Ulster Final 2008 - Armagh vs Fermanagh

Started by wanderer, June 29, 2008, 11:22:11 PM

Malone Aristocrat

The word is he was saying to Stevie all day "You're shite . . . what have you won? you're shite!"

I'll tell you something Stevie has won a whole lot more than that p***k,

Quote from: balladmaker on July 22, 2008, 10:50:29 AM
I'm assuming it must be Ladies Intermediate Football Championship...but don't quote me on that.
Spot on, balladmaker, Fermanagh ladies play Kilkenny....that'll really bring the crowd in early. ::)
Definitely on BBC, watched their coverage last night and it must've been said about 6 times that they were showing the replay live. Austin O'Callaghan really adds to their coverage, very good, and in fairness, Rory Gallagher was very good in his analysis also.
For once, I agree with McHugh, Armagh were very defensive and brought Fermanagh onto them.....we have to push up the field, and bring the game to Fermanagh on Sunday. We have proved that we can play this way in the league with some of our better performances resulting from our half forwards supporting McDonnell and Clarke.
Also, the break ball situation was no accident, Fermanagh had far more players in the midfield diamond waiting on the break, Armagh had very few........it's not rocket science, we need to get more bodies in there.
Bad news about Deegan, I remember he made a complete balls of the Armagh-Donegal replay in 2006 in Clones, the cards were like confetti.

Quote from: Lecale2 on July 22, 2008, 09:11:18 AM
Quote from: corn02 on July 22, 2008, 09:07:43 AM
Deegan is whistle-happy alright.

Who will suffer most, Armagh or Fermanagh?
Normally I would say that Armagh suffer more than most from a fussy referee but in that match both teams suffered equally (although he did send Bellew off in the wrong that night).

QuoteThe word is he was saying to Stevie all day "You're shite . . . what have you won? you're shite!"

The word in the pub........very reliable. ;)

Is there anything Stevie hasn't won in an armagh jersey, either individually or as part of the team?

scud

Eh, the lottery, or the cold war, america won that

Having settled myself a bit after Sunday's initial assessment, I doubt there'll be too many changes to the Armagh side.  I reckon he may try and fit Donaghy in there somewhere and if he was going to do that it would be a HF that would lose out, therefore playing Donaghy at CHB giving us a far greater mobility while letting AOR sweep/roam.  Something like
Hearty
Mallon, Bellew, F Mo
AOR
AK, Donaghy, CMcK
Toner, McGrane
Vernon/Mallon/PMcK, SK, MOR
Clarke McDonnell

QuoteAnd he was mouthing in his ear. All day

It didn't reflect well on him. All he had to do was stay in the goal and mind his own business, following another player around just to shout in his ear is not on.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

I watched that and right enough he was being a proper w**ker ! He would come out of his goals with his hands behind his back and start slabbering - I think Stevie gave him the right answer by kicking over 5 beauties from play.

No need for this slabbering at all - he made a p***k of himself !

Quote from: Barney on July 22, 2008, 08:27:58 AM
If Maurice Deegan is the ref the entertainment value will be nil and there will be carnage.

Even a league run-out is ruined by his insistence on black booking for every foul, following by yellow and then red. Except a Garda escort.

Deegan was reffing out match on Saturday, let nothing go and was constantly bring back play. The game will be a complete contrast to the last day where nearly everything was let go. Fermanagh to win by 1...

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 22, 2008, 12:03:04 PM
Quote from: Barney on July 22, 2008, 08:27:58 AM
If Maurice Deegan is the ref the entertainment value will be nil and there will be carnage.

Even a league run-out is ruined by his insistence on black booking for every foul, following by yellow and then red. Except a Garda escort.

Deegan was reffing out match on Saturday, let nothing go and was constantly bring back play. The game will be a complete contrast to the last day where nearly everything was let go. Fermanagh to win by 1...

Not looking forward to this at all !  :( :(

Quotelet nothing go

Does that include square balls?

MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

FermGael

Quote from: armaghniac on July 22, 2008, 12:17:31 PM
Quotelet nothing go

Does that include square balls?

and lets hope he knows when the difference between a throw ball and a proper fisted pass
Wanted.  Forwards to take frees.
Not fussy.  Any sort of ability will be considered

Disappointed with the 2nd half collapse on Sunday, but if the game had went on any longer we could have been looking at the qualifiers, so was happy the game was over when it was (if that makes sense).
Once we went 8 points up we fell back into the old Armagh way of defending a lead rather than kicking on a finishing them off. Fair play to Fermanagh for coming back but it should never have happened.
Armagh looked a bit lethargic in the last 15 and just couldnt seem to get the ball and hold onto it.

A few players will be anxiously waiting to see this Sundays teamsheet.
Donaghy should be expecting a start and to a lesser extent Mc Keever.
Will be very suprised if we are turned over this Sunday. We are rarely defeated in replays & if the management have learned any lessons at all from Sunday it should go our way by 4/5 pts

open her out

Quote from: bennydorano on July 22, 2008, 11:43:31 AM
Having settled myself a bit after Sunday's initial assessment, I doubt there'll be too many changes to the Armagh side.  I reckon he may try and fit Donaghy in there somewhere and if he was going to do that it would be a HF that would lose out, therefore playing Donaghy at CHB giving us a far greater mobility while letting AOR sweep/roam.  Something like
Hearty
Mallon, Bellew, F Mo
AOR
AK, Donaghy, CMcK
Toner, McGrane
Vernon/Mallon/PMcK, SK, MOR
Clarke McDonnell

benny would agree wit you on the part than donaghy should start i would love to see the following line out

Hearty, A Mallon, Franco, Fin Mo, Donaghy, AOR, C Mckeever, McGrane, Toner, A kernan, MOR, B Mallon, Stevie, Clarke, S kernan

but i would leave aaron playin a more orthadox half forward role an bring stephen out to operate round the middle...