it isn't and there isn't any point in saying it is. the standard is mediocre across the board.

Quote from: Bogball XV on August 03, 2008, 09:58:08 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on August 03, 2008, 09:40:40 PM
Jeez you lads are fierce touchy, I was simply pointing out that Kerry arrived at the 3rd round of the qualifiers by virtue of beating clare by 15 points, whilst Monaghan had to play Fermanagh, Donegal and Derry to reach this stage, hardly very fair is it?
You constantly stream out this bollox about how tough games can improve a team, indeed they can, to an extent, however by the law of averages you'll lose a fair percentage of tough games, if Kerry had to play teams of Monaghan's standard throughout a 3 game provincial campaign, they would be unlikely to be going for 3 in a row.  No, if you still don't agree with me, would you at least agree that the current system based on provinces is a pile of shite?

Fermanagh, Donegal and Derry? your taking the piss bogball. in the long term the provincial championships should even themselves out

Quote from: magickingdom on August 03, 2008, 10:05:20 PM

Fermanagh, Donegal and Derry? your taking the piss bogball. in the long term the provincial championships should even themselves out
Tbh I rate Derry higher than Monaghan and possibly Donegal too, Monaghan have done as well as can be expected with the players they have, but ultimately they lack class in attack (well it's a bank holiday weekend and a can of worms is very welcome).
I don't understand your point about provincial championships evening themselves out.